Aleksander House Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,3
  • Qualité/Prix4,1
  • Propreté4,4
  • Repas4,3

Notation basée sur
62 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Grilfriend's weekend

4,6 sur novembre 16, 2014

Very beautiful old Victorian home near to all Louisville attractions and minutes from downtown. We very much enjoyed our one night there.


Lovely House

4,0 sur novembre 01, 2014

The house is in the old section of Louisville. It is furnished with antiques and has a very cozy feel. The web site is not clear about the bath facilities in each room. This caused us some trouble because we thought we had a private bath when it was actually in the hall. There is only street parking which was easy to find. Also, the house is currently for sale. This is a good alternative to the downtown hotels. Just be sure that you know what you are booking.

Réponse du propriétaire
These were great guests. I'm sorry they misunderstood a couple of our policies. I appreciate they took the time to let us know. We certainly wlll try harder in the future. Response to: "...we thought we had a private bath when it was actually in the hall." (We interpret private as meaning no-one else is using it, not that it is en suite. Some of our baths are en suite, some are just outside the rooms. They were sharing a suite with another couple.It is comprised of two separate rooms with a door in-between. We didn't want the bath to be only in one room or the other, so the two rooms in the suite share a bath just outside the room.) Response to "There is only street parking" ( My assistant checked them in. She may not have told them there are 4 parking places in the rear of the house)


Great downtown location

4,4 sur octobre 22, 2014

Nancy was a ball of fire and we enjoyed hearing about her many adventures in the B&B business. This B&B is in the best part of Louisville; lots of sidewalks and good for cycling.


Weekend Review

3,0 sur septembre 17, 2014

The owner and employees provided were extremely kind and friendly. However, we paid $150.00 a night and our room was not ready when we arrived at 5pm (had not been cleaned). We also requested twin beds way in advance (this was an option) but this was not ready upon our arrival. Considering the level of service and the downtrodden neighborhood outside the building, I would gladly stay here again but the room rates should be more around $100.00 per night. Big pluses were the food and the friendliness of owner/staff. Felt safe and comfortable.

Réponse du propriétaire
We truly apologize to this guest if her experience was not what she expected; however, I would like to clarify a few things. The room rate is $130. Room/bed and sales tax are added to that, which bring the total up somewhat. The room was actually ready at the designated time, but the guests arrived an hour earlier than expected, so the bed wasn't made. We were very busy and down to the line. As far as twin beds are concerned, the person who made the reservation said they didn't mind either way, since the bed is a very wide California king, as they were long time girl friends, There was absolutely no mention that they were unhappy with anything. We were totally taken by surprise by the review.


Peaceful Old Downtown Louisville

3,8 sur septembre 02, 2014

Beautiful home with tall ceilings, doors, and lovely décor. Very peaceful and quiet. Parking can be challenging on the street. Tall staircases in the house. Very friendly and easy going. Great breakfast.


Beautiful

4,2 sur juillet 13, 2014

Great city. Very nice B & B.


Classic Elegance from a bygone era

4,2 sur juin 19, 2014

Wonderful historic home. Our room has lots of space and lots of extras. The wall mounted makeup mirror, extra seating area, and in room fridge were nice additions. The breakfasts were superb. Biggest drawback was no private parking. Street only parking was first come first serve

Réponse du propriétaire
There are four parking places, available to guests, in the back of our inn. Please ask if you prefer to park there. Most people prefer to park in front as it's closer to the front door. So sorry for the inconvenience.


Death in family

5 sur mai 25, 2014

Neither Inn keeper nor I had planning time. I needed space for family members arriving at different times from different places, seven adults and a three year old. But we were accommodated and experienced outstanding service.


Great Experience

5 sur mai 23, 2014

My family and I stayed at Aleksander House Bed and Breakfast. The owner was always eager to interact with all us including my baby cousin. She did a great job remembering all of our names. The food was always delicious and magnificently presented on every plate which a lot of times we did not want to ruin. The rooms were very well kept and very clean. There was plenty of blankets, sheets, and pillows. My family and I felt very at home while we stayed there and that was due to the amazing service we received. The next time we go to Kentucky we will definitely be staying there. I highly recommend staying at this bed and breakfast if you truly want a great experience and a warm home feeling.


Awkward southern hospitality

2,6 sur mai 07, 2014

This pretty little historic house is maintained fairly well in a neighborhood that may be rehabilitating over time. Pernina's room was comfortable and spacious, however it shares a hallway bathroom with the Kimberly's room, which is a large room with a den for a small full sized bed, and a sitting area with a sofa (not a sofa bed). While booking these two rooms, I was told that 4 to 6 people could comfortably stay in these two rooms. This was somewhat misleading unless one expects to sleep on a sofa without sheets and a cot which doesn't lie flat. Our stay was during the Derby weekend when the room prices were inflated 14X's for a minimum of three nights, so my expectations were at least comparable to many of the BnB's, ryads, and guest houses that I've stayed in around the world. While the very nice cocktail party allowed us to form friendships with the other guests, and the gift of an excellent bourbon were so appreciated, I would caution otherwise for guests looking for an exceptional Derby weekend with southern charm. There were several awkward encounters with the arrangements that didn't need to happen at the BnB that soured this otherwise exciting weekend.

Réponse du propriétaire
Clearly, this guest was not happy with her stay at my bed and breakfast and I apologize for that. If you check on my page, you will see where it says, the Kimberly Suite accommodates 4 for the Kentucky Derby. However, months after she received a confirmation for her party of 4 persons, she informed me she was bringing a 5th person and had no intention of paying the extra-person charge. I eventually acquiesced rather than create bad feelings. So now there were 5 in her party. There is a roll-away in the room, not a cot, on which many of my past guests have slept. No one ever complained. And it lies perfectly flat. There are plenty of sheets, blankets, a comforter, and extra towels. They are in the trunks at the foot of each bed or on the shelves in the two closets. The bed in Kimberly’s room is not a small full size bed, as she stated, it’s a standard full size bed. She also stated that we raised our rates 14 times. If that were true her rate would have been $39,900 for 3 days instead of $2850 for a large, two room suite. If you divide that by the 5 guests(none were couples), that was only $570 ($114 each per ngt.)for a 3 day stay during the Kentucky Derby, a full breakfast every day, a catered cocktail party with lots of food (everyone in her group except her raved about it) , a Champagne breakfast, and housekeeping. I seriously doubt that she could do better than that. She only spoke to me once in 3 days to tell me the time she planned to leave. She never spoke to my staff. If she’d told us she couldn’t find the blankets, etc, we would have been happy to assist. I am truly sorry she was so angry and disappointed, but fortunately for me my other 5 guests wrote glowing remarks in my guest book and tipped my staff nearly $100.00. That should speak for something.


Charming Victorian B & B

5 sur avril 26, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to Louisville for years to visit our daughter and grandkids. We typically stay with friends but it wasn't possible this time. We don't like big hotels and wanted to stay somewhere in the Old Louisville area. We found Aleksander House by accident and after staying there for 5 nights, we're hooked. what a charming and inviting home! It's comfortable the minute you walk in with it's beautiful and original staircase and woodwork throughout the main floor. Our reservation was last minute so we had to split our stay in two rooms; "Katharines Room" on the top floor, with a private bath was gorgeous and then, "Peninna's Room", cozy and bright with an alcove for the bed and a comfortable sitting area. To top off this stay, we had breakfasts that quite frankly, shocked us...Grand Marnier French toast, Zinfandel poached pears, scrambled eggs with herbs and cheese...I mean, who does that??? Gourmet all the way!! After this stay, we've decided that the Aleksander House is our go to when in Louisville. don't miss it!!


Historic Louisville B&B

4,0 sur novembre 04, 2013

Had a lovely stay here, very clean and accommodating. Great location for local restaurants


Nothing to write home about

2,6 sur novembre 03, 2013

The B&B provided average quality accommodations in a semi-convenient location. The facility was clean, though in need of repair. We stayed in Katherine's Room, which we found was average in quality but lacked a private bathroom, despite this being listed in the description of the room. The nearest bathroom was outside the room in the main, third floor hallway. The two breakfasts we had at the B&B were both disappointing. The first day included eggs, microwaved bacon, toast, and muffins. The second day included pancakes that were drenched in syrup. Neither meal left us inspired. The location was also disappointing. All restaurants were only accessible within driving distance. The neighborhood was adequate (considering it's Historical Louisville designation, we expected more). All in all, this was a fair experience but nothing to write home about.


Beds were good!

2,8 sur octobre 28, 2013

Location is further from downtown than I thought, need a car or cab. The owner did not provide much information or engage socially. Really felt on our own, assumed more hospitality from host.


Would stay again.

4,0 sur octobre 25, 2013

Nancy the innkeeper was so pleasant and it was so nice hearing about her life story. Breakfast was delicious .Wish we could have stayed longer but we were passing through.


A Wonderful Experience!

5 sur septembre 26, 2013

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast, and we really enjoyed it. Nancy was so friendly and helpful. The decor was lovely, the house and room were clean, and the food was delicious.


An excellent weekend stay

4,4 sur juillet 17, 2013

It's a great B&B in Old Louisville, a cool historic area just south of downtown. Nancy is quite friendly and very interesting to talk to. Her young assistant is quiet, though very professional and seems to be learning the business well. Breakfast is pleasant and not overly complicated, and the rooms are very comfortable. All in all, a very nice spot to spend a few days while I was visiting friends (who, incidentally, lived a block and a half away; an excellent bonus).


Can I give dining six stars?

5 sur juillet 04, 2013

Cozy, quaint, quiet, and romantic. About sums it up.


Beautiful home in historic old Louisville.

5 sur juin 14, 2013

I had a wonderful time staying at the Nancy's beautiful home in historic old Louisville, a gorgeous neighborhood with incredible old red brick and lovely green foliage. My room, Katherine's, was quite comfortable, and the neighborhood is endearing, with an eclectic mix of neighbors and several local places to grab a bite. 25-30 minute brisk walk to downtown. I was in Louisville on business, but I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed my visit.


Home away from home

4,0 sur avril 20, 2013

We were fortunate that it was a busy weekend in Louisville as all of the traditional hotels were fully booked. We just lucked into this Bed and Breakfast. Nancy the owner made us feel very welcome and her home is beautiful. Lodging there was perfect for all of our events of the weekend, which were within the downtown vicinity.


A Great place to stay

5 sur avril 16, 2013

Outstanding place, great service, would recommend for everybody.


Old Louisville Ideal Lodging

4,4 sur avril 11, 2013

This is a charming, elegant place to stay. We had a suite which was ideal and we had a view of 1st street. You can walk all over old Louisville or even downtown from this location. It is not as lavish as some B&B's in the area and it it s far less expensive. The inn-keeper lives on site and is on top of everything and is accommodating with food.


Review

3,6 sur mars 12, 2013

Owner was nice and helpful. Room was well kept and nice historical interior.  Part of town was rough, but short drive to downtown attractions.


Totally Relaxing!!!

5 sur mars 01, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in Katherine's room. This was our first stay ever in a B&B. There was only one other person there for our stay so we got the entire top floor :) But the entire aura of the building was absolutely soothing & the hostess amazing and personable. The house was absolutely beautiful, it was like stepping in from one world to a completely different one. Coffee was provided in the lobby dining area all day and night. The bathrooms are VERY clean and nice! I would recommend a stay here to anyone!!


Fun in Louisville

4,4 sur janvier 25, 2013

Great location and entertaining owner. I would highly recommend this B&B to others.


Just like Downton Abbey. A Charming residence in the heart of Louisville.

5 sur novembre 09, 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere authentic and the Aleksander in Old Louisville was certainly that. The period features on the property were breath-taking and maintained to the highest standard. Our room was massive, yet it was warm and cosy. It was beautifully decorated and spotless with a great en-suite shower room (Neither of us wanted to get out of the shower). We had the best night's sleep of anywhere we've stayed. The attention to detail made all the difference - a nightlight in the en-suite for the middle of the night trips to the loo, a stack of great reading material, from books to magazines and a selection of dvds for an evening in - perfect. We've loved the breakfast. John made fresh banana muffins (Wow!) and I polished off the entire pot of coffee (it was so good). The rooms downstairs make you feel like you are sitting in an episode of Downton Abbey. They are so stunning. Nancy was a great host and we took her suggestion to go to a local family run Italian restaurant, where the food was incredible. We've been in the USA for months and this was the most charming day yet. Don't stay at a soulless hotel stay here in a charming Victorian period home with all the mod cons. Heaven!


Enjoyed our stay

5 sur octobre 12, 2012

We had a great time during our two night stay. Nancy, the innkeeper, is a joy to talk to and makes a great breakfast. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.


Lovely B&B in Old Louisville

4,2 sur octobre 04, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Aleksander House when we were in town for a friend's wedding. It was very centrally located - a quick drive from the airport and about 15 minutes away from everything we hoped to see! Nancy and John took excellent care of us. The breakfasts that Nancy put together were wonderful and helped us kick each day off on the right foot! We stayed in the Katherine suite and it was lovely. The bed was nice and firm, the room was neat and well appointed. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B!


A lovely night at Aleksander House

5 sur septembre 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to spend the night in Louisville on our way back to Chicago from a week-long road trip. We had a wonderful, comfortable stay in Penina's Room. Loved the high ceilings and soft carpet! On street parking was free and plentiful. We enjoyed breakfast and chatting with the owner Nancy in the morning. We have our sights set on another trip to Louisville in the future, one night was not long enough! Thanks again Nancy for a great stay!


Great place to stay!

4,0 sur août 02, 2012

Spent out 25th anniversary at Aleksander House, it was just wonderful. The room was very clean and breakfast was superb! Nancy even accomidated my dislike of eggs one morning by fixing me a special fruit/yogurt parfait. The bathroom for Katharine's Room was private, meaning on the same floor and no one else was using it, but is was not within the room as I would have expected. Even knowing this, we will return if ever in the Louisville area.


GREAT PLACE!!!!

5 sur août 01, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Aleksander House a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed it. I'm fairly sensitive to the "feel" of a house, especially an old one and am also VERY sensitive to smells! This house felt so comfortable the minute we walked in and smelled (unlike many old homes) fresh and clean plus, we were fortunate to arrive at a time where the innkeeper typically makes cookies and other baked goods (that she puts out for the guests all day long, by the way). We stayed in Katharine's room, which was beautiful with crisp white sheets, a personal favorite when staying at a B&B . For breakfast, we had Grand Marnier French toast one morning and scrambled eggs with herbs and cheese the next...soooo good and a welcome change to crossiants and yogurt (which I love but this was a welcome change). We were a bit surprised that for all of this, we only paid something like $125/night...they could easily charge $150 and the value would still be terrific (maybe I should not leave this review and keep it a secret!!:). Overall fabulous place, great rooms and service and the innkeeper was friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be back.


what a great stay!

5 sur juillet 31, 2012

My husband and I had a recent stay at this little bed and breakfast nestled in the heart of old louisville. The breakfast was to die for, and the decor of the place was just right (very artsy)! The place was very clean, it was obvious that the help worked very hard at maintaining this little gem. The rooms were large and peaceful, the service outstanding, andthe value hard to beat!


Wonderful Weekend in Louisville

4,6 sur juillet 29, 2012

We stayed at the Aleksander House for the weekend and it was exactly what we hoped for. The room was clean, incredibly comfortable, and our hosts were laid-back and friendly. We hope to return soon!


One Night Getaway

3,6 sur juillet 24, 2012

We arrived early and the owner welcomed us in graciously. It was a beautiful home full of history. Very cozy and welcoming. The food was very good and service was great. Very private and personal. The only complaint would be the air conditioning unit in our room was too loud and would have enjoyed a larger TV in our room.


nice visit

3,2 sur juillet 15, 2012

The room was beautiful. Bathroom outside of bedroom worked out since we were the only guests. We did not know the room was on the 3rd floor. This was NOT mentioned on the website when booking.


Convenient location to city and track

3,0 sur juin 26, 2012

Very nice host. Room adequate and charming. Convient location to city and race track.


Lovely Place

3,8 sur mai 30, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay here with our dog. I would definitely recomend it to others.


Delightful!

5 sur mai 25, 2012

Wonderful neighborhood - loved walking around to see historic homes. Delightful conversation with host. Custom breakfast to meet my dietary needs.


Cozy B&B

4,4 sur avril 25, 2012

We stayed at the Aleksander House the weekend of Thunder of Louisville. It was conveniently located and was a walkable distance from the riverfront. We stayed in Kathryn's Room and it was very charming and very private being on the third floor. The breakfast was very good and the the couple we ate with were awesome. That is the wonderful thing about B&B the people that you meet. Our whole experience was wonderful!


Charming and hospitable

5 sur avril 05, 2012

Came in for a business meeting and arrived very late. The host greeted us with a smile and we instantly felt welcomed. Very clean, great location. Would go again when in the Louisville area.


Such a nice place

4,2 sur mars 15, 2012

We stayed at the Aleksander House for the weekend in late Feb (2012). such a nice place. One of the things I love about B&B's is feeling as though I am welcome in someone's home. This B&B is just such a place. We stayed in Katharine's room, which has a Victorian charm, complete with a high 4 poster bed. Breakfast was hot and delicious and the dining room, with it's beautiful wood floors and pocket doors was particularly nice. Will absolutely stay here again. PS. Personally, I thought the innkeeper was friendly and welcoming!


The Inn is beautiful; however....

4,0 sur mars 14, 2012

Room was clean and very lovely. We had the entire third floor to ourselves. Breakfasts were good and snacks and sodas were available 24/7. The only issue was with the innkeeper, her personality was overall very abrasive and curt. I understand she is an older lady but she sat in the dining area and complained about how difficult is was to run the B&B, how she didn't like the work, how it just wore her out and complained about past guests. Very unprofessional. If one can avoid the innkeeper as much as possible, you will definitely enjoy this B&B. Overall the inn was very lovely, the innkeeper? Not so much.

Réponse du propriétaire
Just a quick reply. Unfortunately, these guests must have overheard a conversation I was having with some other guests, who are considering getting into the business, about the trials and tribulations of owning and running a B&B What we talked about primarily, was what it is like to be a small business owner in today's economy...it's tough, really tough. And yes, some days I wake up feeling like maybe I should do something else. However, I was attracted to this work because of my love for people and their stories. As a writer and someone who loves hearing about the lives of others, having a B&B has been perfect for me and I continue to enjoy it immensely. I apologize to those guests if my candid and honest conversation about the difficulties in running a small business was uncomfortable for them. I can only hope that others will judge my inn on the merits of the inn itself.


Anniversary

3,8 sur octobre 23, 2011

We had a lovely time for our Anniversary "one night away" stay. Nancy is a gracious and helpful hostess. The breakfast was good and the room appointed in a loving and historically acurate manner. There was on street parking right in front and we could walk around and also head up to Downtown L'ville for activities.


a lovely house in an evolving neighborhood

4,0 sur juillet 08, 2011

The neighborhood is in transition but felt safe enough. The house itself is lovely, with soaring ceilings, real antiques and lots of architectural detail. The owner is a bundle of energy that belies her age. We felt very welcomed. We learned there is a fenced back yard and that she does allow dogs, as well, though I think there is an additional fee. Certainly more interesting than a chain hotel, but be prepared for lots of "for sale" signs (including one for the inn itself, though the hospitality hasn't slipped a bit.)


Aleksander House Review, Louisville Kentucky

5 sur juin 29, 2011

Nancy Hinchcliff, the Innkeeper was excellent and wonderful. The B & B was so beautiful. I enjoyed everything about my stay and in particular, how clean everything was. I am going to ask if I can stay again. I would recommend it to anyone.


Aleksander House Bed and Breakfast

3,8 sur juin 28, 2011

The room was restful, beautifully designed, extremely well-equipped with robes, reading materials and sundries, and extremely clean and comfortable. The service was thoughtful, and the stay certainly one which encouraged returning.


Aleksander House

4,8 sur mai 15, 2011

Nancy was the greatest hostess! She has wonderful experiences to share and she loved my dog, Maddox! I will stay there every time I visit Louisville.


GREAT

3,8 sur avril 21, 2011

Loved the look. Really liked all the things to read and watch,good selections. Was happy with the dog friendly attitude.


Aleksander House

4,4 sur avril 14, 2011

Very nice place. Excellent food Parking a minor problem as it is on the street.


Weeknight Stay

5 sur mars 28, 2011

We stayed one night in Roxanne's Room. The bed was very comfortable and we slept wonderfully. The hostess also gave excellent recommendations for local places to eat. We would stay here again.


very nice accommodations.quiet, secure.

4,8 sur mars 26, 2011

great waffles. Do not miss dining nearby at the Italian place Amicis. Lovely room with exquisite understated decor; exceptionally clean, totally renovated, no old house funkiness, and yet retro homey. Would definitely stay there again.


Katharine's Room - Excellent Breakfast

4,6 sur mars 03, 2011

We were in Louisville for the Big East Swimming Championships, so the location of this property was ideal from the campus. Nancy the proprietor was a gracious hostess. We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the room Katherine, located on the third floor. We were there for three nights and the breakfasts that were served were absolutely wonderful. I don't know the coffee brand that she served but it was excellent coffee. The house is beautiful and the rooms are very clean and well appointed. We couldn't of asked for better accommodations. Nancy recommended a restaurant for us to eat dinner one night and it was everything she said. Wonderful food and great atmosphere. It was called Amici. During the day there are little snacks sitting out for you to have an afternoon nibble. Myself I have always been fond of biscotti and there some was for me to have a treat. I'm not sure if I will be getting back to Louisville anytime soon, but if I was to go back I would definitely book my stay at Aleksandra.


Wonderful old house!

4,4 sur février 14, 2011

The fourteen foot ceilings and hardwood floors and woodwork were wonderful. Innkeeper was a very interesting person and a great conversationalist. Katherine's Suite had comfortable beds, and was quiet considering the street and well-stocked with any amenity. Perfect for our overnight stay. However, the two flights of stairs with the dogs was a challenge for my old knees. Glad there was a fenced yard out back!


Will stay here again

5 sur décembre 27, 2010

We spent four nights here and loved the room, the breakfast, and the service. It was clean and beautiful, and we enjoyed walks through the historical neighborhood. Conveniently located to places we wanted to go. Will definitely come again.


Great Girls Weekend

3,8 sur novembre 17, 2010

The Kimberly Suite was a perfect setting for a girls-only weekend. It is spacious and very comfortable both for socializing and sleeping. Since we had the entire floor to ourselves, the down-the-hall bathroom posed no problem. This older house is kept very clean and is comfortably decorated, making us feel right at home, only better! Breakfast was very nice, but not extraordinary. I would have enjoyed some fresh fruit with our meal.


A Wonderful Place to Stay!

3,8 sur janvier 27, 2010

I visit Louisville annually (have done so for many years) and always stay at the Aleksander House. I find it to be a wonderful, quiet get-away with clean and accommodating rooms. It is in a very convenient location for the arts related activities I pursue when in Louisville and also in close proximity to my favorite restaurants (via automobile). The Inn Keeper is very friendly and works hard to provide all who visit with a positive, welcoming environment. I recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a B&B in Louisville!


PERFECT GIRLFRIENDS GETAWAY!

5 sur novembre 21, 2009

Several weeks ago, three of my girlfriends and I booked a "Slumber Party Package" at the Aleksander House. We were thrilled when the innkeeper Nancy showed us to our sunny, spacious suite. There was plenty of room for all of us, and the suite was equipped with everything we might need. During our tour of the house, Nancy recommended several restaurants for dinner, some of which were within walking distance. We decided to walk to an Italian restaurant called Amici's, and I'm glad we did. Walking gave us time to appreciate the beautiful architecture the area is known for. We walked passed several victorian mansions that took my breath away. The next morning, we were treated to a fabulous gourmet breakfast. Nancy's Grand Marnier French Toast was by far the best french toast I have EVER had. After breakfast, we walked around St. James Court and toured the Conrad-Caldwell House museum. That evening we enjoyed pizza, popcorn, cookies, all while we watched a movie in our suite. The Aleksander House met, and exceeded our all of our expectations. We loved it so much, we booked another slumber party in the spring.


Disturbing poor experience

1,0 sur juin 02, 2009

My wife and I booked the room several days in advance. and were assured that all the other rooms were booked as our reason to stay in B and B's was to socialize with others. We arrived at the stated time, found the place locked up with no one there. The outside of the building was unkept and a policeman parked across the street warned us not to be out after dark. When the owners representative finally did show up, they said we were unexpected and no other guest were scheduled for the night. When I said in light of the above facts, I wished to cancel, I was told that would not be a problem. Two days later, I was charged for the room despite my quite civil explanation to the owner.

Réponse du propriétaire
To begin with, I was never notified that a negative review was posted to my page. The only way I found out was that today, Nov. 19th, a potential guest saw it and canceled his reservation because of it. The review contains many inaccuracies and leaves out the most important information. First of all, when this couple called and booked their room, my Inn was completely booked during the time they wished to stay. At no time did they say they would not come if the other guests canceled. The night before they were to arrive, I was taken to the emergency room with a suspected heart attack. I am in my seventies and my doctor considered my symptoms to be very serious. I remained in the hospital for a couple of days. . I called my housekeeper, from the emergency room,to cover me and let my guests in. Unfortunately, she arrived a little late and they had to wait. The other scheduled guests, a family, had canceled the day before for that night, because of a death in the family. There was no reason for the complaining couple to cancel. They were told, by my housekeeper, that more guests were checking in the next day The front of my house is never unkempt. I have had a successful business for 16 years and would never let my yard go. I am inspected and approved by AAA and other agencies. I have never heard of a police man on my block telling anyone they couldn't be out after dark. My Inn is in a perfectly safe neighborhood. I live here alone and have never had a problem. I pride myself and my employees on our hospitality. We care about our guests and provide them with the very best in comfort and surroundings, as well as a carefully prepared morning gourmet breakfast. We would never be so careless as to deliberately ignore our guests, no matter what the emergency might be. I feel am being unjustly punished with this negative review.


Stay at Aleksander House

4,4 sur juin 11, 2008

The home is lovely, with 14 ft ceilings, fabulous woodwork, beautiful doors, and a grand staircase. The dining room was beautifully decorated and the table was set for royalty! The breakfasts were fantastic and the service exceptional. We were very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in historic Old Louisville. Because of our large group (5), we shared Penina's room and Kimberly's room, which have an adjoining door. The rooms were very nice, but if I were to stay again i would want to stay in Katherine's room, which is gorgeous and is decorated to fit the period of the home (see pictures). I appreciated the freshly baked cookies, the freshly brewed ice tea and refreshing lemonade available in the Dining Room, as well as the nice selection of beverages provided in the small refrigerators located in the bedrooms. There was a generous variety and supply of books and magazines, DVD's, and videos. There is a lovely, well-kept garden out back.


You will NOT be disappointed!

5 sur avril 09, 2008

I recently returned from a mandatory conference for work in Louisville and I have to say, this B&B made the trip, not only worth while, but definitely a place I will recommend to all of my colleagues when they come out later in the year. This place feels like home from the minute you walk in...and the food! Not like any B&B I’ve ever stayed in before (standard granola and a cup of Dannon yogurt!). I was there for 3 nights and every morning I received a how breakfast from grand marnier French toast to one of the fluffiest omelets I’ve ever had. Trust me when I say…don’t miss out on this place!


Louisville Gem!

4,8 sur avril 08, 2008

When visiting Louisville and looking for a charming, authentic Victorian B&B, take a look at Aleksander House. We had a fabulous time there, close to everything, beautiful accomodations, delicious food and Nancy, the owner, was perfectly attentive and made us feel so welcome that we'll be going back to stay. Definitely highly recommended.


Charming, in-town Bed and Breakfast

5 sur mai 19, 2007

My husband and I spent the last two days at this lovely bed and breakfast in Old Louisville Kentucky. It has been a wonderful experience. Our room is beautiful, spacious and comfortable; the breakfasts have been outstanding and the Innkeeper has showered us with southern hospitality. We feel so pampered that we hate to leave. We will definitely return. We have already reserved our room for the St James Art Show in October. And we are bringing our friends with us. This Inn is highly recommended.


Aleksander House Bed & Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $124 - $209
  • Avis (62) 4,3
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5026374985
  • Fax 1-5026351398

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut