Gateway Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
207 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Fantastic B&B

4,6 sur septembre 01, 2014

Our stay at Gateway was very pleasant. The room was very comfortable and we couldn't have asked for a more peaceful location. We really appreciated the delicious breakfast, especially the goetta, a local treat that neither of us had heard of before. Ken and Sandy were excellent hosts and we will definitely stay here again in the future!


relaxing, great breakfast, great people!

5 sur août 27, 2014

Just what we were looking for!


Went for baseball and got a whole lot more.

4,4 sur août 24, 2014

We selected the Gateway because it was short, scenic walk to the Cincinnati Reds' ball park. The house is charming though and the breakfast excellent, it is worth visiting even if you are not going to the game.


Outstanding US B&B

5 sur août 20, 2014

Our weekend getaway celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary is a weekend to remember. We needed a little romance and pampering and found it at the Gateway. And the breakfasts were delicious and not your standard fare We will definitely return to the Gateway. Many thanks for a wonderful weekend.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your business and are looking forward to your next visit.


Bed, Breakfast and Baseball

5 sur août 17, 2014

Best B&B experience ever. Ken is an excellent host. The breakfast was first class. Fantastic location for taking in a ball game in Cincinnati, just a safe and easy walk across the bridge.


Great place to stay in Historic Newport, KY!

4,8 sur août 06, 2014

Beautiful home, really friendly owners and great location! A very short walk to Newport on the Levee and the river. I wish we had more time to spend there! Would definitely recommend!


Loved it! Loved it!

4,4 sur juillet 30, 2014

This was the first time that I stayed at a bed and breakfast and I loved it. It felt like a home away from home. The service was great. The rooms were great. The only thing that could use improvement is how comfortable the bed was in my room. The bed was kind of hard. Other than that it was great. The bathroom was remarkable and up to date while the bedroom held the old time feel of the house. The food was spectacular. If you get a chance to stay here and you are able to make a request, try the strawberry crepes. It was a great experience and I will definitely do this again and probably try more bed and breakfast's in the future. .


Convenient to Cincinnati

4,4 sur juillet 23, 2014

We stayed here while attending a music festival in Cincinnati. It was a short walk over a foot bridge to the venue. The rooms were comfortable and clean, a great value. The neighborhood is really fun too.


Pleasant & Relaxing

4,0 sur juillet 22, 2014

The Gateway B&B is a well-located, well-kept home where visitors will be warmly welcomed. There are two living rooms/sitting areas on the main floor; one has a large-screen TV. We liked the fact that this was the only TV available. Having none in the rooms allowed for more relaxed bedroom space. The bedrooms are inviting--nicely decorated and un-cluttered, with decent storage (dressers and limited space for hanging items). The common rooms were comfortable, quiet spots to sit and read during the early afternoon & morning hours. There's a lovely side garden with seating which we were unable to enjoy because of rain. Our breakfast was tasty and well-balanced: we were offered fruits, protein, and lightly sweet carbs. A Keurig is in the dining room for hot beverages any time. We definitely didn't go hungry! Our hosts offered us directions for antique-shops in the area and told us about a few local eateries. The home is within walking distance of a number of restaurants, bars, shops and local performance spaces in Newport. We hope they are able to take advantage of some of those spots so they can offer even more good tips to their guests! Newport is convenient to Cincinnati--including a walking bridge into downtown Cinci that makes access to downtown Cinci all of a 15-20 minute walk from Gateway. All in all, we had a good stay and hope to stay at Gateway again when we are in the area. The price was comparable to many of the area hotels, and we found it worth the price to have friendly hosts, a warm meal, and experience some of the area's locally-owned businesses.


Excellent B&B

3,6 sur juillet 22, 2014

The location is excellent. The hosts were friendly and very accommodating. The house itself is like a museum with antique organs and photographic equipment. Breakfasts were good.


Relaxing Getaway

5 sur juillet 16, 2014

The innkeepers were very welcoming and easy to talk to. They made us feel at home.


Gateway B & B Review in Newport, Kentucky

5 sur juillet 16, 2014

It is a delight to provide this review. Ken and Sandy went above and beyond their efforts toward making our weekend, first time, stay absolutely fantastic. The accommodations were above our expectations and the inns location was perfect; walking distance to outstanding local restaurants and even the Great American Stadium. Extremely reasonably priced, we give our hosts a well deserving Four Stars! Dr. Tom & Pauline Hisiro Teays Valley, WV


Good folks, and a great place to stay in a fantastic neighborhood

4,6 sur juillet 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night on two separate occasions about a year apart. We liked it so well last year we decided to stay there again this year as coincidence was putting us in the Cincinnati area for our last overnight stop of an 1800 mile motorcycle voyage. The house is charming and filled with interesting, even intriguing things. The room (ours was the Nancy room) was clean and cheerful, although just a tad bit small if you've got a lot of luggage. The bed was very comfortable. Though we did not use the whirlpool, it certainly looked inviting. Ken and Sandy are not only very nice and friendly, but genuinely interesting people to talk to if you're prone to engaging in conversation. Both of our stays have given us very good conversations with not only Ken & Sandy, but the other guests as well, as we gather around the table for a wonderful breakfast. The immediate neighborhood is filled with amazing old houses, and some fantastic restaurants, coffee shops, and bars. But a walk of just a few blocks will take you right down to the (Ohio) river front, which is a very hip place to wander. You can have as much fun as you want to, maybe even book a ride on a river boat. But if you're just looking for some quiet, comfortable R&R, you can just hang out in the back yard without even leaving the B&B.


Cozy and comfortable

5 sur juillet 04, 2014

Lovely rooms full of antiques but modern amenities. Close enough to walk to shopping and downtown Cincinnati. Will definitely go back!


Charming, Comfortable & Convienient

4,6 sur juin 23, 2014

Charming house, comfortable rooms and convenient location, all at an affordable price! A lot of small cafe/restaurants within walking distance of house. The only downside for us was that there was no television in the room, but they did have internet so we could watch stuff on our computer. Breakfast was delicious! You sit at one large dining table with the other guests. It was nice to meet and talk to the other guests, but could be a downside if you wanted privacy.


Gateway B&B 5 Stars

5 sur juin 16, 2014

One of the Best B&B's we've ever stayed at, Ken and Sandy are GREAT People.


Great place in a great part of town

4,8 sur juin 11, 2014

The gateway B&B is a great old house fixed up with lots of charm. The hosts were warm and welcoming without being over bearing. The area of town is very quaint with lots of places within walking distance. Wish we could have stayed longer.


Birthday Weekend

5 sur mai 18, 2014

We visited the weekend of April 25th. Our hosts made us feel exceptionally welcomed, and the other couples we met were as pleased as we were. The Gateway has spoiled us and we can't wait to visit again. The room was perfect for a romantic birthday getaway, the food was great, and we made friends with another couple staying there. Can't say enough great things about our stay!!! (Already plotting our next visit)


heavenly B & B

4,8 sur mai 14, 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Loved the antiques and Cincinnati Reds memorabilia. The garden is lovely. Beautiful neighborhood and an enjoyable walk to everything. Ken and Sandy are so personable and kind. Breakfast was delicious.


Home Away From Home

5 sur avril 19, 2014

It felt like home....very clean and welcoming.


A Happy Customer

4,6 sur avril 10, 2014

Had a great stay at Gateway! We stayed in the Nancy room and it was everything that we needed. The breakfast was unbeatable! We will be coming back.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review of our bed and breakfast. We hope that you will come again when you are going to be in the Newport, Kentucky area.


Wonderful weekend getaway

4,8 sur mars 26, 2014

Had a great time staying at Gateway. Sandy was very helpful and it was nice to have a place to stay that was close to both activities in Newport and to visit with friends in the area. Would definitely stay there again.


Best Anniversary Getaway!

5 sur mars 25, 2014

The ambiance and hospitality were great! The owner was so kind and welcoming and the room was lovely. Breakfast was delicious, and definitely worth getting up at 9 am for! Our time there was wonderful and we'll be going back!


Valentine's Day Weekend

5 sur février 19, 2014

Great hospitality!!! Great room!!! Great breakfast!!! Loved our first stay at a bed and breakfast!!!


Gateway is everything you would want.

5 sur février 03, 2014

This quaint B&B is beautifully furnished with some interesting musical artifacts, very practical, comfortable and user friendly rooms and very courteous and helpful owners. Breakfast was fantastic. It is centrally located in Newport with easy access to restaurants, shops and entertainment. If you are looking for a B&B in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area, you will not beat this one.


Great Location, Historic Home, Welcoming Hosts

4,6 sur janvier 07, 2014

Had a great New Year's Eve stay in Newport. The Gateway was in walking distance to most places you want to go. There was accessible free parking, the house was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The breakfast was delicious. The hosts were excellent and we already booked for next year.


Wonderful experience!

3,0 sur décembre 17, 2013

So much better than "Value" Inn. This place is very welcoming and has a home like quality. The only bad thing was that the walls are paper thin, and everything is heard from one room to the next. Sandy was very friendly and made us feel at home. We will have to make it a two night stay next time we are in the area!


Charming.

5 sur décembre 03, 2013

Our two-night stay over Thanksgiving was nothing short of perfection. From Ken and Sandy's warm welcome to the well-appointed room and delicious breakfasts, it was a total delight. We'll definitely return. ~ Martha and Bob


great time!

5 sur décembre 01, 2013

We were blessed with wonderful facilities and marvelous fellowship. Clean, darling, great food, fun conversations!


Congeniality and comfort

4,2 sur novembre 07, 2013

We felt very welcome and relaxed for our brief stay. Lovely furnishings with very clean and modern bathroom!


Great Experience!

5 sur novembre 03, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at the Gateway Bed and Breakfast! The owners are delightful, the rooms comfy and the food was delicious. Highly recommend it!


awesomely beautiful and relaxing

5 sur octobre 27, 2013

We loved this place! Ken and Sandy are great hosts and provide a great experience. Breakfasts were wonderful and the rooms are nothing short of classy. My favorite? No TV in the rooms! We will be back for another stay.


Gateway Inn

5 sur octobre 18, 2013

Wonderful hosts. Sandy and Ken made us comfortable and felt at home. Beautiful room, great location!


Hidden Gem

5 sur octobre 08, 2013

This was the second time we stayed here. Ken and Sandy are great and run an absolutely beautiful bed & breakfast. It is very convenient to Cincinnati if you are looking for somewhere more comfortable to stay rather than a hotel. It is very reasonably priced and the breakfast is always great! The house is beautifully decorated and has great rooms. We will be back sometime again.


Loocation, Location, Location

5 sur octobre 05, 2013

We were looking for a place that was walking distance from the Cincinnati Oktoberfest.. What we found was a great place that is very close to some of the best entertainment venues in the area. All with- in walking distance. What we found was a beautiful home very well maintained and clean. The host (Ken and Sandy) were friendly and helpful. Making you feel comfortable. There is private parking in the rear of the house allowing you to keep your car off of the street. Once we parked there on Friday night it never moved again till Sunday morning. But we stayed on the go the old week end.


Nice for the price!

4,6 sur septembre 09, 2013

This was a great B and B in the heart of Newport KY.


Service, CHARM, AND Location!!!

4,8 sur septembre 06, 2013

You will be treated like royalty in terms of service and like family in terms of easy-going, friendly ambience. The care the owners have taken to restore this lovely home is stunning! I absolutely loved the decor. It wasn't fru-fru pretty, it was charmingly perfect in so many ways. Finally, Gateway B&B is easy to find and easy to walk to the middle of town (Newport) or across the river to Cincinnati's middle of town! A perfect place to celebrate or getaway for a couple of nights!


Awesome stay

5 sur août 31, 2013

Ken and Sandy were great hosts and our stay was wonderful. Try the goetta! It's a super breakfast treat!


Welcome to Newport

4,4 sur août 29, 2013

This is a peaceful, welcoming environment. Ken and Sandy Clift are gracious and eager to please. One of our favorites!


we go back every year

4,8 sur août 28, 2013

We make an annual birthday/baseball trip, and will continue to come back to Gateway. Great hospitality and ideal location.


1 night stop over to Nashville

4,6 sur août 23, 2013

Very good location! Close to restaurants and shops. Excellent breakfast and conversation. Tub in room awesome! Very relaxing. Would recommend to everyone.


Great place to stay for a Reds game

4,2 sur août 22, 2013

Ken and Sandy are so charming. The house is full of interesting furniture and curiosities. The rooms are beautiful and clean. Within walking distance of tons of things to do. Ken even serenaded us with his player piano!


Great stay

4,2 sur août 22, 2013

Great location, friendly owners, charming house, great breakfast. Bar across the street - Coaches Corner friendly place.


Amazing Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 21, 2013

This was our second time staying at this wonderful place and we were just as pleased as the first time. The room was incredibly clean. It was extremely quiet. The breakfast was fabulous and filling. Ken and Sandy truly treat you as if you were their own family. The price is really good for what you get. You could spend more in downtown Cinci or at some of the big hotels, and still not get the same quality as you do here. It is absolutely fabulous and we plan on returning over and over!


Loved it!

5 sur août 20, 2013

Clean and quaint. I'm a big breakfast guy and I was stuffed each morning! Great owners.


Great B&B

5 sur août 19, 2013

Sandy and Kevin were wonderful. They made us feel right at home. Thank you!


Gateway to relaxation!

4,8 sur août 15, 2013

Ken and Sandy were great hostesses. The Inn was cozy and welcoming.


EXCELLENT

5 sur août 15, 2013

Excellent!


GREAT STAY

4,2 sur août 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! Staff so friendly! Rooms so clean! Inviting! Food very tasty!


Reds Games Stay Over

5 sur août 14, 2013

Walk the riverfront. Easy shuttle to Red's Ball Park. Warm hospitality by Ken and Sandy. Highly recommended. Definite return!


Newport Nugget

5 sur août 10, 2013

We found this B&B by accident several years ago and look forward to returning whenever possible. The hosts are fantastic. The food and amenities also are top notch. Thanks Ken and Sandy


Just like home!

5 sur août 08, 2013

Loved my stay. Awesome room, great sheets. Wonderful owners, felt so at home. Great food too!


Great place!

4,6 sur juillet 25, 2013

Very nice place to stay, close to the levee. The owners and the food were fantastic! Would definitely stay there again.


Great stay at the Gateway

4,6 sur juillet 21, 2013

Felt like home. Ken and Sandy were very friendly and accommodating. Food was great and room was exceptionally clean. Will stay again when in area.


Beautiful house, tasty breakfast, and welcoming service

4,8 sur juillet 12, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B and it has set the bar high. The house was absolutely beautiful and very cozy with excellent decorations, such as beautiful art and numerous old organs - the owners were rightfully proud of their property and more than happy to engage in conversation about their home and its history, as well as give some out-of-towners advice about places to see in the nearby cities. There was ample space in our room, which was the smallest and most affordable with a beautiful bathroom and amazing jacuzzi attached! Every little detail was perfect - the soaps and lotions, the terry cloth (I think) robes, and the quiet atmosphere in the TV-free room (which is a plus for us!). Downstairs in the common areas, there was a nice TV room with lots of movies, and guests also had free roam of the common areas at any time of the day if I remember correctly, so we could help ourselves to the kitchen and beverages, etc (there was also a small refrigerator upstairs for guests' take-out and groceries). Breakfast was very nice and we had the opportunity to chat with a nice couple whom were also staying. The food was great - orange French toast, German sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, tasty syrups, coffee and juice. Incredibly delicious and a great way to start the day in the nice little town of Newport across the river from Cincinnati. The location is also beautiful in a well-developed and historic neighborhood with neat shops and restaurants within walking distance (5-20 minute walk to numerous places). We also were able to jog and/or take a longer walk across one of the bridges to get to Cincinnati. If we visit Cincinnati again, we'll definitely spend at least one night at Gateway. I highly recommend checking it out and spending a nice visit with these very friendly innkeepers at their lovely B&B.


GREAT Celebration!

5 sur juillet 11, 2013

We visited as part of the celebration of our 50th Anniversary! I had grown up in the area and it was good to be so close to some of our favorite restaurants, Pompilios and Dixie Chili !!!..Ken and Sandy are friendly and gracious hosts.


Really Nice Place to Stay

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was very good. Gateway is only a couple of blocks from the riverfront and Newport Aquarium.


Excellent stay at Gateway

5 sur juin 28, 2013

We had a very lovely evening here, dinner at York Street Cafe and then back to Gateway for wine in their charming Newport Secret Garden. Very filling breakfast and lots of coffee. We probably used up half their supply of K-cups. Big mugs and each cup was hot and fresh. Hosts were very gracious.Room was exceptionally clean and A/C worked great. We were very comfortable.


Pleasant

4,4 sur juin 13, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Gateway. Our room was beautiful and clean and the bed was comfortable with nice linens and pillows. We loved all of the antiques around the home, and especially got a kick out of an old magazine provided in our room. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was nice with beautiful place settings, fresh fruit, yogurt, a casserole, and goetta.


Fabulous Inn

5 sur juin 10, 2013

Terrific innkeeper! Delicious breakfast!


Best B&B in Newport, KY

4,0 sur juin 05, 2013

The Gateway is a great place to stay when visiting the Cincinnati area. It is a short walk to Newport on the Levee which has many shops and restaurants, as well as an aquarium and a movie theater. The innkeepers are great, and the breakfasts were fabulous!


Best kept secret!

5 sur juin 02, 2013

After serving in the Air Force in Europe, we developed a love of staying in B&Bs when we travel. So, while planning a trip to attend a Cincinnati Reds Baseball game, we wanted to stay close to the ball park & the Hofbrau House. After searching your site, the description of Gateway seemed to match our needs. Let me just say, it far surpassed the description we read. Sandy & Ken were gracious hosts who answered all our questions, gave great recommendations, served a delicious breakfast (and pound cake as we arrived) and made you feel completely at home. The rooms were filled with antiques with great stories, the bath tub was no ordinary jacuzzie, I did not want to get out! Then, after breakfast Ken had a surprise for us (I won't spoil the treat, so just ask him to help you work off the calories from breakfast). We will tell all our friends about our great find & we will return! Ken & Kay


Great Getaway!

3,8 sur mai 30, 2013

Friendly host and hostess, beautiful room, wonderful breakfast, all within walking distance of good restaurants and a great view - perfect weekend getaway!


A wonderful getaway in Newport Kentucky

5 sur mai 16, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Ken and Sandy's Inn in Newport. The house is absolutely beautiful, super clean, and such a great value. There is off and on street parking, walking distance to music venues, great restaurants, and Newport on the Levee. The rooms are well furnished and Sandy provides all the necessities – soaps, shampoos, towels, hair dryer, and a great soaking tub. For breakfast - I had a cup of tea and sat out in the beautiful garden and enjoyed the scenery. Ken served up a homemade breakfast - sausage, bacon, toast, eggs, juices, fruit, banana nut bread, and coffee to fuel us for our day! We felt as if we were at home - yet had all the privacy that we needed. I would not hesitate to stay here again on our next trip to Newport.


Charming B&B

5 sur mai 15, 2013

My husband and I came to Newport for a concert that was within walking distance. The house is also within walking distance of Newport on the Levee and the Newport Aqaurium. Sandy gave us a nice tour of the house when we arrived. The house is beautiful and much nicer than a hotel. Breakfast was delicious, Ken and Sandy are wonderful hosts.


Gateway B&B is First-Class all the way!

5 sur mai 13, 2013

Ken & Sandy are excellent hosts and make the stay at their immaculate B&B a real pleasure! The house is an amazingly clean and comfortable museum of sorts, with antiques and interesting historical artifacts throughout. The accommodations are very modern and comfortable without distracting from the feeling that you are staying in a 19th century home. I would not hesitate to make the highest possible recommendation to anyone considering staying at Gateway B&B.


Great little B&B in Newport, KY

4,0 sur mai 07, 2013

Gateway B&B is a little jewel in a jewel of a town on the Kentucky side of the Ohio River. It was a great place to stay, with easy walking and driving access to downtown Cincinnati. Sandy and Ken Clift couldn't be better hosts - warm, friendly and helpful - and the breakfasts were great! If we go back to the area, we would happily stay with them again.


Time away from the hustle

3,4 sur avril 10, 2013

This old house has been turned into a lovely B&B. A few things that we didn't care for: to watch t.v., you had to come downstairs in the common area, there was no access to water or ice without going into the innkeepers kitchen and asking, the breakfast was nothing exceptional. The innkeepers were down-to-earth people and nice.


Always A Pleasure

5 sur avril 08, 2013

Visit friends in Newport, Kentucky. Better alternative to an hotel. Always A Pleasure.


Awesome for Romantic Getaway

4,2 sur avril 04, 2013

Staff was really nice. The room was very clean and the jacuzzi tub was the best. Also it was within walking distance of the Hofbrauhaus!


Excellent anniversary spot!

4,4 sur mars 31, 2013

We loved this beautiful home - wish we could have stayed longer! We received a very warm welcome from the owners, complete with guided tour. Breakfast was hearty, healthy, and so tasty and we enjoyed meeting and chatting with other couples staying there. What a great location, too; so much was within walking distance.


Home Away From Home

5 sur mars 20, 2013

This was my first experience at a B&B , it wont be my last. Upon my arrival Sandy made me feel very welcome and a gave me a very nice tour of the home. I was immediately impressed by the historic and current day mix of the decor. I became very comfortable very quickly, it was as if I were at home. I enjoyed a nice soak in the tub/jacuzzi that evening, followed by a pleasant sleep in the Nancy Room. In the morning I was greeted by Ken and the wonderful aroma of fresh brewed coffee. Ken offered up some coffee and nice conversation, an extermely nice start to the day. Breakfast was promptly served at 9:00 a.m. and was very nice with a home cooking flair. I was spoiled for two nights at Gateway and felt so at home. When Im back in town I wont shop around , this is the place for me. When Im in Newport KY again, I cant wait to go go home again to Gateway Bed and Breakfast!!


Very kind and gracious hospitality.

4,0 sur mars 12, 2013

Wonderful host and hostess!. Pleasant and convenient location..


Two Thumbs Up!

5 sur mars 01, 2013

We were able to spend only one evening at the Gateway, but even our brief stay was very comfortable. The innkeepers, Sandy and Ken are very personable and make you feel welcome and very much at home. They have gone to great lengths to restore this beautiful old Victorian three story house in a lovely historic neighborhood. With attention to detail, you can tell it was a labor of love for them. Ken has some very interesting collections of antique pump organs and baseball memorabelia. The house is impreccably clean, with all the expected ammenities. There were nice terrycloth robes in our room, along with the usual toiletries and a hair dryer. The large whirlpool tub was wonderful! We stayed in the Nancy room, which is the smallest, but very comfortable for two people. We liked the fact that there are no TVs in the rooms. If you must have TV, there is a very nice flat screen in the parlor on the first floor. We were served a delicious breakfast of fruits, breads, bacon and eggs and goetta (a Cincinnati delicacy) cooked to perfection. They also had yogurt and cereals available. I highly recommend this B&B and look forward to staying there again!


Excellent location, delightful hosts, and very pleasant accomodations

4,2 sur février 22, 2013

We were new to visiting the Newport/Cincinnati area and couldn't have enjoyed our experience more. So much to do in the area, and Ken and Sandy have made their place a warm, comfortable home away from home for their guests.


Perfect getaway!

5 sur février 13, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a romantic getaway near Cincy. Gateway offered just the perfect place! Gateway's spacious and luxurious rooms are located just a short drive or long walk from downtown Cincy. A refreshing walk from the attractions and dining at Newport on the Levee and only a hop-skip-and-a-jump from Pompillios, an excellent date restaurant. When we wanted to stay in and relax, both our room and the house provided plenty of space to meet our needs. The only downside was that we were often so full from the delicious breakfast, that we didn't get to try more restaurants for lunch! Ken and Sandy are excellent hosts and love what they do - they have the gift of hospitality! -R&M from Geneva, IL


Old Style Bliss

4,6 sur janvier 10, 2013

I have never been to a Bed & Breakfast, but this one was amazing! We were a short walk from the Levee. Great view of the Cincinnati Skyline at night! Very nice bedrooms. I loved all the antiques which are all in working order and our gracious hosts were proud to show them off :) Very classy and cozy! If you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast near Cincinnati, this is just perfect!


Great Place!

4,2 sur septembre 25, 2012

We loved the Gateway B&B! Super clean, super friendly, great location and nicely appointed room. We'll be back for sure!


Great place to stay!

5 sur septembre 18, 2012

We loved our stay at Gateway. Very clean. Friendly hosts. Great breakfast. Walking distance to attractions.


tradition

4,0 sur septembre 17, 2012

Ken&Sandy are wonderful hosts. I feel like we're staying with family there:)


Great experience and location

5 sur septembre 08, 2012

Wonderful ambience and great breakfasts. Walk to Newport on the Levee and shuttle to downtown Cinci. Quiet and restful.


An Oasis of Calm

5 sur août 22, 2012

We were in Newport for our daughter's wedding. While family and friends booked at area hotels, my husband and I wanted to be at a little bit of an arms reach from all the activities. Ken and Sandy's Gateway B&B was the oasis of calm in a very busy weekend and perfect for our needs. Not only were the accomodations wonderful, but we were within walking distance of Hofbrauhaus and the Newport Aquarium when the newlyweds took off since we stayed an extra day. Ken and Sandy are inviting, wonderful people and I would highly recommend staying with them even if it is for only one night.


A Terrific Weekend!

5 sur août 21, 2012

We celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary with a terrific weekend at the Gateway B&B. Ken & Sandy are warm hosts and offer a charming, historic home to enjoy. We loved the "walk-ability" of their location in Newport. And Ken's serenade at the player piano made a very special memory for us. Just a wonderful weekend!


Awesome!

5 sur août 10, 2012

We stayed here our wedding night and it was amazing. The hosts were very down-to-earth, friendly, and warm and our room & amenities were very cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we loved the kitchen as it was decked out with Reds memorabilia.


Convenient to Downtown Cinci, Newport and Riverbend

3,8 sur août 06, 2012

We were attending the Jimmy Buffet concert at Riverbend and our location was a quick 10+ minute drive off of I471 and I275. Couldn't have worked out better. Ken and Sandy are wonderful hosts!


Gateway Review

4,0 sur août 04, 2012

Ken and Sandy were very nice as was the upstairs room and breakfast.


Gateway

5 sur août 04, 2012

Beautiful restoration, perfect hospitality.


A Great Stopping Place

5 sur juillet 28, 2012

5 stars all the way. Friendly and gracious hosts. Neat neighborhood. Wonderful Italian Restaurant just a block away. Stayed two nights while searching for dead relatives and loved the decor, the quiet, the enormous breakfasts. Would go back in a minute.


Charming Get Away

4,2 sur juillet 27, 2012

Lovely home, painstakingly renovated by it's current owners, was centrally located in historic Newport. The owner's, Ken and Sandy, were very helpful from the moment we arrived. Only three guest rooms, so we felt, really, like we were staying with friends! Slept as well on their bed as I do my own at home, and the two person bubble tub in our room was a sweet treat to enjoy before breakfast, having stayed on the Levee, late, the evening before. Room was very spacious, with a huge couch, desk, bed, table, nightstands, bench, and fireplace. Bath had the tub, but also a very large glassed-in shower. Fluffy robes hanging on the door, snacks in the dining room, antique pump organs in the parlor----very inviting bed and breakfast. We hope to visit there again!


Top Notch

5 sur juillet 26, 2012

Lots of beautiful details in this fabulous home. You can certainly tell the owners takes great pride in giving every guest a pleasant experience.


Perfect

4,6 sur juillet 23, 2012

A wonderful & personal experience in a quaint historic setting. Absolutely fantastic hosts.


Wonderful getaway

5 sur juillet 23, 2012

What a wonderful choice! Very relaxing and enjoyable compared to a hotel. I chose a B&B because my husband has been practically living in hotels for work, and this was our vacation. The Gateway was very clean and our room, the Henry Schriver, was spacious with a wonderful bath, and we had great breakfast every day. Ken and Sandy were wonderful hosts that made us feel very welcome. Their home has been beautifully restored, and anyone with an interest in music will particularly enjoy their antique instruments.


21 Anniversary

5 sur juillet 20, 2012

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. Ken and Sandy's hospitality will be hard to compete with. They were excellent host and it felt like home. We will consider going to a bed and breakfast the next time my husband and I or my mother, my sister and myself need a getaway.


12 days at the Gateway

4,6 sur juillet 14, 2012

I have just returned from my stay in the U.S. I stayed at the Gateway Bed and Breakfast in Newport, Northern Kentucky. I loved my time there, met some really nice people at the breakfast table, and was thrilled that I stayed here, as I couldn't have picked a more down-to-earth couple in Ken and Sandy. I was made to feel really welcome and I will never forget their hospitality - or little Sophie, their Daschund/Spaniel cross. If I'm ever able to, I will return to stay at the Gateway, as I am sure I couldn't have chosen a better place to live in the U.S. for the 12 days I was there. Newport on the Levee, which includes Newport Aquarium, is no more than a six or seven minute stroll away, which means you are also down by the mighty Ohio River in the same time. Downtown Cincinnati is a further ten minutes across the river via the Purple People Bridge alongside Newport on the Levee. Alternatively, a shuttle bus runs to Downtown and Covington every 15 minutes. The Gateway is in a nice, safe neighbourhood, and if you need help with local navigation, Ken and Sandy are more than happy to help. All in all, I would go back in a heartbeat.


I picked a winner!

5 sur juillet 08, 2012

I spent about 3 hours online looking for a bed & breakfast in the Covington, Ky area and finally chose Gateway. They have a wonderful website and easy reservation set-up. Ken and Sandy were great hosts. My friend and I loved the decor and the wonderful breakfast the next morning. Quiet and relaxing, too. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when I visit the area.


Great Location

3,8 sur juillet 06, 2012

Nice place in the City. You can walk to quite a few bars and restaraunts. Owners were very pleasant and willing to help you with anything. With there were tv's in the rooms, but I suppose some people like that. There is a large tv in the parlor downstairs. House was beautiful.


Great historic BB

5 sur juin 17, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the beautifully appointed BB and the terrific hosts. We look forward to our next stay.


Great place to stay!

4,4 sur mai 23, 2012

Ken and Sandy were great! Beautiful house, wish we could have stayed longer.


Perfect weekend getaway

5 sur mai 09, 2012

Gorgeous, cozy house. Conveniently located near lots to do. Could not think of a single thing that was not perfect.


Weekend with Friends

4,6 sur mai 07, 2012

Very neat if you like antiques. We were spoiled staying here! The jet tub was very relaxing. The location was excellent!


Lovely

4,6 sur mai 06, 2012

Our first stay at a B&B and our experience could not have been better.


Our recent weekend in Newport, Kentucky

5 sur avril 25, 2012

Ken and Sandy were delightful hosts. They made us feel very at home. Great service and great information regarding local sights and dining.


Gateway B&B

4,4 sur avril 22, 2012

Sandy & Ken were gracious hosts & create a homelike environment.


Great place to stay

3,6 sur avril 09, 2012

Great location, amazing architecture & history, and a fun couple to talk to. If you are interested in seeing Cincinnati, this is the place to stay.


Great location!

3,8 sur avril 02, 2012

We booked this B&B along with another set of friends for a weekend getaway. We felt completely spoiled by our first B&B experience! The location was in a quiet neighborhood, just a few blocks from the entertaining Newport on the Levee area. We stayed in the lowest priced room and it was good. Would recommend the higher priced room for a truly relaxing getaway though with its larger room, couch, and luxurious bathroom! (We snuck a peak since no one was staying in that room!)


Beautiful home in a neat neighborhood

4,8 sur mars 29, 2012

This bed & breakfast was gorgeous & the hosts were very gracious. A few pieces of information to share. The first night the light coming in the openings over the doorways interfered with sleep, but the second night when the light was lowered to only a small lamp we slept great. The openings are somewhat unusual & may be good to point out due to the light & noise which travels in & out of the room. My personal preference would be to have the making of the bed & other tidying of the room mid-stay be optional or discussed ahead of time. Finally the food I ate was delicious, but on one of the days I did augment my breakfast at restaurant due to my vegetarian diet. Over all I was very happy with our stay & thanks.


B&B by the River

4,2 sur mars 25, 2012

Gateway B&B is located in an older neighborhood in Newport 6 blocks from the Ohio River. It is community located near major tourist spots. My room was comfortable as was the house. Decorated with antiques, the house is beautiful inside & out.


great getaway

4,6 sur mars 08, 2012

Ken and Sandy made us feel like family. Our breakfast each morning was fantastic. We were in walking distance to the Leevee and we didn't get in our car until we left for home. The Gateway is in a great location for all types of entertainment. We will definetly stay here again.


great hospitality and location

5 sur mars 06, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice in three months when we saw Broadway shows in Cincinnati. The location is close to many venues and finding the home is very easy. The home is furnished with great antiques! We will definitely return!


Wonderful!

4,6 sur février 12, 2012

Each morning, I enjoyed a cup of coffee and reading quietly in the beautifully decorated parlor of this outstanding 1878 home. The hosts were accommodating to my every need, too. Absolutely A+ in quaint Newport, KY.


Diamond in the rough

4,0 sur janvier 23, 2012

We stayed at the Gateway in Newport just to get away for an anniversary weekend. We needed to stay close to home (Dayton, OH) for the kids and Gateway gave us the perfect opportunity for that. It was very quiet and relaxing to be in the house and the innkeepers were very welcoming. The Gateway is definitely a better, and cleaner, alternative to one of the large pricey hotels in Newport. Breakfast was good and the bathroom was clean and modern. There is a bar across the street and it is just two blocks from two famous Newport Restaurants. We spent our evening at the Levee, which is very close also. There was no TV in the room we stayed in.


Great B&B

3,6 sur janvier 18, 2012

The owners were very friendly and hospitable. The house and room were very comfortable and clean. Great bathtub.


Gateway Bed and Breakfast

5 sur janvier 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at the Gateway B&B. The room was very nice and spotless. We had a nice breakfast and good conversations with the owners and another guest.


Wonderful stay!!!!!!

5 sur janvier 16, 2012

We were made to feel at home in this beautiful bed and breakfast. The host were great and Breakfast was wonderful! Ken was very down to earth and fun to be around, felt I knew him for years, what a wonderful stay! We will defiantly be staying again!


A great time in Newport

4,4 sur décembre 18, 2011

I went to the Gateway Bed and Breakfast with three of my friends for a special birthday celebration and it was just perfect. The rooms are large and well equipped and Ken and Sandy are so warm and inviting that you feel like you are staying with old friends.


Wonderful Weekend

4,6 sur décembre 06, 2011

We had a girlfriends weekend and it was wonderful. The house is gorgeous and the hosts were delightful. I would recommend this B&B and hope to return sometime.


Great for a weekend getaway

3,4 sur novembre 16, 2011

We recently went to Cincinnati for an overnight stay to celebrate our anniversary. Two weeks out, I had trouble getting a room anywhere in town. I started checking Newport and came across Gateway, which had one room left. Sandy was very nice on the phone and also allowed us to check in a bit early. The room was comfortable and clean, and much less expensive than a hotel. The whirpool was definitely the highlight of the room. The one negative is that there are no TV's in the guest rooms. The house is in a great location, we really enjoyed walking around Newport and walking to the Levee, and were less than five minutes to downtown Cincy. We also really enjoyed the history of the home, and the many wonderful books about local history. We would stay here again.


Would recommend this B&B

3,8 sur novembre 04, 2011

This B&B was a close walk to Newport on the Levee, the Aquarium, and many nice restaurants. The breakfast we more than ample with staples (cereal and yogurt) and area specialties.


Newport Aquarium Stay

4,8 sur novembre 02, 2011

Got away for a day down in Newport, KY and had a great time. Ken and Sandy were great. Gateway BB was very close to everything. We would definitely stay here again.


Convenient Location

4,6 sur octobre 17, 2011

Beatifully restored house, convenient to Newport shops and dining as well as easy access to downtown Cincinnati. Ken and Sandy were very hospitable and accomodating to our dietary restrictions. Delicious family style breakfast served everyday at 9 am. No TV in guest rooms, but large screen TV available in the family room downstairs. Very nice place to stay, easy access to the surrounding area...


Review of stay on October 1, 2011

5 sur octobre 05, 2011

Arrived late afternoon of October 1, 2011, was given a very friendly welcome and review of the home and room (even offered a drink or snack) and had immediate access to the TV and entertainment room. We & the other couple with us were given answers to questions of area restaurants, had a pleasant evening of rest and breakfast the following morning.


Oktoberfest weekend

4,2 sur septembre 23, 2011

Ken and Sandy were great hosts for the entire weekend. The location was great if you want to stay on the Newport side of Cincinnati. Plenty of restaurants and nightlife in the area, along with a shuttle from the Newport Levee area to take you to Cincinnati for one dollar.


Great anniversary getaway

4,8 sur septembre 20, 2011

Enjoyed the warm hospitality, 2-person jacuzzi, and delicious breakfast served "family style." Very clean with all amenities provided.


Nice B&B, great location.

3,6 sur septembre 16, 2011

Very clean and well appointed B&B. Common area a little cluttered. Not a place to relax between activities. Would sta.y there again when visiting Newport and Cincinnati.


Gateway Bed and Breakfast

4,2 sur septembre 13, 2011

The Gateway is definitely in our top 5 bnb's, and we've stayed at quite a few. The innkeepers totally restored the building with antiques and reproductions so if you enjoy history, remodeling, and the work that goes into reproduction, you will appreciate the Gateway. Ken and Sandy are both gracious hosts and we felt at home right away. The Inn is located within walking distance or short driving distance to pubs, a theatre, and restaurants. Ask the innkeepers for restaurant recommendations. There is a very large screen HDTV complete with cable, sports, etc. that makes for an excellent man cave. They serve a basic breakfast, but do try the goetta. We would stay there again without hesitation.


Weekend Getaway

4,8 sur septembre 02, 2011

Gateway is in the perfect spot for having a "home base" while enjoying Newport and Cincinatti! We had a great time, met lovely people and had no trouble at all navigating around town to enjoy the attractions!


Great for Reds game

4,2 sur août 17, 2011

Great location to walk to Cincy stadium area and Newport on the Levy. Ken and Sandy are incredibly nice and accommodating. Great ambiance...a nice, quiet place to stay.


Won't do hotels again

4,0 sur août 09, 2011

Great spot in Newport located within walking distance to all of the attractions; the B&B is kept by a super hospitable couple, we truly enjoyed our stay!


Gateway B&B was wonderful!

5 sur août 07, 2011

Beautiful historical home, full of antiques & interesting collections. immaculately clean -- cleanest we've ever been in. Food was excellent with regional offerings. Hospitality was wonderful & included stories about home.


Superb B&B

5 sur août 07, 2011

My wife and i have stayed in B&Bs in the USA and England, and Gateway B&B is the best one we've experienced. Sandy & Ken are fantastic!


relaxing vacation

4,8 sur août 06, 2011

The host and hostess were wonderful and friendly. We felt at ease and enjoyed their beautiful home. Our room was very comfortable , clean and beautiful. They were there when we needed directions and advise on places to dine and see. I look forward to going again and will recommend it to our friends and family. They are within walking distance to the Ball park in Cincinnati, Aquarium , many nice restaurants, and Newport Levee district.


Awesome Breakfast

5 sur août 03, 2011

The breakfast was so good, the owners are very attentive to your every need. The home is full of history. We will visit again.


Fantastic!

5 sur août 02, 2011

Wow! What an incredible labor of love! We had a most enjoyable stay with some incredible people! Beautiful, great food! Nice location!


Gateway experience was great!!

4,0 sur juin 28, 2011

Proprietors went above and beyond to render our stay comfortable and memorable!!


Pleasant and relaxing

4,6 sur juin 27, 2011

My wife and I had an ejoyable time at the Gateway Bed and Breakfast. We were in town for the Reds game and the property is conveniently located within walking distance to the stadium, about a twenty minute walk. I would definitely stay here again instead of a pricey hotel located in downtown Cincy. It was clean and the owners were friendly. A very laid back and quiet atmosphere. We were only there for one night and I wish we could've stayed longer.


Great Getaway

4,8 sur juin 24, 2011

Wonderful weekend getaway. The owners were very hospitable and gracious. I would stay there again.


Peaceful Visit to Newport/Cincinnati

4,2 sur juin 13, 2011

This stately house has been lovingly restored and the room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom quite modern. The proprietors are very friendly and accommodating. I especially liked the self-serve coffee machine in the morning - makes a great cup. The location is great - close enough to Newport's Hofbrauhaus to walk, but far enough that you can't hear it!


Weekedn Getaway

5 sur mai 17, 2011

We wanted to get away for a quick weekend. We live in Cincinnati and found this wonderful B and B. The house was beautiful and clean. The room was inviting and met our needs. Sandy was a pleasant host, breakfast was delicious and we were very pleased with our stay. We will refer others to stay as well and I see us returning in the future.


Gateway is a Great Getaway

4,6 sur mai 03, 2011

If you want all of the charm of old world style and all of the comforts of the modern age, Gateway is the place for you. Its large suites offer a glimpse inot the finer points of the past, with all of the antique furniture and decor, while ensuring comfort with queen size matresses and bathrooms that feature modern amenities. The structure itself is a completely restored 1870's home. We are repeat customers and we plan to return every year to this remarkable getaway.


Great visit

4,6 sur avril 20, 2011

I really enjoyed our [requested] vegetarian breakfast. The host gave us a listening tour of their antique record players, organs and a real player piano!! Beautiful decor and great location in the heart of Newport, KY. Lots to do nearby!


Beautiful place, great location

4,8 sur avril 18, 2011

The Gateway Bed and Breakfast is a lovely place. We enjoyed our room with its beautiful decor. Beside its beauty, it was also quiet, clean, and very comfortable. The location is outstanding. Our hosts, Ken and Sandy were charming and had many interesting stories to share. We definitely plan to stay their again.


LOVELY EXPERIENCE

5 sur avril 06, 2011

Great place to stay and so much more personal attention than in a hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. The innkeepers were very attentive and pleasant. We enjoyed hearing fasinating stories about the Inn and their many beautiful furnishings. We would stay with them again.


wonderful time!!!

4,8 sur février 23, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Gateway!!! The owners were so inviting and nice. We would definatly go back and definatly recommend to other couples to stay there for a nice getaway!!!


Great weekend at the Gateway!

5 sur décembre 15, 2010

Loved the breakfast, really great home cooking and attention to details. Home is beautiful and offers a lovely experience. Location is superb.


lovely

4,2 sur décembre 14, 2010

overall a charming little place in an interesting part of town, very convenient to restaurants and shopping. The food and company were supurb, the room was very nice and even came with a whirlpool. my only complaint is that the walls were quite thin, but overall a great experience.


nice getaway in great location

4,6 sur novembre 18, 2010

This is a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay if you want to explore Newport on foot. The innkeepers were quite accommodating, and the breakfast was delicious.


Gateway Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 13, 2010

Had a great weekend! This was my first experience with any Bed and Breakfast and it as SOLD me on only booking Bed and Breakfast from now on. Ken and sandy were PERFECT! I loved how they made my weekend special and so relaxing. I will BE BACK!


Location Location Location

3,2 sur octobre 13, 2010

If you have an event near downtown or the levee this is the perfect place if you are up for a short walk and the weather is nice. The room and common area where great. The owners were helpful and attentive. You are literally footsteps from Pompilios and Mansion Hills Tavern. Breakfast was lacking. Nothing special. Akin to a continental breakfast at a major hotel chain. Kinda pricey for what you get overall. We would stay again only because of the proximity to Newport and downtown.


Anniversary Trip

4,4 sur août 29, 2010

Extremely friendly hosts & especially appreciated the time he spent with us demonstrating some of the novel musical items he had restored (phonograph & recording cylinder, player piano, etc.)


Great Stay

4,6 sur août 17, 2010

Our hosts were gracious and thoughtful. We enjoyed our stay very much. The amenities were nice. Our room was outstanding!


Gateway B&B

5 sur août 02, 2010

The bed and breakfast was a great experience. The room was extremely clean. The people who own the Gateway were extremely nice. Definitely a return trip.


Enjoyable Stay

5 sur juin 04, 2010

Clean, comfortable rooms. Delicious breakfast. Beautiful patio and garden.


Beautiful

4,8 sur mai 25, 2010

A fine restoration of a beautiful 19th c. house, full of interesting details. Super service.


Gateway Review

4,8 sur mai 25, 2010

A restful escape from everyday and the perfect place to relax after a half marathon!


A wonderful stay

5 sur mai 20, 2010

The Gateway Bed and Breakfast is truly amazing. From a wonderful room (the Henry Schriver) with a newly remodeled bathroom to delicious breakfasts to a home filled with great touches like a Hammond organ, a Victrola and seemingly countless 78's, this is the only B&B you should stay in if you're headed to the Cincinnati area. I can't forget to mention Ken's singing along with his old player piano. It was easily the best B&B experience we've had. The next time we're in the area, we know where we will be staying. Thank you for such an enjoyable experience, Ken and Sandy.


Cute, comfortable, and cozy.

2,6 sur mai 10, 2010

The innkeepers were a delight to meet. The mattress in the nancy room is very hard, felt like we were sleeping on the floor. No TVs in the rooms were disappointing, but my fault as I should have paid more attention to room details. Saturday breakfast was pretty good, consisted of waffles, bacon, banana nut bread, eggs made to order. Sunday breakfast was mediocre, consisted of the same as above, minus the waffles and the sausage/bacon was cold. We were offered eggs, but she seemed in such a rush to get to church that we didn't want to impose. I tried to look on the bright side as my husband and I were able to experience something new and have quality time away from the kids; however, to be honest considering we were charged $270 for the stay and breakfast that we didn't really feel was worth it, we will not be staying here again. It's not that we don't recommend the inn, it is just that you should not go there expecting anything extravagant because you will be disappointed.


Exquisite Getaway

5 sur avril 30, 2010

It's like stepping back in time. The structure, the rooms, and the furnishings are true to the late 1800's time period. The owners make you feel right at home.


Great!

4,8 sur avril 29, 2010

Beautiful neighborhood, wonderful people - so kind. Great house. Thank you.


Always outstanding

5 sur avril 13, 2010

My wife and I made our second stay at Gateway on Easter weekend. Ken and Sandy once again made us feel so welcome. And breakfast was terrific!


Gateway Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 14, 2009

Lodging, food & location were all outstanding. Especially enjoyed the private whirlpool.


Superb

4,8 sur septembre 29, 2009

This is an outstanding B&B. The home and room were beautiful. The hosts were very hospitable,and the breakfast delicious. Highly recommended!


great experience in all ways

5 sur septembre 27, 2009

We stayed at the Gateway recently and found it to be one of the finest inns in all ways. Great rooms, meals and hosts. Highly recommended


Fun and relaxing stay in Newport/Cincinnati

4,2 sur août 26, 2009

My first impression of this Bed & Breakfast was how clean and homey it was. We stayed in the Nancy Room, which was perfect in size for us. The bed was comfortable, and the wood floors were spotless. The Inn Keeper did show us the other two rooms as well. Both were charming. The Camille room seemed to be the best. When you first arrive in the neighborhood, you need to realize that you are in an Urban area. I neighborhood that has charming homes, mixed with houses that are neglected. At first, my husband and I did question if we made the right decision when we entered the street. However, once inside and over the course of the weekend, it was a great decision. Will definitely recommend friends and family. You can walk easily around and you can drive quickly into Cincinnati. Challenging bike routes are close by as well, introducing you to charming little towns that I had not seen in Kentucky.


Gateway Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 24, 2009

We had a wonderful time. It was very cozy and the owners were so nice. We would definitely stay here again.


Joyous experience

4,2 sur août 19, 2009

Wonderful experience. Innkeepers were terrific; very friendly and made us feel right at home. Will definitely go back again.


Very good B&B experience

4,6 sur août 11, 2009

My wife and I spent one night at the Gateway B&B in August 2009. We were in the Shriver room, a clean, airy, light room, which faces onto the street below. The bed was plenty comfortable. It was a nice room with interesting fixtures and decorations. The only detraction to the room is its bathroom shower curtain, which is lightweight and tends to cling to you while you're showering. But I emphasize that the bedroom and bath overall were very pleasant. The proprietor is an interesting and personable man who cooks a really good breakfast! The breakfast includes cereals, eggs, bacon, toast, juice, coffee, and sweetbread, but with the addition of a local treat, goetta, which is a mixture of shredded meat (pork, I think) and steel-cut or milled oats and is sliced and fried -- an interesting Germanic contribution to the local fare. Including a local dish was an excellent touch, and much appreciated. The grounds are well-kept and off-street parking is available on-site. The proprietor spent three years restoring the house and has rendered a very nice result. It's within easy walking distance to the Levee, several good restaurants, and the Hofbräuhaus. We highly recommend the Gateway B&B to anyone.


We'll definitely stay here again!

5 sur août 10, 2009

Our accommodations were wonderful, both breakfasts were delicious and Sandy and Ken were terrific hosts. We lingered over our first breakfast more than 3 hours, enjoying the company of fellow guests.


3rd stay at Gateway

5 sur juillet 30, 2009

Ken & Sandy are fantastic hosts. We've loved all 3 visits with them. They make us feel at home and have very helpful suggestions of things to do & places to eat. The breakfast is fantastic and very filling.


Relaxing comfort

4,6 sur juillet 23, 2009

We stayed here in mid July. It was our first stay at the Gateway B&B and won't be our last. It's like stepping back in time. We stayed in the Nancy Room. Simply and tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed with beautiful headboard, desk and wardrob. The modern bathroom features a deep whirlpool jet tub. We felt right at home. Sandy and Ken are gracious and warm hosts.


best side of Cinci

5 sur juillet 20, 2009

Located just 2 short blocks from Newport on the Levy and the Purple Ped Bridge. Great neighborhood with many historical homes and local establishments besides the variety at the Levy. Home is clean, fresh, and nicely done with antiques. Camile Room bed fit my 6'3" tall spouse!


location, hospitality, quiet, and clean

5 sur juillet 15, 2009

We had a fantastic stay at the inn. Ken and Sandy are great hosts! Located within walking distance to great attractions and is a nice quiet and clean place to stay with fabulous antiques and a tasty breakfast that will save you the cost of lunch everyday!


Over the top

5 sur juillet 10, 2009

Ken and Sandy were great hosts, and the room was everything I thougt it would be. Breakfast was awesome and Ken even served 'getta' the first morning...try it you'll love it. We will be back!


wonderful experience

5 sur juin 18, 2009

The Gateway is located in historic Newport, KY walking distance to the aquarium and downtown. Very beautiful home and wonderful food and hospitality! We will visit again! Our thanks to Sandy and Ken!


nice

5 sur juin 18, 2009

Very friendly, very clean. hosts very helpful and knowledgeable with area attractions and directions.


Great place to stay

3,8 sur mai 27, 2009

Beautiful house in a great neighborhood. Ken and Sandy were wonderful hosts. Highly recommended, especially if planning to see the Reds.


Excellent Experience

5 sur mai 26, 2009

We found this B&B, the Nancy room even better than as described! The entire experience was most enjoyable. Atmosphere with Ken & Sandy was always warm & friendly. They provided excellent service, delicious breakfasts, were very interesting & knowledgeable, a joy to share fun & festive moments with. We walked to many sites, crossing the purple people bridge into Cincinnati, OH. Dinner at Detroit Joe's resturant was also excellent. We highly recommend this B&B experience!


outstanding

5 sur mai 20, 2009

Everything was great! The location was perfect for Newport on the Levee and the Reds game


Lovely and Welcoming B&B

4,6 sur mai 18, 2009

Our room was spacious and sparkling. Coming and going was convenient. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. Our hosts were accomodating, friendly and helpful. Very convenient to what Newport has to offer as well as to the rest of the Cincinnati area. We enjoyed it and recommend it!


we loved it!! :)

5 sur mai 13, 2009

The Gateway was awesome!


excellent B&B

5 sur mars 23, 2009

Highly recommend. 1st time at a B&B and I thought the service was amazing. VERY nice people to talk to. Would go again.


Valentine's Day

5 sur février 23, 2009

The place was gorgeous and was a very relaxing weekend...the innkeepers were adorable!


A+

5 sur février 20, 2009

What a great place to stay! The B&B is perfect, the guests are so nice! We'll recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a great time!


Warm and friendly

4,2 sur février 04, 2009

Our host nice and friendly. Their humble service made us feel special and at home. When we go back to Newport, will stay at Gatewat B&B. They're special.


fantastic romantic getaway-even for locals

4,6 sur janvier 14, 2009

I took my boyfriend here for a Hanukkah surprise gift, and we absolutely loved our stay! The house and our room (Camille Room) were gorgeous and so comfortable, we loved the whirlpool tub, and Ken was a wonderful host! We'll be back!


New Year's Eve, 2008

5 sur janvier 12, 2009

Outstanding facility. Food was very good, with great accommodations. And, the owners were very hospitable. We will return.


Perfect got stay near the Ohio River...

5 sur décembre 09, 2008

A 3 block walk to Newport on the Levy. A walk across the bridge from Cincinnati's football, baseball, and arena...lovely stay, great food, and perfect hosts!


Gateway...a great getaway

3,8 sur novembre 17, 2008

Ken and Sandy have masterfully renovated their home. Very quaint and full of interesting antiques. Ken and Sandy are very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our 5 days/nights very much!


Wonderful B&B

5 sur octobre 31, 2008

Ken and Sandy were two of the best hosts I have ever had the pleasure of meeting!


4 friends fall treasure

5 sur octobre 27, 2008

The foliage driving to Cinci. was spectacular. Our host, Ken, was a wonderful host to the Gateway. Our room was dreamy, the hospitality, charming, breakfast superb, and singing together at the Phayer piano was priceless!


Very pleasant surprise!

5 sur septembre 30, 2008

Choosing blindly online is and feels risky to us, but this bed and breakfast was a very pleasant surprise! Our hosts were kind, good people & their home was a historic structure that they brought back to life; our expectations were exceeded!


Wonderful Hospitality

5 sur septembre 29, 2008

Beautifully appointed rooms, very friendly hosts, wireless internet, and a tasty breakfast made our stay wonderful! We'll be back.


Absolutely our favorite getaway

4,4 sur septembre 09, 2008

We love to stay here. Ken & Sandy are friendly and really make you feel at home! And now so close to everything with Newport on the Levee just a few short blocks away! Just about a mile's walk over the "Purple People Bridge" and you are in downtown Cincinnati with all it has to offer.


Beautiful, quaint B&B!

3,8 sur août 26, 2008

We had a wonderful stay. The victorian home is beautiful and provides a relaxing setting for a weekend getaway.


Great B&B!

4,6 sur août 26, 2008

The innkeepers, Ken and Sandy, were very welcoming and made us feel like old friends! The breakfast was always outstanding! The location was fantastic!!


Great stay

5 sur août 18, 2008

Really nice, will go again. The owners acted like they were part of our family, beautiful house.


OUTSTANDING!!!

4,8 sur août 08, 2008

Gateway was a wonderful B&B. Ken and Sandy were terrific hosts. Location was great - just a short walk to downtown Newport restaurants, shopping and attractions. Breakfast was amazing. The room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Newport is a wonderful place to visit and Gateway is THE place to stay. We hope to have the chance to return.


Welcoming, elegant comfort

5 sur août 07, 2008

Innkeepers Ken and Sandy were temendously welcoming. The house is beautiful, extremely well-maintained, elegant and comfortable. I highly recommend this B&B to any one visiting the cincinnati area.


A GREAT WEEKEND

4,8 sur août 05, 2008

We stayed two days and loved it. Ken and Sandy were great along with their dog bear. The room was very nice and and the breakfast was wonderful. We will return soon.


Event

3,6 sur août 01, 2008

The stay met and exceeded my expectations.


Antique excitement

5 sur juillet 23, 2008

Excellent B&B featuring antiques in a renovated historic home. Breakfast was excellent.


Pleasant Suprise!

4,8 sur juillet 23, 2008

Ken and Sandy were so welcoming - the perfect balance of being a host and giving us our "space". The home is beautiful and very comfortable. Modern amenities , (AC, whirlpool tub) compliment the beauty of the home. Wonderful breakfast and cookies!


Perfect!

4,8 sur juillet 21, 2008

We had a thoroughly wonderful time on our weekend getaway. Ken and Sandy could not have been nicer. Their home is beautiful (thanks to their own efforts in remodeling). Breakfast was delicious and the location was great (walking distance to the levee). We certainly hope to return. Highly recommended!


Highly Recommended

5 sur juillet 15, 2008

I would not hesitate to send friends & associates to this B&B. In fact, I told our hosts that they must send guests to Sandy & Ken at the Gateway.


Critique

5 sur juillet 14, 2008

Fantastic - great service, great food, great company. very comfortable. Will return!


Beautiful house, great location!

4,8 sur juin 22, 2008

We were thrilled with our stay at Gateway B&B. We really enjoyed the antique furnishings in the public areas, especially the musical instruments. The Camille room is beautiful and breakfast was wonderful, including some local traditional foods. Thank you for a memorable weekend!


Gateway Bed and Breakfast

3,4 sur avril 24, 2008

Very helpful and friendly


Accomodating Bed and Breakfast

4,6 sur février 03, 2008

Our original reservations at a different bed and breakfast were canceled due to a burst pipe. I immediately got on the B&B website and found Gateway. Sandy was so pleasant on the phone. She understood our situation, gave us directions to the B&B and even made dinner reservations for us that evening. The room was beautiful, the home itself was lovely. Breakfast was filling and tasty. We so enjoyed meeting Sandy and Ken and Scrappy-Do too! We hope to make it back to visit again.


Gateway Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $129 - $169
  • Avis (207) 4,6
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8595816447
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8888917500

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut