La Maison Marigny B & B on Bourbon Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
32 Avis

Ecrire un avis

location location location

4,6 sur novembre 07, 2014

The location of this inn could absolutely not be any better. Just a short walk down bourbon st to the madness and right around the corner from the recommended Frenchmen st. The host John could not have been more hospitable. He had a lot of local knowledge with plenty of great suggestions. He also seemed to go out of his way to make sure that your stay was just right. In short, we will be visiting New Orleans again and will be absolutely staying at the la maison again.


Hidden Gem

4,6 sur mai 19, 2014

In addition to the perfect weather the first week in May, we had the benefit of the perfect host. John is friendly, informative and always available for any questions, problems or suggestions you might have. His restaurant suggestions were spot on and he had lots of background about the city to share with us. Maison Marigny is charming, clean and well located. The new patio is a special delight. Full days (and nights) of enjoying the city as well as super comfy beds assured us of a really good night's sleep. It was an effort to roll out in time not to miss John's yummy breakfasts. We are already planning our return!


Charming

4,6 sur février 26, 2014

This B&B is located near the French Quarter and within walking distance to Frenchmen Street. The Courtyard room was beautifully decorated with tasteful period furniture. We found the owner friendly and helpful. Only slight disappointment were the breakfast's; while good, served small portions, and not gourmet that we experienced in other B&B's. If you are looking for a big breakfast to get you on your way for a full day of activity these breakfast's won't do it. Other than that our stay was nice.


La Maison Marigny Review

5 sur janvier 04, 2014

I had the responsibility to make reservations in NOLA for a one week vacation for seven good friends from all over the country. The pressure was on me to come through for the group. After talking with the owners or agents of several properties, I decided on La Maison Marigny... and I'm glad I did. The property and the owner, John Ramsey, exceeded our expectations in every way. The rooms were clean and very well equipped. The breakfasts were outstanding. And a big plus that we didn't expect was John's willingness to give us recommendations for dining, music and attractions; he even made some of the reservations for us. The only downside of our stay at La Maison Marigny is that I have now been drafted by our group to do the research and make the selection for our next vacation on the Oregon coast. Thank you, John... I think.


Perfection in a New Orleans B&B!

5 sur novembre 17, 2013

La Marigny's location is perfect for an easy walk to the French Quarter and an even easier stroll to Frenchmen's Street that has all the jazz you need, night after night, with no tackiness like the Quarter. The B&B itself is well appointed and beautifully done and super clean. The owner comes every morning to cook a yummy breakfast and he leaves wine, liquor and snacks too. Thus the room rates include a fair amount of savings on food and drink during each day. Also John your host knows New Orleans well and advises on great places and will help do reservations too. I was there for a whole week with a group of friends who vacation together every year in different places across the USA. Having done this for ten years, we voted our stay at La Marigny the best of some wonderful places. We will all return. It's like home now. Only better. Signed...Happy in Houston


Outstanding Bed & Breakfast

4,8 sur décembre 02, 2012

We have stayed in B&B locations around the world and this location was by far the best. It was located in the best position to walk to the French Quarters, Fisherman's street and the Treme. The owner John was very hospitable and such a very nice person. He made you not only make you feel at home but it felt like we were long lost friends. The house was beautiful and very clean as well. John and Dewey are doing a great job! We are coming back again...


We love it here!

5 sur mars 20, 2011

Stayed for a quick getaway right after Mardi Gras and La Maison Marigny was the perfect choice for us. John greeted us at the door with a big smile, setting the tone for the rest of the weekend. Nice conversation and orientation/advice over a cool beverage followed, then a quick tour of the room before we settled in. The location has been mentioned here before and is,in my mind, perfect. Close to everything yet not in the middle of it. Frenchmen Street and Bourbon Street nightlife both just a couple of blocks away yet who wants to sleep in the middle of that noise? Not me! LMM is the perfect alternative. Breakfast is simple but very tasty. Muffins scones and biscuits, with coffee, juice, fruit and yogurt. Cereal too, I think, but I didn't try it. Overall, you get a lot (free internet and wifi, free soft drinks, etc.) at this inn. Try it.


We really love this inn

5 sur janvier 20, 2011

Fourth trip to La Maison Marigny and couldn't be happier. We're from Minnesota and make it down to New Orleans every winter and will actually change our dates to match availability at La Maison Marigny and to spend time with John. Every morning, we enjoy fresh muffins or scones, fruit and conversation. Oh, and the New Orleans chicory coffee ain't bad either. The best thing: LOCATION. Many places say "near French Quarter" but they really aren't. This one is. Walk out the door and you're IN the Quarter in about 30 seconds. :-) Highly recommended to everyone! John will make you feel welcome.


Outstanding B & B experience

4,6 sur janvier 07, 2011

Our stay at La Maison Marigny in New Orleans was one the best parts of an amazing vacation to one of the greatest cities in the world. While we wore ourselves out exploring as much as we could of this amazing city, we were always happy to come back "home" to La Maison Marigny each day. The location in the wonderful Marigny neighborhood is perfect...close to everything we wanted to get to and being just outside of the French Quarter, it was always quiet and peaceful. Our room could not have been more comfortable and inviting and the house cleaning staff (courteous and pleasant whenever we did happen across them) keep the home spotless. Our host John will remain one of the best memories we had of our entire trip. He is an amazing host, finding us just the right spots to eat and making our reservations for us. He is nice as can be, great to converse with, funny as hell, and made us feel absolutely welcome from the minute we stepped foot in his beautiful home. We will be making a return visit to New Orleans and we will not even consider staying elsewhere.


Great Location

3,8 sur janvier 05, 2011

La Maison Marigny B&B is truly in a location that cannot be beat. The room was comfortable and clean. John is a great host and will offer any advice as well as dining recommendations, attractions, etc. Having said that, the breakfast provided is small and with no variety; while John bakes fresh muffins every day it would be great to be offered a larger breakfast and more variety (rather then cereal, yogurt, fruit salad, and muffins every day). Overall, thanks for a good stay.


The Best of New Orleans!

5 sur décembre 31, 2010

We celebrated our 5th Anniversary here for three nights. We were thrilled to find the suite we wanted was available at least two of the three nights we wanted to stay. However, we really wanted to come one night earlier and called John about posibbly grabbing a room upstairs... we saw that there was one avaible the night of our anniverary the night before our suite reservation-lucky for us! Upon arriving at the BnB John met us and was extremly welcoming! The house is beautifully decorated with antiques and top quality linens and decor. The room we stayed in the first night was delightlful! I would have been perfectly comfortable to stay in this room for the entire visit. The bed was heavenly, and the BnB was so quiet you'd never know the whole place was occupied. We were excited to discover that a Hollywood celeberity from a famous vampire film series was staying at the BnB on our first night! We only caught a glipse of her, but it was fun to have a celebrity spend the night in the same house! We moved into our suite the next morning. We were amazed at what a perfect location we were in staying here... just a ten minute walk to the hub of the French Quarter and less than five minute walk to the famously popular music district refered to as the Frenchmen district. We awoke each morning to the intoxicating smell of fresh brewed coffee and even though laws require BnBs to serve only a continental breakfast, John goes out of his way to give it very personal touch. One night after retuning from the Frenchmen Jazz district, we returned to the BnB to a note "fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the oven!" What a treat! We are regular visitors of BnBs and we choose them over hotels for a reason, because we want to feel the true spirt of the area not an impersonal hotel room that has no character. Staying at La Maison Marigny gave us all the charm, spirit, and elegance we hoped for... it is the Best of New Orleans!


Fabulous New Orleans B&B

4,4 sur décembre 26, 2010

The host was amazing, and the service was flawless. We'll definitely stay there again! Thanks, LMM, for a memorable Christmas vacation!


John and Bed and Breakfast nice, neighbors could have been better

3,4 sur novembre 07, 2010

Breakfast was small, but nice. One morning was fresh muffins and fruit, the next John made waffles. John is an absolute 10. A wealth of knowledge, and so friendly and welcoming. The room was cute. I wish there would have been bubble bath to enjoy in the tub though. The only real bad report is that our neighbors got pretty drunk the first night. You would think the type of people that would stay at such an establishment would be like this, but I suppose you never know. Loud laughing and talking. We could hear word for word and this was at 1:30am. Finally couldn't take it after one of them literally fell out of the bed, and went to knock on their door. They passed out an hour later thank goodness. I certianly don't hold the episode against John or the place, but NOTE the walls are obviously thin. Location you can't beat! Close and safe. Almost no noise outside and we had the windows open. Thanks for everything John!

Réponse du propriétaire
We are very glad the reviewer enjoyed the bed and breakfast overall and regret the noisy "neighbors" in the next room. I am aware of this situation as the drunken guests told me about it the next morning and apologized to me. I wasn't aware they disturbed others and am sorry for this inconvenience. It's a rare occurrence, I think, but in New Orleans some folks do tend to imbibe a bit more than they would at home and it catches up with them. This was certainly the case here. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Orleans and to La Maison Marigny!


great location

3,4 sur octobre 23, 2010

We loved our stay in New Orleans, on the tip of the French Quarter and within close range of Frenchmen St., another place of entertainment. We did use a cab for transportation late at night to get home instead of walking, which usually cost around 5 dollars. We did this for purely safety as one has to be aware that crime is still a big problem in the New Orleans area the same as most major cities. We love New Orleans and plan on returning asap. Great service in all the restaurants we ate at.


Really loved this little inn

5 sur octobre 16, 2010

Stayed at La Maison Marigny from Oct. 12 to Oct. 16 and enjoyed every minute of those 4 days/nights. New Orleans is a wonderful city and the B&B is really a great place from which to explore. I love the proximity to Frenchmen Street as well as the French Quarter. The really big thing for me is safety and La Maison seems to be a pretty safe area. Of course, you can't take anything for granted in NOLA and we did take a cab late at night when we'd had alcohol. (While here, New Orleans won an award for "best drinking city" in a major magazine. No kidding!) The courtyard was basically torn out and replanted while we visited. Can't wait to see how it all grows out! (In New Orleans that will not take long. Weeds grow out of building bricks!) Enjoy La Maison Marigny and John (and Joy the housekeeper!). It's a nice place and we were also lucky to meet wonderful fellow guests from Australia, DC and Chicago while there.


Home away from Home...

4,6 sur avril 16, 2010

We just had a wonderful two night get away to La Maison Marigny. It was such a beautiful restored home right at the end of Bourbon street in the quiet residential area. Perfect walking distance to all the sights and sounds that make New Orleans a fun vacation escape. John was a wonderful host with pleanty of good recommendations and delicious morning muffins that started our day off just right. Highly recommend this little home away from home for your next New Orleans adventure...


Excellent and worth the price

5 sur décembre 16, 2009

We loved this B&B. Casual and comfortable, yet with some upscale touches such as custom linens, iPod players, tvs with DVD players, etc. Italian-tiled bathrooms, too, although they do range in size so ask when booking! We stayed in two rooms and while we liked both, we preferred the courtyard room because it was so quiet, so beautiful and had such a lovely "feel." John the host is great, too.


First Class

5 sur août 11, 2009

We were here for 3 nights in July and loved it. We were lucky in that we were upgraded to the suite and it was beautiful. The guest house is, as has been said, at the "right end" of Bourbon St. so you're walking distance to everything, but quiet and non-seedy. We just walked everywhere or got the trolley out to the Garden District. John is brilliant. He made us feel really welcome and we really enjoyed our chats at breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again when we come back.


A really great choice in a great location

4,6 sur octobre 20, 2008

As realtors say, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. La Maison Marigny is nice and would be a great property anywhere, yet the Bourbon Street-at-Esplanade Avenue location is in my opinion IDEAL! You can walk everywhere and Frenchmen Street, NO's best keep secret, is merely 2 blocks away. The area is safe and interesting and not full of tourists either.


C'est formidable! (french for "fabulous")

5 sur juillet 02, 2008

Our hosts did a remarkable job of renovating and decorating this charming turn-of-the-century historic house! They succeeded in combining very modern, comfortable accommodations while maintaining a sense of history. We loved the downstairs suite, and the knowledge that we could pop out to the kitchen for snacks at any time! Breakfast was better than expected with homemade raspberry/chocolate chip muffins! John has also created an easy visitor’s map with nearby restaurant recommendations in every price range-- very helpful! Location is key here, and it was perfect for 1st timers…quiet end of Bourbon Street within walking distance of the French Quarter. We hope to return soon! They deserve all the accolades in the reviews!


Made my American vacation the best ever

5 sur juin 27, 2008

I am from South Africa and have stayed at La Maison Marigny for a few days already. It's fantastic. Great comfortable room (I am in the downstairs suite, which I highly recommend) and super service from John (owner) and the housekeepers (Joy and Tiago). Every morning the great coffee wakes me the delicious baked goods (scones, muffins, etc) start me off well. Fruit, yogurt, too. Not a lot of variety but a nice offering for a place that advertises a continental breakfast only. Location is superb if you are visiting N.O. to "see the sights." Near Frenchmen Street (a must-see for music fans) and all of the Quarter. New Orleans is cleaner than ever and I am loving it. Come visit!


Check this place out

4,4 sur mai 28, 2008

We stayed here Memorial Day weekend 2008 and loved it. John was a great host, helpful with any info we needed and lots of tips. Plus he makes great muffins and scones! Location is great--quiet and away from all the chaos yet it was only a 10-15 minute walk and you were in the thick of things in the Quarter. Yes, the rooms are small (but we never spend that much time in them anyway) but elegantly done and very comfortable. The "public" areas of the house are also comfortable, inviting, and charming. Great place to stay


Great place in a fantastic location

4,8 sur mai 23, 2008

We picked the Maison Marigny because of its French Quarter location but ended up spending more time in the "Marigny" neighborhood, particularly Frenchmen Street. Live music and restaurants within a couple of blocks but yet the house is quiet. Very good combination when traveling! We stayed in the "courtyard queen" room. Loved it. Very peaceful and full of amenities like flat screen TV, DVD, extra pillows/blankets, designer bedspreads, etc. My wife actually wants to decorate our bedroom in purple now after seeing Maison Marigny's room. We will return.


A wonderful place from which to explore the Big Easy

4,8 sur avril 10, 2008

We stayed in March 2008 in the courtyard queen room in back. While not large, it is well-appointed and very quiet. That is important to us! I'm tired of loud hotels. The hosts are good "planners" and will help you with all of the details of your trip -- dinner ideas, tour booking, etc. And they have stories galore about Katrina, life in New Orleans and even politics! We really enjoyed the morning chats over hot coffee and fresh-baked blueberry scones! Stay at the B&B and you won't regret your choice. We didn't!


Beautiful and friendly

4,6 sur février 15, 2008

The guys who run this place seem to care about their guests and make sure guests have a good time in New Orleans. We received excellent recommendations and enjoyed the comfortable guest rooms. Our room was somewhat small but well appointed. I would stay again!


Well Maintained

4,0 sur janvier 30, 2008

Very amicable host; beautiful outdoor inner courtyard; quiet and very comfortable.


"God is in the details."

5 sur décembre 28, 2007

Our stay at La Maison Marigny is as much a pleasant memory as anything else we saw or did in New Orleans. The rooms were charming and comfortable, the hosting unobtrusive yet accommodating of all our possible needs,and the local color of the inn was exquisite. Much of our suite was custom-designed (the bedroom and the "parlor"), including a queen-sized daybed in the parlor. Snacks and cold drinks were available to us around the clock. Homemade breakfasts varied from raspberry waffles to peach foldovers to blueberry muffins. "The shower was delicious," said my husband as I said of the mattress and bed. The walls were filled with traces of historical antiquity and beauty of the locale, tasteful and elegant. A small den held both a computer and a printer for guest use, and an enormous library of DVDs, which we said we wouldn't use but enjoyed immensely at the end of long days of sightseeing. John, the host, unassuming yet personable, was a wealth of information and helped us plan every stop and experience, resulting in an unforgettable trip, off the beaten path. Certainly we give La Maison Marigny the highest rating, detail after detail, on every level.


The best in New Orleans

5 sur octobre 31, 2007

I've stayed at four B&Bs in New Orleans, all of which were highly ranked on this site, Trip Advisor, and others. We loved La Maison Marigny the best. Great hosts, comfortable rooms with flat screen TVs and Neutrogena, VERY GOOD central air conditioning, and more. We will be back.


Homey B&B

4,8 sur octobre 26, 2007

Love this B&B. Beautiful furnishings, great muffins, wonderful host, John. This place is more of a walk, but great value and ambiance. Safe neighborhood and we'd stay again.


Kudos for John

4,6 sur septembre 10, 2007

My husband and I went to New Orleans for our 1st year anniversary. This was our first time in a Bed & Breakfast so we didn't have any major expectations. John was awesome and extremely helpful. He made dinner reservations for us on Friday night at K-Paul's which was one of the best dining experiences I have had in a long time. He also recommended several out of the main stream places for us to visit. The house was beautiful and John was an excellant host. We will be going back to New Orleans and we will stay with John when we go.


Still the one!

5 sur janvier 24, 2007

Stayed at La Maison twice before Katrina and once after. Superb! A nice but not overwhelming house, very comfortable and very friendly. PERFECT location too. Close to everything!


Fine B&B, Great Location!

5 sur décembre 16, 2006

Although many folks think they have to stay in the French Quarter, the Marigny district is my favorite for real NOLA atmosphere and great music. La Maison is on a quiet residential street, close to everything, and John is a wonderful host.


La Maison Marigny B & B on Bourbon

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $139 - $239
  • Avis (32) 4,7
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5049483638
  • Fax 1-5049455012
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8005702014

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut