Avis récents dans Maquoketa, Iowa

Unmatched hospitality!!!! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le juin 28, 2016

I apologize for the rather lengthy review, but words cannot and do not do justice for the hospitality, grace and customer service that Kathy and Virl provide. When we arrived to Maquoketa, Iowa, we had driven almost 12 hours that day, including thru several downpours and were experiencing another one when we arrived at our previously scheduled campsite. While debating on where to go and what to do, we stopped several places looking for WiFi and food. While my husband went in to a hotel to inquire about both plus accommodations, my son and I prayed about what to do, where to go, what to eat and most importantly, patience with each other since we were hungry, tired and weary because of such plus we had already paid for the campsite and didn't want to spend a lot of extra money. In one of the tourist magazines that hubs picked up from the hotel on his way out, a bed and breakfast was listed in the accommodations section. It was 8pm when Gino called the hostess Kathy, who was preparing to serve her guests dessert, dropped everything to meet us at the house JUST SO WE COULD LOOK AT IT, with no guarantee of booking a room. We toured the house and due to pricing and hospitality, immediately booked a room. We were greeted with open arms despite being soaked from the rain. We were whisked away to a room with amenities, meals and love that surpassed our expectations. We stayed in the Squires Room and was accompanied by a whirlpool bathtub, perfect for warming up from the cold rain. Our 4 year old son was warmly welcomed by hosts AND guests and was included in every conversation. We felt valued as a customer and appreciated as a guest. They have a sign on the back door that reads, "Come as strangers, leave as friends" and they couldn't live out this motto more perfectly. Their hospitality is unmatched and unequaled. We WILL DEFINITELY be staying with them again, unless they come visit us first.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful Mini-Honeymoon Stay à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le juin 27, 2016

My newly minted husband and I decided to take a mini-honeymoon to Maquoketa, Iowa to visit the caves, relax after the wedding preparations and celebrations, and also to visit Dubuque, IA. I thought a bed and breakfast might be a nice, romantic touch to our mini-vacation, and did some research. Squiers Manor had a fantastic website, straightforward booking and rate information, and enough pictures to really let us get a feel for what we might be looking for. We stayed in the Ballroom Suite for three nights and had the honeymoon/sweetheart package. The house itself has been wonderfully restored and furnished, and our suite was no different! Attention to detail was everywhere from our check-in, our room, the house, and the amazingly delicious breakfasts. Kathy and Virl outdid themselves at breakfast and dessert, and it felt like we were staying with family and friends. We will definitely be back in the future! Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality, cooking, and company!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Exquisite à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le juin 06, 2016

What a wonderful stay! This property is gorgeous, immaculate, and welcoming in every way. So peaceful and comfortable. We enjoyed sharing interesting conversation with our gracious hosts over a delicious, hearty, homecooked breakfast, and also loved and appreciated the wonderful desserts the night before...my warm, homemade bread pudding with caramel sauce was the best ever! Will definately plan another visit to lovely Maquoketa and Squires Manor B&B. Thank you, Virl and Kathy!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful place to stay! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le mai 09, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Squiers Manor, friendly inn keepers, great food, comfortable beds and excellent hospitality. Rooms were in excellent condition and made you feel like you were at home. We will return next time we are in the area and highly recommend it to anyone exploring the area.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful way to relax and enjoy a beautiful stately home. à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le avril 04, 2016

My Mother and I, along with my Sister-In-Law and Brother had an enchanting stay at Squires Manor. The rooms are cozy and filled with beautiful antiques. Virl and Kathy were very welcoming and the food was terrific. You won't be disappointed if you stay at the beautiful home.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Best B & B in the Midwest à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4,8 Dernier avis le mars 13, 2016

My wife and I stayed for two nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. From the friendly welcome with Peggy to the enjoyable candlelight desserts with Kathy and Virl, Squiers Manor is the best B & B we've stayed in yet. The home is gorgeous AND comfortable, while Virl and Kathy are two amazing human beings. Their generosity, hospitality, and engaging conversation set Squiers Manor apart as one of the best B & B's in the Midwest.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great honeymoon spot à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le mars 04, 2016

My husband an i spent our honeymoon in the ballroom sweet. It was great an we've been looking for a reason to come back. The food is great, the owner is great. We had her pick our wine an it was AMAZING.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A precious gem to be appreciated! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 19, 2015

My wife surprised me on my 60th birthday celebration by booking two nights in the quiet Midwestern town of Maquoketa, Iowa where an elegant and fully restored Queen Anne Victorian Mansion houses a Bed and Breakfast of epoch splendor and “World Class” 5 Star Service! Filled with a complete array of period antiques, welcoming homey atmosphere, spotlessly clean, and staffed by friendly, caring owners for whom attention to detail, customized diets, European dining, and a candlelight dessert is a lifestyle; not simply an occupation. Kathy is up at dawn and creating culinary, country delights which are hallmarks of her amazing, gourmet breakfasts featuring seasonal variations, many from their garden (tasty homemade juices, breads, and desserts are breathtaking) with a thoughtful eye to those with dietary challenges. Each room has a unique theme and blends historical furnishings with modern amenities, including central air and daily maid service. Most have single or double Jacuzzi tubs for the weary travelers who appreciate the modern comfort of this delightful farming town. From wineries to antiques, to fairground racing and county fairs, this destination makes for a stay you will never wish to forget! My wife was delighted at the bottle of Aloe Vera thoughtfully provided in our room. “I would have never thought to pack it, but who would not find it a handy”. Even the bath salts are provided, since they only ask that you refrain from the use of bubble bath in the Jacuzzis. “It tends to gum up the plumbing”, we were told. We will make this our definite lodging of choice the next time we are in the Jackson County area! We highly recommend Squiers Manor to those who wish to treat themselves to the elegance of a more relaxing time!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful weekend à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 15, 2015

We came with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Lots of fun outings close to the Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was superb. We will return and recommend to our friends.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Victorian Excellence at a Great Price à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 02, 2015

We have stayed at Squiers Manor before and keep coming back for the great hospitality and value. We enjoy antiques and the home and period furnishings continue to amaze us. Will return again.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Best Yet!!!! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 25, 2015

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. We have stayed at many bed & breakfasts and this is the best yet. The house seems to be perfectly restored to the original condition. The owner has decorated with period correct furnishings. The entire home is immaculate and the room we stayed in was so clean. We had a tour of the entire home and loved it. The breakfast in the morning and desserts served at 8 in the evening exceeded our expectations. Excellent food. The owner and other ladies working there are the best. Thank you for a perfect weekend. We will definitely go back!!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great experience à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 27, 2015

My wife and I recently (25SEP15) stayed at Squire's Manor for two nights. We had a great experience. Kathy and Virl are outstanding hosts and the accommodations were excellent. Not to mention the breakfast, which was out of this world. Great place to stay and well worth the very reasonable rates.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Back in time à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4,8 Dernier avis le septembre 16, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Manor for two nights recently in the bridal suite. It was like walking back in time and so beautifully decorated. The food was wonderful and Kathy and Virl were such excellent hosts. I would recommend staying here and hope to stay here again.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


What a find! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 09, 2015

Did a random pick on the internet and this is second to none compared to other B&B's we have stayed in. Immaculate, furnishings true to the era, and meeting new friends was a bonus. The town itself has a rich history of culture one would not expect.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Very pleasant experience à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 06, 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay in this very charming lovely old home. Our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb, with many dishes made from fresh produce grown in the back yard.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Outstanding Hosts à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4,8 Dernier avis le août 23, 2015

We paid a little more than we had hoped to, but we certainly got what we paid for. The room, service, and food far exceeded our expectations. Wish the hosts were younger so we could count on them running the business for another 20 years.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Incredible, Relaxing Experience! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le août 18, 2015

I have had only one other experience with a B&B that was, shall we say, less than stellar. My experience at Squires Manor was even better than expected! Kathy is an amazing baker/cook/hostess. She and Virl were so welcoming, it was like staying with friends by the time we left. The house is beautiful, rooms immaculate, comfortable, and stocked with amenities that rival any hotel. The manor and neighborhood make you feel as if you're in a movie set of "the good old days." I enjoyed my stay and will definitely return. I highly, highly recommend Squires Manor to anyone.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


August 1, 2015 à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le août 09, 2015

We stayed in Harriet Squiers room and it was beautiful. Had a wonderful breakfast the next morning. Met some really nice people who were also staying at the B&B. The owners were very nice and knowledgeable about the history of the house. Looking forward to staying here again.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Home Away From Home à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le juillet 08, 2015

We have been staying at the Manor since 2007 - Every July - on our way home from the AG Benefit Sale in Middleton. Virl & Kathy are super... You could not ask for better hosts, the BEST food ...wonderful atmosphere, fabulous home..I could go on and on... A MUST..put this on your bucket list. Will be there again the 19th of July and can't wait... cbest.....KcMo

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Frequent Guest and by far my favorite place to stay! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le mai 29, 2015

I have stayed quite a few times and wouldn't stay anywhere else when coming back to Maquoketa. Virl and Kathy have always made me feel like one of the family; even from my first stay. I'm planning on staying two different times in June and can't wait! Thank you Virl and Kathy for all you do!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Fabulous spot à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le mai 24, 2015

Excellent food and service, awesome food and incredible hosts with Virl and Kathy. We are celebrating our anniversary this weekend and could not have picked a better spot. Beautiful home with all the amenities you need. We will definitely be back. Dave & Louanna Miller, Monticello, IL.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful night away! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le avril 30, 2015

My husband and I received a night away as a gift from a dear friend who honeymooned at Squire's Manor. It was our first B & B and were not sure what to expect. It felt as though we were just visiting friends. Everyone was so welcoming. The house is a beautiful piece of history with such attention to detail. The evening desserts were delicious as was the morning meal. What a refreshing weekend!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful place! à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le avril 28, 2015

I had the opportunity to stay in this fabulous B&B mid-April. The rooms were beautiful, the service excellent and unobtrusive, the breakfast yummy, the owners charming. I wish I could have stayed forever, but unfortunately I had to leave after one night. If you are ever in Maquoketa, this is a real find.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Outstanding Stay à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le avril 27, 2015

We are a young couple, early twenties, and we came here to celebrate dating for 5 years and ger away from the city in a cozy, romantic way. This was absolutely perfect. The house is beautiful and full of history. It is a great way to escape all of the noise and hubbub of living in a big city. Our suite was beautiful and sported a beautiful sitting room. The bed was supremely comfortable and clean. The bathroom was the best part. Even with a modern jacuzzi tub the bathroom looks like a well-kept artifact. Kathy and Virl are both delightful and provided great service and food. Dessert was delicious and breakfast was everything we were looking for and more. The portions were also perfect. We would love to go again and recommend this bed and breakfast very much.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Lovely stay at this B&B à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le avril 16, 2015

A friend and I recently came for a painting workshop at the Maquoketa Art Experience and stayed at this lovely B&B. What a beautiful place and to top it off the innkeepers Kathy and Virgil make it extra special. Kathy is an amazing cook of her desserts in the evening and delicious "can't help but stuff yourself " breakfast. This is a place well worth staying at. SL & RM.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Weekend away à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4,2 Dernier avis le janvier 30, 2015

Enjoyed the tour of the home and the history lesson. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed your company while we ate.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great Package à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 09, 2014

Stayed in the J.E. Squiers Room for our 44th anniversary the first part of Oct. What a great place to stay, the rooms were more than expected and the overall weekend was great. Don't forget the food was excellent just like home can not wait to go back

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Lives up to all the wonderful things I'd read and heard à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 13, 2014

If you are in the Maquoketa or the surrounding Dubuque area, this is a wonderful place to stay. I'm usually a hotel person but decided to take the recommendation of others and book a room at Squiers Manor for my Maquoketa stay. I received a warm welcome and tour of the historic landmark. Innkeeper Kathy made me feel right at ease and checked with me about my schedule and needs. I most definitely recommend the candlelight dessert. There were at least 5 - 6 items to choose from that night. Breakfast was also just unbelievable. It was served on china with fresh fruit salad, homemade breakfast bread, egg casserole, seasoned potatoes and items from the manor garden. My room was beautiful and very comfy. I stayed in "Opals Parlor", lots of light and plenty of room, although the bathroom was a wee bit on the small side. Other rooms have large baths and jetted tubs so you have that choice. I would most definitely return to Squiers Manor if I'm in the area again.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Love put into property and it shows à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 27, 2014

Kathy and Virl and put years of love, decorating and attention into this property. It reflects an authentic Victorian atmosphere and it great fun to visit and experience another time. Walks around the neighborhood are also enjoyable. Good food, good conversation and well worth a reservation.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Life Just Off the Mississippi à Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 08, 2014

We originally stayed years ago for an Anniversary. My wife who grew up in Maquoketa and I came back from Chicago in late July for our 35th Anniversary weekend in the Bridal Suite and were joined at the Manor by her sister and twin daughters from California. We enjoyed the hospitality, history, beauty, and breakfast so much that we came back last weekend and met friends from Des Moines for for a boating day on the Mississippi. Hats off to Virl and Kathy! Guests are treated like family. Converstations between former strangers at breakfast are great. We'll be back often when visiting my wife's folks.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Les B&B les mieux notés

  1. Squiers Manor B&B (4,90)
Haut
}