The Elms Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,2

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,0
  • Services4,2
  • Qualité/Prix4,0
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
86 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Historical mansion

4,6 sur octobre 01, 2014

Although next to to the paper mill, we learned that the elms used to belong to the family of the mill back in the 1800s. The family, the Warrens were played a huge role in the history of Westbrook. I would encourage visitors to discover for themselves.


Visit to Portland, Maine

3,6 sur août 31, 2014

Both hosts were very kind. Would stay again.


Tough mudder

3,2 sur août 26, 2014

I just slept the night. Left too early to get breakfast. Matt was very friendly. The kitchen could of been stocked better for people who get up before 8 am.


The Elms bed and breakfast

4,2 sur août 25, 2014

Lovely rooms, beautiful home, outstanding service


Quaint, but refreshing

4,0 sur août 22, 2014

The entire set-up is very antique-y, but super cute. The hosts were polite and easy to talk to. I appreciated the billiard room, hot tub, and shared bathrooms. The room was spacey, which many added details. Breakfast was delicious. The only negatives were the Wi-Fi didn't quite work on the top floor and the snacks available were somewhat stale. I would, however, recommend staying here. It is close to bustling Portland, but not in the hub-bub of the area.


The Elms B&B

3,6 sur août 21, 2014

The Elms is a bit of distance outside of the downtown area but we called a cab and had an easy ride into town. No issues grabbing a cab in the downtown area to get back to the B&B. The B&B is a very nice and well maintained Victorian home. We only spent a Saturday night there and spent most of our time in town. We stayed in the River Room which was very spacious and had an inviting feel to it. The best part of the stay for us was the Sunday morning breakfast. The food was great and there were people from all across the country there that morning. The conversation with other travelers was a lot of fun. I would definitely recommend The Elms as a place to stay if in the Portland, ME area. We would certainly go back.


Outstanding Oasis and Down home Comfort

5 sur août 17, 2014

Love the self entry and get yourself set up. But the owners are just a phone call away whenever for whatever. I can't say enough about how awesome and tasty the breakfast experience is. All fine china. Everyone eating together really does generate great conversation for an hour. Initially the idea of a shared bathroom was intimidating, but we had no complaints. The B&B was full two of the three nights and we were never inconvienced. Hopefully no one else was either. I'd definitely do it again. We'll surely be back next year when we're going through Portalnd.


Step back in time to luxury at affordable prices

5 sur août 11, 2014

Lovely 3-night stay. Comfortable. Clean. Charming host. Fabulous breakfasts. Easy in and out.


Strange place, a little spooky

2,4 sur août 08, 2014

Charming but rundown house in shabby suburb, opposite a paper mill and farther from central Portland than one was led to believe from website. Still, the strangest aspect of the place is that it's basically D-I-Y. Not only do the owners not live on the premises, they're largely absentee. You arrive, open the door with a combination you've been sent, and pick up the key to your room from the table near the entrance. Owners don't materialize until (an admittedly excellent) breakfast the next morning. It's not "The Shining," exactly, but it's not like any B&B I've ever stayed at.


Loved The Elms

4,6 sur juillet 28, 2014

I don't know what people were complaining about with regard to the paper mill, etc. We heard little noise, there was no smell, and the area was just fine. By chance, the nearby CVS accommodated us in a minor medical emergency with friendly compassion. After checking in, we ate a good meal at the Thai restaurant down the block. From the moment we got to The Elms, we felt comfortable. The Bear Den - our room - was lovely, the air conditioner worked fine and we enjoyed a really peaceful night after driving for hours to get to Portland. The next morning, we chatted with the other guests out on the porch. Breakfast was a delicious, feather-light home-made waffle with wild blueberries. What's not to like?


I very nice place to stay

4,2 sur juillet 27, 2014

The house is lovely, the porch sublime, and the breakfast elegant! The only downsite is that there was a fair amount of road noise in our room facing the factory, but wax ear plugs solved that.


Perfect!

5 sur juillet 09, 2014

We loved our stay at The Elms. The room was lovely and the breakfasts were wonderful. We enjoyed wandering around the beautiful house and relaxing on the porch.


Memorable

4,6 sur juin 13, 2014

We had a home away from home. Comfy and cozy. Innkeepers were welcoming and helpful with knowledge of the area. The best room in the house, as they advised, was the screened porch facing the river. We spent pleasant hours there in the summer evening. The room was very comfortable, spacious with a good mattress. Overall, the experience was one we will savor.


We had a great stay at The Elms!

4,6 sur janvier 13, 2014

My wife and I went for our honeymoon and we were looking for something homey, and this was perfect. The room was spacious, and the location was great. It was a super easy drive to get into Portland. We had a great time with the innkeeper, Matt, who is an excellent cook. He was friendly, caring, and helped us with finding places to eat and things to do. It added a personal feel and connection which was what we also wanted.


Pleasant place to stay!

4,2 sur octobre 07, 2013

The room was nice, although unremarkable. However, the host was charming and the breakfast he prepared was truly wonderful.


The Elms

2,8 sur septembre 06, 2013

Clean, lovely rooms, but only two have private baths. Breakfast was less than expected. Dining room table had white paper covering it which was appealing. Staff worked very hard to accomodate visitors. Screened side porch was wonderful. B & B sits across from Paper Factory on a busy street.


Consistently Outstanding

5 sur juillet 30, 2013

Returning to The Elms after 3 years brought both excitement and apprehension. End Result: The Innkeepers have consistently maintained their high level of generous hospitality, personal attentiveness to guest detail and exceptional quality of service. BRAVO!


Great stay at the Elms

4,4 sur juin 25, 2013

The Elms B&B is beautiful and I enjoyed my weekend stay. Matt, the innkeeper was very accommodating. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. Would definitely recommend!


Most enjoyable stay!

5 sur juin 02, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at The Elms immensely! My room on the third floor reminded me of the room in my grandfather's old house in Connecticut where I stayed as a kid. Lovely view down to the Presumpscott River, too. Matt is a great innkeeper and he prepares a totally awesome breakfast. I loved the woodwork in the house; the ceilings are wonderful. Safe secluded parking, much appreciated. I highly recommend this Inn.


Nice room, loved the hot tub

4,0 sur mai 01, 2013

The inn keeper is very friendly and helpful. The house is an old Victorian. It is on a busy road so its easy to find, but surprisingly quiet inside. The hot tub is on a screened in porch overlooking the river - beautiful!! Overall we had a great experience. I gave 3 stars for cleanliness because some parts of the house smelled musty. However, our room was very clean & not musty.


Thanks Matt

5 sur mars 11, 2013

I stayed at The Elms five different times over the last 1 1/2 years for business reasons. My visits were during the off-season tourist season so I was the only one at the inn. All the rooms transport one back to the time when the inn was used by a large paper business for entertaining clients. Some rooms have a common bathroom. Matt, the innkeeper, was a very gracious host. He made very delicious breakfasts every morning of my stay. The Inn is in a business district of the town. There is a view of the paper factory but the factory is not noisy nor does it give off odor. There is a nice river view on the other side of the inn. The rooms are reasonably priced. Some minor repairs need to be made on the walks and the front door. I would definitely stay there again.


The Perfect Weekend

5 sur mars 06, 2013

I loved exploring Maine and coming back to what felt like home. What a beautiful area.


Great Place to Stay

4,2 sur mars 02, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in February and had an incredible time. It was our first time staying in a Bed and Breakfast, but the Inn Keeper was very personable and accommodating. We stayed in the river room which was beautiful, and took full advantage of the outdoor hot tub and billiard room. I would definitely recommend staying here if you need a place to stay around the Greater Portland area.


A treat to stay in such a wonderful house!

4,2 sur novembre 17, 2012

Staying in this huge Victorian house made us feel as though we were living back in time. It is a special house for sure. High ceilings, massive staircase, elaborate woodwork and riverside veranda are just some of the features. Freshly cooked breakfast at the looooong dining room table was unique. Really nice place and friendly innkeeper.


Pictures can be deceiving.

3,4 sur octobre 09, 2012

Location was a disappointment. From the exterior picture you expected the property to be situated in a quiet neighborhood; however it was across the street from a large papermill factory, which our room faced, on a busy thoroughfare. Quite noisy! If you need to stay here ask for a room facing the river.....should be much quieter with a much better view.


OK Stay

2,8 sur octobre 06, 2012

After staying in many bed and breakfasts we felt this was overpriced compared to other places in Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont


Fabulous B & B with wonderful hosts

5 sur septembre 20, 2012

This was our first time in a B&b and we were so pleasantly surprised as to how wonderful it was. It's so much nicer than any type of hotel. We loved the room. It was so nice chatting with the owners and the several interesting guests we met there during our stay. We highly recommend The Elms and will definitely stay there again when we are again in the area.


Wonderful Stay, Amazing Breakfast at The Elms

5 sur septembre 04, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had a The Elms! The decor was adorable and the innkeeper incredible friendly as well as an amazing chef. Breakfast was delicious and the beds were comfortable.


At home in a Victorian style house

4,6 sur août 23, 2012

We decided to stay there because it was quite affordable. It's a little far from the downtown Portland but still worth every penny. The owner was a charming man. He sat with all the guests and we talked. A very enjoyable and relaxing environment. He made us feel welcome and at home. We liked it so much that we are planning to go back on our way back home.


Great gem, just a few minutes outside Portland!

4,4 sur août 08, 2012

We stumbled upon this inn because every room in Portland seemed to be booked. It was a great option! Reasonably priced, clean and tucked away by a river. Nice, solid breakfast and warm, friendly innkeeper. We would definitely go back even if there were rooms available in Portland.


The Elms

3,4 sur juillet 30, 2012

An enjoyable stay, convenient to The Old Port. Matt prepared an excellent breakfast. Fun playing billiards, wish we had used the hot tub, maybe next time.


Nice home

3,4 sur juillet 24, 2012

The home is beautiful and the woodwork was beautiful! Inlaid floor in the dining room, wood with beams on the ceilings. Very nice. Breakfast was wonderful, altho the waffles were made one at a time, so the serving time was rather lengthy. The owners were very helpful with info for the area. We stayed on the third floor and the AC was not keeping the room cool. Could have been the warm temps outside. A ceiling fan would have been nice. Mattress - very hard and my husband woke up with a stiff back. The entire place seemed to lack a woman's touch in decorating, etc. In the morning we realized that the owners are two men. So, if the little things in the decor are not important to you, this place is fine. The bathroom on the third floor had two showers and two sinks. Something you usually don't see and that was extremely nice. However you had to share it with the others on that floor, which never was a problem for us.


A Perfect Place to stay in Portland!

4,6 sur juillet 17, 2012

What an interesting setting...the lazy river on one side and an historic paper mill on the other. Be sure to ask about the history of the house! Great Value! It would have helped not to share a bathroom as we were had a time crunch and getting ready for a wedding. But I would return and I recommend it! The dining room was majestic and the breakfast so hearty and delicious. Best to you, Matt and Scott. God bless!


Wonderful

4,0 sur juillet 15, 2012

My wife, niece, and I found this place to be warm and inviting. We stayed on the 3rd floor with a shared bathroom which was outstanding. The main floor has a great pool table and a jacuzzi outside on the porch. Scott and Matt are gracious funny hosts. Easygoing as well.


Vacation time

3,0 sur juillet 11, 2012

Clean place and Matt was very friendly. Two problems we had was both mornings our shower was ice cold. The other problem is Breakfast time. We had to leave the one morning at 8:50 a.m. Breakfast was to be served from 8:30 to 9:30 a.m. at 8:50 breakfast still was not served and we had to leave so we got no breakfast. The next morning we had to leave at 6:30 still no breakfast. Would suggest for couples who can not stay still midmorning to have at least muffins, juice, toast, something to eat since it is included in the room fee.


Would stay again

3,8 sur juin 06, 2012

A beautiful period inn with an interesting history. The innkeeper was attentive and thorough. Great breakfast omelet.


The Elms, a step back to late 19th century elegance

4,6 sur mai 29, 2012

Matt the innkeeper was very helpful and accomodating. He's also an accomplished cook and provided excellent breakfast. We would definitely return to The Elms again.


Nice visit

3,6 sur octobre 30, 2011

Beautiful home and gracious hosts. The Sunday morning eggs benedict were delicious.


Surprised

3,8 sur octobre 24, 2011

We were very impressed by the historic building and authentic interior. A wonderful stay thanks to our lovely hosts. Claas & Elaine


Great place to stay!

3,8 sur octobre 21, 2011

Had a lovely time at the Elms. Matt was very welcoming and knowledgeable. The surrounding area is gorgeous. Would definitely stay here again.


Short stay

3,4 sur octobre 17, 2011

This house must be seen! Despite the industrial enviornment (one side) the The Elms is something very special in a positive way. Large cleane rooms, spacious common areas and good breakfust together with other guests and the staff is really something that we can recommend


Great weekend stay!

3,8 sur octobre 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Elms a Saturday and Sunday night. This was our first B&B experience. The Innkeepers are very pleasant and helpful, have great tips on where to go and what to see in the area. We woke Sunday to a great eggs benedict breakfast, and Monday to big Belgian waffles w/ Maine blueberries :D The room was neat and clean, as were the bathrooms. Yes, you do have a view of the big paper mill across the street, but if you dony want to see it, go on the screened in porch in the back :D Overall one of the best weekends ever


Cozy place to stay with your dog!

5 sur octobre 10, 2011

nice pleasant surprise! Gorgeous home, host that went out of his way to make you feel welcomed. Offered us the bigger room, (vs staying in 2 seperate ones) so we got to save money! I almost never sleep well when i go away, but at the Elms, I slept like i was home. Great place to bring your dog(s)


The real New England B&B Deal

5 sur octobre 04, 2011

I've stayed at the Elms twice now -- home-made-from-scratch eggs benedict the first time, and home-made waffles the second. Compared to even a nice business-traveler's hotel -- well, there is no comparison. We fell in love with The River Room, which is an exceptional value for the price -- my wife is all about the antique hardwood floors and tall victorian windows and ceilings. The owners are really nice -- very cordial, very casual and relaxed, and they leave you alone to have your vacation. I came back a second time, and I'll be back next year. It looks like a great place to have a party, and I've been thinking about doing my 40th birthday party there. It might be my favorite place to stay away from home.


Beautiful home and wonderful service

4,0 sur octobre 01, 2011

Stayed two nights and wish it were more. Hosts were very accommodating and friendly. Food was excellent and the atmosphere was better. Recommend a stay.


A lovely old house in a pretty setting

4,0 sur septembre 30, 2011

The Elms is the most amazing house, in original condition and furnished beautifully. The room I stayed in was beautiful, very comfortable and with a view over the nearby river. The host was very friendly and welcoming, with excellent suggestions about where to eat dinner. The only slight downside is its position across the road from the local papermill, but that didn't disturb my stay in any way. I really enjoyed my stay, and would love to have stayed for longer. I would certainly recommend it to my friends


Cub Cave at the Elms

3,2 sur septembre 29, 2011

Stayed 2 nites in the Cub Cave room, perfect for a single traveler.Felt very safe here, lighting was excellant everywhere. Breakfast included fresh fruit, eggs benedict, and a frittata the next day, very good. Very relaxed atmosphere, great sitting on the veranda. Would definitely recommend it.


Lovely, historical house with convenient location and great service

4,4 sur septembre 20, 2011

Our room was great and very comfortable. Everything went smoothly with the reservation and Matt was very helpful with recommendations and directions. The Elms is in a very accesible location and the price of our room was very reasonable. The breakfasts are delicious; you don't want to miss them!


Magical stay at The Elms

4,8 sur septembre 03, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Elms, particularly the incredible hospitality extended by innkeeper, Matt. The exceptional breakfast topped off a delightful evening spent in the parlor and back porch.


long summer weekend

3,6 sur août 31, 2011

Generously sized rooms. Comfortable beds. A 24 hour coffee/beverage station would be a nice touch. Serve water with breakfast. Need to update menus of local restaurants. Appreciated dining recommendations. Welcome goody basket would be nice. Located near a wonderful walking/running path along the river.


Personal Service may be needed

3,6 sur août 25, 2011

Everything is fine. One thing I want this BB to do more is personal contact. I don't want to pick up my key from the desk when I arrive without any explanation.


Love, love, love The Elms!

4,0 sur août 24, 2011

We visited on the way to our vacation destination and on the way home from the vacation. Scott and Matt were super-friendly. The breakfast was deluxe both days (fresh fruit, waffles, and whipped cream; eggs benedict and a green salad). The rooms were spotless and private and the bath was huge! We will be back.


Great B&B near Portland

4,4 sur août 23, 2011

I'd recommend this B&B for those seeking to explore Portland and the surrounding area. I stayed in the Cottage Room, which was quiet, clean and spacious. It looked over the river. The only drawback was a shared bathroom, which the host let you know up front, so you really can't complain about it. The breakfast was incredibly yummy and the hosts went out of their way to accommodate my early flight departure. Thanks again!


Hey Sailor

5 sur août 23, 2011

The Elms was a great home for my first visit to Maine. Innkeeper Matt was very helpful, very welcoming and just very cute!


Met expectations

3,0 sur août 22, 2011

Innkeepers very helpful and nice, this inn met my expectations for the price. Breakfast was a little later than suited our schedule, but otherwise good.


Simply Amazing!

5 sur août 19, 2011

Warm and friendly hospitality; clean and beautiful rooms; perfect location; great food; and wonderful feeling of being "at home" while still on vacation. I loved this place!


august 2011

2,8 sur août 16, 2011

A very quiet room with a Paper Mill in front of the building. Maybe the views on the little lake is better. The room don't have a private bathroom.


unexpected pleasure

4,8 sur août 11, 2011

What an incredible house! Absolutely positively beautiful inside, unlike any property I've ever seen. The historic value of the property is astounding, the woodwork unbelievable, and the hosts are lovely friendly people who cook fabulous breakfasts. Please don't be worried about the mill across the street...it becomes a figment of your imagination once you go inside The Elms. Thank you for everything. Susie Rioff


A piece of history

4,6 sur août 11, 2011

Had an absolutely great stay at The Elms, beautiful house with woodwork everywhere. Breakfasts were amazing!


The Well-appointed House

4,8 sur juillet 31, 2011

It's everything a bed & breakfast should be. The decorations and fixtures were tasteful and appropriate - those little things are noticable. The Innleepers were knowledgeable welcomng and enjoyable.


A GoodExperience at the Elms

4,0 sur juin 24, 2011

We had a day to spend in Portland,Maine and it was a fun time at a pleasant B&B


great stopover

4,4 sur juin 13, 2011

We stayed one night and due to the season we had the house to ourselves. Great place! Very comfy, and a quick jump into touring beautiful Portland. Our host was pleasant and friendly offering friendly advice on places to visit and where to catch a good meal. We'll certainly visit again on our next trip to the area.


A Room With a View

4,6 sur juin 12, 2011

A beautiful Victorian-era mansion that is a bit pricey but well worth the stay. Our room overlooked the river and beautiful grounds, and the hosts were welcoming and engaging as we had access not only to our room but to all the shared spaces including the screened-in veranda (with hot tub), the billiard room with games and TV, and the snack bar in the kitchen at all times. Will return to the The Elms next time we are in Portland.


Great place not far from Portland

4,2 sur juin 12, 2011

I found this place because my wife wanted to stay at a B&B near Portland during Memorial Weekend for 1 night. All of the other places near Portland were either fully booked, or requires minimum 2-3 days of stay. I was thankful to find this at the last minute and was happy that the cost per night of stay was very reasonable. The room itself was fine. Very clean and has a good view of the back. The only drawback was the fact that we had to share bathroom which are available on each floor. Fortunately the bathrooms are large, featuring two showers a couple can use it at the same time. Since there was another bathroom on the 2nd floor (we stayed on the 3rd), the one time where my floor's bathroom was busy and I wanted to use it, I used the 2nd floor's. While I enjoyed my own room's quality, I would imaging that the view from the rooms facing front not to be too good because there is this gigantic papermill in front and that's pretty much it. The views from the back/side are much better, there is a river and nicely manicured lawn. The B&B's location is fantastic. It took us less than 15 minutes to get to Old Port in Portland. There is a Rite Aid store around 1 minute way from the Inn so if you need to buy sun lotion, medicine, or bottled water, food, etc. you can get it easily. The breakfast was awesome! We first had a fruit salad made from strawberries and watermelon. When we finished that we were served Waffles with berries. Both the fruit salad and the waffles were outstanding. Finally, we weren't told that the Inn has a Hot tub, but there is one in the back porch. The owner Matt was very nice, he was the cook and we chattede up a bit. The host Scott was also very nice. He recommended us some nice restaurants to eat in the town. Quick tip: If you want to eat at the resturant Frog and Turtle just make sure you reserve it first because it was very busy on sat night.


Ask for the eggs benedict recipe

4,6 sur mai 31, 2011

Cozy, welcoming and laid back place. Fantastic and easy going hosts who gave us great advice on where to go for seafood and hiking/camping. We were lucky enough to be around on a day on which the best eggs benedict I have ever had was served.


Great friendly place to stay

4,0 sur mai 29, 2011

We were happy to find The Elms. Our room was extremely affordable compared with other area b n bs. Matt the owner was very friendly and welcomed Us in. Our room was spacious and well - equipped. We slept well. Our room didn't have an on-suite bath, but the bath was across the hall and we were the only guests using it. two sinks and two showers. I think that the fact that a few rooms don't have private baths should be mentioned on the website. It worked fine for us. the full hot breakfast was outstanding! both owners cooked - had wonderful eggs Benedict and fresh fruit. A grand housed looking over the river. Used to be owned by the paper mill that is still immediately across the street. There is a walk across the river. we would stay here again, a great alternative to stale, faceless hotel rooms and indifferent staff and also, to the high-priced bnbs.


Comfy and Cozy

4,2 sur avril 17, 2011

We arrived late, but were greeted; we got up early, but were greeted. Very enjoyable experience.


We enjoyed The Elms B & B!

4,0 sur avril 06, 2011

We only stayed one night but really enjoyed our stay. The charm of the house, the friendliness of the owners, the beautiful and tasty breakfast, the peaceful river views were all enhancements to our stay. Playing billiards and going into Portland for dinner were nice additions. The Elms is convenient to the interstate and easy to find. There are places to walk nearby. It would be a wonderful place to visit in warmer weather and would make a really fun place to have a murder mystery party or dinner party!


Beer and Lobster

5 sur décembre 14, 2010

We came to Maine for some beer and lobster and stayed for the kindness and hospitality from Matt and Scott. We had a "game plan" of our own but the tips and advice we received made the trip much more enjoyable. I would highly recommend a stay at this historic B&B on your next visit to Portland. Matt's breakfasts alone are worth the trip! Mark H. Washington, DC


The Elms Bed & Breakfast

5 sur décembre 06, 2010

The owners were so hospitable. We felt very at home. Thanks again!


An outstanding bit of history!

4,8 sur novembre 19, 2010

The Elms Bed & Breakfast is absolutely outstanding! It is not only a lovely B&B, but it is an amazing bit of Portland history that its owners have chosen to share with us. You will feel as though you step back in time ... beautiful antiques, lovely rooms and a touch of elegance yet comfortable and warm. The owners are great hosts and do all that they can to make you feel welcome. Our breakfasts were absolutely amazing ... I will admit that we were spoiled and could easily get used to the excellent meals as well as the most lovely of settings. We can not thank the hosts enough for such a wonderful stay. And we will most definitely recommend the Elms to family and friends! Thank you again for a great visit. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to visiting again!


excellent renovated old house with yery friendly people,

5 sur novembre 15, 2010

friendly people, marvelous furniture, closed to the city,


This was a wonderful place would stay again

4,4 sur octobre 28, 2010

the host were very freindly and did what they could to be sure we had a good stay.


Awsome Inn

5 sur octobre 21, 2010

The Inn was an ideal location. You are just far enough away from Portland. The breakfasts that Matt cooked for us were extravagant. He made a maple quiche that was delicious. I have stayed at other Inns but this one is the best by far!! We will be returning.


I'd Do it again!

3,8 sur septembre 26, 2010

Had a wonderful time at the Inn. Breakfast was great, and the hot tub was a relief after my Century. There is a paper mill across the street, and we did stay in the Mill Room; but it was not noticeable unless one went looking for it. The staff was great, and did I say the breakfasts were wonderful? We sat with the other guests, which I like, and it was very unhurried. If you're going to Portland - consider this place.


Charming inn in good location.

4,2 sur septembre 22, 2010

Charming environment with attentive and friendly hosts. Very good and carefully prepared meals with attention to any special dietary needs. A variety of rooms from tiny and cozy to larger, more elegant. Very clean, with all amenities provided.


Lovely stay

4,6 sur septembre 08, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Elms. We stayed in the Leather room, which over looks the river. It is such a lovely, relaxing view! The Elms is different from your typicaly B&B - it has a feel of faded grandeur rather than extreme cute/quaintness. Our breakfast was hearty and filling, set with exquisite china. And the hot tub outside was nice after a long day of walking around Portland. I also loved just sitting on the verandah and reading and enjoying the view of the willows overlooking the river. Would definitely come again.


Quite Lovely :)

4,0 sur août 18, 2010

I had to arrive late, but I was given a code to get in the door, and there was an envelope waiting for me (with my key) in lobby ;) Very nice customer service. The room was very comfortable and clean. Enjoyed a nice breakfast with other travelers in the big dining room! Beautiful back porch (wish i had time to use the hot tub!)... Thanks for the nice stay ;)


Great B&B, Great Value

3,4 sur août 13, 2010

Lovely location in historic area of Westbrook, on the river and across from the paper mill - i didn't mind the mill and there was no odor, as some other reviewer commented. Great area for walking. Great value. Lovely hosts and fabulous breakfast in the grand dining room.


Relaxing...

4,4 sur septembre 16, 2009

Traveled to greater Portland last weekend for a wedding. I was lucky to find The Elms B&B. My partner and i arrived on Thursday to Saturday. Friday morning was a continental breakfast with fresh fruit, pastries, and yougurt. Saturday was eggs benidict and home fries with fresh fruit. They were both very yummy relaxing breakfast's, where we had the pleasure to sit and talk to the other guests/innkeeper. The veranda is a nice place to sit with a cocktail and a book, or to just look down the river, and have a chat. My room was on the mill side, which i thought would be a problem due to street noise, but once you are in the building you forget the mill is across the street. i did have to share a bathroom, which i also thought i might not enjoy, but was never bothered and only had to wait once. The Elms gave me just what i needed. A nice relaxing wedding weekend.


Not recommended

1,6 sur septembre 07, 2009

The website pictures may be pretty, but The Elms is not worth the $165/night that we paid. The bathroom was shared (not pointed out to us), the room was very cold with the heated barely responding at all and the innkeeper was out of town, leaving a young, un-informed woman to represent the inn. The hairdryer did not work in the in-room plugs and the bathroom shower stall had a slow drain that made the water pool at your feet (and this being a shared bathroom situation). By the way, the Inn is across the street from a BIG INDUSTRIAL building. (also not mentioned, but why would they?) If I were to stay in Portland again I would prefer the Marriott or the Hilton (and I am a real B&B fan)!


I learned a hard lesson

3,2 sur octobre 27, 2008

We booked a stay at this grand old home, after reading the website description and the info on BedandBreakfast.com. As we were driving out of Portland and across the bridge into what is Westbrook, we saw a giant manufacturing plant on the far side of the bridge and then realized our B&B was directly across the street from this loud and smelly paper mill. It was tremendoudly disappointing and it flavored our stay here. I now know that I MUST call and ask exactly what is surrounding a B&B before I book a room. It was a hard lesson, but one I will never forget. The house itself is architectually interesting and grand, the decor inside is only fair at best. I would not recommend this B&B to any of my friends traveling to Portland, I would suggest they remain in the city and stay in one of the very nice historic B&Bs downtown.


Great stay

4,6 sur juillet 21, 2008

The inn is located in a quiet area out of the way. The sit down breakfast was delicious and a great time to sit down with other guests. The porch overlooked the river and is a perfect place to relax. Drinks and snacks were provided for anyone who had the munchies and the rooms were unique and very clean. I had a great time and would love to repeat my stay many times.


A great value with true antique character!

4,0 sur avril 07, 2008

Another inn owner who got away for a night to Portland..... Loved everything about this place. The atmosphere, unabashed authenticity of true Victorian details, delightful breakfast, and congenial hosts. Highly recommended!!


A Great getaway

4,8 sur novembre 09, 2007

I decided to get away just for a night to porland. I was lucky enough to have found The Elms B&B. I am also in the "Inn" business and have certain expectations. The Elms exceeded all mine. The rom I stayed in was Huge and extremely comfortable. Great view of wooded area and the river. The common areas downstairs was absolutely beatiful and well decorated. The innkeepers, Matt and scott were so friendly and accomodating. They wrote out great directions to the places I requested. I wouldabsolutely recoomend The Elms to anyone looking to visit Portland on vacation or for a quick getaway. Thank you for a great getaway...


A good stay

4,4 sur novembre 05, 2007

We had an excellent stay, and would recommend this B&B to others. We stayed in the "sun drenched" cottage room-it was a clear day so sun poured into the room, which was beautiful in the morning. The room was cozy, but the decor was a little out-dated. We didn't use the other services offered (tv, pool table, etc), and instead drove into Portland for the night. The directions Matt gave me to get to town were unclear or wrong, so I got lost which was frustrating. The bed and bath rooms were very clean, and our eggs Benedict breakfast was delicious. Matt and the cook made us feel comfortable and welcomed. It was a good stay.


The Elms Bed & Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $99 - $225
  • Avis (86) 4,2
  • Chambres 7
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2078544060

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut