Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
33 Avis

Ecrire un avis

The most comfortable and relaxing B&B we've stayed at.

5 sur juillet 05, 2014

Worth the drive into the country! Amazing view of the hillsides and surrounding pastures. We watched the sunset from the porch and listened to the birds and crickets. As quiet and serene outside as it is comfortable and cheerful inside. It was so easy for my wife and I to make ourselves at home here. The low price made us completely forget about sharing the bathroom upstairs. No big deal at all. Kessie was a wonderful host. She is very happy to chat but is also courteous to give you your space and enjoy her large house in peaceful bliss. Best breakfast out of the 7 B&B's we stayed at during our trip! The four-poster bedroom was the nicest of the rooms, but the other two looked good as well.


Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!

5 sur février 05, 2014

Very good get away where it is quiet, clean, neat and absolutely beautiful...


Fantastic quiet getaway

5 sur décembre 31, 2013

Beautiful location, very friendly and hospitable innkeeper, a great place to stay!


Swallow Hill

3,8 sur décembre 27, 2013

The room, breakfast and cleanliness were comparable to many other b and b's in which we have stayed. In other words, they were just fine. What made this a special place was the graciousness of our host Kessie, which was exceptional. In addition, we were delighted to find such a comfortable spot at such a reasonable price.


Magnificent B&B in a stunning setting!

5 sur novembre 01, 2013

My husband, mother, uncle and I stayed here as a family group for two nights at the end of a month long trip travelling from Australia. We were welcomed by the wonderful Kessie and her dog Nutmeg (and a visiting puppy - Diana). We drove up the long drive towards the gabled house on the hill as the late afternoon sun was setting...so very beautiful with the sun lighting it and the surrounding forests and acreage. The house is simply lovely - Kessie gives her guests the run of the downstairs living areas bar the one personal sitting room so you have the large open plan kitchen, dining and living room to yourselves! She will of course be in and out but basically she felt like one of our family and we probably talked her head off but I think we can categorically state that she can come and visit us anytime she wants to come to Australia! She's a lovely accomodating host, so relaxed and witty! :) We shared the entire top floor 3 bedrooms, all furnished beautifully with a huge bathroom between us. Had plenty of room and more for luggage etc..with outstanding views across the land. Breakfasts were a marvelous affair...great food and plenty of laughter.. We had omelets and sausages and pancakes and bread puddings...across two mornings of course! Kessie gave us some great advice on where to go and what to do in the local area and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Overall our stay here, was, I would say, quite perfect! I would definitely stay with Kessie again - no question. xx


Wonderful stay!

4,8 sur octobre 30, 2013

We love staying at Swallow Hill (we are repeat visitors)! Kessie and her dog Nutmeg are wonderful hosts. The house is gorgeous and is on beautiful property nestled between farms and small towns. It's a perfect, quiet setting to take a break from life! We will be back!


A lovely, gentle, perfect B&B

5 sur octobre 28, 2013

On the road, no time for a full review, but Kessie is wonderful and Swallow Hill is just perfect. The setting is drop-dead gorgeous. The rooms was clean and lovely and ever-so comfortable, and we slept like the dead. The breakfast was absolutely to die for; Kessie is a great cook. Add Nutmeg (the springer spaniel) for seasoning and you have a perfect B&B at the end of the world. One way or another we will be back!


Wonderful stay

4,4 sur octobre 22, 2013

I booked Swallow Hill for three couples who were attending a wedding in the area. We were very pleased with the accommodations and the service. Kessie was extremely helpful and attentive to our needs and in helping plan our next day of sightseeing. This stay was a terrific experience


Swallow Hill

5 sur octobre 17, 2013

We loved this B&B. Kessie is the nicest person and the B&B is beautiful, set in an ideal location, terrific food and great company. We can't wait to go back in every season to see how it looks; to go skiing in Winter, hiking in Spring & Summer.


A charming oasis near the Chesterfield gorge

4,4 sur août 14, 2013

It can not have been better. Wonderful kind greeting and muffins and blueberry pancakes and fresh fruits. A tour of the gorge and challenging rainbow fishing. Highly recommended


Beautiful home and Kessie is a gracious host!

4,8 sur août 11, 2013

My wife and I had never been to this area of the country but were invited to a wedding in Shelburne Falls with a reception in Northampton. A search of BedandBreakfast.com led us to Swallow Hill which is centrally located to the venues. Driving onto the property, we were excited by the scenery of rolling hills and open spaces. It was late afternoon and a key was left for us and a nice note to greet. Opening the door we were met by the sweetest dog- Nutmeg- a pretty little Springer Spaniel. As we were the first to arrive, we were allowed to choose our own room. We chose the eastern facing room expecting a nice sunrise. We left and went into Northampton for the evening’s pre-wedding get-together. We came in late, keeping quiet and hoping not to disturb anyone. A cool front had made its way through and the temperature was perfect to leave the windows open all night. As expected, the morning brought the warm glow of first dawn into the room. We found our way to the kitchen and were greeted by the cheerful smile of a lovely British lady named Kessie. As she made breakfast we had a delightful conversation of all sorts of things. Kessie made us feel as comfortable and relaxed as we would at home. After breakfast my wife went upstairs to get ready for the wedding and I walked the property. The grounds are a treat to the eye. Kessie has a quaint little vegetable garden and there is an interesting old stone wall behind the house. Along the house are wonderful cottage-style flower gardens. The distant mountains played hide-and-seek in the morning mist. I almost hated to leave for the day. The next morning we met with Kessie and other guests for breakfast. The experience of meeting fellow travelers is one of our favorite things about staying in a B&B. Swallow Hill is a special place that my wife and I will always cherish. Leaving the drive-way, my wife and I both sighed at the breathtaking beauty of the place and made a wish to return someday.


Delightful place to relax and enjoy the views

5 sur juillet 26, 2013

Just what I was looking for! Clean, quiet, restful, beautiful setting! Kessie is a wonderful hostess, friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend for those seeking something peaceful and off the beaten path.


This is the jewel in the crown

4,8 sur juin 12, 2013

We had a perfect visit: from the asparagus omlette made with fresh, local, farm eggs decorated with edible flowers from Kessie's garden to the delightful, easy atmosphere of the house. Watching the sunset with a glass of wine from the front porch was utopia. We will return.


Lovely country B&B

3,2 sur juin 05, 2013

Great view and location. Very easy to find and close to Northhampton and good hiking trails. Recommended for a quick get away and a nice place to stay for the weekend.


A delightful stay!

5 sur avril 05, 2013

We were pleased with our stay from start to finish! The house was warm and cozy on a blustery day, and Kessie was a delightful host, helping us with directions and providing interesting company. Breakfast was wholesome and healthy. We hope to return!


Swallow Hill B&B - Chesterfield, MA

4,8 sur mars 08, 2013

Beautiful country B&B, spacious living room & dining room with lots of sunlight, felt right at home, very sociable owner and friendly dog, who stays out of the way unless you want company. Breakfast very good and healthy as well. Andrew Wyeth scenery.


Warm, welcoming, very comfortable

4,2 sur février 28, 2013

Kessie is a wonderful hostess, very welcoming and solicitous. We had to leave a day early b/c of the weather and she handled this situation quite generously. The views are spectacular, the setting is bucolic, and the house is open and airy, neat as a pin and spotless. Kessie really made the visit, as she is thoughtful, well read, and well traveled. She clearly loves her home and thoroughly enjoys hosting visitors. Her dog Nutmeg is quite friendly and very well behaved. We had a most relaxing and enjoyable stay!


Wonderful home and lovely innkeeper!

4,6 sur janvier 04, 2013

What a BEAUTIFUL B&B! The house is gorgeous, on sprawling beautiful grounds, and the rooms are beautiful and clean. The innkeeper spent a few hours with us, drinking wine and talking about life and travels, and she made gluten-free breakfast for us in the morning because I needed it. Such a wonderful experience, we will definitely be returning!


So Great!

5 sur octobre 31, 2012

We took a weekend trip around thanksgiving time last year and stayed with Kessie. I just started reminiscing about how wonderful a time we had and then was embarrassed that we never wrote a review sharing how great our stay was! Kessie was a wonderful and personable hostess, her house and the setting were beautiful, and the food was delicious. We so enjoyed our trip last year, and are hoping to make it out again soon! -Kayla and Claire


October stay

5 sur octobre 23, 2012

Kessie is a wonderful hostess. She takes time to get to know her guests without invading your privacy. Her breakfasts are outstanding. Nutmeg, her dog, is so sweet. The ambiance is warm & welcoming. I find it so relaxing, sitting on the porch or patio & enjoying the beautiful view. This visit was my 4th stay & I intend to return. Marianne Otremba.


Great Time!

4,8 sur septembre 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The area is much prettier than the pictures suggest. Kessie was an excellent host, making us feel comfortable the whole time. Her dog nutmeg was just wonderful to have around. Will definitely be going back.


A lovely peaceful stay

5 sur août 15, 2012

The place has a feeling of spaciousness. The room was large, bed comfortable. We spent an overcast day indoors in one of the comfortable sitting rooms, looking out over the expansive meadow. Kessie is a perfect host, amiable, charming and discreet. The breakfast was fresh, much of it organic, prepared simply and elegantly. This is a great place for a peaceful getaway.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for this absolutely lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Swallow Hill. I always think the place deserves every accolade, but it's somewhat embarrassing to read innkeeper praise too. I do hope you'll come again soon, and that the sun will shine a bit more with lovely sunsets.


Beautiful, peaceful - a perfect retreat!

4,8 sur juillet 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Swallow Hill B&B. Kessie is a wondeful hostess, our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, Kessie prepared us omeletes with fresh vegetables from her garden. The location is beautiful - the B&B is set in a large open field with views of the sourrounding woodlands.- very peaceful and quiet. We will definitely stay at the Swallow Hill B&B again.


Loved it, absolutely loved it

5 sur juillet 09, 2012

We spent a weekend here, and it was exactly what we needed. A gorgeous property with spectacular views all around and comfortable beds and rooms. What was most appealing to us, though, was that my wife and I are vegan, and Kessie made vegan food for us both mornings - she even had soy milk on-hand in case we wanted any in our coffee. The food was delectable. We will definitely return when we are in the area.

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm glad you had such a good time. It was fun to have you here and cook some special vegan foods. I have more now on the back burner, so hope you'll come again soon.


Can't wait to go back.

5 sur juin 25, 2012

We loved everything about Swallow Hill B&B. The innkeeper, Kessie, is a delight--relaxed, great sense of humor, helpful but not intrusive. The inn itself is in a beautiful spot on a hill, overlooking the western sky and, at least when we were there, a beautiful sunset. We had a delicious breakfast of an asparagus omelet with fresh local eggs (one laid that morning!) and peaches put up last year from Kessie's peach trees. The perfect getaway.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for this super review. I'm glad you had such a good time. I loved having you here, but am afraid to tell you, a bear ate all the peaches from my peach tree this year. I'll have to go buy organic peaches to put up for winter eating. Bah!


Heaven on Earth

4,4 sur juin 01, 2012

Kessie graciously opened her lovely home to our family...thank you for taking children. Our daugthers Mia and Noelle, 7 and 5 years old respectively adored Nutmeg, the rope bedroom, and scrumptious blueberry pancakes! The rooms were immaculate and I am very, very picky went it comes to finding "clean accommodations." The view and area is divine. If you want to experience a spectacular getaway come to Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast!


A rare find near Northampton, MA

4,6 sur novembre 13, 2011

Located on a little-traveled country lane, Swallow Hill looks out from the top of a rise to unobstructed views of the Berkshires. You will not find a more gorgeous, peaceful setting. We bicycled along the quiet roads, then drove towards Northampton for an excellent dinner. Kessie is an outstanding hostess, taking extra care to ensure we knew where to go and how to get there. If you desire a comfortable stay in the country not far from a college town, choose Swallow Hill. You will not regret it.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for the super review. It's getting to be cool biking weather again. I do hope to see you back here at Swallow Hill.


Comfortable country setting

5 sur octobre 19, 2011

Kessie is an excellent host—friendly, interesting, knowledgeable, accommodating, and a great cook. The house is spacious and homey with lovely views of rolling fields and woods. Although this is a personal preference, the bed was just the way I like it: not too soft or too firm, with lots of fluffy covers. I would stay again in a heartbeat and hope I can return.

Réponse du propriétaire
Do come again soon...so you can write another lovely review. Thank you so much. I loved having you here.


Beautiful House, Spectacular Hostess

5 sur juin 28, 2011

We decided to get out of NYC for a last minute getaway and chose Swallow Hill B and B for its location in the beautiful Massachusetts country. But we never expected such an amazing experience. We had to arrive late on a friday and Kessie and her dog nutmeg were there to greet us, show us around and pour us a cup of tea before bed. She made us feel at home and welcome for the entire weekend. Kessie thought of everything to make our stay pleasant from tailoring music to our taste, remembering details from previous conversation to providing the perfect setting for every time of the day.

Réponse du propriétaire
Such a lovely review. Thank you. I know you are working really hard, but do stop and come and visit again. Perhaps we can find a place to Buddy to stay locally?


We loved Swallow Hill, and look forward to returning.

4,4 sur mai 22, 2011

If you are looking for a beautiful, quiet B&B in the Pioneer Valley, do not miss Swallow Hill. The house and grounds are lovely, and the rooms are comfortable and beautifully furnished. The proprietor is warm, friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was truly outstanding, with a new menu made from fresh, local ingredients each day. It was hard to leave! -The Kerrs, San Diego CA

Réponse du propriétaire
Dear Kerrs, Thank you so much for this lovely review. It was a fun weekend with many graduation celebrations. Perhaps you will come back to this area sometime. If so I hope you will remember Swallow Hill and come and visit.


Loved Swallow Hill! I'll be back.

4,8 sur mai 07, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at Swallow Hill...starting with the bedrooms (a queen-sized bed) and living area...elegant, spacious, and comfortable. The proprietor welcomed us--charmed us, really--and provided a sumptuous breakfast the next morning, along with helpful tips for finding our way around the area. The view is spectatular, and yes, swallows abound in the surrounding fields. We're frequent B&B'ers, and Swallow Hill is a true find. We're coming back. Actually, I'd like to return to have morning coffee in the garden terrace and see the humming birds. Apparently, they're nuts about the place, too! -- The Lundquists from Pennsylvania

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you Lundquists for this super review. You seemed to capture the essence of Swallow Hill and I do hope that you will both come back soon.


Swallw Hill is a wonderful place!

4,2 sur mars 21, 2011

Staying at Swallow Hill was truly a wonderful experience! Our family felt welcome, and we enjoyed both the many outdoor opportunities nearby and the coziness of the rooms and common areas. The views are fantastic from every room. The breakfast was tasty (including fresh eggs from the farm up the road!) and we hope to return again.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for this lovely review. I loved having your family here to stay and I hope that you will come back and visit any time. Bryant Street eggs are even more plentiful these days!


Didn't want to leave

5 sur mars 21, 2011

Swallow Hill is such a lovely place, I didn't want to leave. Breakfasts were delicious, lovely places to sit and read and lots of help with places to eat and visit. I highly recommend it. FN from Edinburgh

Réponse du propriétaire
My first B&B review and a great one. Thank you. I'm so glad you had a good time, and that Swallow Hill was on your itinerary. Another year, perhaps you'll return.


Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $120
  • Avis (33) 4,7
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4132968058

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut