The Davie School Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,8
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
91 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Passed with an A!

5 sur août 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Davie School Inn for our one year anniversary. We were looking for something outside the box and this place was perfect. We were greeted right away by the owner Gary. He was a very pleasant and funny guy. He asked what we were planning on doing for the weekend and suggested some good places to go. He took our breakfast order for each day and we must say it was very delicious. He also gave us his personal phone number in case we needed him while we were out of the Inn. We stayed in the Blue room and it was very clean and spacious. The antique furniture and decorations were fun to look at and gave us insight into the historical elements of the school. We had such a great time and will definitely come back. Thanks for the good times Gary!


Great time

5 sur septembre 17, 2012

Gary was Great, told us places to go visit and mapped out our adventure. Breakfast was at the top of the scale. Very nice people!


great!

4,8 sur septembre 09, 2012

7 couples, all cousins, loved the inn, the atmosphere, the rooms, and the wondeful breakfast. Would definitely recommend the inn and plan to return!


Relaxing honeymoon evening...

4,4 sur mai 03, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our honeymoon. The room was beautiful, clean, and the largest B&B room we have stayed in. Anna is a nice little town. We visited a local winery and had dinner at the Brick House Grill. We had a very relaxing evening at this inn and wrote out our wedding thank you cards the night we stayed there. Breakfast was perfect and gave us the energy we needed for a morning run before we headed to Ferne Clyffe Park to camp for a night. We will be back to The Davie School Inn. Robin & Bob Risky

Réponse du propriétaire
It was very nice to meet you both. Thank you for staying at my Inn!


A wonderful place to relax

5 sur décembre 31, 2011

My family has been staying at the Davie School Inn since 2007. Since that time, we have gone from a family of 2 to a family of 4 (now with a 1 year old and a 3 year old). It has become a God-send for us when we visit extended family in Southern Illinois. Gary is very thoughtful and tailors the experience to best fit our needs. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (we have stayed in nearly all of them at one point or another). The small kitchen area in the room comes in handy for snacks and the like. Breakfast is always quite satisfying, and I can't say we've ever gone hungry. I highly recommend the cookie plate and the cheese platter, too. After driving for 7 hours, it was wonderful to have something on which to munch as we unwound our legs. This year was a shorter stay for us than is typical, but it was just magic. It snowed the night we were there, and I will never forget my 3 year old pulling back the curtains to discover it. I am so thankful for this fabulous inn, truly a respite.


Everyone has to enjoy this experience!

5 sur décembre 05, 2011

Our family stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend and enjoyed our stay so much they we are already planning our next trip back! Between us, we stayed in 3 of the unique and spacious guestrooms. Each room had their own special decor that made you feel right at home! The owner, Gary showed us all of the other rooms not occupied at the time as we all chose which rooms we would like to try next time! The chalkboards in the room were fun to leave messages to each other as someone was enjoying their jacuzzi bath or wandering throughout the school, looking at the memorabilia collected from the days that the school was open. We loved the tiny little desks, water fountains, school maps, books and pictures in our rooms and scattered throughout this spotlessly clean Bed and Breakfast. Now, about breakfast.. WOW! Our first breakfast of Gary's outstanding omelette, home fried potatoes, thick sliced bacon,toast, amazing sweet rolls and juice had us anticipating the next morning's breakfast to come! A french toast casserole, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, melon, sweet bread, and juice had our family of 9 eating at a large table on the landing so stuffed and happy that we could hardly move! We all said that this Inn was so comfortable and roomy that we would enjoy an extended stay on our next visit. What an amazing job Gary and Andrea have done to turn this beautiful 100 year old school house into one of the best Bed and Breakfast places I have ever stayed! Outstanding!


Gorgeous Rooms, Great Find!

5 sur novembre 07, 2011

I stayed at the Inn this past weekend and it was amazing. The Gold Suite is so lavishly decorated. With a jacuzzi, fireplace, and amazing bed, it's very romantic. Everything you could think of was provided. This was a great find and I can't wait to come back!


This place is amazing!

5 sur octobre 30, 2011

We were looking for a relaxing fall getaway, and the Davie School Inn exceeded expectations. From the warm hospitality to the amazing breakfasts to the remarkable way that Gary and Andrea have brought an old school building back to life, I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our weekend here. We're already planning a return visit in the spring!


Unique & Amazing

5 sur octobre 30, 2011

This was by far the most unique B & B I've ever stayed in, it was also one of the most amazing. The breakfasts were amazing, and "Dave" was great...


Sitter Family Reunion 2011

5 sur septembre 25, 2011

A charming and quaint bed and breakfast that offers service beyond what you can get at a large chain hotel. The school house environment adds to the alluring atmosphere, though with an old-fashioned appeal. Would definitely stay here again, when in the area.


Wonderful Each and Every Time!

5 sur septembre 05, 2011

This was our 7th trip to the Davie School Inn. Gary and Andrea are wonderful hosts. They make you feel welcome and part of the family. The rooms are so unique and comfortable. The jacuzzi tubs are a great way to relax after a long day on the wine trails. Gary cooks up a delicious breakfast so make sure you include it in your stay! We will definitely continue to go back!!!


Comfortable and clean!

5 sur juillet 31, 2011

A great place to stay for a family or couples! The breakfast was superb! We loved our stay here.


Very cool place in hot July !

5 sur juillet 18, 2011

Girls' weekend: excellent value, huge rooms, charming decor, great attention to detail, convenient location, informative and attentive yet not invasive hosts, perfect place for a girls' weekend, families or reunions. Great common area. We didn't want to leave!


Consistently enjoyable and very charming

5 sur février 14, 2011

I have enjoyed several visits to Davie School Inn and have actually stayed in all but 2 of the beautiful rooms. Whether I have stayed for a quiet week or weekend or celebrated reunions with family at the Inn, the visits are always wonderful! The rooms are spacious and charming with unique atmosphere. My entire family has stayed on one floor where we were in large open, family meeting areas and comfortable rooms. The owners are gracious and try to fill all requests (even when they are sometimes last minute) -- special meals, referrals to local events and wineries and making sure amenities are perfect. I have recommended the Inn to others and all who have stayed thank me for the recommendation. I hope you too get the chance to enjoy this B & B gem.


My favorite weekend getaway!

5 sur janvier 16, 2011

It does not get any better than The Davie School Inn! I love that it's large enough to house an entire group of us for a fun filled winery weekend but quaint and intimate enough for a relaxing, romantic getaway. I have never enjoyed an Inn or it's hosts more! I would recommend The Davie School Inn to anyone and personally, will Not stay anywhere else but there when in the area! Can't say enough good things about the environment, the people or the food - awesome!


Delightful B&B

5 sur novembre 20, 2010

This was our second time to stay here, and it lived up to our memories of the last time. We look forward to coming back to this charming old school building and its proprietors.


Always impressive

5 sur novembre 18, 2010

Gary & Andrea are always so welcoming, the places is great, and the breakfast amazing! Always ready to go back as soon as we leave!


Great Weekend at Davie School Inn

5 sur novembre 17, 2010

I had the pleasure of spending the weekend in Southern Illinois with 8 of my girlfriends. We visited wineries and stayed at the Davie School Inn for the second year in a row. The facility is outstanding - unique setting, comfortable, terrific breakfasts (even made-to-order for one of our group due to food likes/dislikes) - we are looking at dates to go back next year!


So much fun!

5 sur novembre 17, 2010

My girlfriends and I have gone there twice now for a girls' weekend, and we have just the best time. The building and rooms are awesome and comfortable. We can't imagine staying anywhere else!


WWW-Women's Wining Weekend-2010

5 sur novembre 16, 2010

This was our second year to enjoy The Davie School Inn. It's so comfortable, warm, and welcoming. The breakfasts are wonderful. Congratulations to Andrea and Gary for the outstanding service they offer.


Anniversary getaway

5 sur novembre 15, 2010

We just loved our stay! The room was very spacious and the attention to detail was perfect. Breakfast served in our room was delicious and private. The Davie School Inn is a great bed and breakfast that we hope to return to.


A unique and pampered weekend

5 sur novembre 15, 2010

Just finished a stay at the Davie School Inn for our 2nd annual women's wining weekend. Once again it was a weekend full of great breakfasts served by Gary and all around wonderful service. The inn is a unique place to stay and offers easy access to the local Shawnee Wine Trail. We plan to return again next year, and I would definitely recommend to others!


First time Bed & Breakfast

5 sur octobre 19, 2010

What an awesome place to stay! Everything was wonderful. This was our first B & B experience. Highly recommends!


Wonderful stay!

5 sur octobre 11, 2010

Came to my grandson's wedding. The inn was wonderful. I rested well. Everything was perfect! Thank you!


Sleeping in class

5 sur octobre 04, 2010

What a wonderful & charming experience! Truly Southern hospitality.


Best B&B

4,8 sur septembre 26, 2010

Gary and Andrea are the most gracious host. Service can't be beat. This is my 4th year of going to the inn with a group of ladies and we will be back again next year.


Fantastic, As Always!

5 sur septembre 03, 2010

Gary and Andrea are the most gracious innkeepers and their B&B is roomy charming, clean and extremely unique. No other B&B compares and that is why we always come back!


Delightful Place!

5 sur août 03, 2010

This is a very special B&B!! The rooms are spacious, with amazing decor that fits the schoolhouse. The hosts are very gracious and charming. A definite must!!


New to B&B....convinced us!

5 sur août 03, 2010

What an amazing experience we had at Davie School Inn. The rooms are so unique and have such great details everywhere you look. The cleanliness and attention of decor was outstanding. We definitely will be looking to stay at more B&B's during our travels if they are comparable to Davie School Inn.


Fabulous!

5 sur juillet 27, 2010

We had a great time at the Davie School Inn!! We had great food and a wonderful relaxing atmosphere! They beds were very comfy too! Don't worry if you get lost easily, as Gary can get you where you need to go. You will enjoy this place and be a repeat customer!


Exceptional Experience - A For Grade Card

5 sur juillet 21, 2010

The inn and its keepers provided above and beyond service, exceptionally clean environment and ambiance. all of this made an excellent stay for my mom's 59th birthday.


Going To This School Is A Lot More Fun.

5 sur juillet 14, 2010

My wife and I just came home from spending 2 days at the Davie School Inn and visiting the surrounding area. This was one of the best b&bs if not the best that we've stayed at. The experience was a very pleasant surprise to say the least when you have a whole classroom to yourself for a bedroom. The room was very comfortable and spacious, with a cozy kichenette and dining area to boot. Gary brought our breakfasts each morning, each one so delicious and filling that we skipped lunch both days. Gary gave us several recomendations as to where to go for places of interest and fine dining. Also, if you stay at the School Inn ask Gary to give you a tour of the place. The remodeling and restoration of this old building into an Inn is something to be seen. My wife and I are already planning our next visit to the Davie School Inn.


A true gem in Southern Illinois

5 sur juillet 07, 2010

I spent a weekend in Southern Illinois traveling the wine trail with two of my girlfriends. They had both stayed at the Davie School in the previous summer, and were extremely enthusiastic about returning. They had nothing but the highest compliments for the Inn and Gary and Andrea, and I soon found that everything they'd told me was right on the money. Our suite (the Red Room) was extremely roomy, clean, and well-furnished. There was more than enough room for the three of us to move around and put our things. The bed was extremely comfortable and I loved the Jacuzzi tub! What I loved the most was Gary and Andrea's hospitality. Gary went out of his way to make sure that we were completely comfortable and satisfied. His breakfasts are to die for - I highly recommend them! The weekend was so wonderful, and I cannot wait to come back to the Inn and try out a different room (and eat more of Gary's food!).


Girls' Out Weekend

5 sur juillet 01, 2010

Love this place, very comfy beds, excellent breakfast. The hospitality is always great.


Girls' Weekend

5 sur juin 28, 2010

Yearly trip to the Davie School Inn was again a fantastic experience! Rooms are large and relaxing. Gary and Andrea were friendly and helpful! Thanks for a great trip!


Our Second Anniversary

5 sur juin 16, 2010

We stayed in the Gold Room of the Davie School Inn for our second anniverary. The enormous suite is tastefully decorated in European colors, comfortable sofas and easy chairs, an amazing HDTV, and a luxuriously appointed bathroom with an huge whirlpool tub. The innkeepers stocked the refrigerator with our favorite drinks, and there were lovely snacks in the kitchen for us. The suite is like a very elegant apartment one would expect to find in New York or Chicago, so imagine our surprise to find such amenities in Southernmost Illinois! The super king-sized bed had a memory foam mattress, which was so very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was made especially for us, and served privately in the dining area of our suite: eggs Benedict, potato pancakes, and succulent fresh fruits and juices. Our stay at the Davie School Inn made our second anniversary as wonderful as our wedding night. Thank you Andrea & Gary!


Great Place to Stay

4,8 sur juin 14, 2010

The Davie School Inn was a great place to stay after a day on the wine trail. The rooms were clean, the hosts friendly and helpful, and breakfast was excellent! Look forward to staying again some day.


Davie School stay

4,2 sur juin 13, 2010

Peaceful getaway with charm and hospitality! I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the southern Illinois area....especially the wine trail! This is a convenient place to stay because its right in the middle of all of the winerys!


Treated Like Royalty

5 sur mai 27, 2010

My co-worker and I stayed at the Davie School Inn in May 2010 for one week. I had the Red Suite and she had the Purple Suite. The rooms were wonderful. The decor was beautiful and eloquent. Best of all, the service was great. Gary and Andrea are friendly, kind and always ready to go that extra mile to make you happy and comfortable. Every morning I heard school bells ringing but no one else did. Finally, Gary informed me that the church down the street rang the bells every morning. De ja vu?? I highly recommend this B&B. The meals are great. Gary makes a mean omelet. (I'll be Back)


Unique Kid Friendly B&B

4,4 sur mai 14, 2010

We were thrilled to find this inn! The other options nearby did not appeal (Motel 6, etc.). Our 10 and 8 year olds thought staying in a school room was really cool and played hang man on the chalk boards for a long time. Our room was incredibly spacious and the beds were comfortable. We ordered breakfast and we're amazed with the bounty! It was all delicious - really too much for us to finish. The innkeeper gave us great tips on local restaurants and hikes. If you are looking for upscale, unique accommodations in Southern Illinois, we would highly recommend the Davie School Inn.


Great Experience From Beginning to End!

5 sur avril 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Davie School End for our wedding anniversary. Oh boy, what a treat. Gary and Andrea welcomed us like we were old friends coming for a visit. Gary gave us a tour of the school and a little history lesson as to it's roots. Our room was so comfortable and beautiful that we ended up not leaving for dinner but having a delicious pizza delivered. Gary even offered to run out and pick up something for our dinner when we called and asked if there were a pizza place that delivered. Honestly, it was the best B&B experience my husband and I ever had. We look forward to going back there in the near future. If you are planning a trip to this area for any reason, do not hesitate to stay at this amazing inn. Thanks again.


Best place to stay in Southern IL - best breakfast in town!

5 sur avril 20, 2010

Gary, the innkeeper, welcomed us and let us choose our custom breakfast, which was delicious! He also gave us advice on wineries, stores to visit, and dining establishments. The rooms we had were clean, huge, and beautifully decorated. It was such a relaxing vacation. Gary and Andrea went above and beyond to make our stay calm and peaceful. This is the best place to stay! Joanne O'Kain


An Extraordinary B&B

5 sur avril 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Davie School Inn for two nights as we explored the Shawnee Wine Trail. Gary and his wife are exceptional hosts and extremely talented chefs. Be sure to have the breakfasts as they are outstanding. My wife is still teaching, this is her 34th year, and she truly enjoyed staying in a converted classroom. She explored all of the old school and Gary was kind enough to give us a tour of the building. If you are planning a wine trail tour or just passing through the area, stop at the Davie School Inn. You won't be disappointed.


The Most Unique BNB Ever!!!

4,4 sur mars 28, 2010

What an amazing unique place this is. The innkeepers took the historic old school house and created an incredible lodging experience out of it. While the rooms have all the modern amenities that make them extremely comfortable, the building itself has all the memories of its former self intact. From the bookshelves and chalkboards to the drinking fountains and desks. It truly is a place to see. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Gary was very accommodating with my dietary restrictions.


This is a very fascinating, historical, and beautiful establishment.

5 sur mars 18, 2010

Great, friendly service. Excellent breakfast served in your room. Very comfortable, clean rooms.


Great mid-Jan. stay!

5 sur janvier 21, 2010

We were looking for a getaway for a couple of days in the middle of the week. We came across The Davie School Inn. Our two day stay proved to be incredible! The suite we stayed in provided a great private getaway and was very relaxing. It was neat seeing how the old school was retrofitted into this unique bed and breakfast. Both mornings our breakfast was superb in quality and taste. If you're every in southern IL and are looking for a truly enjoyable and unique bed and breakfast experience, we highly recommend it!


Birthday get away

5 sur janvier 18, 2010

We stayed in the gold room. Beautiful and comfortable. Bed and tub were heavenly. Great place to relax and get away.


The Davie School Inn

4,2 sur janvier 04, 2010

Gary and Andrea were great hosts and have done an amazing job restoring the old school into a comfortable and accommodating B&B.


Incredible

5 sur novembre 19, 2009

What an incredible weekend! This was so much more than I could have ever imagined!! The Suite was breathtaking and I was left wanting for nothing, everything had been thought of! Gary, I can't thank you enough for the incredible breakfast and service. Not sure what you put in those eggs but they were the best I have ever eaten!! I would highly recommend a stay at the Davie School Inn....You won't be disappointed!!


Sorority Sisters Weekend

5 sur novembre 18, 2009

A sorority sister of mine from college received a gift certificate for a weekend at the Davie School Inn and asked me to go with her. It was an unforgettable stay. Located in a completely rennovated grade school, all eleven school rooms have been turned into huge guest rooms most of which have both a king and a queen bed. The tall-ceilinged rooms are FILLED with antiques and lots of quaint touches which appealed to us as teachers, such as blackboards, pictures of school clases from long ago, school desks, and old-fashioned water fountains (child sized of course), and cloakrooms which were now the huge bathrooms with Jacuzzis plus large showers. The rooms are all equipped with brand new kitchen appliances and lovely dining room tables and chairs where we were served our breakfasts by the owner at our own designated time. The food was absolutely delicious and portions were generous. Especially good were the wonderful fresh, hot muffins which accompanied the omelets or the waffles, etc. If a group books rooms and wishes to eat together, there is a great setting on the immense landing outside the grouping of four rooms on each floor. The school opens onto a tree-filled city park which is located in the middle of a quiet residential area. Our host was extremely helpful as we asked questions about touring the surrounding countryside which is filled with outstanding wineries which we visited tasting various wines and eating our own cheese We ate at a restaurant in Anna called the "Brick Grille". Outstanding food was on the menu which we had seen in our room along with those of other great places to eat in the area. Our host was so very nice and we had a fabulous weekend. We both intend to return with a group of our mutual friends and cannot recommend this place highly enough to anyone wishing a peaceful location from which to explore the surrounding hills of Southern Illinois.


Fun on Wine Trail

4,2 sur novembre 17, 2009

We enjoyed our weekend very much. The Davie School Inn is nestled in the quaint town of Anna, IL. Great restaurants near by. The breakfast was good, but I thought we would have our selection and not quite enough offered for eight (did not find the breakfast a value). I would recommend this bed and breakfast to others.


Nostalgia Plus

3,8 sur novembre 17, 2009

Very roomy, clean and nostalgic rooms. Gary made a wonderful breakfast. Who would ever have thought about chocolate syrup and whip cream on your french toast. Would reccommend this to anyone. Mary Linda , Taylorville, IL


Fabulous Anniversary!

4,8 sur octobre 16, 2009

My husband surprised me with a weekend at Davie School Inn and it was amazing! From the moment we checked in we felt at home. Gary makes a killer breakfast and will go above and beyond to make sure that you are comfortable during your stay. Shawnee Wine Trail in October is something everyone should experience!!


Such Romance

5 sur octobre 15, 2009

We stayed at the Davie School during the Colorfest of the Shawnee Wine Trail (10/11/09). It was wonderful. We loved the huge room. The fireplace was so romantic to fall asleep to after the relaxing jacuzzi for two. Strawberries were waiting in our room on arrival. In the morning fantastic cinnamon chocalate french toast and frest fruit were delivered to our room. We felt like royalty. LOVED IT. We will be back. Jim and Sandy Fisher


Ladies' trip

5 sur octobre 15, 2009

The food was wonderful. Rooms were spotless and linens were top quality. Wonderful experience.


Wine, history & comfort.

5 sur octobre 15, 2009

The rooms were fabulous and so was the owner/innkeeper. He was very informed about the area and the history of the school. The breakfasts were outstanding.


Must Visit!

5 sur octobre 12, 2009

Baby Boomers can relive their school days in this wonderfully rehabbed school. Sleeping in the classroom is now approved! Gary & Andrea are excellent hosts and Gary cooks a yummy breakfast and delivers it to the room's dining table. If you are planning to tour the Shawnee National Forest area, staying at The Davie School Inn is a must. Mary Ann Dwight, IL


Girls weekend out!

5 sur octobre 01, 2009

We just returned from another great girls weekend at Davie School. What a fantastic place to stay! The food and hospitality was, as always, AMAZING!! Thank you Gary and Andrea for everything!


Girls weekend

5 sur septembre 30, 2009

Our girls group of seven stayed at Davie School Inn on Sept. 26-29. This was our fourth year to enjoy the winery tours and the highlight of our trip was to be pampered by the innkeepers - Gary and Andrea. The breakfasts were fantastic and the hospitality far exceeded my expectations. This was a wonderful "girls getaway".


A Class Act

4,6 sur septembre 24, 2009

A beautiful, spacious room, very well decorated, with all the amenities. Wonderful service. Unusual B&B-converted from an old school.


Anniversary

5 sur septembre 17, 2009

This is our third stay at the Davie School Inn. We love to stay here and do the wine trial.


Girls Nite Out...

5 sur septembre 14, 2009

This past weekend a few of my girl friends and I stayed at Davie School Inn and we had a blast!! THis was my 2nd time being there but a first for everyone else. The owners Gary and Andrea Dahmer are so nice and very accomedating doing what they can to make a persons stay the most pleasant they can. We have decided that we want to make our girls nite out a monthly thing and the Dahmer's establishment has helped us to make that decision!!!! For those who are looking for a pleasant get away whether it be for 2 or as our group was 6, it wil be worth them checking out Davie School Inn!!!!!


A great place to stay and visit

5 sur septembre 14, 2009

Gary and Andrea could not have been any more accomodating. Any information on the area they had was given freely and they also had printed literature.The food was great, and served on time, the rooms very clean and neat. We would like to return and stay there again, and have recommended it to several of our friends


Great Get-A-Way

5 sur septembre 10, 2009

This was my second stay at the Davie School Inn and it was just as fabulous this time as it was the last, if not better. Gary and Andrea are wonderful Inn keepers and will do anything they can to make your stay a wonderful experience. Make sure you get the breakfast, it is well worth the trip there. Breakfast is served in your room and consists of a wide variety of tasy homemade recipes. The best part of the breakfast is that you decide when you want to eat, rather than being given an assigned time. I highly reccomend the Davie School Inn if you are ever in the area!


Davie School Inn-Great Girl's Getaway!

4,8 sur août 04, 2009

HUGE Rooms, Great hospitality, Nice location. The hosts can arrange massages, manicures, limo tour of local wineries, and even help you order a great pizza. If there's something else you need, just ask. Paninis are highly recommended for breakfast.


TheWright Gang Girls Retreat

5 sur août 01, 2009

The 5 of us girls stayed in the Green Suite. It was beautiful and had everything we wanted. The owners set up in room spa service for us which I highly recommend. It is very close to the wine trail and we plan on coming back again. Gary does an awesome job with the food and Krogers would miss him if he didn't come every night to make the food fresh every morning. If you want time to just get away in a quiet and friendly place- THIS IS IT!


Fabulous stay for everyone!

5 sur juin 23, 2009

I am a repeat customer of the Davie School Inn. It is so charming and you feel you are a part of a family. Gary and Andrea do a great job of making you feel at home and welcome. I have been with family and friends on seperate occations and have enjoyed the experience emmencely. I would reccomend this Inn for anyone!


Davie School Inn Review

5 sur juin 07, 2009

Our family of five stayed at the Davie School Inn in the green suite. It was wonderful! The room had everything our family needed and it was so nice staying in a place that had a couch and a dining table. The owner could not have been nicer and our breakfast was so good! Our 6 year old asked if we could live there. We would definately stay here again!


Fantastic B&B

5 sur juin 05, 2009

I recently stayed at the school with a small group of friends. This is our favorite place to stay while visiting the wine trail or the great parks in the area. Gary and Andrea are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts are fantastic!


Unique B&B

5 sur mai 31, 2009

A fantastic B&B to say the least. The breakfast and service was great! I will--without doubt--return to The Davie School Inn for a wonderful and relaxing stay.


More than we expected!

5 sur avril 28, 2009

Girlfriend Getaway,,, we reserved the location because of the close proximity to the wine trail... and because it allowed 5 in a room. We were not expecting much... but were pleasantly suprised to find comfortable beds, spacious accomodations as well as a friendly ownership staff! Gary... breakfast is amazing... and fresh... and delicious every morning. We were so impressed that this is the only place we will stay on our trips back to Illinois wine country! Thank you Gary & Andrea for making our mini reunion very, very cool! Melissa, Paula, Cindy, Kristi & Shannon!


Girls weekend

5 sur avril 22, 2009

A group of 6 to 10 of us girls come to the inn and attend the wine and art festival. Gary, Andrea and the kids are GREAT. We have a very relaxing weekend with lots of pampering. My husband loves the great mood I am in when I return.


Unique and relaxing

5 sur avril 19, 2009

Wonderful "girlfriend retreat" and the breakfasts are yummy. Just ask for Manual !


As long as you're not afraid to be in the classroom again . . .

4,2 sur avril 09, 2009

Unlike a lot of other B+B's converted from school buildings, this one stays close to its origins - an evocative trip back in time. Rooms are insanely spacious and hosts are most accommodating - breakfast in the room a special touch. Exceptional value!


Black room Excellence

4,6 sur mars 02, 2009

We were greeted by Gary, cooked for by Gary, checked out by Gary - wonderful host; we LOVED the Black Room! We loved the drive from Waterloo to Anna - beautiful scenery, and enjoyed the Blue Sky Winery - all made for a perfect weekend! We'll be back!!


historic charm

4,6 sur février 20, 2009

This renovated school is so cool- Mike walked down memory lane, and we loved the coziness. The beds are huge, tall, and super comfy. Great historic B&B!


Excellent experience!!

5 sur février 10, 2009

This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast. What an experience!! I never imagined that breakfast would be served in my room at the time that I wanted and what I wanted. It was delicious!! Hats off to Gary. The room was very spacious with all the extras and very clean. And the Jacuzzi was fantabulous!!! I can't say enough about my stay except I will tell all my friends that they shouldn't miss out on this one.


Wonderful stay

4,6 sur février 09, 2009

We had a wonderful time at this property. The owner provided us with ample information on the surrounding area and made us feel right at home. The room was HUGE and well appointed. The reason I give cleanliness 3 stars is because the jacuzzi jets shot brown pieces into the bath, but otherwise the room was very clean. Stay here for a great value for your money!


Wonderful Experience

4,4 sur septembre 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Davie School Inn for our 3rd anniversary. We are both teachers, and were quite intrigued by the idea of a B&B in an old school. We were definitely pleased with our experience. Everything about this place is unique, from the rooms to the innkeeper. The rooms are very spacious and extremely clean. We live in an old house, and know how hard it can be to keep in clean. My wife noticed that the bottom of her socks never got dirty. Pretty amazing. The innkeeper is extremely friendly and knowledgable of all things in the area. Ask him questions, and then follow his advice. We did not eat breakfast at the Inn, and the innkeeper gave us recommendations on where to get a light breakfast. We look forward to returning to the School to try out another suite and continue to explore Southern IL.


Beautiful respite in Anna, IL

5 sur septembre 04, 2008

We were part of a 3-couple tour of the Wine Trail. From the moment we stepped in the front doors we were, "WOW'd." The rooms are large, with ceilings up to...'there.' Beautifully decorated for the period. Nicely equipped MODERN bathrooms with plugs/lighting in all the right places. Gary was the ultimate host--his whole family was more than gracious. We enjoyed our 2-night stay very much and hope to return soon.


One of a Kind Experience

4,8 sur août 25, 2008

This was a fantastic experience. The rooms are huge and very well equipped. Our hosts were helpful before and throughout our visit. Gary gave us a tour and explained the history of the school, his efforts to date, and his plans for the rest of the building. Quite a visionary. The location was perfect for our wine tour activities. A local restaurant (Brickhouse) within 2 blocks was also amazing. We dine out a lot and this was very well prepared, lots of variety, reasonably priced and they gracefully accomodated all our menu change requests. Speaking of food, Gary asked us what we wanted, made suggestions and then overwhelmed with his both the quality and quantity of food he served. We'll be back and hope to spend more time enjoying this great inn and the surrounding area.


First Class anniversary

5 sur août 04, 2008

This is our second year in a row to stay at the Davie School Inn. We really enjoy the Inn. We love the history of the school and Gary, the host, will give you a tour and details of the school. The Purple room is one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in and the breakfast is wonderful. I would recommend this Inn to anyone who is staying in the area.


Davie School Inn

5 sur juillet 28, 2008

We loved the decor of the rooms, the amazing breakfast that Gary made, and everything in between. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!


Davie School Inn

4,4 sur juillet 21, 2008

We really enjoyed our room. Very restful! Very clean, very large very private.


the Brown room

4,4 sur juillet 20, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night, the breakfast,and meeting Gary, the innkeeper. He shared some of the details of fixing up the old school, and took us into some of the new rooms. It was a great experience in Southern Illinois.


We loved it!

5 sur juillet 18, 2008

10 gal pals stayed at the Daivie School Inn for a weekend of scrapbooking and we loved it! The suites are spacious, the bathrooms are very large & clean, breakfasts were homecooked, heavenly, & we can't wait to go back! Gary is a great cook: scrambled eggs, banana blueberry bread, bacon, pancakes, biscuits & gravy......it was all delicious! The school has been beautifully converted and you can tell that Gary & Andrea are doing things the right way......keeping things as historically accurate and as original as they can, but with modern conveniences that everyone can enjoy! We highly recommend a stay- for a family getaway, as a girlfriends' weekend, or as a couple's retreat! And did we mention how close they are to the wineries?!


Home Away From Home!

3,8 sur juillet 14, 2008

The delicious Breakfast is all you want and more. And I like the spacious open room - still with the old home & school atmosphere. Then, there's the jet tub that takes the edge off a busy day...Added features would be wine trailing and a beautiful pool & park in your backyard...


Great Place for groups!!

5 sur mai 17, 2008

You walk in and it is just so spacious!! We had 4 Suites on the 1st floor and it was just like home!! We were all together and could go room to room and there was plenty of space to gather. Breakfast was served on the landing and we all sat around a big table and ate like Kings and Queens. We rented the bus for the wine trail and had a great time!


very unique

5 sur septembre 24, 2007

This building was once a school. How cool to stay in a real classroom complete with slate chalkboards and beautiful full windows. Our bed was heavenly and the antiques and quilts were amazing.


The Best I have ever been to.

5 sur avril 20, 2007

Gary was a great host. He brought breakfast to our suite when we wanted it. The suite was huge and the bed was a king. We visted the Wine trail and had a great time.


unique b&b

5 sur mars 25, 2007

This is not the most elegant B&B I've ever stayed at but it was definately one of the most comfortable. This is not the usual small bedroom and tiny sitting area that you normally get, it is as big as any studio/efficiency apt. I have ever seen, I would highly recommend it. We did not sample the breakfast but the aroma's in the hall where heavenly.


The Davie School Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $125 - $285
  • Avis (91) 4,9
  • Chambres 11
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6188332377
  • Portable 1-6186140779
Haut