Camellia House Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,8
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
62 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Amazing place, cute town, kind hosts!

4,8 sur novembre 01, 2013

This B&B is awesome. The house is beautiful, it's a block down from the main street in town, and the hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. I booked my room last minute (day before), and Linda was very accommodating. I got the small room, because I'm a student and trying to save on money, and it's perfect. The room is very small, but extremely comfortable. There is a twin bed (veryyy comfy), a tv, microwave, fridge (stocked water, food, soda, etc.), a small table and chairs, and the bathroom is stocked with everything you could need. It literally feels like my bedroom back home! She even has movies and books on the shelves above the bed. Each room is secluded, and has it's own entrance off of the porch. There are a couple of rocking chairs and blankets on the porch in front of my door, and the surrounding streets are very cute as well. Linda gave me a marked up map of Covington, with all of her restaurant recommendations, and local activities like live music and the farmer's market. She was very helpful, and showed me plenty of great ways to spend my weekend here. Everything is also in walking distance from the house, which is awesome. The wifi was fast, which I really appreciate being a student and having work to do. This place is AWESOME. I highly recommend it, and already plan on staying here again when I want a little getaway. Absolutely no complaints, no hesitation to return.


Breakfast in bed...

5 sur septembre 24, 2013

My wife and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Camellia House. One the best parts was breakfast in our room (or bed) since our lovely hostess there were already pastries and quiche in the fridge. As for other notes: the bed was comfortable, the decor was refined, and they have a nice pool on property. I can't wait to stay there again.


Anniversary Get Away!

5 sur septembre 17, 2013

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary and couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay, and only an hour's drive from home. Mrs Linda made our stay welcome, in more ways than one, and we couldn't have needed or wanted any better! Lots of things to see in the local historical district, just a few miles drive and you could take a stroll along Lakeshore Dr at Lake Ponchatrain, We love it and Mrs Linda your crabmeat queche is to die for....lol. We'll be back again.


Outstanding B&B!

5 sur septembre 09, 2013

My husband and I biked up from Mandeville on the trace and stayed for the weekend. We had a wonderful time & couldn't be more pleased with our little adventure! The proprietress is an absolutely angel & couldn't be more delightful or accomadating. She's thought of absolutely everything & takes care of your needs while still maintaining your privacy. We're unable to get out of town very often, but this was close by but felt a world away, and allowed us to relax and enjoy our time together. We would certainly echo all of the accolades this lovely B&B so deservedly receives from other reviewers, and will highly recommend it to our family and friends. We were able to enjoy its many amenities like the hot tub and pool right in the middle of beautiful old Covington, and still get out to several of the wonderful nightclubs and fine restaurants that are within walking distance, and also very much enjoyed the sweet little consignment shops all around the area too. Thank you very, very much Lynda and Don! It was so nice to have met you! We'll definitely be back!


Fantastic

5 sur juillet 08, 2013

We thought we were staying at the Shady Rest in Hooterville. Linda and Don were excellent host. The service was beyond our expectations and would recommend this to anyone looking for a quite get a way.


Amazing Place and Friendly Owner

5 sur juin 18, 2013

My mom, daughter and I stayed at Camellia House while we were in town attending a horse show in Folsom. Linda and her husband were so wonderful to us. We loved our room and especially loved the pool after a hot day in the sun. Covington is a beautiful little town. We home to go back soon, and we will definitely stay at the Camellia House.


LOVED it!

5 sur mai 31, 2013

LOVED this place! The owners are so friendly. Great place to unwind for a few days. They have everything you need there in the room with a lot of nice little touches, well stocked little refrigerator with refreshments and snacks-microwave, toiletries of all kinds (even Q-tips, "I forgot to bring them") The house is 1927 heaven! Well decorated. Each room has it's own entrance with outside sitting areas on the porch and very private. Swimming pool and hot tub are a great addition. The town of Covington is charming and very historic with lots of little shops, restaurants and galleries. They have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and memorable. I highly recommend it.


Absolutely Charming

4,2 sur avril 22, 2013

What a lovely experience....so southern ...so charming. Miss Linda the owner,goes out of her way to make your stay memorable. Rooms are clean and charming...town is clean and safe...great restaurants especially Chimes...oysters are great. Their cab driver friend Henry is one not to forget. Loved it...looking forward to going back


Coming home

4,6 sur avril 11, 2013

When you're in need of a cozy little getaway that feels like your Grandma's try the Camalia house. All rooms have their own porch area. Our was the king suite by the pool. We slept with our doors open and listened to the peaceful sound of the crickets and the soothing sound from the fountains splashing into the pool. We were treated to the most awesome chocolate filled croissants and the freshest quiche, straight from the oven. All of which were served in the privacy of our suites. We were centrally located to the quaint historic part of Covington and could walk hand on hand to shops and dinner. It was an amazing stay and we will definitely go back


Warming and Welcoming

5 sur février 05, 2013

Wow! First time I ever stayed at a bed and breakfast and what a delight. First of all the owner Linda was absolutely wonderfull and welcoming. She was attentive to all of our needs and took great care of us during our stay. The room was so relaxing and comforting that you really felt as if you were in you own home. Beautiful landscaping, a wonderful pool, a really cool jaccuzi, area's to sit by the fire and roast marshmallows, and most of all just being able to relax and take a breath. We woke up early to see danish,orange juice,milk, quiche, softdrinks, fresh fruit, and all of the other amenities that go into make someones stay wonderfull. I wish I could give Linda 10 stars on the website. We will definitely make this our number one choice when we come to town. Thanks for a wonderful stay and experience, The Glovers (Tim,Natalie,Jax,and Savanna)


A Beautiful Wedding

5 sur novembre 25, 2012

My husband and I eloped to The Camellia House. What a wonderful experience! The house, our room, and the grounds were beautiful. The hospitality was superb! Linda did everything possible to help make our special day just perfect. We plan to spend our first anniversary there next year. I would definitely recommend this place and experience to anyone. 11/23/12 from Metairie, La.


Just what we needed and MORE!

5 sur août 26, 2012

Initially, I thought the 2.5 hr trip south to Covington from Jackson would not be far enough for my husband and I to get away from all the work and stress we have had lately. Well, I was wrong. It was perfect. From start to finish. As soon as we got into the charming area of historic Covington all the stress melted away. I was literally giddy when Linda showed us to our room over looking the lush beautiful pool area. I personally loved the private touches she added to the room. Our own coffee maker, mini fridge stocked w/ drinks and goodies, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, dvd player, tv. With all the amenities right in our room I was content on just staying in the room all weekend. But, after hearing all Linda's great recommendations for eating out (must try Chimes!) and things to do on Sat. (you gotta walk to the Farmers Market, and also do the brewery tour at Abita!!) we ventured out and fell in love w/ the small southern Louisiana town. We plan on staying at Camilla House again it will always be just what we need a few hours away. :)


HEAVEN!

4,8 sur août 15, 2012

I live in the other piece of Heaven, West Virginia but Linda has done an amazing job of creating an island of tranquility in the middle of a bustling little town. When I was lying in bed (huge room with king size bed!) I could listen to the fountains gurgling in the pool, or I could sit on my own little porch & enjoy the incredibly lush landscape or I could sit in the hot tub beneath its own little gazebo and enjoy my glass of wine. The B&B is so close to town its a lovely two block stroll to the English tea shop, boutique shopping (dont miss the shoe store - Linda will tell you), the waters edge & BY all means go to Chimes and sit on their deck and watch the goats & chickens wandering by the river edge (if someone can take you by boat to the restaurant even better!). Linda's rooms are immaculate & always refreshed magically with an abundance of towels, makeup removal, hair dryer, moisturizer - she thinks of everything!! You will love it & I WILL be visiting again soon!


Awesome B+B

5 sur août 11, 2012

The Camellia House was a great decision!! The owners were very friendly and the building was in excellent condition. It is in the heart of the city, and is in walking distance from some great shops. We will definitely be back in the future.


This is where I always want to stay on the Northshore

5 sur juillet 31, 2012

Linda and Don are exceptional hosts. The room is always clean and the fridge and pantry well stocked when we arrive. We have stayed here several times in a couple different rooms and each and every time it was a fantastic stay. The pool and hot tub are a great touch that most other places in the area do not have. The rooms are comfortable, plenty of towels and nice linens. This is always the first place I call when I know I'm going to the Northshore.


Beautiful Downtown Setting

5 sur juillet 24, 2012

My wife found the Camellia House based on a quick internet search. After talking with the very friendly and welcoming proprietor, Linda, we chose Camellia House and were not disappointed! We enjoyed the lovely porch, the beautiful garden and the decorator touches, as well as the hot tub and pool. The garden in particular is a beautiful place to sit and relax. Like many B&B's, the furnishings are antique, the china real, and there are other guests in close proximity. The Camellia House B&B is within walking distance of a multitude of shops and restaurants, but it’s a quiet place, right in the middle of town, where art, antiques, parks, and good food abound! We enjoyed a great seafood meal at The Chimes restaurant, and a great Italian meal at Bosco’s Italian Cafe, both just a short drive away. Linda, the B&B owner, is very friendly and accommodating. It’s the little things that make this place special: the variety of pastries & quiches, an assortment of movies, wireless internet, and interesting books. Definitely on our list of places to revisit.


The Perfect FAMILY-FRIENDLY Getaway

5 sur juillet 15, 2012

When our family first started our search for the perfect spot for a little weekend get-a-way, we stumbled upon the Camellia House's website. After looking at the pictures of the beautiful grounds and the pool, I thought to myself, "THIS PLACE IS PERFECT, but there's no way this beautiful B&B will rent rooms to a family with 2 toddlers!" Luckily for us, I was wrong!! Upon checking in, we were greeted by the innkeeper, Mrs. Linda, who was SO friendly, offering up suggestions on what to do and where to eat and even bringing out her precious dogs so our little dog-lover could pet them (a highlight of her trip for sure)!! While we were there, we enjoyed every bit of the experience from the lovely pool and grounds, to the comfy bed with super-soft sheets, and of course the delicious breakfast delivered to our rooms the night before (a big plus for us since our little toddler wakes up ready for her first meal). The Camellia House offered all the comforts of home and more! With the stocked mini-fridge and microwave, we had all we needed to keep our little one and ourselves happy. Even with all the beautiful antiques and landscaping, Camellia House was perfectly FAMILY FRIENDLY yet also perfect for a couples' retreat as well! We are already thinking about when we'll be back!


Philip and Ronda's Honeymoon

5 sur juin 01, 2012

We stayed at The Camellia House for our honeymoon. The B & B is really beautiful. The pool and hot tub were wonderful as was the huge front porch. Linda baked the quiche and pastries herself for our breakfast and they were to die for. The overall atmosphere was magical, a wonderful place to unwind and forget about your troubles, a place I will definitely visit again.


Wonderful!

5 sur mai 01, 2012

Our vacation to New Orleans was made purrrfect with our stay at the Camellia House. The southern hospitality was wonderful. Miss Linda was what I always read about in books about southern woman. Her cooking was excellent and her decorating was impeccable down to the very last detail. Her and her husband are awesome people who go above and beyond for their guests. The house is simply spectacular, and the rooms are very cozy. Loved it, can’t wait to comeback.


Rest and Relaxation

4,8 sur janvier 11, 2012

We were traveling form Oklahoma To Florida on a Family Vacation. Camellia House was recommended to us from a friend who lived in Mobile. WE were not disappointed. We were greeted in southern fashion, shown to our room and shown the top notch amenities. We were traveling with children and the accommodation was blissful! Even the children loved it! We were in walking distance of food. The owners were very accommodating. This Bed and Breakfast will be getting our return business. It was a vacation from our vacation! Thank you.


Completely Charming! I would stay here again...

4,6 sur juin 25, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip to St. Tammany Northshore and decided to add an extra night for leisure because I enjoyed it so much. Linda is a wonderful host with recommendations for everything. It feels like your staying at your new friend's home. Great bedding, cute rooms. Nice pool and hot tub. The back yard is like a secret little oasis tucked away. Bicycles to use...great breakfast. And lots of thought to the little extras in the rooms. From the movies to the magazines to the foot scrub! I highly recommend you stay here when exploring greater New Orleans....the safer, quieter side!


Southern Hospitality

5 sur mai 01, 2011

Home away from home. My room was spacious: a bedroom, breakfast nook (microwave, fridge, coffee machine, etc.) and full bath. Each room had a dedicated part of the wrap-around porch which actually served as an outdoor room. The hostess was open and friendly while honoring her guests' privacy. I had a great time and will definitely return.


Camellia House - a destination!

4,0 sur mars 15, 2011

What a perfect B&B! The character and charm of an older cottage with modern amenities like wireless internet, swimming pool, hot tub, and even an air purifier! From the table set with wine glasses and "the good china" in our room upon arrival to the splashes of color in potted plants strategically placed around the property, Linda & Don have nailed the small details. Other extras included bikes for guest use, plenty of movies to watch on a rainy day, a shampoo/conditioner/soap dispenser installed in the shower, and warm throws to wrap yourself in while lounging on the porch. Linda is accommodating but not invasive, offering plenty of information on local fare and festivities. She'll keep your fridge and pastry dish well-stocked, and if that doesn't make you smile her friendly personality sure will. She seemed genuinely pleased to share her home and town with us--"innkeeper" is definitely her calling. If you make Covington your next destination, be sure to take a bike ride down the Tammany Trace to Abita Springs, and bring an ice chest so you can take home some delicious finds from the Farmer's Market held every Saturday morning across from the Covington Police Department. We're hooked on Covington and Camellia House and can't wait to return!


My cup runneth over!

5 sur février 01, 2011

Staying at the Camelia B&B was just what the doctor ordered and many times I felt rejuvinated. My husband and I escaped away to this charming house last minute and were constantly blown away by the southern hospitality of the inn keepers. This B&B instantly charms once arrival with it's cozy hammocks, porch swings and beautiful landscaping. Everywhere we turned, we saw so many special touches that made our stay a true joy. We had fresh fudge in our room along with fresh pastries that were homemamde that day and quite delicious. We felt like we truly escaped to a place of rest and peace. The rooms were elegant and and the soothing fountains by the pool were quite relaxing. Linda the innkeeper went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. She even let us know all the town has to offer. She even called to look into any live music venues for us before arrival as well as showed us a map with recommended some superb dining once we arrived. We also partook of the bikes they lend out and rode down to the farmers market, everything was close by and convenient. Fun shops, events, restaurants all within walking distance, but to be honest...We would have been fine staying there all day! We even had dinner in one night by drinking wine in the hot tub and then ate cheese and other appertizers from our porch balcony. This B&B stole our hearts and Linda and her husband really ministered to our souls that weekend. For all you get, the price is unbelievable! Cannot wait to return!


Great Place

3,6 sur octobre 08, 2010

I'm a ship Captain & when I come ashore its nice to have a place like this todecompress. The Owner could not have been more plesant.


Amazing. Amazing. Amazing.

5 sur octobre 04, 2010

What an extraordinary experience. I needed a vacation, but only had time for a staycation, so I chose Covington, which is very close to my home in New Orleans. The room was fantastic, the pool and gardens were beautiful, and you couldn't ask for a better location (or friendlier innkeeper). I loved all of the little touches - the books in the room, the magazines, fudge, fresh orange juice. Spoil yourself rotten at Camellia. You deserve it.


Camellia House, St. Tammany Parish, Covington, Louisiana

5 sur septembre 16, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed with Miss Linda for 3 nights. It was part of our fauxcation.We were just getting away from New Orleans for a while. Miss Linda was a superb hostess. She upgraded our room for free because she could and was as unintrusive as could be possible. The room itself was lovely as were the pastries and fresh pressed orange juice. The pool and hot tub were perfect and the grounds were extremely well kept. I highly recommend her place for anyone coming to the New Orleans area and the North Shore of Lake Ponchartrain.


Great stay!

4,2 sur août 24, 2010

Linda is a great hostess. The rooms are very comfortable. The pool is welcoming, especially on hot days! I would recommend Camellia House for a romantic getaway.


a wonderful experience

5 sur juillet 28, 2010

A wonderful birthday getaway! Our room was great and best of all was the hospitality we shared with the owners. We loved the grounds as well and the convenience to downtown and all the local amenities. Plan on back real soon.


What can I say?!? Wonderful......

5 sur juillet 26, 2010

A wonderfull weekend with my husband, my sister and her husband and LINDA (the owner)! Linda--a very gracious, sweet, kind, fun--all of those good things you see in a person when you meet them for the very first time! The Camellia House is a very special "home away from home", except Linda did ALL the work! The home is very quaint, beautiful and comfortable--decorated with impecable taste--Southern Comfort! Breakfast pasteries, delicious! Thank you for a great, relaxing get away! We'll be back very soon!


Just what the doctor ordered

3,8 sur juillet 18, 2010

Me and my family just returned from a very relaxing weekend at the Cameillia house. This bed and breakfast was just what the doctor ordered. It was clean and comfortable. Tucked away in a very quiet neighborhood yet in walking distance to many shops and great restaurants. I would have to say though that our favorite part was the pool. It was crystal clear and very relaxing. We will definitely be back. Thanks Mrs. Linda!


Great Experience

4,6 sur juin 28, 2010

The B&B is in an excellent part of town, walking/biking distance from the center of town where great shopping, restaurants and activities await. The B&B also has a beautiful outside space with a covered porch, pool and hot tub area. The innkeepers are friendly and went out of their way to exceed the expectations!


Quiet, Relaxing, Bliss!

4,0 sur juin 22, 2010

We found the Camellia House Bed and Breakfast in an online search and it had what appeared to be all of our criteria for a quiet anniversary celebration. My husband and I wanted a pool, quiet neighborhood, easy walk to a restaurant or two and a beautiful room. We got all that plus. Linda, our host, greeted us as though she had known us her entire life, and her “four legged” family did the same. (FYI-She did ask first if we were “dog people” before she let them out) We felt very much at home from the first moment which was further enhanced by the smell of fresh baked goods wafting through our room. We stayed in the beautiful front master suite which has a décor that reflects a real commitment to ensuring a comfortable stay for guests. It was fun to look for and find all the extra attention to detail. The bed was high and cozy but not TOO soft. The room, even though next to the street, was very quiet. Linda has added a white noise machine to reduce outside sounds, which we rather liked. We truly used and enjoyed the pool and garden area. Not only is the pool refreshing, we also found sunscreen, pool floats, and plastic wine glasses so we could enjoy at poolside the picnic dinner we had packed. We also loved the wonderful floral aroma that surrounded the pool area and garden. For us the breakfast was just right. If you are a big hot breakfast kind of person this may not be for you. We however appreciated that the breakfast is setup in the suite the evening before so we could awaken on our own schedule. We enjoyed FRESH muffins, fruit and yogurt -but cereal, oatmeal and bagels were also available. Coffee, juice, milk, bottled water and soft drinks were available all day in the mini fridge. We walked over to the historic downtown area and found it to be a very easy walk through the quiet neighborhood. For us, our perceived value and the price of the Camellia House make it a very good fit and we will definitely stay here again. Hope it’s soon!


Rave from experienced B&B guests

5 sur juin 17, 2010

My husband and I have chosen B&Bs over hotels for several years and have stayed in all variations. We both agree that Ms. Linda's is the best. And that is coming from people who have stayed in B&Bs all over this country and Europe. Linda has thought of EVERYTHING! We even found an umbrella in the closet when it started raining! She is a gracious Southern lady and it is like visiting a favorite relative or old friend. The room is immaculate and beautifully decorated and appointed. My husband loved the veranda directly outside our room to sit out and read his book. We sat beside the lovely sparkling pool and waited for friends joining us for dinner. The little refrigerator is perpetually stocked and wonderful pastries await for the morning. Wine glasses are provided, both in glass and plastic by the poolside--as I said, everything is thought of. The room has its separate A/C you can adjust as cool as you like. Camellia House is really "staying with Linda", rather than renting a B&B. This is clearly her life's work and she loves it. We live in New Jersey and can't wait for someone up here to visit my native Louisiana and experience it by "staying with Linda". I know it is clearly our "home" the next time we visit the New Orleans area.


We will definitely go back!

5 sur juin 03, 2010

My husband wanted to find a special place to spend a few days for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Camellia House in Covington, LA, exceeded both our expectations. Beautiful pool, comfortable balcony sitting area, home-made candies, home-maid fresh pastries for breakfast every day. It sits right on the edge of their clean, beautiful "downtown" -- we were able to walk to dinner at night easily. Nice shopping and museums. Can't be beat!


Southern Living Magazine Come to Life

5 sur mai 25, 2010

This was just like living in a Southern Living Magazine! It was so beautiful and peaceful. The pictures hardly do any justice because the "feel" of the place is not so easily captured in the them. If you are considering staying here, don't hesitate! You will be happy with your decision. Ms. Linda was certainly a wonderful and friendly hostess. There were so many little extras to this place too like the bedside fudge! And you are in the greatest area next to quaint shops, tea rooms, parks and fabulous restaurants.


Rejuvenation for the Soul

5 sur mai 24, 2010

Honestly, I can't express in words how amazing this wonderful home is. I say home cause that's what it is - HOME!! Mrs. Linda is just the epitamy of southern hospitality. She is such a beautiful woman both inside and out :) (She reminds me of Paula Dean) Her cooking is outstanding...... Prepare ur tastebuds for quite an adventure, very tasty on the pallet. We were in town for Jazz in the Vines, which is a jazz concert held in the evening out at the vineyard about 15 minutes away. Mrs. Linda loaned us a very nice picnic basket with all the silverware, plates, napkins, wine glasses, and even a flashlight and bug spray!! She also made sure she gave us the chairs for us and one to put our feet up on - now i ask how many times has someone that wasn't ur mother made sure you had everything you needed for your special night? We thoroughly enjoyed the magnificent pool area complete with 3 cute fish fountains. On Sunday morning my luv and i took a bike ride to explore all the nearby shops and resturants before jumping back in the pool. Then unfortuanatly the time came to return to the real world..... Part of me wanted to stay there so bad i forgot my bathing suit but Mrs. Linda called me quickly to come back and get it so i got one last loooonnnnngggg look at the place i will return to very often and always look upon with fond memories!! Don't pass this one up.


Wonderful Getaway

3,8 sur mai 22, 2010

We celebrated our wedding anniversary by visiting Covington and staying at the Camellia House. Linda was very nice and helpful showing us the best places to go, things to do, and restaurants. Linda was readily available to give advice on the town of Covington. The Camellia House is in a great location in the heart of historic downtown Covington and we never had to use our car to get anywhere. We were able to walk to all locations. We loved the private entrance into our suite and the pool was fabulous. We would recommend the Camellia House to others and can't wait to go back to stay again.


Beautiful, cozy & friendly B&B in such a quaint town w/ so much to do.

4,6 sur mai 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Camellia House for one night and had such a wonderful time. It really is as cute as the pictures show, maybe even cuter! The Inn owner, Linda, was extremely friendly and made us feel like we were staying w/ family. Our room was just off the front porch and was decorated so nicely. It had everything to make it feel like home, even the little things like books, magazines, lotion, shampoo/conditioner, etc. It had an attached sun room w/ a day bed and breakfast nook. I really could have stayed there all day! We enjoyed the beautiful pool, hot tub and free bike rentals when we took the Tammany Trail to Abita Springs Brew Pub about 4 miles away - which I highly recommend! If we had more time, we would've checked out the shops in Covington and tried a few of the award winning restaurants there. We definitely look forward to our next stay at the beautiful Camellia House.


A business surprise

4,6 sur mai 06, 2010

I was in the Covington area (45 minutes north of New Orleans) to do some consulting for a local business. I must admit I was a little reluctant when I was told I'd be staying at a bed and breakfast. I always thought that was more for couples. I was pleasantly surprised. I got all the trappings of a higher end hotel (pool, hot tub, internet, TV, plenty of space) with the added benefits of a home feeling (a separate breakfast nook with pastries, cereal, sodas, coffee; an outdoor porch; a sitting area). The location is great because I can walk to restaurnants and shops within blocks or can walk/jog in the neighborhood. And it's about the same rate as many of the business hotels I stay in much of the year. The best part of my experience was the spirit of hospitality and warm reception I have received from Linda and Don; they TRULY get the spirit and concept of southern hospitality. There was a true sense of joy and welcome every time I've returned to their bed and breakfast. Don't hesitate; you'll be very pleased. Mike Patin


Six Years & Highly Recommended

5 sur avril 04, 2010

We have stayed at Camellia House many times over the past six years. We love it!!! We live about an hour away and when we need some down time or a special weekend we head to Covington. Linda is a wonderful host and we always feel at home. This is simply a beautiful place. We enjoy the hot tub, pool, and porch. We especially love and enjoy the "treats" left in our room. Heather and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Camellia House.


best night away ever !!!!!!

5 sur mars 01, 2010

this is the best kept secret in covington and maybe the enitre northshore i dont have a ton of experiences with B&B's but i would find it hard to believe hotels could stay in business if all of them were as spectacular as the camellia house from the extremely hospitable hostess to the ameneties YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER VALUE for your dollar nor a more private getaway without actually leaving the city the rooms are tastefully appointed and the hot tub was perfect we forgot bathing suits but no worry they are one step ahead of you to sum it up i liked my stay so much that i reserved my mini honeymoon for later this year here so for an excellent time away from the city but dont have time to get away reserve a weekend here and recharge your batteries


wonderful getaway

5 sur février 06, 2010

Me and My husband just sprnt the night there I would say this place has it all. Our bedroom had a wonderful sleeping porch that over looked the wonderful pool with fish fountains, the hot tub was awesome, the food was stocked and the pastries were delicious. Linda the owner made you feel like it was your home and the dogs were the best. Me and my husband will be doing this bed and breakfast for years to come.


Extremely please with Camellia House!

5 sur janvier 17, 2010

I scheduled for my husband and myself to stay at Camellia House and this was our 1st experience with a B & B and much to my delight, it was Awesome! Linda was so gracious and kind and also helpful about the area. The room was very clean and peaceful. I will recommend Camellia House to any and everyone I come in contact with who could possibly come to covington. I have already told all of our friends how great it was. Eric & Darlena


My dream house

5 sur septembre 30, 2009

I came back to Covington for a two weeks vacation and after a long flight I was welcomed by Linda as I was home. Linda and Don were fantastic hosts and always made time for a friendly conversation on the porch. It is obvious Linda does everything with love from the decoration of the rooms to the delicious pastries she cooks. When coming back from some errands I was always welcomed by the puppies who were so excited to see a guest coming in and they made my stay even more enjoyable. I felt home and could enjoy my privacy thanks to a private entrance to my room. Each room has its own. Thanks to this experience I decided to move back to the South that I love so much and is so friendly. This was a great experience and Camellia House will always hold a special place in my heart.


Even with the rain

5 sur septembre 21, 2009

I was in Covinton on business and I am so thankful Linda and Don were my host. It seems I picked the wettest week of the year for the region to visit but Linda and her kind southern hospitality were my sunshine. From the moment I arrived it was that feeling of being with extended family even from the families puppies who seemed to be just as excited to have new guest to entertain. I was treated to friendly conversations on the porch during the down pours and given great dinner and touring advice via the phone when I was out and unsure exactly where to go. The whole time visited at the Camellia will always hold a special place in my memories, I travel frequently and I will say this by far was a wonderful experience.


Great Birthday Gift!

4,6 sur août 23, 2009

Linda and Don are great. The house and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are decorated with such charm. This was our second stay and we enjoyed the room over the pool/courtyard. The breakfast treats were yummy, even at 2AM! Nice location for bike riders with access to Tammany Trace, pool felt great after 18 miles :) We look forward to our next visit.


A Stay-Cation Far Exceeding Our Expectations

5 sur août 19, 2009

My husband and I were in need of an escape from New Orleans for the weekend, and in light of the economy, thought it best to stay close to home. We love the Tammany Trace (30+ miles of railroad track converted to a fabulous bike trail winding through St. Tammany Parish passing restaurants and outdoor markets), and the downtown Covington area, so Camellia House was a perfect fit for us. I was a little wary of a bed and breakfast from a privacy standpoint. No reason to be concerned at Camellia House. Each room has its own entrance. The house was full, but we never heard other guests. Guests are treated royally - with the best rooms. Ours overlooked the pool - which had three fish fountains that ran continuously -- such a soothing sound. Our porch had a daybed and several chairs, great magazines and a lamp to read by. The room was the best I've stayed in, whether it be 4 star hotel, bed and breakfast or guest house. The linens were plush, the bathroom better stocked than the one in our house, unlimited towels, the finest hairdryer, several different types of soap and bodywash --- even foot soothing lotion. There was a VCR with a selection of movies, books of all kinds and a drawer full of local restaurant menus (go to Del Porto!). No matter what your taste -- Linda has thought of you and left something for you. The breakfast (which is included -just think about what that hotel charges) was spectacular. Fresh juice, milk, excellent coffee (and a large, brand new coffee maker), a variety of teas, indescribable pastries (replenished too often for those, like us, that do not have self control), dry cereal, fresh fruit and English muffins with all the accompaniments (including the toaster). In my life, I've never been anywhere that paid more attention to the tiniest of details. Yes, we would like to go back, but the reality is, we want to live there.


Beautiful place for R&R!

5 sur août 12, 2009

Linda's B&B is conveniently located in historic Covington, a short walk from several great restaurants, art galleries, and stores. The B&B is a charming, beautifully decorated home with a relaxing well-landscaped patio and pool area. Breakfast consists of divine pastries, fruit, cereal, coffee, and juice. We had a great time walking around town and riding our bicycles on the Tammany Trace, which is only a couple of blocks away. We look forward to our next visit! We stayed in the master suite, definitely worth the money.


Great Summer Getaway!

4,6 sur juin 15, 2009

This was our first B&B and let me just say our next one has A LOT to live up to!! The innkeepers were very delightful and easy to converse with when we had dining questions, etc. The room was very clean and thoughtfully decorated. The pastries were made with love. And the pool/hot tub were a great amenity on a hot summer night. The private entrance to our room was a great feature. One can easily tell that Ms. Linda has her heart and soul in this B&B and it is a very welcoming feeling while there. I would reccommend the Camellia House to anyone anytime!!


Blissful Retreat

5 sur mai 11, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Camellia House for Mother's Day weekend. The Innkeeper, Linda, made you feel welcome and instantly at "home". The grounds were absolutely stunning and have that genuine “southern charm”. The pool has these wonderful fountains that provide a calming environment. Covington itself is incredibility family friendly with lots of wonderful restaurants, art and culture. The weekend we were there, the local Firemen had their annual festival at the park. The live music and refreshments were great and my young niece thoroughly enjoyed herself! As for the Camellia House, the bedding was very classy and luxurious and the décor was truly inviting! The breakfast and fruits that Linda provided were exceptionally good and we are already planning out next "Blissful Retreat". Upon departing, our family even felt obligated to give Mrs. Linda a hug because we sincerely feel like we have made a new friend in Covington, LA.


Mother's Day

5 sur mai 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Camellia House on a Saturday night in the front room suite. The room was decorated to perfection. The sunroom off to the side was equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. The whole atmosphere was very welcoming and the owner, Linda, was a doll. She was very knowledgeable and friendly. The area in which the house was located is prime. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. Thanks for the great stay!!!!


Home Away from Home

5 sur mars 14, 2009

The Camellia House Bed and Breakfast is one of the most beautifully decorated inside and out bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at. The beds make you feel like you are sleeping in one of the most expensive hotels anywhere. The inviting front porch makes you want to sit on the swing all day. The backyard is a tastefully done hideaway with hot tub and pool. The hosts Linda and Don make you feel like your family visiting. They always have a minute chat and give you the best advice about where to eat. Stay once and you will return on every trip you make to Covington.


DREAMS DO COME TRUE!

4,0 sur mars 13, 2009

The dream home always pictured in my mind included the fantastic porche and swing I constantly gravitated to while staying at the wonderfull Camellia House B&B with Linda and Don. Camellia House is charming, welcoming, beautifully maintained and I was showered with down home Southern hospitality at it's finest! I would not only recommend it to everyone, I passed on this wonderful find to my travel agent sister so she will send clients looking for paradise in Covington. Thanks Linda and "Donnie", you're the best! Diane Smith


Home away from home

5 sur janvier 11, 2009

We chose the Camellia House as the location for our 1st anniversary trip and we loved it from the minute we arrived. Linda makes you feel right at home with casual chit chat and excellent recommendations of places to get a taste of the local flavor. Along with a fabulous room, you get access to the pool, hot tub, exercise equipment, wireless internet, and bikes for riding around town or down the Tammany Trace. Downtown is full of art galleries, clothing boutiques, pubs with live music, and fine dining restaurants - all within walking distance! Not only does Linda make you feel like family, but Jacques - the resident canine in charge - will nuzzle up to you and have you throwing a toy for him to fetch in no time. The landscaping is beautiful and you feel as if you are in your own secret garden. We will definitely be returning soon! - JJ & Kim Sylvia


Camillia House

3,6 sur octobre 23, 2008

very quaint, very clean, very friendly proprietor, very accommodating and nice stocked refrigerator and great choices for breakfast


Camellia House Bed and Breakfast

5 sur septembre 09, 2008

Outstanding!


Bliss

5 sur août 28, 2008

Me and my husband stayed for two nights in one of Mrs. Linda's suites. Iw was wonderful and we will be returning soon.


1st Rate Southern Cottage "Oasis"

5 sur août 11, 2008

This is a beautiful southern cottage with great charm, appeal and value. We had a very clean and modern room full of old-style charm; a good bed, clean modern bath; pastries and refrigerator full of "goodies" and necessities. Never had to bother our very gracious/friendly host for anything! Enjoyed the clean swimming pool, considered the new hot tub, enjoyed the available bicycles to ride thru the old town and river-front parks; enjoyed a 4-star restaurant within walking distance; made use of the available wireless internet while sitting on our private porch overlooking the pool and lush landscape. Truly "The Place" for our weekend escape. Johnny & Ginger Dunaway


I'm NOT easy to please

4,8 sur juillet 07, 2008

OK, I'm not that bad. But I've stayed in a number of properties and had experienced everything from "this is your room, just let me pick things up a bit" to feeling like you're the only child in a wealthy family who haven't seen you in months! In between are the inns who work hard, things are nice, and they have at least some attention to detail-which is all I really expect. It is a business after all and you're a guest. What sets this inn apart from the good and tips it toward the great? I found first the home feels like they set the best rooms aside for their guests. This is especially true of the master suite! The grounds are lush and tropical-a fantastic pool. If you visit in the summer you will realize how essential this is in any home. Linens were superb, as is the decoration of the room and a thoughtful assortment of books and magazines. I was really pleased by the way breakfast was handled, instead of waiting for things to be brought out each morning, a delicious variety of really good pastries were brought out each afternoon to compliment the complimetry bottled water, juice, yogurt, granola, and sodas in the mini refrigerator tucked away in an amoir in the room. I mean, this is the way I wish I could have my guest rooms in my home. Location: Covington is one of the nicest small towns I know, great resturants a weekend farmers market, a bike trail just a very short walk or bike away. I mean just a few blocks. Keep up the good work. I'll be back for my birthday in October. I'll have a hard time deciding which room to stay in.


Excellent Service and Southern Charm!

5 sur mars 12, 2008

I have stayed in a number of B and Bs and I must say that Linda's Camellia House is the best I have ever stayed in. Her decor coupled with her hospitality make it hard to check out the next day! She greets you with freshly homemade muffins and pastries and stocks your frig with fresh fruit and all the comforts of home. Her rooms are filled with throw blankets, chaise lounges, comfy nooks and provide a cozy, warm atmosphere to get away from it all. She provides a lovely landscaped area with a pool, hot tub and front porch swing. She also lends you bikes to ride the St. Tammany trace and she is right on target with her suggestions for dining and adventure. It is a great getaway from the city and I have now coined it my Bayou Hamptons. Thanks Linda!


A home away from home...only better!

5 sur décembre 06, 2007

We try and get away to Camellia House once a year in the fall to enjoy the beautiful northshore. It is always a treat for us to stay at this lovely B&B. Not only is the house lovely, the attendance to detail is overwhelming. Linda and Don Chambless make their guests feel like family, and from the time we arrived, we knew the stress was draining away. Linda Chambless is the quintessential hostess, and her attention to every little detail is evident. From the first class linens, to the toiletries, to the beautifully stocked refrigerator wherein she leaves a treasure trove of goodies including fresh squeezed orange juice, yogurt, any kind of accompaniment to coffee you can imagine, not to mention a selection of scrumptious fresh baked goods beneath a glass cover inviting you to taste and stay awhile! There is no place I can think of more inviting to spend a week-end, even if just for a night, this charming B&B is head and shoulders above any place we have stayed. Camellia House is on the top of our list for a getaway spot...add the close proximity to several first class restaurants like Dakota and Trey Yen, and you have the makings of a perfect overnighter!


Camellia House Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $185
  • Avis (62) 4,8
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9858932442
  • Téléphone 1-9852644973

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut