Flemish House of Chicago Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas3,6

Notation basée sur
94 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great experienc

4,4 sur novembre 19, 2014

If you want the illusion of being a resident of Chicago, this is the place. Comfortable accommodations, true residential neighborhood, perfect location to Michigan Ave, Rush and State Streets. No need for a car as you can walk to both Millennium and Lincoln parks. Room 2F has a large 'great room' with couch, tv, dining area and relaxing lounge chairs, plus a kitchen with all you need to eat in-house and a nice but smallish bedroom and bath...more than adequate; plus it is quiet.


Comfortable Stay in Gold Coast

3,6 sur novembre 18, 2014

We rented the one bedroom suite with a mini-kitchen, a separate seating/dining room with comfortable chairs and sofa, large TV (too busy enjoying touring the city to watch much!). Good separate bedroom with quality bed. Adequate A/C. Kitchen provided sufficient equipment to allow us to make some meals. You can arrange to have a cold breakfast provided each morning for extra cost. We only arranged that for our first morning. Easy walk to grocery stores, good restaurants (deep dish pizza). Quick walk to transit, easy walk to both lake and Miracle Mile. Would stay again.


Fantastic getaway

4,0 sur novembre 12, 2014

Beautiful home in equally beautiful neighborhood. Our studio apartment was perfect place to return after long days of sightseeing. All sites easily accessible by foot, bus or train. Staff helpful with providing suggestions on best bus routes and dining options. Breakfast items stocked in room each day were perfect way to start day.


Love Flemish House

4,8 sur novembre 05, 2014

Big, comfortable, beautifully furnished room; interesting old house restored with skill; great hosts; wonderful walking neighborhood.


Perfect

4,8 sur octobre 27, 2014

Spent a great week in Chicago in October 2014 staying at the Flemish House. Spacious accommodation, friendly, helpful, and non-intrusive hosts, and a great location just five minutes by bus, or 20 minutes walk into town. Loved it


Great location, great stay.

3,6 sur octobre 22, 2014

Quiet attractive street, lovely old building (old by US standards!). Good food very near and walking distance to wherever we wanted to go, and a good bus service when we wanted it. Host friendly and helpful. Great spot. [Ignore the dining score - we self-catered but the website won't allow a 'does not apply' rating]


Great!

5 sur octobre 21, 2014

Spent a great week in Chicago in October 2014 staying at the Flemish House. Spacious accommodation, friendly, helpful, and non-intrusive hosts, and a great location just five minutes by bus, or 20 minutes walk into town. Loved it Jeff and Maureen Hosier, England


Our fourth stay. Still outstanding.

4,6 sur octobre 15, 2014

Dining N/A...did not elect breakfast


A lovely, quaint B&B in the heart of Chicago! Great place, great location and great service - need I say more?

4,4 sur septembre 24, 2014

A beautiful B&B in a great location. Mike and Tom were friendly and accommodating and the room was beautiful! I would recommend the Flemish House of Chicago to anyone who loves the atmosphere and personal touches of staying in B&B's I am a huge B&B fan and the Flemish House is now on my "favorites" list. I will be back!


Beautiful house in a beautiful city

5 sur août 24, 2014

It is much more pleasant to be in a B and B like this, then in a anonymous hotel. The localisation can not be better. The extra information you get, don't you get in a hotel. We really like it!!


Great room, great location

4,2 sur août 24, 2014

Well appointed rooms: spacious and tastefully decorated. Full kitchen, including breakfast foods stocked in fridge. This is not your typical b&b where you mingle with other guests, have a hot breakfast and see the owners daily. This was perfect for us, as I found the accommodation style like a time share with the bonus of a stocked breakfast. We had total flexibility, especially when travelling with teens who sleep in! The location is a short walk from the Mag mile and very close to some great Gold Coast restaurants- thanks Tom and Mike for the tips in your room binder!


Superb Accomodations!

4,8 sur août 15, 2014

Our stay at Flemish House of Chicago was really great. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful and the location was amazing. After being out all day and night in the busy city, coming back to our peaceful studio was just what we needed. We stayed in the ground floor back room and enjoyed restful nights--it was so quiet, it was hard to believe we were just minutes away from Michigan Avenue. We will definitely stay here next time we visit Chicago.


Great central location on a lovely quiet street

4,8 sur août 03, 2014

Fabulously located. Attentive and unobtrusive management. We will recommend Flemish House to friends.


Cozy and elegant

4,0 sur juillet 31, 2014

Feliz de haberme alojado en Flemish House. Nos sentimos como en casa. Lo acabo de recomendar a unas amigas. Ojalá pueda volver a Chicago y a Felimish H. !!


Great Place

3,8 sur juillet 16, 2014

Stayed at the Flemish house for a week in June. Very nice place, they offer continental breakfast but we opted out. Good size living area, bathroom and closet. The full kitchen was a bit tight, but it was very helpful warming up leftovers and cooking vegetables. This converted house is in a beautiful area, just a block from a bus line, 3 blocks from the subway and grocery store, and a block from restaurants, which is a very happening area. The only downside to this area is that people walk their dogs and do not pick up all their poop. We had to walk the streets with our eyes looking down all the time. Note: this is not the Flemish House’s fault. We were in a rear room and it was very quiet, only some foot steps above us. I will definitely stay here again.


Perfect for family with teens!

4,4 sur juillet 06, 2014

Feeling fortunate to have found the Flemish House! The 4th floor 2 bedroom apartment was perfect for my family of four (2 teens). More comfortable and a better value than getting adjoining hotel rooms. Location couldn't be better! Great restaurants, easy access to public transportation, shopping (including groceries) and walking to downtown, Lake Michigan and Navy pier. Tom and Mike were always pleasant, professional and helpful with any thing we needed. Exceeded my expectations!


Excellent location & fabulous hosts

4,6 sur juin 22, 2014

Fantastic B&B that was in a great location. Clean & week kept. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Will stay again.


Perfect!

4,6 sur juin 18, 2014

The Flemish House was a perfect place to stay. It is very comfortable, has lots of character, perfectly located, and Tom was a great host. We were in the Garden Room, so basically had our own entrance, and felt comfortable coming and going as we pleased. I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast!!


Nice and cosy rooms in a pleasant neighbourhood

3,0 sur juin 11, 2014

Nice, cosy and comfortable apartment. Convenient location , not far from subway station and close to lively restaurants. I expected hot, cooked breakfasts and therefore was disappointed with continental self service breakfasts. Plus although there was adequate variety and quantity, I would like to have some wholesome multigrain bread, not just raisin bread. Having said that I would still go back; and also recommend it to friends.


What a gem!

3,2 sur juin 02, 2014

I had 10 wonderful days in Chicago and one of the best things was staying at Flemish House. I knew it would be good judging by the website but it really was charming. The bed was so comfortable and I felt pampered by the daily "freshening up" of the apartment. The breakfast supplies were very good and both Tom and Mike were friendly and helpful. It was good having access to laundry facilities. Were I to return to Chicago I would stay there again!


undiscovered jewel

4,6 sur avril 21, 2014

we have stayed at Flemish House for a number of years while we attend baseball games in Chicago. Mike and Tom are great owners and it is the only place we stay while in Chciago.


Best B&B in Chicago

5 sur avril 11, 2014

My home in Chicago. Consistently excellent accommodations. The hosts Mike and Tom are terrific. Very quiet and private. You rarely see or hear them, unless you need them and then they are instantly available. I'm hesitant to rave because I'm selfish and want to keep this gem to myself.


Flemish House Jan. 4-8, 2014

4,4 sur janvier 12, 2014

A very comfortable and easygoing place, warm, convenient to good restaurants and public transportation. A very good value, and a cozy, friendly alternative to a hotel.


Such a nice place - I want to keep it a secret

4,0 sur décembre 06, 2013

A perfect hideaway in a great location. I will stay again.... and again, and again. Completely self-catering, I felt like native Chicagoan. Loved it.


Great place to stay Great location

4,0 sur décembre 04, 2013

Flemish House rooms are quaint, cozy, high ceilings. Vey comfortable, the owners are hospitable and pleasant. Definitely recommend and the location on Cedar is walking to restaurants. The rooms are a bit delicate, we had to make sure we didn't break any of the lovely glass items in the room


Family Holiday Stay

4,6 sur décembre 03, 2013

Our family stayed in the 4th floor apartment at Flemish House. It was perfect for our needs. We had a kitchen so we able to stock this for our stay (helped with meal costs), a washer and dryer, and a spacious living room. The 2 bedrooms were just right for our needs. All was clean and tidy. On arrival were were warmly greeted and a tour of our apartment was provided. We were made to feel that if we had any problems or concerns (although we had none) someone was always available to address these. All members of our party were pleased with the acccommodations. The neighborhood is lovely, and the location was perfect for holiday shopping. We would certainly choose the Flemish House again. Since we provided our own meals in the kitchen or ate out, dining was just what we expected.


A great place to visit Chicago

4,4 sur octobre 30, 2013

Tout est parafit, confortable, calme. L'accueil est très aimable et tout est fait pour que le séjour se passe le mieux possible. Le quartier est animé avec beaucoup de restaurants de tous les niveaux de prix. Le métro n'est pas loin Bref un BnB parfait pour un séjour à Chicago.


Beautiful place, great hosts, great location

4,4 sur octobre 27, 2013

We loved our stay at Flemish House, close to everything, but in a quiet residential street. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful and our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. We chose to self-cater and the small kitchen was well equipped, with tasteful crockery.


Rediscovering Chicago

4,6 sur octobre 25, 2013

We returned to Chicago after thirty years and stayed at The Flemish House run so ably by Mike and Tom, our inn keepers. The apartment was beautifully decorated in keeping with the heritage of the house and was well equipped for cooking and relaxing after a long day of sightseeing and museums. We hope to return soon and look forward to staying at The Flemish House again.


A home away from home in the heart of Chicago

5 sur octobre 14, 2013

I stayed at the Flemish House of Chicago with my parents in the middle of September and we had a wonderful stay! The booking was easy to make and everything went smoothly (thanks Connie!)! The location is great: a quiet street in Downtown Chicago, with restaurants and shops close by in the neighbourhood (Tom and Mike have provided a small handbook with important information on the B&B which also contains a list of their favourite restaurants and things to do in Chicago!) The rooms are actually small apartments with a fully equipped kitchen where you can also cook your own meals. Breakfast is great (my Dad loved the blueberry muffins!). Loved the furniture, bathrooms and all the rest. Tom and Mike's care for the details is fabulous! I love Chicago and hope to come back soon and...I will definitely stay at the Flemish House again!


Lovely place and neighborhood in Chicago!

4,4 sur octobre 13, 2013

Wonderful place, neighborhood and accommodations. Proprietors were perfect...service you could count on, but didn't hover. Excellent breakfast for those on the go...walk or short cab ride to everything. We'd stay again in a heartbeat.


A great find!

4,8 sur octobre 07, 2013

We were four adults in the top floor apartment and found it a lovely place to rest and hang out during our stay in Chicago. The hosts were helpful and responsive, the rooms were nicely decorated and felt like home, and the neighborhood felt safe and was full of good food and shopping options. I will for sure be back!


First time in Chicago

5 sur septembre 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Chicago and didn't want the hotel atmosphere. The Flemish House and Mike gave us exactly what we were looking for - a great location, a home feel, privacy and and all around feeling of welcome. The location was great for local restaurants, the CTA and the water. We live in the mountains and the opportunity to be part of a real city was perfect!


homely place in a great part of the city

2,8 sur septembre 08, 2013

There is no Dining!


Perfect location-virtually no transpotation needed

5 sur août 21, 2013

Literally steps from everything which bustles, while also very quiet. Step out the front door and see Lake Michigan to your left, and a slew of restaurants to your right. BIG shopping a couple of blocks away. We rarely take a cab, so consider that when shopping room rates!


Great Place-Great Location

4,6 sur août 21, 2013

We stayed here for a quick weekend. I was amazed at the location as I used to live in Chicago and never thought something like this existed in the Gold Coast. Had a great time venturing around, never had to take a cab as the El track is just a few blocks away. Also walked to Oak Street Beach just minutes away. The owners were very nice and very helpful. I would highly recommend the Flemish House.


Flemish House Stay

3,0 sur août 07, 2013

For Chicago I suppose the price was in line. Great area to visit and dine. Public transportation was excellent. Very personable and helpful hosts.


Flemish House

3,4 sur juillet 29, 2013

It was like our "home away from home"! We loved staying there and the location is outstanding. The owners are super friendly and accomodating and communicated everything to us that we needed to know. Loved it and would highly recommend the Flemish House.


Fantastic stay i Chicago

5 sur juillet 28, 2013

Our stay at Flemish House of Chicago was fantastic and met all our expectations. We will stay there next time we come to Chicago.


Chicago Gem

4,2 sur juillet 27, 2013

Stayed at the rear apartment top floor for a week on our first visit to Chicago and it had plenty of charm, very peaceful and extremely clean. We were greeted by a lovely, helpful and friendly woman who works at the B and B. Tom and Mike have decorated the this home tastefully and our room was very comfortable and had all the amenities one might need. There was plenty of choice for the in room breakfasts but I would like to suggest a bit more protein (cheese?) for a morning start. The neighbourhood is beautiful, safe and has plenty of character...a few short blocks from great restaurants, transit stops and grocery shopping. Excellent connections for bus down the Magnificent Mile to all tourist attractions and shopping. Would definitely recommend Flemish House to all worldly travelers!


Excellent stay at Flemish House

4,2 sur juillet 27, 2013

We had a great stay. The location is fantastic for walking to the magnificent mile and restaurants and shops.


Fabulous Stay

5 sur juillet 26, 2013

This place is fabulous! It is located on a safe and beautiful location near Lake Michigan. The owners are wonderful. I recommend it highly!


Favorite B&B

5 sur juillet 18, 2013

We are in Chicago quite often and this is our go to place. Great location, quiet street but close to fabulous food, drinks, shopping and fun. Price is right too and you have a kitchen.


Flemish House of Chicago

4,6 sur juillet 17, 2013

Flemish House is the only place I want to stay in Chicago. Close to the Red Line, the 151 Sheridan bus, the pedway to the beach, and walking distance to Michigan Av' and many of the restaurants we love. A visit to Flemish House is like having our own little home away from home. If the weather's bad or we need a midday break, we've got our own quiet, private space to relax in, watch TV or read.


A wonderful stay...

4,2 sur juillet 16, 2013

We stayed for eight nights at Flemish House. It was extremely comfortable, quiet and in a great neighbourhood. Mike and Tom made us feel right at home with the right level of service - always available but never intrusive. Would not hesitate to recommend.


Chicago B&B - Great location - Excellent hosts

3,4 sur juillet 02, 2013

Charming B&B in beautiful neighbourhood. We walked everywhere or took a short taxi ride. Hosts were very accommodating and went out of their way to meet our breakfast requests. Our only complaint is that the mattress in our room was too soft and sunken in the middle of the bed. It's time to replace it.


Ideal Chicago Location

3,6 sur juin 29, 2013

The Flemish House is a lovely, clean, perfectly located place to stay when in Chicago. One can easily walk to all popular tourist sites or taxis are readily available. Nice to have breakfast food provided in our room so we could be on our own schedule. Highly recommended!


Superb B and B and outstanding value

5 sur juin 20, 2013

We've travelled all over the world and stayed at many B and B's but never one as well appointed as Flemish House. The attention to detail was excellent, our room was very large and beautifully furnished, the breakfast supplied was substantial, healthy and very good. Mike and Tom were generous hosts and helpful at all times. The location is central and within walking distance of all the major attractions - it is a great value and we highly recommend booking at Flemish House.


wonderful!

4,4 sur juin 12, 2013

Our adult children stayed in the 4th floor apt., where we all hung out. My husband & I stayed in a separate room. Arrangement was perfect!


Great B&B, perfect location.

4,4 sur mai 27, 2013

Little did we know when we booked this B&B what a perfect location it was. Half a block from the happening Rush Street, half a block from Lake Michigan and a 5 minute walk to the Magnificent Mile, all the while a quiet, beautiful tree lined street. The self contained kitchenettes provided a simple breakfast at your own pace. The rooms were lovely and Mike and Tom were excellent hosts. We would not hesitate to stay again.


Quiet and cosy

4,6 sur mai 14, 2013

Comfortable, quiet et near magic mile and chicago center, very good place


A great stay!

3,8 sur mai 12, 2013

A great find and is wonderfully located next to Lakeshore Drive. The room I had was huge (and I got the impression the rest of them are as well) and even had its own hallway. Useful kitchen facilities, comfortable bed and nice clean bathroom. Was told the room did get cold and I did need the heating on as the weather outside was foul during some of my stay - however, this did not stop the enjoyment. Washing facilities available free of charge which was appreciated and the WiFi is very fast. So comfortable and homely which is well ran by Tom & Mike.


Great Place to Stay in Chicago

4,6 sur avril 22, 2013

Clean, safe, and well-appointed. The top-floor suite has two bedrooms and a kitchen, making a far better value for a family than two hotel rooms. Within easy walking distance of sites, restaurants, shops, and the lake.


Great location,

3,4 sur avril 15, 2013

Flemish House rooms are beautifully furnished, comfortable, clean and spacious - more like a studio apartment! The ambience is more impersonal than a traditional b&b. Breakfast is adequate, more like the continental breakfast one has at home which means I didn't over indulge like I do at other b&bs. The location is excellent, near a variety of restaurants, attractions, shops and transport.


Excellent find

4,0 sur février 15, 2013

Found the Flemish House on Tripadvisor and the reviews were accurate: lovely rooms, thoughtfully furnished, well-outfitted kitchen, pleasant and helpful owners, great location. The continental breakfast (stocked in the kitchen) is adequate. I stayed in the first floor 1-bedroom suite and appreciated the large beautiful front parlor, with it's bay-windowed dining area and plenty of room for an extra bed. Bathroom is small, but fine. The comfortable queen bed is charmingly tucked into a curtained alcove toward the rear of the apartment. Be aware that if both members of a couple need to get up often during the night, it might not work well since you can only get out of the bed on one side, there will be lots of climbing over one's partner. This might not be an issue in other rooms. I look forward to staying here again on future visits to Chicago.


Tucked away in top Chicago neighborhood

5 sur janvier 16, 2013

What a gem. Previous reviews are spot on with this row home and location. Location matches with some of the best hotels in Chicago. Just one step off Michigan. Property gives visitor the experience of having one's own apartment in a well-restored historic building. Hosts were welcoming and accommodating. One of our best experiences.


Glorious Christmas Stay

3,6 sur janvier 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time pretending we lived on Cedar this past Christmas! The highlight of our stay was the self-guided tour of Astor street we took based on a guidebook in the apartment. We dined at La Colonial for xmas eve -- and then went down to the Episcopal Cathedral for services -- very special. It was private, deeply comfortable and thrilling. Thank you for such a great place to stay; we'll be back.


Every city should have a Flemish House

5 sur décembre 24, 2012

Loved my stay -- great room, fantastic location, such nice people. Would not have minded getting snowed in here at all. Hope to return in 2013.


What a treasure!

4,8 sur novembre 18, 2012

I recently organized a long weekend in Chicago for 8 childhood friends. We wanted convenience, comfort and charm. We found all three. The beds were so comfortable, the breakfast foods were convenient, and we had many spaces where we could visit and reminisce. We walked everywhere, although public transportation is convenient to the House. There are great cafes in the neighborhood. It was an outstanding weekend, and we have the Flemish House to thank! I will definitely return.


Home away from home

4,4 sur novembre 16, 2012

Great location and a real value


Nice B&B in a Great Location

3,4 sur novembre 15, 2012

Bed and breakfasts are not specifically my thing. I normally prefer the comforts, amenities, and uniformity of contemporary business class hotels. That said, I enjoyed a weekend stay here with my mother. She appreciated the well-stocked kitchen and fridge, cute, roomy space, and comfortable firm bed. The upholstery on some of the furniture was a bit more "lived in" and "well loved" than I might have hoped for, but at least the space was quite clean and had nice views. I was glad of the Wi-Fi included in the cost of the stay. The innkeepers were pleasant and professional. If you have mobility impediments, or are unaccustomed to climbing multiple steep flights of stairs, I might suggest booking a room on a lower floor. Our room was on the third floor, and there is no elevator. Otherwise, the neighborhood is genteel and scenic, with roomy sidewalks, great shopping and a good selection of restaurants within easy walking distance.


Charming and Memorable

5 sur novembre 13, 2012

We'd like to thank Mike and Tom for the absolute perfect place to stay for our visit to Chicago. The 4th floor apartment was beautifully appointed and felt so comfortable and homey. Anything you needed was no more than a short walk or cab ride away. The Flemish House was on a street with gorgeous, meticulously kept homes. Even though we were in Chicago for a family wedding, we got in a lot of sightseeing. Never got to meet Tom but Mike was a most gracious and helpful host. Flemish House was far more reasonable than staying in the nearby hotels and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thank you Mike and Tom for a wonderful B and B experience. Rosemary and Ed, Edie and Jeff


Home away from home

3,6 sur octobre 14, 2012

I had 3 nights here as lone female travelling for business. The inn was excellent in terms of rooms and position- 2 minutes from the lake, "Magnificent Mile" and lots of very good restuarants and nightclubs also around the corner. Would definitely recommend it.


Wonderful Stay in September

4,6 sur septembre 26, 2012

My short stay of only two days at the Flemish House was more than I could have asked for. The building itself has been wonderfully rennovated, the room was larger than I expected, and very well decorated. The location was perfect, very close to Michigan Avenue, and great restaurants just around the corner. The hosts were very gracious, and even let me leave my luggage before check in so I did not have to haul it all over the city. The next time I'm in Chicago I will definitely be booking again! Great gem for those that don't want a typical stay in a hotel!


Weekend in the City

3,8 sur septembre 07, 2012

The Flemish House was a great find in the city. A quiet place, great value and excellent location. Very happy with my stay.


Flemish House of Chicago

4,4 sur août 29, 2012

Our greeting by the proprietor was warm, friendly and informative. Our main floor room was large, well furnished, comfortable, quiet and clean. We were offered access to a laptop and cell phone for local calls as needed. There are laundry facilities on site. The kitchen was restocked daily with breakfast supplies. The neighbourhood is beautiful and the location is very convenient - a short walk to restaurants, shopping on Michigan Ave., the waterfront and a beach. Highly recommended.


An Oasis of Tranquility

4,6 sur juillet 21, 2012

A stylish and elegant establishment. Fantastic location, so close to the city, beach, fabulous restaurants and boutique shopping. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet, with a continental breakfast included. The hosts Tom and Mike did everything to make my stay enjoyable. I would go back there in a heart-beat. S Luus


Flemish House of Chicago

5 sur juillet 02, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay. There was no dining only continental breakfast which was perfect. It is located very close to restaurants and Michigan Avenue so plenty to choose from. It was quite and we will be back.


Flemish House of Chicago.

3,6 sur juin 22, 2012

Beautiful B&B in the most elegant, upscale and quiet neighborhood of near north side (gold coast). The rooms are big and comfortable, the service is attentive and never intrusive. Only if you book the 3rd floor apartment be sure you don't mind climbing a couple of flight of stairs on your way up.


Something special

3,8 sur juin 11, 2012

I have been visiting Chicago several times staying att different high ranking hotels but this is the nicest place ever in Chicago.


Great location and beautiful house

4,4 sur juin 08, 2012

We just finished our second stay at Flemish House which was equally as good as the first a couple of years back. The location is great, a short walk to the magnificent mile but just far away from the action for a quiet night's sleep. Breakfast is also good, the fridge is stocked each day with lots of supplies which allows you to eat at your leisure. The rooms are decorated well and so much space! A wonderful bed and breakfast!


Awesome location, nice quiet street

4,8 sur juin 04, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a long weekend recently. We couldn't have picked a better place. The location was close to the beach, shopping, restaurants, and attractions. The staff was friendly and it was a nice quiet street - felt just like home!


Best Inn in Chicago

4,6 sur mai 16, 2012

I've stayed in the Flemish House of Chicago four times. Each time in a different room in this small, 8 room, Inn. The location is ideal for a trip to the Windy City, just 2 blocks around the corner from the Hancock Building in the Gold Coast. The area is surrounded by tree lined streets and is quiet. The rooms in the Inn have a front living room area, a kitchen stocked with essentials, a private bathroom, and a large bedroom with comfortable beds. They are clean and retro yet stylish. The proprietors are very friendly and accommodating. Unlike any other BB, they stock the kitchen with simple breakfast foods like cereals, muffins, fresh fruit, assorted breads, tea and coffee. The kitchen is fully equipped with pots, pans, flatware, utensils, kettle, dishes, even stemware. You could cook every meal there, but there are countless restaurants within walking distance, so it's your call. Compared to big name hotels with smallish rooms, the cost is very affordable. The only consideration you may have is that there is no elevator; you must hall your luggage up the stairs. If that is not an issue, you can't miss with this wonderful brownstone Inn in Gold Coast, Chicago.


A great place to stay in Chicago

4,6 sur avril 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Flemish House three times and it is our favortie place to stay in Chicago. The location is great and the owners could not be more helpful. Bill and Shirley kolin


Great location in great city

4,2 sur avril 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on a personal trip. Location was quiet yet at either end of block was the hustle and bustle of Chicago. Room was plenty big enough for 2 and as clean as could be. The breakfast items provided were great as I am not one to sit down and eat a huge breakfast. I would stay again in a heartbeat.


Home in Chicago

4,2 sur mars 26, 2012

Comfortable rooms and great value. Very convenient.


The BEST place to stay in Chicago!

5 sur mars 08, 2012

Mike and Tom, the owner operators of this B&B, are the most generous and thoughtful of hosts. The suites and apartments are charming and so very comfortable. They have thought of everything and it really is like a home away from home. The location is excellent, between N. State and N. Lakeshore - steps away from the Magnificent Mile. Their prices are very reasonable and the value beats that of a hotel stay any day! The other aspect I really appreciate is the sense of privacy and security. Breakfast is not a B&B-wide event; instead, they stock your suite or apartment refrigerator with delicious goodies from a local bakery as well as fresh oj & milk, and they make sure you have coffees, teas, cereals, and fresh fruit, too. This really is the best place to stay in Chicago and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.


Lovely and so convenient

4,6 sur janvier 16, 2012

A last minute visit to Chicago for a memorial service was made so pleasant by our stay at Flemish House. We felt cared for and welcome by Mike, who helped us find a show, restaurants and the metro! It was like we were living in Chicago. The neighborhood is great for strolling. Even the cranky parking lot dude was fun!! We will be back.


Flemish House was just terrific

4,4 sur octobre 13, 2011

Owners helped make "surprise" arrangements Owners were gracious, helpful, welcoming non-interfering rooms were spacious, with lovely & comfortable furniture great beds everything works-lights, stove, dishwasher


Exceptional Second Time Around !

4,8 sur septembre 28, 2011

This was my second stay here and it lived up to the experience we had back in 2005. The Mike and Tom were wonderful and always helpful. The room was large with good storage, a small kitchenette with basic breakfast left each day, the bathroom while small had everything we needed and worked well. There was more than enough storage space and the bed was so comfortable we slept late every day. There is a TV if one wishes to watch it and wi-fi was excellent . The place is just so elegant and the street is quiet but still close to many things. We loved it and hope to stay there on all our trip to Windy City.


Excellent lodging.

3,6 sur septembre 18, 2011

Flemish House reflects the care of the owner-hosts. I have personal food issues so though I imagine their breakfasts were great, I passed. The room was in excellent condition with a perfect bathroom and kitchen. Fine neighborhood, super easy to get around without a car, and always a taxi passing by on the street. I intend to book the same room on my next visit.


Fabulous location

3,6 sur septembre 06, 2011

Close to public transit and easy walk to the Magnificent Mile and Lincoln Park Zoo. Short walk to restaurants and bars. Nice big room with kitchenette and fridge well stocked with breakfast supplies. Would like to have had bathroom refreshed daily and white face clothes, otherwise a great place to stay!


Fantastic find in ideal location

4,4 sur août 15, 2011

We had a weekend stay at Flemish House and it was ideally located right near Michigan Avenue and all the sights. Lakeshore drive is at end of road and restaurants and shops at the other end. The basement apartment we had was spacious and beautifully designed, with it's own little courtyard. The in room breakfast was generous and healthy. Tom and mike were helpful, welcoming but not intrusive. Just a great place and made our first visit to Chicago a real success. We are planning our return trip.


Un chez-soi dans la Gold Coast!

5 sur août 02, 2011

Un endroit très bien situé, au centre du quartier Gold Coast de Chicago. À distance de marche des endroits à visiter du centre-ville, avec une profusion de restaurants et de boutiques de qualité. La suite comprenait une chambre, cuisinette et salon/salle à dîner très confortables et bien décorés. Les hôtes furent très accueillants et nous ont indiqué des endroits à visiter. Le clou du séjour, une pizza de Pizano's pour emporter et déguster au concert gratuit en plain air de Millenium Park, avec la possibilité d'emporter son propre vin, et 2 000 autres personnes amateurs de Sibelius et Rachmaninov. Un ravissement!!!


Wonderful Stay

4,4 sur juillet 30, 2011

We had a great stay in the first floor one bedroom apartment. Beatiful furniture, great canopy bed, and awesome AC because it was hte hottest week of the year so far. Great location, near public transportation, tourist sites and the Lake.


Location, location, location

4,0 sur juillet 25, 2011

This property is so well located, you can easily walk to most attractions (beach, downtown, Navy Pier and even Millenium Park). The area is very pleasant and there are many restaurants just a block or two away. The hosts are nice and helpfull. The room we stayed in was very well renovated and the bed was confortable. It's really worth paying a little more to be so close to the action.


Stay at Flemish House of Chicago

4,0 sur juillet 22, 2011

Wonderful place to stay! Great location close to shopping, the beach and restaurants. Looking forward to staying here again on our next trip to Chicago.


The Flemish House was perfect for us!

4,2 sur juillet 05, 2011

We had a great stay! It was wonderful to be in the middle of a beautiful Chicago neighborhood!


OUR STAY AT FLEMISH HOUSE CHICAGO

3,2 sur mai 14, 2011

Great location. Beautifully appointed rooms. Quiet. Clean. We would stay there again.


gem on a beautiful quiet street well situated near downtown Chicago

4,6 sur mai 03, 2011

High ceilings and insulated walls allowed for plenty of peace and quiet. The apartment was well-furnished and the little details (q-tips supplied in the bathroom, snacks and coffee pre-stocked in the fridge, plenty of pillows on the bed, local area magazines and guides readily supplied, etc.) made a great difference in the quality of the B&B experience. It combines the privacy of a hotel with the luxury of a historic well-maintained house, and the quiet and beauty of a house-lined side-street. Mike the innkeeper is friendly and does a wonderful job of providing a comfortable stay.


The only place we stay

4,2 sur février 25, 2011

This is the only place we stay when in Chicago. Very accomodating and convenient. Also, very reasonable considering Chicago prices. Sure beats the standard hotel.


Best weekend getaway!

4,8 sur février 25, 2011

I was completely blown away by the beauty of the Flemish House. It is an amazing little retreat, but with in walking distance to so much of Chicago. The owners are so warm and welcoming. I would recommend the Flemish House to everyone.


Chicago Highlight

4,6 sur décembre 16, 2008

By any measure this is an outstanding B&B. It offers stylish Chicago apartment living without a punishing tariff. We stayed in the downstairs unit complete with elegant woodpaneling, a smart little but fully stocked kitchenette topped off with a dining table comfortable lounge chairs and all mod cons. Do yourself a big favour when next in Chicago and make a booking at the Flemish House. You will not be disappointed.


mireille cardot

4,0 sur juin 13, 2008

It s a very fine place in Chicago. I recomand it strongly (? excuse the bad english)


Flemish House of Chicago

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $200 - $279
  • Avis (94) 4,3
  • Chambres 8
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-3126649981

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut