Aldrich Guest House Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
244 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Outstanding B&B

5 sur septembre 13, 2014

Amazing home, wonderful breakfasts, and fabulous host and hostess. Staying at the Aldrich House was one of the high points of our stay in Galena. The home is beautifully furnished, meticulously maintained, and the hosts make you feel very welcome.


Complete B&B Noob - Outstanding Experience

4,8 sur septembre 03, 2014

Have never stayed at a B&B, wanted to try it out with my wife during our 20th anniversary. Our trip to Galena (first time as well) was only improved by this excelent house and the warm friendly service from Fran & Brain. Well worth every penny and we stayed in the RH McClellan Room


Outstanding

5 sur août 10, 2014

Fran and Brian are wonderful hosts. Their house is so well kept and welcoming. We had a great time and didn't want to leave!


Great stay

5 sur juillet 15, 2014

The hosts were very friendly. Would always engage in conversation. The house was very clean and beautiful inside and out. The food was delicious and you got more then enough. We will definitely being coming back. P.S. They were very helpful on things to do during our stay.


Best bed and breakfast stay!!!

5 sur juin 30, 2014

Friendly host, great room, very tastefully decorated, clean,,,,and the food was fantastic!!


Ghostly Weekend

4,0 sur juin 30, 2014

We had a lovely weekend & once you arrive all you have to do is park your car & enjoy Galena. You can walk to where ever you want to go. The owners are great & very friendly & will help with any questions.


A fabulous weekend

4,8 sur mai 27, 2014

Our group of three couples met in Galena for a long weekend. I was born in Galena many years ago and spent a lot of time there as a child at my grandmother's (we moved when I was 4) running around town with cousins. So I was taking my wife and four friends down memory lane. The Aldrich House was simply perfect for our weekend. We were able to walk over to Main Street very easily; the breakfasts were terrific; and the proprietors were friendly and very helpful. All six of us were extremely pleased with everything and we would return there in a heart beat.


Very special getaway

5 sur mai 21, 2014

May 12, 2014 This is a beautiful home away from home. We thoroughly enjoyed the screened in porch, the hospitality and the breakfasts were very good. Fran and Brian were very helpful and we enjoyed visiting with them. It is close to downtown and we enjoyed walking and learning about the beautiful town of Galena. Our three days in the area flew by too quickly.


A Home Away From Home

5 sur avril 02, 2014

I have found my favorite Bed & Breakfast in Galena! Aldrich Guest House Bed & Breakfast is the place to stay. Brian and Fran are fantastic hosts, and I am happy to now call them friends. My room had a warm and comfy feel and I loved having my own private bath and fireplace! The bed was just the right amount of soft, so I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. It was a quick walk to downtown so no worries about driving after my wine tasting :) I definitely will stay again.


Winter getaway

5 sur janvier 14, 2014

Me and my fiance took a winter 4 day weekend in Galena. We were also scouting places to hold our small wedding in June 2015. The residence was beautiful. The yard looked spacious and with some summer imagination I could see that it would be a beautiful place for a wedding. The walk to downtown Galena was around 3 blocks. I enjoyed staying off the main drag for sleeping. The host were wonderful and helpful. Breakfast was amazing especially the cinnamon bun pancakes.


Great Guest House!

5 sur janvier 11, 2014

June & John Evans


beautiful home with lovely innkeepers

4,4 sur décembre 21, 2013

the walls are thin in this beautiful Victorian home, we were unable to take an afternoon nap for the doorbell ringing frequently, there was no tv in the room, but understandably with the walls so thin. but furnishings lovely, meal outstanding & hospitality top notch


Luminaria weekend in Galena

5 sur décembre 18, 2013

This was our first stay in Galena in the winter, though we've stayed frequently in the summer. As always the Aldrich House is one of the high points of our stay. Fran and Brian do a wonderful job and it feels more like visiting friends. Highly recommend this B&B.


Pleasant place to stay

4,2 sur décembre 04, 2013

It was not our first time to Galena, but we were very pleased that we chose this B+B. It was a pleasant walk to downtown, the neighborhood was quiet, and the hosts were gracious.


Aldrich House Review

3,0 sur décembre 04, 2013

Fireplace not working but not informed beforehand - disappointing! Would have been an easy fix for the owners.

Réponse du propriétaire
We were very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately, unless our guests tell us that something is not working, we cannot remedy the situation, as was the case in this instance. A week later a guest did mention it and we checked it out, turned out the unit was not fixable and we've now installed a new fireplace.


Bill N' Lori's Anniversary Weekend

5 sur novembre 28, 2013

Everything, everytime we have been there is outstanding !!! Fran and Brian are fantastic hosts !!! I would send people there as a gift as thats how much we value the service. Great place to relax !


Definitely stay here

5 sur novembre 24, 2013

I will definitely be staying at Aldrich Guest House if I'm ever in Galena again. Fran and Brian were amazing hosts. You couldn't find nicer hosts if you tried.


Very pleasant stay

4,2 sur novembre 19, 2013

The hosts were very kind and friendly, the room was very quaint (we had the largest room in the house and even it wasn't exactly large), and the breakfast was outstanding! The fireplace in the room was electric, so not what I was expecting, but actually worked out quite well to heat the room quickly and keep it warm and cozy all night. It was about a 10-15 min walk to main street, which I wouldn't have minded excpet that at night back to the house, it was a little spooky and very cold! My ONLY complaint was that one of the Inn Keepers apparently didn't believe the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. I would go back again though.


18th Anniversary

5 sur novembre 11, 2013

The owners made us feel right at home, from the warm welcome, lovely breakfasts, and delightful rooms. The home provided ample space to relax in the parlor, library and dining rooms.


Simply a wonderful experience from arrival through the stay

5 sur novembre 11, 2013

The room choices were useful, and the décor and property kept in wonderful condition. The owners, Brian and Fran, made us feel completely at home with a lovely setting, evening place to relax, and amazing breakfast taste and presentation.


Lovely

5 sur novembre 06, 2013

My first time at a bed and breakfast. I was made to feel very comfortable and the house was charming. Breakfast was delicious. The location was great with easy access to all I wanted to see and do in Galena.


First ever bed and breakfast visit

5 sur novembre 06, 2013

We visited galena for our 25th anniversary and absolutely loved our stay. Will definitely refer to friends.


A super place to stay!!!

4,8 sur novembre 02, 2013

We were very comfortable and cozy there! The fireplace in the room was an added comfort! The host and hostess were very accommodating and friendly and the food was delicious!!!! (especially the pumpkin muffins!!!)


Fantastic

5 sur octobre 29, 2013

Had a great time. Really loved the location.


Aldrich House review

3,2 sur octobre 17, 2013

This B & B was in an old historic home and in fine condition. The owners were great hosts and concerned about the quality of our stay. It was a short,but pleasant visit!


Galena Getaway

5 sur septembre 28, 2013

Fran & Brian provided a wonderful spot for rest and relaxation. Their historic home is beautifully restored and full of attention to details for guests comfort. The Aldrich is located just a short walk from downtown with many shops and excellent restaurants. Fran's breakfasts were amazing in both taste and presentation. It was so inviting to enjoy the garden view from the screen porch. We also enoyed touring the Galena Historical Museum and the trolley ride to learn about Galena's history and culture. We plan to return to Aldrich Guest house to enjoy the gracious hospitality offered there.


Galena Getaway

4,4 sur septembre 26, 2013

Fran and Brian were friendly and helpful! Their home is beautiful and they were very welcoming.


Beautiful B&B

5 sur septembre 21, 2013

The Aldrich Guest House was a wonderful B&B, we went back to stay another night! Fran and Brian felt like old friends right from the start and made our stay warm and comfortable. The home is decorated beautifully and the grounds are so relaxing, especially from the swing on the screened in porch. Breakfast is outstanding and the special touches makes one feel very special. We cannot wait to return! Glenn and Jill Crouch


Outstanding!!!!!!!

5 sur septembre 18, 2013

This charming and beautiful home is highly recommended! Brian and Fran are very hospitable, knowledgeable and very welcoming! We had a wonderful time. The food was very delicious and we felt right at home. Thank you for having us and we'll be sure to be back again at this very serene and pleasant town of Galena! Absolutely charming and full of some history. P.S. This was our first visit in Galena and a Bed and Breakfast! You have to visit the Aldrich Guest House!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kelly and Norma Kennedy, Ottawa IL.


Awesome B&B

4,4 sur septembre 05, 2013

Our room was very nice, and the gardens and common screened-in porch are a big plus.


Perfect Weekend Getaway!

5 sur septembre 04, 2013

The hosts do a wonderful job of making their guests feel at home. They have current information for the area of what's happening or where to dine for lunch or supper! We have stayed in various rooms on 3 different visits & have enjoyed ourselves every time!


Anniversary Weekend!

4,8 sur septembre 04, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Aldrich House B&B. The rooms were a good size and very clean. Very quiet. I never heard the room next to us or anyone on the stairs. The breakfast is simply amazing. You are well feed. They have snacks, water, pop at your leisure which is nice since It was so hot this weekend. Walking distance to Main Street. We didn't drive anywhere. Highly recommend. Very reasonable and a great value. We would definitely stay here again!


Gem of Galena

4,6 sur septembre 03, 2013

outstanding breakfasts and hospitality. truly caring innkeepers


Homey & clean

4,6 sur septembre 02, 2013

Location is close to Main St., just a couple blocks & across the bridge. Street is quiet with easy parking. Biking & walking trail 1 block away. Owners are very nice & make you feel at home.


Fun stay in Galena

5 sur août 27, 2013

The Aldrich guest house was very relaxing and the breakfast was first rate. The home is centrally located and a short walk to Grant's home and the down town area.


Wonderful getaway

5 sur août 26, 2013

Had a great time. Innkeepers made us feel welcome and right at home. Breakfast was DELICIOUS! Enjoyed wine on in the screened porch with the smell of the gardens.


Aldrich Guest House

5 sur août 25, 2013

What a lovely home. The innkeepers were so friendly, the food was great, and the home was within walking distance of shopping, yet quiet. Sitting in the beautiful gardens were an added bonus. Truly, nothing could have been better.


Delightful

4,6 sur août 23, 2013

Very clean, peaceful home. Loved the screened in porch, spent a lot of time relaxing out there. Fran and Brian are gracious hosts. Would love to stay there again.


Exceptional B&B

4,8 sur août 21, 2013

The Aldrich Guest House run by Fran and Brian is absolutely exceptional. You are warmly welcomed as soon as you enter the house, given a tour of the beautifully decorated rooms, and supplied with complimentary snacks and beverages. The bedroom we stayed in was beautiful and no detail was overlooked! Breakfasts served were those that you would think were served at a 5 star restaurant. Fran and Brian made our stay absolutely wonderful and we can't wait to stay with them again!


Pleasant stay

4,4 sur août 12, 2013

A quick one-night stay turned into a very pleasant experience. This charming victorian is pleasant on the eyes with detailing and furnishings that are in keeping with the architectural period it represents. My room at the end of the hall was immaculate and free of noise. Don and Fran were cordial hosts and the breakfast, served with the other guests around a dining room table was satisfying. Bill Y.


greatexperience2013

4,0 sur août 11, 2013

Great food....very relaxing....just what we were looking for


Aldrich House is great!

5 sur août 07, 2013

This was our fourth or fifth stay here and it is always outstanding. Fran and Brian are wonderful hosts. Highly recommend. A block off Route 20 so it's quiet and yet it is a short and pleasant three block walk from downtown Galena.


Great weekend!

5 sur juillet 30, 2013

Fran and Brian were excellent hosts. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Will definitely go back again!


Aldrich Guest House, Galena

5 sur juillet 29, 2013

Everything was outstanding. Highly recommended.


Lovely weekend stay

4,0 sur juillet 23, 2013

The hosts are friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were great and the other guests enjoyed the meal together. Our room wasn't large, but it was tastefully decorated in a Victorian style. The quiet street is an easy walk to the busier downtown.


Great place to stay!

5 sur juillet 21, 2013

The room was spotless and decorated beautifully. The yard was beautifully landscaped. The food was delicious and the owners were very helpful and friendly.


Our Anniversary Weekend at the Aldrich House

4,4 sur juillet 20, 2013

What a lovely way to celebrate an anniversary! Breakfast was superb, the owners were great, and we loved the location. Not too far to walk to things, but quiet and beautiful. :) Our room was a little small, but was the only one available. Next time, we will book sooner and get a larger room. We will be back!!! Dan and Linda from Indiana


My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Aldrich House. The rooms are very clean and comfy and the food is execelent.

4,6 sur juillet 19, 2013

John & Sue


Great Stay

5 sur juillet 19, 2013

Very clean - great rooms and very relaxing! Would stay again and again a this B&B. Hosts were wonderful!


Aldrich House is Superb

5 sur juillet 18, 2013

Fran and Brian were exceptional hosts. They have painstakingly restored 900 Third St. to its original best. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return soon. A & L Crowe


Galena 2013

4,6 sur juillet 15, 2013

Very nice inkeepers- who were always doing something to help keep the proprty looking nice. I arrived earlier than check in time listed and Fran was very nice in checking me in early. They had amazing breakfasts and interacted with their guests during that time always keeping a lively conversation going. There location was within walking distance from Main St and other tourist stops. They provided bottle water/ soda and snacks for there guests and were always available for questions. You were provided a key to the front door so you come and go as you pleased or you could hang out in the parlor w/ mutiple games to choose from- or their wonderful screened in back porch. I would defenitly stay there again


Outstanding B&B

4,4 sur juillet 14, 2013

After two stays two years in a row, they keep wowing us with service and especially the awesome breakfast! This is a must do experience. Check it out fro yourself!


Fantabulous!

5 sur juillet 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Aldrich and in Galena.


Fran and Brian's welcome you like family

4,2 sur juillet 10, 2013

We had a great stay in Galena visiting family and they recommended Aldrich guest House. We loved it. If you enjoy bed and breakfast this is a good one. Fran knows everything going on in and around town. They're hard at work in the kitchen making a BIg breakfast. So full I couldn't eat it all. Homemade cookies and a drink fridge in the hall is perfect before bed. Lots of history in this town. We'd definitely go back.


Fantastic Ladies Get away

5 sur juillet 04, 2013

Beautiful home with excellent hosts. Breakfast "to die for". Will certainly return.


awesome I loved it

5 sur juin 30, 2013

Beautiful house and the history behind the house was incredible


Step back in time

5 sur juin 26, 2013

Great B & B,great owners,excellent breakfast, always love downtown Galena and surrounding area. Will come back again. Roger & Barb G


Excellent B & B

5 sur juin 23, 2013

Room was very clean. Food was great!..Innkeepers were very friendly and helpful.


Home Away From Home

5 sur juin 09, 2013

Brian and Fran felt like one of the family. The House is beautiful, warm and comforting. The breakfasts were outstanding. I will stay there as long as I can climb the stairs to the beautifully appointed rooms.


wonderful place to stay

4,2 sur juin 05, 2013

I was there for a girls weekend with my two sister-in-laws. The accommodations were great and the innkeepers were extremely friendly and helpful regarding things to do around town. We truly enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit them again in the future.


A Stay in May

5 sur mai 30, 2013

Everything met our highest expectations and beyond - My wife left a small item behind; we were promptly sent an email about this and they just as promptly mailed it to her when we replied. We hope we have the opportunity to be out their way again.


Aldrich House

4,8 sur mai 29, 2013

We stayed at Aldrich House for our first anniversary. We were very impressed with the room, our hosts, and the house itself. The room was cozy, clean, and well tended. Fran and Brian were available to answer any questions, give suggestions, or even make dinner reservations. The house was welcoming and filled with antiques and the grounds were gorgeous! It's also close to main street, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The breakfast table was large and the conversation was great. It was like sitting down to a meal with old friends or family- even though we had just met. The food was fantastic and if you have dietary restrictions, they are more than accommodating. Aldrich House is a relaxing, beautiful, and highly recommended place to enjoy Galena.


Wonderful

4,6 sur mai 28, 2013

My husband and I planned a romantic getaway to Galena and loved this bed and breakfast. The owners were wonderful!


Can`t Miss

4,8 sur mai 01, 2013

Wonderful, even to those with high standards. R.H.McClellan room.


Always a pleasure to stay with Brian and Fran

5 sur avril 30, 2013

Always a great consistent experience - from the time reservations are made, to walking up to their front door, to the time when we have to return home.


An Absolute Delight

5 sur avril 22, 2013

Our weekend at the Aldrich Home was outstanding in every respect. The house is spectacular, very well kept, the food outstanding. We would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a place to stay during their stay in Galena. The Innkeepers were most gracious and helpful.


Outstanding

5 sur avril 21, 2013

5 stars across the board... and we mean it! Everything I could review was exceptional, but the warmth and friendliness of Fran and Brian outdid everything else. (See our review www.facebook.com/EischenPhotography.) We were told that once you stay at a B & B, you'll never go back to a hotel, but we never expected such pampering. This was our 15th anniversary stay, and they made us feel like kings. But the longer we traveled through town, the sooner we discovered that this was no secret to the merchants, as everyone had nothing shy of the highest admiration for Fran and Brian and their beautiful home. Everything was immaculate, tasteful, overly comfortable and amazingly affordable. But please, find out for yourselves the next time you're traveling to beautiful Galena. :)


Great B & B!

5 sur avril 18, 2013

This was my third time staying at the Aldrich Guest House, and I can say that I am never disappointed. Fran and Brian always go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasurable as possible!


Aldrich Guest House, Galena IL

5 sur avril 17, 2013

We had a great experience with the Aldrich House. It was a beautiful historic home. The rooms were clean and the owners were personable and professional.


We love the Aldritch House

5 sur avril 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Aldritch House and could not have been happier Walking distance to downtown, WONDERFUL owners, delicious and filling breakfasts, a place to get away from everything and just BE. Delectable. Great price, and great value. We were there in early spring when plants were just beginning to sprout. Would love to try out the screened in porch in summer. Extremely worth it.


Galena getaway

4,4 sur avril 10, 2013

Great value. Breakfast was delicious. Hosts are super nice, friendly and accommodating. Room was quiet, nice and comfortable.


Charming B&B

4,8 sur avril 10, 2013

B&B's at their finest for the Aldrich house! The best part besides the amazing hosts and the room was the breakfast! LOVED their food! A warm bed, a hot shower, and a delicious breakfast! :-) What more could a person ask for? We'll be back for sure! We love the charm of an old Victorian home!


Return Visit to Charming B&B

4,6 sur mars 14, 2013

Our recent visit included a one-night stay in Clara's Room as part of a quick Valentine's getaway. (On a previous visit we stayed for two nights in the Cyrus Aldrich Room.) Fran and Brian are simply exceptional hosts who warmly welcome you into their home and provide both clean, relaxing rooms and delicious breakfasts. Not to mention the B&B's proximity (i.e., walking distance) to downtown/main street shopping and dining, Fran and Brian's willingness to provide activity and/or dining suggestions as needed, and the serving of homemade cookies for an afternoon or evening snack. In our opinion, the overall value one receives for staying at the Aldrich Guest House cannot be beat!


Thanks for a great visit!

4,8 sur février 26, 2013

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience, and it exceeded my expectations. Everything was so clean, Fran and Brian are so friendly, and the food was wonderful. A very enjoyable visit, and when we stay in Galena again, we will stay at the Aldrich Guest House! Thank you.


Amazing

5 sur janvier 23, 2013

We had am amazing visit and will definetly be back again :)


excellent

4,8 sur janvier 15, 2013

Thank you for preserving a part of history and opening your home to others so they might also share it!


Galena Stay

4,8 sur novembre 28, 2012

Gracious hosts and a great place to stay. Lovely decor and the room was cozy and had everything we needed. Would definitely go back!


Sweet getaway

4,6 sur novembre 07, 2012

The house was comfortable and welcoming. Room was bright and cheery. Food was wonderful. Pleasant company at the breakfast table.


Aldrich House

5 sur novembre 05, 2012

My recent stay at the Aldrich House was very pleasant. The room was very comfortable and large enough for us three sisters. I enjoyed the common areas and the breakfast was great. It was within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg, and the taverns where we dined at night. The owners are very nice and respectful of your space. I would definitely stay there again!


Celebrating our 15th Wedding Anniversary

5 sur octobre 31, 2012

This was our second stay at the Aldrich Guest House. It had been 7 years since we were there last, and it was just as we remembered. The house is in a perfect location for a scenic 10 minute walk to town. The home is warm and cozy. We stayed in the Clara room, which was quaint, clean, and had a newly remodeled bath. The breakfast was wonderful and owners delightful. Galena is a perfect location for a weekend getaway, with beautiful views, history, and restaurants! We can't wait to come back :)


Wonderful time at Avery House

5 sur octobre 31, 2012

Everything was great....like stepping back in time. The owners are warm, fiendly, and tell great stories. Will return next year.


Romantic Getaway

5 sur octobre 29, 2012

We had a delightful stay - a warm welcome, cozy room (with wine glasses), welcoming music and games in the living room, and a delicious breakfast. We were able to walk to dinner in town, so no worries about parking (we liked that a lot). Very good value.


Galena Stay

4,6 sur octobre 22, 2012

We love returning to the Aldridge House. It's like visiting friends.


great stay

4,6 sur octobre 22, 2012

we enjoyed our stay so much. thank you to Fran who made us comfortable and provided such good food.


Aldrich House is a gem.

5 sur octobre 08, 2012

Fran is an excellent hostess. She is very welcoming and easy to talk with. She treated us and the other guests as family. We especially liked the very quiet neighborhood, the amenities such as the bottomless cookie jar, bottled water & soda, the solitude, the easy walk to Main St. Galena and the well balanced, generous breakfasts. The list goes on. We have already recommended Aldrich House to our family and friends. We will choose Aldrich house again when we visit Galena.


Outstanding!

4,8 sur septembre 24, 2012

The Aldrich Guest House was the first B&B that my Husband and I ever stayed at. We were worried it may be an uncomfortable experience but it was not at all! It was very homey. The atmosphere and the food were great! I would definitely come back to stay.


An annual vacation destination

4,6 sur septembre 13, 2012

We stayed two nights and antiqued the day in between. We enjoy visiting Galena because of the excellent dining, interesting shops and a town filled with beautiful houses.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 29, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Aldrich Guest House. Bottom line - we would go there again and recommend it to others.


Wonderful B&B!

4,6 sur août 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 days the beginning of July. Very comfortable beds and delicious food. Even though our stay was during a heat wave, the hosts kept even the upstair bedrooms cool. Thank you!


Great stay in Galena

5 sur août 12, 2012

The Aldrich Guest House is a charming home, located within walking distance to downtown Galena's historic district. Bill and Fran were wonderful hosts, and the breakfasts were marvelous. They definitely didn't want you to leave hungry. I would highly recommend this B&B and look forward to returning soon.


Aldrich Guest House stay: 8/7/12

5 sur août 11, 2012

What a delightful B&B! The 19th-century home offered the perfect place to spend the night, with all the amenities one would want -- historical home full of antiques, a beautiful garden with flowers blooming, updated private baths, very comfortable bed, free WiFi and genuinely charming hosts. I appreciated that there wasn't a phone or TV in the guest room (but there is a small TV room on the first floor if you need to have your fix). Breakfast was generous and very tasty and the hosts remained in the dining room just to chat and get to know their guests. The home is well maintained and I was impressed how clean my room and bath were. The Aldrich is located a block from the Belvedere Mansion and just across Galena River from the main shopping district. A great value for such a nice experience.


A truly memorable visit to Galena

5 sur août 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Aldrich Guest House for four nights. This was our first time in Galena and I had looked online at several B & Bs. I picked the best one for our needs. The house is on a quiet street in a residential neighborhood although within walking distance of the downtown area. Ask Fran or Brian for the shortcut. We got a lot of exercise, didn't have to deal with parking issues and managed to see everything in town on foot. The breakfasts were absolutely fabulous and so filling that we didn't need to eat lunch. Fran and Brian truly made us feel at home and we enjoyed talking with them and the other guests about fun things to do, Galena history, etc. We enjoyed our visit very much and plan to stay at the Aldrich House again. Thanks Fran and Brian for making our vacation so memorable. Your B & B exceeded expectations. JoAnne and Jenna


A home away from home!

5 sur août 06, 2012

A great warm feeling staying here, very comfortable and spacious living area and nice outdoor patio. Also a short walking distance to the local sites and shopping and dinning.


Wonderful place to stay -highly recommend it

5 sur août 02, 2012

Our stay at the Aldrich Guest House was absolutely amazing! The breakfast(s) were wonderful & very enjoyable. The other guests that were staying at the same time were very friendly, interesting people & we all enjoyed the breakfast table conversations. We highly recommend staying -Fran & Brian are very accomadating!


Home Away from Home

4,8 sur juillet 30, 2012

Despite the drought-like conditions and temperatures in 90s and 100s, Aldrich Guest House was our haven, the place to "come home to". Hosts Fran and Brian were delightful, sharing information on Galena and tips about what to see and do. They were also very accommodating with gluten-free and dietary requests. And, Fran went out of her way to make us a pot of water in the afternoons so we could have an afternoon tea time to refresh ourselves with snacks after a "hard" day of sightseeing and shopping (yes, all in the comforts of their air-conditioned B&B!). Beautiful home with lovely interior decor. Relaxing times in the garden, on the porch, or reading in the living room. Look forward to coming again if we ever get back to Galena.


Great place to stay.

4,4 sur juillet 29, 2012

This was a return trip to the Aldrich House because it is the cleanest place I've ever been and the breakfast is always superb! They have a great screen porch with a swing to relax after a long day of touring the area. They are great hosts and the house and gardens are charming.


Would stay again!

4,6 sur juillet 26, 2012

Fran and Brian are the ultimate hosts, making us feel very welcome. Breakfasts were amazing - delicious and unique. Portions were bigger than any of us could finish, and the hosts are always there to give seconds, refill drinks, etc. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but upgrade if you want a little more space, as the cheaper rooms are a bit snug. The grounds were a selling point, and they have nice little nooks to sit outside to enjoy the birds, butterflies and flowers. Recommended and we'd definitely stay again!


First time, but it won't be the last!

4,8 sur juillet 23, 2012

This B&B is a fantastic value! Our room had all the amenities you would find in a fine hotel, plus nice little extras throughout. The owners are hospitable and very knowledgeable about the area. Can't wait to visit again!


Great get away.

5 sur juillet 21, 2012

Fran and Brian were so warm and welcoming. The home is spacious, decorated beautifully and very clean. Words can not do justice to the wonderful breakfasts. They have games. Tv and a lovely screen porch . I hope to return soon.


Aldrich Guest House - Galena, IL

4,8 sur juillet 19, 2012

Great place to stay -- friendly, clean and comfortable. A little warm during the 96+ degrees but a room fan helped quite a bit.


What a Wonderful B & B!

5 sur juillet 09, 2012

This was our first stay at the Aldrich Guest House. We had a wonderful stay there. Everything was perfect! One of the best B & B's we have experienced. Thank you Fran & Brian!


Relaxing stay

4,2 sur juillet 05, 2012

Beautiful house with large yard area for relaxing. Very nice host and hostess. Very, very clean.


Blissful Stay!

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2012

What a wonderful time! Such a beautiful home with a lovely garden. The room was cozy and clean. The food was wonderful-flavorful and filling! Brian and Fran were the perfect hosts. We plan on staying here again in the future.


Beautiful, restful retreat

5 sur juin 23, 2012

This lovely old home was the perfect environment to relax and enjoy a feeling of leaving our cares behind. The owners were friendly and accommodating, and he breakfast was fanastic.


Loved the place!

5 sur juin 15, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Aldrich Guest House. We stayed in the Cyrus Aldrich room. The room was very clean and cozy and the food was wonderful! Our hosts Fran & Brian were very friendly and informative. I would definitely stay here again.


Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

5 sur juin 07, 2012

I have stayed here twice, and will again on our next visit. I can't imagine there is a better B&B in Galena.


Wonderful Weekend

5 sur juin 06, 2012

My two son's, their wife's and my brother his wife & my Hubby went for a weekend get-a-way on our motorcycles and had a time of our lives. Fran & Brian were very nice and treated us as family. Would diffently go back. The walk to downtown was not that far and was enjoyable. The food was very good and had things that I have not had before which was nice to try new things.


Excellent Choice

3,4 sur juin 03, 2012

This is an excellent choice if you need a place to stay in Galena. It's a fine old Civil-War-era mansion converted to a B&B. Fran and Brian are friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful. Breakfast was outstanding. Brian gave us a great recommendation for a fine dinner at a nearby ski resort. We would stay here again and recommend it to anybody.


Wonderful hospitality.

3,2 sur mai 21, 2012

Loved the old fashion design of the rooms and our hosts were so warm & friendly. Loved the beautiful breakfast and conversation with the other couple who stayed there also.


Lovely Visit

5 sur mai 15, 2012

Our family really enjoyed our stay here. The house and garden are absolutely beautiful and breakfast was delicious. We loved spending time on the screened porch. Many little touches made our stay so special. Thank you!!


Wonderful Stay!!

5 sur mai 08, 2012

What a wonderful stay! Close enough to walk to the shopping and along the beautiful walking path/river. We felt at home and enjoyed reading on the screened in porch at night. The food was delicious and Fran made gluten free cookies for me and a delicious gluten free toast for breakfast. Wonderful hosts and great stay!


A beautiful stay in Galena

5 sur mai 05, 2012

Our children gave us a gift certificate to the Aldrich Guest House for Christmas, and we could not have been more pleased with their choice for a Bed and Breakfast. Fran and Brian were the perfect hosts. Our room was spotless and decorated beautifully. The breakfasts were absolutely amazing and very filling. We had a very relaxing stay.


Great Memories

4,6 sur mai 04, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing weekend at the Aldrich House. The food was fantastic (my husband LOVED the pancakes) and the atmosphere was clean and friendly. The hosts were very nice and we will definitely recommend the Aldrich House to our friends. Also note this is a great place to stay if you don't want to stay on Main St. but still want to be able to walk there. The foot bridge is very close.


Had a great stay!

4,8 sur avril 30, 2012

Beautiful and quiet rooms, warm & friendly hosts, fabulous & filling breakfasts, prompt & accomodating service. We had a great stay & we hope to be back soon!


Excellent B&B

5 sur avril 07, 2012

This is perhaps the best B&B that we've ever stayed in. Beautiful home, excellent hospitality, and delicious food. We will definitely go back and recommend the Aldrich to all our friends. -Diane and Al


Pleasant and Relaxed 2-Night Stay

4,6 sur avril 04, 2012

Brian and Fran were the perfect host and hostess, and we thoroughly enjoyed their company. Breakfast was especially tasty and beautifully presented. We opted for the smallest and least expensive room which met our needs. When we come back, we will probably choose one of the larger rooms. A bonus was the fact we could easily walk to Grant's home and to the shops and restaurants on Main Street.


Enjoyed our stay!

5 sur mars 14, 2012

A wonderful place to stay! Beautiful house & room! Pleasant & Comfortable! Delicious breakfast! Very welcoming!


Truly outstanding!

5 sur mars 08, 2012

Lovely house, with amazingly accommodating host and hostess in historic Galena, Illinois. They carried our luggage upstairs, created delicious breakfasts with attention to a special diet, and provided a room that was warm, cozy and charming. We hope to return very soon.


Mardi Gras Weekend

3,4 sur février 22, 2012

Our stay was very relaxing. Fran and Brian are warm hosts and they certainly know how to make an incredibly delicious breakfast. We would definitely stay again when in the Galena area.


Another wonderful visit to Aldrich Guest House

4,0 sur février 22, 2012

Fran and Brian provide a warm welcome and even decorate for the season. We enjoyed our Mardi Gras weekend very much. Can't wait to go back.


Great B&B

4,4 sur février 15, 2012

Loved our stay. Will definitely be coming back when we are in Galena again.


Enjoyable stay

4,2 sur février 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was clean and perfectly decorated. The hosts were warm and inviting, and the food was excellent. We will be back!


friendly b&b

3,6 sur février 05, 2012

i liked the fact that i could roam the house and and not feel i was intrueding


amazing

5 sur février 01, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay. The details included for our comfort were wonderful and unexpected. We will definately return.


Great find

4,0 sur février 01, 2012

Received a warm welcome. House was inviting. Decor was very historical.Room was very clean, cozy. Breakfast was delicious. Great location toMainStreet. Great experience overall.


Aldrich guest house

4,2 sur décembre 22, 2011

Brian and Fran are great hosts. We will definitely be back!


Very wonderful experience

4,8 sur décembre 12, 2011

I love this place. Very comfortable and quiet, the hosts are very nice. If I have a chance, I may stay there again.


This place is great!

5 sur novembre 28, 2011

The house is absolutely beautiful, as was the room. The owners made us feel like we were at home, as we spent time in the lovely living room. The breakfast was great, and we agreed that it was the prettiest B&B we have seen. We had a great time.


Charming, Quiet B&B

4,4 sur novembre 22, 2011

Fran readily welcomed my wife and I upon arrival and gave us a quick tour of the B&B's various common rooms and available amenities. After which she showed us to our specific room for the evening - the Cyrus Aldrich room. The following morning Fran served a delicious breakfast and chatted with the various guests. We would definitely stay at this B&B again, and would highly recommend it to anyone considering a B&B stay while visiting Galena.


Our Anniversary stay in Galena

5 sur novembre 22, 2011

Fran and Brian were wonderful hosts. Such friendly and down to earth people. We were made welcome in their home. The room was clean and decorated to make you feel at home. Breakfast was Delish! They are located within walking distance to Main Street. We would definately stay again. Next time it would be great to being friends along. We enjoyed our stay.


second stay

5 sur novembre 17, 2011

This is our second stay at the Aldrich, and we have already reserved a repeat next year. The Aldrich is with in a few blocks of downtown Galena on a nice quiet street. Fran and Brian are wonderful hosts, great stay and super Breakfast.


Aldrich Guest House Galena, IL.

5 sur novembre 10, 2011

We deciced years ago to stay at a B&B in Galena. After making the wrong choice and ending up in a musty dungeon tucked into the back of a downtown Galena store we knew we needed to make a change if we wanted to stay in Galena again. I got on the internet and did some research and discovered the Aldrich House. We've returned every year for many years now and have never been disappointed. We were a bit apprehensive after finding out the previous owners (Jim & Marie) had sold the business. After staying there with the new owners (Brian & Fran) we can't be any happier! They always are very welcoming and are very friendly people. They know a great deal about the area and are also a wealth of information should you have desire to eat at a new restaurant/etc and want to make the right choice. Anyhow... we can't say enough good things about the Aldrich House! THANK YOU! Steve & Sue (and Jenna) from Waterloo, IA.


Great B & B in Galena

4,0 sur novembre 02, 2011

The Aldrich House was terrific; very comfortable and inviting. Our host, Fran, was wonderful too, welcoming and helpful with recommendations even made dinner reservations for us. Rooms were very very clean and lovely. Breakfasts were generous and delicious...and the never ending (homemade) cookie jar...what else can I say. Can't wait to return in the summer to sit on the porch and enjoy the beautiful garden. Liz


Aldrich Guest House in Galena Ill.

4,4 sur octobre 25, 2011

Wonderful location and great innkeepers - recommending to friends and family.


second visit

3,6 sur octobre 15, 2011

This B&B has changed owners since we last visited. We stayed in the same room as well; the furnishings were better arranged. The breakfasts were not quite as good as before. Convenient and quiet location.


Perfect B & B

5 sur octobre 13, 2011

It was the first time my sister had stayed in a B & B. We both enjoyed it tremendously.


Great First Time Stay at a Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 05, 2011

My boyfriend and I never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast so we were a little nervous. But when Fran answered the door and greeted us with a smile, I knew it was going to be a great stay. The house was beautiful and very spacious. We had the smaller bedroom out of the five and it worked great for us. Fran and Brian were super nice. We brought our bicycles up to ride on the trails and they let us store them on the side of the house out of the public view. The breakfast was out of this world. I tried things I never knew existed and every morning was a great breakfast. Fran also made these awesome chocolate chip cookies. We loved them so much that Fran gave us fresh cookies out of the oven when we left on our last day. Yum! I would highly recommend stay at the Aldrich House!


Aldrich Guest House

5 sur septembre 30, 2011

My husband and I are very happy that we chose to stay at this beautiful B & B. The immaculate home is warm and inviting, the furnishings are lovely, our room was so comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, and the charming garden is delightful. Fran and Brian are perfect hosts. We look forward to staying at the Aldrich Guest House again.


The Aldrich Guest House

5 sur septembre 28, 2011

So I just wanted to take a minute to give some SERIOUS props to the B&B where I stayed in Galena last week. I stayed some place else last year and was significantly underwhelmed. About the only positive I could say was the bed was VERY comfortable. So this year I decided to try some place else to stay and after reviewing my options online I picked the Aldrich Guest House. Can I just say "Wow"? Not only was the house BEAUTIFULLY decorated, the hosts Fran and Brian were delightful. Breakfast was amazing EVERY morning. I mean WOW tons of good food (which they were kind enough to serve me 15 minutes before everybody else on the first 2 days I was there and had class to get to by 9). The first morning there was sausage, fruit salad, quiche, blueberry bread, a potato cheese hash and big pitchers of OJ, ice water, hot water for tea or hot chocolate, coffee etc. Second morning was bacon, a huge pile of french toast stuffed w/ blueberries, bananas and cream cheese, a different fruit salad and a little crock of a hot apple crumble. And the last day was a big slice of fruit pizza, sausage, a big slice of some sort of eggy breakfast casserole that was very tasty, and I know there was more but its all starting to glaze over in a delightful haze. lol. Seriously- GREAT food and wayyyy more of it than I could eat in one sitting. My room was spotlessly clean, thoughtfully appointed, beautifully decorated and cozy. And I'm glad to report that the walls were plenty thick enough I didn't hear a peep from my neighbors (ya never know with a house that old). Oh and the price tag? EXCELLENT. In consulting w/ some of the other ladies in my class I definitely scored the best deal price wise. Oh and they had good WiFi which was a requirement. lol


Great Place

5 sur septembre 19, 2011

This was such a relaxing mini-vacation. I would go back to the Aldrich house again and again. The Innkeepers are wonderful hosts and incredible cooks. The house is beautiful and very well kept. I loved the screened in porch and spent time there reading and enjoying the gardens. It's walking distance from downtown and the Belvedere Mansion. It's the best!


Aldrich Guest House

4,6 sur septembre 13, 2011

We enjoyed this B&B very much. It was very pleasing in appearance and the hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was delicious!


best location in Galena great hosts

4,6 sur septembre 08, 2011

Aldrich house is less than a 10 minute walk from busy main street. This is ideal because parking is not easy to come by on the weekend. Most of the other B&B are way up high on the hill, get ready for lots of steps, or just to out of the way to walk. I found the Room neat and clean and every thing in working order. free drinks and chips and cookies to go between meals if a quick bite is what is needed. The breakfast was very good and they catered to my Atkins diet needs. The host we very helpful for suggestions on things to do and we had a great weekend. Will definitely go back again.


Labor Day Weekend 2011

4,6 sur septembre 05, 2011

Beautifully decorated and well maintained home and garden. Delicious, freshly prepared hot breakfast. I will definitely stay at the Aldrich Guest House again when I return to Galena.


Anniversary get-a-way

4,8 sur septembre 01, 2011

We are so glad we chose to come to Galena and stay at the Aldrich House. The room was lovely and the home walking distance to downtown Galena. We enjoyed the quiet of sitting on the screened porch, reading and relaxing as well as the visiting the stores, seeing Grant's home & Galena vineyard. We felt it very relaxing and a nice change to the pace of daily life. The breakfasts were wonderful. Fran was able to accomodate my gluten-free diet with delicious food. We will definitely come back here in the future and highly recommend the Adrich Guest House.


Repeat visits will continue!

4,2 sur août 31, 2011

The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. It was wonderful to feel like we stepped back into a different time. Fran and Brian went out of their way to ensure guests were comfortable and happy. Although it was a bit early for my usual weekend routine (at the Inn, coffee is ready at 8, and breakfast is at 8:30), the breakfast itself was extraordinary. This was our second time there, and we will definitely return.


A warm welcome awaits!

4,0 sur août 24, 2011

The owners of the Aldrich Guest House could not have been more welcoming. Thoughtful details abound, from a refrigerator stocked with water and soda, to freshly baked cookies and snacks to go, to menus and brochures for local restaurants and attractions. The decor was a little "foofy" for my taste (too many dolls & angels!) but everything was so clean and comfortable. We stayed in Clara's Room, which was the smallest room. The shower stall in this room was very small: if we were any larger, it would have been awkward indeed! The bed was very comfortable and the bedding good quality. Breakfast was very abundant, though a bit too sweet and rich for my taste. The best feature of this B&B is the wonderful screen porch, with comfortable seating and lighting, overlooking the well tended garden. I could have sat out there all day! Fran has a real gift for helping each guest learn about things they would like to do in the area. Her suggestions were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again, though in a larger room.


First trip

3,2 sur août 17, 2011

This was my first trip and the country is beautiful enjoy the shops and all the history that is here. Our stay was good met some nice people the only thing was the breakfast it could have been a lot better it was always quiche almost every day and not very good. But I would come back for the beautiful country.


Just what I was looking for.

4,4 sur août 15, 2011

Gracious hosts, beautiful room, lovely property. Plan to return again solo and with my spouse and would definitely recommend.


Warm and accomodating

4,6 sur août 14, 2011

Our hosts, Brian and Fran, were warm, friendly, and accomodating. They were very knowledgable about activities and dining in the area and gave us good advice, which enhanced our vacation. The porch and flower garden were so lovely and peaceful. I requested a gluten and dairy free diet, which usually means eating rather plain fare. At Aldrich House, I was greeted with a plate of delicious gluten free brownies in our room and sumptuous breakfasts every morning. I would definitely recommend the Aldrich House for a fun and relaxing stay.


Great stay.

5 sur août 10, 2011

Fran and Brian are excellent hosts. It was our first trip and they gave us many suggestions. Breakfast was EXCELLENT. I can't imagine that we would stay any where else if in Galena.


Great Experience

4,8 sur août 04, 2011

Would highly recommend this B&B. Fran & Brian are great hosts. Good food. They are very knowledgeable about the history of Galena. We were invited to an afternoon wedding in the garden.(Young couple eloping) This B&B is within walking distance of downtown Galena......We had a great time.


A B&B Novice Review of the Aldrich Guest House

4,6 sur juillet 31, 2011

My wife and I are relatively new to the B&B scene. I would have to say the stay was the best one of the places where we have stayed. The rooms were bright, cheery, and scrupulously clean. Being a history nut and Civil War and Rev war re-enactor this house exudes history and charm. The period furniture throughout the house only added to the experience. Fran and Brian were most gracious and the breakfasts were spectacular. The only unfortunate experience we had was completely out of the control of the Onaks; we were unable to return to the house our last evening of our stay due to extraordinarilly high water due to record rainfal preventing us from returning to Galena from where we had dinner outside of town. Because we were unable to spend our last night at the guest house, Fran gave us a certificate good for another night. We will certainly use it for our next stay in the Galena area. We go there once or twice a year. I cannot give any higher recommendation for a stay at the Aldrich Guest House.


Best place to stay in Galena!

5 sur juillet 27, 2011

This is our 3rd year with Fran & Brian and we plan to continue returning each year. Great property, service and hospitality!


Very Cozy!

4,4 sur juillet 26, 2011

Charming home with beautiful gardens. Great location for walking to downtown Galena stores and restuarants. Nice quiet neighborhood, although parking could be a problem if the house was full. Only complaint was that the water was pretty cold when we showered ahead of the breakfast. It did seem to be warming up by the time used the sink again before leaving our room.


Aldrich House

4,6 sur juillet 25, 2011

Great grounds to enjoy from the screened in porch. The snacks and drinks were a nice touch. Enjoyed the ambience.


Stay in Galena

5 sur juillet 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our recent stay in Galena. We've been at the Aldridge House before and will return again. Brian and Fran are wonderful hosts.


Lovely stay

4,4 sur juillet 21, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had at Aldrich House. Hosts Fran and Brian are so friendly and informative about their charming home. The breakfasts were awesome and we loved meeting all the guests and enjoying morning coffee on the screened porch. Highly recommended!


What a fun visit!

5 sur juillet 13, 2011

I was looking for a B&B that could accommodate three of us in one room. That is why the Aldrich Guest House initially looked good. Then when I checked the website and saw the beautiful decor, I was sold. The three of us "sisters" loved sitting on the screen porch and cooling off after a "hot" day of shopping and sight-seeing. And meeting some very interesting people over breakfast was a bonus. Thank you for the delightful stay!


Very Nice B&B

4,0 sur juillet 12, 2011

Very nice place with plenty of space to sit and visit with other guests. We enjoyed the screened porch since the weather was really nice. The breakfasts were great!


Aldrich House stay

5 sur juin 22, 2011

Fran and Brian were wonderful hosts, and breakfast both mornings was delicious. Our favorite feature of the house is the screened-in porch looking out to the lovely yard. It's also an easy and peaceful walk across the pedestrian bridge to the main street. We will stay there again for any future trips to Galena.


Great time

5 sur juin 10, 2011

The house was beautiful and Brian and Fran were great hostesses. I really liked how Fran visited with us after breakfast so that we got to know her a little better. Remember if you stay at a bed and breakfast, take things slow and enjoy the experience.


Outstanding

5 sur juin 09, 2011

The guest house and grounds were simply beautiful. The owners, Fran and Brian, were absolutely wonderful. The breakfast was better than any restaurant. We had a great time for our first stay at a bed and breakfast. Would absolutely stay there again!


Very Nice Place

4,0 sur mai 27, 2011

Breakfast was excellent! Also enjoyed the common rooms on the first floor (especially the library). I hope to come back soon.


Great Hospitality

5 sur avril 26, 2011

Amazing, amazing, amazing.... What more can I say except that Fran and Brian were wonderful host and they made me feel so welcomed into their place. Breakfast was excellent, served me fruits as they knew that I did not really ate breakfast. I highly recommend this place.


We had a great time despite the weather

4,6 sur avril 22, 2011

Fran and Brian were great host. Fran was even a Volunteer at Grant's home. It was Grant's birthday weekend and we were so lucky to join in on all the events. The Aldrich Guest house has lots of history and is very comfortable. The breakfasts were outstanding. Thanks for a wonderful time, Barbara and Kathy


Aldrich House review

5 sur avril 12, 2011

The house very beautiful, the owners were VERY nice, and the food was delicious! We had a great time!


A Wonderful Experience!

4,8 sur avril 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time in this Victorian-style B&B! Fran and Brian served outstanding breakfasts and shared interesting historical facts about the guest house. The accommodations EXCEEDED our expectations (especially the beautiful sitting room and classy dining room), and the price was very affordable. We will stay at the Aldrich Guest House again on our next trip to Galena!


Charming home close to downtown

4,8 sur mars 30, 2011

Loved the Aldrich House - very clean and well maintained. We were in the smallest room, Clara, (only one available) but it was perfect. Even though it was smaller, it still had a full ensuite bathroom. The location was perfect as we were able to park our car and not move it for the whole weekend. Walked to downtown, Grant's home, and all the wonderful attractions in Galena. Highly recommend. The breakfast was a masterpiece pleasing both the sight and taste. Highly recommend!


Great location

4,0 sur mars 16, 2011

What I liked the most here at Aldrich Guest House is the location. It's only a block from the river and within walking distance from Main Street. The owner couple are very friendly. We had a huge and delicious breakfast which is far better than I expected. I would definitely choose Aldrich Guest House again!


Murder Mystery Weekend

4,2 sur mars 14, 2011

Excellent home and gracious and friendly hosts! The breakfast each morning was 5 star and the home was filled with ambiance and great history. It was a pleasure. We loved the house and everything about Galena. Can't wait to see it in the summer and fall and sit out on the porch. Thanks for everything, Jon and Deb


Great Value, Awesome Location

5 sur février 16, 2011

Very reasonable price and within walking distance of downtown. Owners were very nice and accommodating.


Your B&B exceeded our expectations and was outstanding.

5 sur janvier 06, 2011

We stayed for our wedding honeymoon and it was so wonderful. Fran and Brian personalized our stay with special gifts and having the Christmas decor and delicious food just made it that much better. We could see coming again for an anniversary or birthday stay! Thank you so much!!! We loved it!!!


Our First Bed & Breakfast

5 sur janvier 04, 2011

This was the first time we had stayed at a B&B, and we were a little nervous--we'd heard they can be awkward or even creepy. But our stay at Aldrich Guest House was anything but! Fran and Brian were very friendly, the house was cozy, and the breakfast was tasty and filling. We came to spend time downtown Galena, but ended up spending most of it at the B&B!


Best of the Best

4,2 sur janvier 02, 2011

Outstanding accomodations! Felt the history oozing out of the entire place. The innkeepers were extremely pleasant and knowledgeable about Galena in general and the inn itself and were readily available to answer any questions we had. The beautiful grounds made me feel right at home and only added to a wonderful experience.


Best in Galena

5 sur janvier 02, 2011

We loved the Aldrich Guest House! Our annual trip to Galena during the Christmas holidays is a much anticipated get away. I always look for a place that is decorated that enhances the beauty of the home. Each bedroom had it's own tree, the common area's of the home were just a delight to see all the details that went into preparing for the holidays. Fran and Brian were such gracious hosts and I believe that even first time B and B guests would feel so comfortable here. Upon departure, we were given an ornament as a reminder of our stay. That has never happened at any of the eight guest houses we have stayed in over the years. The breakfasts were fabulous! This is now my favorite place to stay.


Best B & B in Galena.

5 sur décembre 31, 2010

The Aldrich Guest House is an outstanding B & B in Galena Illinois. The accommendations are amazing and the innkeepers treat you like family. Centrally located near town and all Galena attractions. The grounds were used by Grant to train his troops. All the comforts of home are right here for you to enjoy.


Great food, clean and beautiful.

5 sur décembre 31, 2010

The innkeepers at the Aldrich Guest House went above and beyond for our visit. The breakfast was delicious and the house was so beautiful. I felt so at home there. I will definetly be back and will refer the Aldrich Guest House to my friends and family.


FATE

4,6 sur décembre 30, 2010

While looking for a place to stay we stumbled upon this house, later to find that the inn keepers were from the same home town we were. Fran also worked at the same place that I did in a nearby city, and she shares the same dietary needs that I do. IT WAS FATE! We had an amazing visit...it was my first one at a B and B so I had no idea what to expect. But Brian and Fran set the bar very high for me! Thank you for taking such good care of us and we will see you again real soon.


aldridge revies

4,2 sur décembre 23, 2010

Fran and Brian were great. stayed there as they were so helpful with advising us on progressive dinner.


A fantastic stay!

4,4 sur décembre 05, 2010

Fran and Brian were the ultimate hosts: gracious, attentive, and friendly. They gave us great recommendations for places to visit during our stay in Galena. The house was beautifully decorated, clean and welcoming. Its location was ideal: a five minute walk from Main street and Grant's home with easy parking. All in all, a fantastic experience!


Delightful B and B

4,4 sur décembre 01, 2010

The Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The breakfast was superb in presentation, as well as, taste. The Innkeepers were friendly. I would recommend the Aldrich guest house.


Stayed twice so far this year!!

5 sur décembre 01, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this B&B twice in the last six months. As tempting as it is to try out a new place, the innkeepers are wonderful and the house is so neat and the food is wonderful. SOOO, we will keep repeating ourselves and going to this one. The history in that house is really interesting. We have met interesting people while there and have really enjoyed the conversation with Brian and Fran. We will be back ASAP. Galena is getting more visits out of us thanks to this B&B. I highly recommend it!


Kudos from a picky traveler

5 sur novembre 29, 2010

I travel a great deal and am extremely picky about where I stay. I am "weird" about staying where strangers have been before me but I MUST say that I have stayed at the Aldrich Guest House annually for the past three years and it is by far the CLEANEST place I have stayed. Fran and Brian are the perfect hosts. They allow you to set the tone of your stay and adjust perfectly. The wine and cheese hour is excellent as well as the breakfast of many courses. All in all, an EXCELLENT place to stay.


A perfect 2 day stay

5 sur novembre 15, 2010

Fran and Brian are very personable inn keepers. The house is lovely, the food excellent. I will return!


Aldrich Guest House

5 sur novembre 03, 2010

The breakfasts were awesome. Fran makes delicious gluten free foods without the worry of is my food safe for me to eat. As an added bonus there were gluten free cookies in my room. The house is wonderfully decorated and close enough to main street so you can walk. Fran and Brain are gracious hosts, helpful with all your reservations and knowledgeable with all the events going on in the community and the conversations are always lively and interesting at the breakfast table.


Like family!

4,0 sur novembre 02, 2010

From the moment we stepped in with our son Fran and Brian were so warm and welcoming. We felt like we were in our dream home! Every detail inthe house was beautiful. We felt like we were family paying a visit. Each morning we sat down to a huge gourmet breakfast that was incredible. I was so full and couldn't finish it all but hated to waste any. Not only did Fran so graciously give me a to go containerfor the pear crisp she put the remainder of what she made into it also! The room was so cozy and the bed was soooo comfortable. They also gave us great tips for the halloween parade and even madea phone call to see if something was open for us without asking. We will definitely be return guests!


Nice Getaway Weekend

4,0 sur octobre 30, 2010

Fran and Brian were very friendly hosts. we really enjoyed our stay there, and would definitely stay again. we enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evening it was nice to get to talk to them about their business.The home is well maintained and we enjoyed the garden area also.


Aldrich House in Galena

4,0 sur octobre 30, 2010

The Aldrich house was beautiful, warm and comfortable, in an outstanding, walkable location in Galena. The owners went out of their way to serve us vegetarian breakfast, as well as others who had special requests, all done with humor and warmth. We will definitely return to their home!


Fantastic B&B!

4,4 sur octobre 25, 2010

Relaxing and attentive. A great place to stay! Fran and Brian were absolutely fabulous.


fantastic experience!

5 sur octobre 21, 2010

My wife and I have not stayed in Bed and Breakfasts, but have stayed in four and five star hotels, and the service and friendliness of the this bed and breakfast was outstanding. The whole experience brought the town of Galena to life and gave us many wonderful memories.


By far the prettiest Bed and Breakfast in Galena

5 sur octobre 13, 2010

We have now stayed at the Aldrich Guest House on several different occations. We have stayed at others in Galena and will now be making the Guest House our only stop in Galena. Its a beautiful house with beautiful rooms. The house is so clean and very beautifully decorated. The food is outstanding. The innkeepers Brian and Fran go that extra mile to give you a wonderful home cooked breakfast with delicious home baked goods. Served in the most beautiful dining room I have ever seen. Its just a wonderful experience and if you are staying in Galena you have to stay at the Aldrich Guest House. Its soooo worth every penny (which by the way is very reasonable).


Wonderful Innkeepers, Comfortable & Relaxing Experience

3,8 sur octobre 07, 2010

Lovely B&B with wonderful Innkeepers. The room and bed were very comfortable. Breakfast was a real delight with several freshly prepared courses served to each guest in an elegant dining room.


One night stay

5 sur septembre 27, 2010

We stayed on Thursday evening. We were the only ones there that night. The Host and Hostess were very warm, inviting, courteous, and helpful. The rooms were all beautuful and breakfast was terrific. I will definately come back here again.


Great place to stay

4,6 sur septembre 24, 2010

Aldrich House is wonderful, clean, historic, and very comfortable. The innkeepers, Fran and Brian, could not have been more accomodating. The home shows their wonderful antique collectiong.


Best "last minute" itinerary change we've ever made ...

4,8 sur août 24, 2010

We were visiting our first grandchild in Denver, CO and celebrating his first birthday when a revision to our itinerary presented us with 2-3 open days during our return trip to Indianapolis. We had spoken several times of our interest in visiting Galena, IL and so we simply decided to take a different route home through Galena. We certainly made the right decision. I had previously reviewed the website for the Aldriich Guest House and knew I wanted to stay there. We weren't disappointed. Both Brian and Fran were wonderful hosts during our 2-night stay -- they were warm and genuinely friendly -- we didn't feel pressured in the least to mingle with the other guests and yet we met two couples in the two-day stay that were equally as friendly and easy to get to know. The food was nothing extravagant, but VERY GOOD. We left early our last morning so Brian and Fran sent us off with a bag full of goodies to eat on the road. The bed slept very well and the house was spotless. I was somewhat shocked and pleased to learn that President Lincoln had dined in the very same dining room where all guests ate their meals. A large screened porch provided a wonderful spot for closing your eyes and listening to nature's music or perhaps reading a book from the Inn's ample library. I would highly recommend staying in a B&B/Inn -- and the Aldrich Guest House in Galena, IL should be on your "definite stay" list. Thank you for the opportunity to provide feedback.


Excellent on all accounts

5 sur août 14, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Aldrich very much. The innkeepers are friendly and enthusiastic about making their guests feel at home. Our room was pleasant - the bed comfortable. The public areas - living room and screened porch - provided comfortable chairs for reading or visiting and we found some interesting books about Galena history. Breakfast was excellent. The Aldrich is within walking distance of town if you can handle hills and stairs.


Grace & Style

5 sur avril 20, 2010

This inn was unbelievable. After a very long day in the car we were greeted by Brain & Fran and warmly welcomed into their magnificent home. It is refreshing that people take the time and resources and energy to maintain homes that have an old world charm & significance. It is amazing that these same people would invite travelers into these magnificent homes. To say our stay was memorable is an understatement. The room was very comfortable, clean and suited our needs perfectly. The food was outstanding and satisfied our morning needs for sustenance to explore this wonderful & historically significant town. We would highly recommend this inn and this town for anyone seeking old world charm, style and grace. We will be returning.


Great Stay

4,8 sur janvier 24, 2010

This was our first experience at a b & b. Wonderful, cozy home! Clean and well kept rooms. Felt right at home. Great breakfast. Great people! We will recommend! Thanks! :)


Cousin's Getaway

5 sur octobre 27, 2009

The Alrich House was the perfect getaway. We never drove anywhere while we were staying there. It is within walking distance to downtown Galena and other attractions. Fran and Brian made the weekend special. The house was beautiful and Fran had provided extra little special touches that made us feel welcome. They were knowledgeable about the area and if they didn't know, they found out for you. The breakfasts were wonderful. I would recommend staying here!


A World Away

4,6 sur septembre 14, 2009

My friend and I were torn about exploring Galena or just staying put on the screened porch. As it turned out, we did both and thoroughly enjoyed it! The room was extremely comfortable, and the garden is breathtaking. Fran and Brian go out of their way to assist in any way possible, whether making last-minute reservations or suggesting a new (for us) restaurant. I'm very much looking forward to next year!


Location, Service and Comfort

5 sur septembre 12, 2009

Ten to fifteen minutes walk to most of the historical spots and shopping. History buffs will thrilled with the idea of staying in a home which entertained the like of Lincoln, Mark Twain, and, of course, General Ulysses S. Grant. Brian and Fran made the stay Great. Very much worth a stop and evening stay any time of year.


Aldrich Guest House

4,6 sur septembre 10, 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at the Adlrich Guest House this week. The home is simply lovely and impeccable. Our room was quite comfortable, and we especially enjoyed the peace and quiet afforded us. A real bonus is that it is smoke free--something we really appreciate. We spent quite a bit of time on the screened-in porch enjoying the gardens and fountains. And the breakfasts--what can I say beyond YUM!!!


I left my heart in Galena

4,6 sur août 30, 2009

Brian and Fran were gracious welcoming hosts! The Aldrich Guest House is "neat as a pin" and "clean as a whistle!" We were treated to a lovely filling breakfast each morning, and enjoyed conversation with the other guests, as well as the hosts. The B & B is just a short walk to galena's downtown. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and our stay at Aldrich!


Getaway

5 sur juillet 30, 2009

Aldrich house is the best place to stay in Galena. Brian and Fran's beautiful home is comfortable and cozy. They cater to your every need and make you feel most welcome. You can walk to everything there is to see and do or just relax on the charming porch. Breakfast is wonderful with a new gourmet treat every morning. The wine and cheese hour in the evening is a great way to meet the other guests. We have stayed numerous times and plan to return again and again.


Sister get together

4,0 sur juillet 06, 2009

My sisters and me, along with our spouses and friend gathered here for a long weekend. The house is beautiful and exciting. The showers were a little on the cool side, but the food made up for it! Galena was charming, my first time to visit the pretty city. Fran and Brian were warm, welcoming guests and I would recommend this B & B.


Wonderful stay

4,0 sur juin 29, 2009

Delightful house; immaculate & comfy rooms. Breakfast was delicious. Wish I could have spent more time on the screen porch looking over the garden & listening to the birds. Brian & Fran were great hosts.


Perfect rest

5 sur juin 11, 2009

We were able to get away from routines and schedules. The whole experience was delightful from the charming room to the gluten free breakfast. The porch swing was my favorite spot. It faced a manicured lawn and a lovely garden with water fountains that created a relaxing break for two tired school teachers. It will be a destination for us again.


Porch Sitting at its Best

5 sur juin 08, 2009

Brian And Fran are warm hosts with plenty of ideas for things to do during our visit to Galena. The rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated, very cozy. Breakfast on both days was delicious and we were so full that we didn't eat again until supper time. My favorite is the screened-in porch and swing. A perfect place to relax while admiring the gardens, reading a book or getting to know other guests at the inn. In spite of a day of rain, armed with an umbrella, I was able to walk to the shops of Galena which is not far. This was our second visit to The Aldrich House and won't be our last. Florissant, MO


Our First Time

5 sur février 16, 2009

What a great place for our first time at a bed and breakfast. brian and fran both are great host. Thank you so much. Oh by the way the breakfast, it also was great. We will be sending our friends and family. Thank you, Phil & Ana


outst

5 sur novembre 25, 2008

Warm and friendly hosts. Charming home. Breakfast was wonderful. Definitely worth another visit!


fantastic

5 sur novembre 25, 2008

fantastic atmosphere, fantastic food, fantastic innkeepers, fantastic house!!!


Pleasure beyond measure

5 sur novembre 21, 2008

It was celebrating our 65th wedding anniversary in an authentic Civil War area. Wealthy home atmosphere.


Aldrich

5 sur novembre 05, 2008

excellent everything!


They've outdone themselves

5 sur novembre 05, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay, off the beaten path but within walking distance of downtown. Grounds are beautiful -- with a huge screened porch to just relax and enjoy the wine and cheese or read a book. This was our third stay at Aldrich -- our first with Fran and Brian, so we were just a little apprehensive -- but they are absolutely wonderful hosts, just like their predecessors. And the breakfasts ... OMG! ... avoid this place at all costs if you're on a diet! (I gave mine up for a couple of days -- it was worth it!) We heartily give Aldrich House "two thumbs up".


Wonderful service

5 sur novembre 02, 2008

We had a great, relaxing stay at Aldrich House. Fran and Brian gave great personal service, including providing a gluten and dairy free breakfast. There were even gluten free cookies set out in the afternoon. The inn is historic and lovely. It is in easy walking distance to Main St. I would recommend this inn.


Review of Guest House

5 sur octobre 30, 2008

wonderful, clean home. Great food, warm and friendly innkeepers! Highly recommended.


beautiful and historic B&B

4,6 sur octobre 29, 2008

wonderful experience. Excellent hospitality. beautiful clean rooms, great breakfast.


lovely stay

4,6 sur octobre 27, 2008

Lovely stay...wonderfully furnished, excellent gourmet breakfast, good quiet location, hosts, Fran and Brian very gracious


A warm and charming B&B

4,8 sur octobre 27, 2008

Beautifully maintained home in one of my favorite places. The hosts are lovely people and the breakfasts are outstanding!


Aldrich Guest House

4,6 sur octobre 24, 2008

rooms were nice. hosts were friendly. the rooms were comfy and clean. food was alright.


Stay at the Aldrich House

5 sur octobre 24, 2008

The ALdrich house was a very beautifully decorated and comfortable place to stay. The breakfast was very decadent, obviously freshly homemade. I will certainly stay again!


Review of Aldrich

5 sur octobre 24, 2008

Aldrich guest house was the most beautiful B&B I have ever stayed in. The hospitality and warmth of the owners was out standing. food was divine. cleanliness was above the rest. All comforts of home! we'll stay again.


awesome!

4,8 sur octobre 23, 2008

Just a charming, beautiful house and were treated awesomely!


Honeymoon Heaven

5 sur octobre 23, 2008

My husband and I decided to stay at a bed and breakfast for our honeymoon. We were both a little nervous when we pulled up because neither one of us had ever stayed at a B & B before. All of our nerves vanished after we entered that front door and met the owners Brian and Fran. They were awesome hosts and went above and beyond our expectations. Our honeymoon turned out to be the best "vacation" we've taken together and since our wonderful experience, we're hooked on B & B's. We plan on going back there to celebrate our one year anniversary. The Aldrich Guest House is your "home away from home!"


go visit!

4,8 sur octobre 23, 2008

Our stay was perfectly enjoyable. B&B was lovely! Town quaint with interesting history!


A wonderful end to our trip

5 sur octobre 15, 2008

We spent the last 2 days of our 2 week vacation at the Aldrich Guest House, and recommend it highly. Fran and Brian were wonderful, friendly, and accomodating hosts. The breakfasts were wonderful and we also enjoyed the wine, cheese, and crackers they had available at 6:00 p.m. The rooms are decorated so well, and guests are provided with an interesting history of the house. We would love to return!


Girl's Getaway

4,6 sur octobre 15, 2008

Quaint country B&B. Great location, very clean, great hosts.


Aldrich House

4,2 sur octobre 15, 2008

Host & Hostess very gracious, very helpful, very kind & considerate.


1st Experience

5 sur octobre 15, 2008

This was my first experience at a B&B and it was wonderful!


Wonderful B&B

5 sur octobre 10, 2008

The hosts were extremely nice & very helpful. Room was terrific and breakfast even better.


Elegant, yet comfortable

5 sur octobre 10, 2008

If you are looking for a place to stay, for a special occasion, or just to get away, this is the place. Accommodations are beautiful, food gourmet, and the hosts, Fran and Brian could not have been more friendly and hospitable.


new friends found

4,6 sur septembre 29, 2008

Fran and Brian claim to be novice innkeepers. If so, they have learned well and quickly what it takes to be superb hosts. Their home became our home for a wonderful weekend. The Aldrich House is in a great location across the river from the downtown strip.


Excellent!

4,8 sur septembre 29, 2008

Brain and Fran made our 2 day - 2 night stay memorable. The home, garden, breakfast & hospitality exceeded our expectations.


great place

3,6 sur septembre 15, 2008

This was a great place. Fran and Brian are so sweet - they even got us a note because it was our honeymoon! Wonderful.


A wonderful Retreat

5 sur septembre 04, 2008

Wonderful accommodations, exceptional food, and fabulous and caring hosts.


Enjoyable Accomodations

5 sur juillet 06, 2008

Innkeepers extremely friendly and helpful. Very nice room and great breakfast


we loved it

4,0 sur mai 28, 2008

The home and grounds were perfect - beautiful gardens and screened porch where I just rocked for a hour. The owner are lovely people, the bed was incredibly comfortable. Walking distance to the "strip" but very quiet location next to other great homes. The only criticism is that coffee (8am) and breakfast (9am) were a little late for our midwestern taste - the food was absolutely wonderful. We would return here in a second! The had a wine and cheese hour that we missed because of other plans, they also have great wireless for workaholics.


Best Host and Hostess

5 sur octobre 14, 2007

A peaceful setting, a time to reflect on our lives and enjoy the surrounding local area. The breakfast was superb and other guests were interesting to interact with. Will go again and stay.


TWO DAYS IN JUNE

4,0 sur août 06, 2007

THE FRIENDLINESS OF MARIE AND JIM WAS THE BEST. THEY GAVE US THE UP GRADED ROOM FOR THE CHEAPER ROOMS RATE.


Outstanding

5 sur juillet 18, 2007

Jim and Marie are such wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are out of this world. We are looking forward to our next visit.


As Comfortable as Home!

5 sur mai 07, 2007

My friend and I gave ourselves a gift of a "Mothers Day Weekend". The innkeepers, Jim and Marie are wonderful. We had the house to ourselves for the first evening and one other couple joined us the next night. Rooms are beautiful and full of history. The breakfast served couldn't be better (or larger). We will be visiting again soon!!!


Warm and Friendly Innkeepers

5 sur mars 07, 2007

We loved our brief stay with Jim and Marie. Since we were the only couple in their home the night we stayed we got the best personal love and care a stranger can give you. We shared and laughed about many things. All of the extra loving touches show how much they care for their guests. We were very impressed with the knowlegde of history and the proudness they both speak of their community. The room we used and the rest of the home was lovely. I mentioned to my husband upon awakening "how cheerful" our room was. The breakfast was tasteful and the tea and hot cookies was thoughtful. I shared with another couple on how we should go together this fall and stay there again. We will see what happens with our schedules.


Like Heaven

5 sur février 27, 2007

I just loved this place. The innkeepers Marie & Jim were great. I felt like I knew them forever. I never felt out of place. The home is beautiful..full of history. Our room was great. It was a full house & everyone was just so so great. The atmosphere is so elegant but yet just like home. Pauline & I can't wait to go back. My friend & I stayed for 2 days & the breakfasts were amazing. Marie is a great cook. The breakfast presentation is so beautiful, but tastes very good & hot!!!! Marie serves you individually. I just can't say enough. I celebrated by birthday there & enjoyed. We also loved the murder mystery/dinner also.


The place to be!

4,6 sur février 27, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. We had a full house. It was FANTASTIC! The couples ranged from 5-34 years married. Everyone was so nice and social, and everyone got along. Which is key since my wife is a little shy. I surprised my wife, and even signed up for the murder mystery dinner party. What a blast. I got a 10 from my wife for the weekend we spent together. I would recommend the Aldrich House to anyone. The people who reside in Galena are friendly even out of peak season.


Aldrich Guest House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $89 - $149
  • Avis (244) 4,7
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8157773323

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut