Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services5,0
  • Qualité/Prix4,8
  • Propreté5,0
  • Repas4,9

Notation basée sur
117 Avis

Ecrire un avis

a perfect get away for our family

5 sur novembre 26, 2014

The rooms were a feast for the eyes. We met two members of our family there for a get away couple of days. Larry Sidwell was a perfect host and we basically had the house to ourselves He had lots of little extras for us, like coffee, tea, bottled water, and snacks available at all times. He had wonderful suggestions for meals, and the breakfast in the dining room was delicious--French toast, fresh fruit, wonderful baked goods, ham, and yogurt. I definitely intend to go back.


An Unexpected Gem in Southern Illinois

5 sur octobre 21, 2014

On a Monday night in early October we were the only guests. Larry welcomed us at the front door like old friends. He offered two breakfast options; French toast or strata. There was also fresh fruit, breakfast breads, granola and yogurt. Accommodations were immaculate and chemical-free, with no artificial scents. We slept well on an extremely comfy bed in the Pruett Room. Though it was at the front of the house, the room was very quiet. The bathroom is a short walk down the hall, just like at home. The next morning we visited the nearby Mitchell Museum at Cedarhurst Center for the Arts. Their remarkable permanent art collection includes works by Mary Cassatt, Thomas Eakins, John Singer Sargent and more. --Travelers from Madison, Wisconsin


Relaxing and Restful

5 sur octobre 19, 2014

We stayed here as a stopover on a trip to Ohio. We stayed two different nights and both were great. The room was very comfortable and relaxing. It was just what we needed after driving in the car for 8 hours. The house itself was very clean and well decorated as well as cozy. My husband enjoyed taking his early morning tea out on the back deck and patio. Mr. Sidwell was very friendly and saw to all of our needs and served a wonderful breakfast at the time of our request. When traveling this way I can see us stopping in again.


Outstanding!

5 sur octobre 14, 2014

Another great visit at Sidwell Friends. The Inn is magnificent in every way. Larry will make you feel as if you are returning home for a long awaited visit. Thanks for such a wonderful moment in time.

Réponse du propriétaire
So great to see you both once again. It's always a pleasure visiting with you and comparing notes on restaurants, B&Bs, and travel in general. Looking forward to your next visit.


The Very Best!

5 sur octobre 02, 2014

We are traveling across the country, from west to east and back again. We have stayed at quite a few B&B's, as you can imagine, but none as well appointed, comfortable, and - well - just fabulous as this one. Sidwell Friends will now be the bellwether of B&B's, from which we will measure all of our stays. Tough act to follow!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the kind words! The pleasure was all mine. And, best of luck on the rest of your incredible journey!


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 sur septembre 10, 2014

The Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast was outstanding. The home is beautifully decorated and the guest rooms very spacious and well appointed with thoughtful and cozy touches such as extra terry robes, a quality assortment of bed and bath products, chocolate and snack items, and a video library. The proprietor, Larry is very warm and personable, and makes each guest feel at home. The restaurant quality breakfast was absolutely superb. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast establishment!! Denny and Lisa Hall


great place all around

4,8 sur août 12, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. It's tucked away in a little town of southern Illinois. The rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean and there are a handful of amenities available. The food was also wonderful. We will definitely consider returning if we are ever back this way.


Charming and Comfortable!

5 sur août 08, 2014

We recently stayed at Sidwell Friends Bed & Breakfast, and were thoroughly pleased with every aspect of our stay. The house is skillfully decorated, very clean, and everything was comfortable. Larry is an excellent host and a pretty amazing cook! We highly recommend a stay at this lovely home.


Awesome B & B

5 sur juillet 28, 2014

This is our 3rd time in the past year to stay at Sidwell Friends B&B. Beautiful home and gardens, delicious gourmet breakfasts and Larry Sidwell is the best inn keeper there is! Dunaven room is so luxurious with a bathroom that rivals a 5-star hotel! A must stay if you're in the area. We will be back again and again.


Girl's weekend retreat

5 sur juin 06, 2014

My mother, my two sisters and myself look for a destination each May to get away from it all. This year we chose Sidwell Friends B&B and we had an absolutely great time. We stayed up late and played games in the study, enjoyed an evening snack and a delicious breakfast. The linens were the finest I have ever slept on. The entire home was very clean, and decorated with class and sophistication. It was like staying at a 5 star hotel...except, Larry made us feel like friends, not just guests. He shared history of the Sidwell family, his amazing book collection and even some cleaning tips he uses to keep the B&B in such great condition. Thank you for your hospitality Larry. May you be blessed for your gracious and generous service to your guests/friends. Lisa Dittmer, MO


We will return to this Gem!

4,6 sur mai 26, 2014

This B&B was furnished with the most beautiful pieces. Larry was such a gracious host; we feel like we've made a new friend. The linens and towels were luxurious. Everything had just the extra little touch to make us feel welcomed and pampered. We liked the off street parking, the bottled water that was provide, the keurig coffee maker available any time, the comfy robes, bath salts, and the deck that we relaxed on in the afternoon sun. The ambiance was romantic. The breakfast was different each morning, as was the china breakfast was served on! I can't wait to return and see this gorgeous home during the Christmas season!! Thank you, Larry for making our little get-away so lovely!!!!


A first class bed and breakfast

5 sur mai 11, 2014

I didn't really know what to expect other than reading the positive reviews of Sidwell Bed and Breakfast two weeks before. I was was warmly greeted by Larry Sidwell the Innkeeper who was fine with me arriving mid afternoon to check in so that I could do some computer work from his home while traveling on business. His home was very well furnished along with a beautiful outdoor patio. I loved my room upstairs although it was the smallest of the three is was perfect for me. Comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom and delicious breakfast. I really can't wait to go back. Larry was thoughtful and gracious and I truly felt comfortable in the beautiful historic home. You must come!


The best we have stayed at

5 sur mars 01, 2014

We stayed one night and found Larry to be a delightful host. This is the best B & B we have every stayed at. Food was great. We had absolutely no complaints. A++


A Well Appointed Home of Warmth and Hospitality

5 sur février 17, 2014

The home sits grandly on the grounds of it's corner lot surrounded by picket fence and lovely landscaping. Larry was very accommodating and welcoming as he showed us his home and made dinner recommendations. Our Room was large, filled with art, antiques, books, music and a wonderful king bed with soft as silk sheets and fluffy pillows. The ensuite bath shined in chrome appointments, the heated floor and towel rack also added luxury. We loved both the shower and the air bubble bath. Robes, soaps, and lots of amenities in or just outside our room...chocolates, water, coffee all made us feel pampered. We wish were not just traveling through to another destination because the vast library and wonderful sitting areas inside and outside the home would be the perfect getaway for us. We didn't get to enjoy the garden because of the time of year but it looked like in bloom it would be an inviting spot for the late morning or afternoon. Breakfast was full of flavors, textures and colors...more than we could have asked for. Thank you Larry for a wonderful stay at your Bed & Breakfast!


Upscale charm - warmth - attention to detail

5 sur janvier 31, 2014

We loved our stay at this very special home. The decor is stunning, the rooms immaculate and overall experience memorable! Larry is a wonderful host. He has considered every possible guest need and provided rooms which delight in every respect. We recommend this special property without reservation. BUT, you should make a reservation...!


Absolutely the BEST!!!

5 sur janvier 23, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for a long weekend recently and it was wonderful. Larry is a great innkeeper and made us feel so welcome. The inn is beautiful, the food is amazing and Sidwell's is a little piece of heaven. The heated floors in the private bathroom are a real treat and it is convenient to everything. Absolutely a great three days - we didn't want to leave. If you are travelling through the area don't miss this little piece of heaven. Thanks Larry for such a relaxing time. (SH in Missouri)


Outstanding B&B!

5 sur novembre 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed there last January for her birthday. The beautiful Christmas decorations were still on display. I would highly recommend this B&B. Thanks Larry for the great hospitality.


Anniversary Trip

4,6 sur octobre 23, 2013

Our stay at Larry Sidwell's home was wonderful! My wife and I agree that this was the best B&B that we have enjoyed in our many visits. Larry is an attentive host and is there when you need him! I heartily recommend Sidwell Friends to anyone wishing to enjoy a classic, friendly, and comfortable home. Additionally, if you are a reader, you will enjoy the eclectic array of books. If you enjoy reading, ask Larry about his favorite authors... One other thing, breakfast was an interesting and tasty experience - Larry has researched his English ancestry well. We are staying at Sidwell Friends again in the near future, and are bringing friends with us the next time. Ask Larry about "Rare" as well as local artistic offerings! Thank you Larry! - Lyle


Top notch B & B

5 sur octobre 21, 2013

I have stayed at a number of B&B's and this is one of the best you will ever find. Larry is a most gracious host, the whole place is immaculate, well-appointed, and feels very warm, welcoming and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious. My children arranged for us to stay here as part of a "milestone" birthday weekend and couldn't have made a better choice to add to this memorable occasion.


Great stay, friendly and professional host

5 sur octobre 09, 2013

The B and B was great. Larry was friendly yet very professional. We left our coats there and he called and mailed them to us. We would stay there again in a heartbeat! Linda and Kent


The Gold Standard, period.

5 sur septembre 15, 2013

We only get the opportunity to steal a weekend once or twice a year to visit a B&B within driving distance of our home outside Chicago. In our limited experience, this is far and away the best we have ever had the opportunity to enjoy. The authentic and reproduced antique English furniture is magnificent. There is a library of books that could have been accrued by a voracious reader of history and drama. Pictures do not begin to do justice to the décor. Aside from luxurious modern amenties (plasma tv, heated bathroom floors and towel racks) Larry Sidwell’s home is incredibly well maintained and absolutely immaculate. His hospitality is warm, his knowledge of the area comprehensive. In the morning we got to run over to a local 90 acre outdoor museum (Cedarhurst), and do a little yoga on a well-manicured lawn overlooking a fountain and reflecting pool. Breakfast was a broad array of perfectly ripened fruits, fresh baked muffins, and our choice of sweet or savory main course. They were so delicious he was also gracious enough to share the recipes. We will be returning!


Outstanding in every way!

5 sur septembre 15, 2013

Sandi and Nicole, Utah - On our mother-daughter cross-country trip we decided to treat ourselves to a stay at a bed and breakfast. This was such a charming and elegant bed and breakfast. The home has been beautifully restored and the furnishings and cleanliness were impeccable. Breakfast was delicious and was served at a beautifully set table. Larry did an amazing job furnishing and decorating this home and was a very gracious host. We would definitely stay here again, highly recommended to anyone traveling through the area.


Worth a side trip to stay at Sidwell's

5 sur septembre 06, 2013

A clean, comfortable, elegant inn with a wonderful host.


What a gem in such an off the beaten path for us. .

5 sur août 30, 2013

We were just looking for a place to put our heads after a long drive. It is not far from St Louis so we had the time to look around the botanical gardens and sights then to the country.We slept well and had a great breakfast. The museum up the street had many things to look at. And is a cultural place in such a lovely setting. Thank you Larry !


The only place to stay in Southern IL.

4,6 sur août 24, 2013

Larry makes you feel at home, very comfortable and inviting. The breakfasts were the best I have had at any B&B in the US or Europe.


Go here

4,8 sur août 21, 2013

Great place to stay. Larry was very friendly & accommodating.


30th Anniversary Getaway

5 sur août 09, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast as a gift from our children. The house is beautiful as well as the grounds. We enjoyed dinner at 9th Street Grill (local restaurant) and the rest of the evening at the B/B. Larry was very welcoming and served a delicious breakfast. I just wish we could have stayed longer!


A complete find!

5 sur août 04, 2013

Worth routing your trip this way; Sidwell Friends B & B and the GenToka Winery.


Larry Sidwell's place is the Friendliest around!

5 sur juillet 31, 2013

We had such a remarkable experience at Sidwell Friends B&B! Every room is so lovely and expertly decorated, beds comfy, bath clean and spacious, amazing library of books and you just couldn't ask for a more charming host! We'll be back to visit Larry and his home in the future!


Sidwells, a rare beauty!

4,4 sur juillet 31, 2013

Wonderful service. Worked with us on all our special needs. Great location and beautiful house. Will stay there again. Beautiful rooms with everything you need and more.


A most pleasant overnight experience at Sidwell Friends B & B.

4,8 sur juillet 26, 2013

We have stayed at least three times and look forward to our next. The innkeeper, Larry is genuinely interested in your comfort. Beautiful accommodations (house, interior, lawn and breakfast) and a very good value. You will want to take photos and bring a bottle of wine. Yes, it’s that relaxing and romantic too.


Great place to stay

5 sur juillet 25, 2013

We stayed here on the way to the Zoo 1 night after a long day. Larry was very gracious and the accomodations are wonderfully appointed. Breakfast was very well done. Quiet street, no problems locating the place and the off street parking is a plus.


Outstanding B&B

5 sur juillet 22, 2013

Stayed for a night in June 2013, only wished it could have been a few more nights. This is without a doubt the finest B&B we have stayed in and Larry is the most gracious host you could wish for, his attention to detail is outstanding. He takes great pride in his home and it shows. The standard by which all B&B's should be measured. Wendy & Andrew (Scotland)


Perfect!

5 sur juillet 19, 2013

This was our first time at a B&B, could not have asked for anything better! Larry is a charming, attentive host.


Recommended

5 sur juin 29, 2013

Excellent place, friendly inn keeper, beautiful room and very clean


Sidwell Friends

4,8 sur juin 27, 2013

Larry is an excellent host, a delightful man, and has created a very special BB. I recommend anyone traveling in the area to stay there.


A first-rate experience

5 sur juin 22, 2013

Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast is first-rate in every way. I heartily recommend it. The owner is terrific, the lodgings are splendid and the breakfast was delicious. This is the best experience I've had at a Bed and Breakfast in the U.S.


Very relaxing

5 sur juin 17, 2013

I loved the rooms. It is filled with antiques and older furniture but you don't feel like your afraid to set on them. There is a little gazebo as well as a porch that you can go to and meditate or relax There is something in every room for you to find and explore. . The food was good and healthy. When we booked he asked our preferences of food. That helped with our dietary needs. He is willing to answer all the questions we ask.


Sidwell Friends B&B

4,8 sur juin 10, 2013

We had an exceptional stay and Sidwell Friends B&B. The room was extremely comfortable, spacious, private and well decorated. Breakfast was excellent, and included a hot and cold portion with various fruits, granola, coffee, tea, fresh squeezed juice, an egg soufflé and sliced ham. It was also served at a time according to your liking. There are several amenities and activities within walking distance. A fantastic cheese and cracker spread was also served mid afternoon in a private, shaded area in the garden on the property. We will definitely return, and highly recommend Sidwell Friends B&B to anyone looking to stay at a first class bed and breakfast.


Sidwell most Satisfying.

5 sur mai 21, 2013

A very homey and comfortable abode.


Fabulous!

5 sur avril 25, 2013

Larry is a wonderful host and makes you feel at home. We stayed in the Dunaven room and it was fabulous! The home is beautifully decorated. Larry's attention to detail is amazing! We have no complaints and look forward to staying there again.


Lovely home

4,8 sur avril 05, 2013

The innkeeper was most accommodating with my food allergies and went out of his way to give me a tasty breakfast. Comfortable beds and lovely rooms. A great stay!


Wow! What a gem!

5 sur mars 17, 2013

My husband and I recently went to Mt. Vernon for a quick getaway and to visit family in the area. Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast was such a delight! As soon as we stepped foot into the Inn, we were pleasantly greeted by Larry. We had a wonderful stay. Larry made some great recommendations for dining and entertainment. Our breakfast was WONDERFUL! We can not recommend this place enough. We can not wait to go back this summer!


Great weekend getaway

4,8 sur février 22, 2013

I took my wife out for valentines day and surprised her by taking her to Sidwell. It was great! Larry is a gracious and knowledgeable host who took care of our every need. The room was amazing. We loved the king size bed and the heated floor in the bathroom. My wife is already clamoring for me to take her there again!


Wonderful relaxing getaway

5 sur février 20, 2013

If you are looking for a charming, relaxing, wonderfully divine getaway, then Sidwell Frends B & B is the place for you. It is beautifully furnished and decorated with antiques, but then updated with modern luxurious amenities you would not expect. The beds are comfortable, the linens are soft, the rooms are cozy. I would return based on he house alone. However, the absolute highlight of our time there is Larry, the innkeeper. He is charming, gracious, kind, and will do anything to make your time there the best possible. Breakfast was fabulous, and his recommendations for local attractions will not disappoint. He has spoiled us...I'm not sure we can go to another B & B without unrealistically high expectations! We will definitely go back!!!


Relax in Elegance

5 sur janvier 18, 2013

We were welcomed like friends, and invited to be at ease in a wonderfully clean and elegant home. Larry is a very kind innkeeper, and prepared one of the most delectable breakfasts we've had the pleasure of enjoying. I recommend this miniature Downton Abbey to all my friends and family, and anyone else who will listen! Rachel and Pat from Kansas City, MO


Home in the Heartland

5 sur janvier 06, 2013

Driving round-trip to Florida from Iowa recently, I searched for a place to stay in Mt. Vernon, Illinois, a good stopping place on my three-day drive going both south and north. Fortuitous was I! The two night's which I spent at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast were simply wonderful. Though I was looking only for clean and pleasant lodging, I found a special refuge that invited me to relax and recharge. Everywhere are special, thoughtful touches that delight and pamper the visitor. Larry Sidwell, the proprietor, is a marvelous host who devotes himself to his guests with sincerity. He reinvents the meaning of hospitality. I recommend Sidwell Friends without reservation to anyone seeking a peaceful, gracious and comfortable lodging. I certainly hope to pass this way again.


A great find in Mt Vernon

5 sur janvier 05, 2013

My wife and I have always wanted to check this B&b out being as Mt Vernon is my hometown. What a fantastic B&B. We have stayed at several, this one by far is the most delightful we have stayed at. Larry's dedication to his business is quite evident and shows in every detail of the house - from the well stocked library, to the snacks, to the gourmet breakfast, this B&B will dazzle you.


Great way to bring in the new year

5 sur janvier 04, 2013

We spent New Year'Eve at Sidwell Friends. The house was beauitfully decorated and Larry was very welcoming. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast new year's day was terrific. I highly recommend Sidwell Friends.


Delightful!

4,8 sur novembre 12, 2012

Our room was lovely and very clean. I normally don't like to get a room with the bathroom in the hall, but it wasn't a problem since it is still private and it was a lovely bathroom with heated towels racks which was nice. Robes were provided. We would definately stay there again.


Couldn't have been better...

5 sur novembre 10, 2012

The space is complex, unique, and interesting, with subtle treats and amenities around every corner. With all this going on it could be easy to feel overwhelmed, but I did not. After spending some time with our host, Larry, I understood why. There is nothing gimmicky or contrived here - everything is just where you'd want it when you want it. I felt right at home with an experience anything like being at home. The highlight of my 2-night stay was unquestionably each morning's breakfast and chats with Larry. Wow, and thank you!


First stay at a B&B

5 sur octobre 22, 2012

It was our 15 year anniversary and we wanted to stay somewhere special. It was our first time at a bed and breakfst and we were not sure what to expect. We were the only couple that night so, we had a nice quite house to ourselves. The bedroom and bathroom were beautiful. The breakfast was excellent and Larry was very friendly. Would recommend this bed and breakfast to our friends


Quiet, Relaxing and Luxurious!

5 sur octobre 14, 2012

We were so pleasantly surprised with everything about our atay in October 2012 at Sidwell Friends B & B in Mt. Vernon, IL. The place is one of the very best B&B's we have ever visited, and we have been to many! The home is beautiful, welcoming and immaculately clean. Larry, our host was friendly and helpful with great in-town recommendations. He provides an awesome breakfast too! Try Sidwell Friends, you will love it as much as my wife ad I did! The Faulkenbergs, Indianapolis, IN


Outstanding Rooms and Service

5 sur octobre 10, 2012

My husband and I spent just one night in this gorgeous home. Larry did a top notch job with everything -- from the renovations (love the heated bathroom floor), decorations, and breakfast. I highly recommend staying here for a night or more.


A wonderful stay

5 sur octobre 03, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Sidwell Friends B&B. we were so sorry we weren't able to stay longer. The accommodations were beautiful, and our innkeeper Larry was a perfect host. We are hopeful we will be able to visit again, and we would highly recommend it to everyone.


A wonderful birthday surprise

5 sur septembre 21, 2012

I was coming home to southern IL to surprise my Mom for her birthday and then surprise her with a two night stay at Sidwell Friends B&B. I did everything online from California and made my decision to book after reading all the great reviews. Everything is true. Mr Sidwell made us feel very welcomed. The breakfasts were lovely and the house is immaculate. He was available when we needed him and our conversations were enjoyable. He indeed. deserves five stars. Lastly, while I was there I found a private baker to make my mother's favorite cake. Mr Sidwell had his dining room table all set up when we returned after dinner and celebrated her birthday. He assisted as needed. It was just lovely. He helped make it very special. I hope to make this an annual trip for my mother and me for years to come. Thank you, Mr Sidwell.


Among the Best B&Bs

5 sur août 17, 2012

We've been to B&Bs all over America. This is among the best we've experienced. Larry Sidwell is a fine host and makes every effort to assure that his guests enjoy their stay. The home is beautifully restored and filled with fine antiques and a fascinating library. The huge outside deck, gardens, trees, and gazebo are a plus. Breakfast with hot and cold selections, including a variety of fresh fruits, is perfect. Our room was the largest, with deluxe furnishings and a huge top-line bath. William and Kathleen, Chicago


We Found a Friend

5 sur juillet 25, 2012

My husband and I were more than satisfied with our three day stay at Larry Sidwell's B & B. Our room was perfect, comfortable, beautiful, spacious and the bathroom was amazing! Our breakfasts were delicious and we especially appreciated the extras such as snacks, a refrigerator and Larry's hospitality. If the temperatures had not been over 100, we would have loved to enjoy the porches, deck and patio. The home is beautifully decorated and we loved the historic connections Larry has made. We can't say enough! We certainly found a friend at Sidwell Friends B & B.


Delightful Host

5 sur juillet 03, 2012

My sister and I were given a weekend at Sidwell Friends as a birthday gift. I have always loved B&Bs and expected a good weekend. I was pleasantly surprised at how we just fell in love with everything about the Inn, the host, Larry (our new friend) and the absolutely delightful time we had there. We left the Inn only to eat dinner and do some light shopping "downtown". We stayed in the Dunaven Suite, which was a stunningly beautiful room and bath. We absolutely enjoyed Larry and his stories of the Inn and Maybeline. We shared pictures, experiences and enjoyed the jovial time with Larry. I can't say enough good things about this B&B, folks! Check it out for yourself! Robin


Elegant but not lavish

5 sur juin 26, 2012

We only stayed one night at Sidwell Friends but we wanted to stay longer. It has such a relaxing atmosphere for being an in-town location. Larry makes you feel right at home and after a couple of minutes you think you and he have been good friends for a long time. We will definitely be back.


Beautiful and Welcoming

5 sur juin 26, 2012

I stayed at Sidwell Friends in April 2012. It is located in a quiet neighborhood with private off street parking. If you find yourself in the Mt. Vernon area, I highly encourage a stay at this beautiful B&B, tastefully decorated in the colonial style. Amenities abound, very clean, top of the line bath products, 24/7 tea/coffee and the breakfast is not only delicious but beautiful. The beds are comfortable, a good nights sleep assured. Larry, the gracious host, was wonderful. I look forward to a return visit to this 5 star B&B.


Just wonderful!

4,8 sur juin 26, 2012

My new wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Sidwell Friends B&B. We immediately felt at home. A beautiful weekend at a beautiful place.


Beautiful Home for Any Occasion

5 sur juin 24, 2012

Larry was a wonderful host. The house was absolutely beautiful and wonderfully kept. My wife and I had a wonderful wedding night here. Larry gave us a discount on our stay when he found out it was our wedding night. That was an extra special treat for us.


A First Class Establishment

5 sur mai 20, 2012

My parents and I stayed 3 nights at Sidewll Friends recently. This was a return trip there for my parents, and my first visit. I plan to return again as soon as I can. SF is beautifully furnished in a classic, British-inspired style. Larry Sidwell, the owner, has filled the home with interesting antiques of a high quality. Each time we walked through one of the several rooms in SF, we noticed something new to admire. The accommodations are very clean and very comfortable. SF is on a tree-lined residential street. The first floor holds a formal dining room, a living room and two smaller, cozy sitting rooms with plenty of interesting spaces to read or visit with others, as you choose. The bedrooms are quiet, private and the mattress I slept on (in the Pruett) was excellent. Larry does a fine job of anticipating his guests’ needs; the bathrooms are fully appointed, there’s a small coffee machine on the second floor should you need a caffeine jolt when you first awake, the home is equipped with WiFi and cable televisions in the bedrooms. Larry is an excellent host, as well. He is friendly, gracious and discreet. I appreciated that he quickly learned his guests’ preferences and made sure they were met thereafter. For example, I asked for skim milk for my morning coffee the first day I was at SF and the following days, a small china pitcher of skim milk was waiting next to the 2nd floor coffee maker when I emerged from my room. This is typical of the commitment to excellence that is apparent in everything Larry does at SF. Make sure you take advantage of the fine breakfasts served at SF. Selections of fresh fruits, cereals, breads and yogurt (and several choices of juices), followed by a cooked portion that may be quiche, French toast or other hearty additions. Among his other talents, Larry is an outstanding cook, too. All in all, an experience not to be missed.


Sidwell Friends, Lovely Home and Gracious Host

5 sur mai 06, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sidwell Friends. The home is lovely and great attention has been paid to the little details and extras that make a stay memorable and special. The host was very thoughtful and gracious. Highly recommended!


We have stayed twice and look forward to our next.

4,8 sur avril 11, 2012

When staying overnight in southern Illinois, Sidwell Friends B & B is like a touch of the Ritz for the price of a regular hotel room. A charming house with elegant furnishings and an eager and accommodating innkeeper.


Luxury and Relaxation

5 sur novembre 18, 2011

We have stayed at scores of Bed and Breakfasts and inns, both in the U.S. and Europe. We were quite surprised to find that here in the small town of Mt. Vernon, IL is a B&B so wonderful that we consider it one of our top three favorites--a small chateau in France, an inn in CT, and now Sidwell Friends. Wish we could have stayed longer


Exquisite details!

4,6 sur novembre 09, 2011

My husband and I loved that Mr. Sidwell took the time to go over every single tiny detail about our room, and the whole house. We will definitely go back!


My highest recommendation

5 sur septembre 22, 2011

I am more familiar with hotels (four continents) than B&Bs, but Mr. Sidwell's establishment was welcoming, organized, very clean, gorgeous, quiet, well-priced, and provided delicious multi-course served breakfasts. And the Dunaven bath was a delight! Sidwell Friends B&B earned my highest recomendation.


Best Bed and Breakfast

4,0 sur septembre 03, 2011

Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast is the best. My husband and I travel a lot and this home had everything. When attention to details are in the decor of the home, but making sure the guests are very comfortable. Plenty of towels in the bathroom, with wash cloths. The bed was also very comfortable. The breakfast was also A+. We cannot describe in many more words other than to say, if you want a very luxurious B & B with a very kind and helpful Larry. Do not hesitate to stay. It's a wonderful experience.


Beautifully decorated, refreshing B&B

5 sur août 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here last fall on our way to go camping. The house was beautiful, and the service exceeded our expectations by a mile. We had to arrive later in the evening and the owner made sure we were welcomed and taken care of. The owner had thought of little details to make the stay that much better - heated floors in the bathroom, chocolates, water bottles, a large DVD collection. It was definitely worth every penny and we hope to stay again!


I don't want to go home...

5 sur août 24, 2011

Last minute trip for a funeral in the middle of the week - not expecting such a wonderful stay! Larry Sidwell and his attention to detail, made the trip quite memorable! Larry was able to accomodate early check in, luxurious room - extremely comfortable bed and turn down service. Robes, Iron and Ironing board in room. Chocolate, snacks, Keruig machine and small fridge available right outside the door to the room for convenience. Great selections of movies and DVD and TV in the room. Bathroom was WONDERFUL, down to the littlest details....Magnifying mirror for the 'old eyes' :) and makeup towelette removers, air/jacuzzi tub that I'm disappointed I didn't get to take advantage of (don't worry Larry - we'll be back!), heated towel racks, hairdryer and other necessities (lotions, soaps,etc.) Accomodated an early breakfast, as we had to leave by 8 am - and what a beautiful way to start the day! Wonderfully set table with several choices of juice (including Pomegranate-Blueberry - that my husband loved) - fresh fruit and yogurt with granola, french toast with fresh berries and more! Only negative.... I wasn't able to stay an extra day or two to relax and enjoy - had to get back to work!


Sidwell Friends B&B

4,0 sur juillet 31, 2011

Pleasantly surprised by room! The real thing was much better than the pictured room on the website. Food & hospitality were wonderful. I would highly recommend this B & B!


Sidwell Friends B and B

4,4 sur juillet 28, 2011

This is a lovely Victorian style B & B. Larry is a delight and provides a very warm and inviting experience. Within walking distance of the Cedarhurst.


Bill and Jane's Getaway

5 sur juillet 06, 2011

A beautiful, early 20th century home that has been updated and well kept. The rooms were well appointed and the one we stayed in had an adjoined bath that was absolutely wonderful. Larry, the host, was friendly, kind and attentive to our needs and wants. Jane and I were able to just relax and let the weekend progress so leisurely that we hated to leave and go back to the "real world". A must for anyone looking for luxurious accomodations in a small town atomosphere.


Wonderful place!

5 sur juillet 03, 2011

Mr sidwell is an excellent innkeeper. Had a great time at the nearby winery. If you can, get there early enough to visit the museum and sculpture garden just half a mile away.


Extremely Impressive

5 sur juillet 03, 2011

We've stayed in numerous B&Bs in the US and Europe but Sidwell Friends is the only one that truly deserves an "outstanding" rating in every category. The home is beautifully decorated, filled with antiques and interesting features. We've stayed in two of the rooms and both were wonderful: very comfortable, with elegant extras like yummy (ironed!) high thread-count sheets. The gourmet breakfast, served on lovely china with silver service, was beyond our expectations. We consider Sidwell Friends an excellent value. The innkeeper, Larry Sidwell, spares no expense in spoiling his guests and has an eye for detail that Martha Stewart would envy. He delivers that rarity of B&B experiences: five-star guest service, well appointed rooms in a gorgeous home, and an elegant breakfast...with no atmosphere of pretention. Very impressive. If you plan to be anywhere remotely near Mt. Vernon, do not miss this B&B.


Happy Rest

5 sur juillet 02, 2011

We have had the great pleasure of overnighting at Sidwell Friends recently. The accomodation is furnished to a high standard and Larry's hospitality made us feel as if we were long lost friends returning home. The breakfast was to a gourmet standard with fresh ingredients and a wide choice. This was a truly joyful experience and my husband and I hope that we will have the opportunity to return there soon.


Phyllis Slusher review June 25, 2011

5 sur juin 30, 2011

I've never stayed in a more beautiful, comfortable, welcoming place at any price. Larry is more than an innkeeper -- he's a font of knowledge, a charming perfectionist and a self-deprecating cook who puts on a gorgeous and delicious breakfast spread.


GREAT Place to stay!!

4,8 sur juin 20, 2011

Very nice house. Had lots of charm and was very clean. Our host and owner Larry was very charming and knowledgeable. He made our stay extremely comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and again. Thank You Larry for a wonderfull experience!!


The Best Bed In The State Of Illinois Is At Sidwell & Friends B&B!

5 sur juin 12, 2011

My fourth visit to Sidwell & Friends B&B was shared with friends from Northern Ireland and a newly married couple. It was a merry group all around, and the ambience and service at this Mt. Vernon B&B is always first class. But this time, I did something completely new. I stayed in the Pruett room, which is beautifully decorated in gold and royal blue with framed prints of the Mayflower and the Santa Maria. The centerpiece of the room is the most luxurious canopied bed with mile high mattresses. The canopy was hand-knotted in coastal North Carolina, and is a wonder to behold on a four-poster bed of the highest quality oak. A little foot stool is available to climb up into the bed, and once in you never want to leave! I felt like a queen or an aristocratic lady from the Old South, and what sweet dreams one has in a bed like this. Breakfast the next morning was served in two major courses with a fresh variety of berries, cereals, and the most delicious breads: chocolate, banana nut, and blueberry. The second course was a delicious basil strada and country ham with a choice of juices. Everyone had seconds because breakfast was so tasty and delightful. Sidwell & Friends is my second home, and now (courtesy of innkeeper Larry Sidwell) I can say I have slept in the very best bed in the State of Illinois!


Lovely bit of New England in Illinois

5 sur juin 10, 2011

We were so glad to have chosen Sidwell Friends B & B for our stay in Mt. Vernon. Every detail had been thought of & provided by the thoughtful host. Chilled Perrier, Swiss chocolate, and a good selection of magazines & DVDs? Check. Citronella candles lit on the deck as we stroll the garden? Yep. A host who is friendly and available but not intrusive? Absolutely. We chose the Pruett room because we liked the canopy and that it looked like it was in a historic New England house. The private bath was not far down the hall but not an inconvience, especially since we were the only guests that night.


Friendly and Convenient

5 sur avril 02, 2011

We spent one night (Friday April 1st) and was more than pleased with the accommodations, the hospitality and the great spread of breakfast fare this morning. We highly recommend that you treat yourself to this Southern Illinois treasure if you are anywhere close to the Mt. Vernon area.


Sidwell Friends Bed & Breakfast

4,6 sur avril 02, 2011

My husband & I had a wonderful stay. The house has lovely furnishings. Mr. Sidwell offered extra snacks and drinks at our convenience. We had a spacious bedroom with an updated bathroom. The breakfast was of gourmet quality. Mr. Sidwell is a wonderful and interesting host and shares great stories.


Wonderful, relaxing visit....

5 sur mars 29, 2011

Larry has made an oasis in Mt. Vernon.His attention to detail is noted throughout the property, the B&B is just as wonderful as all the reviews say and Larry...well Larry is awesome!! We had such a wonderful, relaxing time, comfy bed, yummy breakfast,beautiful house and a great time visiting with the host. We are looking forward to our return visit:)


Wonderful stay

5 sur mars 12, 2011

We stayed with Larry at the Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast last summer. We had a WONDERFUL time. Everything was exactly as advertised.... the room was very clean, the house was beautifully decorated, the breakfast had some wonderful choices..... we recommend it HIGHLY!


Mt Vernon's Best

5 sur février 24, 2011

My husband and I need a short getaway last Sunday night. What a gem we found at the Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast. The house is just awesome. Beautifully decorated and clean beyond saying. Larry was a most gracious host taking time to tell us about the history of his home as well as the "Sidwell" history. Our room was lovely and the heated floors in the bath a real treat. Larry was so kind to meet our eating plan for breakfast. We had a long and enjoyable visit over it and he never made us feel as if we were taking up too much of his time. All in all a totally exceptional experience. Highly recommend.


A Hidden Jewel

5 sur février 16, 2011

What a lovely bed and breakfast. Everything about our stay was wonderful. A bit of New England in Illinois. Wonderful accomodations, a delicious breakfast and an outstanding Innkeeper. One of the best!


Perfect Anniversary

4,8 sur janvier 10, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending a night at Sidwell Friends in celebration of our anniversary. The home was immaculate and tastefully decorated with great care going into every detail. We enjoyed getting to know Larry and the history of the home and its furnishings over a delicious breakfast. It was a perfectly peaceful getaway! We would definitely recommend Sidwell Friends, and plan to make a return visit or two.


what a gift!!

5 sur octobre 13, 2010

my husband and i were given a weekend at Sidwell Friends as a gift from our children. What a wonderful gift to be lavished upon by Larry for the weekend, a real treat indeed!! Sidwell Friends is impeccably decorated but yet has such a warmth and comfortable atmosphere. the guest rooms were lacking nothing and were fully decorated and equipped down to every detail. the "dunaven" was simply amazing...the room was luxurious~the bed was like sleeping on a cloud especially after stepping out of the master bath with its heated floor, towel rack, relaxing air-jet whirlpool and my husband's favorite-the shower!! Larry has decorated his inn with taste and comfort. As for his service~i did NOT want to go home. His breakfasts were amazing (especially impressive to a usual non-breakfast eater like myself!!) His cooking is wonderful and he puts so much thought into the meal as well as the presentation. i felt so pampered and "doted" on. He even spares nothing in the "treats" and amenities that he provides. this was our first of MANY trips to Sidwell Friends, i CAN'T wait to go back and stay with 'friends'. thank you Larry for such a wonderful weekend, we WILL return~ david & lori


One of the Best Ever

5 sur octobre 06, 2010

Our experience at Sidwell and Friends was even better than we expected. Most comfortable bed, lovely breakfast and most importantly the most gracious innkeeper. Larry is a gem. We truly enjoyed his conversation and the elegance yet comfort of his home. We will recommend to all our friends. Monika and Jeff.


A Quiet Get Away

4,8 sur octobre 03, 2010

Everything was outstanding. It is a heaven of rest away from the busy world. Wonderful relaxing place to rest.


Great experience

5 sur octobre 02, 2010

We had a funny schedule with my wife arriving earlier than i did, Larry was very welcoming and accommodating. We enjoyed our room and the house was so nicely decorated with historical memorabilia. The grounds were nice and convenient. We are definitely coming back. Thank you Mr. Sidwell.


What a wonderful retreat at the end of the day!

4,8 sur septembre 01, 2010

We stay for three nights at the Sidwell Friends B&B and it was a relaxing and enjoyable visit. Larry Sidwell is so friendly, attentive and a all around wonderful host. We stayed in "The Dunaven" and what a treat is was. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed awesome and the bath is so relaxing. Larry has thought of everything to make your stay a wonderful one. He has decorated the B&B and refurbished it with such love. The furniture, rugs, painting and books make this a beautiful and special place. We also were treated to the 3 course breakfast every morning that left us ready for the rest of the day. We hope to return soon when we are in the area. Thanks for a wonderful visit...Larry! The Salt's Texas


Outstanding

5 sur juillet 05, 2010

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Such and enjoyable time and the Innkeeper has a wonderful way of making you feel right at home. Beautifully decorated.


I could live in the master bathroom!

4,8 sur juillet 02, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast. I have family in Mt. Vernon, and it is located very close to several relatives' houses. This is not what you are expecting to find here! The house is elegant, but comfortable. I have stayed in the room with the queen bed and the master. The queen room was great, but the master was outstanding! It is gorgeously decorated in a very up-to-date style. I have back issues and am always wary of a bed that is not my own. No need to worry--it was more comfortable than my bed at home! And the master bathroom! Talk about luxurious! It is beautifully decorated and wisely designed. While I loved seeing my family, I would love to have spent more time in my room. Now how often can you say that? Larry's (the owner) breakfasts are fabulous! My sister and I both decided our normal breakfast fare was lacking after having been served (literally) such a feast. Larry has thought of everything you could want and possibly need. He goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable and happy. It is like staying at a friend's house!


excellent b&b

4,8 sur juin 30, 2010

We stayed in the master suite and it was beautiful and comfortable. The private bath was large and had all the amenities, jet tub and multiple jet shower. The house decor is lovely and classic. Our stay was so enjoyable.


pampered in Mt. Vernon

5 sur juin 22, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by the quaint atmosphere at the Sidwell Friends B&B. The master bedroom was beautiful, comfortable and inviting. Details like a jacuzzi and heated towels enhanced the spa-like bathroom. Loved the double-ceiling fans and individual AC controls (especially in the summer). I was also impressed with the Keurig coffee maker upstairs and incredible fresh breakfasts served on gorgeous china. I hope to stay there again next time I'm in the area.


Excellent Facility

5 sur mai 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Sidwell Friends B&B in January 2010. We found every amenity for our comfort imaginable. My wife particularly enjoyed the extremely elegant bathroom and the jacuzzi air tub. Both our rooms and the common areas of this elegant home were beautiful. We arrived in a snowstorm and the innkeeper went out of his way to assist us. We highly recommend Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast. Paul and Patricia


Beautiful B & B

4,8 sur mai 03, 2010

Our stay at Sidwell Friends B & B was excellent. The whole house is furnished beautifully. We felt right at home. Larry is an excellent host. We will definitely stay here again.


Sidwell Friends B&B

5 sur avril 05, 2010

I recently spent one night at Sidwell Friends B&B I found it to be nicely decorated , bath and Bedroom very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious consisting of Granola, fresh berries with yogurt and cream, french toast with berry syrup and ham, juice and coffee or tea. Larry Sidwell, owner was helpful and very pleasant. He also found a couple of items I had forgotten and was able to catch me before I left, it was raining, but he ran out to the car to return them. I will always stay there when I'm in the area.


Happy to be a Friend of Sidwell!

5 sur mars 05, 2010

We needed a winter break and could only get away overnight. We were looking for somewhere within 150 miles, and thought Sidwell & Friends looked very appealing. When we arrived, the Christmas decorations were amazing throughout this charming small mansion, and Mr. Sidwell warmed us with homemade mulled apple cider. We later learned the building had been completely restored and updated by Larry Sidwell, whose taste is incredible. The quality and ambience of Sidwell & Friends is more like that of a 5-star boutique hotel -- so wonderful to find in Southern Illinois. Larry made dinner reservations at a superb restaurant called "Ninth Street" where we enjoyed a six course gourmet dinner and a surprisingly creative, broad, and affordably-priced wine list. Our room featured a king-sized bed, beautiful furnishings, HDTV, and a luxurious bathroom with Gilchrist & Soames products. We elected to have breakfast at the latest hour, and the service was elegant in every way; the fruits fresh; and the cooked foods delicious and delightfully presented. Our winter getaway to Mt. Vernon, Illinois was a real joy and just what we needed to overcome the winter doldrums and recharge our batteries. Larry Sidwell is an innkeeper extraordinaire, and you will love Sidwell & Friends. We are happy to be a new friend of Sidwell!


Absolutely The Best

5 sur février 26, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at Sidwell Friends B&B recently. Mr. Sidwell has a beautiful,warm and inviting home. Furnishing are magnificent. Some of the best antique pieces I have seen. One room was just more breath taking than the last. But unlike some Inns we have stayed in, the antiques and other furnishing were not only beautiful but very comfortable as well. Our room accommodations were first class with such tasteful, well arranged furnishings and accessories. Then there were the breakfasts! What a wonderful setting in the luxuriously appointed dining room. My wife enjoyed the beautiful china and the presentation of the meals. The food was wonderful with some good ole "Southern Living" dishes and other favorites of Mr. Sidwell. They are now some of our favorites too. We really appreciated the hospitality and great conversation we shared with Mr. Sidwell. We plan on visiting his lovely home again.


An Elegant Escape

4,8 sur novembre 12, 2009

My husband and I spent one night recently at the Sidwell Friends B&B--what an enjoyable experience! The owner was so friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were exquisite. I so enjoyed the heated flooring and towel rack in the bathroom. We stayed in the Pruett room which was perfect for our needs. Breakfast was one of the highlights of the experience, so delicious and beautifully displayed. This B&B is a perfect stopping point for those traveling from Chicago to Memphis, but also is a wonderfully elegant weekend escape for anyone. Can't wait to visit again.


Greatest Find of Our Trip

5 sur novembre 09, 2009

Traveling from NYC to St. Louis we stayed at several interesting B&Bs along the way. As we wound our way to Springfield, IL for a Lincoln weekend, we picked a night stop in Mt. Vernon. Little town, few choices, we thought this stop might not be our best. Wow! What a surprise. Larry Sidwell has created the most wonderful, inviting, sumptuous, gorgeous establishment imaginable. I told my husband he could go on--I wanted to stay at Larry's. I agree with all the positive reviews I read and won't repeat the praise. It was a great find!


A Stay to Remember

5 sur octobre 14, 2009

Our first B&B experience established a very high standard for all future stays. We are anxious to return to Sidwell Friends...Larry's gracious hospitality added to the elegance of the facility. We were impressed upon arrival. We're still talking about the marvelous breakfast provided. We found a treasure in Mt Vernon. Appreciated the opportunity to relax in style and look forward to another visit whenever possible. THANK YOU!!


Find Connecticut in Mt. Vernon, Illinois

5 sur octobre 01, 2009

Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast was a glorious experience. My husband and I have stayed at many lovely B & B's but this experience topped them all. This was a special event with a dear friend from my childhood. Being friends for 65 years was our occasion to celebrate. No detail has been overlooked either in decor or in our bountiful breakfasts. The Innkeeper, Larry Sidwell, was more than gracious...more that a great host...more than a capable chef ... not to mention his obvious talent in the garden. If you enjoy being pampered, take advantage of this lovely home away from home. It will feel like your own and you'll leave with a feeling that you need to re-visit as soon as possible.


Great Stay

4,8 sur août 04, 2009

Great place to relax and getaway. You will think you are in a New England B&B. The owner Larry is very attentive and ensures guests are comfortable. Whether traveling the interstate highways or needing some R&R, I highly recommend this destination.


Luxurious, comfortable - can't be beaten!

5 sur juillet 27, 2009

This is just a wonderful place to escape and be pampered. The rooms are elegant and so very comfortable and it was in a quiet neighborhood. The breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room with all the settings and manners that seem to have disappeared in many other B&Bs. The living room and library are comfortable and the library has varied and tasteful selections that can keep you interested for weeks. My 92-year old mother was traveling with me and stayed there during part of the day while I had to be away. She felt safe and comfortable, in the house and wandering through the yard. I recommend Sidwell and Friends wholeheartedly and, and I'm jealous that I can't be there frequently.


Wonderful home and great breakfast

5 sur juin 22, 2009

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was immaculate and the food was delicious. Very private. We enjoyed Mr. Sidwells' hospitality.


Lovely Slice of New England in the Midwest

5 sur mai 19, 2009

On our way from Chicago to Memphis we stayed at this gorgeous property. The attention to detail is amazing and the entire property was impecably clean. I loved the turn down service, with Godiva chocalates! The innkeeper was friendly and made a great suggestion for dinner, a local spot with good food and ambiance...not a chain. The breakfast was lovely, with good coffee and fresh fruit and then an entre. I highly recommend staying here, which for us was a wonderful respite and good night's sleep.


Sidwell Friends is Very Friendly

4,6 sur mai 04, 2009

We found the Sidwell Friends B&B in Mt. Vernon, Illinois, to be one of the most exquisitely decorated properties we have seen - out of many. We stayed in the top-of-the-line Duneven room, which has a king bed, HDTV with DVD player, and large private bath with heated floor and hot tub. The house was spotless. Mr. Sidwell has decorated the house with beautiful antique and classic furniture (including reproductions of several pieces from the family estate of Princess Diana) and ornamental pieces. host and The breakfast included homemade breads, several fresh fruits, granola, yogurt, ham and a delicious pecan-encrusted French toast. You couldn't ask for more. We enjoyed a mid-morning conversation with Mr. Sidwell and his friend Janet, who prepared the breakfast. Mr. Sidwell is a very gracious host and is a descendant of the family that established the highly sought Sidwell Friends School in Washington, DC - the one that President Obama’s children attend. If you stay in the Duneven room, you won't be disappointed with a stay at Sidwell Friends.


An Unexpected Treasure

4,8 sur février 17, 2009

Our stay at Sidwell Friends was accidental and unexpected. We had reserved a room at a nearby B&B, but due to unfortunate circumstances, our room was no longer available. Larry Sidwell gladly stepped up and offered us a room at his establishment. The entire home is decorated and features a variety of artwork and an extensive library. After many trips to the bathroom to feel the heated tile floors and a good night’s rest in our comfortable colonial style room, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast matched with wonderful china. We would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone who is looking to relax and uncover treasures without leaving the property.


Mt. Vernon Delight

4,8 sur janvier 25, 2009

The comfort and style of our bedroom and bath, the elegant breakfast, the beautiful furnishings of the house and the hospitality and friendliness of our host made for a memorable visit. We were delighted! We enthusiastically recommend The Sidwell Friends B&B.


Here to Stay!

5 sur octobre 12, 2008

Date: 7/25/2008 - 7/29/2008 We had the special privilege of being Larry's first guests to stay at Sidwell Friends B&B, and Larry's hospitality and graciousness exceeded expectation! The house and grounds are charming but the interior decor is a beautiful blend of antiques, warm wood and color schemes, "fun and interesting" finds all amidst an elegant, yet cozy feel to each room. The full breakfasts were scrumptious and my request for a simple bowl of instant oatmeal was met with such a gracious attitude. We truly felt as if we were at a friend's home to visit and we look forward to staying at Sidwell Friends anytime we are in the area.


A Great Find

5 sur septembre 24, 2008

We love staying at b&bs and this one is a REAL JEWEL ! The home was cozy and made you feel at home. Beautiful furnishings throught out the home.The breakfast was to die for!!! A must see .


Going Home Again

5 sur août 11, 2008

My family owned this home for 35 years (sold it 6 years ago); went "home" to visit friends and stayed with Larry last weekend. Without qualification/reservation, can say this B&B is most beautiful/delightful venue ever experienced. Beautiful antique furnishings, charming architecture, lovely landscaping, gracious outdoor spaces & wonderful breakfast! First-class through and through (fine linens, best beds, exquisite baths, extraordinary hospitality). Book now--you'll love it!


Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $120 - $160
  • Avis (117) 4,9
  • Chambres 3
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6186918742

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut