Yellow Turtle Inn Bed and Brunch Avis

Ensemble
4,2

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,2
  • Services4,3
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,2
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
33 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great place to stay!

4,8 sur mars 05, 2013

We stayed in the "Whispering Love" room for a mini-honeymoon and it was great. Joan is super nice and an excellent cook, and the room was really cute and very clean. The breakfasts were delicious, and it was nice to be able to sleep in and relax instead of having to get up at 7 or 8 am to eat like most other B&Bs. There is coffee in the rooms and snacks downstairs if you want to eat earlier, but when we're on vacation we like to relax and sleep in. The Inn is located close to Frederick, Westminster, Mt. Airy etc so easy access to shopping, wineries, restaurants, etc. The only downside I can see is that the other rooms (not Whispering Love) have Jacuzzi tubs but not showers, and I always like to shower after a soak. We loved our room though!


Our son's wedding event 9-10-11

5 sur septembre 15, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Yellow Turtle Inn. We had a great time. Our son had his wedding ceremony and reception at the Yellow Turtle Inn. Joan, the innkeeper was very helpful and the event was fun time. Thank you Joan for all your help.


Comfort and serenity in one place!

4,0 sur septembre 11, 2011

It is a lovely place, it feels as if you have been there before, so comfy cozy, like an old friends home welcoming you back! So close to town and many options of activities to do. We went to Linganore Wineries, had a great time. We enjoyed sitting on the wrap around porch. Ms. Joan was an awesome woman, very caring and funny as well. Go here to step back in time, you will not be sorry you did!


We love Ms. Joan!

4,0 sur juin 15, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times now, while visiting one of the winery's in the area. I believe we enjoy it more each time. For anyone who just wants to get away, relax and reconnect. It's the perfect place.


A little pricey but a wonderful place to stay

4,2 sur avril 21, 2011

The hostess was great and made our stay wonderful. The house is very old so you should go in expecting the late night creaks and radiator moans (it can get a bit noisy some times), and there's train tracks not too far away but those are pretty minor complaints. Other then that, the house is beautiful, the service is amazing (the breakfasts were surprisingly well thought out and prepared) and Joan really went out of her way to make it a pleasant stay for me and my wife. Highly recommended to friends and family.


Yellow Turtle Inn--A Fun Getaway!

4,0 sur avril 18, 2011

I stayed at the Yellow Turtle Inn with my girlfriend during a spring getaway weekend in April 2011, and it was cozy and charming! New Windsor has a historic district right down the street, and the inn is also very close to Westminister, antique shops, and several wineries. The innkeeper is really friendly and attentive to guests. If you're looking for a quiet, charming getaway spot, check it out!


Yellow turtle

3,4 sur mars 01, 2011

Very relaxing, nice stay. My husband and I really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere, every thing was nice and clean..... but the radiators bumped and pinged all night.


Amazing place.

4,4 sur février 23, 2011

It was more then what I expected. The room was spacious, and the pictures did not do it justice. Joan was extremely helpful and pleasant. She was able to suggest places for dinner, and give directions to the areas where we wanted to go. Breakfast was amazing, much better then going out somewhere. Would definitely go back again.


Queen's Suite review

5 sur février 09, 2011

We had a wonderful week end. Joan was very friendly and helpful. I loved the Queens Suite, my husband says next time we have to stay in the Bishop's Suite to offset the overtly feminine queen.


Best if you are looking for an "Antique" experience.

2,8 sur janvier 04, 2011

Overall, not a bad room but could use some modernization. Stayed at the B&B because that is where my friend's wedding was held. We were in the Bishop's Suite, pretty room and comfortable bed. But the bathroom was very old fashioned, no real privacy door between the bedroom and bathroom, just a curtain. And the double size jacuzzi tub was amazing, we are just accustomed to actually having a shower head available! Yes, you read that correctly, no shower for that room! If we ever get back up that way, I would consider the Yellow Turtle, but definitely a different room.


Newlyweds

3,2 sur décembre 26, 2010

We had a lovely evening in the Queens Sweet at the yellow turtle inn. The room was very comfy and we especially enjoyed the whirlpool bath tub. Great for a romantic escape!


It's a Keeper

3,0 sur décembre 04, 2010

The Yellow Turtle Inn was a step back in time. Innkeeper Joan was very helpful, since we were not familiar with the area, and our stay was very pleasant. Our room was clean and the inn was very interesting.


recommend!

3,8 sur novembre 03, 2010

Room was clean and much larger than expected. Photos don't do it justice. Pillows were incredibly comfortable. I knew ahead of time that our bathroom had no shower so I can't complain but in hindsight I would have definitely preferred having both a shower and the jacuzzi tub (which was wonderful!). The neighborhood and grounds are quiet and relaxing. Definitely not a happening location but we were looking for a short, quiet getaway so it was perfect. Decor is not very cohesive but a hodgepodge of collected old items that don't seem to really fit together. Innkeeper Joan keeps it tidy, though. Joan is friendly and helpful, though a bit absentminded. Breakfast was average. I didn't mind the 10:30 am timeframe but the food wasn't particularly memorable. There was plenty of it, though. We left with a full stomach. And did I mention the hot apple cider available brewing in a pot all day- that stuff was delicious- we couldn't get enough of it! Overall great value for the price. I would absolutely stay there again for another quiet getaway.


A Great Weekend at the Yellow Turtle Inn

4,8 sur novembre 03, 2010

The Inn Keeper (Joan) was great. There was a wedding at the Inn during our stay and not only did we get invited to the wedding, we had opportunity to watch a Hawk bring the rings down from the sky to the Best Man. The food was great and the room was fantastic. We could not have asked for better stay. Thanks for a great time Yellow Turtle Inn.


Perfect for a fall getaway

3,2 sur octobre 24, 2010

This inn is very unique, the innkeeper is friendly, the setting was very quiet.The grounds around the house were decorated in what appeared to be left over from a wedding. This inn caters to wedding parties and has many services such as massage therapy,champagne and roses, teddy bears and chocolate cake and private candlelight dinners. The hostess made a delicious brunch which included pumpkin pancakes. Hot apple cider was brewing in a pot ready for us later in the day. We had the porch swing to ourselves so we could relax. The check in time is 5:00 and check out was 2:00 with brunch at 10:30, which is unusually late, but a nice change for those who want to sleep later. Our room was clean, we stayed in a suite that had a jacuzzi tub, however we would have preferred a shower and a jacuzzi. Hopefully next time we could took a walk through the famous labyrinth, which at that time had not been mowed. Overall it was a pleasant stay.


2nd wedding aniversary at Yellow Turtle!

4,2 sur octobre 20, 2010

The house and rooms were gorgeous, breakfast was great and the atmosphere was just delightful.


Great Weekend Getaway!

4,8 sur octobre 13, 2010

We loved our stay at Yellow Turtle Inn. Our room was great; even better than the room description. Joan was friendly, always helpful and made the most incredible breakfasts. She even had baked goods and drinks out all day for snacking. We will defintely be making a reservation again!


Very nice, but....

3,4 sur octobre 06, 2010

The Yellow Turtle Inn is a very nice place to stay. It's a beautiful old home in a nice, quiet area just outside the town of New Windsor. Joan, the proprietor, was polite and cordial. The grounds were also very pretty. The only complaint I have is that breakfast is not served until 10:30, which is waaay too late in my opinion. We didn't stay for breakfast either day because we just couldn't wait that long. If the majority of guests at the Inn were teenagers, I could understand why breakfast would be served so late, but obviously that's not the case. For the love of Pete, please serve breakfast at least an hour earlier!!!


An Exceptional Experience

4,0 sur octobre 02, 2010

We could not have had a better time during our stay.Relaxing and enjoyable.The Food was very,very good.Great is more like it.


Yellow Turtle Inn

3,6 sur septembre 22, 2010

Wonderful relaxing visit. Joan was a most cordial host. Would recommend and stay again.


Yellow Turtle Inn Weekend

4,6 sur septembre 22, 2010

We had a romantic and relaxing weekend here. Loved the numerous places outside to sit and enjoy the lovely view (and weather). The breakfasts were fabulous (no need for lunch) and enjoyed a private candlelit dinner inside. We watched the sun set from the porch as we ate dessert. Very nice jacuzzi for 2 but no shower. Great to have a microwave and a small frig in the room.


The perfect getaway

5 sur septembre 03, 2010

I desperately needed a personal retreat and didn't want to travel too far or travel on busy highways. It was all beautiful country roads to the Yellow Turtle Inn. The Inn and its grounds are gorgeous. I relaxed so much on the huge wrap around porch. The home is fabulously decorating and full of discoveries. There are so many places to sit inside and out with appealing views. Joan was a wonderful, attentive host and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. There are great restaurants 10 miles away (scenic drive) to historic Westminster. I definitely recommend Yellow Turtle Inn. The place oozes romance even tho I was there just for some r & r. It was beyond my expectation and I went home feeling very refreshed!


A Very Beautiful Place

5 sur août 10, 2010

We stayed at the wonderful Inn for one night and would loved to have stayed longer. Very clean and wonderful hostess. We had a champange breakfast that was two courses of fruit the best homefries , sausage and Quiche I have ever had. The bed was very comfortable and the two person jacuzzi just topped things off. I would recommend this place to anyone even though my husband wants to keep it our little secret.. Close by but noone can find us..


Peaceful, Enchanting Yellow Turtle Inn

5 sur juin 29, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Yellow Turtle Inn because we went to a wine festival nearby. The inn is gorgeous, and Joan has obviously gone to great lengths in decorating the rooms, and the entire house. The rooms are beautiful and it is obvious that she spent a great deal of time furnishing them with such a personal touch and small details. The breakfast was outstanding, and Joan even went to great lengths to make a breakfast separate for me because I have a glutten allergy. Finally, we had the opportunity to walk through the gardens and experience the serenity of the entire place. Joan was so friendly and took the time to converse with us which made our experience even that much more personable. I would highly recommend this inn if you are staying in the area, or if you would like to have a place for a wedding, meeting, conference, etc.


Nice building, in need of updates

2,2 sur septembre 12, 2009

We recently spent 2 nights at the Yellow Turtle. Right now, this B&B has been for sale over a year - and it shows in some maintenance issues. The beautiful labyrinth is badly in need of pruning - a job of just a few hours yet it has not been done. Same with removal of fallen leaves from one of the deck areas and some branches from the yard. We came to the B&B to get away from our own house maintenance issues, so this was a disappointment. Additionally, the room decor is in need of updating - an excess of faux floral arrangements and pearl necklaces. And too many slightly tattered magazines in the room. Only one of 3 guests was greeted in person by the innkeeper. Breakfast waffles were drowned in maple syrup - every other place serving waffles offers syrup on the side. By arrangement, the inn can provide a catered dinner - of peperoni pizza. We were surprised to see this on offer. The Yellow Turtle has lots of potential. We were somewhat disappointed by our experience, and we wish the owners well. All of the issues we experienced are fixable by current or future management.


My thoughts...

5 sur août 10, 2009

The only "negative" experience was having a wedding reception at the time of our stay. It was no problem having the initial gathering at the Inn, but later when the party moved to the reception area in the back, it overflowed onto the porch and the first floor of the Inn. This was mostly unsupervised children who sat on the chairs and the rocker and were on and off the porch. This left us with no where to comfortably and quietly sit and enjoy the porch. It was our understanding that once the reception started the Inn would be for the guests to enjoy. Suggestion: let weekend guests know ahead of time that there will be a reception so they can decide whether or not they want to come. Or have someone from the Inn supervise the reception so that the Inn would be for guests only. It wasn't terrible...just annoying. Over all, except for Sat. evening, this was a very enjoyable experience. Breakfast was delicious!


Simply Beautiful

5 sur janvier 02, 2009

We flew to MD from out of state for a romantic Christmas getaway. How lucky we were that the Inn was available on Christmas Eve. The room was spacious and relaxing, and Joan is a gracious host. We hope we can make it back to the Inn someday soon.


Peaceful and Serene

5 sur mai 15, 2008

I have been returning to the Yellow Turtle Inn for visits for the past 6 years. Over that time I have stayed in every single room, and not one has disappointed. The house is filled with serenity, and I have sat on the rear lawn at night watching millions of fireflies doing their dance. Joan is a friend to all who enter the Inn and will make any stay "special". Just writing about it makes me feel more peaceful. Even though I consider it my "secret retreat", everyone should have the opportunity to retreat to the Yellow Turtle Inn. And don't forget to walk the labyrinth!


Peaceful Serenity

5 sur mai 07, 2008

My stay at The Yellow Turtle Inn has been one of the highlights of my life. The owner, Joan, through her charm and attention to even the smallest detail, made my time there an incredible adventure. The grounds are laid out so that even if the Inn is full, there is privacy if desired. The rooms are decorated with such a wonderful Victorian flair that is seems as if you step back in time the minute you enter the door. The food is incredible and more than enough. If you are tired of the “same ole motel room”, treat yourself to a touch of peace in a home atmosphere where you are NOT just a number, but are a guest in the lovely home of Joan. I can’t wait for the opportunity to return. Good job Joan! Thank you so much for the memory! J Hughes


I'm down with the Angels

5 sur mai 07, 2008

I feel like I'm giving away a precious secret. My wife & I were married at the Turtle in 2004 and we've returned every year, including 2008, for our anniversary in May. Have a look. Visit the Yellow Turtle Inn Website. What you see is truly what you get. This old house will enchant you. Watching the day fade away on that huge front porch is an experience I will always cherish. Joan is a wonderful cook and conversationalist and she accommodates special needs and requests with grace and style. This year we tried out the couples massage option - and I'm hooked again. Sorry, I know this is a useless review. I'm hopelessly in love with this place. Better read the others.


Weekend Respite

4,6 sur mai 07, 2008

This past weekend my partner and I stayed with Joan at the Yellow Turtle Inn. We were enamored with the house itself and appreciated Joan's warm and welcoming personality. We ordered the champagne brunch on Sunday, which was phenomenal. Our dietary requests were graciously accomadated. We could not have had a better experience.


Whimsical place, but nothing special

3,0 sur février 11, 2008

Many knick-knacks everywhere, owner was nice, old house with old room heaters that creak loudly at night preventing light sleepers from resting adequately. Food was very good.


great place !!!

5 sur octobre 18, 2007

just returned from a 2 night stay and hated to leave ! this is a home away from home. pictures on web site do not do it justice ! the rooms are gorgeous and the service outstanding. and the dinners are way to much to eat in one sitting as you get sooooo much but try because there so good. and all the little extras to nibble on also, believe me you wont go hungry here ! everyone is very kind and gracious. so if your looking for a great get away, thats far but still close, then this place is for you. please plan a visit as soon as you can. i am sure joan would love having you as i plan to return myself very soon.


Yellow Turtle Inn Bed and Brunch

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $115 - $185
  • Avis (33) 4,2
  • Chambres 6
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4106353000

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut