Primrose Inn-Historic Bar Harbor Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,5
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
55 Avis

Ecrire un avis

THE best B and B in New England!!

4,8 sur juillet 06, 2014

Our stay at the Primrose Inn was absolutely wonderful. From the ultra clean rooms and very comfy beds to the delicious food it was superb. Add the friendly and pleasant personality of Mary the host and we were very pleased with our two day stay at the Primrose Inn. Keep up the good work. We will be recommending your inn to our friends and family.


A Lovely Stay in Bar Harbor - Definitely Coming Back!

4,2 sur juillet 03, 2014

We traveled to Bar Harbor as part of a week long summer vacation in Maine. We are from Texas - I'm in my late 20's and my husband is in his early-30's. We booked the Primrose after seeing that it was ranked well on Trip Advisor. We arrived at the Primrose and were immediately impressed by the curb appeal. There is one parking space for each room, which is a nice amenity in a town that can be quite crowded! The location is great. It's off the beaten path, so quiet, but close enough to the "downtown" area to walk. To me, this was the best location we could have chosen. The innkeepers here have really thought of everything a tourist could want in a place to stay in Bar Harbor. The ones we used the most were the large library of guides on activities in the area, and the small kitchen area that was always stocked with refreshments and snacks. We borrowed the audio guided tour of Acadia National Park the first day, and it was a great way to get an overview of the area. We also borrowed one of the hiking books for some suggested trails, which we did on the 2nd day. The accommodation was fabulous. This place is immaculately clean. I don't know how they keep up with such a large house so well! Our room was #6 located on the 2nd floor, and it was very quiet for having rooms on either side - they must have done some good sound-proofing when they turned it into a B&B. It was cozy, and the perfect size in my opinion. You really don't need a huge hotel room in this area, as you'll spend most of your time wandering around the area, and being outside! The bed was one of the most comfortable I've stayed in. The food was good, and there were enough options every morning to please all tastes. The service was great - Maureen & Melissa are very nice and helpful with any questions you might have about the area. We will definitely consider this place when we return to Bar Harbor, and will recommend it to family and friends!


Primrose

4,6 sur juillet 01, 2014

Our room was nice, we had a good night's sleep and breakfast was fantastic!


Best part of Bar Harbor

4,6 sur juin 30, 2014

This is a charming B & B, close to town and the harbor. The staff was gracious and accommodating. They have thought of everything, even down to the papers being available on Kindles, afternoon tea, guided CD tours of Acadia National Park, a makeup washcloth (genius), and satin sheets! Breakfast was great. I highly recommend The Primrose Inn to anyone looking for a charming, convenient spot to stay in Bar Harbor. Melissa even helped us plan the last leg of our trip by suggesting a visit to Boothbay, which we loved! Thanks for a lovely visit.


A warm welcome to the center of town

3,6 sur juin 26, 2014

We loved our 'honeymoon' stay at Primrose Inn. It was my husband's first trip to the island and we both so appreciated the comfort, centrality and help of our stay. We only partook of breakfast, which was average - except the fantastic blueberry waffles! Highly recommend it!


Wonderful B&B!

4,8 sur juin 25, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Primrose Inn for four nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff was very friendly and helpful and went out of there way to give us information about the local area. The breakfast and afternoon snacks were outstanding each day. The location is within easy walking distance to all the main shops and restaurants in Bar Harbor. We will definitely be coming back again.


Lovely Inn near the center of Bar Harbor

4,6 sur juin 21, 2014

We spent three nights at the Primrose and greatly enjoyed our stayed. The room was large and well-furnished including a gas fireplace. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a more delightful place to spend our 50th wedding anniversary.


A place to go!

4,4 sur juin 14, 2014

A quite place where you can relax and meet friendly people.


vacation

5 sur mai 29, 2014

This was the most beautiful room I've stayed in and the service was outstanding thanks to Melissa and staff


Our favorite!

5 sur mai 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in Room 1 of the Primrose Inn. Loved our room, very spacious with a huge bathroom and a separate hall leading to our balcony (I love balconies!), all enclosed. Dining was grand, somehow we always made it to afternoon tea, a real treat. Breakfast didn't disappoint, loved how we had the choice of either sweet or savory menus. Our hostesses were attentive and engaging. I gave 5 stars for value because we got so much for our money, even our own reserved parking space. And yes was an easy walk to downtown dining, ect. On our 2 week trip to New England we stay at many wonderful inns, the Primrose was our favorite!


Our getaway in September

4,4 sur septembre 16, 2013

Highly recommended. Great location and an easy walk to downtown, Bar Island etc.


Great Stay

5 sur juillet 16, 2013

The staff, food and inn were all outstanding. Loved the linens, robe and jetted tub too! After a busy day hiking and shopping...Primrose was the perfect place to relax.


Attention to detail

4,4 sur juin 21, 2013

Attention to every detail is thought out. Very friendly & helpful staff. Rooms are not sound proof and could hear other tv from one room and their muffled voices. A wonderful inn to stay and would go back.


Charming with great attention to detail

4,8 sur novembre 04, 2012

The Primrose Inn is beautiful and in excellent condition. The staff are very friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Our room #10 was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfasts and afternoon teas were absolutely delicious! The location of the Inn is great-a few blocks away from the shops and restaurants in downtown Bar Harbor (we and the evening staff woman at the Inn recommend Rosalie's Pizza) and a short drive to the entrance of Acadia National Park and the road to Cadillac Mountain. The Inn has CDs available to borrow that are a narrated guide through the park, which we found very informative and helpful. The Inn has a good-sized collection of DVDs to borrow in your room, as well as a public computer with a USB port, an SD card slot, and free Internet access. Near the shelf of DVDs is a back counter with complimentary snacks and a mini fridge with soda pop and bottled water. The only drawback we experienced was that the walls and ceilings were thin, so we could hear muffled voices in the evening and snoring at night. Turning on the ceiling fan helped cover the noise.


Delightful Stay at the Primrose Inn

4,4 sur octobre 22, 2012

We stayed October 3-4, 2012, at the Primrose Inn. The rooms were lovely and well stocked and included extras like six different bubble bath scents for the jetted tub, makeup remover pads, nightlight, push-button fireplace and a flashlight for, well, whatever you might need a flashlight for. Unfortunately, the weather was unseasonably warm and we didn't get to use the fluffy down comforter, the handmade quilt or the fireplace. Breakfast was everything we hoped it would be and the fresh-baked goodies at Tea Time were yummy. The Primrose Inn is just a short, pleasant, scenic walk to downtown with all the shops and restaurants. There is a wine chiller for guests to use and an extensive library of DVDs. The Primrose provided us with a CD which narrated our tour of Acadia National Park, which was quite informative. If you are traveling to Bar Harbor, I don't know that you could be any better than the Primrose Inn.


Cozy, convenient and accesible

4,2 sur septembre 24, 2012

The household staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. An easy walk to downtown Bar Harbor. conveniently situated on the main road. All good. Frank & Judy


bar harbor

3,0 sur septembre 18, 2012

The inn was exactly what I expected. There is really not anything additional you would need during your stay. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.


Love this B&B

4,6 sur août 06, 2012

This was our second stay at the Primrose Inn. Since our last stay the inn has changed hands and we were a little concerned about changes. However everything we loved about our first stay was still available from the excellent breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms, to the wealth of info about the park that can be checked out and used for hiking, etc. The new owner wasn't as visable and not as many verbal recommendations were given. Overall we love this inn, one of our favorite anywhere, and would stay again on a return trip to Acadia.


Best place ever.

5 sur juillet 27, 2012

Magnificent stay. Fell in love with the crew. So clean and confortable. We were litterly spoiled. The breakfast was to die for, not one, but two choices (sweet or savory). It was hard to choose. We will definitely be back. Thanks Melissa, Maureen and the rest of the crew. Oh, and yes, our hats off to the chef. Joe , Vicki and Candy


Loved Our Stay at the Primrose Inn!

4,8 sur mai 25, 2012

The owners and staff were SUPER nice, the Inn was very clean and in tip-top shape and the food was sooo delicious. We HIGHLY recommend a stay at the Primrose Inn!


Homely

4,6 sur août 27, 2011

Our host & hostess were great they made you feel welcome. We had a really nice time. The food was delicious & presended nicely teas were great, good selections.


Lovely time at Primrose Inn

5 sur août 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Primrose Inn. The inn keeper was very helpful with restaurant and attraction suggestions. We never heard any of the other guests while in our room. We loved the short walk into town.


The Best!!!

4,8 sur juin 25, 2011

We spent 10 nights at Primrose Inn in June 2011. We can both say, without a doubt, this is the best overall B&B experience we've ever had. Jeff and Catherine are friendly, helpful, fun and so hospitable, not to mention Catherine's exceptional culinary skills (you won't lose weight here!). They have thought of everything to make their guests as comfortable as possible. We didn't want to leave!!


Great food and great owners

5 sur juin 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed a the Primrose Inn for 4 nights in May, 2011. We loved it! The owners are so friendly and helpful and they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts were wonderful, and were the mid-afternoon snacks. We were amazed at how well organized the inn was, from the ordered selection of local restaurants to the grouping of DVDs by award winners to the numbered parking spots! The location is very nice, the food is great, but it is the owners that make this inn so special. Highly recommended.


#1 B&B in Maine

5 sur juin 03, 2011

My wife and I just enjoyed a three day stay at the Primrose. We have traveled extensively and have stayed at many B&B's but the Primrose has no equal. Not only was our room immaculate, charming, and located in the heart of Bar Harbor, but the hosts, Jeff and Catherine have created the next level in short-term vacations. When we arrived, Jeff gave us a tour of the facility and began showing us details that set the Primrose apart from the rest. In the parlor there were two KINDLES with the daily WALL STREET JOURNAL AND THE BOSTON GLOBE! Next we were given a CD/map with an auto-tour of ACADIA National Park on it. We spent an entire day using the auto-tour and throughly enjoyed the experience! The inn has WIFI, free beverages and snacks and cheese-cake in the fridge for late night foraging! Every morning a monitor in the hallway had the weather forecast posted and you could log onto the internet to check your emails. Breakfast was unbelievable. Gourmet. Pure and simple. There were even loaner GPS devices that you could take for the day with way-points set for restaurants, site seeing, and points of interest. Not to mention a fresh copy of the BANGOR SENTINEL propped up against the door by 6:00 a.m.! In short Jeff and Catherine have gone the extra mile in producing an environment that was safe, restorative, and classy. Do yourself a favor- stay here. Thank you Jeff and Catherine for special 27th anniversary experience.


WOW!- So fabulous!

5 sur octobre 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Primrose Inn this past weekend to enjoy the foliage in the area of Bar Harbor. Every detail was meticulously thought out at the beautiful inn. We felt like we were home and Jeff was so pleasant to deal with. The room was spotless and comfortable and we enjoyed the selection of movies and books to choose from. The breakfast was very nicely done, and it was a pleasure to have so many amenities available. I highly recommend this to anyone. Hope to be back next year.


A perfect stay

5 sur octobre 05, 2010

What a great choice we made to stay at Primrose Inn! We just completed a three night visit and everything about it was perfect. The inn is quaint, comfortable, and conveniently located. Jeff and Cathy are welcoming hosts who have thought of every detail to make your trip special. The breakfasts, which are lovingly prepared and served are delicious. The rooms are nicely decorated and inviting, as is the entire inn. Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer.


Incredible In Every Way!

5 sur octobre 01, 2010

The Primrose Inn was so perfect in every way. It was so beautiful, quaint, cozy, & also pristine in decor & cleanliness! Jeff & Catherine were such gracious hosts & made us feel so at home. The breakfasts & tea times were amazing. I actually couldn't wait to get up in the morning in anticipation for the breakfasts. The Inn is also a short walk to many activities, including one of the most quaint shopping areas on the waterfront, & to catch great lighthouse, etc., cruises. The beach nearby is gorgeous on its own but has paths to climb up on cliffs to see a "high up" endless view of the Atlantic ocean! Breathtaking! You will do yourself a great disservice to miss out on a stay at The Primrose Inn!


The best ever....

5 sur septembre 24, 2010

Everything about the Primrose Inn was perfect! The Shaw's have thought through every detail for an excellent stay. We are trying to figure out how we can get back next year.


Outstanding Experience

5 sur septembre 23, 2010

Catherine and Jeff provide a positively wonderful B&B expereince. Their attention to detail is unprecedented. From the check in and welcoming tour to the creative dining everything was perfect. Will recommend the Primrose Inn to any of our friends going to Har Harbor


Has to be the BEST B & B in Bar Harbor!

5 sur septembre 01, 2010

Where to start? There were so many GREAT things about the Primrose Inn. Jeff and Catherine thought of everything to make our stay the best experience of any B&B we have stayed at to date. A gourmet breakfast with choices; afternoon tea and dessert; 24-hour coffee and tea with travel cups in case you want to view the sunrise from Cadillac mountain; Full menus from all of the restaurants in Bar Harbor; Two GPS devices to get you to some of the popular out-of-the-way places to eat and visit. Did I mention the room was great? And I know I am leaving some amenities out. I can't give the Primrose Inn a higher recommendation. It was everything we expected and much more. Thanks Jeff and Catherine for a great stay at your wonderful B&B.


Memorable week in Bar Harbor

4,6 sur août 28, 2010

Lovely. Everything can be summed up in that word. Our host and hostess, Jeff and Katherine were delightful...friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The B & B itself was well maintained, very clean, and very pretty. But the best part of our experience was the attention to every little detail possible that would enhance our stay. We loved our private porch (with swing, and rockers, and lovely garden--not to mention the friendly cat!)And--we loved the afternoon tea--it was something we looked forward to every day after a busy day in Acadia or Bar Harbor! We certainly hope to return to the Primrose in the future!


The only place to stay in Bar Harbor

5 sur juin 20, 2010

I am a former hotel management company VP. I would have been proud to have Primrose in my group. Everything was outstanding down to the paint. I am glad to have had the opportunity to stay there.


Wonderful!

4,0 sur juin 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our two-night stay here in October 2009...perfect accommodations - clean, comfortable, quaint, and it was obvious the innkeepers went to extra effort to make things perfect. A memorable experience...right down to the blueberry pancakes for breakfast!


Awesome

5 sur octobre 29, 2009

We recently stay here at this B&B. What a wonderful choice we made. Could of not asked for a better accomodations and breakfasts were fabulous. We will definitely stay here again. Close to the downtown and very quiet.


Awesome experience

5 sur octobre 04, 2009

My husband and I were vacationing in the New England area and chose the Primrose Inn and we are certainly glad we did! Jeff & Catherine were such nice people. They made you feel so welcome the entire time. We did enjoy the short walk to the shops in Bar Harbor. The afternoon tea with the delicious homemade cookies was a nice touch as was the newspaper delivered to our room each morning. We could not think of anything we needed that was not already provided at this B & B. Thank you Shaw's for an unforgettable experience.


Wonderful Experience!

4,8 sur septembre 29, 2009

I recently stayed at the Primrose Inn in late August 2009. It was better than any other bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at. Extremely clean and the innkeepers are very nice and hospitable. Moreover, breakfast is absolutely phenomenal! The hot dishes and bakery items served are worth writing about! Plus, there is tea time in the afternoons with fresh baked goodies. My dad loved the blueberry pie, and I just loved the cookies. It was hard not to spoil dinner! I would absolutely recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone!


Fantastic experience

5 sur août 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Primrose Inn for a weekend, and could not have asked for better accommodations. Jeff and Catherine were courteous, friendly and helpful from the time that we arrived to check in until we left. We stayed in the Holland Room, which was beautiful and impeccably clean. The breakfasts were great, as was the daily afternoon tea. We are already trying to plan our next stay here!


We'll be back!

5 sur janvier 15, 2009

The current innkeepers have done an amazing job restoring the Primrose while preserving its charm and friendly atmosphere. Great food. Immaculate rooms. Lovely landscaping. Handy Internet station for checking the weather. Our favorite new feature is the beverage center where you can start your day with an early cup of very good coffee, pick up a complimentary bottle of water, or chill your own bottle of wine. Morning delivery of the Bangor News is also a nice touch. My husband and I honeymooned at the Primrose in 1988 and return every 5 years. The Shaws made our 20th anniversary very special with a bouquet of roses to welcome us. They are lovely people.


A Great Place to Stay!

4,6 sur octobre 31, 2008

We really enjoyed the hospitality and the food at the Primrose. It was relaxed, clean and convenient to downtown Bar Harbor. I highly recommend it!


They've thought of everything!

4,0 sur août 28, 2008

Wonderful accomodations with gourmet breakfast and afternoon treats. Jeff and Katherine could not be more gracious hosts. The inn is located within easy walking distance of restaurants and buses into Acadia. We didn't get in our car for 3 days. Can't wait to stay with them again.


A comfortable quaint inn

4,8 sur août 21, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Primrose Inn for our 40th wedding anniversary. It was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. The room was very comfortable, the hospitality of our hosts, Jeff and Catherine, was outstanding, and the breakfast was delicious! My wife appreciated the short walk to all the shops in Bar Harbor, and we both enjoyed the wide variety of activities nearby. We will definitely be returning.


The Primrose was incredible!

5 sur août 16, 2008

We stayed at the Primrose for our honeymoon in August, 2008 and stayed in the Holland room. It was so beautiful and romantic! The room was warm and cozy and very clean. Catherine and Jeffrey are so kind and provide top notch hospitality. Great restaurant recommendations as well. For breakfast, you have a choice of hot entrees and everything we had was delicious. Hot coffee, tea, and juice always available. Worth the money! If we come back to Bar Harbor, we definitely would stay here again.


Great place to enjoy nature in luxury!

4,2 sur août 15, 2008

Primrose Inn was a wonderfully relaxing place to stay for our honeymoon. It was the perfect location--easy access to the harbor, to hiking, biking, whale-watching, and canoeing. We loved our time at Primrose. Jeff and Catherine were a very gracious host/hostess and cared about their guests! We recommend it highly!


Perfection

5 sur juillet 18, 2008

Stayed 6 nights at the Primrose in June '08. Everything was perfect. From the breakfast to afternoon treats. The short ride to the park, to the short walk to town. The rooms are well decorated and spotless.


Thank you

5 sur juillet 01, 2008

We come from England and stayed in the Primrose in in June 2008. We did not want to leave. The breakfasts and afternoon teas were homemade feasts. Everything in the room was in keeping, including the phone and little gold clock. The attention to detail with everything was remarkable. Thank you


Awesome Bed and Breakfast!

5 sur juin 25, 2008

Our stay at the Primrose was wonderful. The hospitality was superior. Jeff and Catherine did not miss a beat making our stay totally comfortable. The food was outstanding too.


Highly Recommended!

5 sur juin 21, 2008

The Primrose Inn sets a new standard for all that a bed and breakfast can be! Our stay there far exceeded the expectations we came with. Other guests we stayed with felt the same way! Jeff and Catherine are gracious and hospitable innkeepers with a talent for making delicious and filling breakfasts. It is evident that they have a passion for what they do. The inn is within walking district of the harbor, shops and restaurants, and is a short ride from Acadia National Park. We eagerly look forward to returning again in the future.


absolutely beautiful and well run place

5 sur juin 19, 2008

My husband and I cannot compliment Jeff and Catherine for the service they provide. We stayed in Primrose Inn in May of 2008. We were really impressed with how comfortable the rooms were, the bed was SO GOOD, especially after long day of hiking, the rooms are very clean, the linen is of very good quality.The breakfast is great and afternoon tea with the home made deserts exceeded all our expectations. And the prices are very reasonable. Highly recommend!


great stay!

5 sur juin 17, 2008

what a wonderful inn! conveniently located, beautiful decor, fabulous breakfasts,great beds and linens,and most helpful.the inn had many perks not found in most b&b's i'll absolutely staey at the primrose again!


Wonderful place to stay

4,6 sur juin 16, 2008

Stayed at the beginning of June. Lovely inn, very near to quaint downtown and oceanside path. Tea and breakfast were wonderful. Wanted an early supper, so pie was held for us. Also have travel info, computer/internet, wine, soda, and dvds available to guests. Very friendly, but not "hovering". Wonderful church workers discounts.


Very nice with one caution

4,6 sur mai 27, 2008

The rooms were beautiful, the service friendly, and the food was truly AMAZING!! My only caution would be that the owners are evangelical Christians; there are Bibles in every guest room on the bookshelves (along with a copy of _The Purpose Driven Life_), and in the living room are books by Dr. Laura and Tim LaHaye (_Left Behind_, about the "rapture"). Some folks may find this great, others might be uncomfortable. Just an FYI!

Réponse du propriétaire
We are very pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay here at the Primrose Inn recently. We are also thankful for the items that were mentioned in the review about our background and some of the many books that are provided to our guests around the inn. One other item that was not mentioned in the review is the verse on the small bronze plaque by our front door from Hebrews 13:2: "Be not forgetful of Hospitality, for by this some have entertained angels unawares." This verse, in simple terms, states our mission to all guests that come to Bar Harbor and stay in our home, the Primrose Inn.


Just Terrific

5 sur octobre 04, 2007

We stayed at the Primrose for 3 days and a wonderful experience. Jeff and Catherine are great hosts and made us feel completely at home. The Primrose is just outside the main traffic hub of Bar Harbor but an easy walk to everything. We were concerned about it being too far but that was not a problem. Jeff & Catherine provided excellent suggestions about restaurants, activities and were always willing to help. We can't say enough good things about our experience -- we will definately be back.


A great stay

5 sur octobre 02, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed at the Primrose Inn for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The rooms were immaculate, and there were even a dozen roses there to congratulate us on our marriage. Breakfast and tea was always delicious and Catherine and Jeff really go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Cleaning staff was also very nice and attentive. A small fridge is always packed with cold drinks and hot coffee is usually available too. They provided lots of brochures/pamphlets with area attractions as well as recommending restaurants neaby. Town is only a 5 minute walk away. The inn is beautiful and immacuately kept. We have nothing but kind words to say about both the Shaws and the Primrose Inn, we've been telling all our friends to visit!


Fantastic hosts!

5 sur août 14, 2007

We stayed at the Primrose Inn for three nights recently on our mini honeymoon. There are many great things to say about the Primrose Inn. First, the location is perfect. Bar Harbor is a small, but hopping town during the peak season, and the Primrose Inn is in a great location for easy access to all things Bar Harbor / Acadia NP. There is a reserved parking spot for your car which is nice. The innkeepers are fantastic hosts, and obviously take incredible pride in the service they provide. This is evident in many ways. From the fully stocked complimentary fridge with soft drinks and waters, to the binder with all local restaurant's menus and recommendations, to the flashlight in each room making it easy to see while on an evening stroll, to the plethora of guide books and activity books that are available for each guest's use, to the breakfast service each morning, and the high quality linens and towels in the rooms. All was outstanding at the Primrose Inn! We'll certainly stay there the next time we visit. We truly felt right at home even though we were far away from home. Thanks again Jeffrey and Catherine for facilitating our memorable and special stay in Bar Harbor!


Primrose Inn-Historic Bar Harbor Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $129 - $279
  • Avis (55) 4,7
  • Chambres 15
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2072884031
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8778463424

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut