Seacord House Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix5,0
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
21 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great value, charming home

4,8 sur décembre 18, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Seacord. It's within walking distance of Seminary St. where we enjoyed the unique shops and restaurants. The Seacord House itself is an old fashioned mansion with hard wood floors and victorian furnishings. The rooms were comfortable and the water bed was a fun novelty. Gwen and Lyle were gracious and went well beyond expectations to make sure we were comfortable. We had an early flight and were leaving Galesburg at 5:30 am. We told them we would, of course, be skipping breakfast. Lyle, however, woke up at 5am and made us muffins so that we would have something hot to take with us.


Seacord House

5 sur août 17, 2011

This is the house you wish you had grown up in. Children in books go to homes like this to visit their grandparents.... The house is decorated in a charming blend of anitques and family memorabilia. The rooms at Seacord House are homey, and comfortable. The porch and garden are lovely places to sit, relax, and unwind. A wide selection of books in the rooms and the house's library make even a rainy day delightful... but most amazing is the food. The breakfasts are delicious ~ one would be hard pressed to find food as good at a restaurant. This is definitely more than your money's worth.


Better Like Waterbeds

2,8 sur juillet 12, 2011

This is the first B&B we've stayed at with waterbeds. All the rooms have them, either queens or twins. Did not sleep well, perhaps because not accustomed to waterbeds. The rooms are fairly small and all share a common bathroom, but there are sinks in each room. Breakfast was a fairly minimal affair of waffles and strawberries, coffee and oj. House is a Victorian in an attractive and historic part of town, surrounded with greenery. Several restaurants are within walking distance, .75 to 1 mile away.


Another wonderful stay at Seacord House!

5 sur juillet 02, 2011

Galesburg is a wonderful place to visit, but it's worth going just to stay at the Seacord. What you get for your money is amazing: interested, helpful, easy-going hosts who will sit and converse if you like, and leave you alone when you like; excellent home-created breakfasts with special requests honored; waterbeds perfectly-filled to comfort your contours; books of all sorts; WiFi (unlike at the coffee house downtown from which Seacord gets its fine coffee!); lovely, leafy, historic neighborhood; family atmosphere. We love Gwen and Lyle's house and ways, and will be back from Arizona again if at all possible!


Absolutely delicious

5 sur juin 02, 2011

Mrs. Johnson (Gwen) is a delightful host and Mr. Johnson- Lyle is a wonderful cook. His waffles were light and filling at the same time. Served with fresh fruit and freshly ground coffee, made for a fantastic breakfast. Definitely a place to which I will return as often as possible.


Terrific B & B

4,8 sur décembre 08, 2010

I travel alot with my job & always stay at the Seacord House. I enjoy sleeping on the waterbed, I find it very comfortable. The food is delicious. Galesburg is a neat, quaint town with alot of nice restaurants. Llye & Gwen are very personable & I enjoy conversing with them. I am looking forward to my stay tonight at the Seacord!!


Would stay there again

4,6 sur novembre 19, 2010

If you are looking for a high-priced luxury room, this is not it. However, if you are looking for a comfortable room (with a waterbed!) in a home filled with an eclectic collection of antiques and things well-loved by the owners, this B&B is a great choice. Gwen and Lyle were gracious hosts, interesting to talk to, and he is a wonderful cook. They know their area and helped us understand the history of Galesburg and nearby Bishop Hill. I would definitely stay there again if I'm in the area.


A delightful and delicious B & B

4,8 sur juin 25, 2010

Seacord house is owned by a couple that take great pride in their B & B.. and develop long lasting relationships with their guests,, and can they cook a great breakfast....


Love Gwen & Lyle!

5 sur avril 13, 2010

Our son is going to Knox College, so we were researching places to stay in Galesburg on the internet and found Seacord House. We LOVE Gwen & Lyle -- they are gracious, hospitable, conversational, interesting and fascinating hosts, and they have a lovely, old house. Plus, Lyle makes to die for breakfasts! Their house is within walking distance of the Amtrak Station and the campus, although Lyle is willing to give you a lift if you need it. We never saw the ghost, but as one reviewer has noted, it must be a happy ghost!


Homey And Comfortable

5 sur novembre 05, 2009

I stayed with my 4 yr. old daughter and my Father in October for the spoon river scenic drive. Gwen and Lyle were more than accommodating in every respect. The rooms are clean and comfy. The waterbeds are low motion and not typical. The food is great and plentiful. The conversation is great and the home is charming and beautiful. Gwen and Lyle are intelligent and unpretentious. I would definitelt stay again. Very Family friendly.


Excellent, just excellent

4,8 sur octobre 24, 2009

Stayed at the Seacord house while visiting my children who's mother moved them there over a yar ago (closer to her family). The host were wonderful and accomodating. The house was lovely, warm and roomy. The atmosphere was comfortable beyond belief. The food was great. If I had to find something bad to say it would be I'm not comfortable on a waterbed. But I didn't know that till this visit. No fault of theirs; and I'll still return my next visit North.


Overall a very comfortable experience

4,6 sur octobre 17, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the Seacord House becuase we werer visiting Knox college. The hosts are amazing people and Lyle makes the best waffles I have ever had. The house is very old and could use some repair work, but nothing that would make me wish I never stayed there. Every room has a water bed and is very comfortable. Rooms are a little small, but nothing too bad. From the Seacord House, you're just down the street from many different kinds of shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.


Best Value in Galesburg

4,4 sur mars 03, 2009

This is our third stay at Seacord. As always, Gwen and Lyle are the perfect hosts providing interesting conversation if wanted or privacy if preferred. The breakfast is prepared by Lyle and is plentiful as well as delicious. Juice, coffee, milk, fruit and a main dish are the usual fare. There is always more than enough and Lyle does not hesitate to offer more than a single portion. The B&B is close to downtown and Knox College. A really nice residence to retire to with good value. We highly recommend a stay with the Johnsons. John & Jean Rahn


celebrate a simple life

4,6 sur février 12, 2009

Warm and friendly owners, a quaint, turn-of-the-century house, and beautiful accommodations. The Seacord House has it all and for a very affordable price. My expectations were WAY more than exceeded, and we plan to stay again!


Outstanding in so many ways

5 sur janvier 24, 2009

My family and I traveled to Galesburg to visit my student at Knox College. Gwen and Lyle helped us make all the arrangments since my son-in-law was coming in from California and we were arriving from Kansas City....their flexibility made everything so easy and set the tone for a fantastic stay. The rooms are fantastic...cozy, clean and comfortable. It was such a cold spell that I looked forward to climbing into that wonderful bed and reading. Gwen and Lyle were so welcoming and fantastic to talk with. The breakfasts were just the right amount of food and conversation. All of us looked forward to going down and seeing what we'd have to eat. They also helped us find places that were on our Want to Visit list...and that was very nice. My son has graduated and I'm not sure if I'll get back to Galesburg anytime soon. Believe me, if I do...I only want to stay at the Seacord House.


A Wonderful Stay in Galesburg

4,8 sur octobre 29, 2008

The folks at the Seacord House are delightful hosts who provide scrumptious breakfasts (including superb coffee!), warm and cozy bedrooms, and great conversation. Within minutes, all guests around the breakfast table were chatting like old friends, refreshed from their night's rest and replete with the morning's refreshments. Highly recommended!


cozy and comfortable

4,6 sur octobre 27, 2008

Wonderful people and service! quaint, clean, charming and pretty, this house was well worth the money (and then some!) safe, quiet, and tranquil. will tell others about it!


I'd go back in a second

5 sur août 05, 2008

The innkeepers worked around our schedule of attending a wedding, and their attention to us and great conversation at breakfast were ... well, great! I also picked up a recipe from Lyle. They only increased my love of bed and breakfasts.


Seacord House.

4,6 sur juin 09, 2008

Excellent B&B. Very homey! Very personable. Each room had a waterbed!


FIVE YEARS OF VISITS

4,6 sur juin 04, 2008

Replete with creaky floors and doors that stick, a Victorian (Queen Anne) lady with a wraparound porch exudes a sense of peaceful history. Only happy ghosts lived here. The owners seem to have been chosen by the house and take that trust seriously. Delicious, unostentatious breakfasts and conversation on most any topic are always available. We're family now after 5 years of visits, and we love it.


I would stay there again!

4,6 sur mai 25, 2008

The B&B was within convenient walking distance of everything we wanted to see and the surrounding area was very nice. The hosts were helpful and informative. My failure to give them an outstanding rating in all five categories was due more having visited several really incredible B&Bs in Alaska a year ago rather than any failure on their part.


Seacord House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $59 - $70
  • Avis (21) 4,7
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-3093424107
Haut