Victorian Rose Garden Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
127 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Elegant Charming Get Away

4,8 sur février 04, 2014

One of the best B&B's we've enjoyed. It has everything you'd expect and more. So peaceful and quiet with a bunch of pampering added made for a much- needed night away. Outstanding breakfast and snacks as well.


Perfect!

5 sur février 02, 2014

My stay at Victorian Rose Garden provided the perfect complement to a next day professional workshop. It turned a business trip into a retreat! I highly recommend the Victorian Rose Garden.


This B&B Wraps You Up in Warmth and Comfort

5 sur janvier 31, 2014

Our second time at this B&B - tucked away in my hometown. Close enough to the freeway as well as to every shop you can imagine PLUS cozy upped against the cutest little Algonquin downtown. Stayed here this time because of a death in the family - unexpected, my little sister. SO needed a little TLC, and Sherri and CarolAnn were at the ready - as was the old Victorian itself. Great conversation and yummy eats! THANK YOU AGAIN for a great, great stay!


Wanted to stay on to experience more good cooking.

5 sur janvier 15, 2014

Charming home and town. Easily accessible to greater Chicago Area. Hostess was available but allowed for my privacy. I'll be back!


A relaxing getaway

4,6 sur décembre 31, 2013

The B&B is spotless The room has a nice bed and we sure slept soundly. The breakfast was fresh fruit w berries,, the best scones ever, and sausage w french toast topped with apples. Shower only and small sink with little countertop is the only inconvenience. I would stay here again. It is like stepping back 100 years.


A very good place to stay

4,6 sur décembre 03, 2013

Service was outstanding. Coffee or tea or both outside our door when you get ready to start the day. Every effort was made to make us feel welcome.


Our Stay at the Victorian Rose...

5 sur novembre 06, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Victorian Rose... We stayed in the Presidential Suite...very elegant, charming and nostalgic. I felt like a movie star as I got ready at the fancy vanity that was in the room. So many restaurants near by within walking distance, you can't go wrong. Breakfast was lovely at an elegant dining table with fancy stemware & tea cups...very Victorian and it made you feel like you were 'Somewhere in Time' - just like the movie...I highly recommend it for anyone...it's truly a wonderful escape back in time...


"Outstanding" in all categories

5 sur octobre 28, 2013

We were in Algonquin to attend a memorial service for a family member. At this sad time it was comforting to spend the night in this homey and peaceful place. The house is just lovely and our room was quiet and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed talking with our fellow guests for a few minutes.


Beautiful B&B

5 sur octobre 21, 2013

Stayed three nights in this beautiful B&B. Hospitality was over the top as were the room and the meals.


Beautiful home

3,4 sur octobre 10, 2013

This was a weekend away from "city life" for us. While the setting was relaxing, and the house lovely, my husband and I are used to a king-sized bed at home, and the double or queen in the room left us not sleeping well at all. This is not the B&B's fault, but just something that effected our stay. We were also reminded quite frequently that we were not in the city any more. The house had some sort of Biblical verse framed or embroidered in about every room. What was really disconcerting, however, was a personal postcard on their refrigerator that showed a family stocking a car with supplies, including rifles, and the text read "Preparing for the Opocolypse"--the "O" being the Obama campaign logo. I understand this was not just a business, but their home; but, it was very off-putting and made this former Obama campaign worker feel very unwelcome. In a setting such as a B&B, there is a lot of chatting with the innkeepers, if you're around the house. This conservative sentiment came out during conversation a couple of times, with the chef saying to us that "no one is more discriminated against more than the white middle-aged man." I do understand, again, that this is their home and their private business. But as liberal city folk, we did feel pretty uncomfortable at times during our stay. Lastly, it's a very quiet setting, with rooms close together. So if you're there for a romantic weekend you may feel... uh, stifled? The home was lovely though, and aside from our obvious differences, the two ladies who ran the operation were very sweet.


Enjoyable Stay!

4,6 sur octobre 07, 2013

We were on the down side of a whirlwind weekend in Chicago and our stay at the Victorian Rose Garden became one of the highlights. Our host Sherry was most gracious and we enjoyed the conversation at breakfast. We will be considering another stay in the future. A welcoming and comfortable stay.


Anniversary stay

4,6 sur septembre 22, 2013

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and the hosts were very welcoming. We will gladly recommend this location to friends and family.


Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary there

4,8 sur septembre 05, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful last minute get away to celebrate our 25th anniversary at Victorian Rose Garden. The innkeeper, Sherry, and her staff made us feel at home. The inn itself is a lovely home with lots of indoor and outdoor places for quiet time or just soaking in the beauty of the garden. After comparing to many B & B's in the city, Victorian Rose was great value.


Biking Trip

5 sur août 09, 2013

Wonderful and relaxing stay!! Very Friendly people and an excellent breakfast was served!!


Excellent B&B

5 sur août 08, 2013

Found our experience to be comforting and welcoming! We will definitely be staying here again!


Great place and friendly owner

4,6 sur juillet 28, 2013

This was a last minute stay and Sherry was very friendly. The home was cozy and the yard beautiful and there was much to do if we had been able to stay and enjoy the downtown. Will stay here again.


Fabulous Stay!

5 sur juillet 11, 2013

I don't know how hotels in small towns compete with a place like this. Sherry & Caroline are like wonderful friends you haven't met yet. Both make you feel super welcome and comfortable! The breakfasts are lovely - request the ginger pancakes. The place is so relaxing! The garden is beautiful! Fresh flowers on the dining room table. No detail is left undone - there are fresh baked scones available in the kitchen - wow!


Great B&B Experience

4,6 sur juillet 05, 2013

Nicely maintained Victorian style home with modern features; although some repairs are needed on porch railings. Gardens are lovely and sitting on the back porch was quiet and relaxing. Plenty of parking for guests. Parlor, family room and dinning room were roomy and comfortable for guests to gather and socialize. Breakfast was more than ample and a good start to the day. Lots of restaurants and shopping within a 10 mile radius. We spent two nights here. Inn keeper was a gracious hostess. Our only issue was the shallow stairs leading up to our rooms; it was difficult maneuvering the stairs and carrying a suitcase.


Very comfortable

3,8 sur juin 06, 2013

Convenient to area restaurants, Sharon was a gracious host


Perfect stay while passing thru area

5 sur mai 19, 2013

Bright, roomy Victorian with perfectly attentive hosts.


Home away from home

4,2 sur mai 09, 2013

Friendly, welcoming environment in a great location in a quiet small village.


A home away from home.

5 sur avril 16, 2013

I visit my Grandchildren in Algonquin twice a year and always stay at the Victorian Rose Garden. After giving my all to the children during the day it is so nice to come back to my charming quiet room for a restful evening and good night sleep. Sherry is a wonderful host who is always available to hand off a cup of coffee or tea. I usually eat breakfast with my grandchildren rather than at the B&B which is a huge sacrifice as I walk pass the beautifully layed dining table and smell the delicious breakfast wafting out of the kitchen. I always look forward to my return visit. Janni the Grannie


Excellent B&B

5 sur avril 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 days and it was very relaxing. The rooms was amazing. The innkeeper, Shari, was very good to us. We have stayed previously over the last 10 years and we will continue to go when we need to relax and unwind.


Take a break!

5 sur avril 10, 2013

We've come to the Victorian Rose for several years because we know we will enjoy peace and quiet, along with Sherry's wonderful hospitality. The rooms are cozy, the food is delicious and there's always plenty to do (or not do) for a few days of glorious relaxation. -Chris & Sady


I loved my stay!

5 sur mars 31, 2013

Could not have asked for anything better.


Relaxing B&B

5 sur février 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the Victorian Rose, and the second was just as relaxing as the first. We are already planning a third stay for the spring and or the summer to enjoy the patio......


Perfect!

5 sur février 18, 2013

A clean, cozy and warm room. Friendliest of inkeepers. Best of culinary delights. The stay was simply a wonderful way to relax! We're looking forward to the next time!


Wonderful B&B!

4,8 sur janvier 19, 2013

Sherry and Caroline we incredible hostesses during our stay. The night we stayed at the Rose Garden, we had wonderful conversation and tea with Sherry, while Caroline filed the kitchen with the aroma of freshly baked homemade scones. Our room was perfect and breakfast was delicious! I would definitely recommend a trip to this wonderful B&B.


Sherry is an outstanding hostess

4,0 sur décembre 16, 2012

We recently stayed at the Victorian Rose B & B for our honeymoon night. Sherry was a gracious hostess and made sure we had a wonderful evening. She even let us come and view the place before we made our decision to stay there. Another B & B in the area would not allow us to do that. Thank you Sherry.


Great B & B

4,2 sur novembre 29, 2012

Great people, location, rooms, breakfast was good but not special like some B & Bs weve been too. Overall very good and will go there again.


Lovely place, lovely people

4,6 sur novembre 14, 2012

This place is so peaceful and beautiful! My husband and I just wanted a relaxing, laid-back little weekend getaway, and this fit the bill perfectly. Sherry was out of town, so Carolyn took care of us, and she did a great job. The rooms are cute and comfortable, and it was really fun to wander downstairs, grab a freshly baked cookie from the tray, and read in the great room. Breakfast was delicious—one morning we had croissant french toast smothered in cinnamon apples. It's right downtown so you can walk to a bunch of restaurants and shops, and there's a ton of strip malls/a huge mall just 5 minutes away. This was the perfect balance of elegant, interesting, and laid-back for us. I'd highly recommend it, especially for the amazing value.


Birthday Getaway

4,6 sur septembre 26, 2012

Sherry was a very accomodating innkeeper who immediately made us feel welcome upon our arrival. The room was spacious with a working fireplace, and the bathroom was stocked with plenty of ammenities. Beautiful gardens surround the house and it is perfectly located for a little stroll downtown.


Jul 2012

5 sur septembre 20, 2012

We had never stayed in a B&B before as my wife didn't feel comfortable about doing so. We only spent one night in the area. We may have occasion to return to this area in the future and this will definitely be our choice! A beautiful home, comfortable accomodations, great food, and a wonderful hostess will make your stay one that you will remember.


Outstanding!

4,8 sur septembre 06, 2012

Dear Sherry and Carolyn, Thank you for a great beginning to the 'Great lakes Tour' B & B vacation. Your hospitality was so warm, touching and real. The food was great too. Gingerbread Pancakes? Oh-Yeah!! Thank you too for the 'Rose of Sharon' sprouts. I'm happy to report they survived the trip and are beginning their new lives in MN. May God bless you both with peace, love and joy. Susan, Barbara, Donna and Connie


You'll be glad you went!

4,2 sur août 27, 2012

The Presidential Suite is worth the money. Breakfast has service, quality, and ambiance. You'll adore the innkeepers and want to stay multiple nights (depending on your interest in the area). Highly recommended!


Wonderful Experience

5 sur août 20, 2012

I stayed 8/15/12 and it was a wonderful expereince. The B&B is lovely. The room was extremely cleaned and the bed was comfortable. The innkeeper, Sherry and her assistant, Caroline, were a delight and a pleasure. They made you very welcomed and comfortable. I hope to return and be able to stay longer. I highly reccommend this B&B.


Great B&B Stay

4,4 sur juillet 25, 2012

Our stay at the Victorian Rose Garden was a pleasant experience. The proprietor and assistant were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast meals were very good.


A Great Getaway

5 sur juillet 16, 2012

The Vicorian Rose Garden was our first venture outside California Wine Country. We were very impressed by the lovely historic home and the equally lovely innkeeper (Sherry) and assistant (Carolyn). The breakfasts were "wine country" excellent, and Sherry and Carolyn couldn't have nicer company. It was a delightful family-style visit and we'll be back.


The innkeeper and cook are fantastic company!

5 sur juillet 05, 2012

Sherry (the innkeeper) and Carolyn (the cook) were very accomodating, hospitable, genuine ladies who made conversation easily about anything. It was like staying with spinster aunts we hadn't seen in years. We had alot of laughs, and our stay was completely relaxed. The food was excellent, and the inn had some of the finest restoration woodwork we'd ever seen. We definitely recommend this place!


A lovely place in the Illinois countryside

4,2 sur juillet 01, 2012

The location isn't that exciting, but it was a great place to relax and stay after meeting for an arrival from O'hare. Very gracious hosts, quite lovely breakfast, and (for the night/morning we stayed) an interesting, international and eclectic group at the inn. I recommend it.


A GREAT EXPERIENCE

5 sur juin 19, 2012

Delightful in every way. The hospitality was overwhelming, the breakfast was scrumptious, and the accommodations ever so comfortable and unique. I highly recommend Victorian Rose Garden.


Our first Bed and Breakfast experience

5 sur mai 02, 2012

Couldn't have been better. Sherry met us at the door and took care of us all the way thru! Room was so spacious and we felt like we were back in time. Breakfast was wonderful and we enjoyed visiting with Sherry and all the other guests. The visit was over too soon!


Can't wait to return!

5 sur mai 01, 2012

My room was amazing. I stayed in the Presidential Suite and it was fantastic. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the fireplace was warm and inviting. I had never stayed at a B&B before, but Sherry made me feel right at home. The breakfast was delicious and filling. I had a great time, and would definitely stay again if I was in the area.


best anniversary spot

4,0 sur avril 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I had never been to a bed and breakfast before. The owner made us feel welcome amd made our stay one we will never forget.


Wonderful and relaxing stay

4,4 sur mars 06, 2012

We visited Victorian Rose Garden nn to celebrate my birthday. We had a lovey time. The hosts were gracious and welcoming. The room was very pretty and clean. The food was great. We would love to visit again.


A pleasant home away from home feeling

3,4 sur février 29, 2012

I enjoyed my stay and intend to return and make this my "Chicago home" as I visit with friends in the Chicago area. Perfect out-of-the-city location...great walking opportunities to restaurants and the spa! Close to trails and the river. Sherry is a fabulous breakfast cook and company. And, she is extremely helpful and service-oriented. Offering tea and goodies late in the day. The TVs in every room was not necessarily expected, but came in handy for some relaxing time. Theresa's Room was perfect for my stay...with enough room to move around yet cozy and comfortable. The bed/bedding is terrific, too. I have nothing negative to say.


Overnight Getaway

4,2 sur janvier 27, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Victorian Rose Garden. Very nice BnB that is within walking distance to shops and the river. Definitely would consider again for a relaxing get-away.


Christmas

4,0 sur janvier 14, 2012

The stay was like visiting a new place and staying in our own home, but with none of the responsibilities of maintaining our home. It was a restful, comfortable and pampering experience.


Wish we could have stayed longer!

5 sur décembre 28, 2011

This B&B was meticulously decorated for the holiday season. From the moment we walked in, we felt as if we had stepped back in time to the days of Victorian parlor rooms, piano sing-alongs, and "It's a Wonderful Life." Sherry the owner and Carol Lynn her associate could not have been more welcoming. We loved the conversations and the yummy breakfasts. And our room was incredibly inviting, the bed so comfortable! We will return for certain.


quiet and comfortable

4,2 sur octobre 22, 2011

quiet and comfortable. Excellent service, very accommodating to your needs. In walking distance to nice restaurants, parks and a creek behind the house.


Feel safe

5 sur octobre 19, 2011

Traveling alone, I want to feel safe. At the Victorian Rose Garden, it's like being home. Miss Sherry is a wonderful hostess. Her meals are delicious and she makes each guest feel so welcome. I especially enjoy meeting the other guests at breakfast.


A home away from home

4,8 sur octobre 17, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Bed & Breakfast's before but none like this. From the moment we were welcomed in and with the home atmosphere all around was something beyond words. It was almost like going to visit your grandparents when you were growing up. There is no doubt in my mind that I will when possible make plans to stay there again.


Wonderful host, wonderful house

5 sur octobre 12, 2011

I am not normally the B&B type, and when my boss got us rooms here for a business trip I was a little skeptical, but the experience was outstanding! First class all the way, I would certainly visit again if I was in the area.


Splendid Stay

5 sur octobre 02, 2011

We found the Victorian Rose Garden a beautiful place and our rooms were wonderful. So, too, was our breakfast. There is no doubt that if we were to be in the area again, we would repeat our visit.


Lovely stay.

4,4 sur septembre 20, 2011

Stayed the night in the Presidential Chamber. Lovely room with wonderful historic details. King size bed was very comfortable. Unique bathroom arrangement. Wonderful breakfast in the morning. Sherry, the owner, is a very pleasant and considerate hostess. We were celebrating our anniversary and Sherry supplied several little touches that gave it a special stay. Walking distance to Port Edward restaurant, which is always a great place to eat and spend the evening.


Pleasantly surprised

5 sur juillet 31, 2011

Awesome bed and breakfast! The Innkeeper, Sherry, was phenomenol to say the least, she made us feel at home during our stay. I would definitely stay there again.


A B & B Beauty

4,6 sur juillet 28, 2011

Off a quiet street in downtownn Algonquin, the Victorian Rose Garden is a lovely, quiet B & B that's perfect for a quiet get-a-way. Just off the Fox River and the terrific Fox River Trail Bike route, it'r run by a very friendly, accomodating hostess. The room's are a great value compared to your normal hotel stays, but have the feeling of a friend's comfortable, welcoming house. We've been there before and will return.


Delightful Getaway

4,6 sur juillet 26, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 22nd anniversary at the Victorian Rose Garden B&B. What a delightful getaway destination. The innkeeper, Sherry, was both friendly and courteous. She made us feel right at home. The room was clean, bright and tastefully decorated. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning, including seasonal fruit, scones, followed by hot cakes, sausage, coffee and juice. A great place and not to far from home!


Delightful B&B

4,6 sur juillet 18, 2011

This B&B was a very relaxing and enjoyable place to get away for the night. We loved the close proximity to the bike trail, the massage boutique and the seafood restaurant. Sherry was such a great hostess and gave us all of the help we needed to make our stay the best possible. We had such a wonderful time talking with her and I know we will be friends from here on!


Thank you so very much Sherry!

5 sur juillet 13, 2011

We had a severe storm and no power for three days. We found this gem and the innkeeper was so accommodating. My husband could check in very early for a business meeting online in our beautiful room. Meanwhile, I could relax on the back porch with a cold drink after a hot shower. The charm, history, beauty, but most of all, hospitality, were second to none. I made myself right at home and felt like it was my home. A great reprieve during a difficult time. Will be back again. Don't miss this great Inn. They also do off site events.


Wonderful Stay

4,0 sur juin 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed there one night for our 7th wedding anniversary...Not only is it welcoming and peaceful the service is wonderful and the morning after breakfast was great. Rooms are clean and if you need anything Sherri is there. Highly recommended.


An Oasis!

5 sur juin 08, 2011

After a long day of soulless turnpikes & service plazas, we checked into the Victorian Rose Garden with a huge sigh of relief. The B&B was quiet, charming, & delightful. Proprietors were friendly & personable, the room was large, comfortable, & well-appointed, breakfast was huge, delicious, & cooked to order. There's even a great cat. Had a wonderful meal the evening we arrived at the Italian bistro around the corner. A VERY nice place to stay.


Adorable Inn

3,8 sur avril 17, 2011

We just stayed with Sherry and even brought our 2 year old son. Sherry was delightful and the inn was very relaxing. She had a lovely breakfast and treats in the afternoon. Our son enjoyed the time there she even had toys for him and a pack and play and booster seat. We relaxed in the living room and had a great time.


Overnight Getaway

5 sur mars 23, 2011

Owner has cat and should make that known up front (on website) People allergic to cats can have severe reactions even if the cat is not upstairs near the bedrooms. The cat is present during breakfast. Dander is carried throughoiut the house no matter how clean it is kept. While I enjoyed my stay, I am now dealing with allergic reactions. I would not have chosen this place if I had known a cat resided there.

Réponse du propriétaire
I am so sorry that our guest had a reaction to Boogey Boy. Although our website does mention our kitty on the Rooms & Rates page of Victorian Rose Garden's website, we will also mention him on the redesign of our homepage.


Great place!

5 sur janvier 03, 2011

My mother and I visited the Victorian Rose Garden for a relaxing getaway, and we had just that. This was our first visit to any B&B and we're hooked! Sherry was delightful and made us feel so very welcome during our stay. Her home is absolutely beautiful and very well taken care of. The rooms were clean and the service was incredible. Breakfast was delicious and Sherry was very accommodating. If you should ever have the opportunity to thumb through her guest books in one of the adorable guest rooms, you'll read hundreds of similar experiences. We also spent a little time dining in the "downtown" area and were extremely satisfied with the restaurant options. It was so convenient to be within walking distance to Cucina Bella, Cafe Firefly, and several others. Needless to say, we'll definitely be returning!


A Relaxing Time

5 sur décembre 20, 2010

My husband and I like to get away to do our Christmas cards if we can so that we are not distracted at home. The Victorian Rose Garden was a perfect place for us to enjoy a time to relax as well as to accomplish getting our Christmas cards ready. We slept well and were well cared for by the innkeeper.


recent stay for two nights

4,6 sur décembre 14, 2010

Sherry is a very personable innkeeper and goes out of her way to make people welcome and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay and would return again. Peter and Darlene Walberg


Gracious host and a lovely stay

4,2 sur décembre 09, 2010

We selected this B&B based on its prior positive reviews and its proximity to family (which we needed some mature distance from during the holidays!) We were tucked in to one of the smaller rooms on the upper level, but for two it was comfortable and cozy for a 2-night stay. Our innkeep was very kind and a good hostess; I'd contracted a terrible cold during our traveling and asked to borrow a downstairs bathtub for a bath (our room did not come with a bath and I knew that when I made the reservation). Our hostess did everything she could to make sure we were comfortable and welcome, and we enjoyed the feline company too. We are sorry to hear that soon this hostess will be leaving the business, but hopefully her replacement will be just as gracious, comforting, polite and kind as her (or his) predecessor. Our breakfast was good and what I had expected - eggs, meat, fruit, juice, toast and coffee, nothing lavish, but a lovely presentation and no hovering around the table (I hate hovering). All in all, a good alternative to faceless hotel rooms and much better than a wretched motel, and an excellent value for the money. Next time, a walk around the historic house districts and a more thorough exploration of the historic house jewels of Illinois and Wisconsin!

Réponse du propriétaire
The GOOD NEWS is that Victorian Rose Garden is no longer for sale. I am happy to add that I have plans to continue on as innkeeper for a long time, Lord willing.


Delightful!

5 sur octobre 27, 2010

Enjoyed every aspect of our stay at the Victorian Rose Garden B&B. Sherry is an outstanding individual!


Charming perfection

5 sur octobre 13, 2010

I have never stayed at the Victorian Rose Garden but when I host business meetings I have my department personnel stay there. Sherry even opened up the dining table so we could have our meetings there. Everyone has raved about the charm, the food (fantastic!), the service, everything. So when I have friends or family in from out of town and they overflow my house, the Victorian Rose Garden is the first place that comes to mind. My guests (and I) really appreciate Sherry's hospitality - its just like being at home!


A welcoming place to stay

5 sur octobre 12, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at Victorian Rose Garden B&B. It is a welcoming home and Sherry is wonderful. It is immaculate and the attention to detail is amazing. Any time we are in the area, we will stay at Victorian Rose Garden B&B. We appreciate the effort Sherry puts forth for her guests!


Perfect place to stay when visiting Chicago area

5 sur octobre 12, 2010

Two couples stayed there the beginning of October 2010 for two days and found the B&B delightful. Walking distance to great restaurants in downtown Algonquin and a short drive to a rail station to go downtown Chicago. Sherry is a great hostess and is delightful to visit with. The breakfasts were very good. This B&B is a historical landmark and has beautiful woodwork.


Victorian Rose Garden B&B Blooms With Ambiance

4,0 sur septembre 09, 2010

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at the Victorian Rose Garden. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Ms. Brewer, the inn's owner served us delicious breakfasts during our stay. The inn is clean, with sun streaming into the entire home throughout the day. We took advantage of the nearby bike/hike trails. It was walking distance from the B&B.


High Quality Experience

5 sur août 05, 2010

We had a relaxing time at the B&B. The atmosphere was friendly and comfortable. The food was delicious. Last but not least, Sherri, the innkeeper, was beyond hospitable.


A very nice room and a great innkeeper

5 sur juillet 07, 2010

This was our second visit, and it was as good as the first. A nice, comfortable room in a unique home, with an excellent innkeeper.


Little Gem in Illinois

4,4 sur juillet 05, 2010

What sets this little gem apart from many other B & B' is the care and service that is evident in everything that's done. Just a few blocks from the Fox River, a great bike trail that's a comfortable easy ride and a very nice town filled with some terrific restaurants, the Victorian Rose Garden is a lovely place to spend a weekend away from home, that adds the extra incentive of being a great value - why would anyone want to spend a night in a hotel?


Excellent

5 sur juin 01, 2010

I loved it. Sherri was an excellent host and made us feel well cared for. Thank you! Kim


Perfectly relaxed and elegant

5 sur février 08, 2010

Our stay was absolutely perfect, the house was beautiful, the innkeeper friendly, and the food delicious. We recommend!


Wonderful Getaway

5 sur février 08, 2010

The B&B was everything we expected, plus. Such a perfect setting. We returned home relaxed and looking forward to our next outing. Our innkeeper was so friendly and over breakfast just great.


Elegant, Polite and Cozy

5 sur février 01, 2010

Sherri, the innkeeper, did a wonderful job. The room was perfect, she lit the fireplace for us, it was topped only by the croissant French toast and fresh scones for breakfast.


Review

5 sur décembre 10, 2009

Stay was lovely, comfortable, hospitable. Algonquin was a quiet geatawway. Excellent accomodations and food. Thanks.


Comfort & fun

5 sur novembre 06, 2009

We were made to feel right at home even when we called the day before we arrived to say we'd be gettign there late. Bedroom & common rooms are comfortable as well as beautiful. Food delicious & beautifully presented. A great time all around.


Anniversary stay

5 sur novembre 03, 2009

This was a wonderful way to spend a quiet, intimate everning! The hostess and home were welcoming and gracious. Food was delicious. Even found pleasure talking/visiting with the other guests! We would love to return!


Lovely

5 sur octobre 17, 2009

We stayed in the Presidential Chamber. It was lovely. Our substitute host Joe was charming and helpful. Would definitely come again.


B&B Algonquin

4,0 sur septembre 01, 2009

Nice restful accommodations in an attractive Victorian. Gracious hostess was very attentive and prepared full breakfasts. Convenient to downtown shops and restaurants.


The absolute BEST B&B!

5 sur août 31, 2009

Every aspect of our 10th anniversary was perfect because of the attention to detail that Sherry gave. From the fresh blueberries at breakfast to the scented bubble bath next to the clawfoot tub, I felt pampered as if I was a bride on her wedding night :) Our room was immaculately clean and picture perfect. I am picky about cleanliness and I wish she could come clean my home!! We enjoyed reading the book on the dresser where previous guests had written notes of their stay here, and then added one of our own. The food was so delicous, and the atmosphere around the table at breakfast was warm and inviting. The conversation with Sherry and the other guests was enjoyable. The beauty of this B&B is in the heart of the innkeeper. Sherry reflects this throughout the entire home, and in her genuine love of her work. We will be back many more times!


definitely recommend!

4,8 sur août 10, 2009

The owner went out of her way, at an inconvenience to herself, to have the date work for us. She was kind, friendly, available, and helpful. the food was delicious and the room superb. She had thought of everything.


Return visit

5 sur juillet 20, 2009

We first stayed at Victorian Rose Garden several years ago when we celebrated my husband's birthday with a package of an overnight stay at the Presidential Suite and dinner at Port Edward Seafood Restaurant. Sherry made the dinner reservations. This month was our 4th stay at Victorian Rose Garden for my husband's birthday. It has become a tradition. The presidential suite is luxurious and Sherry is a wonderful host. Our visit has become something we look forward to each year.


SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY

5 sur juillet 19, 2009

Our 2 night stay here was simply wonderful. The owner was so accomodating and hospitable. She had everything that we needed. Great food and beautiful room. Very quiet and relaxing. I have recommended it to others and we will definately stay here again when we are in the area.


great!

5 sur juin 18, 2009

Everything was wonderful! The hostess is fantastic, very comfortable and welcoming home. My only regret was that I could not stay longer!


Wonderful B&B

5 sur mai 25, 2009

This was our 2nd visit, and we will be returning. Our stay was wonderful! Very relaxing.


great!!

5 sur mai 20, 2009

Very very excellent!! Exceeded all expectations!


Victorian Rose Garden Retreat

5 sur avril 27, 2009

I've spent two lovely weekend at the Victorian Rose Garden Bed and Breakfast. Sherry has a wonderful inn. The rooms are quiet and cozy. The breakfasts are delicious and Boogie Boy (the resident kitty) is a sweetie. I would highly recommend the inn.


Relaxing weekend

5 sur avril 09, 2009

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for the weekend. We were looking for a spot not too far from Chicago but far enough that we felt like we were on vacation. We stumbled upon the Victorian Rose Garden B & B online and liked what we read. The stay was extremely relaxing and private. Sherry, the owner, was extrememly hospitable and very accommodating. She offered many suggestions of what to do in the area. The first thing that got our attention was the price. For $99, you could stay in one of the smaller rooms (we stayed in Lady Teresa's room). Great price and warm amenities.


A wonderful visit, thanks to our gracious host!

5 sur mars 19, 2009

My mom and I had a lovely first experience at a B&B with Sherry at the Victorian Rose Garden. The food was delicious, the accommodations beautiful and clean. The loveliest part was the kindness and warmth of our host, Sherry!


very personable innkeepers

4,6 sur mars 03, 2009

Immaculate facility, quiet location, good value for money.


A relaxing anniversary getaway

5 sur février 09, 2009

We celebrated our anniversary with an overnight stay. It was very comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed the fireplace in the room. We enjoyed our stay so much, we hope to come back again. Thanks, Sherry!


silent night

5 sur janvier 14, 2009

The Victorian Rose was the perfect place for my husband and I with our two daughters to relax after a busy Christmas. It was warm and welcoming and our hostess made us feel like it was our own home. Went back to work on Monday totally ready to start a new year!


A B&B worth your time and the price is right!

4,8 sur décembre 09, 2008

This was my 8th B&B, and I would rank it in the top 2! Sherry was a most gracious hostess. Her home was beautiful, warm, adn inviting. Five stars!


relaxing

3,2 sur octobre 31, 2008

very relaxing. beautiful, warm atmosphere. service was exceptional!


A Quiet, Comfortable Getaway

5 sur octobre 13, 2008

We were needing a rest and found the Victorian Rose Garden to be a lovely place on a quiet dead-end street. The hostess was a friendly, gracious lady. We stayed 2 nights in the Miss Africa room which was very quiet and had a very comfortable bed. The food was excellent both mornings. We enjoyed being able to walk along Crystal Creek which was located behind the Inn and also walked at the Fox River which was a few blocks away. We would highly recommend this bed & breakfast.


A fond memory

4,0 sur septembre 30, 2008

This pleasant peaceful b&b reflects the personality of it's unassuming, pleasant hostess.


GREAT PLACE TO LODGE AND RELAX

4,6 sur septembre 25, 2008

This is a wounderful bed and breakfast. Sherry is a great host.The house is lovely and very sound. I loved every secound of being their. I stayed with her for two nights. sherry is very accomodating. I would love to go back! I truely wasnt ready to leave yet. Thanks Sherry for all your care. God bless, Teresa L.


Beautiful B&B...

4,0 sur septembre 15, 2008

A perfect host and family feel stay. Highly recommended. Connie and I enjoyed our stay and it was 1st class. Thank you Sherry!


" A Sweet Stay "

4,2 sur août 05, 2008

Our group of 5 girlfriends were greeted and wonderfully welcomed throughout our 48 hour stay. Shery Brewer was so gracious and accomodating to us as we scrapbooked. She even provided a luncheon tea during our time. 2 thumbs up!


Comfy & Pleasant

4,0 sur juillet 15, 2008

We enjoyed the Presidential Suite and Sherry's warm hospitality. She is a sweet, accommodating hostess!


A Peaceful Retreat

5 sur juillet 06, 2008

I've have the privilege to stay at the Victorian Rose Garden Inn the past two Septembers. Sherry is a gracious hostess & excellent cook. The warmth of her Victorian home made me, as a single female traveller, feel welcome and safe. I stayed in Lady Theresa's Room. It was beautifully decorated, but with a modern bath including all amenities. I would recommend couples & singles visit and some time unwinding from everyday stress. Thank you Sherry for sharing your home with guests.


A Perfect "Rose"

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2008

When my three daughters and I were looking for a place for a "girls getaway" we happened upon the Victorian Rose Garden. What a gem! The quiet location, the charming rooms and delicious food and of course the effervescent inn-keeper made our trip one we will always remember. We made the Inn our home while visiting many nearby attractions and it was a quiet respite after a hectic day of shopping or sightseeing. Our inn-keeper was always available with sightseeing or dining suggestions and seemed genuinely interested in our "adventures"". She was well versed in local history and it was a pleasure just to sit and talk with her. The Inn was furnised with beautiful antiques, the table settings each morning were very beautiful, and the food was excellent. We enjoyed visiting the local shops and restaurants in Algonquin as well as venturing out to nearby attractions. We highly recommend the Victorian Rose Garden.


Delightful, relaxing B7B stay

4,8 sur juin 15, 2008

We very much enjoyed the Victorian Rose Garden and hope to stay there again. The room was bright and comfortable, the hostess friendly and helpful. In spite of being very busy, upon being informed I'd left a few items in the room, she promptly packed them up and sent them. The location is excellent, an easy walk to downtown shops, restaurants, and bike trail.


Wonderful stay

5 sur juin 12, 2008

We stopped here for one night and it was truely wonderful. The room was very comfortable and clean. It was a short walk to stores and some nice restaurants. We had our 19 month old daughter with and she was welcomed and there was even had a small toybox for her to explore.


Respite Time

4,2 sur juin 04, 2008

What was necessary lodging for a family visit became a relaxing, restful weekend. The innkeeper was so very pleasant, helpful and accomodating.


Great B&B

5 sur mai 30, 2008

The Victorian Rose Garden was a fantastic experience-beautiful inn with the most wonderful hostess.


Relaxing get away

4,6 sur mai 27, 2008

Sherry is a delightful hostes, very accomodating. Everyone commented in the morning about the wonderfully comfortable beds! House is lovely, all bedrooms upstairs. Very quiet. Easy walk to the 2 wonderful restaurants we visited. Nice patio to enjoy, weather permitting. Soft music always playing, comfortable sitting room.


Victorian Rose Garden

5 sur janvier 24, 2008

This property is outstanding!


A Special Rose.

5 sur novembre 21, 2007

An excellent choice in the northwest suburbs of chicago. Near many restaurants, shopping, and attractions.


One of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in

5 sur octobre 18, 2007

Victorian Rose Garden was far more than we could have ever asked. The innkeeper was friendly, helpful, and such a good cook! It was like staying in a home, but so much more. Sherry was a grat assistance in helping us find our way to Chicago and letting us know about sights to see!. We too are runners, and I was so impressed with the area we could run in and how accomodating Sherry was with breakfast. Yet, we felt like we had the get-a-way private time we needed. It was such a wonderful experience. While we were there we met many others that were from various backgrounds. It truly is a great get-a-way regardless of where you are coming from. Beautiful, refreshing, and a must if you are in the area!


great place

5 sur octobre 14, 2007

this is the second time we have been and again everything was perfect sherry is the best breakfast was the best


Victorian Rose B&B.

5 sur octobre 08, 2007

This is our third stay at the Victorian Rose B&B. Sherry is wonderful and we feel right at home. We would & have recommended this b&b to friends and family.


OK food to eat, but leave out the Christian messages

3,2 sur août 26, 2007

The Victorian Rose Garden B&B was very clean, and the host was friendly and made us feel welcome. I felt a bit uncomfortable with her bent on "Christianity" as not all people are Christian and I wonder if they would be welcome there.

Réponse du propriétaire
My hope is to provide a quiet, comfortable setting for guests to rest, relax and re-connect. I respect others' personal beliefs and welcome people from all walks of life. Because God is so important to me, I am ready to share His working in my own life, if there is an interest.


A perfect close to home getaway

5 sur juillet 21, 2007

During our recent stay at this B&B, we were delighted to make the acquaintance of innkeeper Sherry. Her home is lovely and comfortable but her gracious hospitality places this B&B far above any other we have visited. The location is ideal and even if you only live 15 minutes away, very worth it to go to a home away from home for rest, relaxation and rejuvenation.


Feeling of Home while travelling on business!

5 sur juillet 11, 2007

I was alone for a week on business and it was wonderful to feel like I had a 'home base' to come back to each evening rather than a generic hotel room. My room was clean and interesting and the bed was extremely comfortable! The porches and garden and adjoining park made me feel like I was on vacation and helped me to unwind each evening. Sherry is extremely kind without being intrusive. I will absolutely stay here when I am in the area again. In fact I've recommended the Victorian Rose Garden to my company for all future lodging while in the Chicago area.


A Great Chicago Getaway

5 sur juillet 01, 2007

Celebrated our 5-year anniversary with a one-night stay. Nice combo/package deal with a great seafood restaurant. One hour from Chicago West/Northwest suburbs. Great spot for a quick getaway from the urban hustle and bustle. Warm & pleasant host with a well-kept site.


Warm and Friendly B&B

4,4 sur juin 12, 2007

Really enjoyed the lovely garden and sitting area outside. Felt like Sherry was a long, lost friend. Very comfortable atmosphere. Great value. Felt right at home!


A peaceful, pleasant respite

5 sur juin 02, 2007

The Victorian Rose Garden offers a tasteful, relaxing, and reasonably priced respite from the stresses of traveling. Sherry strikes an unusual balance between friendliness and unobtrusiveness, both genuinely interested in her guests and attuned to their needs. She went out of her way to accommodate food allergies, which I find rare enough at B & B's that I travel with my own breakfast food, and it was lovely to be able to eat something besides my own granola. Sherry also provided a copious mix of delicious fruit that I welcomed after the many restaurant meals I had eaten on my trip. I've stayed in more than two dozen B & B's in the U.S. and I would rank this as one of the most pleasing in all respects.


A wonderful stay

5 sur mai 16, 2007

We stayed at the Victorian Rose Garden while visiting family. It was clean, quiet, and delightful. The room and bed were most comfortable, and the innkeeper was pleasant and helpful. It is a jewel.


My other home is the Victorian Rose Garden

5 sur mai 02, 2007

We have stayed at the Victorian Rose Garden now some 8+ times in the last 3 years. It is a very special place run by a very special inn-keeper. Sherry is marvelous at making people feel welcome in her beautiful home. The rooms are clean, comfortable, cozy, and well-appointed with period decor. Breakfast is always delicious, no matter what's on the menu. She has two standing house rules: 1) if you don't like it, you don't have to eat it; and 2) no fighting. (For many stays, I missed the point on this one, envisioning some absurd Jackie Chan-style fistfight in the living room - rather than say, marital discord between guests... go figure.) The inn is located just far enough off the main street of Algonquin (to not hear traffic noise), and there are many high quality restaurants within a very short walking distance. The backyard abuts a park with playground, baseball field, and creek. It also is a block from a fabulous bicycle trail that follows the Fox River for dozens of miles. (B-Y-O-Bike because the bike shop on the next block no longer has rentals available.) One day we stopped in at Vern's Taxidermy across from the bike shop and saw how animals are "stuffed" - fascinating! There's a new coffee bar down the block that specializes in after-dinner coffee drinks, good conversation, and board games. For a weekend of relaxation in a beautiful setting, with plenty to see and do, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better B&B. We've made the Victorian Rose our home away from home, and plan to stay there many more times.


Winter Retreat

4,2 sur avril 11, 2007

My stay was enhanced by the pleasantness of the innkeeper. Great surroundings in the village of Algonquin. Close to restaurants with class.


Victorian Rose Garden

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $104 - $159
  • Avis (127) 4,7
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8478549667

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut