The Young House Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
74 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Best B&B visit we've ever had!

5 sur septembre 19, 2013

We are still raving about our visit to Youngs House B&B. The inn was warm and inviting and meticulously clean. We loved sitting on the porch and enjoying our tea and coffee after walking downtown to get a bit to eat. But the BEST part - BREAKFAST! It was fantastic! The most delicious meal of our whole 10-day vacation. Were already scheming how we can get back to Millinocket for another visit to Youngs House B&B. :)


pleasantly surprised

5 sur septembre 07, 2013

The Young House B&B is very comfortable and clean. The rooms are very cute, and have everything a hotel room does. I was surprised that the hot water never got cold, even though the house was full when I was there. Being able to take a long hot shower after a long hike is a must for me. I was surprised how nice the house was. I knew that the area it is located is pretty remote, so I was not sure what to expect, but I was very pleased. The breakfast was amazing, and I am just now remembering to write this review because I am craving the couscous and granola topped yogurt right now. We also had to check in very late, and also check out very early. Everyone was very accomidating. I would love to visit again sometime! Thanks Micki and Fred, from Lori Overton (2012 AT thru hiker group who came back in July 2013 to hike Mt. Katahdin again in better weather)


quite a breakfast at the Young House!

4,8 sur août 22, 2013

We spent a one-night stopover at the Young House traveling from Prince Edward island to Boston. Fred and Micki were gracious hosts, and the house itself is charming from top to bottom. The breakfast was truly exceptional (and substantial!).


Memorable and Restful

4,4 sur août 06, 2013

We had a great 10 year anniversary visiting Maine in part because of our stay at this B&B. Amazing breakfast (large portions, great selection, later breakfast option up till 9:30)! Enjoyed delightful conversation with the owners and found them helpful with options in the area. Rested deeply in the Baxter Room and were entertained by the large selection of movies available with the TV in our room. Great visit and hopefully we will go again someday!


Visit to Baxter State Park

5 sur juillet 29, 2013

Micki & Fred, Thank you for making our stay a wonderful experience! Breakfast was over the top!! Your home is just lovely. I will be back next year to stay. See you then! Kathleen A.


Inviting owners and divine breakfast!

5 sur juillet 15, 2013

We checked-in at around supper time and were promptly greeted by the very friendly housekeeper and owner, Micki Shumacher. She gave us a quick tour of our room and helped us with a few details regarding our hike the next day. The room, Mount Katahdin room, was very nice and clean and quite spacious for the two of us. It has it’s own shower and toilet (as all rooms have, I believe). The sink/vanity was located in the room (a feature we love). We slept very well! The bed was very comfortable and we couldn’t hear any of the neighbors (all rooms were rented). On our first morning, we had to leave very early to complete our hike, so the owners prepared us a nice breakfast to go. A very nice touch that goes above and beyond in our opinion. The morning after our hike, being exhausted, we arrived downstairs for a real treat. The breakfasts here are absolutely incredible! Try combining a real traditional homemade breakfast with the quality of gastronomical restaurants and you’ll start to have an idea of how good this is. The spinach eggs benedict were to die for and “2, two and too” was heartier (and much tastier) than what you’ll find at truck stop! Plus, they start things off with a tasty yogurt parfait. If these don’t float your boat, you can choose from a wide variety available on the menu… Yes, a menu at a B&B! Suffice to say, it’s worth staying here just for the food. To get an idea, of the charm and beauty of the house, you only need to check the website. The pictures are a true reflection. The porch is great just to lie around, read a book and relax. We were very happy to have had the experience of staying here. Although our hike was very strenuous, we found here a little oasis that makes you feel at home. It’s almost like visiting the relatives you love, but that you only get a chance to do on rare occasions. We’ll certainly be back for some R&R or for more adventuring.


Feel like your staying with old friends

5 sur juin 09, 2013

If you are staying in Millinocket, you definitely should stay at the Young House Bed & Breakfast! From the moment you walk in, you feel like you've known Micki and Fred all your life! The room and stay was fantastic, and the food was amazing!! The owners know a lot about the area, where to eat, where to hike, where to find moose, and Mt. Katahdin! You will also love the artwork hanging all around the house. Like I said, you will definitely feel like you are at home at The Young House B&B. My husband and I will definitely come again!!


A Great Stay

4,6 sur avril 10, 2013

A group of us were going to Millinocket to visit our niece and were pleasantly surprised with this lovely B&B available. The rooms all had private baths and were nicely decorated. We used the comfortable parlor to stay up talking and tell tall tales. There was quite a selection for breakfast and the food was excellent.


Lovely stay and fantastic breakfast

5 sur novembre 20, 2012

We stayed for one nightat the Young House B&B and will definitely come back again when we visit the US. It a lovely, quaint property and the breakfast was cooked to perfection. Lovely owners and really friendly. Next time we hope to stay longer and explore the park.


First stay in Maine

5 sur août 22, 2012

We had a great time at the Young House. I would highly recommend staying here. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. And the morning I left early for a hike there was a "goody" bag for me to take along. The house was beautifully decorated. And the hosts, Micki and Fred were so accommodating and helpful.


A lovely, extended stay...

5 sur août 04, 2012

I had such a wonderful time staying with Micki and Fred at The Young House B&B last month. As a single traveler, I enjoy staying in places that offer the opportunity to meet many people from many walks of life. The experience at the Young House afforded me just that - in addition to many great conversations with Micki herself! And can Fred cook! Their menu is extensive and delicious. Not many places offer such a variety. If your idea of a great stay is a lovely room in a beautiful house, an incredible breakfast and friendly, accommodating hosts look no further!


Comfort and peace near wilderness

4,8 sur août 03, 2012

We had a lovely time in a quiet, comfortable room in a nicely furnished home. Clean, well supplied with wonderful breakfast . We will go back!


A Good Choice In Millinocket, ME

5 sur juillet 07, 2012

There are numerous choices for breakfast that you will not find at many other B&B.


Nice Hosts but No Breakfast

3,4 sur mai 01, 2012

The hosts are very nice and helpful. The room was nice and clean, but the house in general is full of clutter. I could barely get my rolling case up the stairs for all the stuff in the stairwell. I was leaving at 8:00 in the morning for an appointment , so I was told there would be no breakfast as it was not served until 8:30. Not even a box of cereal! So it was bed without breakfast. I think that a 7:30 breakfast is not an unreasonable expectation.


The Perfect Bed & Breakfast

5 sur octobre 19, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Young House. It was a wonderful experience. I said "experience" because it has so much more to offer than a regular motel could. It is decorated beautifully with a delightful country decor, the rooms and bathrooms are spotless, the breakfasts are yummy and the hosts are gracious. We were even lucky enough to meet fun and interesting people at breakfast. If you are looking for something that is more interesting, comfortable and gives you the opportunity to meet fascinating people, this is it! I highly recommend it .


Roadtrip through Maine 2011

4,8 sur octobre 12, 2011

We stayed in early September at the Young House and found it to be very nice! we had comfortable beds, friendly service and an Incredible Breakfast! I would highly recommend you make a point to stop and stay here if passing through town...We spent a night after our hike in Baxter and it was well worth the money!


1st experience

5 sur octobre 08, 2011

My husband planned this trip and really made some brownie points,he thought outside the box, and what a pleasant First Experience we both had. Micki and Fred were great hosts, Fred with his culinary skills and love of cooking, really showed in the breakfasts we had each moring. While talking with the other guests,and local resturanter's Fred's style is nothing like any other B & B breakfast. Since this was our 1st time ever at a B&B his wonderful wife Micki greeted us with open arms,she gave us the tour of there home,informed us how breakfast worked re; time,menu,and seating with the other guests was done to make you interact with conversation. Micki is the baker of the two,she made some fantastic bread and her coffee was warm and inviting like the two of them. Micki's knowledge of the area is also a big plus, she directed us all over the place. Our bedroom was confortable and if you needed anything all you had to do was ask. I liked the idea of our room having a lock ( being a newbie I didnt know how that worked) Thank you both for the experience. We will be back.


The Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!

5 sur septembre 10, 2011

My husband and I love to stay at Bed and Breakfast and the Young House is one of the best Bed and Breakfasts ever. Highlights a. Warm Welcome b. Rooms very inviting and roomy c. Location great for Baxter Park as well as walking distance to fun things to do in town Breakfast First a menu cooked to order! The best cooks in the USA! It was hard to leave.


the "b" here is for breakfast

4,6 sur septembre 05, 2011

very clean, walk to dinner, breakfast is amazing. chats with other guests around the dining table were a plus. will return.


unfriendly hosts

4,0 sur septembre 03, 2011

Too many rules and the way they tell you them makes you feel uncomfortable and awkward. The house is beautiful and clean.


My First experience at a B&B - FANTASTIC

4,8 sur août 31, 2011

I can't say enough about this wonderful place! Micki and Fred were the most friendly, kind people. As for the breakfast - I certainly did not expect a MENU - and the food was amazing! The cleanest, most comfortable room I could have expected! My first B&B experience, and it won't be my last - at this place!! ...and I don't give praise lightly, believe me!


A GREAT place to stay

4,4 sur août 28, 2011

We just loved the setting and had a wonderful sleep only to be served the best breakfast we have had in our travels. We would stay there again for sure next time we are going through the area.


excellent B & B

4,0 sur août 26, 2011

we really enjoyed our stay at The Young House. the rooms were nice and clean, hospitality was worm, breakfast was really wonderful ! ! !


A great place to stay

5 sur août 01, 2011

My partner and I had a wonderful stay here. Micki and Fred are excellent hosts, very friendly and personable. It is easy to see why they chose to open a B&B. The breakfasts were excellent and we had a wide variety of choices which was a pleasant surprise. Highly recommended.


We feel so welcome and will be back.

5 sur juillet 31, 2011

This B and B exceeds all expectations. We love the atmosphere. This was our second time staying there and will continue to come back.


Our First Bed & Breakfast Expeience

5 sur juillet 04, 2011

The Young House is a delightful B&B that could rival the most elegant of hotels; why - because it has the character of the region, hospitality that goes above and beyond, and has all the comforts of home. It was one of the most enjoyable stays we have ever had. We would highly recommend and will certainly be back! Bonnie and Dana


Great Breakfasts!

5 sur juillet 03, 2011

Our stay at The Young House was wonderful! Micki is most welcoming, the Compass Pond Room was spacious, decorated in a North Woods theme and very comfortable. The breakfasts -- oh my!! The choices were numerous and it was difficult to decide. My husband had the pecan French Toast -- it was DELICIOUS!!!! I had a H-U-G-E serving of potatoes, with ham, bacon, sausage, onions, red peppers, and scrambled eggs on top + toast. If you want out-of-the world breakfasts -- stay at The Young House!!


We loved it !!!

5 sur juin 17, 2011

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast and we loved it. The owners are so nice. They are great cooks too. The house is decorated so nicely each room has a theme that relates to the area. The beds are so comfortable. The breakfast is so huge.....I couldn't finish it. We will be back for sure!


Relaxing one night stay

3,8 sur juin 10, 2011

Very nice place and great selection of breakfast options available. Right around the corner from Mainely Photos, where they have a great moose tour.


excellent value

5 sur juin 06, 2011

A lovely house, and very warm owners, who just happened to be WONDERFUL COOKS!! The house was prestine.


Very, very comfortable and inviting

5 sur juin 04, 2011

Unexpectedly, I needed a place to stay and a local wildlife guide suggested I stop by this very nice B&B. The innkeepers put me right at ease from the start. Their home is comfortable and has areas for privacy, and a computer, if you need it. I truly had the best night's sleep in many, many years, as the bedding was so comfortable. I asked for the mattress brand name for the future. Fred is a wonderful cook, and an actual menu was on the table so that a choice between several items could be made. I would absolutely recommend The Young House Bed and Breakfast to anyone traveling in the area, or coming to the area for vacation time.


A great place for a get-away weekend

5 sur février 10, 2011

The rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. The breakfast choices were many and delicious! Micki and Fred were very friendly and helpful. We got a foot of snow over night and they cleaned it out quickly so we could get out the next morning. Very accomadating!


Great place to stay

5 sur novembre 04, 2010

The attention to detail was great, the warm and friendly hospitality of the hosts was genuine, the other guests always seemed happy and friendly which shows they are also enjoying their stay, the parking was ample and close, the location was perfect as it serves as a great point from where to venture into the town of Millinocket and the surrounding areas, including Baxter State Park and the Golden Road, and OH THE BREAKFASTS... Large, Delicious, and with our wonderful host, Mickey answering all of our questions regarding things to do and see, etc. and making sure you never ran out of coffee or anything. Everything was great! We plan to return and stay here with friends and family next time around.


Great experience!!!!

5 sur septembre 22, 2010

Micki and Fred are the greatest host and hostess. The room was cozy and warm feeling. We felt welcomed and at home instantly. Fred is one great cook and Micki is one fantastic hostess. We loved our stay at the Young House and would recommend it as a must when visiting Millinocket.


Breakfast was outstanding

3,6 sur septembre 21, 2010

Very friendly people just disapointed on the service. Bed's not made and if you wanted new towels you had to ask. I just never had been any where and not had my bathroom and bedroom cleaned up.


Spectacular in Every Way

4,8 sur septembre 18, 2010

We stayed a week at The Young House. The decor in each bedroom is different and lovely. We stayed in the Baxter and the whole room experience was comfortable, beautiful and quiet. We loved it. Micki and Fred are wonderful hosts. Very welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts were to die for!!! An outstanding menu and each meal was scrumptuous. Our entire experience is a beautiful memory. Kay & Adell of Alexandria, Virginia


Wonderful B & B near Baxter State Park

5 sur septembre 09, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Young House B & B before heading into Baxter State Park. The rooms are clean, well maintained and the bed was very comfortable. The overall atmosphere was very pleasant. Sometimes bed and breakfasts can feel a bit awkward, as if you are staying in someone's house but you don't really know them, but we didn't have that feeling at all at the Young House B&B. Micki and Fred were very accommodating when our travel plans changed due to weather. We had originally asked for a packed breakfast as we had planned to go hiking very early, but when heavy rain changed our plan, they gladly gave us a hot breakfast in the morning. Both our meals were excellent and the morning conversation with the other guests and hosts were interesting and informative. We definitely plan to stay here again next time we visit Baxter State Park.


What a Find!

5 sur septembre 08, 2010

This was our first time ever staying at a Bed & Breakfast and what a wonderful experience it was and we were so glad we chose here for our first time. The Innkeepers were so welcoming and accommodating to us. The house was lovely inside and out and our room was beautiful, roomy, and so clean. Breakfast was great with a choice of items to pick from. You can have something different every morning: Never had Blueberry pancakes like this before. The PORCH – we loved the porch. What a wonderful place to have rested our weary bones.


Comfortable, friendly, well-run B&B

3,6 sur septembre 03, 2010

Our room was light and airy. Nice places to sit a read, especially on the large wrap-around porch. Breakfast had many choices from a varied menu, and was very good. Only drawback was some street noise (not too disturbing, however) in the late evening and early morning.


Very Friendly and accommodating

4,0 sur août 22, 2010

We were leaving at 5:30 AM to hike Katahdin and Micki and Fred supplied us with brown bag breakfast to take with us. But when we had the full breakfast the next day...Wow, I was sorry I missed that the day before. It was the best Breakfast of any of the B&B's I've stayed at. The next time I will plan my trip to go after breakfast.


Great Room, Hosts, and Value

5 sur août 14, 2010

All rooms have queen-sized beds, and our room, the Mt. Katahdin was clean, comfortable, and a great value. Our breakfast was tasty, interesting, and ample. The Young House is a nice walk to the small town of Millinocket and convenient to Baxter State Park. The owners, Micky and Fred, were service oriented and helpful with my husbands small birthday celebration, directions and even ICE! If we return to Millinocket, we would stay at the Young House!


A lovely stay

4,2 sur août 08, 2010

Very nice breakfast, comfortable room with everything you need for your stay. Warm and friendly innkeepers. Overall, a great find, convenient to Baxter State Park. Highly recommended.


Excellent place to stay!

4,0 sur août 06, 2010

Spotless and excellent gourmet breakfast!


Fun in Millinocket

4,2 sur août 01, 2010

Our room and bathroom looked as if they were brand new! There aren't a lot of places to stay in Millinocket, but this is a perfect stay for the area. Breakfast was also amazing!!


Great Place

3,6 sur juillet 29, 2010

My Finance and I enjoyed our stay. Very clean, nice, and very close to Baxter State Park


Absolutely fantastic

5 sur juillet 28, 2010

I can't say enough good things about this inn, beginning with a very warm welcome. The owners have done a great job restoring this old home into an inn, located in a great in-town location. We stayed in the Baxter room which is lovely and has a nice size bathroom, but all the rooms are very tasteful and charming. It is impeccably clean. The breakfast was to die for and we loved the eggs benedict. If we ever return to Millinocket we would only want to stay here.


A magic inn in the Magic City

3,0 sur juillet 07, 2010

Hosts Micki and Fred provide friendly, efficient, and unobtrusive hospitality. And the breakfasts they serve are excellent!!


A Wonderful Retreat below Baxter State Park

4,8 sur juillet 06, 2010

My husband and I felt very welcomed at the Young House B&B. It had such victorian charm and Micki was always cooking something wonderful in the kitchen. Our room accommodations were lovely and comfortable and breakfast was delicious with blueberry pancakes and real maple syrup and butter.


A wonderful place to relax, unwind and feel at home

5 sur juin 30, 2010

We have been regular visitors to the Young House since it opened in 2007. We have also visited many B&B’s over the years and we would like to say that the Young House ranks as one of the best. From cleanliness to attention to details everything is at your fingertips. Each of the 6 rooms has its own character describing and re-enacting the Millinocott regions’ character with the great Katahden Mountain and trails as the main theme. From the extra puffy towels and non allergenic bedding, to the Wi-Fi and flat screen TV- DVD player, with all the movies to watch one could imagine this place has everything. And to top it off the breakfast such as scrambled eggs with spinach, goat cheese and sweet caramelized onions, blue berry muffins, bacon, home fries, juice and coffee……The Young House, the room and the breakfast all for a miserly 90 bucks a night is the steal of the Great Northeast


Young's B&B

3,6 sur juin 25, 2010

A wonderfully restored Victorian exterior. Charming country decor interior. Incredible pecan and blueberry pancakes.


The Young House Bed and Breakfast

5 sur novembre 04, 2009

Lovely time, rooms tastefully & newly decorated; Showers, sink, stool -- new & clean. large breakfast; internet available, DVD & TV in rooms.


great northern room

4,8 sur novembre 02, 2009

Beautiful B&B, our room "The Great Northern Room" was exceptionally clean, roomy, warm and welcoming. Micki & Fred were fantastic host & hostess, they are very friendly.


Our trip up country

4,0 sur octobre 29, 2009

The inkeepers have created a beautiful B&B. The lovely rooms were spacious, wonderfully modernized and exceptionally clean. Fred prepared exceptional breakfasts, and Micki was a very gracious hostess. We are planning to return next fall.


Autumn in New England

5 sur octobre 28, 2009

Welcoming, warm, friendly hospitality. Fred is a talented host and chef. His pecan/pumpkin pancakes are outstanding. Micki, his wife, is a lovely hostess and very talented decorator. A new life is goven to one of the most beautiful homes in town -- previously a doctor's home & office.Rooms are comfortable, decorated like the Maine woods and very clean.


One of the Best

4,8 sur octobre 13, 2009

Time restraints required us to limit our stay at the Young House to only one night, but that will change the next time we travel through the beautiful Millinockett Maine area. Everything about the stay was exceptional. The friendly atmosphere, the nicely appointed rooms and the delicious breakfast were beyond our expectations. Establishments such as this give a wonderful name to the Bed and Breakfast community.


Warm and Cozy

5 sur octobre 10, 2009

Micki and Fred made us feel right at home immediately upon entering the house. I highly recommend their bed and breakfast!


Great place

4,2 sur octobre 06, 2009

It was my first experience in a B&B and I will be back at this place.


Warmth of B&B + modern conveniences

4,4 sur septembre 27, 2009

Stayed two nights in the Mt. Katahdin room. Very pleasant room with private bath and appreciated TV and wireless connection.


wonderful experience!

5 sur septembre 14, 2009

Thank you Micki and Fred for our wonderful stay. You both helped make our stay a pleasure by letting us check in early and catering to our special dietary needs. We will be back! ken rhoads and paula carter,belfast, maine


The Young House Bed and Breakfast

3,6 sur août 18, 2009

Great location, quiet, great food. Very quaint & well kept. Rooms provide privacy & B&B setting was great to enjoy with friends. Also loved the porch!


spacious and delicious

5 sur août 06, 2009

Came to visit Baxter State Park, inn was very clean, room spacious, breakfast delicious. innkeepers were helpful and friendly. Would love to come again and stay longer.


Appalacian Beauty

5 sur juillet 28, 2009

Very nice -- homey. Great rooms. Very clean and wonderful hosts.


lovely stay

4,6 sur octobre 23, 2008

A one-night stay on our way further north. Cozy room, good selection of DVDs for in-room viewing, wonderful breakfast. would stay again.


Great

5 sur octobre 14, 2008

Excellent stay. Wonderful hosts


The Young House

4,8 sur octobre 13, 2008

The staff was extremely nice. There was a bath room and shower in my room. The house was clean and beautiful.


Fabulous!

5 sur août 26, 2008

Great B&B near Baxter State Park and Mt. Katahidin. Go!


Beautiful B&B

5 sur août 20, 2008

What a lovely and welcoming place. I would come back any chance I got. everything was very clean and comfortable!


Visit the Young House

5 sur août 06, 2008

Beautiful place to stay recently updated, very clean friendly and acomodating!


Outstanding!

5 sur août 01, 2008

Outstanding!


Friendly and Warm Stay

4,6 sur juillet 31, 2008

After an exhausting hike through Baxter State Park we were looking forward to a comfy bed in a friendly atmosphere. Young House ....our sleep here was the most restful of our road trip.


OUTSTANDING VALUE

4,0 sur juillet 31, 2008

Youn's B&B is an outstanding value for your money. Refurbished; beautifully decorated home with wrap around porch. Can't wait to return.


Comfortable Vacation

3,4 sur juillet 29, 2008

We felt very welcome and comfortable. Wish we could have stayed longer. Maybe another time!


Just Like Home

4,0 sur juillet 08, 2008

We stayed here after hiking in Baxter State Park. Nice clean room with comfortable bed. A great value at $80.


Best B&B I have stayed in

4,8 sur juin 02, 2008

We stayed at "The Young House BB" for three nights from 5/26 to 5/28. We stayed in the Baxter Room. We have stayed in many B&Bs across the US and the Young House BB was the best we ever stayed in. Micki Schumacher, the owner, does an outstanding job maintaining the place and the breakfasts were simply awesome. She asked us for our meal preferences when I made the reservation. During the stay she was more than willing to give us her inputs on places to see and negotiating the area. The B&B is also close to many of the Millinocket area restaurants. So keep this is B&B as your #1 choice to stay in. There is enough parking available for your car.


The Young House Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $100 - $100
  • Avis (74) 4,6
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2077235452

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut