Looking Glass Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas3,9

Notation basée sur
63 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Quiet and relaxing

4,4 sur décembre 08, 2014

The Inn was a great place to relax, and it was also close enough to Mass Ave for us to enjoy a fun dinner and walking around. It felt very private and we didn't notice the other guests until breakfast the next morning, when it was very enjoyable to sit at the big table and visit. Lovely place!


Great B&B + Spa

4,8 sur décembre 01, 2014

This was a great B&B and spa in northwest Indy! The room was exactly as expected, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We esp. loved the large in-room jacuzzi tub. It's a bit on the expensive side, but it's well worth it!


Very welcoming

4,8 sur novembre 19, 2014

Our weekend was just perfect....relaxing, quiet, comfortable!! Delicious breakfasts.


Nice Room

3,6 sur novembre 18, 2014

My spouse and I have been staying at this Inn for several years. It is a very nice B&B and would recommend it to friends.


Nice Visit

3,6 sur novembre 17, 2014

Not a regular B&B person, but we had a very enjoyable stay at the Stone Soup Inn. Easy to book. No problems.


Lovely, unique place to stay in Indianapolis

4,4 sur novembre 10, 2014

This beautiful Inn was built in 1906 as a large family home, modeled after a villa the couple had visited during their honeymoon in Italy. It is absolutely gorgeous and the history and ambience is charming. It is located just a couple of doors down from the Benjamin Harris home and only a few minutes friend drive from Monument Circle. Everything was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The sweet lady who made breakfast was so cute, but sadly, she could not cook well. Breakfast was horrible, but she was so sweet that we couldn't bear to tell her! The omelette was runny and the mushrooms inside it were not cooked and the sausage tasted like it had been leftovers for a week, pulled out of the refrigerator every day and not even rewarded. The bread was kind of stale and the fruit was very sour. The four of us were the only ones staying there and it was only for one night. Breakfast was served in an exquisite old ballroom. Aside from breakfast, we all said we would most definitely stay there again, hopefully for longer next time. It was also a pretty good value for the price. They even had a bad with complementary snacks and water upstairs for us.


Short but Sweet

3,8 sur octobre 25, 2014

The house is beautiful. The innkeeper is cordial. We arrived late and left early so we did not have time to truly enjoy the beauty or eat warm meals. The continental breakfast was generous- a full tray of fresh cut fruit, enormous muffins, yogurt, etc. We would return.


City Retreat

5 sur octobre 15, 2014

Awesome B&B. We like the quick and easy escapes that this family of B&B has to offer for Indy. You don't have to drive hours to find a great place. We love the historic homes and the service and food were great!


stone soup inn

4,8 sur octobre 02, 2014

We stayed in the Lilly room at the stone soup inn. The room was amazing. The inn keeper was nice. And the bed was comfortable.


Great little inn that even locals don't know about.

5 sur septembre 28, 2014

The rooms were cozy and the staff was nice and helpful. Would recommend


Loved It!

5 sur septembre 27, 2014

Outstanding place! Only downside nothing close to walk to, but took Uber all over (or could have driven as well). But really a great B&B!


IVECCS

5 sur septembre 20, 2014

Great B&B. Very nice home. Kathy was very nice and is an excellent cook. She is very knowledgable on the local sites and locations.


lovely spot!

3,6 sur septembre 05, 2014

we had a lovely stay in the blue room while in town for a wedding. staff was very friendly & helpful even as we arrived much later that we expected. the breakfast was delicious & we had the pleasure of eating with some interesting & quite enjoyable company. i would definitely recommend checking this little spot out - absolutely a much better value than staying in a hotel downtown, and within striking distance.


Superior location

4,8 sur août 27, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Looking Glass over a weekend. The inn is in a perfect location on a quiet tree lined street of older homes and apartment buildings. Walking distance to Mass Ave. restaurants and bars and also to downtown, monument circle area. Friendly innkeeper and yummy breakfast both mornings. We never used our car the whole weekend.


Felt at Home on the Historic Northside--

3,2 sur août 20, 2014

This is a truly stunning B&B, with mission antiques, beautiful paintings, and a very homey/cozy atmosphere. I attended a wedding downtown, and needed an oasis during my visit in Indy--really liked having this safe and sweet place to "land" and was able to do work on both the upper deck and beautiful open porch both mornings...Although the shower was awesome, the mattress wasn't great and because I'm gluten-free, the breakfast was limited, but the owner made me a fresh pot of coffee after a very long night (returning back from Chicago from a Cubs game--) upon my afternoon arrival, which was very kind. I would definitely recommend this sweet sanctuary in the city.


Nice but not Special

2,8 sur août 03, 2014

I was a little disappointed in the breakfast. I was expecting more, but breakfast is what I would get in a hotel. Nothing was hot just cereal, bagels, and muffins. Room was very clean though. Nice whirlpool in bathroom.


Great place to stay. Reasonably priced. I'll stay there again!

4,2 sur juillet 30, 2014

Great place to stay. Reasonably priced. I'll stay there again!


Anniversary getaway

4,0 sur juillet 09, 2014

The Villa was very nice. We were pleasantly surprised by its location. Extra services offered was a definite plus. Look forward to coming back again.


Villa Inn

5 sur juin 30, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay! Thank you!


The Gold Room

5 sur juin 21, 2014

I stayed at this room 5/12/14-5/14/14 and it was great. The first night the outside temp. dropped and the room was cold. The bedding coverlet was perfect for me it kept me warm all night thru. Needless to say, it was a great night sleep! The Looking Glass Inn is clean and beautiful with fine details. The daily breakfast is delish with Chef Kathy at hand. Overall, I would recommend this "Looking Glass Inn" to anyone who want comforts and be near downtown too. Cheers!


The Villa Bed and Breakfast

5 sur juin 17, 2014

We were at the Villa but it was excellent. I think that it is owned by the same people as the Looking Glass Inn.


K&G at the Looking Glass

3,8 sur juin 17, 2014

Nice home, quiet neighborhood, convenient to shopping, dining and downtown. Very friendly innkeepers!


Great place, awesome location

4,8 sur juin 11, 2014

I loved staying at the Looking Glass Inn. The neighborhood is gorgeous, with several blocks of old houses to drool over, and the inn is within walking distance of several nice restaurants, shops, and bars. The innkeeper was incredibly sweet and helpful and put together a lovely continental breakfast. It was awesome to have snacks and drinks available and our room was clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this inn for anyone making a trip to Indianapolis. I came to the city for a work trip and really enjoyed being able to stay in such a lovely, comfortable old home. It was so much nicer than crashing in a generic business hotel.


A little gem...

4,8 sur juin 10, 2014

A superb place to stay in a peaceful location. Quaint rooms, a friendly, knowledgeable chambermaid, and a satisfying breakfast. All at a reasonable price. Found this place purely by chance, and would recommend it to anyone.


great, wven at last minute

5 sur mai 30, 2014

We booked this online at the last minute ( i.e. the same day) and received a confirmation call within an hour. We were arriving late so they made further accommodations for that too. I was pleasantly surprised with the friendliness and courteousness of the service at this b & b. The room was very nice, the tub felt luxurious. Breakfast included an array of basic breakfast foods plus a freshly ordered entre (chefs' choice) such as French toast. We didn't try out any other services like the massages though. The other guests were quiet and the whole b&b was very relaxing. Plus the location is great because it's a short taxi to Broad Ripple or downtown.


Great Stay

4,2 sur mai 22, 2014

I had a wonderful stay, and felt it was a good value. Stayed in the coach house, which at night was a bit noisy. Not sure what was going on but could hear people being very loud in the parking lot. Didn't last too long, so it wasn't too bad. The room was clean and staff was very friendly. Disappointed in breakfast, was not the typical "Hot" breakfast I was expecting for staying at a bed and breakfast. Overall was a decent stay, I would recommended it!


Stone Soup Inn

4,4 sur mai 20, 2014

This place is so nice and adorable. It's perfect for a quiet getaway


Lookng at the Looking Glass Inn

4,0 sur mai 14, 2014

Clean room (Rose room), spacious, very clean BnB. Only complaint is that the maid service took away the soap bar and it was too late when we notice to get another. Very nice. Will repeat.


Awesome night away.

5 sur mai 07, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay. It was our 22nd anniversary and we enjoyed it very much.


A nice place to stay

4,0 sur avril 28, 2014

Everything was great! The only thing we didn't care for was the hot breakfast food. Some sort of egg/banana casserole was served, which doesn't seem like it would appeal to the masses very much. I would prefer more traditional breakfast foods like just plain old eggs and toast. Other than that, it is a very cool place to stay...walking distance to downtown was great!


Anniversary get away

3,0 sur avril 22, 2014

The Inn is beautiful and our time was nice. We had a hiccup during massage, but the stay was wonderful. The only suggestion I would make is that this place is so beautiful, I would want to show it to my customers. I didn't know about the dining room or bar until check out when I asked to see it. A quick tour as you check in would go along way in customer service, plus it could increase sales. I know I would have enjoyed a glass of wine! Overall we will definitely be back.


The Villa

4,2 sur avril 10, 2014

I stayed in the Stanza 8, it was a very nice room, detached from the main villa, it used to be a carriage house, the bathroom was detached and shared by another room on the same floor, some might find this a problem but it wasn't a big deal for me. The room was very clean as was the bathroom, the breakfast buffet was very nice and there were snacks and water in the room which I found a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, I would definitely stay again as I would love to try the spa.


Adequate only

2,6 sur mars 27, 2014

Stayed three nghts in the Hide AwaySuite, Quite rustic-no trim boards at ceiling lines. Carpet old andstretched all out of shape. Smoke alarm beepingwhen we came home the second night. I was tall enough to take the battery out and gave it to the inn keeper the nextAM, but it was never replaced while we were there. Paidfor three guests but had to ask for a third set of linens (twice). These are minor though, compared to the shower. It was in an old claw footed antique tub, so small that a person my height couldnt bend downto wash my feet. The water was difficult to adjust, and when you would finally get the right temp, you would suddenly get a long blast of COLD water, and then you would start the whole drill over. I can not comment on the other rooms, just know I would not choose this room again.


Simply lovely

4,6 sur février 10, 2014

We originally booked the Garden Suite at the Stone Soup Inn but due to recent snow storms, it closed for repairs and we were upgraded. The new accommodations were absolutely beautiful. We spent a lovely evening in The hideaway Suite this past Friday. It was so charming and much larger than expected. The breakfast was delicious and the innkeeper was so kind and welcoming. We will recommend this place to all of our friends and even return ourselves!


PERFECT STAY

5 sur novembre 10, 2013

TODAY WE CAME BACK FROM A ONE NIGHT STAY IN ONE OF THE ROOMS (CALLED THE WILLOW ROOM) IN THE LOOKING GLASS INN, in Indianapolis. Fantastic every thing was an 100%. The rooms where very clean and very nice decorated. Also the innkeeper made us very much at home, and made us the most delicious breakfast. If we decide to come back next year,surly we will stay there again .Geja Smit ,Cincinnati


Getaway Weekend

3,4 sur novembre 08, 2013

This was a getaway weekend with my wife and first time in Indy. The inn was a short distance away from the downtown, nestled in an older neighborhood. All the rooms were filled, but most of the time we were in the common areas nobody was around and it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We would definitely stay again when in Indy!


Fabulous B&B

5 sur septembre 13, 2013

The Looking Glass Inn exceeded our expectations. Situated in a quiet older neighborhood of Indianapolis, the inn provides guests a relaxed, comfortable accommodation close to downtown, and fine restaurants. The inn keeper is just delightful and made us feel very welcome. Great place to stay, wish we could have had more time there.


Great hospitality!

4,4 sur août 16, 2013

Location: historic district close to downtown. Easy access. Hospitality great. Rooms - tastefully done. Would definitely recommend.


The looking glass

5 sur juillet 05, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved the looking glass inn! It was a great place to spend our wedding night. We will be back for sure!


Lovely experience

4,8 sur juin 17, 2013

We enjoyed our wedding night stay in the Green Room--the room is beautiful, the bed very comfortable, and the Jacuzzi tub was a perfect way to relax after such a busy, busy day. The inn is beautiful, and we truly appreciated how the staff accommodated us--we came later than we anticipated and were able to let ourselves in and tiptoe up to our room. Will definitely look for a reason to come back!


Lovely Home

4,4 sur janvier 08, 2013

We spent a lovely evening, and Alexis was just wonderful!!!! Thank you so much.


Great place for a simple Valentine's Day

4,0 sur février 13, 2012

I enjoyed that this B & B is located off the main roads but still centrally located to Indianapolis and Broad Ripple. Really don't think I could've asked for much more than what was provided. I've been to the innkeepers' other property, the Stone Soup Inn, and had a very similar, wonderful experience. Thanks.


Nice Stay

4,0 sur janvier 20, 2012

Lovely and clean. Breakfast was delicious and made to order.


Healing Powers

4,8 sur décembre 14, 2011

Beautiful B&B with charm, ambiance, 19th century lore, and healing powers. Can't wait to come back, God willing.


Looking Glass In...Beautiful...but a bit disappointing

2,6 sur novembre 18, 2011

We had high hopes - the home appeared lovely, clean and tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques. The hostess who showed us to our room was friendly &welcoming. Our room was large with a comfortable bed though was not as clean or well maintained as I would have liked it. Rug was full of spots, windows were quite grimy, blinds in the bathroom looked like they'd never been dusted, though the bedding was clean. (Maybe it was the oppressive green color the room was painted that made it look dingy, though that's just an opinion.) We noticed a few maintenance issues: The light bulb in a lamp in our room was burned out. (Although we left it on the table with a note to the chamber maid it was never replaced.) The door knob to our bathroom was quite loose & pulled out of the door when I closed the door. One of the dining room chairs my husband sat had broken rungs. We pointed this out to the host, who removed the chair, only to find the same broken chair at the table the next morning. The chamber maid missed cleaning up our room. She asked if we needed towels & found that she'd left us fresh ones on a bench in the hallway, but she never made it into the room to make the bed, empty the wastebasket, or remove our used wine glasses. Given these maintenance issues, we got the impression that there were problems with the staff's attention to the details. Breakfasts were good and the servers were friendly and helpful. All in all, we enjoyed our stay & loved exploring the neighborhood. The Looking Glass Inn is a beautiful home that we really wanted to love, but unfortunately, it did not exceed our expectations, and in some cases, did not even meet them.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Looking Glass Inn. It helps us greatly receiving your feedback as we strive to provide great service and a quality sleeping accommodations for all of our guests. Thank you for your kind words about our inn, and I would like to reply to some of the issues that you have mentioned. After each guest checks out, our chamber maids always vacuum fully and spot clean the carpet. We also fully shampoo and clean carpets periodically throughout the year. The windows upstairs are due for another cleaning, which we have professionals come in because of the age of the house and antique value of the windows. We also soak blinds from the rooms periodically throughout the year. Any maintenance issues can always be brought to the attention of the Innkeeper and will be attended to immediately. Due to the age of the home and the antiques decorating it, we realize issues will arise and always have a maintenance professional on call. The green color of the room holds a sentimental value to the owner and has been in the family for several years. We regret that your room was not cleaned to your satisfaction, but we do instruct our chamber maids not to enter rooms with privacy signs left on the door. If she would have entered your room I assure you the lightbulb would have been changed, your wastebasket emptied, glasses replaced and your bed made. Regarding the dining room chair. I do apologize it was placed back at the table. I had not been there the prior day to know the issue. Thank you so much for pointing it out to me at breakfast so I could remove the chair again. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and exploring the historic neighborhood! I hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday season!


Nice B&B close to everything in Indy

4,0 sur octobre 03, 2011

We had a great time at the Looking Glass Inn for our 20th anniversary. Stayed in the 'Green' room which had a queen bed and large whirlpool tub. Great to soak after riding the Indy Greenway trails. Great breakfast and staff. Beautifully decorated home with period furniture from early 1900's style.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for your great review! We enjoyed having you and hope you come back and spend many more anniversaries at The Looking Glass Inn!


Weekend in Indy

4,4 sur août 12, 2011

This was our first B&B stay. The Rose Room was lovely, the hosts were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was good and the coffee was really good. The house was really quite fascinating and lovely. The jacuzzi in the room was large and enjoyable. When I'd originally called their central switchboard to ask about the location, I was told that it was walking distance to downtown Indy. This would be true if you'd care to walk for an hour through some kinda seedy neighborhoods. But driving to downtown worked out fine and we had no regrets about choosing the Looking Glass Inn.


Lovely!

3,8 sur juillet 26, 2011

We spent our wedding night in the Rose Room, and absolutely loved it! So beautiful & charming -- it was too bad we only had one night there! Entire inn was lovely! Thank you -- hope to visit again soon!


Great In-Town B and B

4,4 sur avril 12, 2010

Came into town for the Final Four and was fortunate to find this little hideaway for day 3 and 4 of our visit. Location is great and we will definitely be coming back when in Indy!


Peaceful Weekend

4,8 sur février 25, 2010

The house was beautiful, comfortable and inviting. I had a wonderful stay and a great night's sleep. Will definitely do it again.


Unexpected Vacation

5 sur août 20, 2009

I was in Indianapolis for business. Instead of the normal chain hotels, I opted for the Looking Glass Inn located in a charming neighborhood just outside of downtown. i was unexpectedly cheered by the perfect accommodations -- it provided a mental break I needed.


Delightful Renaissance

4,2 sur août 07, 2009

Beautiful inn, great ambiance. Wonderful comfort, genial companionship.


charming

5 sur mars 03, 2009

All was perfect. very helpful, but not overly so. I'd come back in a heartbeat.


nice stay

3,8 sur février 04, 2009

nice stay


The willow room

3,2 sur novembre 05, 2008

Lovely neighborhood, very nice old house. Common rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. breakfast was good.


Well Needed

4,0 sur octobre 15, 2008

Very cozy, comfortable, quiet, peaceful, relaxing.


Looking Glass

4,0 sur octobre 15, 2008

A wonderful, alternative to stay for a family of 4. Plenty of room with a home-like atmosphere.


Looking Glass

5 sur octobre 15, 2008

Excellent service & accommodations.


We enjoyed every minute of our stay

5 sur octobre 15, 2008

Me and my husband stay at the Looking Glass and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The inn is located in a great neighborhood and the inn is spectacular. The room was great and breakfast was out of this world. The innkeepers Wendy and Ernie were great. I mean from the moment that we arrive to the moment that we left they made us feel right at home. Our weekend was amazing thanks to Wendy and Ernie. We will be coming back and we are going to let all of our friends know about our amazing stay at the looking glass inn. Thanks again guys.


Relaxing Weekend

3,6 sur octobre 14, 2008

The Looking Glass Inn is clean, comfortable and gorgeous. Friendly staff, tasty food & a fun weekend destination.


Best B&B we have stayed at!

4,6 sur septembre 16, 2008

Me and my husband recently stay at the Looking Glass for the Motor GP. Our stay was the best. We enjoy every single night of it. The room was great and the innkeepers went above and beyond to make our stay truely the best. Even thought they are young they seemed to have great customer service experience. We will be coming back next year..Thanks Wendy and Hubby for the great weekend!


Won't ever stay in a hotel again!

5 sur juillet 26, 2008

I'm so glad we stayed! This was our first time in a B&B and it definately won't be our last. We had a wonderful time. It was very relaxing, unlike the chain hotels downtown. The inn keepers were young, but they were amazing! They went out of there way to make us feel right at home! I recommend this to anyone who needs a break. My husband and I enjoyed having coffee on the porch after breakfast. The Portrait Room is where we stayed this time and was very charming. Thanks for everything Wendy and Hubby! :0) Kim and Albert Woods, Robinson Illinois


Fabulous Time in at the Looking Glass

4,2 sur juillet 22, 2008

The innkeepers were absolutely wonderful and even stayed late to let us in upon a longer trip in to Indy than expected. The Gold room was ours for the night and so charming. Breakfast was delicious and so was the service. Enjoy your stay with ease of mind, comfort, and a warm heart.


Looking Glass Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $105 - $145
  • Avis (63) 4,3
  • Chambres 6

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8666399550
  • Téléphone 1-3176399550
  • Fax 1-3179179086

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut