Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,5

Notation basée sur
68 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Thanks & thoughts!

3,6 sur décembre 09, 2013

Stay was very nice. I was able to enjoy my stay and visit with my friends in good conversation. Would have like bottled water and brewed coffee more available.


Fantastic Time

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Martha Perry House and loved it. It was very comfortable, quiet and clean. We sat on the front porch and enjoyed, then we sat in the back yard nice. The antique shops where great during the day. We will make this a yearly visit.


No more motels

4,2 sur septembre 27, 2013

We've stayed at motels in Richmond for years because of convenience but this year we stayed at the Philip Smith Bed and Breakfast. Cleanliness, comfort, friendliness and good food were far superior to any places we stayed in the past. All our future trips through Richmond will include the Philip Smith B and B.


Fabulous experience!

4,4 sur septembre 22, 2013

Stayed in the Parry House which was very comfortable and host Kris took great care of my wife and me and our 15-year-old daughters. The stay really took us back to a wonderful era! Easy access to all of Richmond, including Earlham College. Would highly recommend as an alternative to cookie-cutter hotels with no personalized service.


Wonderful place to stay!

5 sur août 25, 2013

my husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and boy what a wonderful place to stay. We actually stayed at the Martha Parry home. Everything was wonderful. Kris was very hospitable and made us feel comfortable in every aspect. What a beautiful experience, thank you very much!


A great place to stay.

4,8 sur août 21, 2013

The house is beautiful, the beds comfortable, the furnishings great, and the inn keeper very friendly. They have thought of every detail. I was worried about noise from the street, but they had a "white noise" machine in the room and it worked beautifully. Would definitely stay here again.


Breakfast

3,2 sur août 10, 2013

Very disappointing--was not gormet..a slice of cantalope and banana-canned roll and a bad fratata...everything else was great...but we got nothing that looked like the breakfast shown in the listing.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 sur mars 17, 2013

Bob and Mary from Grand Rapids, MI We had a wonderful time at Jill's Bed and Breakfast. Her lovely home was warm, inviting, and filled with antiques. Thanks for making our stay special.


THANK YOU JILL you are a joy to know. Glad we came to your town,You are one busy girl !Good luck in all your ventures

5 sur septembre 28, 2012

sharon and jacque newerth from indy stayed september 2012


Great B&B in Richmond Indiana

3,6 sur juillet 30, 2012

I stayed at the Martha Parry B&B for 2 nights when attending my high school reunion. I highly recommend that you consider this B&B for a stay, even though you can stay more cheaply at a local chain hotel. The upgrade is definitely worth it. The couple that owns this place did a fantastic job restoring it. The rooms and furnishings are beautiful. The breakfasts were excellent. Jill (and her two small children) was a wonderful hostess. Her husband, in the National Guard, is often away from home on military deployments, but Jill remains cheerful, hard-working, and is a delight to talk to. I stayed in the room they think was Martha Parry's bedroom, with a 4-poster bed, and it was very comfortable, roomy, and well-equipped. There was even a small "kitchenette" on the second floor for the convenience of guests. The B&B is right across main street from Glen Miller Park, a great place for a stroll. The front porch is a nice place to sit and talk in the evenings, too.


Great place to stay in Richmond, IN.!

4,8 sur mai 16, 2012

We experienced a very pleasant two night stay in Mr. Smith's room and felt very comfortable using the front parlor in the evening. Eileen was very gracious and shared her knowledge of the area to enrich our restaurant and antiquing experiences. The full breakfast was great each day and our food preferences were taken into consideration which was very appreciated. We would stay there again!!


Outstanding place to stay!

5 sur avril 30, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed this place. We will definitely be back. Thanks.


A Wonderful Place to Stay In Richmond!

5 sur avril 28, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Martha E Parry Bed and Breakfast while our son was visiting Earlam College and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The inn is fantastically furnished, the breakfasts were wonderful and the hospitality of Jill was fabulous. We enjoyed our conversations with Jill very much and the evening treats were a great way to end the day. The location is very convenient to historic downtown Richmond and Earlham and is right across the street from Glen Miller Park and Richmond's community rose garden. The Currys Peace Dale, RI


Most Amazing Escape

4,8 sur avril 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Parry house and I say, it was absolutely magnificent. I booked it as a little getaway for my husband and he loved it. We got to Richmond a little late and were not able to enjoy the historic district because everything was closed but the bed and breakfast itself was great enough that we didn't need all that. The room was perfect. We were the only ones there and the owners are just wonderful. Jill's husband came to the house after being gone in the service and still made us, complete strangers, breakfast. He was a great person to have a conversation with and makes an mean plate of food in the morning. It was delicious. I would recommend this over and over again and will probably stay there as often as possible.


Lovely Spot

5 sur avril 07, 2012

This B&B exceeded my expectations. There is also a mini-kitchen on the second floor available for our use. Jill is perfectly wonderful! She knows the area very well and is happy to provide suggestions and directions - anything we needed. A real gem!


WHAT A WONDERFUL PLACE!

5 sur avril 04, 2012

I stayed at the Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast for one night over a weekend. It was such a great stay that me and my quest both really enjoyed! The staff was so nice especially the kind lady that checked us in and also made the breakfast. Oh and the breakfast! it was wonderful! homemade and was prepared wonderfully! we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back to stay again! I WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE! Thanks for a great weekend!


This B&B was awesome!

5 sur mars 29, 2012

Having never stayed at a B&B before, I wasn't sure what to expect. But after this great experience, I will certainly look at B&B's vs. hotels for my future travel needs. The room was quite cozy, clean and affordable. The bed was extremely comfortable and the food and staff were amazing! I loved it and if I ever have an opportunity to travel back to Richmond, IN, I'll definitely stay there again.


Richmond

4,2 sur décembre 27, 2011

The house was beautiful. The food excellent. Did not know about the extra blankets in the drawers...it was pretty cold


Richmond, Indiana

4,8 sur novembre 21, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at Philip W. Smith B&B in Richmond, IN. The hostess recommended an excellent restaurant and we had a lovely conversation with her over breakfast. It's a beautiful old house. Too bad that urban sprawl has pu it on a very busy road.


Wonderful B & B

4,4 sur novembre 16, 2011

A great stay at Phillip W. Smith B & B. The owners/hosts were very cordial and friendly. Fabulous breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday morning. The house was beautiful and charming. You cannot find that kind of workmanship in newer building today.


Excellent

5 sur novembre 16, 2011

All around great host and great food with a bueatiful house.Just perfect!


Wonderful room, comfortable bed, awesome decor

4,0 sur novembre 02, 2011

I spent one night in a nice room with a king size bed that was very comfortable. The breakfast was nice, it would have been nicer if I'd had some choice on the meal, I don't eat pork, but the quiche was excellent. I'd certainly stay there again.


Perfection!

4,8 sur novembre 02, 2011

A GORGEOUS house with beautiful rooms and furnishings! Loved the evening dessert and shared kitchen--it was perfect! Our bed was wonderfully comfy and the entire room was so comfortable! Thank you for a fabulous stay!


Great base location for antiquing with a group

3,8 sur octobre 21, 2011

My first stay ever at a B&B was as nice as hoped. Met my sisters there for a couple days of antique shopping. A very comfortable and beautifully restored property, the Parry house had private baths for each room and a small second-floor kitchen for guests. Many antique stores within 5-20 minute drive, plus the historic depot area in Richmond, and a very nice park across the street from the B&B. Good restaurant variety in Richmond. I recommend the properties for any traveler, but especially for a family reunion or a ladies' group.


Comfortable and Wonderful B&B

5 sur octobre 18, 2011

My 2 sisters and I stayed at the Parry House for 2 nights while we hunted through the areas many antiques stores. Jill was a great hostess and has created a very pleasant and comfortable B&B to stay at. The mini kitchen upstairs by the rooms is a great asset for guests to store things in the refrigerator or just grab a quick cup of coffee or tea. (Jill also leaves a dessert out for guests in the evening) The rooms we stayed in at the Parry House, rooms #2 & #3, were absolutely great. All 3 of us will definitely be staying there again.


great stay

3,8 sur octobre 06, 2011

Great location right across from Glenn Miller park. The Inn had great character and we really enjoyed our stay. The innkeepers were very nice and helpful. There is an.upstairs communal kitchen with fridge, microwave, coffee, tea, and the innkeeper even had out homemade apple pie while we were there! The only downside is that the WiFi was pretty slow.


Philip W Smith

4,8 sur octobre 05, 2011

The beds were very comfortable and the breakfasts were outstanding. Our host made many suggestions for lunch and dinner and made herself available if we needed anything.


I love this B&B!

4,2 sur septembre 29, 2011

I visit richmond around once a year to visit family. This B&B is the only place I stay (over my own family!). Great house, tons of character. The rooms are very clean and comfy. We enjoy the breakfast...Overall, A very relaxing stay. Jill is a great Innkeeper and we always have fun catching up with her when we are in town.


Reunion weekend

4,6 sur septembre 22, 2011

A beautiful old home in a lovely neighborhood. The food and service were exceptional, and the room was very clean. My only complaint is that the shower is extremely small. Also, we had the room fronting on the street (US 40) and the traffic noise was a little intense the first night, but we soon got use to it. My suggestion, next time get a room at the rear or side of the house.


weekend getaway

4,6 sur septembre 12, 2011

The accomodations were excellent. Owner was well informed about the area. And eager to share. Particularly enjoyed the opportunity to meet other guests and share with them


Perfict start to Honeymoon

5 sur septembre 04, 2011

The stay at the bed and breakfast was a perfict start to our honeymoon, and our new life together. Everything was perfict.


Most relaxing weekend!

5 sur août 28, 2011

The 3 nights we stayed at the P W Smith B&B were the most relaxed we have ever experienced at any hotel or B&B!! The atmosphere was calm and soothing, the room was fabulous, the food was great (they even accommodated my food allergies), and the inn keepers Elaine and Jill were superb - so friendly and helpful. They were so knowledgeable about the area and the history of the home. Our daughter lives in the area, so both she and her husband will recommend this B&B to their colleagues and we will tell all of our friends. We will stay again when our daughter's home is full to capacity with family!


MB

3,6 sur août 28, 2011

Very elegant place with beautiful wood work and stained glass windows. Pleasant hostess. Will stay here again by all means.


Wonderful way to start a new chapter, or renew yourself

5 sur août 27, 2011

It was so nice to spend the night there. It was a beautiful and wonderful start to my new wife's and my life together and to start our honeymoon. I will be back for a stay several more times again.


28th Wedding Anniversary

4,2 sur août 26, 2011

As nice a bed and breakfast that we have ever been involved with. Thanks Jill (and Johanna and Teddy)


Lovely place to stay!

5 sur août 23, 2011

This beautiful house was exquisitely restored, and very comfortable to stay in. The innkeeper was warm and welcoming, and cooked a delicious breakfast. We felt very well looked after.


A Beautiful Experience

5 sur août 22, 2011

The experience exceeded our expectations. The house and the room were spotless, beautiful and completely comfortable. The breakfast was prepared and served in the family style. It was delicious and served in a friendly but professional manner. We had an interesting conversation with the other guests, and left with a warm feeling.


What a blessed stay after long travel

4,8 sur août 21, 2011

Directions help: The directions only led us to the Perry House, we were physically told where to go. That was scary trying to make the 6pm deadline and being exhausted not knowing why we couldn't get access to our B&B. Once we were in the right location the tension dissipated and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Try to guide guests to one B&B with specific address's to each. The park across from the MP house would be a solid land mark too. Also, when directions are for the PS house guests should know where to go for parking.


excellent!

5 sur août 19, 2011

Jill was very kind to us during our stay. It was our anniversay weekend and she recommended great places to eat and she gave us our privacy. Thank you for a great weekend.


Not my last stay at the Martha Perry B+B

5 sur août 14, 2011

This was my very first time at a B+B and I couldn't have been more excited and the Perry B+B did not disappoint. From the moment I stepped thru the front door I felt I had been taken back in time and for someone interested in family history it was a great treat. i can't say enough about the cleanliness,hospitality or food. I look forward to my next trip. Thank you for making myself and my 5 cousins feel welcome. Jo McGinnis


Lovely

4,6 sur juillet 28, 2011

I really enjoyed my time at this B & B. Everything about it was lovely. The raspberry french toast was especially delicious! My best friend and I are thinking about making this an annual event because we had such a fun time exploring the surrounding small towns looking for antiques.


Good Atmosphere and facilities

4,4 sur juillet 20, 2011

The check-in time was flexible thanks to proper communication. The decoration is beautiful with lots of hard wood antique furniture. I did appreciate having the sitting and sleeping furniture being antique replicas so that I didn't feel like I might break something just through wear and tear. Many of the replicas are also for sale, so if you find something you really like you may be able to buy it. The rooms do not have access to a full kitchen, but there is a kitchenette of sorts in the hallway. It has a microwave, water tank, refrigerator/freezer, various hot drink mixes (tea ect.), silverware, and evening desert. The room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The breakfast I had was very good, but if you are a picky eater you should let the staff know because the breakfasts are intentionally different than the run of the mill eggs bacon and pan cakes.


My favorite place to stay in Richmond

5 sur juillet 11, 2011

The best place to gather with friends and be in a homey atmosphere. Food and accomodations are great.


Smith B&B

3,4 sur juillet 02, 2011

We stayed in the Smith house. Fascinating woodwork. Delicious food. Most of the accommodations were top notch, and the proprietors were very gracious. The weather outside was hot, which might explain the extra-cold temperature in the bathroom. The reproduction sleigh-bed was attractive, but the mattress was very uncomfortable.


Parry House review

4,0 sur juin 29, 2011

Our stay was great. We have stayed at the Smith house and thoroughly enjoyed our host so we returned to the Parry House. It is just as lovely as the Smith and the host is very welcoming and gracious. The food was delicious and the rooms in perfect order. We will definitely stay at either again when visiting family in town.


BEAUTIFUL B&B

5 sur juin 15, 2011

My sister and I were visiting Antique Alley and chose this B&B for our accommodations. We couldn't be any more thrilled. Eileen, the caretaker, took care of every need, breakfast was wonderful, and she gave us a good tip for dinner. The home is gorgeous. In fact, the entire neighborhood was lovely. We will be back!


One night

3,8 sur juin 14, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. We will consider staying there again if we ever visit that area again.


Philip W. Smith - best place to stay in Richmond IN

4,6 sur juin 13, 2011

My cousin and I make this our destination on Memorial Day week-end. We were raised in the area and have found this the best place to stay. We have our evening "chataquas" in the parlor. Eileen, our hostess,(and Kris's mother) is very gracious and we invite her to join us in our breakfast discussions. Another patron and I banter via the guest book as to which one of us gets to book the room next. The house is beautiful and very clean. Breakfasts are not run of the mill, unless that is what you request.


A beautiful historic home

4,6 sur juin 01, 2011

This B&B is absolutely beautiful. The furnishings, accessories, wood trim and moldings, built-ins, paint and wallpaper, all were sumptuous, fresh, and interesting. The bed was very comfortable. I wished there had been better light for reading in the bedroom. The cost per night was slightly less than the nearby Hampton Inn, so I considered it a good value. Breakfast was delicious, and the innkeeper was very personable.


A surprise!

4,0 sur mai 27, 2011

Quite by accident we found this delightful B and B. Loved the rooms, food and the town, a real slice of America! The Martha B building was awesome and richly adorned with beautiful wall coverings and leaded glass window. A real find!


Philip Smith B&B

4,4 sur mai 11, 2011

This is a lovely B&B, and the proprietor is very warm. She remembers Earlham parents from year to year, and makes guests feel very welcome.


Nice place

4,6 sur avril 27, 2011

Owners made us feel welcome and were very accommodating. Really liked the breakfasts.


A wonderful place to stay while visiting Earlham College

5 sur avril 24, 2011

My daughter, who has been accepted at Earlham College, and I stayed at the Martha E. Parry House B&B while visiting Earlham. I've stayed at many B&B's, but this one (and I assume the Philip W. Smith House, also owned and operated by Jill and Kris Nelson) is special. It's a restored Victorian with stunning stained glass windows, mahogany woodwork, and painted and molded ceilings and furnished with antique reproductions which may be custom ordered. Comfortable, quiet, and luxurious, yet in the same price ballpark as Richmond, IN hotels. We stayed in a bedroom with a canopied bed, sofa, fireplace, armoire, and TV/DVR. Our private bathroom had a claw-footed tub and shower head. High-quality towels and sheets. A small kitchen down the hall is available for guest use and is stocked with paperback books, DVDs, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, microwave, coffee and coffee maker, tea, dishes and silverware, and small frig. Home-made, individually wrapped desserts are left for the guests in the refrigerator nightly. Breakfasts are delicious and filling. The hosts are friendly, charming, and knowledgeable about the area and gave great restaurant recommendations. We were very pleased, and I'll look forward to staying here again while visiting my daughter at Earlham.


Wonderful place to stay

4,6 sur avril 17, 2011

We were greeted by our host on Friday night, and were shown around the house. Kris told us about the history of the house and pointed out some of the beautiful architectural detailing including the sirens on the staircase and the stained glass window. There was a dessert waiting for us on the sideboard, which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was delicious, ample and friendly both mornings. I am so glad we chose to stay here while visiting Earlham. We will be back.


Great place to stay in Richmond!

4,0 sur janvier 03, 2011

Kris and Jill were perfect innkeepers who made our stay very enjoyable. We booked last minute and got their smallest room - perfect for one person, but a tight squeeze for two. However, we will certainly plan to stay here again during our next visit!


Nice B&B

3,8 sur décembre 27, 2010

Very pleasant. Wi-fi worked great & very nice to have fridge and microwave available. Breakfast & evening snacks were unremarkable.


weekend getaway

4,0 sur décembre 19, 2010

we met friends and stayed the weekend at this Bed & Breakfast. The hostess was very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat.


Christmas getaway...

4,2 sur décembre 17, 2010

We recently stayed at the PWSmith BB with some very good friends for a two day Christmas getaway. We scheduled our visit months ago and were expecting a peaceful, relaxing visit. We were not disappointed. Our accommodations where lovely, the host was exceptional, and the breakfast was superb. We will definitely recommend these accommodations to our friends. Thanks so much…


Classic and cozy

5 sur novembre 28, 2010

The rooms are beautifully furnished. The living room and dinning room is stunning. The food is always hot and tasty. The staff are welcoming and knowledgeable about local events and dining.


P w Smith review

5 sur octobre 28, 2010

Good food Very friendly innkeeper Very knowledgable of things and places to do/see within 100 miles


Very nice B&B

4,0 sur octobre 26, 2010

This was a great B&B! The house was very pretty and very clean. Our room was comfortable and the owners were very nice. The breakfast was very good. Highly recommended for anyone to stay here.


It could be so much better

3,6 sur octobre 26, 2010

Other reviews cover the wonderful attributes of the B&B but make no mention of challenges we experienced, so we focus here on unpleasant surprises we encountered. The Smith house is beautiful with stained glass windows, roll-down doors, antiques, etc. The decor is lovely but rooms contain more furniture than shown on the website. Photos of multiple generations cover the sign-in desk, dining room buffet, and piano top suggesting we're intruding in someone's personal space. Fewer would be better. We stayed in the sun porch, which is lovely but filled with the B&B's stuff. A much-needed table beside the bed meant one of us had to crawl over the foot to get in and out. A small pie-safe is full with a small t.v. (ok with us--we were not there to watch t.v.) and additional linens. The bath is very nice and clean but lacked space for our items except for a slanted small glass wall shelf holding soap dish, mini-paper cups, etc. A wire rack over the bedside table, about 8 ft above the floor, substitutes for a closet and requires careful use of a long handled hook to let down and put up clothing on hangers. When hung, my husband's trousers blocked the light of the bedside lamp. An upholstered chair may be intended to hold decorative bed pillows, but we put some on an extra bath rug from the pie safe, placed fiber side down, and slid them under the bed. The remaining pillows were stacked on our luggage so we could use the chair. To the inn owners, I suggest: replace the small pie safe with a larger--taller, wider--armoire to house t.v., hold additional linens and allow drawers, shelves and hanging space for traveler's clothes. For the bath, a small multi-shelf wheeled cart for personal care products, haircare items, etc. would be wonderful and by virtue of mobility, would not block or crowd visitors of many builds and sizes.


A Favorite

4,6 sur octobre 08, 2010

We've stayed here many times as our daughter is a student at Earlham College in Richmond. It's a lovely family run B and B with great attention to detail. Jill and Chris and Eileen are warm and friendly. Their two young children are included in your welcome. It's all charming and relaxing. There is an extensive park and rose garden across the street just meant for wandering. When our daughter graduates we'll have to find some excuse to return for another visit.


We will return.

4,8 sur septembre 24, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed here and both times we were met at the door. The upstairs buffet with coffee and night time dessert provide an added touch. We used the refrigerator and one of the many corkscrews available.


Best B&B in Richmond

5 sur septembre 01, 2010

We spent 2 enjoyable days with hosts Elaine, Jill & Chris after a 4 year hiatus from traveling to Richmond. We highly recommend it for anyone who appreciates heritage homes and beautiful surroundings and meals. An extra treat is the evening dessert left for guests.


Fabulous Victorian B&B!

5 sur août 25, 2010

Absolutely fabulous Victorian house and furnishings with wonderful woodwork and stained glass; clean and very comfortable, gracious hostess, and good food. Richmond is a lovely city and the starting point for antique malls galore along Rt. 40 and beyond.


Very Pleased with this B&B!

5 sur août 18, 2010

This was our very first B & B ! We have no complaints whatsoever! Now, We are just wondering if all B & B's are this wonderful? We definitely will return! we Loved out stay!!!


Pleasant Visit to PW Smith B&B

5 sur août 18, 2010

The wood work is beautiful in the Victorian home. Prices reflect the size of the rooms. We stayed at the smaller bedroom which was adequate for our needs. The room was comfortable and had a clean private bathroom with shower. The hostess gave a great recommendation for dinner at the Old Richmond Inn. She also had brownies waiting for us when we arrived. The breakfast was delicious with egg quiche, fresh fruit, and recently baked biscuits. We would return to the PW Smith B&B if the opportunity presented itself.


Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $99 - $140
  • Avis (68) 4,5
  • Chambres 9
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7659668972
  • Fax 1-7659663010
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8009668972

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut