Brierwreath Manor Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
80 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Very happy with Brierwreath Manor

5 sur juin 30, 2014

Brierwreath Manor was a perfect choice for our first visit to Galena. The off street parking and convenient location (only a block from the main area) made our stay more pleasant. The innkeeper, Joe Cook, was hospitable as well as helpful. The breakfasts were delicious (we had 5 of them!) as were the chocolate chip cookies. The accommodations are suites so there is more space than in a room only. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Brierwreath Manor and would stay there again.


weekend trip

3,8 sur juin 18, 2014

First time b/b gusts. It was very relaxing and Joe exceeded our expectations as a host. He was there if needed and not obtrusive if we didn't need him. Home made breakfast from scratch was a treat along with lite conversation to get the day going. Great time.


great location

4,2 sur juin 17, 2014

Stayed at Mayor's room and it was really close to the Main street and parking is no problem. There is a street light that was a bit bright and would be nice there is a heavier shade for the window. But overall, nice experience.


Brierwreath B&B review

5 sur juin 06, 2014

Very relaxing time and close to downtown. We will go back again to Brierwreath.


Weekend Getaway!

5 sur avril 23, 2014

We have stayed in Galena many times over the past 17 years and this was our 1st stay at Brierwreath and couldn't have been more pleases. The Inn was very comfortable and quiet and the location very convenient to food, shopping and entertainment. I am sure we will be back soon.


I will come again

5 sur janvier 03, 2014

Lovely old home furnished with period pieces. Only 1 block from main street and could walk everywhere. The price was right, the meals were delicious and the home is exquisite. I will stay there again next time i visit Galena.


Great stay on a very cold night

5 sur janvier 03, 2014

Enjoyed having a sitting room available to stay in from the cold. The hostess was very welcoming. We would stay here again.


Great Experience !!

4,0 sur octobre 21, 2013

Our stay far exceeded my expectations for our first time staying in a B & B. Host and Hostess were friendly and helpful but not in your space at all and definitely have the gift of hospitality. The breakfast table was set beautifully taking full advantage of fine china and silver service. The food was tasty and nicely presented. Our room was clean and provided all of the comforts needed to relax after a day of shopping or scouting around Galena. We would definitely stay there again.


Ideal B&B Experience

5 sur octobre 11, 2013

We had a two day and one night stay in Galena. We wanted a place with parking and within walking distance of Main Street. This B&B was the perfect place and the room was fabulous. The breakfast was delicious and it was nice to visit with Mike and Lyn. We would definitely stay here again.


A return visit

4,0 sur septembre 30, 2013

Stayed with Mike and Lyn before, wonderful hosts. Very short walk to downtown. Like the breakfasts and the chocolate chip cookies!


Best place to stay in Galena

5 sur septembre 25, 2013

One short block to the main street of Galena. Wonderful B and B - one could spend hours there just looking at all of the furnishings. Loved the early morning coffee and the breakfast.


would stay here again!

4,4 sur septembre 19, 2013

Although the decor is way too cluttered and foo foo for me, I loved the house and the location was perfect. A short 2 minute walk to Main St. We arent breakfast people but breakfast smelled amazing each morning! The owners were very nice and accommodating. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!


Best B&B ever!

5 sur août 28, 2013

Having traveled all over the world, staying at hotels, resorts, hostels and B&Bs, Mike and Lyn's cozy and inviting home offer all of the comforts you'd expect when staying with family - minus the family drama!!


Wonderful location

3,8 sur août 14, 2013

The location of the Brierwreath Manor was perfect! We were able to walk to all the downtown stores but the uphill climb could be a killer for people not use to walking alot. The rooms were very comfortable but a little too cluttered for me. Breakfast was delicious!


very pleasant - will go back

4,4 sur août 12, 2013

The rooms are very nice, lots of antique details to enjoy, and the bed was amazing. Water/tea/coffee/ cocoa/ crystal light is always available. t.v. is available in each room and wi-fi password posted for all to use. Breakfast was excellent. The only thing I did not love was the owners sitting down to chat while we ate. They did ask if they could join us, so next time I’ll have my answer ready 'if it's okay we'd like to continue our conversation privately.' But they are lovely people. The photos are all accurate, but notice the distance of the outside photo. Upon close inspection there is a small bit of overgrowth in the yard. Behind the home is a stone wall which gives privacy. Parking conveniently in the driveway and the short walk to Main Street is close, but steep. I would have liked the lovely wraparound porch to look a bit more fresh or colorful since it doesn’t fully represent the beauty of the inside décor. Over all it is quaint, nicely decorated, efficient, relaxing. I would recommend this to a friend.


Pleasant Surprise

4,4 sur août 11, 2013

Do not usually enjoy Bed and Breakfasts, but love this one, the location and the great hospitality.


Brierwreath

5 sur août 07, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at Brierwreath. It was a wonderful experience. Walking 1 block onto Main street was also a good experience. Mike and Lynn were wonderful hosts. The breakfast was the best! Thank you for your hospitality. We would stay their again in a heartbeat. Rick & Grace


Brierwreath Manor Bed & Breakfast - Enjoyed our stay!!!

4,8 sur juillet 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Good value, clean and well decorated rooms with all needed facilities, excellent host and hostess and excellent food. Would highly recommend.


We keep coming back!

5 sur juillet 13, 2013

Charming house & wonderful innkeepers! Jim & Mary Kay


Wonderful experience.

4,0 sur juin 26, 2013

Great location, excellent accommodations, charming hostess. Could have used a bit more fruit with breakfast and perhaps seconds or a side of eggs.


lovely old house but way too many knick-knacks!

3,2 sur juin 25, 2013

Great location to downtown Galena. Friendly and helpful innkeepers.


Wonderful time

4,0 sur février 21, 2013

We had never stayed here before. BBeen to Galena many times and this was very relaxing, very roomy. The food was very good and the company on our last morning was very nice as well. Would go back to this B and B


Again and again

5 sur décembre 31, 2012

We have visited Brierwreath for the last twenty years. Lyn and Mike are gracious hosts. Their home is beautifully decorated.We can't wait to hear "whats for breakfast" (They even accommodated a specific dietary request). Brierwreath is conveniently within walking distance of shops and restaurants on Main Street. Would we return to Brierwreath, absolutely, again and again!


Brierwreath Manor Bed & Breakfast

5 sur novembre 26, 2012

We stayed at the Brierwreath in October and had a great stay. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hosts were excellent and treated us very well. I am not a big B&B guy but I would definetly go back. The location was a block from the main street with easy access to all the shops and resteraunts that Galena had to offer. We had a great time and the B&B was a big part of our stay.


Charming B&B

5 sur novembre 08, 2012

Great location. Each bedroom has a sitting area and fireplace. Very cozy without being small.


The best!

5 sur octobre 25, 2012

Our stay was great, as it is every year. We love this B & B - friendly, helpful and accommodating staff - nice rooms - great food - perfect location (walking distance to everything). Highly recommend this place!


The girls

5 sur octobre 08, 2012

This was the first time I stayed in a B&B. I usually had kids with me so we always looked for hotels with swimming pools. So I have really nothing to compare this to. I can say it was very relaxing, homie feeling, beautiful view and the most spectacular breakfast. Would stay there again.


Relaxing stay

4,4 sur octobre 08, 2012

Quiet homey atmosphere with delicious breakfast and company for conversation. Only one block to the main area of town, within walking distance of some great dining and museum. The B and B hosts were welcoming and warm people. I would definitely come here again.


Nice, friendly innkeeper

3,4 sur octobre 08, 2012

Great breakfasts! Parking on premises available. Very convenient to downtown Galena, IL.


Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast

5 sur septembre 28, 2012

Pecan French toast delicious.


Third time is a charm

4,8 sur septembre 05, 2012

We have stayed in all three rooms - each has their own character, but all were very nice, warm, and comfortable. The Heirloom Suite is our favorite. If you're looking for a B&B where you get up from the breakfast table stuffed, this is probably not the place for you - although the breakfast is very good. However if you're looking for a comfortable B&B with a very warm and friendly host/hostess, and within easy walking distance to downtown Galena, you need look no further.


A great stay!

5 sur septembre 03, 2012

Brierwreath is wonderfully warm and comfy, very roomy, and its hosts Lyn & Mike Cook are what make it so good, not to mention delicious breakfasts.


Awesome Bed and Breakfast

5 sur juillet 21, 2012

Our stay at Brier Wreath Inn was fantastic. We love the ambience of the entire house. Lots of things to look at and take pixtures of! Lyn and Mike the owners were some of the nicest people we have met. Very warm and helpful. We got to spend some time talking to then after breakfast and they are very interesting people. The other couple that was there were just as nice to. We spend an hour or so just talking and I think that was my favorite ! Will go back next time we are in Galena. Thank you so much.


Nice Weekend With Nice Folks

4,6 sur juillet 05, 2012

Mike and Lyn are wonderful people who care about their guests and do a great job in making their guests feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were wonderful. The rooms all have sitting area so they are like suites. The baths are updated and very nice. They have thought of all of the extras to make one feel pampered.


Homey & convenient

5 sur juin 06, 2012

Very nice B&B. Great location, very comfortable rooms. Easy walk to shops. Great breakfast with very cordial & welcoming hosts. Wonderful cookies in the room and very friendly 'rubber ducky' for the bath. Would visit again. Dorothy & Peter Hickory Corners MI.


Our stay

5 sur mai 27, 2012

We had just a great time - very nice room - great location and the hosts are wonderful people. Highly recommended and we will be back. Dick and Elaine


Nice, long weekend

4,4 sur mai 09, 2012

Very enjoyable stay at the Brierwreath. Place is loaded with collectibles. Only 3 guest rooms so never gets crowded. Truly one block to main street Galena.


Like a Cozy Night at Grandma's House

4,0 sur mars 06, 2012

Having stayed with Mike & Lyn at the Brierwreath several times, I can personally attest to their consistently wonderful hospitality. I always come away from their home feeling as if I've just had a cozy visit to Grandma's house. During our stays, we've spent a summer's evening drinking lemonade on their front porch and curled up for a nap in front of our very own fireplace in our bedroom on a cold wintery afternoon. During this most recent stay in the Mayor's Room, we retired back to our room after a fantastic meal at the Log Cabin just a block down the street, and settled into our very own sitting room, furnished with comfy chairs and footstools, candles, home-made chocolate-chip cookies, and a cute little TV tucked into a cupboard. After a night spent sleeping between soft flannel sheets, we awoke early to the delightful smell of coffee brewing right outside our door at our very own 2nd-floor refreshment station, and then later enjoyed a bountiful breakfast served at Mike & Lyn's dining room table. We feasted on scrumptious Pecan French Toast casserole, sausage, an array of fruits, two varieties of juices, as well as carafes of both regular and hazelnut coffees. On both occasions during our stays at the Brierwreath, Lyn and/or Mike have joined us for breakfast and answered all of our questions about Galena history, places to shop, or even what it's like to run a B&B. I always leave their house feeling as if I've been pampered and spoiled, just as I did as a child during a visit to Grandma's house.


Thanks for a lovely weekend

4,2 sur février 01, 2012

Rooms do not describe them--they are more like suites. Roomy and comfortable. Location is easy--very close to Main Street with parking on the premises. Everything is thougth of from hair dryer to lotions. Mini-frig and refresment counter available 24 hrs on the same floor as the rooms..Loved it!!


Charming Bed & Breakfast

4,0 sur janvier 12, 2012

Our stay at Brierwreath was outstanding!!! The rooms were wonderfully decorated. The accommodations were excellent. You really felt at home during your stay. The food was phenomenal. I love the sitting room areas where you could just curl up with a good book and just read. It was very conveniently located to the downtown area. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.


One night stay

3,4 sur décembre 13, 2011

Very comfortable and a great location, close to shops, dining and dancing.


Best of the best!

5 sur décembre 03, 2011

Mike & Lyn absolutely love their home...and sharing it with others! We love coming back. It's like coming home.


A perfect getaway

5 sur novembre 03, 2011

Galena is a beautiful place to visit, and of all the B&B choices, I think we made a perfect one with Brierwreath. Brierwreath is a very lovely home to stay at, only a block away from main street Galena and the restaurants and shops. And it is a "home" not just a B&B. Lyn & Mike Cook are the perfect hosts (and Lyn makes a terrific breakfast!). The Mayor's Room was a nice, comfortable, peaceful getaway. Sneaking a peek at the other rooms, they looked just as great. And I loved the teddy bears! Thank you again Mike & Lyn for all your hospitality.


Shirley October 2011

4,0 sur octobre 24, 2011

Brierwreath Manor Bed & Breakfast is a jewel. Breakfast was wonderful and HOT! Super clean, furnishings are perfect. Lyn and Mike are the host/hostess with the mostest. Will be back in the Spring.


Great Hospitality

5 sur octobre 13, 2011

This was our three stay at Brierwreath. Each time we had a wonderful time. The proprietors were friendly, down-to-earth people that made the stay pleasurable experience. Great people, great rooms, and great food made this one of the highlights of our visit to Galena, Il. Made reservation to stay again next year.


An awesome place!

5 sur octobre 10, 2011

Very beautiful bed and breakfast. Great food, friendly host and hostess. Great company. Especially the treat of chocolate chip cookies every night!!!


Why stay anywhere else in Galena?

4,6 sur octobre 05, 2011

Great location. Friendly Innkeepers. The rooms were well maintained, clean and very comfortable! Breakfast was excellent. Great ideas of places to see and where to eat. It made for an excellent weekend!


Fall couples get-away

4,0 sur septembre 26, 2011

Stayed here 8-10 years ago and were not disappointed to stay here again. Location is wonderful. There were 3 couples and 3 suites so our "group" had the entire upstairs. Good mattresses and excellent breakfast. The only thing that could have made the experience better was a table where we could have played cards after dinner. The dining room table was already beautifully set for breakfast the next morning. We had a delightful stay and would certainly consider visiting again.


Bike trip

3,8 sur septembre 19, 2011

The location was great within walking distance of down town. Lyn was an outstanding host, and a great cook. I will definitely stay here if the opportunity arises.


Great place to stay!!

4,0 sur septembre 18, 2011

We had a wonderful time at The Brierwreath Inn in Galena! The room was spacios and clean. The breakfast was yummy and we enjoyed visiting with Lyn and Mike the innkeepers. We would highly recommend this inn.


Perfect homebase in Galena

4,6 sur août 10, 2011

My spouse and I recently spent the night in the Mayor's Suite at Brierwreath Manor. The room was lovely and spacious. Breakfast was delightful and Lyn accommodated our special diets (Paleo and vegan) perfectly. And the location is unbeatable - walk to everywhere.


Mayors room

3,0 sur août 01, 2011

The Brierwreath is a nice place to stay. Breakfast is good and the innkeepers are nice and the price is reasonable. It is also very close to the Downtown area. The Porch and the rocking chairs on are a nice place to sit in the evening.


Brierwreath Manor B&B

4,6 sur juillet 25, 2011

This was a very warm, comfortable and cozy place to stay down in the heart of Galena. The breakfast was very tastey and the company of the owners was very friendly and interested in making us feel welcome.


Great location!

3,6 sur juin 25, 2011

A lovely, small B&B and the hosts are most gracious! Location one block from downtown shopping & dining is especially desirable. Full breakfasts were delicious with beautiful presentation. Especially appreciated the 24-hour drink station and the early morning coffee service. Only minor drawback was the fact we could not control the air conditioning from our room, so it was a bit warm for our personal taste, but the ceiling fan was a great help.


Best B & B yet

4,8 sur juin 18, 2011

Lyn was a wonderful host. Loved the rooms, service and the feeling of home. An unforgettable vacation. Will definitely come again


an excellent choice!

4,6 sur juin 16, 2011

Just returned from a four night stay at Brierwreath. Beautiful home, very friendly and helpful innkeepers, fabulous breakfasts, great location. I would definitely stay here again.


Comfy and Cozy

3,8 sur juin 12, 2011

Enjoyed the roomy and charming accommodations and the friendliness of the hosts. The breakfast was outstanding!


Perfect weekend getaway

4,0 sur mars 28, 2011

Brierwreath is the perfect distance for walking to downton Galena even when it is cold - you can't beat one block! The rooms have all the comforts of home, right down to cottonballs should you have forgotten some. The beverage station is great for getting your coffee first thing in the morning or for your tea and lemonade in the afternoon. We were just as happy with our second stay here as we were with the first a couple years ago.


Wonderful Stay!!!

4,0 sur mars 14, 2011

This was our 3rd stay here in 20 years. We have stayed in all 3 rooms. The rooms are all beautifully decorated - cozy and romantic! The Inn is located just one block off Main St. and includes off street parking which is a plus when it gets busy in Galena! The breakfast is wonderful also.


Girl's Weekend

5 sur janvier 20, 2011

It was so nice to have the hominess of a bed and breakfast with my mom, sisters and sister-in-law. They had two rooms which could sleep three persons each which worked out perfectly for the 6 of us. We had a comfortable home to stay in (sans husbands and kids for a weekend) and warm, friendly hosts as well as a delicious breakfast both mornings. We learned some history about Galena from our innkeeper, Lyn, and there was always a hot (or cold) drink available to us if we needed it. The chocolate chip cookies and restaurant suggestions were also much appreciated. With the wonderful shopping in the area, we talked about just going to Galena and staying at the Brierwreath Manor every year.


Great Find in Galena!

4,2 sur décembre 22, 2010

My husband and I most recently stayed at the Brierwreath. We had a lovely time. It's a great location, with parking, and very walkable to main street. Mike and Lyn were great hosts, sharing their suggestions of what to do, and where to eat. I would definitely recommend their fine establishment.


Girls Night

3,6 sur octobre 25, 2010

Very lovely home and lovely owners that did a great job of making you feel welcome!


first B&B encounter

4,4 sur septembre 05, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but my husband felt a little awkward staying in someone's home. The room was beautifully decorated, but we had a street light glare coming thru the blinds. Breakfast was delicious. Unfortunately they did not offer seconds & my husband is 6'3". Locale couldn't be better especially for the shopping. I'd do it again!


Home Away From Home

5 sur juillet 28, 2010

This was our first visit to Galena and we wanted to stay within walking distance to town. This B&B fit the bill perfectly being only one street over from Main St. The innkeeper met us when we arrived and gave us a tour. The wraparound porch was the perfect place to unwind, read, or take a nap. There were homemade chocolate chip cookies in the room every day and the breakfasts were to die for. They were served in the formal dining room on china and crystal. Several juice and coffee choices were available each morning. There was also a fresh pot of coffee waiting outside our room when we woke up. The innkeepers sat and talked with us as we ate and told us the history of the home and how they became owners. They also were interested in where we had eaten the night before and what activities we had done. We will definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.


Lovely B & B

5 sur octobre 15, 2009

It's a very lovely place - cozy rooms - the best breakfasts!


The perfect place to stay in Galena

5 sur octobre 14, 2009

The hospitality and attention to detail at the Briewreath is amazing. The food is delicious, the house charming, the location outstanding and the innkeepers Lyn & Mike as nice as you can find. Try it. You'll go back.


Bliss

5 sur octobre 06, 2009

The reason every visit to brierwreath is bliss is that Lyn and Mike Cook think of every comfort for their guests. Sitting, rocking on the porch or enjoying the elegantly served breakfast, I don't have to think. that's bliss for my brain!


Best stay always

5 sur octobre 01, 2009

Never a disappointment. This is our 3rd stay and we are booked for Sept 2010


Awesome

5 sur septembre 30, 2009

This bed & breakfast is the best. Every detail is thought of for the guest, clean, food is great and inn owners are very friendly.


Our first Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 26, 2009

What we found at your bnb went beyond our expectations.The suite was amazing and met our needs in every way. Breakfasts were absolutely outstanding. We appreciate the early morning coffee and other beverage options and sittling out on your lovely porch swing. It was a weekend that will be forever etched in our memories. Thank you Ann and Fred


Our excellent stay

5 sur août 19, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at this B&B two other times and this was our third time. We had a great time and would stay there again.


B & B's

5 sur juillet 27, 2009

As always we enjoyed our stay at the Brierwreath. Lynn & Mike are the perfecthostess and host. We always feel welcomed in their home. It is so comfy and the breakfasts were great. No room for lunches.


a great experience

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2009

We had a great room, great breakfast, and even chocolate chip cookies! Only one block from Main Street!


Charming 'at home' feeling

5 sur avril 09, 2009

Well thought out on needs of visitors. Beautifully decorated, clean, great breakfast, and very comfortable style of innkeepers.


If you want quiet relaxation stay here!

5 sur août 08, 2008

We just recently stayed at the Brierwreath Manor on our 20th Wedding Anniversary. This was our first experience at a B&B and we weren't dissppointed. The Brierwreath was a cozy, elegant retreat from our busy lives. The room was perfect in every way; clean, very quiet and comfortable. And the breakfast was such a treat...served in the elegant dining area surrounded by Lyn's impressive collection of antiques. Both Mike and Lyn provided friendly conversation and their knowledge of Galena helped make our trip satisfying. And of course the Brierwreath is right on historic Bench Street just a short walk away from downtown Galena. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Brierwreath. We didn't want to leave and neither will you... Tom and Jean C. Channahon, IL.


spacious

5 sur juin 24, 2008

the rooms were more spacious then any b&b i have stayed in


Stay at the best!

5 sur mars 02, 2008

My husband and I have stayed many, many times at Mike and Lyn's beautiful home. We stayed at Brierwreath on our first trip to Galena and never wanted to go anywhere else. The decorating is wonderful and at Christmas gets even better. The breakfasts are something special. The table is always elegant and the food is the best. The rooms are so comfortable and have everything we need to relax at the end of the day. We like the fact that we can park our car when we get there and can walk a short distance to the shopping and all the best restaurants. Mike and Lyn are wonderful hosts and truely make you feel at home.


A wonderful getaway

4,6 sur février 29, 2008

We always love our time at Brierwreath. The rooms are cozy and relaxing and immaculately clean. The innkeepers, Lyn & Mike, are welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is delicious and the conversation interesting. Walking into town is handy, since parking is always at a premium. We think Brierwreath is the perfect place to "get away."


No place better

5 sur février 29, 2008

I've visited Brierwreath many times. It always feels like I'm coming home. Mike and Lyn are always so welcoming and that Pecan French Toast is to-die-for followed closely by the apple blueberry pancakes! If you've got a weekend free, spend it here! You will never be disappointed.


MMMM Chocolate chip cookies

5 sur février 28, 2008

We come here every year to celebrate out birthday's and enjoy Lyn and Mikes wonderful home! Breakfast was outstanding as always with the home made pecan oven french toast, fresh fruit and ham. But my favorite part is always the YUMMY chololate chip cookies. We always feel at home and are looking forward to coming back.


Brierwreath Manor Bed & Breakfast

Détails

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8157770608

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut