Madewood Plantation House Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas4,5

Notation basée sur
94 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Our Madewood Stay

4,0 sur octobre 16, 2014

Although we got off to a slow start with Angie, things did improve drastically by dinner time. She took a lot of time to answer all of our questions, and she served a superb dinner and breakfast. We loved our first-floor bedroom; it was so comfortable and beautifully decorated.


Great End to Our Vacation

4,0 sur octobre 14, 2014

We spent a week prior in New Orleans, and decided we'd like to wrap up our stay at Madewood Plantation House with a relaxing evening/morning. We enjoyed it! The wine and cheese reception was fun - we got to know the other guests fairly well. Then, the dinner we were served was fantastic! Coffee and/or brandy was served after dinner in the parlor where we continued our conversation(s). Breakfast was served in the morning and did not disappoint. We spent time that morning exploring the grounds and then travelled home. We'd highly recommend staying here!


Special night...

3,8 sur octobre 06, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Madewood last week. What a great time we had. The service and food was fantastic! We actually had the entire plantation home to ourselves because we had went mid week and it was quiet. We will recommend it to our friends. I plan to one day take my kids. Stay and enjoy!


SUPERB!!!

5 sur septembre 05, 2014

If there was a 6th star that would be my rating. If you miss the opportunity to stay and enjoy this Great plantation it will be a great loss for you, The rooms and food are excellent. The staff are professional in every respect. This is what the old South stood for in respect to hospitality. It was my wife's 70th birthday and boy was she happy. We will go back!!!! Jeff & Glenda


Magnificent

5 sur juillet 18, 2014

The first time I came to Madewood was on 26 September 1989. Now I wanted to introduce my son to this Plantation House. Together we appreciated the comfort and hospitality of Madewood and also we both noted that Madewood had very much conserved its character as an original Plantation House.


A True Plantation Feel

4,2 sur mai 09, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the experience of staying at this beautiful house, which gives you a feel for the elegance and grace of Old South living.


What a truly great place!

5 sur mai 01, 2014

Fantastic home and fantastic meals.


Great experience

4,2 sur avril 24, 2014

A great stay, luxury the whole way through. Thank you!


Celebration

4,8 sur avril 08, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Madewood Plantation to celebrate selling our house. I have seen Madewood Plantation on the website for years and always wanted to stay. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was great, polite and attentive, the food was excellent and the room was wonderful. We laughed the next morning about how high the bed was and my husband having to give me a hand to pull me in. We also enjoyed sitting on the balcony that night after dinner. And it was really a nice touch when the staff delivered orange juice to our room before we even got out of bed. I am really glad I got to finally make it to Madewood.


Check this off my bucket list

4,0 sur mars 11, 2014

Felt grateful to Keith, the owner, for sharing his beautiful plantation home with us. A very memorable experience. Loved sitting on the second floor deck and enjoying our morning coffee.


We will be back!!

5 sur mars 05, 2014

The only thing we would want to change about our visit to Madewood was how long we stayed. Our stay was far too short. We drove away making plans to come back some time in the future. The building is magnificent!! However, if you don't want old, don't bother. Everything from the furnishings (with the signs "Fragile" on them) to the moldings in every room spoke of a time long gone. The only thing not old was the mattress that we slept on. It was comfortable and comforting to sleep under the beautiful canopy in the Master Bedroom. We heard no noise from the road, by the way. Drinking coffee Sunday morning on the front gallery was wonderful. We listened to the rain, relaxed, and enjoyed each other. The only thing better than the building and the warm welcome from the owner, Mr. Marshall, and his dog Cleo was Angie and her cooking. Dinner and breakfast were wonderful. Cornbread, pear jam, biscuits, fritata, everything was delicious. Needless to say I cleaned my plate (except for the grits...sorry Angie). And Angie's flexibility was greatly appreciated as well. If you want the opportunity for a step into the past, but maintain the comforts of home and be well feed, you need look no further than Madewood Plantation. Thank you, Angie for a wonderful stay!! KOK, Salt Lake City, UT

Réponse du propriétaire
We are delighted these guests enjoyed their stay at Madewood. I would only add that guests are encouraged to use all furniture, with the exception of one rare and fragile parlor set in the Music Room and two children's chairs. We want our guests to feel completely at home at Madewood.


Madewood Plantation was amazing!

5 sur février 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Madewood in early Feb 2014 and were absolutely delighted. I was a little concerned driving there and then as we proceeded (quite a ways past where our GPS said it was!) we saw this gorgeous home and could not believe our eyes. We had booked the king bed at the end of the hall. The room was large and beautifully furnished with windows that opened up onto the front balcony - you just pulled them up and walked right through them. We spent a little time getting settled, walked around the grounds and did the very informative self-guided tour. The home was furnished beautifully and we were impressed with the art work. "Happy hour" was wine and cheese in the library where the owner joined us. We had a stimulating conversation with Keith and his cute dog, Miss Cleo. Angie, who seems to run everything on the service side including doing the cooking, was a delight. Dinner was served in the main dining room. We felt like a king and a queen - and we happened to be the only guests on this off-season night. The table and settings were elegant. I could not believe how good the food was, and the service was beyond belief. After dinner, Angie opened the huge pocket doors behind us and announced that coffee and brandy was served in the parlor. It really could NOT get any better than this! The next morning, Angie knocked on our door with a tray of hot coffee for us, which we took out on the porch overlooking the beautiful grounds and live oak trees that were probably planted in the late 1700's or early 1800's. Breakfast was exceptional and included Angie's homemade jam. Angie and Keith both made us feel so welcome - as did Miss Cleo! We would not hesitate to go back and have already recommended it to a couple of dear friends. Keep in mind that this is an old home so of course there are some things in need of repair as you would expect and will not be disappointed with Madewood.


Worth the trip

4,2 sur février 19, 2014

Madewood Plantation House was a little difficult to find but was well worth the trip. The home is beautiful and has many lovely antiques. We began with wine and cheese at 6:00 pm in the front parlor. We met several other guests and enjoyed getting to know each other. We had dinner in the dining room at 6:45. The meal was excellent! Angie and her staff did a phenomenal job. We then returned to the parlor where we were joined by our host Keith . Coffee and brandy was served and it was a very relaxing atmosphere. We were not able to stay for the plantation breakfast which was served at 8:30. We had made prior arrangements to have a breakfast tray delivered to our room. It never arrived and we had to leave without breakfast. This was a little disappointing. The only other suggestion/complaint we had, Angie had showed us to our room upon arrival, we were staying in the honeymoon suite. There was a lovely fireplace and Angie said she would have some wood delivered to our room and it never was. It was a chilly evening and a nice fire in the fireplace would have been very romantic! All in all, it was a lovely visit even though there were a few hiccups!

Réponse du propriétaire
I recall with great pleasure our visit with these delightful guests, and the stimulating conversation in the parlor after dinner. Everyone at Madewood is delighted that they enjoyed their stay with us. We are completely at fault for not following through on delivering logs to the honeymoon room. They should have been there when the guests arrived; and we were so engaged in conversation after dinner that we inadvertently forgot to provide them. We have a sign in each room listing cell phone numbers for Angie, myself and our groundskeeper, Warren. We are available to meet guests' requests at anytime night or day; and we would have been happy to remedy our oversight and bring logs to their room if they had called us. I sincerely regret that the guests' departure earlier than they had indicated to us prevented their having breakfast with us. It was understood that the guests had to leave by 8 a.m., and that we would provide a continental breakfast for them in their room before that time. Shortly after 7:30 a.m., the writer appeared at the kitchen door and informed us that they wanted to get on the road and that they did not require breakfast. Their orange juice, fresh fruit and tea were ready, and the biscuits were coming out of the oven. We invited them to sit down in the dining room, assuring them that all items would be out in a moment, but they again said they really didn't need the breakfast, that they would prefer get on the road. The conversation was very pleasant, and we wished them a safe and happy journey. We are so sorry that they were disappointed; but I must say that I enjoyed the biscuits myself, as we could put them out for other guests when formal breakfast was served later at 8:30! Respectfully submitted, Keith Marshall, owner


Wonderful stay!

4,6 sur janvier 31, 2014

We just returned home after a one night stay at Madewood. Loved every minute of it, especially the warm welcome from Alice and the amazing dinner and breakfast (we only had the continental due to an early flight but the biscuits left us wishing for more!) prepared by Angie. It was such a treat to wander the house and grounds examining all the antiques and really embracing the experience. The rooms were very comfortable and the shower was one of the best we've had while traveling. Highly recommend.


Great property - needs better management

2,8 sur janvier 08, 2014

The property is interesting and could be a great experience with some tweeks. More professional management, and food needs to be vastly improved. At these prices, one should expect better than dried out chicken and gloppy pasta for a main course. At breakfast grits and potatoes is a little too much starch, since biscuits(very good) were also served.


Beautiful and Unique

4,2 sur décembre 23, 2013

The house is magnificient and you feel completely in the late XIX. I recommend the rooms in the main house better than the cotteage. Enjoy the food, dinner ad breakfast, so good!


A great weekend getaway

3,8 sur novembre 14, 2013

We decided to get away on short notice. My fiancee' found the bed and breakfast online and we were able to book it quickly. Everything exceeded my expectations. If you are expecting to step back in time, this is the place for you. If you want something that has been remodeled and updated you need to look at another place. It did offer cooling and heating so please don't misunderstand, it does have some modern convineces but overall the feel is antebellum. The hostess was great and the food was excellent.


Setting the standard for a great time in Louisiana

5 sur novembre 13, 2013

Our first plantation stop. It was an outstanding experience from the Moment we got there. We were so well taken care of That we wanted to stay longer


Charming B&B

3,2 sur novembre 08, 2013

a wonderful evening with other guests


no

4,4 sur novembre 06, 2013

Madewood is a beautiful, gracious historic home. The owners have done a great job renovating it, without damaging the historic character of the home. The rooms are all remarkably large, with 16' ceilings. The staff is delightful. The food is great. I would definitely return.


Magical

5 sur novembre 04, 2013

Staying at Madewood was exceptional. I really felt at home and relaxed there. The grounds and home are beautiful and you are free to explore at your leisure. It took me back in history and time. The food was delicious. A great experience in a plantation home Angie does a fabulous job. For us it was a great welcome to La.


Two night relaxation stay

5 sur novembre 02, 2013

Absolutely fantastic! One of the best experiences I have ever done. Angie is phenomenal! Thank you for such an excellent time!!!


Another great Madewood Adventure

4,4 sur octobre 21, 2013

An excellent experience of what it is like to actually be able to live and stay in a house like this. You are free to roam the house, except for occupied bedrooms, just as if you lived there. The service is also excellent with a very friendly and accommodating staff. Have stayed there before and will certainly repeat that stay in the future. Have stayed in both the big house and smaller Charlet House. Both are good but if I I do not need two beds, I will certainly book in the big House.


Highlight of our Southern vacation

3,8 sur août 24, 2013

We visited many plantation houses but nothing matched the experience of being able to dine and stay in one. Although Madewood is open to the public it has a private feel and we were made very welcome by the owner. Our rooms were great - large, with period furnishings and the right amount of modern comforts.


Unique and enjoyable stay

3,2 sur août 15, 2013

I reserved a room at Madewood to coincide with our recent family vacation. When I booked the room online I actually received a phone call to confirm my reservation. The call also was to inform me that since we were bringing our kids ages 6 and 9, we might dine separately at supper because many couples enjoyed the plantation as a getaway. When we arrived the day of our stay we were informed that the original room we had booked was experiencing problems with air conditioner. We were offered another room that accommodated the 4 of us well. That evening we met for the wine and cheese tasting and had a chance to learn about the other guests staying with us at the plantation. There was a couple from Italy and a couple from England and two couples from Texas. We all had a nice time talking and then we went to supper. Our family dined separately and the food was very well prepared. Service was excellent. My one suggestion is I would recommend that their website mention that those bringing children might be asked to dine separately. I was also told in advance that there would be a $50 surcharge for the separate dining. However, when I am told I will need to dine separately because of my kids and told I will need to pay extra for it, it just doesn't feel like Southern hospitality. Since I was informed beforehand, it was done in fairness, however I felt a bit......like a heel. Our experience was enjoyable overall and made a unique memory, but our room could have used some cleaning and the grass in the front yard needed mowed.

Réponse du propriétaire
It is impossible to list all options and restrictions on a website. Regarding children, there is no specific age limit.. As this couple writes above, we discussed our policy fully when they booked. When we determined the age of the children, 6 and 9, we decided that, with four other adult couples, it would be better if the family dined separately. We stated the charge, and the parents agreed to the arrangements, as they mention above. Our policy is to the benefit of both young children and couples who seek a quiet or romantic getaway at Madewood. It is a reality of travel that one must pay for added services (providing true 'Southern Hospitality' these days can be expensive), whether it be a charge for pets in the room or the extra staff required to provide a separate dinner for families with young children. Everyone is informed in advance and has the right to decline. We are heartened that this family gave their dining experience at Madewood the highest rating and sincerely believe that dining with the children in private in the beautiful Music Room added to their enjoyment of the evening. We moved this family to a more elegant room in the Main House because there was a problem with temperature control in the accommodation in the Charlet House. We hope they liked that room. At the time of their visit, our groundskeeper, whose family has lived on Madewood for six generations, had been out for ten days with debilitating pain that, in the end, did not require major surgery, which had been considered necessary. That explains why the grass on the front lawn was higher than usual, and we apologize for that. (He has now completely recovered.) We thought we had done everything this couple had expected; and their overall experiences, as they wrote above, was extremely positive. We regret their minor disappointments. Respectfully submitted, Keith Marshall Proprietor


August Madewood Plantation

4,8 sur août 13, 2013

We had such a great time at the Madewood. The house is amazing and the food was wonderful. We highly recommend it


A Trip Back In Time!!

4,6 sur juillet 05, 2013

Helen Delavan As a great great great grand-daughter of Thomas Pugh, it was a uniquely special and humbling experience for me and my two adult children to spend a night at Madewood last week. Words fail me in trying to describe what it was like to walk where my ancestors walked and to reflect on what life must have been like for them. Awe-inspiring at the very least! Kudos to the Marshall's for caring enough about the past to preserve it for people like me and mine. Special kudos to our very gracious hostess, Angie, for making our visit a delightful and memorable one. We will be back, but in the interim, I would love her recipe for green beans. They were DELICIOUS!! Like · · Yesterday at 5:54pm


Perfect Mother/Daughter trip!

4,4 sur juin 27, 2013

I surprised my daughters, ages 19, 15, and 12 with this magnificent stay. It was the first night of a ten day trip, and they decided that nothing could top it, and that if that was the only thing we did on vacation, they would be content! Our meals were delicious and we were all able to stay in the same room (two queens); the home is authentic; and Angie ensured a pleasant stay by providing some period dresses for the girls to try on- she even put their picture on Facebook! If you are looking for a genuine plantation experience, I highly recommend this place. Warning- Louisiana is humid and warm/hot. Rooms have A/C, but not entire house; I personally appreciated it for this genuine charm, as the home's original owners obviously didn't have any luxuries that we take for granted in our times.

Réponse du propriétaire
We recall with great pleasure these guests' visit. I would only add that all public rooms, as well as bedrooms, at Madewood are air conditioned. They arrived the first real day of summer, and we hadn't completed the annual ritual of closing the shutters to keep out the afternoon sun. Several evenings later, I encountered a guest in the library wearing a shawl -- to warm up! We thank them for writing this lovely review of Madewood. It expresses how we hope all guests feel about our hospitality and Angie's love of hosting visitors.


A unique place to stay!!

4,6 sur juin 25, 2013

We loved our stay at Madewood Plantation. The only thing we would have liked was a guided tour of the Plantation. Because we stayed at the Plantation overnight, they stated we could take a self guided tour. We still would come again!!


This place was on my bucket list.

5 sur mai 12, 2013

Excellent food and atmosphere.


Excellent! Beautiful!

5 sur mai 12, 2013

Oh what a treasure! My husband and I stayed two nights at Madewood Plantation and we were simply in heaven! The food was delicious! Our room was beautiful! Coffee served to our room in the morning was a treat! The owner Keith was friendly and made us feel like we were at home! Charming! A perfect plantation experience! I cannot wait to return!


2nd Honeymoon trip

5 sur mai 06, 2013

We ended our New Orleans trip at the Madewood. For another trip I would skip New Orleans and just stay at the Madewood. There is something magical about exploring the whole house. The elegance of dinner, after dinner coffee and brandy and then breakfast the next morning was so delightful. I really wish we had more time there to explore beyond the garden. We will be back. Sandra Miller


Wonderful Experience

4,6 sur mai 05, 2013

We chose Madewood Plantation for a stay because it is one of the few plantation houses that allows guests to stay in the main house. It's a wonderful house full of history and beautiful antiques. On top of that, you are served a delicious dinner and breakfast. The service is top notch -- everything is done to make sure you are comfortable. Mr. Marshall was there the night we stayed and it was great to get a chance to speak to him and look at the photos of the restoration process. I highly recommend staying at Madewood.


Feels like family!

3,6 sur avril 17, 2013

We were so lucky in that we had an extremely compatible group staying at Madewood when we were there. That added immensely to the stay,and we actually felt sad to say goodbye after two nights. It was a personable and fun experience despite the rather "shabby chic" decor.

Réponse du propriétaire
As a lifelong lover of the English language, I believe in using it carefully, and with precision . The phrase "shabby chic" is tossed about with little concern for its origin or meaning. Wikipedia writes: The term was coined by The World of Interiors magazine in the 1980s and became extremely popular in the US in the '90s with a certain eclectic surge of decorating styles with paints and effects, notably in metropolitan cultural centres on the West Coast of America . . . . Shabby chic is also a general term which can be used to refer to a person who is stylish rather than fashionable, where their style reflects quality as opposed to newness. The last sentence, I believe, defines Madewood, a grand dame, perfectly: quality as opposed to newness -- glistening Waterford chandeliers, antique testor beds, museum quality paintings and furnishings, silver service for dinner and coffee. It's a lovely mix, just as you'd expect in a cherished family home. As Miss Manners once replied to a young bride who was worried that her flatware didn't match, You wouldn't want anyone to think you'd gotten all your silver at one time, would you? As the reviewer correctly notes, this environment fosters a warm and congenial interaction among guests, who frequently return for longer visits. Exactly what we want, guests enjoying themselves with others in a welcoming historic home. Respectfully submitted, Keith Marshall


Lovely visit

4,2 sur avril 10, 2013

Wonderful home base to explore the area. This was my second visit and I would like to stay longer if I have a chance to return. Very homey and comfortable and it's nice that Keith, the owner, actively entertains and is quite entertaaining.


Nice place to stay

4,4 sur avril 09, 2013

We enjoyed they stay. We have stayed at many plantations and this one was on par. I did feel it was a little expensive for the room and meal together.


Madewood - Made for us!

5 sur mars 25, 2013

We had a terrific stay at Madewood from beginning to end. For starters, the place is extraordinarily beautiful and atmospheric. High ceilinged rooms, very large, with beautiful furnishings. The common areas downstairs are majestic but warm and inviting. Our bedroom had lovely furnishings, a very comfortable bed, and a large adjoining bathroom/dressing room. We had views from the windows and enjoyed the reading matter in the room as well. Two special highlights of our sojourn were a candlelight dinner, preceded by wine and cheese, and meeting a group of very convivial other guests. The hostess, Angie, who is also the chef, fixed a fabulous dinner and breakfast and was delightful to talk to. We would love to return and spend more time at Madewood and environs. Room Tip: Our room was toward the back on the second floor and we heard no road noise.


Average

2,6 sur mars 25, 2013

Considering the price : - The "wine and cheese" was very poor : for 10 persons : just a little piece of cheese, a few crackers and peanuts and oily spring rolls. The wine was really inferior. - The dining after that was average. Contrary to the notice there was no drinking water in our room. The plantation tour was self guided with a short sheet.

Réponse du propriétaire
In the hospitality industry, one quickly learns it's impossible to please everyone. On the same night we had guests who return each year and love Madewood. We feel our prices -- especially mid-week -- are reasonable. Wine and cheese is not meant to be an appetizer course; it is a chance for guests to meet and mingle. Spring rolls were baked in an oven, and we're sorry these guests found them not to their liking. Wine is free,as much as you can drink during the reception, so it's not a question of being overcharged; and you can take a complimentary glass of our California red or white house wine in to dinner. (Some guests have purchased bottles of this wine to take home.) If you require a higher standard, you can order a vintage wine from our list. Dining at Madewood is the entire experience. We emphasize that our meals are not gourmet/pricey restaurant fare. They are good, home-cooked food that almost universally receives compliments. As I always emphasize, guests should inform innkeepers of problems while they can be corrected. No water? A simple request, and some would have been brought to their room immediately. (We're only human. And water is the simplest thing to provide.)We're sorry they didn't like us; we liked them. Respectfully submitted, Keith Marshall


wonderful time in a beautiful place

5 sur mars 11, 2013

We spent one night in this wonderful plantation. The room, the service and the meals were amazing. The only regret is that is wasn't full with guests so that lively conversations at the table with people around the continent weren't able to occur. Would stay here again if it wasn't so far away.


Outstanding B&B

4,0 sur mars 04, 2013

Set dinner can be a bit limited if you do not live shellfish

Réponse du propriétaire
We are delighted that the reviewer had such a great time at Madewood and called us outstanding! I would simply add that we ask everyone when they book if they have any food allergies or dislikes; if so, we alter menus to accommodate them. On many nights we serve main items other than seafood. All it takes is a request from the guest. We want guests to feel at home and enjoy food that they like at Madewood.


Madewood Planation Stay

5 sur février 27, 2013

Wonderful setting, excellent concept and outstanding staff.


Our stay in Madewood

3,8 sur janvier 14, 2013

In December 2012 we travelled to New Orleans for a one-week stay, during which we also drove out town to visit some plantation houses (Laura's plantation) and stayed the night in Madewood. The room we stayed in (Mrs. Marshall's Room) was a stately place in the house, with a very comfortable bed and a very elegant bathroom. The dinner was somewhat of a disappointment, although no one is to blame really. Because you will dine with all the other guests attending, it all depends a bit on whom you end up with at table. The couple we had diner with was a very nice American family. But the dining was a bit too much for the kids :-) Also I felt a bit uncomfortable with the formal treatment given by the staff. Somehow it was perhaps all part of the experience of staying in such a house, but then again... I like it a bit more un-official. Nevertheless, we had a great time, and would certainly advise the trip to others.


Stepping Back In Time

4,6 sur novembre 25, 2012

Our stay at Madewood was a wonderful experience. I have always dreamed of stepping back in time and experiencing life as it was when the plantations lined the river banks and their southern occupants lived such oppulent lifestyles. We shared out stay with a couple feom Belgium and a couple from Canda and really enjoyed their company.


Return Visit After 5 Years

5 sur novembre 09, 2012

We arrived early after a long trying drive in the rain and Angie graciously allowed us to check in early so we could rest up and change before the wine tasting in the library. Every bit as enjoyable as before. Then the elegant and wonderrful dinner was served. All deliceous. After which we all met in the parlour for coffee & brandy. Then the next morning breakfast was perfect in every way. Loved everything about my stay with my daughter. We stayed in the Lee room downstairs with its wonderfully carved Half Tester Canopy Bed and grand armoire. And it looked out on the front porch. Lovely room.


A wonderful 'Old South Experience" that felt like being home!

5 sur novembre 07, 2012

As a veteran of many B & B stays, I found the food and total experience at Madewood to be exceptional. It was such a pleasure to be able to dine on site and just relax and enjoy the evening from the gourmet meal to coffee and brandy in the parlor afterwards to sitting on the upstairs verandah before bed and while enjoying morning coffee. Breakfast was delightful, also. I have never stayed in a B & B before where I felt so welcome and "at home". This was a "home base" for a girl trip to tour plantation homes on the River Road, but I I absolutley want to go back to Madewood and take my husband.


Everything in One Place

4,0 sur octobre 25, 2012

Since it is situated a distance from convenient dining, Madewood has nicely solved the challenge by providing an all-inclusive package: room, breakfast, wine and cheese social hour and dinner by candlelight. The food and service are outstanding and enjoyment of them doubled by the authentic historic atmosphere. With just five rooms, the atmosphere is intimate. The congenial couples staying when we were there came from Australia, United Kingdom, France, and two locations in the U.S.


Highly Recommended

4,8 sur octobre 24, 2012

We added Madewood to our itinerary after being unable to reserve accommodation in New Orleans on a Saints game weekend. What a fortunate turn of events! We spent two nights at Madewood, which we used as a base to tour other plantations in the area. We particularly appreciated the excellent cuisine and, in particular, the evening meal of regional specialities. The staff were very helpful and provided excellent sight-seeing advice.


Scarlet

3,2 sur octobre 16, 2012

Human size plantation. Family type reception.Feeling to be at home


Madewood Post Isaac

3,6 sur septembre 12, 2012

We were welcomed by Angie as we came in the door. Dinner was good, and the service was perfect. We had the entire home and grounds to ourselves, so we felt very much "at home". The room was spacious and nicely furnished; the bathroom was cramped and a step up from the bedroom. Seldom can one spend the night in the plantation home (usually we are in some outbuilding at other sites), and that made the experience special


A Very Special Best Bed and Breakfast Experience

4,8 sur septembre 06, 2012

My wife and I spend two fabulous nights at Madewood Plantation. We can highly recommend Madewood as the best bed and breakfast experience of our life so far. We felt as if we had been invited to spend a few days in a 19th century mansion with all the ammenities that one would expect. Great service and gourmet meals; breakfast and dinner. Having fresh brewed coffee brought to the room before breakfast, wine and cheese before dinner, and the brandy after dinner were some of the extra special services we received.. Highly recommend Madewood Plantation.


Wedding

5 sur juin 20, 2012

I had to plan a wedding from out of town. From the moment I started working with the staff (Angie) at Madewood I knew everything was going to be okay. Angie kept in touch with me throughout all preparations. She offered great suggestions on vendors within the area and even got in touch with them to do all arrangements needed. Up to the day of the wedding, Angie and all the staff were great to be around. I felt as though they were part of the family. As for the stay at Madewood, I could not believe how beautiful it was. I had to tell Angie how the website does not do justice for the plantation. Everything was amazing and well kept. The rooms were gorgeous as well as the grounds. We had the entire plantation to ourselves which was also truly amazing. We were able to experience so much history while being in such a relaxed environment before the wedding. We met Mr. Marshall who also had a lot to offer. Listening to him gave us more of an insight on the plantation. His family did a great job on restoring the plantation. On the day of the ceremony, the staff at Madewood did an excellent job. The attention the suggestions and attention they provided was outstanding. If I had to do it again, I would call on the staff of Madewood and all the vendors they recommended. I do need to say it was said leaving there. I actually missed the attention of the staff and the peaceful surroundings of the plantation. When I go back to New Orleans, Madewood is the place I will be staying. Who cares if I have to drive to the City, I WANT TO BE AT MADEWOOD. Thanks Angie, Mr. Marshall, and the entire staff.


Made to feel like Family

5 sur juin 19, 2012

From the very beginning of planning a wedding and our stay at Madewood, Angie was the most helpful, delightful person to work with. She went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we had everything we needed, and mde the planning as smooth as possible. When we arrived we were in awe of the majesty and beauty of the plantation and grounds. The rooms were immaculately kept and decorated. Angie, George and the rest of the staff were beyond amazing. They made us feel like family, we laughed and joked and enjoyed them all thoroughly. The homemade breakfast, the attention to detail and service, and southern hospitality reassured us we made the right choice in choosing Madewood as the plantation for the wedding and our stay. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner Mr. Marshall, who was such a delightfully personable man. I cant go on enough on how great it all was. The wedding went off beautifully, the service was amazing, fast, and friendly, the staff were the perfect hosts. I cannot recommend Madewood enough.


Great Expectations Fullfilled!!

5 sur juin 16, 2012

Our stay at Madewood Plantation House was definitely the highlight of our trip to Louisianna. From the moment we arrived to our farewell, we were treated like royalty. The cuisinne was outstanding. The staff very friendly and helpful. Many thanks to Mr. Marshall and his staff for maintaining this beautiful historical sight and allowing us the opportunity to experience Southern Hospitality. I have recommended Madewood to everyone I talk to. Pat Coulter, Canada


Amazing B&B

4,0 sur juin 03, 2012

Arrived and had drinks and cheese followed by a fantastic dinner in the dining room - mushroom soup was so tasty as was the entire meal. Stayed in the Nursery Room that had access to the balcony where we enjoyed our morning coffee before breakfast which was peaceful and provided a lovely view of the grounds.


Madewood

4,6 sur mai 23, 2012

Romantic getaway for mt husband and I.


Worth a visit

4,6 sur mai 22, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was great and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. We had fun conversations with the hosts about the area and the history of the house. It was fun looking at all the art and photos in the house as well. We stayed in the Master bedroom and enjoyed the porch attached to the room. The house and grounds are beautiful and it's a fun treat to stay in a piece of history. Although it's a little pricey, it's worth a visit for sure. We got good suggestions from the staff for things to do in the area as well. In fact, I think the itinerary we followed was just about perfect. We left New Orleans around 10:00am, visited Laura Plantation and Oak Alley, got to Madewood a little after 4:00pm and settled in for a lovely night. Then, after breakfast at Madewood, we stopped at Houmas House to see the amazing gardens and were back in New Orleans by mid afternoon.


Garbage everywhere, beer cups, smell of rotting garbage throughout!

2,2 sur mai 04, 2012

As we were shown to our room, the host said "Please excuse the mess but LSU had a frat party here over the weekend." We toured the grounds on our own and were surprised to see plastic cups, straws, beer cartons, and other trash all over the grounds. The cemetery is within 50 yards of the main house and plastic cups left sitting on the gravestones! There were huge piles of garbage we had to walk past on the way to the cemetery, not to mention two portable toilets. The smell of garbage was overwhelming on our balcony and they were burning trash near the cemetery. The smell of rotting trash and burning trash was so bad we had to cover our noses with our shirts when walking around the grounds. The view from our balcony was of two huge piles of beer cartons. I emailed this review to the innkeeper before posting. I wanted an apology and perhaps an explanation that this was an extraordinary problem that has never happened before and will never happen again. The reply contained no apology but said, We wish you’d brought this to our attention while you were here so we could have fixed it. (Why would I need to bring it to their attention when the innkeeper is the one who said “Please excuse the mess but we had a frat party here over the weekend”?? In addition, piles of garbage taller than my head, portable toilets right off the main walkway, and the smell of rotting garbage throughout the property didn’t really need to be brought to anyone’s attention.) He also thanked me for our “generous tip” and basically asked why we’d leave a tip if we were so unhappy. I explained that the kitchen staff did their job at dinner and breakfast and we did not feel like they should be shorted just because they work for someone who doesn‘t care how the property looks. I asked him a few other questions, still hoping to hear that this was an isolated incident that would never happen again. He never bothered replying.

Réponse du propriétaire
When you receive threatening e-mails from a guest sitting in an airport -- just a few hours after they’ve checked out with no mention of any concerns or problems, you can be sure there’s a rough road ahead. This guest arrived unhappy and stayed unhappy. She wrote: “We started our day at dawn. We did one tour in New Orleans then drove almost an hour to do a swamp tour. After that tour was over we then drove to Madewood, which took 2 1/2 hours because of a wreck on the highway. We never even stopped for lunch . . . . Anyway, thank you for your reply.” The first e-mail had stated the writer’s intent to disgrace Madewood online: “I’m willing to bet the people who attended the frat party over the weekend will not post one positive review online or share one photo that shows your property in a positive light. Yet because of my experience I can guarantee that you will lose potential clients.” (e-mail saved on our computer). The garbage bags that she refers to were neatly tied and stacked at the side of the Carriage House for collection the following morning, and were no higher than a standard residential plastic garbage can. There were, in fact, no huge piles of beer cartons, only a few flattened containers that the wind had apparently blown over. We sincerely regret that the guest found cups in the area of the cemetery. Although she claims that Madewood is a small property, it is actually 18.8 acres in all; and I think our staff did a remarkable job of cleanup. We are, however, just human; and we sometimes make mistakes. If you just relax and enjoy the beauty that surrounds you at Madewood, you will have the positive experience that so many guests have recounted on this website. Respectfully submitted, Keith Marshall, owner


Good and Not so

3,4 sur avril 25, 2012

Room was beautiful, but the add on bathroom was tiny. The staff was a little disorganized and did not do a good job with our orientation when we arrived...for instance it would have been nice to be shown where the thermostat was (in a side hall) so we could have adjusted the A/C which had been set to freezing by mistake (It was a cold night!). The wine and cheese was nice, as was the dinner and breakfast. Really enjoyed sitting on the veranda. Would have liked an informational tour, but wandering around at will was enjoyable.

Réponse du propriétaire
Residents along Bayou Lafourche were thrilled last Thursday night when temperatures dropped from the high seventies to the low sixties overnight. Unfortunately, the cool temperature obviated the need for air conditioning in the Main House, and these guests experienced discomfort during the night because their thermostat had been set to deal with the higher daytime temperature. We sincerely regret this, but would like to mention that the thermostat, while not in the bedroom itself, can be found in the side hallway, which is dimly illuminated during the night for the convenience of our guests. (The guests were able to use the extra blankets that we keep in the armoire in the bedrooms, and this did help.) In addition, cards throughout the house list the cell phone numbers of myself and our groundskeeper -- both resident at Madewood that night. The bathroom in this room -- the Master Suite -- was recently renovated in the Eurostyle fashion. It is small,but is not an add-on. It was built into the interior of an original walk-in closet in order not to disfigure the bedroom itself. It was a lovely evening, and canoers from the annual Paddle Bayou Lafourche event were on the grounds. Perhaps the writer thought that some of these paddlers were part of our staff as they sat on the porch, when he refers to the staff being a little disorganized. We have not given formal tours of the mansion to overnight guests for more than two years. Angie generally answers guests’ questions at breakfast in the morning, as I myself did with these guests the following day. Nothing was mentioned about discomfort until we asked them if staff could get in to their room and just straighten up, as we had allowed them to stay almost two hours beyond checkout time. As is our custom, we issued these guests a partial refund to compensate for their inconvenience.


Great experience and great value

4,6 sur avril 05, 2012

As part of our New Orleans trip, we spent a night at Madewood. The house was beautiful, our fellow guests were interesting and our kids will never forget the experience. Dinner was just a peek into what it must have been like. The table was set with silver, china, and candles. The staff graciously served us course after course. And we got to enjoy a thunder and lightning show from the back balcony before bed.


Perfect ending to a New Orleans visit

4,6 sur avril 02, 2012

An awesome stay. We met three other couples and had a wonderful time bonding over wine and cheese before dinner, and coffee and brandy after. The dinner itself was incredible. Food and service outstanding. We were allowed to freely roam the grounds and tour the house. What a rare treat. We will be back!


Wonderful Historic Mansion

5 sur mars 20, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Madewood. It is truly an incomparable experience. The house is massive and an amazing historic survival. The rooms are furnished with lovely antiques, and having dinner and breakfast in the main dining room is an amazing trip back in time. Having access to the whole house, and the other extras, are so gracious.


Homesick for Madewood

5 sur mars 16, 2012

We have just returned to Dallas after two wonderful relaxing days at Madewood Plantation. The elegance, the service, the food were all above and beyond anything that we expected. While in the area, we toured several beautiful plantation homes, but none of them were as lovely and elegant as Madewood.


Hospitality in an Architectural Treasure

5 sur mars 16, 2012

Madewood epitomizes the gentility and harmony of Southern Hospitality. The host (Keith) and hostesses (Millie and Angie), and even the sweet dog, Mme. Clio, welcome the guest into a home filled wih tradition and personality. The current ownership has been in the same family almost 50 years, longer than any previous owner. While Keith and Millie, both authors, were married on the property and have fascinating stoires to share, they take care to talk with each guest and make them feel a special part of the house dinner party. The main house has five beautiful bedrooms with tester beds. In the warm and friendly library before dinner, you meet other guests over wine and cheese or an honor bar. The two delicious entrees for two nights I stayed were crawfish entouffee and pork loin stuffed with apricots and plums. The red velvet cheesecake and lemon pound cake melted in your mouth. Coffee, brandy and conversation flow in the parlor after dinner. Madewood offers a pleasant social time as well as personal time to explore the house on your own or just read on the veranda. No TV's intrude on the guest's experience. The location is close enough to other Louisiana attractions to visit them during the day and return "home" to Madewood in the evening. I highly recommend this inn as a place to find charm, respite, and inspiration and meet interesting people,. In summary, as a fellow guest commented after the delicious morning breakfast of fluffy biscuits, fruit, sausage quiche and grits, "It is a privilige to be here."


great stay

4,4 sur mars 11, 2012

Loved the setting, food was wonderful. We shared the house with only one other couple and had a lovely time getting to know them.


A Wonderful "Honeymoon" Type Night for Us

4,6 sur mars 06, 2012

Hoping for a get away from the hassles of life we found peaceful serenity and warm hospitality while venturing back in time at Madewood. The only guests this night, we were treated with much warmth and attention by Keith Marshall, himself. He cooked for us, served us, and was overall extremely accommodating. Wine & brie in the library allowed us to visit with Keith and his adorable dog Cleo. Touring the house was so enjoyable and allowed for great photo opps.We were then invited into the beautiful dining room for a delicious dinner. Just the two of us dining in a quiet, magnificent, candlelit setting brought romance into the air. Keith has a great sense of humor and obliged us by taking very special photos that we will treasure always.We danced between courses. After dinner coffee and brandy in the parlor with our host was filled with laughter & shared stories.We learned interesting history about the plantation & some of it's featured art. Keith was fun & kind to take more photos of us. Left to ourselves, the honeymoon suite in the Charlet House was an amazing place to retire with it's fireplace, large whirlpool tub, private veranda & exquisite furnishings. Everything was perfect, and created an enchanting atmosphere. Keith cheerfully greeted us next morning w/breakfast in our room. We were then left to our quiet privacy again, all our needs met. We spent the next few hours roaming the grounds, taking great pictures & revisiting the warmth & beauty inside the house. Super care was taken with us & we regret not being able to personally thank Keith and bid him"farewell" as warmly as he had greeted us & made us feel so at home. He was the best of hosts and we could not have asked for better service, a cleaner, more private place to stay, and wonderful cuisine. Thank you to Angie, for taking the time for photos of us in front of the house. Madewood has a very personable staff, with great southern hospitality. Our first stay is a wonderful memory.


one night at Madewood

3,2 sur février 22, 2012

A beautiful home, a warm welcome, a true experience! We loved it.


A comfortable, elegant home away from home

5 sur décembre 07, 2011

Madewood is perfection. You will be welcomed as an old friend. In the morning about one half hour before breakfast, a pot of coffee and juice will be delivered to your room. Breakfast will be served on china under the crystal chandelier in the family dinning room. Wine and cheese in the library before dinner and dinner, if you want to eat at home, in the dinning room. The owner will be around to visit if you like. The grounds are lovely. You can read on one of the porches or wander the area. There is no TV and if you like it that way, you'll want to stay longer than you planned.


third time to Madewood; still lovely as ever

3,8 sur novembre 23, 2011

we really enjoy the lovely home and setting as well as the graciuos reception.


Madewood for our anniversary

5 sur novembre 23, 2011

Madewood is a lovely plantation home with multiple bedrooms of varying sizes. Our room was clean and comfortable, with access to an upstairs exterior veranda. With just two other couples on the grounds and a minimal staff, the surroundings were quiet, save for the traffic along the bayou roads. The grounds were well-maintained, and have an interesting family cemetery. We did not seek out the purported ghostly gatekeeper. Dinner was preceded by a wine and cheese icebreaker. Dinner was served family style, and included an exquisite pea soup, and pecan-crusted chicken with roasted vegetables. We were delighted that the meal was not over-salted. The table, as well as the dinner was artistically served by Lakisha and David. After dinner and a dessert with pecan pie, coffee and brandy were served in an adjacent room very amenable to conversation. We all then retired for a comfortable evening on our own. There is no television, but audio equipment, no MP3 port however. In the morning David brought us coffee and juice at 8AM, and breakfast, again served family style, was at 8:30. Again, lovely service, and a hearty meal of fresh fruit chunks, biscuits, and a plate of grits, hash browns and quiche awaited us. There was a different breakfast cook, and the meal was a little salty for our taste, because we don't use it at home. Check-out time was 10AM and we had no trouble making that. Gratuities are left in an envelope at check-out, not in the room so that all the staff may share. We had a very pleasant experience, and are pleased to recommend it.


C'est, c'est, c'est formidable at Madewood

5 sur novembre 14, 2011

We celebrated my birthday at Madewood Plantation. The sun was shining mildly on the balcony in the evening, the rooms were open to our inquisitive minds, the table was laid with precious care, but none of the 'keeping up appearances' with our most welcoming host. We told our stories, and enjoyed company and being on our own. Time stood still and yet we shared our concerns and empathies. We enjoyed the authentic art and the authenticity of the hospitality. We were happy we could share in this Southern experience.


Madewoiod novernight

3,2 sur novembre 08, 2011

Glad we were abel to bring our dog . Accomadations that permit animals are hard to find in La.


Antebellum experience

3,2 sur octobre 31, 2011

Original furniture still in use, no TV or telephone takes you back in time, a very relaxing experience.


Plantation emotions

4,0 sur octobre 16, 2011

It was my mom's dream to experiment life at a plantation and we did thanks to this wonderful stay in Madewood. It was more than exceptional. Thank you so much.


Beautiful and out of the way reteat

4,0 sur septembre 05, 2011

The property is beautiful and well maintained. The dinner and breakfast were both fantastic. We did have a few problems however. The rooms have individual AC units and the unit was turned on in the wrong room before our arrival. This meant our room was very warm when we got there and it never really seemed to get cool until late into the night. The other problem was the bed. It seemed to sag in the middle and between that and the fact that the room was so warm we actually took the mattress off of bed and put it on the floor in front of the AC unit and slept there.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are pleased that the reviewer was pleased with Madewood and our food service. We regret the oversight that resulted in the cooling being turned on late, but they agreed that the room had quickly become comfortable after it was turned on. We offered to move them to an upgraded room at no charge,but this was declined. At no point was the temperature mentioned again, and we were not informed about any problem with the bed the next morning. We suggest to everyone staying at a B&B that you inform staff of any problems while you are there so that they can be corrected and your visit enhanced.


Madewood

4,0 sur juin 12, 2011

If you are interested in American History this is a place to stay. Our visit was a visit to the past, a life that is no more. Once you enter the mansion you are back to the antebellum days. The mansion is decorated mostly in the style of the period. Your meals are served in the dining room with china and silver you would save for guest. Again it is a historical mansion reserved for those who appreciate the history of America. The meals were prepared with care and effort.


10 Year Anniversary

5 sur mai 17, 2011

Always beautiful and always a pleasure to stay here! Madewood is a spectacular relaxing getaway. The fresh-cut magnolia blooms throughout were especially appreciated. The other guests were friendly and the hostesses were hospitable, serving delicious southern classics. What a wonderful place! Thanks again!


Finally made it.

4,6 sur mai 17, 2011

We visited Madewood several years ago and always said that someday we'd like to go back and stay there. The home is magnifisant, the staff was friendly and went out of there way to make us feel at home. The first to arrive, we got to walk throughout the home and take in all it's rich history and beautiful funishings. Both meals were wonderful as was the wine & cheese reception. We will go back


First Class Experience

4,6 sur mai 02, 2011

Great value for the money. A beautiful place and a classy B & B operation. Perfect for a special occasion. Terrific food served in an elegant environment. Would recommend this to anyone!


Madewood Plantation House

3,8 sur avril 30, 2011

We were very pleased wtih the service at Madewood, the staff were attentive and pleasant, rooms were clean and tidy. The food was great and they catered for my food allergy extremely well. I do feel however that the mainteneance of the establishment has been neglected, furniture items were wobbly or had bits missing and at one point the door handle to our room scratched me because a screw was loose. On arrival at the back door, the first impression of the house was disapointing to say the least, peeling paint, leaves and a general air of needing some serious TLC. Overall we enjoyed our stay, with the communal dining being the highlight as we met some wonderful and interesting people.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are pleased that the reviewer was happy with the special flour-free menus that Madewood provided. Much of the furniture at Madewood dates to the 1840s, and most guests seem pleased that they can freely use this furniture. It is because we allow guests to sit on antique furniture that some pieces may become compromised, or have a piece of veneer, or an embellishment, missing; but these are repaired as soon as possible. I have personally checked the knobs and locks on all doors to the two rooms that these guests occupied, and can find no loose screws. If they tightened a loose screw, we thank them, and are sorry if they suffered any injury; but it would have been better if they had reported any problems to us directly so that we could have corrected them immediately, rather than waiting and noting such things in an online review when there was nothing we could do about it. It is difficult for me to imagine anyone being disappointed with the back of Madewood. I looked for peeling paint and could find none, except on a corner of the small screen porch where a downpipe had leaked. It is almost impossible to see because of large plants in the surrounding garden. The porch floors were freshly painted in March; the white stone steps unfortunately show shoeprints; perhaps this is what they were referrring to. There may have been leaves at the entrance, as, like so many parts of the country, we have experienced severe wind and rain storms recently. Madewood gets TLC every day from myself, my family, and our staff. We are sorry that we did not live up to this guest's expectations of our National Historic Landmark mansion (which we are required by the National Park Service to maintain to their standards), but we realize that beauty is always in the eye of the beholder. We are delighted that the author of the next review recommends Madewood without hesitation.


Thank you Angie and Lakiesha!

4,2 sur avril 15, 2011

We stayed two nights at Madewood and very much enjoyed our visit. The house is beautiful and filled with antiques. We had taken a red eye from Los Angeles to New Orleans and rented a car for our drive. Our plan was to spend the day until check-in at 3pm exploring the area, but we arrived at noon so tired we just couldn't drive anymore. Lakiesha was so kind letting us into our room early for a much needed nap. We booked the ground floor room, it's huge! I was especially pleased with the jacuzzi tub in our bathroom. The bed was so comfortable and the linens smelled so fresh and clean. We woke just in time for the wine and cheese reception before dinner. At dinner we were treated to a beautifully set table and fun conversation with all the other guests. We had a lovely four course meal, before being invited for coffee and brandy in yet another room of the house. I really liked the wake-up coffee or tea service brought to your room before breakfast, such a nice touch. We had a wonderful time exploring the beautiful grounds and house, and got some great pictures. I would definately recommend Madewood Plantation House!


A wonderful and unique experience

4,6 sur mars 31, 2011

Were warmly greeted on arrival and shown around this magnificent old home with so much history. We were the only guests on the night we stayed so we had the whole home to ourselves. Dinner was great with the best Gumbo I have had as well as some other local specialties. We had a bottle of wine as an extra and this was very nice and reasonably priced. My wife and I finished up with coffee and brandies before stumbling up to bed. The room was very comfortable although the bathrooms are small (can't be helped as they are remodeled closets instead of the more authentic bedpan). Breakfast was served in the morning after coffee was brought to our room. We felt like a King and Queen and had a lot of fun but we also learned a lot about the plantation and the unsavory history of slavery


Madewood stay

3,6 sur mars 21, 2011

Keith the host was outstanding we really felt we wre staying as guests in his home. Only issue we had was that there seemed to be an infestation of lady birds in our bedroom which was a bit off putting.

Réponse du propriétaire
I recall with great pleasure my conversations with these guests, but at no point were ladybugs (not lady birds) mentioned. We welcome these colorful little bugs as harbingers of spring, but always promptly treat any room in which they congregate in a corner of the ceiling! On this particular evening, six other rooms were available at Madewood, and we gladly would have switched these delightful guests to any of those rooms. I encourage all guests at bed-and-breakfast establishments to inform their hosts immediately of any concerns. We always appreciate the opportunity to correct any problems so that guests may have the most enjoyable experience possible. Keith Marshall Proprietor


Our Napleonville stay

4,0 sur janvier 08, 2011

Our stay at Madewood was very enjoyable. We enjoyed the quiet and elegance of Madewood. The dinner and breakfast was really great and especially enjoyed talking with the owner before dinner. Great place to get away and relax. It is great place to use as home base to go see other plantation homes in area.


Great Experience

4,6 sur janvier 03, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Madewood and had a great time -- what a unique experience. We had the run of the house to ourselves after supper, which was pretty special - and the honour bar made it feel like we were at home. We thought it might be a little hokey (to spend a night in a plantation) but it was a really great experience and gave us a glimpse of southern life in the 1800's. Ms. Angie was an especially gracious hostess and made us feel quite welcome. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a unique and memorable experience. Also, Angie signed us up for a swamp tour that was pretty cool (just some guys in hunter jackets boating us around...) I'll save the review for another site. Overall, pretty cool.


Warm reception faded quickly.

2,8 sur janvier 03, 2011

Returned to Madewood 10 years after our first visit, and maybe our expectations were a bit high. We were very warmly received by owner/innekeeper Keith, but we felt invisible for the second day/night of our visit. We hope we did not do or say anything to offend Keith, but simply do not know why the attention faded so quickly.

Réponse du propriétaire
I am deeply saddened by this posting, as the guests seemed to enjoy their visit, as did I, and were most complimentary. We were thrilled to have them return after visiting Madewood and having dinner ten years ago; and, when I greeted them, showed them to their room, and provided refreshments, they remarked how everything was better than they had remembered or anticipated. I made a special effort to make their return visit memorable. I personally prepared dinner for them both nights of their stay, breakfast the first morning, and visited with the guests at breakfast the second morning. On the first night, we had one other guest, and we all visited in the parlor after dinner; on the second night, we had another couple, and we all sat and chatted in the parlor after dinner for almost an hour. I felt that everyone got along very well, and I actively engaged the guests in conversation, as I always do. These guests certainly did nothing to offend me; I enjoyed chatting with them, and we arranged a swamp tour for them before they departed. I can only wonder what I did to offend them. My only comment is that I strive to pay attention equally to all guests and their needs; and perhaps on the second night I was too attentive to the other couple because it was their first night, and I wanted them to feel included. This review concerns me, as I take great pride in Madewood's hospitality (please see next review), and I do not understand why these guests felt neglected when I was present at all times. Respectfully submitted, Keith Marshall Proprietor


A Trip to Another Time

5 sur décembre 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Madewood for 3 days in December. Our visit to this lovely plantation was a total delight. The food was excellent - and Creole. The home was exquisitely decorated with period antiques and art work (The owner has a Ph.D. in art history from Oxford.) From the time coffee was brought to our room in the morning til we finished the day with brandy in the gentleman's parlor, everything about this visit was simply outstanding. We did enjoy full "discovery" privileges; that is; we could wander in all the different rooms and look around, much as if we were masters of the domain. And if we had questions, the house manager, Angie, was available to answer them in knowledgeable detail. For example, she told us that the plasterwork frieze was done by a free man of color, and she even provided us with his name. We had a great time.


Beautiful grounds, great hosts

5 sur novembre 23, 2010

The house is beautiful, the grounds the same. It is quiet and comfortable. Only had one other couple staying there, but dinner was a fantastic experience. I would imagine that if the house was full, dinner would extend into the night.


Wonderful romantic getaway

4,8 sur octobre 18, 2010

Madewood Plantation house has been beautifully restored and you pretty much have the run of the place. The grounds are very nice and it's very peaceful. Dinner and breakfast were quite good and the service was excellent. Such a great value for a quick romantic getaway for us Southeast Louisiana residents. For people outside the state, it would make a great hub for a complete River Road tour.


Enjoyable stay

4,2 sur novembre 14, 2008

Madewood is a very interesting facility and our stay was very enjoyable. The host was great as were our meals and visiting with other guests. Accomodations were nice and interesting. A good place to set outside in during good weather and relax.


Madewood Visit - Master Bedroorm - April 2008

4,6 sur avril 16, 2008

This was our last stop on a trip throughout LA. We were lucky that the first night we staid there we were the only guests - we got to live our own little fantasy of actually owing the house and having it to ourselves! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food ranged from good to outstanding (best biscuits ever!). Tourist infrastructure is a little lacking in the immediate area, but well worth the money to stay here and something that everyone should experience at least once.


Uncomparable Ambiance

5 sur mars 03, 2008

My wife and I spent the weekend at Madewood celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary. We could not have had a better experience. The grounds and house are gorgeous. We were given free reign to explore every nook and cranny at our leisure. Nothing was out of bounds (except the rooms that were occupied with other guests) unlike every other plantation we visited that weekend. The staff is the most professional and gracious I have ever encountered. From Jennifer, who took our reservation and personally greeted us upon arrival, to Ms Alice, our personal, well informed tour guide, to the entire kitchen, housekeeping and maintenance staff. Our host (and Manager) Christine, was delightful. She hosted our dinner party with complete aplomb. If ever there was a lull in the conversation she skillfully nudged us into another lively discussion. Not that there were many lulls in the conversation considering the company. There was an author/photographer who was working on a project about antebellum homes, a real live movie star doing a big budget production in the New Orleans area (and his loveable pooch Gibson), a young stock broker and his young lady who works in a museum and of course our lovely hostess Christine. The dinner, the company, the beautiful Madewood and the entire weekend was unforgettable and my wife and I can't wait to get back there.


A Perfect Getaway

5 sur décembre 03, 2007

I recently had the pleasure of staying for one night at Madewood, and I can honestly say that it exceeded my expectations in every way. The staff were all very friendly, and the house and grounds were positively gorgeous. The food was wonderful as well. I plan to make Madewood a regular stop whenever I am in Louisiana, and I would highly recommend staying there, at least one night, if not more. It was definately the highlight of my vacation this year.


Madewood Plantation

5 sur novembre 01, 2007

This was a wonderful experience and far exceeded my expectations. Looking forward to another visit next year.


True Plantation Heaven

5 sur juillet 30, 2007

This trip made our third time to stay at Madewood. Each time gets better and better. The manager Christine (who is from France) just adds to the mystic with her frech accent. She turns the house over to you at night after the wine and cheese and before the dinner. You truly feel like you have stepped back in time living the plantation life. The home and the grounds are just like they where in the 1800's. The food and service is like no other I cant begin to describe how superb the service at Madewood is. The food is like no other be ready to gain a few pounds you cant keep from it!! We even had the privilage to meet Mrs. Marshall(before her death) along with Keith and Millie Marshall who all makes everyone very welcome by the Southern hospitality. Thank God for people like the Marshalls and Christine for keeping history alive!! Darla Keys...Omaha Texas


Madewood Plantation House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $189 - $329
  • Avis (94) 4,4
  • Chambres 8
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9853697151

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut