Farmers Guest House Avis

Ensemble
5,0

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services5
  • Qualité/Prix4,9
  • Propreté5
  • Repas5,0

Notation basée sur
36 Avis

Ecrire un avis

An Amazing B&B!

5 sur août 30, 2014

We spent three nights at the Farmer's Guest House and felt right at home the minute we walked in the door. Don and Susan make you feel like family and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant from the outstanding breakfasts, tips on things to see in Galena, to making dining arrangements at local restaurants. We will most definitely stay there again if in the Galena area!


Best B&B in Galena!!!

5 sur août 29, 2014

This is our sixth stay at the Farmer's Guest House Inn and we have already booked another stay. Susan and Don are so accomodating! Susan makes the most delicious breakfasts and she is very attentive to any dietary needs. Both Susan and Don make a special point of getting to know all their guests. The rooms are so comfortable and clean! We have been to other B&B's but this one will always be our favorite!


Charming guest house with a killer breakfast

5 sur août 26, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights at Farmers' Guest House during a weekend getaway in Galena. Susan and Don were so nice and helpful during our stay. They go out of their way to accommodate any special needs and requests. We hadn't read many reviews beforehand, so the quality of the breakfast was a total surprise. Wow, it was amazing. The house was very clean and full of character and history. I would give Farmers' Guest House my highest recommendation to anyone looking for first class accommodations in Galena.


Outstanding bed & breakfast

5 sur août 24, 2014

We just enjoyed our second stay at the Farmer's Guest House in Galena Ill and are ready to return for another stay! Innkeepers Susan & Don strive to give each guest a wonderful experience from the delicious breakfast served every morning to "wine time" in the afternoon. You will feel welcomed and "at home" during your stay! The rooms are each decorated nicely, housekeeping is excellent, and the gardens are well maintained.


Fantastic breakfasts, beautiful place, wonderful people

5 sur août 06, 2014

Just got home from a 3-night stay in the Charlotte suite at Farmers Guest House, and it was tough to leave. Every morning there was something homemade and delicious for breakfast. I ate every bite, and I'm not usually much of breakfast person. Don and Susan are so friendly and accommodating, making dinner reservations for guests, and always ready with recommendations for activities and restaurants in town. Also every evening there's a social hour, with wine and cheese. Perfect way to start the evening before heading into town for dinner. This was my first time at the B&B, and I hope to return. Wonderful place, can't recommend highly enough!


A Real Treat!

5 sur juillet 26, 2014

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Farmers' Guest House. On our next trip to the Galena area we will definitely stay there again. The food was a gourmet's dream--all homemade and delicious. There was even a cookie jar with yummy treats. The rooms were charming. The lovely garden area and the sitting rooms were spacious and homey. The owners, Susan and Don, helped lodgers with restaurant and entertainment reservations. Definitely a 5 star lodging!!!


1st experience at a bed and breakfast

5 sur juillet 04, 2014

Don and Susan were great and very helpful in planning where to eat and what to see. Loved being served a very delicious breakfast that Susan made. Met some very nice people too. Would recommend staying here.


Great place to stay

4,6 sur juin 20, 2014

Don & Susan are wonderful! They make you feel at home. They have delicious home made breakfasts with generous portions and go out of their way to provide for special diets! The wine, cheese and crackers, beverages and cookies are a plus :)


Great Place

5 sur juin 18, 2014

This is our 3rd time back at Farmers Guest House. We just love all that it offers, from the great breakfast,the wine time and the endless cookie jar. Don, Susan and Charles do so much to make your stay so nice. The new Spa Room was a nice touch. We enjoyed our massage it was just what the Dr. ordered.Thank you Don and Susan we had a wonderful time and are looking forward to coming back again soon.


A real treat

5 sur juin 12, 2014

The room was very clean and comfortably updated, and the historic building was delightful to explore. Freshly-baked cookies and wine time were nice hospitality touches. The breakfasts were varied and delicious. Don and Susan had a lot of information about Galena and area activities. We greatly enjoyed our stay and will return.


Charming and friendly

5 sur juin 10, 2014

Charming and friendly place to stay. We loved the beautiful accommodations, which were right around the corner from historic downtown Galena. The B&B innkeepers made sure our stay was perfect. We enjoyed the wine and cheese time and the delicious breakfast. The room was spacious and perfectly clean!


Great Place to Stay

5 sur juin 10, 2014

Had an extremely enjoyable experience at Farmer's Guest House. Breakfast and service was excellent, owners and staff made us feel at home and provided a luxurious experience we've never had at other B&B's. We will definitely be back.


A wonderful B&B experience!

5 sur juin 10, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Farmer's Guest House and we couldn't have been happier with the experience. We have been going for several years now and each time is still a delight. The whole house is warm and inviting and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The food was excellent – my wife loved the Strawberry French Toast but I loved the Mushroom and Egg Flatbread. Susan and Don went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and that we had everything we needed (from dietary restrictions to making dinner reservations to local attractions). I would recommend the Farmer’s Guest House to anyone looking for a relaxing and very enjoyable weekend away. We always feel welcome and we've already booked our next stay!


Great first experience at bed and breakfast

5 sur juin 07, 2014

We can't say enough about Don and Susan and their hospitality. We have never stayed at a bed and breakfast and would never stay at a hotel again if given a choice. Wonderful company and conversation. Spacious cottage with jacuzzi. Delicious homemade breakfasts, cookies always in the jar, frig with soda and water. Great resource to Galena activities. They were so warm and welcoming. Thank you Don and Susan


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 sur juin 02, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay! They innkeepers, Sue and Don, are wonderful. I felt like I was at home even when I was over 200 miles away. They do the best they can to give you discounts or gift cards to make the stay more affordable. The breakfast was amazing every morning and are more than willing to make something that you will eat. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend to anyone!


Outstanding!

5 sur mai 20, 2014

Wonderful guest house. Amazing hosts. Unbelievable food. I highly recommend this fine establishment! Robert S. Rochelle, IL


Great Anniversary Getaway!

5 sur avril 02, 2014

Kudos to my husband (Marco) for planning this trip all by himself,and surprising me with the dates to get ready. This is a trip of firsts for us ... our first trip to Galena, and our first stay at a B&B. Our stay at Farmer's Guest House immediately set the bar high of any expectation we have for any future B&B's. It was an amazing experience, and it will really be difficult for us to stay at another B&B! Don and Susan are so warm that you feel right at home and welcomed. Breakfasts are always something to look forward to. We come down in the morning excited to see what's for breakfast. Love the coffee, fruit servings, muffins, and the main dish. We got to taste the sticky buns, and they are to die for! Wine time is fun time! Great wine selection, cheese and crackers on the side, and best of all good company. It was a good time to meet the other guests and catch up on how our day went, swapped stories, and get good laughs out of it. We stayed at the Melvina room, and it is a nice and quiet room. It was always kept clean and neat with the help of Charles. Thank you Charles! Oh, and all the testimonials about the "chocolate chip cookies" of Susan are true. We are already plannning our next trip, and will definitely be back at the Farmer's Guest House! Thank you Don and Susan for making this our first trip to Galena a memorable one.


Top Notch

5 sur mars 30, 2014

What a wonderful stay! We felt immediately at home when we walked into the front door foyer. We were greeted warmly and shown all the amenities. We were very pleased with the Julia suite. The bed was very comfortable, I did miss my feather pillow though. It was so comfortable we slept 10 hours each day. Needless to say we definitely got much needed sleep. Our inn keepers were very hospitable and knowledgable about the town and the area restaurants. We can not say enough about breakfast. The food was delicious. The innkeepers even prepared a breakfast for our special diet. The Farmers Guest House has all the amenities you would look for in a top notch B&B but with a personal home type feel. We will definitely be back.


Outstanding Bed & Breakfast

4,8 sur février 17, 2014

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast and it was amazing. From the moment we walked in until we left, it was a real treat! Felt at home, met interesting people and enjoyed some down time while exploring the shops and restaurants of Galena. Innkeepers were top notch. Didn't schedule a massage but was told they're great, so we will next time. Can't wait to go back!


Wonderful!

5 sur décembre 17, 2013

Like you, I was searching for reviews on B&B's in Galena. My fiancee (then girlfriend) had always wanted to go so I decided to take her there and propose as well. It could not have been a better trip. Don and Susan are wonderful and will take amazing care of you. Breakfast is wonderful as is the property. They will help you with any reservations you want to make or any activities you want to do. The location is amazing and is within walking distance of the main drag in town. I highly recommend this property and you will not be upset with your decision.


WOW!

5 sur décembre 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Farmers Guest House from 12/03/13-12-06/13. This was my first trip to magical Galena and my first ever B&B experience, though I have travelled extensively. Upon entering the front door of Farmers, we were greated by Susan. It was as if we were old friends coming to visit. Her welcome was so warm and genuine and really made us feel at home. We were scheduled to stay in Minnie, but were offered to stay in Charlotte (a suite). After a quick tour of the two rooms, we chose to upgrade to the suite. While the Minnie would have been comfortable and cozy, Charlotte was quite roomy and a treat! We had a sitting room with a couch, coffee table, small dining table and a whirlpool tub. Our bedroom area had a king sized bed, fireplace and chairs. The fireplace warmed up the space nicely and was such a comforting way to end our day. Just outside our room was the dining area, along with many amenities such as Keurig coffee maker, hot chocolate and an endless supply of some of the best cookies ever! After we arrived we were told that wine time is at 5:00. We loved this time of the day! We were able to spend time talking to Susan and Don, and the other guests while sharing a glass of wine and nibbling on cheese...such a great touch! The next couple of days I really looked forward to this time. Each morning we were served a WONDERFUL breakfast and our food dislkikes were even taken into consideration! If you have ever been to Galena, you know that there is not a shortage of great restaurants, but I have to say..Susan's were some of our best meals! The decore of Farmers was vintage (not frilly or lacey) and kept in the historical time period. I loved how Susan and Don decorated and took care of the Inn, it really showed how much they love what they do! The furniture and bedding was clean and of great quality! I don't know how I will ever top this B&B experience and hope to get back to Farmers again soon!


Great experience

4,8 sur décembre 15, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B, and I couldn't be more pleased. Breakfast was delicious. Happy hour wine time was a great touch. It was a convenient location to the downtown area with off street parking. The room was terrific. It was spacious and luxurious, and we loved the fireplace and the jacuzzi tub. Don and Susan were friendly and gracious hosts. Highly recommended. Can't wait to come back again in the summer or fall season.


Wonderful!!!

4,8 sur novembre 05, 2013

My mom and I really enjoyed our stay at Farmer's Guest House. Susan and Don were friendly and welcoming. Susan was very accommodating in preparing breakfasts that worked with our food sensitivities. This is a wonderful place to relax and unwind!


Didn't expect the B&B to be the Highlight of the Trip

5 sur octobre 24, 2013

We took off for Galena for a quick short getaway (October, 2013) hoping to get in some good hiking in fall colors. Horseshoe Bluffs was a great hike in the Mines of Spain just south of Dubuque, Iowa with a great view of the Mississippi and the Julien Dubuque Monument across the river. But the trip was made by our stay at Farmers' Guest House. It was unexpected that the lodging would be the highlight. We had three gourmet breakfasts; no silly buffet or choice of omelet but a fancy delicious fruit dish with some great piece of pastry followed by a delicious warm entree with fresh sausage presented as competition for Master Chef. Susan's breakfasts can't be beat. The ten person table, plus overflow tables for the "late comers", made for great conversation about yesterday's happenings and today's plans. Then came happy hour, when Susan and Don served wine and cheese and we guests gathered around the table for more discussion of the day's experience and tomorrow's plans as Don made dinner reservations for those too lazy to do it earlier. The mingling of the owners and the guests created a fun conversation environment to discover all of the coincidences in social gatherings and always had someone with "that" sense of humor to generate the laughs. For those needing precision: Breakfast is served from 8:30 AM to 9:30 and Wine Happy Hour is from 5 PM to 6. Plan your schedule around those times. The House is a short walk to town, maybe 8 minutes to the beginning of Mains St and another 10 to the end of Restaurant Row. The walk requires an elevation change up 40 feet on a ramp and back down 40 feet via steps. This is an easy walk unless you have walking problems. It is a 5 minute drive with parking in town being the challenge depending on day of week and time of year.


Great Experience at Our First B&B

5 sur octobre 21, 2013

Thank you to Don and Susan and Charles for a great experience at our first bed and breakfast. We absolutely enjoyed our 18th wedding anniversary at the Farmers Guest House. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed conversations during breakfast and wine time. It was great to meet others from all around the area. We will definitely be back and will tell all of our friends and family!!


Could not have been better!

5 sur septembre 27, 2013

We stayed two nights for a pre-wedding get away and Susan and Don could not have been more welcoming! The common areas were inviting....our room was comfortable and cozy. Coffee, water and soda available at all times and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious! This was the first time we had stayed at a B & B and we will be back! Thanks to Susan and Don (and Charles) for a wonderful time!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review! We are delighted your stay was everything you hoped it would be and look forward to seeing you again. Many happy returns, Susan


Will stay again

5 sur septembre 05, 2013

This is the first B & B we have stayed at and it was a great experience. Don and Susan are wonderful Innkeepers with an attention to detail that makes your stay feel like home. Fresh baked chocolate chip cookies when you walk in the door, wine and cheese at "Wine Time" and an amazing breakfast that does not disappoint.


Comfortable and Friendly

5 sur juillet 15, 2013

We had a great weekend with Susan and Don. They gave us everything we could possibly need and more. The room was HUGE, comfortable and clean. We had a great time and wouldn't stay anywhere else!


FGH

5 sur mai 30, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful three night stay. We will be back again. The wine, cheeses, cookies, breakfast and the suite were great. Thank you Don and Susan!


Ryan & Jinene Dunne

5 sur mai 28, 2013

Ryan & I stayed in the cottage on back. Complete privacy, hot tub, Very cozy, modern, and spotless. The couch was a fold out So you could accommodate a third person or couple. The food Was awesome and the service outstanding. We highly recommend It and we would definitely come back. Thank you again Don, Susan and Charles for a great weekend away!


excellent

5 sur mai 06, 2013

Thank you Don and Susan we had a wonderful time. Really enjoyed my birthday and look forward to booking for our anniversary. Chuck and I already recommended this B & B to our parents and plan on recommending it to friends. I believe the excellent jelly will go very well on mothers day. I am also planning on booking a room for my brother so he can relax and I can enjoy my nieces and nephews. Good for everybody. Tonya and Chuck McHenry IL


Friendliest B&B in Galena

5 sur mai 06, 2013

This was our second visit to Farmer's Guest House. We were looking forward to our stay..But we were happily & pleasantly surprised by the attention that Don & Susan paid to their guests. They make you feel like family. My husband even mentioned he felt bad that we had to leave. That's how Great they are!


A First rate B and B experience

5 sur février 04, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Farmers Guest House. We stayed in the Charlotte suite, which was warm and cozy. Susan and Don are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed their hospitality. Breakfast was great and the presentation was so pretty. This was a first rate B and B experience, we look forward to staying here again!


Wonderful Getaway

4,8 sur février 04, 2013

Farmers' Guest House was my wife and I's first B&B experience and it surpassed our expectations. We only stayed one evening this past weekend, but Don, Susan, & Charles were very friendly and hospitable. The Julia Suite was wonderful! The rooms were very clean, as well as were the common areas. Everything from the library (with books and games), to cookies and drinks, to Wine Time, to the amazing breakfast were wonderful! We will definitely be back!


Well Done!

4,8 sur octobre 30, 2012

A warm and friendly environment, a great breakfast, warm hosts, and an intriguing city. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again!


Beautiful Guest House in Galena

4,8 sur août 11, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Galena, but had never stayed at the Farmers Guest House. We've admired it for years and finally decided to book a couple nights. What a fabulous place! From the moment we walked in the door we felt welcomed and at home. Our room was beautiful and cozy as well as comfortable. Breakfast was excellent both days. We enjoyed being so close to downtown. It was a 5 minute walk to Main Street. The hospitality was top notch and the entire guest house was impeccably clean. We were very impressed with the original hardwood floors throughout the house. What a beautiful, well maintained! We look forward to returning to soon!


Farmers Guest House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $179 - $299
  • Avis (36) 5,0
  • Chambres 9
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8157773456
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8884591847

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut