Squiers Manor B&B Avis

Ensemble
4,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,8
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,9

Notation basée sur
75 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Feel Like Part of the Family

5 sur avril 17, 2014

I cannot describe how wonderful this place is - as well as Kathy & Verl and the rest of the staff - For the past 7 years in July we stay on our way home from Wisconsin. The rooms are fabulous, the food is great, and Kathy & Verl are so considerate and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you could possibly need. Kathy is a wonderful cook, Breakfast is wonderful, and she makes the best pies and cakes, I cannot tell you my favorite. I look forward to returning many more times. Connie B - From Kansas City, Mo.


Home Away From Home

5 sur avril 13, 2014

I've stayed at Squiers Manor for the last 3 years while attending the Woodcarvers Congress, and make reservations a year in advance, for the next Congress, because I would be devastated should I find there are no rooms available. The owners, Kathy and Virl, make their guests feel not only welcomed, but like family. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, clean and spotless. The bed in my room is more comfortable than the one I have at home. Their employees are so very friendly that I hug them good bye at the end of my stay. The breakfasts are gourmet - more than I can ever eat - and the desserts are simply spectacular. I feel so fortunate to have found Squiers Manor, but even more fortunate to have found two new friends in Kathy and Virl. Their B&B is truly a "Home Away From Home." Spending a week at Squiers Manor is a luxury I give myself every year. Thank you Kathy and Virl!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for the compliments. We're so glad you consider this your "home away from home." The best part of being an innkeeper is getting to meet so many wonderful guests. Virl & I truly enjoy all of our guests and many have become friends and as close to family as you can get without actually being related. But we couldn't do what we do without our excellent staff. Thank you Peggy, Mary, Becky, Delores, & Lisa for all you do for Squiers Manor B & B. Kathy Banowetz, Innkeeper


Very Relaxing

5 sur avril 07, 2014

Squires Manor is a very relaxing get away. Nicely restored home and wonderful hosts. Evening dessert and hearty breakfast were excellent. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay there again!


Pleasant stay

3,2 sur décembre 28, 2013

We would stay again. Very kind hosts,and allowed us to bring our 4month old.


Best B&B Ever!

5 sur novembre 10, 2013

I've stayed twice at Squires Manor - first a week in July 2013 and then my husband and I went back for a weekend in early October 2013. From the first minute I arrived, Kathy, Virl and staff went out of their way to make me feel at home. The furnishings are beautiful, the food is awesome (you can't possibly leave the table hungry!) and the rooms are spotless! I loved that Kathy and Virl take time to get to know their guests and love the conversation! Will go back again and again....absolutely my favorite place to go!


Simply fabulous!

5 sur octobre 31, 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights at Squiers Manor from 10/17-10/19. We came to the area with no specific destination in mind, simply to have a mini-vacation & enjoy the fall scenery. We had a great time! While the surrounding area provided lots of things to do & see, we enjoyed the warmth & hospitality offered by the Squiers' staff. The owners were out of town & I must compliment Mary & Peggy immensely for their friendliness, courtesy & culinary talents. We have never been so impressed with any place we have stayed previously. We chose Squiers because of the good reviews we read about & intend to keep that ball rolling! We will definitely return for a visit! This place feels like home! I would not hesitate to recommend Squiers Manor to anyone. Thanks for a fantastic stay!


Fantastic Stay

5 sur octobre 29, 2013

We stayed at Squirers Manor B&B this past weekend and we had a delightful experience.. The rooms were comfortable,clean and tastefully decorated, Virl, Kathy and staff were very friendly.. Breakfast was outstanding and it was fun meeting the other couples staying there. The photos online of the rooms do not do them justice - each room is unique and more beautiful that the picture. We wished we had planned on staying another night. For those who like to hike, there is a state park nearby that has some great caves - take a flashlight along! We would like to make a return visit to this B&B!


Wonderful get away

4,6 sur septembre 27, 2013

All service was so welcoming, made you feel right at home. A tour of the home was such a delight, all rooms are exquisitely decorated and so quaint. We had a wonderful stay, enjoyed the visits at dessert time with owners and other bed and breakfast guests. We would love to go back again sometime. Thank you Kathy and Virl.


Could not have been happier!

5 sur septembre 17, 2013

Originally opting for a place in Galena or Dubuque...so glad we stumbled on this place instead. Not too far away from anyplace and absolutely the BEST B & B we've ever stayed in. Beautiful furnishings, comfortable, squeaky clean, fresh from the garden delicious breakfast AND evening candle light dessert, PLUS the friendliest inn keepers ever- Kathy & Virl are gems! Can't say enough wonderful things about this place! (and you can't beat their prices either!)


A wonderful historical B&B

4,8 sur septembre 08, 2013

We stayed here one night on a return trip home from our vacation out of state, I wish we could have stayed here longer, I do plan to return here as it is one of the the best B&B we have stayed at. We enjoy staying at all kinds and styles of lodging, but this place is beautiful and has so much original features and history to it. I must say we were impressed from the tim we arrive to the time we left, the staff and owners are friendly and quite interesting to visit with. The decore is full of antiques and fitting to the the time period of the home. Everything is clean, the beds are comfortable and the food is truely amazing. It is a quiet and relaxing place to be.


Oh My Goodness!

5 sur août 31, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of wonderful Bed and Breakfasts in the midwest, but I have found Squiers Manor to be my favorite of them all. You feel special the minute you walk in the door and everything they do has a personal touch. Cleanliness, food, price, beauty...can't say enough. Stay there once, and you'll be encouraging everyone you know to book a stay there.


You will not be disappointed. It was a wonderful experience that you will go back home and tell everyone to stay at this beautiful home.

5 sur août 29, 2013

We stayed in the ballroom which is over 1100 square feet. Very impressive and the bed was really comfortable.


fabulous historic inn

5 sur août 20, 2013

We searched all of eastern Iowa to find a B&B and this one far and away exceeded all our expectations. It's on the National Register of Historic Places and it lives up to the name. The food was superb and we were quite pleasantly surprised with a scrumptious dessert the evening we arrived. Great prices, too. The owners are most accommodating and friendly. Don't miss this B&B!


Great stay for a special birthday!

5 sur août 16, 2013

My husband booked a room at Squire Manor for my birthday. Lovely, welcoming home, great room, superb breakfast and 'to die for' evening desserts. Recommend highly.


What a Wonderful Discovery

5 sur juillet 02, 2013

We travelled on our motorcycle to eastern Iowa and searched online for a different place to stay. Squiers Manor was excellent in every way. The house is wonderfully restored and expertly decorated, the food is wonderful and Virl and Kathy are the perfect hosts. We definitely want to return.


Best stay away from home ever

5 sur juillet 02, 2013

We stayed Friday and Saturday and had a wonderful experience. Catherine and Virl were the most gracious hosts. We truly enjoyed Virl's stories. Catherine's baking and cooking were out of this world. It was so enjoyable to share desserts and breakfasts with the others staying at the Squire. The rooms were extremely clean and adorable. We will definitely be going back over the next years. The Maquokat area was also very pleasant - people were so friendly. Loved everythng about our weekend.


Mother's Day Weekend 2013

5 sur juin 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of using four rooms on the Saturday of Mother's Day weekend. We were on a wine tasting trip in central and eastern Iowa and this was our overnight stop before heading back to the Des Moines area. There were 4 couples traveling together and we all enjoyed our lovely rooms with private baths. We learned about the house and the community from Kathy when we arrived and Virl and Kathy were wonderful hosts. We had delicious dessert choices Saturday evening after we returned from dinner and then a large and varied breakfast in the dining room in the morning before departing. The desserts and coffee were a real "plus" of the stay. We would definitely return to this B&B if we're in the area again.


Wonderful First B&B Experience!!

4,8 sur juin 10, 2013

We stayed in the Loft Suite June 7-9,2013. We'd shied away from B&Bs in the past, wondering if we'd get the privacy we wanted when we did have a chance to get away now and then. We were so pleasantly surprised, not only by the quiet, privacy, and restfulness of Squier's Manor, but also by the beauty of the property and how lovingly it had been restored and maintained by Virl and Kathy. Breakfast was delicious each day! Maquoketa is a cute little town, but we were most attracted to the nearby hills and valleys surrounding the town, since we'd brought our road bikes. Got in some excellent, challenging rides! Also hiked around Maquoketa Caves State Park a bit. Thank you, Squiers Manor, for showing us all that a B&B can be! We'll definitely recommend you to our friends. ~Kim & Paul, Freeport, IL


A very Very Quiet place to relax and unwind

5 sur mai 30, 2013

I work at a very stressful job some times my wife and I simply like to get away from the technologies the hassles and the Headaches,,We found this special gem. The hosts have done a fabulous job in the restoration and preservation of this landmark home. If you are into antiquing this is the place! The owners also manage an antique mall. The nights rest I got here was amazing. even with all rooms filled all of us had the peace an quiet we expected.A rare treat these days


Highly Recommend!

5 sur mai 28, 2013

Our family stayed at Squiers Manor B&B while we attended a wedding in the area. We felt welcome the minute we stepped into the beautiful Victorian home. Kathy, Virl and staff went out of their way to make our stay one to remember! We especially loved the evening desserts that awaited us when we returned to the B&B each evening.


A beautiful B & B to relax and enjoy life!

5 sur mai 27, 2013

What a pleasure to return for another stay in this beautiful historic home. Welcoming Inn Keepers, Kathy and Viril, offer a house tour with wonderful stories. The aroma in the house of Kathy's kitchen creations will float you into the beautiful dinning room. ...And if one's schedule does not permit to be present for afternoon or evening tea, a surprise will be waiting in the frig upon return with your name on it! We look forward to our return.


Wonderful B&B

5 sur mai 22, 2013

What a wonderful way to celebrate our 50th anniversary! The room was so relaxing and the desserts and breakfasts were delicious. Kathy's peach pie was to "die for"!! We enjoyed hearing all Virl's stories and it was nice having them dine with us as it gave us a chance to get to know them.


What a wonderful place to spend our Anniversary

5 sur mai 06, 2013

We came to celebrate our 25th and had a wonderful time. It was our first time at a B&B and I can say it won't be our last. We will be back for another visit we have more rooms to try out. The owners Kathy & Viril were fantastic and Kathy is a superb cook . The two of them know so much history of the town and the home they refurbished. We met Wayne and Ellen over dessert at the the B&B one evening and really enjoyed the visit we went to visit the local artist at old City Hall art Museum. Wayne and Ellen own the place and their daughter Rose Frantzen is the star artist in the town we spent a few hours going thru all the wonderful paintings that she has done. We are hoping to maybe meet her on our next visit. We left the art museum with a print of one of hearing paintings. The owners of the B&B owner a antique market WOW want beautiful pieces. We actually ended up buying a piece. We are looking forward to our next visit and taking some of our friends.


Perfect getaway!

5 sur avril 27, 2013

From the moment we walked in we felt very relaxed and welcomed by the owner. The tour of the antique filled home and learning it's history was great, We loved our room and it was decorated beautifully and spotless.The breakfast was delicious and the dessert by candle light was perfect! We were thankful for the beverages available anytime. Innkeepers and staff were a joy! Look forward to staying again.


Relaxing weeking! It was GREAT meeting new people but then again having time to ourselves!

5 sur avril 22, 2013

We had reservations for one room but ended upgrading to the Ballroom. It was lovely. We just enjoyed the radio and imagining hat life was like years ago when they held wedding receceptions in that room. It was a much needed relaxing evening. Having dessert and breakfast with others was GREAT. We always enjoy meeting new people. Thanks so much for a Fabulous weekend. I would highly recommend this to everyone that needs a relaxing night away


What a perfect way to celebrate my 35th bday!

4,8 sur avril 07, 2013

A lovely home with lots of beauty and elegant charm. Wonderful hospitality and delicious home cooked breakfast. Thank you again Kathy and Virl!


A Beautiful B&B

5 sur mars 23, 2013

I can't speak highly enough about this beautiful B&B! Spectacular home and wonderful service. The antiques add to the beauty of this home. The breakfast was delicious and a delight, shared with the owners. 6 of us ladies stayed for a "girls" overnight and get away. It was just great!


Great stay and service.

4,6 sur mars 18, 2013

Kathy helped us pull off a surprise birthday party for my sister-in-law. She was super helpful and accommodating. B&B is very clean and breakfast was great. She also has a selection of desserts at night that are outstanding. I highly recommend this B&B.


surprise birthday party

4,8 sur mars 17, 2013

Our family had been planning a surprise birthday party for my wife for a couple of months. We could never have pulled it off without Kathy's help. From the time we arrived, until the moment we said goodbye, we were immersed in good old midwestern hospitality. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quite charming. The architecture was impressive, and the decor of the rooms was a real treat for anyone, but in particular for people who appreciate antiques. The food was great, and the drinks and homemade snacks available any time was a nice homey touch. I would recommend this B&B and plan to make return visit . Virl and Kathy thank you so much


Great place to stay

5 sur mars 13, 2013

We travel for our job and we LOVE staying here. Always friendly and warm. We like to stay at B&B's whenever possible and this is definitely one of our favorites. Highly recommend it.


UNBELIEVABLE ACCOMMODATIONS!

5 sur mars 10, 2013

This B&B was AMAZING! I HIGHLY recommend booking The Ballroom Suite! Even if you stay in any of the other GORGEOUS rooms, you are sure to be amazed. From the charming original woodwork, the gorgeous staircase that warmly greets you as you walk through the front, to the dining room that demands your attention- this is the place to be! There is no lack of history in this home that is decorated from top to bottom with antique pieces! My husband and I will DEFINATELY be coming back here! We loved Cathy & Virl and how they shared all their family stories. We felt like we were old friends instead of guests. Thinking about staying and bringing wine? Don't bother! You can buy amazing bottles of wine from the kitchen! (Try Picket Fence for a savory not too sweet but not too dry wine!- complete with wine bottle opener) But the highlight of my night was going out for dinner at True Restaurant and coming back to Squiers Manor to HOME MADE DESSERT AND COFFEE BY CANDLE LIGHT! Thank you, Cathy & Virl for making our stay so special! - George & Melissa Gonzales


Wine Trail and Antiques

5 sur mars 08, 2013

Squires Manor is a beautifully restored old mansion and well situated among wine trails and antique stores. Virl & Kathy are wonderful hosts. Breakfast and dessert are outstanding


Love this place, great hosts

5 sur novembre 03, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed here. Enough said.


Add this to your must-do list!

5 sur octobre 24, 2012

My husband and I made last-minute reservations at the Squiers Manor for a fall weekend get-away. We were thrilled by the accommodations, hospitality and food. Kathy and Virl are the perfect hosts. The rooms were stunning. The breakfasts and desserts were wonderful. We'll definitely be back!


Outstanding

5 sur octobre 22, 2012

I was looking for a surprise for my wife for our 20th anniversary. Having never stayed at a B & B before I had not considered one but I happened get lucky and find this one while searching on the internet. To say we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement. This bed and breakfast is amazing. The house is completely restored to its former glory. We stayed in the Ball Room Suite which if you are looking to put you stay over the top it is well worth extra cost. Both breakfast and the evening desserts were awesome. Had dinner at the historic Decker Hotel a few blocks away which we would also recommend. The staff was very friendly. Mrs Banowetz gave us a tour and the history of the house when we arrived. If you want the complete tour arrive early as she will show you all the rooms that have not been checked into yet. Having not stayed in a bed and breakfast before we do not have anything to compare this one to but it is hard to imagine how you could get any better than this one.


Squiers Manor B&B

5 sur octobre 21, 2012

I felt truly pamperedfor my anniversary. An exceptional value for an outstandingly beautiful home. Dessert by candlelight in the evening was really fun. Kathy and Virl were knowledgeable about the area and great at making us feel comfortable. I slept so well and the rooms were so quiet! You wouldn't have known there were 10 people staying in the house. You should give this B&B a try, you won't be disappointed.


Squiers Manor service, ambiance makes for magical weekend!

5 sur octobre 19, 2012

When I was making plans for an out-of-state family reunion, a Maquoketa resident recommended Squiers Manor. The owners made the planning easy for me. The Squiers Manor website gives an accurate description of the rooms and how many people each room can accommodate. Even though the website photos are lovely, photos cannot do justice in conveying the warmth and charm of this 19th-century mansion. The house is an extension of its owners, Kathy and Virl. Their kind hospitality made us feel like longtime family friends. They transformed our family reunion into lifetime memories! -- Theresa, Chicago


Elegance and charm

4,8 sur septembre 17, 2012

We arrived very late after a very wet and cold ride. The owners Cathy and Viril met us outside to welcome us and asked if we would like a cup of hot chocolate. We went inside we felt as though we stepped back in time. The decorating,the craftmanship,the lights were all just amazingly beautiful. By the time we checked in, went to our room and came back downstairs are hot chocolate was ready and they also made us grilled cheese sandwiches since we had not eaten any dinner. We were so overwelmed with their hospitality. The breakfast each day was delicious and way more than we could finish. They even give you an evening desert. We would definitely go back and would recommend the Squires Manor B&B to anyone who loves the elegance and charm of the late 19th century and gracious hosts.


WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL

5 sur septembre 17, 2012

We spent the day stopping in every little shop between Des Moines and Maquoketa. We arrived one of the loveliest Victorian homes I have ever seen. We were in awe of the beautiful woodwork and antiques. Our room was spotless. And breakfast was filling and delicious. If you are looking for a great place to stay after a long day, this is it. We ate dinner at the golf course club restaurant, and highly recommend that also.


Wow!

5 sur septembre 08, 2012

What a delightful experience--incredible house and furnishings, evening dessert by candlelight and breakfast in the beautiful dining room, and innkeepers' hospitality and attention to detail. What a treat to be greeted at the door and taken on a tour of the entire house by Mrs. Banowetz. Opal's Room was pristine clean and very beautiful and comfortable.


Lovely Experience

5 sur août 21, 2012

My first time ever in a B&B and truly enjoyed it. The residence is awesome and so elegant, and my room was airy and very nice. Enjoyed everything about my stay there. Well worth it, in every way. Very quiet and the food was delicious and in abundance. You won't regret staying here. Would love to go back every weekend. If you try it, you'll love it. Thanks so much for a lovely memory in my Maquoketa visit. Debbie L.


Wonderful Experience

5 sur août 19, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice. The first time we were in Opal's Parlor and recently we chose the Loft. The Manor is beautifully decorated and very clean. Kathy and Virl are great hosts and Kathy a great cook. It was a wonderful experince each time. We will return.


Anniversary Weekend

5 sur août 10, 2012

I have been meaning to write this for over a year. Last year (2011), over the 4th of July weekend, my wife and I decided to go on a drive and spend the night wherever we ended up. We came to Squires late in the evening and were happy to hear that there was still a vacancy. Having never stayed in a B&B before we did not know what to expect. We now refuse to stay anywhere but a B&B. Thank you for a wonderful stay, very good food and a most gracious hostess. Dan & Dianna


Quiet get away

5 sur juillet 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Ballroom suite for 3 nights. In our room when we arrived was a mini chocolate cake complete with candle as they knew we were celebrating my birthday. Every morning breakfast was brought to our room which was a wonderful option as we prefer to "hide out" and enjoy a little seclusion. The breakfasts were huge. The nightly desserts were amazing!! The room was spotless. The staff was wonderfully accomodating. I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay. We will definitely be back!


One tank trip for a weekend

5 sur juillet 02, 2012

My husband and I needed a one trip tank trip for a weekend. We used the B and B website and found Squires Manor in Maquoketa. What a wonderful find for us. The historic house is beautifully and authentically maintained. The food was delicious and the hosts were helpful but not hovering. I especially loved the front porch swing and the desserts. Outstanding


wonderful place to stay

4,8 sur juin 26, 2012

My husband and I received a gift certificate to stay here and had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and they let us invite guests to eat with us. We hope to stay again soon!


Just passing through...

5 sur juin 01, 2012

I needed a place to stay for one night because I was just passing through the area. I originally was looking for a chain hotel. For about the same price, I found Squiers Manor. As a result, what would have been a plain night in a plain hotel turned out to be absolutely delightful. The host and hostess were very dedicated to pleasing their guests.


Our first family getaway!

5 sur mai 28, 2012

We found this place by accident and didn't know what to expect, but had such a wonderful stay! The rooms are very clean and well-kept, and Kathy & Virl are so welcoming. The food was great, we had a breakfast casserole made with veggies from the garden, banana pancakes, everything was homemade and delicious! The candlelight desserts was a nice extra. We had a great time relaxing around the house with our 7 month old baby (they don't have a crib so if you do come with a baby, bring a pack n' play). We'll definitely be back!


Pleasant Stay on Pleasant Street

4,8 sur avril 19, 2012

This is a beautiful house and most pleasant staff and services were provided. The house is period decorated-many beautiful pieces. Definitely recommending this to others. Our room was very comfortable. The staff couldn't be more helpful or accommodating.


Beautiful antique house!

4,8 sur février 08, 2012

We stayed in the J.E. Squires room, and were not disappointed. When we arrived, Kathy gave us a tour of the house and most of the rooms. We were amazed at the number of antiques, the beauty of each room, and the ambiance of the whole house. Gorgeous! We had a delicious breakfast the next morning, and a nice visit with Kathy and Virl. From there we visited the Old City Hall Gallery, and then the Banowitz Antique Mall. It was a fun visit!


Amazing Furnishings

4,4 sur janvier 04, 2012

This B&B had such gorgeous furnishings. Relaxing and calm environment. Enjoyed our stay


Fantastic Stay

5 sur octobre 25, 2011

We had an exceptional experience. Kathy was a gracious host and willing to take care of the smallest details to make our stay perfect. My elderly parents received extra special treatment. The rooms were beautifully decorated and immaculate. The evening dessert was delicious. Breakfast yummy! All this and the price was very reasonable. I highly recommend Squiers Manor..and know you will not be disappointed!


Best B&B ever!

5 sur août 29, 2011

This B&B is by far the best one we have stayed at. Beautiful, clean, great hosts, good food, and an out standing experience. Virl and Kathy are great hosts, with an evening dessert, and a great breakfast, plus all the conversation you want. Virl has some great stories to tell. The room was spacious and beautiful, and the hot tub was great. Overall, a great experience. Can't wait to come back again.


Beautiful historic home and great service

4,8 sur août 02, 2011

We arrived later than we hoped and were greeted warmly by Mary. There were homemade desserts and cold water in the fridge waiting for us. The home has been lovingly cared for, with high ceilings, gorgeous wood trim, tiled fireplaces, antiques in all rooms, and a big porch with a swing. Peggy and Mary served us delicious breakfasts and they were very friendly to our curious and sociable first grader. Highly recommended!


So happy we found Squiers Manor! What a treat!

5 sur mai 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I decided to head to Iowa from New York City to do some antiquing and get away from the city. We by chance came across Squiers Manor online and are so glad we did. The accomodations are amazing and you couldn't hope for two more lovely inn keepers. If you go (and I recommend that everyone does) be sure to partake and breakfast and dessert. Mrs. Banowetz is an incredible cook. Also, the ballroom is well worth it - we have never seen such a room before. I hope to go back again!


Delightful experience

5 sur mai 26, 2011

I just spent two days at Squier's Manor and enjoyed every minute of it. The accommodations were an "experience" of stepping back in time. The food was wonderful and the hosts delightful. Maquoketa is a quaint town and the Old City Hall Gallery is not to be missed.


a GREAT EXPERIENCE!!

5 sur mai 06, 2011

Our first time at a B&B...and we absolutely thoroughly enjoyed it!! Hosts werevery gracious and personable. Breakfast lasted us all day! Great food and deserts! Would definitely recomment this B&B and would return again! Thank you Virl & Kathy for a great new experience and making our stay a pleasant memory!


Absolutely Wonderful

4,8 sur mars 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary, the entire experience was perfect. They gave us a tour of the house and told us the history, and made me want to come back and stay in each room! Each room has a great story and it's own personality. The food was fantastic, and everything was homemade! Absolutely lovely, best experience we have had.


Stay here!

4,0 sur mars 21, 2011

My daughter and I had a great time at Squire's Manor B&B. We had the pleasure of staying in Opal's Parlor and it was perfect for us. We loved the bay window area and there was plenty of room for us to relax and feel pampered in. The food was absolutely wonderful - from the rich brownie and ice cream dessert in the evening to the almond pancakes + so much more for breakfast. Addionally, our hosts were delightful! We will definitely visit again and highly recommend Squire's Manor B&B as a place for all to stay! Thank you, Kathy and Virl!!


We loved it and are going back

5 sur février 23, 2011

Wow!!! What a house. The owners are so nice. We had a great breakfast with them at the dining room table. This house is amazing. We are going back this weekend.


relaxing-fun-inkeepers are a true delight!!!!!

5 sur octobre 14, 2010

we were greeted by kathy, we felt right at home, can't wait to come back!!! the candle light desert and breakfast WOW!!!! THANK YOU!!


Enchanting Getaway

5 sur septembre 14, 2010

Last year friends and I were in Maquoketa and spent the weekend in a noisy, crowded, hotel where the other guests absconded with the breakfast buffet stuffed in their pockets. This year we opted for Squires Manor instead. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed, shown around the fabulous B&B, and given delightful personal care. The candlelight dessert was a delicious delight. After a quiet, peaceful night's sleep, we were treated to a healthy and outstanding breakfast. We enjoyed the other guests, conversed with our hosts, and pretty much wished we could move in permanently. This B&B is personality plus.


Our 4th Stay

5 sur août 07, 2010

Every July we travel to wisconsin, and it would not be the same if we didn't stop in and see Virl & Kathy - you could not ask for a more pleasant place to stay and the food is wonderful. Virl & Kathy treat you like family - I would reccomend this to any and everyone....... Until next year......


What an awesome experience.

5 sur août 05, 2010

I had the opportunity to stay in this exquisite B&B for two nights. Kathy and Virl are wonderful hosts and the food is fabulous. It is worth the drive to Maquoketa just to see this beauitful mansion.


Wonderful place

5 sur mars 22, 2010

Squiers Manor is one of the most delightful and elegant B&B's I have ever stayed in.It is a meticulously restored Victorian home with loving adherence to period furniture and decor, and I couldn't have felt more welcome. The Inn is tucked into a beautiful and historic part of eastern Iowa, with any season a treat for the traveler. The innkeepers obviously know what they are doing in treating their guests to a memorable stay, and I would recommend this B&B to anyone: couples, corporate people, or just those of us who love an exceptional place to relax and savor the ambience. By the way, did I mention the delicious breakfast, served on lovely china, with food I only wish I could make as well! I'll be back, and it will be worth traveling the 1500 miles from California. Thanks, Squiers Manor!


We honeymooned here, and are making it our annual anniversary getaway

4,6 sur février 23, 2010

Delightful- the loft suite is a perfect romantic getaway, and the breakfasts are to die for. Beautiful home, and we love visiting wineries in the area! We look forward to it every year!


Didn't miss the kids at all!

5 sur décembre 07, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our quick get-away to your lovely B&B. Verl and Kathy were very hospitable (even when we locked her out!) We would certianly return for another visit.


Outstanding B&B Experience

5 sur août 08, 2009

The rooms were all very unique including the Ballroom on the third floor. This room has 1100 square feet and has luxury that you would not expect on the third floor. The meals were all made from scratch and they offered a candlelight dessert in the evening! The innkeepers were very nice and spent considerable time with us. Please check this one out.


exquisite home

5 sur mai 29, 2009

Beautifully restore mansion, excellent food and accommodating hosts; small, quiet town


Amazing Bed and Breakfast

5 sur mars 31, 2009

Kathy and Virl cater your every desire. The house has an amazing look and feel with stunning woodwork throughout. The suites are luxurious, but the regular rooms exceeded my every expectation. The rooms are large and well furnished with a coffee machine, television, phone, spacious bathrooms, and fine furniture. The room rates are very affordable, especially when you consider you receive a great breakfast every morning and wonderful dessert every night, and beverages as you desire. The surrounding activities in Maquoketa are ample and very fun. The caves are amazing, and Rose Frantzen's (a local artist) art gallery is very interesting (even for someone who is unfamiliar with art, like myself). Overall, the stay at Squire's Manor was spectacular, and I will definitely be returning.


Wonderful Experience

4,0 sur mars 31, 2009

Squires Manor had the nicest host's Virl and Kathy, they made sure your experience was great. Anything they could do, to make your experience there better, they did. The woodwork in the house was amazing. Our room was very clean and filled with all the necessities needed. We will definitely go back!


Spring getaway

4,0 sur mars 29, 2009

interesting, quiet


Our Favorite B & B

5 sur mars 26, 2009

As we contemplate where we should go to rejuvenate, our 1st choice is Squiers Manor B & B. Coming from the Quad Cities, it's a quick jaunt. We enjoy the emaculate, peaceful atmosphere, the yummy breakfast and dessert, and the spacious hot tub. The close proximity to Galena, Bellevue and Dubuque make for a terrific shopping trip. Maquketa Caves are great for an outdoor adventure too. Our favorite rooms include the Ballroom and the Loft. Although we have stayed there many times in the past 10 years, we look forward to returning to our favorite B & B.


Beautiful Home!

4,6 sur janvier 03, 2009

Relaxing, private retreat in the Loft Suite. Great whirlpool tub, and we very much enjoyed our breakfast (delivered to the room!). Would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful get away

4,8 sur octobre 06, 2007

Wonderfully inviting property. Pictures don't do it justice. Beautiful!


Squiers Manor B&B

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $80 - $195
  • Avis (75) 4,9
  • Chambres 8
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5636526961
  • Fax 1-5636525995

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut