1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter Avis

Ensemble
4,2

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,1
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas3,8

Notation basée sur
168 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Beautiful B&B! Will definitely be back!!

5 sur juillet 12, 2014

My husband and I made our first trip to New Orleans and Mary and Hugh at Banana Courtyard made us feel at home immediately. We stayed in the Madame Steamboat room and found it beautiful and comfortable. It was easily within walking distance of everything in the French Quarter. We plan on recommending Banana Courtyard to our friends that plan on making trips to New Orleans in the future. We can't wait to go back next year!


Quirky Fun

5 sur juillet 04, 2014

My children and I stayed at the 1870 Banana Courtyard for 4 days. It is a lovely old house with lots of fascinating antique knick-knacks in the public areas. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast tasty. The staff was delightful and helpful. Be prepared to walk as the B&B is on the far side of the Quarter from most of the tourist spots, but it is not bad. We just loved it. We will definitely return the next time we venture down to NOLA.


like visiting family .

4,4 sur juin 27, 2014

Home of hosts very comfortable. Hosts very helpful with city information. Walked to everything in the french quarter. Other guests friendly. Will go back.


Banana(sic) Courtyard French Quarters

3,2 sur juin 23, 2014

Our room was quite small and the premise is old and historic. Mary was very helpful with suggestions, almost overwhelming number of items. Very accommodating, and available. Location is a good walking distance from FQ and she indicated what streets to not be on alone (two females) after dark. They provided more amenities than I had expected and that was nice.


Terrific character

4,6 sur juin 14, 2014

We were greeted with great friendliness and cold beers and given lots of useful advice about New Orleans. The house itself is fascinating. Our room, the Mardi Gras room, was amazing; strung with beads and masks but not overpowering. There was plenty of room for the two double beds and a nice little bathroom. The one and only thing that wasn't more or less perfect was the air conditioning, which was effective but crunchy in tone. Good breakfast, as well.


Excellent B&B

4,6 sur juin 09, 2014

"If you´re going to New Orleans, you ought to see Mardi Gras" - but also stay at this B&B. Excellent service, and very generous staff (Mary & Hugh), who can provide you with all the good stuff to see and eat. Your stay will thereby be filled with nice expertions. I love this place!


Great place to stay

3,6 sur mai 22, 2014

Incredible assistance from the owners and everyone that work with them. They even walk with us around the neighborhood to show us some interesting spots and explain how to come back to the B&B at night. I totally recommend also to get the taxi service they offer. We really like the location as well. Even when it's not really in the french quarter, it is close enough and it gives the opportunity of walking around other beautiful areas of the city, and it is close to Frenchmen st. and Marigny. The only little thing to complain is the breakfast. I haven't stayed in many B&B but in my experience the breakfast were always excellent, and this one was just OK. But still, it's definitively worth it to stay here!


Off the beaten path

4,4 sur mai 19, 2014

The Cajun Room was rather small but had everything we needed. Service was awesome. I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting New Orleans.


Amazing place!

5 sur mai 14, 2014

We stayed here whilst in New Orleans and had a great time. Gerald and the rest of the team looked after us and gave us a really warm welcome and stay. I would recommend The Banana Courtyard to anyone looking to stay in New Orleans! Nick & Clare


Garden Cottage

4,4 sur mai 11, 2014

Very cute cottage. Robert and Donald were very attentive and gracious hosts. Highly recommend!


Fun in NOLA

5 sur mai 06, 2014

This was our first trip to NOLA. We were looking to stay close to the French Quarter, without being IN the heart of the FQ. Banana Courtyard was PERFECT! Mary and Hugh were great, extremely helpful with any questions we had, and very quickly solved a problem with one of the tours for us. The food was DELISH and they even told us where we could get more croissants! The room was beautiful, as was the entire house. Very safe, and perfect walking distance to the FQ. I can't wait to come back and stay with them again!


Intreeging Banana Courtyard

3,4 sur avril 16, 2014

Banana Courtyard is situated just outside The French Quarter. We loved our Balcony room even though the balcony is very small and you can hear the water splaching in the nabouring swimmingpool. You can make tea, and coffea, you have a frigidaire and your our bath room. The atmosphare in the room was warm and caring. Mary and her husbond were extremly helpful. Very good value for the money. We will come back.


Wonderful experience

4,8 sur avril 04, 2014

This B&B was wonderful. Everyone was so helpful and we felt right at home. It was exactly what we wanted, a place to relax in between trips to Bourbon Street and the French Market.


Review of 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter

5 sur mars 28, 2014

This quirky B and B was an affordable and fun home base during our recent visit to New Orleans. The owners were attentive and helpful and full of information and Mr Lane, their recommended driver, is a doll who made us feel like family. Ms Ramsey and Hugh tell is like it is in their B and B description. We truly enjoyed our stay in a place full of memories and history instead of a modern and sterile hotel room.


Full of magic

5 sur mars 22, 2014

We fell in love with New Orleans and will definitely come back shortly, and to the same BnB. This BnB is not only greatly located, but it is full of magic, old mansion with incredible decorations and smells. We have stayed with Corey, while Mary and Hugh were away. He is an outstanding guy! He is friendly and helpful and though we had some problems to understand him as we came from Russia, his stories made us laugh anyway and we just hope to see him again! Arina&Irina


Wonderful place, close to everything, very comfortable.

4,4 sur mars 18, 2014

We loved our stay at the Banana Courtyard. Mary was an incredibly welcoming host, and the grounds and rooms are beautiful. Our car stayed in the lot the whole time we were in NOLA, and we felt very safe with the locked gates, doors, and other guests. We would, without a doubt, stay here again. Our only gripe is the almost complete lack of hot water.


More grits than glitz

2,8 sur mars 17, 2014

If you're looking for a nice place in the French Quarter, this may not be for you. Mary and Hugh were excellent hosts with plenty of great suggestions as well as stories about the area. The house is historical and a bit cluttered, but friendly, clean and within walking distance of everything in the Quarter. They have secure parking, but you also have to manage a handful of keys to go into and out of the house. A good place for groups of about 8.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are always sad when guests don't TOTALLY enjoy their stay with us and encourage feedback WHILE you are here, so we can address any issues. Unfortunately, when you replace antique locks, you can't always have a master key. We strive to explain keys when folks checkin, & organize them so they're less confusing. We especially appreciate your NEVERTHELESS recommending us for groups. Cluttered IS us. So many family things, & stuff we have collected on trips, we are reluctant to get rid of lots. Love collecting art, but often sits in corner 'til we get time to frame. Guess that is a problem with a B&B where owners also reside. Thanks for the feedback. Based on it, we're trying to declutter. Bought a storage cube to try to let go of some things.


Amazing Stay!

5 sur mars 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Banana Courtyard a few weeks ago. Our stay was absolutely perfect! It was our first time at a bed and breakfast and our expectations were clearly exceeded. We had never visited New Orleans and safety was definitely a concern, but we never felt unsafe walking from The Banana Courtyard. I feel like my husband can be a little paranoid due to his career in Law Enforcement, but he was never felt unsafe either. You can definitely walk to the French Quarter, but a cab is only about $6 to $7 for two people. Try the shrimp po boy at the Orange Store right next door. The minute I saw the place I panicked and couldn't possibly believe it the staff had recomended we eat there. I was convinced we were at the wrong place, but of course we weren't and it was amazing! You HAVE to try it. Parking at the BC is optional, but trust me you DO want it. I really cant rave enough about how perfect The Banana Courtyard is. We fell in love with The Banana Courtyard and New Orleans! So much so that we already booked a trip back in October!

Réponse du propriétaire
Guess it's better late than never on thanking guests for lovely reviews like yours. Flattery gets you everywhere here. Wish we knew who you were, so I could personally thank you and do something special when you return. Oyster festival is this weekend (June 1-2). We are crossing our fingers that the rain holds off. It's such a fun event. we're often hesitant to send folks to the orange store because it is a turn off when you walk in, BUT the reward of super food pays off for the adventurous! Next time try the artery clogging French fries fried in lard. We'll point you toward even more adventurous paces in October. Have a great Summer. Bye from Mary and Hugh


Ooh La La YES!

4,2 sur février 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the Cajun Room at Banana Courtyard! The hosts were warm & friendly, the room was clean & cozy. This B&B is in the heart of the best of NOLA. Walking distance to everything in the French Quarter.

Réponse du propriétaire
Gotta somehow get onto review sites more often. Embarassed at how long it takes me to respond. Your comments are greatly appreciated by us Makes our 'job' a joy! Bye for now


The best place we've stayed in New Orleans

5 sur février 24, 2014

Banana Courtyard is beautiful, homey, charming, and conveniently located right on the northeast corner of the French Quarter. We enjoyed our stay there immensely. The room was huge and very comfortable, our breakfasts were hearty and delicious, and it was easy to walk to all the places we wanted to be. Plus, we were only a block from the best shrimp po'boy we've ever had! (Rampart Food Mart a/k/a "The Orange Place" -- get it on the French bread.) All in all, we'd recommend this place to anyone looking to get immersed in New Orleans culture.

Réponse du propriétaire
wOW. such a nice review, hardly know how to respond! Thanks so much. It's such a joy to know that you enjoyed the 'locals haunts'. Our guests help US discover stuff all the time. Hope you have a great Summer and are able to come back some day. Remember the secret password for a return guests discount or for those you refer to us. Nighty night


Great B&B!

4,6 sur février 13, 2014

We stayed in the Hexagon Room during the few days in Jan 2014 when NOLA iced over. The room was cozy, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. It was a great place to come back to to warm up after walking around in the (surprisingly) bitter cold. The staff at the B&B were all very friendly and even gave us a quick tour of the immediate area after our check in, pointing out some key points of the French Quarter and Frenchmen St, and some tips for non-locals touring the area. Will definitely look to stay with the Banana courtyard again on future trips back to NOLA!

Réponse du propriétaire
Whowee! Was a little down today because high season is so long and I'm exhausted. Reviews like yours are what keeps us going. So glad you had a good time. Because of the extreme weather in January, we lost a lot of plants, but the banana trees responded to stress by putting out bananas afterward - mid-winter! Keep in touch and since reviews are anonymous, hope this reaches y'all.


Amazing get away

4,8 sur février 08, 2014

An amazing time. everything's in walking distance. Alot to see and do. Highly recommended.

Réponse du propriétaire
Some day we'll have some help to respond to reviews, timely. We really appreciate your taking the time to comment. So thrilled that you had a good time and enjoyed what N'Awlins has to offer. Bye for now from Mary and Hugh


great little place!

4,0 sur janvier 23, 2014

The owners are super friendly and welcoming! My only complaint is that i was horribly allergic to something in the room where i stayed. My friend and i both woke up to stuffy noses and itchy eyes.

Réponse du propriétaire
I guess you can see that it takes us forever to respond to comments. Thanks for your very gracious comments about us. We're so sorry about your allergic reaction. Please email me to let me know which room so we can investigate. Now, it's almost June and have had no one make a comment about anything like this, but want to investigate. It could be the air fresheners in rooms, maybe we used a different mop solution. Hope you'll give us another chance. You may not be aware that our local radio station is live streaming on the Internet. If you love music, tune in to www.wwoz.org and enjoy. Bye from the banana lady


Shabby Chic and Comfortable:)

4,2 sur décembre 29, 2013

The manager on duty, Gerald (I think that's right), was so nice and helpful. I felt safe and comfortable. Buffa's, just around the corner, serves up fabulous food and drink 24 hours a day, too!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for your kind comments about Gerald. He has been with us +10 years and is a valuable asset. He loves helping guests and being sure they are well taken care of. we'll pass your comments on to him. Buffa's is a great place. Voted best pub food last year. when you consider no cover charge for music, quite a value! Happy New Year from the Ramseys


Banana Courtyard

4,6 sur décembre 15, 2013

We stayed at the Banana Courtyard for 3 nights. The room was decorated in 1870 decor. Yes, it wa small, but perfect for us as we were not there much. Mary was a gracious hostess and gave us a map and even walked us down to Bourbon St. Getting around was very easy and the location was perfect. Thank you, Mary.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks so much for posting a review. More than 20 years as B&B, it's still a thrill to have guests like you give us feedback. Locals say, "we passed a good time." Glad to hear you did. We hope you'll be able to return to N'Awlins soon. Bye for now.


First. Time in new Orleans

3,2 sur novembre 29, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic time at banana courtyard the location was perfect and easy walk to bourbon street. The accommodations were as expected clean friendly and comfortable. Thanks for sharing your lovely B &B with us

Réponse du propriétaire
Wow. what a nice review. Made our day! Sharing our home and the hidden treasures of our city has been a wonderful experience for us. We enjoy it so much, that we sometimes feel guilty getting paid, but then the bills roll in and take care of that sentiment. Don't be a stranger. Come see us again. Bye bye.


Dirty B&B

1,0 sur novembre 21, 2013

I always stay at B&B's because the owners are cordial, I meet interesting people, the rooms are quaint and clean, the breakfast are unique and always very good and it's a good value. The 1870 Banana Courtyard was very disappointing. I would have left after the first day. The room was dirty, I didn't notice it right away, but when I got up in the morning there was balls of dust all over the bed. It was coming from the AC. Also, the ceiling fans were covered in dust. The owners asked that you called them 30 minutes before you can down for breakfast. I never had this request from other B&B's. Their reason was so your food would be hot when you arrived. They served toast and croissants and tiny muffins. The first day and the last day they served another pastry. Nothing was ever hot so I don't know why they needed a 30 minute lead time. I do not recommend this B&B.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are so sorry you were unhappy here. When you completed the registration form, we wish you had noticed the following paragraph: Please voice any frustrations, so we can correct them - don't wait until you leave. We want HAPPY guests. NOT happy here? We'll help you find a place to stay that WILL please you. DUST: We dust, polish, mop and scour guest rooms before check in. Dust is our worst challenge, since there is lots of traffic and these houses built in 1800s are like dust magnets. Thanks for being specific about the problems in your room. We inspected the room where you stayed. Although “check air conditioner filter and wipe ceiling fan blades clean” is on our room clean checklist, we didn’t realize that our new housekeeper was too short to reach them. Now she understands that if she is unable to perform any item on the list, she needs to let us know, so someone else can take care of it. (Folks who have worked in hotels, don’t have to pay attention to the little things that are necessary in an 1800s house, like ours). BREAKFAST: We are very sorry if your pastries were not hot. The reason we don’t serve buffet style, is so pastries WILL NOT be soggy and cold. Since we do not toast anything, until guests arrive in the dining room, it is a mystery to us how yours were not hot. As you probably remember, our breakfast is generous Continental. Always a pastry from the local bakery, toast, fresh fruit, granola bars, coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, and cocoa. For guests with a medical condition, we go to store to purchase things, such as special milk for lactose intolerant guests, provide special items for diabetics, and those who are allergic to nuts, etc., and cereal for those who want it. We hope you will give us another chance to please you. Nighty night from Mary and Hugh


Good to stay if i was there for tourism,

3,4 sur novembre 20, 2013

The house was as expected and our room enough large. The welcome was friendly unfortunately i had a busy agenda which didn t match with the breakfast timing. So we couldn t take it all days. Coming back late also i didn t meet much the resident and benefit from their city know how. But for sure i took the pirat room for my friends which was not at all what we expected. I don't recommend it at all but our room with the balconny was ok.


Great B&B - Minor issues

4,4 sur octobre 31, 2013

Our stay in NOLA was great and the Banana Courtyard made this possible. The only issues we encountered was; the internet connection was very spotty in the balcony room we stayed in and there was never enough hot water. I would think adding a wifi repeater in the room would fix the internet strength. With the balcony room has the jet tub in it, it was our desire to soak in hot water after long walks in the city, but the water never started hot enough to make this desirable, and by the time it filled to allow use for the jets, the water was very cold. I ended up heating about 20 pots of water using the coffee maker to make it bearable to soak for a few. Overall great stay.... Would have been perfect if the above issues were not present.


Garden Cottage off St. Charles Avenue

5 sur octobre 24, 2013

The Banana Lady also represents a property outside the Quarter, off St. Charles Ave. near Audubon Park and Tulane University. There's plenty to do in this part of town, with great restaurants plopped down everywhere in this wonderfully gastronomic city and many walkable blocks of world class shopping on Magazine St. The Cottage is beautiful, comfy, and quiet, and the proprietors are super knowledgeable and helpful. It's even dog friendly, and since walking is the best way to see the blocks and blocks of beautiful historic houses, it's a win-win. Of course if you can't visit New Orleans without also seeing the French Quarter, it's easy to get to via street car. I'm looking very forward to my next visit!


Great place to stay in the Marigny

3,4 sur octobre 23, 2013

This is a great place in a great neighborhood. We appreciated all the information the Ramseys shared with us and the easy walk to the Quarter, the restaurants and music on Frenchman Street. Would definitely stay here again.


What a great place to experience New Orleans!

5 sur octobre 21, 2013

The atmosphere in this grand old house made into a b and b was a great way for my children and myself to expedience New Orleans! You also could not ask for better host than Hugh and Mary.


Great atmosphere and a great value

4,8 sur octobre 15, 2013

The staff is very friendly. Clean rooms with the just the right amount of quirky atmosphere. Simple breakfast, but this was clearly explained on their website. There was a complication with our reservations, but the Banana Lady resolved the issue to my satisfaction. My favorite part of staying at the Banana Courtyard is that they have an arrangement with a cab driver to pick you up and drop you off at the airport. I didn't know what to think about this at first, but it was a life saver. Stanley was our hero. Overall, a wonderful place to stay.


fantastic B&B

4,6 sur octobre 14, 2013

Seriously one of the nicest B&Bs in the world!


Fall Escape in New Orleans Sept 2013

4,2 sur octobre 08, 2013

The Banana Courtyard is one of the best places to stay to live like a local and experience all that the city has to offer. Listen to the tips and guidance provided by your cab driver and hosts, listen to the music try the restaurants and see some of the real New Orleans. They serve a delightful bakery breakfast. Prepared fresh when you call down to say you are ready. After breakfast it is an easy walk to the French Quarter, Louis Armstrong park and all the city has to offer. We would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking for accommodations in New Orleans.


Shall be back

4,2 sur septembre 13, 2013

This was a stay where you could fell comfortable & relaxed at all times. Thank you Banana Courtyard.


Exceeded my expectations

4,6 sur septembre 12, 2013

The personal service was exceptional.


We would return!

5 sur septembre 01, 2013

Staying at this house felt like home in a museum. The hosts were great and the history of the house was very interesting.


As is..

3,0 sur août 28, 2013

The Innkeepers were extremely hospitable and helpful during our stay. The photos were somewhat deceiving, as it was discovered upon arrival inside. The B&B was somewhat cluttered with antiques and memorabilia and resembled an antique store. The room(s) were clean and the breakfast was delightful. The location was great, by being on the boundary of the French Quarter, but not having all the noise. Everything was a reasonable walk and/or trolley ride away. The price was spot on for the accommodations. It was also comforting to have secured parking as well as a secured perimeter fence/wall.


Best B&B in New Orleans

5 sur août 26, 2013

Mary and Hugh were charming. Made every effort to make our two day stay in New Orleans memorable. Would highly recommend.


Near the French Quarter and highway

4,2 sur août 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights for a high school reunion (more than 40 years). We are used to European rooms so we were not upset at the room being smaller than many American hotels. It was clean, the parking lot was kept locked, and we were only a few minutes walk from the heart of the French Quarter yet just minutes from the interstate. Very friendly owners and staff. We loved chatting with them.


Great

5 sur août 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay!


Wonderful Stay

5 sur août 09, 2013

Every where you look, there are unique pieces of history! My husband and I enjoy staying in B&Bs like this one for that reason.


Our Home Away from Home

5 sur juillet 23, 2013

We have been to NOLA many times, and always stay at The Banana Courtyard, why? because its the best place at the best price, but most of all the best people. They are the true ambassators of New Orleans.


pleasant place to stay

4,2 sur juin 14, 2013

Enjoyed Banana Courtyard. Nice spacious room with a balcony. excellent location for the French Quarter. would stay there again.


Eclectic

4,0 sur juin 12, 2013

A very comfortable, welcoming place that is decorated inside like someone's attic of New Orleans memoribilia. It is conveniently located to the French Quarter, either on foot or by bus connection to the Canal Street streetcar. Highly recommended.


Great town, good location & quaint accommodations for a reasonable price.

2,8 sur juin 10, 2013

The breakfast part of the "B&B" was a bit thin, but the location was great for accessing the French Quarter. The owners were very friendly and they have a great cabbie who has a wealth of local info to take you to & from the airport. Although the bed squeaked & the bathroom was closet-sized, our room in this converted old house was quaint (former front parlor, I think) & large enough even with the extra single bed. Not sure my wife agrees, but I'd stay at Banana Courtyard if we have the good fortune to visit New Orleans again.


Funky b&b

3,2 sur mai 26, 2013

Clean and very comfortable bed, but the room was a little bit too cluttered. Very helpful on arrival with maps and orienteering. Very well located edge of the french district so away from the noise. Breakfast would not be my choice being croissants and other pastries, but having said that fresh fruit was on the table if wanted.


Great Place

4,2 sur mai 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay and would go there again. I had to switch rooms but it was well worth it. There was no problem and did not loose anything.


Banana Courtyard

3,4 sur mai 09, 2013

We had a pleasant stay for 2 nights at the Banana Courtyard while in New Orleans for jazz fest. Mary and her husband are delightful and took the time to sit us down and give a thorough overview of the area and restaurants and even offered to walk us to the French Quarter to show us around. They had a great list of restaurants and reviews that I took notes from and found very helpful. The location, while not in the French Quarter, was more than accessible to everything and I actually appreciated being on the outskirts. I would stay again and recommend this place to others who are looking to get outside of the box a bit.


Banana Courtyard

3,0 sur avril 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night passing thru NOLA. The location was great, enabling us to walk the mile or so to attractions. Locked parking lot was a key for us in deciding to stay here. Hosts provided a lot of information. Wish we had known, however, to skip Bourbon St, and go to Frenchman St.


A great place to stay

4,4 sur avril 11, 2013

Outside the noise off the French Quarter but close enough to walk everywhere. Nice, friendly owners and staff. Excellent price! We had two rooms and everything was wonderful!


Best place ever

5 sur avril 06, 2013

Wonderful, kind and serviceminded people. Always helpful. If I have the possiblity I would stay there again.


Like the Shack Up Inn but in downtown New Orleans!

4,4 sur avril 02, 2013

What a fun and funky place, including location, management, and facilities -- the Pirate's Attic and Banana Courtyard. Our stay could not have been better, and we met other very nice people for breakfast in a museum-quality dining room. High ceilings with hot orange muffins, Louisiana strawberries, and coffee with chicory; yum. And just around the corner, Buffa's, established 1939 and still serving one of the best burgers ever -- along with great music from LastChanceSaloon memorial. . . Oh, yes.


Would highly recommend this place :)

4,6 sur mars 22, 2013

We were immediately greeted by the owner who was very friendly, courteous, and helpful. Stayed in the balcony room which was very tidy and you could tell they had recently made some renovations. The main house had some amazing decorating details as did each room within. Very home like feel. Thrilled with our stay!!! Would reccomend spending the extra for the chocolate covered strawberries as we did. Hand made by the owner Mary and hand delivered to our room they were delicious. Mary has also assembled some guides for her guests that were very helpful. The highlighted map was indispensable, as we used it from the moment we got there and to the help us find our way back to the interstate on the way home. I would LOVE to go back anytime I visit New Orleans :)


A Wonderful Place to Stay

5 sur mars 22, 2013

This is our second stay at the Banana Courtyard B & B and it was every bit as pleasurable as the first time. Our hosts were friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable, We would happily stay there again.


Good value and and interesting place

3,4 sur mars 11, 2013

On the edge of the quarter, this b&b is "quirky in a good way". Very nice owners and good value for money. I will stay again.


Great place to stay!!

5 sur mars 07, 2013

This place was full of charm, in a great location and was an incredible deal. When we come back to New Orleans, we will most definitely stay here again!!


Wonderfully Charming B&B

3,6 sur février 19, 2013

My best friend and I had a 7 night stay at The Banana Court Yard. The owners and staff are excellent host. They are very family friendly, informative and helpful in so many ways. I felt as thought I was staying at a friends home. Mary has a way of making you feel right at home. Hugh has the history of NOLA down to a science with a wonderful sense of humor. Southern hospatality at it's best. We joined the other house guest for the Continental Breakfast and before you knew it everyone is talking, laughing and sharing their adventures from the day before. I love to stroll around and staying right on the French Quarter, I got to sight see and eat my way around the area. From Buffas around the corner, Seafood Store to the French Market down the road. It was a wonderful adventure and I would definetly return to the Banana, It would be like going home!!! Maxine Ponds-2013 Everett, Washington .


Wonderfully Personal

3,4 sur janvier 20, 2013

Mary, Hugh and the staff are so friendly and personable. It was a pleasure staying with them. There is SO much to see in the B&B - your eyes never stop wandering. Breakfast is also a treat, sharing tea or coffee with others that are visiting. It is a piece of quiet in a busy city.


nawlins treasure

4,8 sur janvier 12, 2013

Our stay in the Hexagon Room at Banana Courtyard was relaxing with plenty of room, asuper comfortable bed, and thermostat controlled gas fireplace. We were a 15 minute walk from the French Market and jackson square, less than 10 minutes to walk to the heart of the French Quarter and the live music of Bourbon Street. The house itself is eccentric with eclectic decor that will have you thinking they've made new additions each time you go out, as we noticed something new each day. Mary gave us a personal tour from the house down to bourbon street and Hugh had hot coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit, and warm pastries ready for us each morning on request. Taxi service to and from the airport was a bonus and so convenient. Stanley, our driver, gave insider tips, a narrated tour to the house, and great recipies! Would definitely book here again!


Fabulous

5 sur janvier 11, 2013

We stayed at the Banana Courtyard before we left on a cruise. Mary, Hugh & Corey made our stay very comfortable. They have so much knowledge of New Orleans to share with everyone. They kept us right on track with directions and recommendations for sights to see. Hugh recommended the WWII Museum, that was the highlight of our trip. We had been to New Orleans over 20 years ago and saw most of the sights, we were interested in seeing less of the party scene and we were not disappointed with what was recommended. If we find ourselves heading to New Orleans in the future we will definitely stay at the Banana Courtyard. The rooms and the inn were fantastic, chocked full of antiques and Marti Gras memorabilia. Thank You Mary, Hugh and Corey for hosting us.


Quirky place.

3,0 sur décembre 31, 2012

We reserved the Balcony room for a 2 night post cruise honeymoon stay. Our ship arrived earlier than the B and B check in time so we called and they let us drop our stuff off so that we could explore the city. The place is quirky and funky in a good way. I have never stayed at a B and B but my wife said that this was not the norm. So if you want to be adventerous it's a good place to stay but if you are a traditionalist you might be a little shocked.


Great location and hosts

3,8 sur décembre 06, 2012

I very much recommend this property and definitely would stay here again. Breakfast was delicious and I loved the eclectic decor. It was a short walk to Frenchman and Decatur streets and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful. Little extras like bottled water and fruit were nice touches.


Great place!

4,4 sur décembre 05, 2012

We loved staying at banana courtyard. It had unique and charming character all around. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great! Parties, coffee bagels or oatmeal with fresh coffee and lots of types of tea to choose from. There also was fresh fruit and soft drinks always available to guests. The locked parking lot was nice and the parking charge was very reasonable compared to most places in the French quarter. We would stay here again!


One-of-a-kind lodging at the corner of three quarters

4,2 sur décembre 05, 2012

With its proximity to the French Quarter and Treme, as well as its location in Faubourg Marigny, the Banana Courtyard is within easy walking distance from the hearts of all three. Comfortable bed, lovely hosts, and comfortable room. Highly recommended. (We stayed on first floor.)


A Fantastic time in New Orleans

4,8 sur novembre 20, 2012

Hugh, Mary & Corey made our stay in New Orleans. They are very friendly, helpful and could not do enough for our group during our stay, which was all too short. If ever I go back to NO, I would stay there again and highly recommend the Banana Courtyard.


Great experience in convenient location

4,0 sur novembre 18, 2012

After finding this B&B online, I've tried to stay here the last 2 times I've visited NOLA without success. Finally, I was able to get a room (the last 1 available for the week of Halloween) and I was not disappointed. Mary is such a warm soul. When I had difficulty with payment processing, she called me immediately. The Cajun Quarters were a perfect size for 2 of us and our Girl's Getaway week. The Courtyards, stairs, balconies are beautifully decorated and there is a wonderful array of greenery and fruit trees throughout the property. We drove and found access in and out of the parking lot quite easy. Mary and Hugh are both excellent resources for anything in the area – I even got driving directions to Marrero from Hugh as he told me not to trust my GPS – lol. I prefer to stay closer to the Esplanade side of the French Quarter because Frenchmen Street and the Marigny are more my speed, so I was pleased to find that it is only a 5 minute walk there from the BC. The only aspects of the BC that were a bit odd was 1 key for the 2 of us - not a key each, having to lock the main gate on the inside (we felt a little insecure in case of emergency), and having to call 30 minutes before coming down for breakfast. I like to just get up and go. All in all, I’m very happy that I finally had the chance to stay here and I will always look at the Banana Courtyard before anywhere else.


historic B&B

4,6 sur octobre 28, 2012

We had the best time .Mary and her husband are fantastic warm people full of stories about the history of New Orleans.the accomodation is unique and very comfortable.I would recommend it without hesitation.


Banana courtyard Stay

4,4 sur octobre 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time and loved the house very much! We enjoyed meeting Mary and talking to Hugh as well as Mildred and Corey! We will keep the Banana Courtyard in mind the next time we visit and will refer everyone as wonderful place.


Great stay

5 sur octobre 06, 2012

The time we spent in this house was awesome! The house is just 5 minutes walking from the french market and bourbon street. The owners are very kindly and helpful. New Orleans is the best place we visited in all our travel in America. WHO DAT NATION!


Excellent Value

4,4 sur septembre 05, 2012

Wow this was an amazing place to stay! The value was great especially for how close to the French Quarter you are. Our stay was lovely and quiet. We were probably the loudest guests but I don't think we could be heard. This B&B is on the residential side of the French Quarter so we didn't have party goers outside keeping us awake. It was a nice walk into the action of Bourbon Street. When you travel its all about location, location, location. Next time we might fly in because we never used our car once which was safely locked behind a gated area so no worries there. The only, I mean ONLY drawback was breakfast. Apparently B&B's cannot cook in New Orleans. I have no idea but even though it was only toast, pastries, fruit, juice and coffee it was good for me. My husband was the one who wanted MEAT! Believe me when I say that we were there for 3 nights and the B&B was perfect!


Great Place!

5 sur août 27, 2012

They took the time and showed us a map and the places we should and shouldnt go. Very helpful being it was our first trip to New Awlins!!


Banana courtyard b&b

4,4 sur août 27, 2012

Beautiful place with courteous service from the staff! Great location from the main attractions at an amazingly affordable rate. This b&b is a must see!! Definitely will be returning in the future :-)


Very friendly staff. Small room but we knew that. Looking fordward to staying there again.

4,0 sur août 02, 2012

Very friendly staff. Small room but we knew that. Looking forward to staying there again.


Great Times in New Orleans.

4,8 sur juillet 27, 2012

We will be back next year. This B&B is close to everything that you would want to do in New Orleans. Loved our room. Thank-You Miss Mary for all of your help! Chris & Debbie Sergey.


Banana Courtyard, Great place to Stay!!

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2012

Great place to stay and enjoy New Orleans. I will Definitely be back to Banana Courtyard!!


Great stay!

4,2 sur juillet 17, 2012

We had a great time at Banana Courtyard! We went to New Orleans to get away, but wanted a relaxing trip from home and we certainly got it! Hugh and Mary were wonderful and helped us to make the most of our short stay in the South. We would recommend Banana Courtyard to any and all of our loved ones heading down to New Orleans!


an oasis in a desert

4,0 sur juillet 02, 2012

the name, the history and the experience, your hotel was everything i wanted New Orleans to be, and will always be what New Orleans is. Anyone who does not stay at The Banana Courtyard is missing the heart of the city.


Interesting

4,0 sur juin 25, 2012

Due to N O city laws, breakfast was not cooked at the B & B, we were served an assortment fruits, croissants and rolls that were delicious. Things we wanted to see in New Orleans were within walking distance or by public transportation. Our group consisted of 3 couples and ALL had a wonderful time!


Amazing Stay!!!!!

5 sur juin 17, 2012

This is the best place to stay hands down! There is private parking behind a gate, so you don't have to worry about your car, and there is a wall all the way around the house. The decorations were very nice (New Orleans style), and the room was very clean. The owners were very hospitable, and very helpful. One of them gave us a small tour and walked my wife and I to Bourbon Street. We are so pleased, my wife and I plan to make New Orleans our vacation spot, and will always stay at the Bananna Courtyard! ~The Carroll's


Family visit

5 sur juin 17, 2012

What a wonderful fun place to stay. Our every need was met, even umbrellas for the rainy days. The fruit and pastries and entertaining host made breakfast special. Most important turned out to be having a safe place to park. We will be back!back


Great B and B

3,8 sur juin 14, 2012

Great people happy to help, close to all main spots. Right by a bus stop easy to get around and to the airport from here by public transport. Was picked up by Stanley, taxi driver who does the airport pick up, on the ball tracking the flight a good stay

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the kind comments. Just figured how to repond to posts. Guess need to go backward, so no one feels left out! You were a super guest. We'll always have a soft spot in our hearts for you. After 10 days, you felt like family. Keep in touch. You never know when we'll pop up in your neck of the woods.


Can't wait to go back!

4,6 sur mai 16, 2012

This is a great place to stay! We drove down from Missouri and they called to check on us while we were on the road. We were greeted at the door by the owner Mary. She is absolutely wonderful. Between her and Hugh (her husband) you will never lack for information or help. They have lists of all the great tourist things to do and all the places to go and things to do to avoid other tourists! There is always a cool drink to be had in the foyer and a glass of wine in the evening! I cannot say enough good things about the inn and it's amazing owners! If I had one complaint it would be with the city of New Orleans. They don't allow cooking in B&B's so all that you get for breakfast are fabulous pastries from local bakeries and fresh fruits! If your looking for a great place to stay in New Orleans then this is your place!


Great experience

5 sur avril 22, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay with Mary, Hugh and staff. We stayed in the Hexagon room, which was delightful. The b&b is unique and the staff are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about NOLA. We will return here if we go back to N'Awlins. Oh, and Stanley the taxi driver is the best guide in town.


Great stay in New Orleans

4,6 sur avril 17, 2012

Most likely, one of the best trips I and my friends have completed. A good time was enjoyed by all. Our hosts were hospitable and quite competent in their jobs. I thank Banana Courtyard for a job well done. Thanks again, dave.


A perfect New Orleans getaway

5 sur mars 29, 2012

The Banana Courtyard is a great base from which to explore the streets of New Orleans. It's an easy walk to Bourbon Street, Frenchmen Street, the French Markets and everything in between. Cafe du Monde is a must-do and the jazz at Cafe Negril in Frenchmen Street was awesome. The Cannonball Room at the Banana Courtyard was cozy with a comfortable bed and a private bathroom. The special touches (drinks on arrival, coffee in the morning, chocolate strawberries an optional extra) all made our stay with Mary and Hugh very special. We would highly recommend the Banana Courtyard and would love to visit again.


Pre cruise

4,0 sur mars 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights before our cruise. The B&B was everything that was described on line. It was busy but they were very friendly. The walls and room could use some better cleaning (dust from ceiling fans). Outside of that we enjoyed our stay.


Mardi Gras 2012

4,4 sur février 25, 2012

We (party of 3) stayed at the Banana Courtyard (2 rooms) during the nights of February 17-22. We were met at the airport by Stanley, the cab driver who was scheduled by the Banana Courtyard to pick us up. He was friendly, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to have met. We were warmly welcomed at the Banana Courtyard by Mary Ramsey (owner) and immediately offered a drink. We found the Banana Courtyard to be charming and really appreciated the artwork and various decorations that cover the walls. The location was within a few short blocks of Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter. On our last night (Mardi Gras) all the guests were treated to a wonderful, traditional New Orleans meal prepared primarily by Hugh Ramsey (owner). We left the table very full and very satisfied. Although the food we enjoyed in New Orleans was good, our meal at the Banana Courtyard was far and away the best. We were close enough to walk to numerous parades, the French Quarter, Mississippi River, and more. We loved the exercise and saw no need to rent a car or take a cab anywhere. The Banana Courtyard is an older building with lots of charm,character and quirkiness. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this place is not for you. The 2 rooms we stayed in have small bathrooms (we didn't mind). The staff is very friendly and tended to our minimal needs. Breakfast consists of several types of toast, jellies, jams, tea, coffee, fresh fruit and juice. It was also refreshing to find water and various flavors of soda made available on a nightly basis to all of the guests. Our hosts (Mary and Hugh Ramsey) provided us with great entertainment and dining suggestions. The map of the area that they provided was used so much it was tattered by the time we departed. We would definitely stay at the Banana Courtyard again.


A very pleasant experience - again!

3,6 sur janvier 29, 2012

A warm welcome and consistently good service and value. This is THE place to stay if your focus is on the French Quarter - it has everything you might possibly want.


Great B&B!

4,2 sur janvier 27, 2012

We had a great time! Nice balcony in the back and a nice seating area in the coutyard area. Mary and Hugh were very helpful answering any questions we had about places to go and things to see!


Charming Cottage

4,0 sur janvier 25, 2012

The cottage was very lovely and perfect for our needs. Donald and Robert greeted us and suggested areas that might be of interest to us. I definetly recommend the cottage for a great experience of true New Orleans


New Orleans B and B

3,8 sur janvier 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Banana Courtyard. The location is excellent, 3 very short blocks to Bourbon Street and 5 very short blocks to Decatour Street. Quiet location with lots of historical charm. The rooms were unique and clean. The beds were a little hard though. Mary and her husband were great! They gave you all the information you could possibly want, from restaraunt and shopping recommendations to where the best jazz was play that week. Mary even walked us down to Bourbon Street so we would know how to get there. Having on site parking was great perk as finding a place to park in the Quarter is hard. We will definately stay there again.


BCS Championship weekend

4,0 sur janvier 14, 2012

Really enjoyed staying there and definitely met expectations.


Wonderful alternative to hotel stay

5 sur janvier 14, 2012

My family of 4 recently visited New Orleans to attend the BCS National Championship game. We initially booked this B &B because all the rooms in New Orleans were completely booked already. We decided though, that this was even better than a hotel stay. We had quiet when we wanted quiet but were close enough via the streetcar to enjoy the city when we wanted to. The accommodations were very lovely and my husband even enjoyed grilling in the garden--his weekend hobby! We anticipate staying here again!!


Review

2,6 sur janvier 03, 2012

Quite a nice place to stay on the edge of the French Quarter but definitely not for those on a budget. The house is stuffed full of bits and pieces making the dining room very cramped. Breakfast was disappointing as we didn't know that that B&B's in New Orleans are not allowed to offer cooked breakfasts, and having to ring the owner every day to let him know what time you wanted breakfast was irritating especially as we had it the same time every day! Our room was up a fire escape outside the house, so not easy access for those with a disability. 6 out of 10 overall.


Banana Courtyard MADE our trip!

4,4 sur décembre 22, 2011

Thanks to Mary and Hugh, our trip to New Orleans was fantastic. They supplied us with a virtual encyclopedia on the best the town has to offer - particularly those places that aren't tourist traps, but real N'Awlins. Our suite had so many pictures and posters, and neat antiques, that everytime we walked in, we saw something new. Hugh and Mary made us feel like we were visiting friends - definitely not a typical - sterile - hotel experience! Without a doubt, when we return to New Orleans we will be staying at this great residence!


Lots of Character!

4,0 sur décembre 18, 2011

This B&B had so much to see. It was filled with antiques and history. I loved just taking it all in. The hosts were amazing. They gave us way more information than we could have asked for and never steered us wrong. It really felt like staying with a relative. Would go back every time I go to NO.


Oliver

3,4 sur novembre 28, 2011

Enjoyed meeting all of the staff and the house was a wonderful experience.


Brian & Cindi 25 anniverary

4,4 sur novembre 16, 2011

We enjoy our stay at the Banana Courtyard very much. The Balcony Room met all our needs and even had a few extras we did not except. The location to the French Quarter was great. Looking forward to coming back. Mary was a great hostess and provided us with a lot of good information.


Cozy getaway

4,2 sur novembre 08, 2011

I stayed here over Halloween weekend with friends and found the environment to be warm, inviting, and overall cozy. As I walked in the front door, my first thought was that I had walked into a friend's home, and immediately felt comfortable. Mary and Hugh were rather accommodating when my arrival times kept changing due to standby status, but had Stanley available to pick me up at the airport before I even landed. We are staying here again in some of the larger rooms over Mardi Gras and I can't wait to experience something different!


If clutter and creepiness is your thing, Banana Courtyard is the place for you!

1,0 sur octobre 18, 2011

Really an awful place. Dark, tasteless, and outright creepy... with A LOT of cluttering things, clothes and creepy pictures and newspaper clippings on the walls. The host was very dry and did not make us feel welcomed. You need to call 30 minutes ahead if you plan to eat breakfast at the B&B. What kind of service is that?! The room itself (Carriage/Quilt) was awful. It felt damp, there's no air, old sheets and bedding. To be honest, we tried to avoid being in the room as much as possible and coming back to the B&B after exploring the city was a downer every day. We loved New Orleans and definitely plan to come back to this wonderful city. However, we will NEVER stay at Banana Courtyard again.


i wouldn't stay anywhere else in new orleans...

5 sur octobre 16, 2011

we LOVED this place. it's clean with a good breakfast and the staff are SOOOO helpful and friendly. the rooms are gorgeous and the whole place is so interesting. lots of bits and pieces to look at etc. you don't feel like you're in a hotel or even at a BnB you feel like you're staying with good friends. you chat over breakfast, joke, get helpful advice etc. i was so happy staying there.


very friendly and comfortable B & B

3,8 sur octobre 16, 2011

We would have no hesitation in recommending the 1870 Banana Courtyard to anybody visiting New Orleans and wishing to be in the French Quarter. They provide so much infomation as to what to do, where to go, where to dine and how to get there. They even walked us down to Bourbon Street upon our arrival and familiarise us with the area. Would not stay anywhere else upon return. Josie & Pete Barnard. England


gracious southern hospitality

4,0 sur octobre 14, 2011

For the value-conscious traveler in search of New Orleans history, insider tips on the French Quarter, and a fun environment, I highly recommend Banana Courtyard. Mary and Hugh Ramsey still love extending the hospitality of their fabulous city and their historic b&b, and it shows. I'll go back again.


Staying with Family

4,0 sur octobre 01, 2011

Right from my arrival,I felt as if I was back with my family. This was extraordinary as I am 70 yrs. old and something of a globe-trotter.That feeling stayed with me till I left New Orleans.


Great stay

3,4 sur septembre 28, 2011

I had a great couple of nights here. The hosts were friendly and full of good advice. I would stay again and recommend it to my freinds.


ABSOLUTELY CHARMING!

5 sur septembre 23, 2011

This was my first time in NOLA and staying at the Banana Courtyard was the best decision we could've ever made! Quaint, unique, clean, and so close to Bourbon St. This place has it all! The staff is friendly and courteous. The rooms are completely amazing. The rates are soooooo reasonable and the service is first class! My husband & I are hooked on Banana Courtyard and WE WILL BE BACK!


Two nights in the Big Easy

4,6 sur septembre 11, 2011

We stayed at the Garden Cottage for two nights. The room was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and just warm and inviting. It is in the quieter Garden District of the city, close to St Charles ave and the streetcar; so after a long day walking around the Quarter, we could escape from all the hustle and bustle in the peaceful environment of the cottage. All in all it was a great experience!


A Lovely Time

3,2 sur août 31, 2011

A great way to experience NOLA. Cannonball room was perfect, Mary/Hugh/Stan were a pleasure! Not a far walk from the French Quarter.


Review of 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter

4,6 sur août 22, 2011

We stayed for a weekend to go see the French Quarter. Mary and Hugh were very accomodating and helped us out with GREAT suggestions. The location was close enough to enjoy not only the French Quarter but also Frenchman Street which is where the locals hang out. I will definately be back several more times in the future. I ABSOLUTELY recommend this place and APPRECIATED having Stanley (Cab service) already at the airport waiting for us and set up to take us back without worry... Thanks for the wonderful time!!! ~Kevin O'Brien


Great Place to Stay!

4,0 sur août 22, 2011

Banana Courtyard was absolutely the right choice for us. Mary and her small staff were friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable. Our driver from the airport, Stanley, had great recommendations and a live personality. We stayed in the Pirate's Attic, which was quaint, great value for sure, but some of the other rooms we saw were gorgeous. We were walking distance from everywhere in the Quarter we wanted to go, and felt completely at home at Banana Courtyard. The only thing is, we didn't have an opportunity to try the breakfast treats provided (because we stayed up late most nights and slept in) but the complimentary beverages were a huge convenience! Would definitely recommend, and would definitely stay again! Full of character and perfect for those who wish to experience New Orleans the way the locals do!


Banana Courtyard Visit

5 sur août 18, 2011

We booked a room last minute as our trip was impromptu. The staff was extremely inviting and kind. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will definitely be back.


Great location, helpful hosts

3,0 sur août 16, 2011

There is a lot of good to say about staying here -- the hosts are helpful and provide good information about tourist and local events. There is a lot of freedom and privacy without feeling like you are being monitored. The main drawback is the noisy air conditioners but if you are not a light sleeper you should be OK. The breakfast conversation was sometimes overbearing but usually not. Finally, the "local" pastries advertised from breakfast are from Walmart leaving the breakfast less satisfactory than other B&Bs.


Banana excellence

4,4 sur août 13, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and loved the place. The staff were helpful and provided everythibng we needed. Answered questions and had suggestions about getting around and where to go. Would stay again and recommend it to anyone.


Hope to Visit Again!

5 sur août 03, 2011

Though the owners were out of town, their manager took very good care of us. Rooms comfortable, company pleasant. Looking forward to visiting again.


Nice place

3,2 sur juillet 28, 2011

It was charming and a little quirky. Service was good and staff was very helpful. Close walk to everything in the French Quarter.


The Cottage at Audubon

4,8 sur juillet 25, 2011

I booked the wrong date and made a hasty change to the "cottage". The best mistake I've made in years. Wonderful hosts, wonderful accomodations, and a true delight to stay uptown. We will return and have already recommended this location to others.


Great Stay, great value.

4,0 sur juillet 18, 2011

Enjoyed our stay; the B&B is well positioned to take advantage of the French Quarter and its many attractions. The B&B is well patronised (never heard a complaint) with the breakfast table affording a great meeting place to share travels with other guests. Hosts and support staff are extremely friendly and only too willing to assist with anything to ensure you get the most from your stay.


We couldn't have been more satisfied!

5 sur juillet 17, 2011

The proximity to the Quarter with all it has to offer, the chance to rest in a charming camelback townhouse after a whirlwind week during Mardi Gras, and a charming host (thanks, Russ! We will take your up on that glass of wine next time). We WILL be staying at the Little Yellow House again.


You Have to See for Yourself

4,0 sur juin 30, 2011

If you're looking for a very unique place to stay--this is a must. I was so taken by the website that I said I had to stay here. This was my first time to New Orleans and was perfectly located. My GPS took me to within 2 blocks; but because I didn't have a good map--had to call and Mary walked me through getting there and someone was waiting for us when we pulled up. We stayed 2 nights here in the Hexagon Room and I was very comfortable. Mary walked down to Bourbon St to acquaint us with the area as we wanted to see Bourbon St for ourselves. It is a must and we did enjoy seeing the "interesting people" and listening to music as we walked. After a pretty long day we did take a taxi back though. We had great breakfasts and good advice on what to see and do in our next day. We especially liked the restaurant that the locals go to. We felt so welcomed and met the nicest couple from England. Thanks for everything--I certainly would like to go back. There's so much to see that I'm sure I'd find something new.


Nice Place, Would Stay Again

3,0 sur juin 27, 2011

The setting is excellent. The home is in a good location with off street parking.... not something you find in New Orleans very often.


Wonderful!

4,6 sur juin 14, 2011

Hugh & Mary at Banana Courtyard do an outstanding job at making you feel welcome and making your stay there feel just like home. It may be an old building, but it's very well kept up and clean. It's filled to the brim with antiques and history of a by-gone era. They have notebooks filled with information on where to eat, hear music, tours, etc. Too much to read? Just ask them for suggestions, and they'll be glad to help you. They give you very personalized service. Breakfast is provided every morning, and you don't go away hungry! Even though all the rooms were rented while we were there, it was so quiet we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. This was our first visit to New Orleans, and Hugh & Mary helped us make the most out of our vacation and gave us some wonderful memories to bring home. Would definitely recommend Banana Courtyard for a wonderful place to stay with in the French Quarter.


My favourite in the French Quarter

4,4 sur juin 05, 2011

The B&B is in walking distance to the French Quarter. A great place to spend a weekend in New Orleans. Ask Mary & Hugh about their favourite restaurants and music clubs! I have already stayed two times at the Banana Courtyard, in different rooms and will definitely return.


Great Stay

4,6 sur juin 02, 2011

Everyone was friendly and the B & B was convenient to the French Quarter, only 1/2 block. I would recommend this location to our friends. This B & B met and exceeded our expectations.


Vacation

3,8 sur mai 25, 2011

We couldn't stay in the main B-n-B but stayed in a home about one mile away. We had a wonderful host that pointed out all the wonderful places to go and see. We did stop by the main B-n-B and it looked great.


Great Place to Stay!

4,0 sur mai 04, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Banana Courtyard. We stayed in the Pirates Attic and it was actually bigger than I thought it would be. The time frame for breakfast didn't really work for us as we had some earlier tours booked but when we did get there the pastries were great. it was a nice walk into the French Quarter. The area was pretty quite so it was a nice walk through the residental area of the Quarter. All-in-all it was a great trip and I would stay here again!


The Gem of the Marigny

4,6 sur mai 03, 2011

The Inn itself is lovely, adorned with an eclectic assortment of local treasures. The room was cozy without being at all uncomfortable or claustrophobic, and was kept well cleaned and stocked for the duration of our stay. The courtyard is also lovely, with several shady porches that offered a welcome relief to the New Orleans heat. What makes the Banana Courtyard a true treasure, however, is the service. Weeks before we even arrived, the Innkeepers were in touch with us, making arrangements for our arrival. In addition to their heartwarming kindness and hospitality, they offered a wealth of information on the area, making several excellent recommendations for places to dine, drink, relax, and play. We were made to feel like not only guests, but family. We will certainly be staying here again when we return to New Orleans, and we would heartily recommend it to anyone planning a trip to the Big Easy.


Romantic

4,2 sur avril 29, 2011

The atmposphere of the neighbourhood as weel as the hole B&B is romantic and cosy,even though a bit populated. The owners, Mary and Hugh, are really living encyclopedias on things to do in New Orleans and helped us make th emost of our 2 day visit!


Cottage get away

4,0 sur avril 28, 2011

Very quaint little cottage. Robert, greeted us warmly, helpfully. We would definitely stay again. Linen sheets on bed were luscious.


the perfect stay for a great New Orleans experience

5 sur avril 22, 2011

One of the most beautiful neighborhoods in New Orleans without sacrificing convenience. The cottage could not be more pristine and the host are unbelievably accomodating!


Outstanding experience!

5 sur avril 17, 2011

What a unique place....full of interesting things everywhere you look! And a good location to access the French Quarter and the music venues of the Frenchman Street. We stayed in the Hexagon Room....very spacious and comfortable! And a spectacular attached bath! Great breakfast each day of fresh French pastries, and super nice owners willing to answer all your questions! Overall a great experience!


A charming place!

3,0 sur avril 14, 2011

A charming place where we felt at home in a perfect location near The French Quarter. Nice, welcoming and helpful owners.


Quiet, Homey Place with Great Atmosphere

4,0 sur avril 05, 2011

Nice homey place, great atmosphere and knowledgable hosts. Close to the French quarter, but far enough away that you don't get any street noise. Wish we could have stayed longer!


We'll be back - no doubt!

4,2 sur mars 27, 2011

Nothing to do with your average B&B - in a category of its own!


The perfect retreat

4,4 sur mars 26, 2011

We stayed at Banna Courtyard this last week for two nights. I admit that the 8 bad reviews I read had me nervous about our stay despite the 140+ positive reviews. However, all fears were quickly laid to rest. We drove thru the night so ended up in NOLA at 5:30 in the morning. After talking with Hugh the day before, we waited until 8:30 and gave them a call. We were in our room, showered and ready to go back out by 11am. Very friendly, lots of good advice and a fun place to stay. We stayed in the Mardi Gras room and yes, we have ghost stories. :) The walk to Bourbon is not long and we enjoyed being in a more residential area. Can't wait to go back!


Wonderful Getaway Place!

4,6 sur mars 19, 2011

Absolutely wonderful place and wonderful proprietors. We enjoyed our stay immensely and feel like the owners went out of their way to make our honeymoon special. We were made to feel welcome, however were given complete privacy!


A great place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversity!

4,6 sur mars 08, 2011

Mary Ramsey (aka the banana lady) was very helpful in accomodating us to visit New Orleans. She helped us find where we wanted to go and gave us a map on how to get there. The dining room and hallways have all kinds of interesting things that will interest you. The staff was always helpful. It is a short walk to teh French Quarter and Bourban Street. There is a corner market close by and a couple of close pubs that many people liked. Mary arranged our taxi at the airport and to the cruise ship terminal when we left. I highly recommend this place for a couples getaway and plan to stay here again when I visit N'Alins.


Great value

3,8 sur mars 06, 2011

Near from French Quarter, a nice BB with very good breakfast and a warm welcome.


"Banana Courtyard"

3,2 sur mars 04, 2011

We stayed in the balcony room at the Banana Courtyard. The room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately the fireplace was not working. The bed was comfortable but needed many more pillows. The shower was both hot and full force! Mary and Hugh are both wonderful, helpful and hospitable people! we enjoyed talking with them. They were so helpful with providing information about Nawlins! We only ate breakfast with hugh one morning in the dining room. Hugh makes a great pot of coffee. Too bad he couldn't have cooked more than toast. The Inn is within walking distance but we would have liked to have been a bit closer. It was very quiet during our stay. Overall we had a wonderful stay and can't wait to come back.


Great Hospitality

3,8 sur février 24, 2011

Convenient Location on edge of French Quarter. Outstanding hospitality.


Banana Courtyard

3,6 sur février 04, 2011

Nice & caring folks. Gave lots of good info. Short walk to the French Quarter. Good Stay.


A gem in New Orleans

3,8 sur janvier 29, 2011

An unusual B&B that lived up to our expectations - the off road parking is a bonus - our car sat there for 4 days as we explored New Orleans on foot. Excellent place to stay with a warm welcome from Mary who suggested how we could get the best of NOLA in our short stay - and even walked with us to Bourbon Street on our introduction to the French Quarter. Unfortunately, it was cold in January, but Mary & Hugh provided extra heaters in the room which quickly solved the problem. We liked the communal breakfast table and got to make new friends. Will stay there again on our next trip.


Wonderful NOLA!!

4,4 sur janvier 17, 2011

The Banana Courtyard is charming and full of New Orleans flavor. Mary and Hugh are a wealth of resources and are so kind. When we had to cut short our visit due to a family emergency, they were kind enough to credit us the last night's room cost. How very kind of them! I know we'll be back!


Great Time

4,6 sur janvier 07, 2011

Stayed here for New Years and it was great. Mary & Hugh are very nice, accommodating, and very interesting people. They definitely made us feel welcome and at home. On New Years Day, they provided all guests with a fantastic meal--the best meal I ate the entire trip. The whole experience was fantastic.


banana

3,8 sur janvier 05, 2011

wonderful time during our stay at the courtyard bandb. mary and hugh were outstanding hosts and we would definitely stay here again


A romantic base camp for the French Quarter

4,2 sur janvier 04, 2011

Banana Courtyard is cozy and homey but also offers privacy if you want it. I enjoyed coming back here after the overwhelming activities, sights and sounds of the French Quarter.


a wonderful place to stay!

4,4 sur décembre 29, 2010

This was a wonderful and incredibly unique B&B. The location was great, right on the edge of the French Quarter, but still quiet, and the rooms were so charming. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for affordable and nice accommodations in New Orleans.


NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED or ever experienced before!

1,0 sur décembre 26, 2010

Room was in an attic, not clean, old towels, very small shower area (30"x30")! no amenities, like shampoo, old soap. You had to unlock doors all the time to get out & relock when exiting. "Fire escape" steps to room.


Great stay for a couple!

4,0 sur décembre 23, 2010

I stayed here with friends (all of us in college) and it was a great location. There was a bit of a walk (8-9 blocks) to Bourbon street but it was refreshing and offered a tour of sorts to the area. We stayed in the Camelback Townhouse and the landlords are next door and are amazing people. They are super nice and offer quite a bit of advice about the neighborhood and history of the area. Not so great for a group due to the size of the home but for a couple it is very quaint and an all around wonderful experience!


For the Price it is fine

2,8 sur décembre 08, 2010

The folks that run the Banana Courtyard are nice, if you are looking for a close B&B to the French Quarter, this isn't as "close" as I would have liked. It is walking distance, but it is in the far North East corner of the Quarter. For the price it is good if you don't mind walking..


WHAT A FAB PLACE

4,8 sur novembre 27, 2010

Not only was the room quite wonderful but both Mary & Hugh were fantastic! We stayed in the Hexagon Room and were treated as Royalty. Nothing was too difficult for them, they not only pamper you but make you feel as though you are a 'family' member. Whenever we had a problem, they sorted it. And, to make matters even better, it was only a hop, skip and jump to the French Quarter. This place MADE MY WEEK! Thank you so very much.


My experience

3,2 sur novembre 24, 2010

I enjoyed my experience overall. The only complaint I had was the construction noise early Sunday morning across the street but I don't think the owner's couldn't control this.


I will stay here again!

4,2 sur novembre 24, 2010

I recently stayed at this B & B for a conference. The owners are wonderful people who have lots of personality! The house is VERY clean. I was impressed. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was yummy. They had Nuttella. :) I would stay here again if I come down to New Orleans again.


Lots of character!

4,0 sur octobre 07, 2010

The owners were very helpful when we arrived--they gave us lots of good tips and information and even walked us to Bourbon St.! The house itself has lots of unique decorations and we enjoyed the theme in our room. A great place to stay if you are looking for an authentic N'awlins experience!


Most lovely place to stay

4,0 sur septembre 29, 2010

The 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter is a really lovely family-run B&B right on the northern corner of the French Quarter, so everything is within easy walking distance. The innkeepers Mary and Hugh are very friendly folks who make you feel welcome right from the first email response and are very helpful with tips on ongoing events, restaurants, what not to miss while you're there, what to give a miss if you're aiming for a more local (instead of tourist) experience - and even glue your ruined flipflop back together for you, if need be :o). If you're not into generic hotel chains, but prefer one-of-their-kind locations with lots of atmosphere you'll love this place. The rooms and the rest of the house are equipped with lovely antique furniture and decorated with lots of attention to detail. You could probably spend a month there and still discover something you hadn't spotted before. Cleanliness is a given, absolutely top notch. The Continental Breakfast is plenty, varied and yummy and is served at a big dining table in the breakfast room, which makes it easy to break the ice, so chances are you'll get into some interesting conversations with your fellow guests and/or Hugh, who is usually the one who serves breakfast. They really know how to make you feel at home at this place and I hope to repeat the experience next time I'm in town - it's an altogether highly recommendable place to stay.


A wonderful stay with gracious hosts.

5 sur septembre 28, 2010

We stayed at the Banana Courtyard this past Sept. and enjoyed every minute from the time they had to come and get us because we got lost, all the valuable info about sightseeing, the quiet house and last but certainly not least the wonderfull breakfasts. I would recommend this B & B to anyone who wants a unique experience and not just a ordinary hotel room. Thanks for the wonderful stay with you. Debbie Brockville, Ontario Canada


Camelback Townhouse

4,6 sur septembre 07, 2010

We stayed at the Camelback Townhouse. The value and location were outstanding. We could walk to the French Quarter in 2 minutes, and we were just off of Bourbon Street. The townhouse was comfortable and more space than we needed, which is a good thing. The personalized service from Rus was friendly and uninstrusive; and Stanley, their partner taxi driver, was like having a private chauffeur for the weekend. He was hilarious, knowledgeable, outgoing and absolutely reliable. They provided more than a place to stay, we felt comfortable, welcome, and well taken care of the entire stay. We will be back.


return visit

4,0 sur août 28, 2010

This was our second stay and there is such personal service and a warm environment that it felt like coming 'home'.


Banana Courtyard

4,4 sur août 24, 2010

Excellent location, friendly couple, left us alone unless we needed something - then they were extremely kind and helpful. Rooms very clean, private. Breakfast was just OK but New Orleans rules prevent any cooking at a B&B. I'd definately recommend it


Good Location, Good Price, and Lots of Personality

5 sur septembre 26, 2009

I love this B&B! They really go out of the way to create a nice, intimate, comfortable environment, and the rooms are great! Quirky and full of personality! It's just about 5-10 minutes walking from the French Quarter. I definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for something that is more intimate and interesting than your standard hotel.


GREAT ROOM, will definitely return...

4,8 sur juin 08, 2008

We had an unbelieveable stay at the Banana. From the first phone call, Mary and Hugh bent over backwards to help us. They were extremely friendly on the phone, so I knew that was where I wanted to stay. Mary arranged for a shuttle to pick us up at the airport, thanks Stanley (he's the man!) In NOLA, taxi rates from the airport are the same for all companies, but knowing he had a personal relationship with our innkeepers made it feel more special. He gave us an informal tour on the way to the Banana. Our room (the Hexagon) was HUGE and beautiful, the bed was the best I've slept in! The shower was great and the air conditioning was always cold. It was just loud enough to drown out the mild street noise. We came and went as we pleased and never saw another person except at breakfast. We didn't even hear our next room neighbors, ever. It was so quiet, even though many of the rooms were occupied. Refreshments were always available, and Mary is the expert on whatever you need to know about the French Quarter-restaurants, music clubs, streets, etc..She even printed off our boarding passes for our flight back. Breakfast was unique-fresh fruit, local pastries, great coffee and teas. Great location, too. Right on the corner of Esplanade and Rampart. We walked everywhere, and it didn't kill us. Wonderfully close to some true NOLA clubs on Frenchman St. We've stayed at other B&B's, but this was the best! We will definitely recommend them to family and friends.


Nice to Be Here

5 sur mai 15, 2008

People nice, hospitality great. I love you all.


My 2nd Home

5 sur mai 13, 2008

Banana Courtyard has that rare combination of excellent service whist making you feel completely at home. The Ramseys are dear people for whom nothing is too much trouble. I always leave feeling really special and cherished.


Wonderful Experience

4,6 sur mars 11, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our very first venture into New Orleans just last week. The Balcony Room was gorgeous with quaint little details. The entire establishment was overflowing with culture and ambiance. Richard, who works there, was absolutely invaluable. We have already recommended it to our friends and can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to the French Quarter.


It's my "home" when in New Orleans!

5 sur février 29, 2008

I have stayed there so many times since Sept 2003 - it's like coming back to fun family each time! The house is amazing. Mary and Hugh are a treat and go out of their way to make you feel at home. I can't wait for my next visit!


the best place to stay

4,8 sur octobre 08, 2007

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here, we loved every minute. Mary and Hugh were the best of hosts. Mary even walked us down to burbon street and gave up information on what places were good. I loved just lying in the hamock after a day of sightseeing, relaxing and reading a good book. I can't wait to plan my next trip to New Oleans!!!


"Sparked" our interest!

4,8 sur juillet 18, 2007

We found this place on B&B.com, we reerved our rooms for the 3rd,4th, and 5th of July 07, we traveled on motorcycle from Springfield, MO. Our "1st" night there we stayed in Meridian Mississippi due to a huge rain storm. We called and let them know what was going on, they were more concerned about our saftey than anything. When we did get there they were the nicest people! Room was AWESOME, water pressure even BETTER! Quick walk to French Quarter and Bourbon Street. They DO know the great places to eat, the best places to go and what to see. Thanks for the heads up Mary! If you are looking for a great place to visit, check out the Banana Courtyard! There reall is a banana tree!


1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $89 - $185
  • Avis (168) 4,2
  • Chambres 10

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5049474475
  • Fax 1-5049453121
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8008424748

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut