Allen's Log Cabin Guest House Avis

Ensemble
3,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,2
  • Services4,0
  • Qualité/Prix3,7
  • Propreté4,2
  • Repas3,6

Notation basée sur
105 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Halloween getaway

4,4 sur novembre 16, 2014

We were in Galena for the Halloween parade weekend and stayed at the cabins. It was our first time staying at the cabins and we were NOT disappointed. They are so different than any other place we have stayed at in Galena. Peaceful,romantic with your own fireplace. Loved everything about them! Can't wait to stay there again, we loved our weekend there.


Quiet, Romantic

3,8 sur novembre 05, 2014

Great atmosphere and an awesome, quiet, romantic place to stay but a bit pricey. The water pressure was pretty low in the shower.


October stay

4,2 sur octobre 23, 2014

Beautiful views fromthe cabins. Large fire places and cofortable beds. We'll be back.


Cozy Cabin

4,2 sur octobre 22, 2014

My husband and I loved the authentic log cabin feel. The fireplace was amazing and sleeping by firelight was so romantic and relaxing. Our cabin was cozy and we felt right at home. Being able to have our dog there with us made it even better. The owner was accommodating and told us to contact her any time day or night if we needed anything. If the nights had been a little warmer we would have loved to enjoy a fire in the fire pit outside! We thought we would be getting more than just bread and juice for breakfast, but the bread was very good. Also, I paid $35 for chocolate to surprise my hubby for our anniversary. It was delicious and from Rocky Mountain Chocolate factory, but we were under the impression it was going to be chocolate strawberries or something. Four pieces of chocolate was not worth $35 when Rocky Mountain is right downtown.

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm so glad you enjoyed the cabin!! If you go back to our website it clearly states "Out of season we will substitute strawberries with other gourmet chocolates." And, the chocolates came from Rocky Mountain and from Chocolat'. When you buy a package from us you are paying for someone to go downtown and collect the chocolates from two different stores for you and have it waiting on your bed when you check in. In a monetary system nothing is free :)


A great 25th Anniversary get away!

4,2 sur octobre 20, 2014

My husband and I loved the place! We had a cozy romantic cabin and being able to take our dog with us made the stay even better. We will be back


Very Romantic - No worries

3,6 sur octobre 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I read all the reviews. We were somewhat hesitant about staying. We even brought our own cleaning supplies which we DID NOT NEED. What we had was a very romantic stay at a rustic cabin that was very clean with modern upgrades, Direct TV (found Bears game), hot tub, great heat etc...We fed apples by hand to the cows on the adjoining farm. They office was very well kept and the owner was very funny in a sarcastic way. We will definitely by back. Rob Z.

Réponse du propriétaire
Oh, yeah, throw me under the bus lol You're welcome back any time :)


Nice getaway

3,8 sur septembre 17, 2014

The John Smith cabin was part of a getaway weekend for my wife and me. The cabin was very clean and comfortable for two people. Tammy was very accommodating and helpful, stating we could call her 24/7 with any needs.


Pricey, but a neat experience

3,2 sur mai 07, 2014

We stayed in the larger cabin, since we had two adults and two teens. It was priced a little high, but since we were just going for one night, we went for it. We wanted to have a "cabin" experience, not a "hotel" experience. The cabin was neat. It looked alot nicer on the inside than it did in the photos. It was clean and had everything you would expect. The kids liked the loft. It isnt perfect, but you have to remember --it was built in 1865!!! We had fun walking around and looking at the cows. We lit a fire, sat on the front porch, etc. Overall, a good time.

Réponse du propriétaire
I remember your visit. If the gas and electric companies would lower their prices I would be able to lower mine, too :)I'm very glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again :)And thank you for returning my key :)


Unique Cabins for a One Time Stay

3,0 sur avril 23, 2014

We stayed as a family with our dog in the Chetlain cabin. We wanted to visit the Galena area and staying in a log cabin seemed a unique way to do it. The cabins are charming, but in need of some maintenance, and the host is very nice. Having said that, I would have to say that it is doubtful that we will be visiting again. The property is much smaller than I imagined and there is no hiking or other activities in the area. I had pictured staying in a cabin and being able to explore nature around me. There is nothing to explore and the cabis are pretty close together. It is in "Galena", but not really in Galena, so there isn't anything to see in the area within walking distance. Therefore, I would have to say that while the cabins are charming, they are pricey, and not something that I would do again.

Réponse du propriétaire
I remember your visit. You asked me on the phone if we were located close to town and I told you two miles and you said that was pretty close. Then you asked about hiking trails and I told you they were downtown. You said ok and reserved a cabin. I'm not sure what maintenance you are referring to in the Chetlain cabin, we just put a brand new roof on the cabin and if you would have called me, like I told you, you can 24 hours a day, I would have told you to flip the breaker and the jets on the tub would work. If you don't call me, I can't help you out.....the check in sheet states clearly "call me ANY TIME for ANYTHING". I hope you reconsider staying again now that you know your issues can all be taken care of with a phone call. I'm sorry you didn't appreciate the "lack of nature" and hiking trails, but you were told over the phone and our website does have pictures :) Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your comments, that's the only way we know how to make your stay as pleasant as possible, which means you need to comment to us before you leave so we have a chance to.


Real Cabin Feel

2,8 sur avril 10, 2014

We really wanted to experience staying in a log cabin and Allen's Log Cabin gives you that experience. A plus about this place is that it is one of the few places that has wood burning fireplaces, which was a huge plus for us. What a beautiful view of open fields looking out a big window near our Jacuzzi tub. We very much enjoyed the sunrises and sunsets as well as the dark starry skies at night...very tranquil and relaxing experience. With the pros does come a few cons that we cannot omit. We did have trouble with getting enough hot water to enjoy the tub. We were unable to enjoy the tub on the first night and when we brought it up to the Innkeepers the second night, she wasn't too accommodating. We did not allow that to ruin our experience so we came up with our own plan, and eventually were able to enjoy our hot tub.

Réponse du propriétaire
I remember your visit. You were given a check in sheet with specific instructions for the whirlpool tub. We have never had an issue with the tub as long as the directions are followed. You were also given a discount for your next stay and you can choose another cabin. The check in sheet clearly states all instructions for tubs, fireplaces and anything you need. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you change your mind and stay again. Your discount is transferable so you can give it to a friend if you prefer.


Cute, quiet getaway

3,0 sur avril 02, 2014

The cabin was adorable, quiet and relaxing. It just had a couple small minor defects. The ceiling fan light bulbs were burnt out and not replaced, so the overhead light did not work, the hot tub drain was extremely slow and the fitted sheets on the bed did not fit properly and are not of a high thread count as the website states. For the nightly cost, I would have expected none of the deficiencies. Other than a few small items, the cabin appears exactly as it does in the pictures. It is adorable with great romantic atmosphere and did not ruin our stay.. I would return.

Réponse du propriétaire
I remember your visit. Thank you for saying you would return in spite of the small errors. I do remember telling you if you have a 30 foot ladder or know somebody tall you were welcome to change the bulbs for me because I'm the only one here and don't have a ladder....yet. I also have two very good high watt bulbs in the room already and really enjoy the smaller electric bills when the ceiling fan lights aren't used. As for the sheets, I just purchased them at Younker's and they seemed to fit fine. If you would have called I would have been glad to change them for you. When you have complaints, it's always best to voice them while you are here visiting so we can deal with it then. Leaving it in a review online is not going to get anything accomplished while you're here. Please, always know, our policy is to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Call us ANY TIME for ANYTHING and we will be glad to do what we can. Hope to see you again.


Very cozy and peaceful

4,4 sur mars 02, 2014

The cabin was absolutely beautiful. It was warm and there was limitless firewood to set the ambiance of the entire weekend. I would definitely recommend this place for a nice getaway.


Anniversary Getaway

5 sur janvier 29, 2014

We were looking for a quiet and cozy place to share together our 10 year wedding anniversary. This was the perfect place! Jacuzzi Tub, Candles and a Wood Burning Fireplace with your true love - what more could you ask for. Complete privacy, very peaceful, romantic. You are not disturbed, not even for your breakfast - you can pick up the night before while you are out. Dining in town - lots of choices. We thouroughly enjoyed ourselves. I would most highly recommend the Grant Cabin.


Fun experience

3,4 sur janvier 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the New Years' holiday and it was COLD outside. Thus, the cabin was cold too. The central heat, fireplace, and spaceheater managed t o keep up, though. Some things could use a little TLC such as the jacuzzi. It took me a night to figure out the nuances of that machine, kinda like some of the lawn mowers I used to use as a kid, figuring out how to start it was tricky and I'm still pressed to understand how what I did made a difference. It's the the strongest motor and the proprietor knows it has to be replaced. The bed was very comfy and the linens impressively clean, but the bed had a bit of a sag in the middle and you find yourself drifting. The wifi is weak and spotty so don't go in expecting to steam a lot of content. Overall it was fun! I would say, it's rustic with a dash of class. It's a cabin, set your expectations.

Réponse du propriétaire
I remember your visit. Yes, you reserved the cabin with the yucky tub jets. You're lucky you got them working at all. I usually have to beat on the pump with a hammer. We have since shut that cabin down until I can make the proper repairs or it can be rented for a smaller price without the tub. We are replacing mattresses this year, too. I've only been managing the family business for 2 years and I had to replace roofs and fix what previous managers had let get out of hand first. We are slowly bringing it back to shape and hope to have all the little things on the priority list done soon. The wifi, I'm sorry to say is the only thing we can get and I don't much like it myself, but most people aren't here for the wifi :) I'm very glad you enjoyed the cabin and hope to see you again. Thank you for staying with us.


great stay

5 sur novembre 14, 2013

Great relaxing stay


Anniversary Hide Away

5 sur octobre 28, 2013

Fireplace and Jacuzzi, what else do you need?


Galena cabin weekend

4,0 sur septembre 22, 2013

Great relaxing weekend. Will definitely stay there again.


Allen's Log Cabin Guest House

3,6 sur septembre 05, 2013

This was a charming little getaway, close enough to Main Street to make the drive into town easy yet far enough away to have cattle roaming your' backdoor. The individual cabins come sparsely equipped but with everything you need. Quilts, a stone fireplace where you can make a roaring fire, true log construction and a loft with a jacuzzi were enough for us want to stay again


Beautiful cabins, rustic feel with modern touches

5 sur septembre 05, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the cabins very much. They are old and rustic in appearances, with all the modern amenities you'd want. (fireplace, huge whirlpool tub for two, mini fridge, microwave, etc.) The cabins are on a small cattle ranch, so you can sip your coffee or drink your wine and watch the cows. Very relaxing. And it is just 2 minutes to town. I've stayed at 3 B&B's and 2 hotels in Galena, and this was by far the best value and experience.


Weekend Getaway

4,0 sur août 30, 2013

Nice and relaxing. Great time


Enjoyed our Stay

4,0 sur août 28, 2013

We stayed in the Parker Cabin for two nights in Aug 2013. We really enjoyed our stay. I have stayed in a lot of cabins in the last two years from Mich to Tenn. This is one of the nicest. You have to understand, these are Rustic Cabins. These are not brand new cabin replicas. These are the real deal 1800s built cabins with some pleasant upgrades, like AC (which worked great), Whirlpool tub, TV, etc. If you can go into your stay with that expectation, you will not be disappointed. I saw a mention of fancy camping in another review, if you have camped before you will enjoy your stay here. Although the cabins have many great amenities it is not fair to compare this to staying in a Hotel. I am an avid camper, my wife is not :) Even she enjoyed herself very much. Upon arrival the cabin smelled very clean. Floors were clean, bathroom was clean. It had a small coffee pot with coffee and mugs, fridge with breakfast in it and small microwave. Very nice thick towels and soap was provided. The owner was very nice and offered us her cell phone number and said, call anytime for anything. We spent the day in Galena (only a 5-10 minute drive to downtown) and the cabin was the perfect place to rest up. And we sure did need it. The Whirlpool tub was great for relaxing after a full day of walking downtown. We did get to see the cows outside our backdoor Saturday morning, but don't worry it doesn't smell like a cattle farm. It was actually very cool. The cabins are very quite, private and cozy. We were not bothered by any noise or other guests, even as they enjoyed a campfire in the evenings. The owner seemed very concerned that we enjoyed our stay. Which we did and hope to return. Thanks for a wonderful stay and great memories.


A Most Delightful and Peaceful Retreat

4,6 sur août 06, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay in these rustic cabins. The cabins are now managed by the owner and we had a chance to chat with her briefly before we left to let her know what a wonderful stay we had. We stayed in the Parker cabin for three nights. The cabin was impressively clean and quiet and was located right outside of downtown Galena. We were there with our seven month old daughter and our dog. They both loved the stay as much as we did. I can't say enough about how peaceful this place was. We had a wonderful experience and are already talking about plans to get back there next summer.


Unique and cozy place to stay

4,6 sur juillet 11, 2013

The cabins are a wonderful place to stay for a romantic get away or for a unique setting with family.


The Smith Cabin is where I want to stay if I go back. Loved it. Thanks Tammy

4,2 sur juillet 10, 2013

The Smith Cabin is all I can speak toward and it was above and beyond what my expectations were. It is a true rustic cabin with all the ammenities that one would want. Quiet, clean and well cared for thanks Tammy

Réponse du propriétaire
You're very welcome and thank you so much. We enjoyed having you and hope to see all of you again :)


Best Get Away Close To Town

4,4 sur juillet 09, 2013

Allen"s Log Cabin Guest house is an excellent place to go if you want a cozy cabin to relax and not be disturbed. We took our two dogs and had a very enjoyable time. Our neighbors in the cabin next door were on their Harley Davidson motorcycles & we did not even hear them come home later then us. We were able to walk the property with the dogs and go into town to enjoy shopping and the sights. I recommend this place for anyone who loves the cabin comforts and the peace of the old times.


Rustic stay in the country

4,6 sur juillet 08, 2013

Authentic 1865 log cabins ..what a treat - not your usual hotel room - something different and very rustic. Quaint!


Awesome cabin

4,0 sur juillet 03, 2013

Great place for a getaway. Cabin is convenient to Galena but far enough outside that it is quiet. Loved that we could bring our dog!


Great place to stay in Galena

4,2 sur juin 05, 2013

Lovely spot, different, in that it's right next to a dairy farm with grazing cows. Bed very good, we did wish for some softer pillow options, but it was fine.. How unusual to see a spiral staircase in a log cabin! A tad inconvenient in needing to climb that staircase in the middle of the night to use the bathroom but that was no problem. Jacuzzi was wonderful after long bike ride through Galena's steep hills. Didn't use the fireplace but it looked lovely. Breakfast was a tad below what I'd expect from "Continental Breakfast". Some nice sweetbreads, bottled juices and coffee. But Galena was nearby so that too posed no problem. An interesting and cheaper alternative to Eagle Ridge, good value.


Galena visit

2,8 sur mai 01, 2013

I thought it was a little high in price. I enjoyed having a fire an liked the cabin atmosphere.


fun time

3,4 sur avril 09, 2013

Nice cabins; good service when there was a problem; not the view expected, but a good time.


great experience

3,6 sur janvier 28, 2013

Went January 3rd, everything was just what we wanted. Winter months in front of a real fireplace and no interruptions, perfect after the holidays. Front desk and reservation desk was supportive and welcoming.


Loved Grant's cabin!

3,6 sur janvier 07, 2013

We stayed in Grant's cabin for a romantic weekend and loved it! Very close to town and easy to find. We will definately by back in the summer!


Splended Annual Visit

4,6 sur janvier 07, 2013

Our Annual Grant Cabin visit was splended again this year. I will have to comment that the cabin was cleaner this year, than past years. Thank you for keeping the property open!


Charming and Romantic B&B

4,6 sur janvier 04, 2013

The room had a historic log cabin feel yet with modern amenities. The fire place made it a very cozy and romantic get away from our hectic lives, just what we were looking for! It was very clean, and details (ie, linens, candles, bath soaps) just made our stay more enjoyable. We definitely will make a return to Allen's Log Cabins soon!


Rustic, pet-friendly, unique vacation experience

4,0 sur janvier 01, 2013

My wife and I loved the cabin, which has been around since the early 1800s and had a truly rustic feel. A foremost priority for us was finding a pet-friendly place where we could bring our dog. The $25 pet fee was reasonable. We loved the word burning fireplace, and the jacuzzi was a nice touch too. Beds were adequately comfortable, though not to the extent that I'd expect when spending $250/night. Among the more unique features were the cows roaming the fenced off lot adjacent to the cabins. We were pleasantly surprised to wake up in the morning and see two cows grazing about 5 feet from our cabin. Great to hear nothing but silence other than birds chirping and cows mooing. An excellent getaway from Chicago. My wife and I will definitely be returning. From our view, there isn't a better place to stay in Galena and the cabin itself is the main reason we'll be returning to Galena next winter.


Quaint, warm basic cabin

3,6 sur janvier 01, 2013

Six of us stayed two nights during December in the Chetlain Cabin at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House. Overall we were happy. The place feels authentic and was also clean and adequately stocked with towels, bedding, etc. There is no kitchen, but there is a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. The whirlpool was well kept and very relaxing after a long day skiing. The cabins are located a short drive from grocery stores and a couple restaurants. I would recommend Allen's Log Cabins for those looking for a rustic get away.


Hints for Happy Cabin Life

3,2 sur octobre 27, 2012

We were charmed by this cozy small cabin (Grant Cabin)! It may be only one room but is roomy and nicely furnished. There is a large bathroom with a big shower, a huge whirlpool tub in an alcove, and the softest towels I have ever felt in my life!! We would have been happy to stay days longer. We intend to make repeat visits whenever possible. It is a convenience to be within minutes of town and shopping, yet the setting is all pretty countryside! I'd like to offer a few hints to keep in mind. This is a cabin with wooden floors so remember slippers. There are no closets and only one hook in the main room so keep any hanging clothes at a bare minimum (the tall bedposts are great coat racks). Bring some paper towels for any table clean-up or drying glasses. Plastic coated small paper plates were supplied but should not be used in the microwave. Bring larger paper plates if you want to warm any items. We were supplied with delicious small sweet bread loaves for breakfast from a local bakery so you may want to bring butter or cream cheese to spread on top. You may also want to bring extra coffee (if you consume a lot)...creamers were in the mini-fridge. I would bring some fruit or yogurt to supplement the coffee, juice and breadstuffs (we're pretty hungry in the morning). A grocery store is quite close by for anything you might need. We had a cheerful fire in the fireplace which just hit the spot. All in all, our stay was perfectly lovely...and the cows were friendly neighbors!


Stay at the Parker Log Cabin

3,8 sur octobre 17, 2012

The cabin was cute, minus some bugs. My husband got bit on the leg by a spider of some sort, we believe. And the morning we were leaving my hsuband saw what he believes was a mouse. You can't stay in a real log cabin and not expect there to be a few bugs. I LOVED the real fireplace and just the cuteness of the log cabin in and of itself. And the jacuzzi was great too!


Cottage Review

3,6 sur octobre 17, 2012

We stayed in the cottage instead of the actual cabins. I basically knew what to expect upon arrival. I knew there was some breakfast waiting for us and I knew the layout of room and I knew it had electric fireplace instead of a real one. The website was very informative and right on. I thought this was very cozy and cute and it was a great get away. Something totally different from a normal hotel room. However, I thought this was a bit too pricey. And I had issues with my electric fireplace. But all in all, I would still recommend people giving this a try. If you want something different, a bit rustic and even a bit romantic, this is the place to be.


Anniversary Getaway...

3,8 sur septembre 19, 2012

The cabin was immaculate, the secludedness of the property was perfect, and we could not have asked for anything more. The sunrises and sunsets were amazing from our cabin and I was blown away by both the number of stars you could see at night as well as how quiet the property was! It was just a quick trip down the hill - maybe 5 minutes - to downtown Galena. I would actually not recommend this property to anyone I know, BUT that's because I want it all to myself :) Thank you for a perfect getaway for our anniversary!


Perfect for two!

5 sur septembre 13, 2012

This was the perfect getaway, yet it was a short drive down town. We are talking about building something like it.


Not Happy

1,4 sur septembre 06, 2012

I would have enjoyed my stay of the cabin was clean.


Just what I needed

3,2 sur juillet 14, 2012

Cabin was as advertised - all was good, only negative was that there was not enough light in the cabin. Luckily for me, my Nook has glow-light, so I could read sitting on the couch without a lamp/light. The breakfast was mini-loaves of bread - blueberry, cinnamon and banana - which were in the mini-fridge when I arrived, along with three bottles of fruit juice. Coffee pot in the room as well as a microwave. I needed a quiet break away from life, and the cabin was perfect. PS Smoking is allowed, both on the front and side porches, and even inside, though they prefer you smoke outside. The air conditioning worked - thank goodness - since it was 100 degrees for all of the days I was there. The price is ok, but if you are a smoker, the choices out there are extremely limited. All in all, it served my purposes exactly and I am glad I found them.


Nice Pet-Friendly Escape from the Rat Race

3,8 sur juillet 10, 2012

The wife, pooch, and I all needed a break from our daily pressures (well, maybe the dog didn't, but he wanted an adventure). We decided on a short road trip and picked Galena, which is under 2 hours away. At the last minute we discovered these cabins and were fortunate enough to be able to rent the Grant cabin. The cabins are well-maintained, especially considering their age. The immediate property is nice, but we didn't come here to appreciate nature on our doorstep - we used the cabin as our center for jaunts to Galena and some local state parks. I was amused and thankful to find that we had central air, a mini-fridge, and a Jacuzzi (and satellite, which went untouched) in such a rustic place - but the creature comforts were very helpful after a lot of hiking in temps way above average. The site is on a working farm, and we enjoyed having coffee on the porch in the morning and watching the cows await feeding time. Tammy, the owner, has a philosophy of staying out of guests' way unless they have a need...which we appreciated. This is not a five-star hotel, but this is a way to get back to something that resembles a simpler time, yet still have some of our modern comforts at hand. For us, it was the ideal answer to what to do with a long weekend with the dog that gets us away from home yet isn't too far away.


july 1-4 2012

4,6 sur juillet 08, 2012

We have stayed here 2 times before, each time a wonderful plenty of towels always clean. Great place to relax & unwind. Love the herd of cows as our wake up call. Can't wait for our next visit.


Relax unwind and enjoy

4,8 sur juillet 03, 2012

Rustic cabins away from busy areas. I enjoyed staying there and Tammy was very nice:especially when you can bring the pooch along. Will return. Nice bonus of having baked goods and juice of your choice.


Get away weekend

3,0 sur juin 27, 2012

These cabins are ideal for a romantic weekend getaway. There are many things to do in the area and several dining establishments close by.


Peaceful and Relaxing

4,2 sur juin 20, 2012

We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. Both of us have been through some stressful life situations and needed a peaceful and quite setting and this is what we got. We brought our 2 dogs which we don't really do but they even seemed more relaxed. Everyone was very nice and friendly and we hope to retun someday to try a different Cabin.


Allen's Log Cabin review

2,6 sur juin 18, 2012

We've stayed here before and love the privacy and the deck with wonderful view (in thole Grant Cabin). Great wood burning fire place also which is nice in the fall. Cool to have the farm and cows right outside your door too.


Neverstay in a motel in Galena

4,8 sur juin 16, 2012

Terrific overnight stay in Allens Log Cabin. Decided on Allens due to very good website, informative with pictures and ease of reservations. Very close to downtown Galena but cabin was in a country setting. The cabin was immaculate on the inside and rustic appearance from the outside. We will return to Galena and will certainly stay again. Affordable price cabin is set up nicely, and again cannot stress enough that it was very, very clean. Will bring the kids next time.


Excellent Getaway!

5 sur avril 29, 2012

I planned a weekend retreat for me and my girlfriend and told her we were going "camping" in Galena- we drove over from the Chicagoland area and spent the day in downtown Galena, went shopping and checked out the sights, but she was amazed when we pulled into the quaint little cove with all the log cabins nestled in the farmland! We stayed in the Grant log cabin- absolutely perfect, complete with a whirlpool jacuzzi, fireplace fully stocked with wood, an absolutely gorgeous view (yes, the cows are very close and I tried to pet, but to no avail) and absolute serenity. It was a far cry from the hustle and bustle of "city life" and was a very welcome respite. It was very quiet and felt like our very own. We were very surprised when we opened the mini fridge and saw they had breakfast for us! Ill tell you what- if you need to recharge your batteries, or just get away from it all, this is your destination. Its fairly close to home, and the ambiance is absolutely stunning! We never even turned the TV on- it was a truly unique experience. I highly recommend this as one of your few destination spots! Bring the kids, bring the dog, or come alone- its perfect! We cannot recommend it more highly! ~Nick & Amanda


Best Romantic Weekend

5 sur mars 23, 2012

I was very impressed with the cabins. We were able to bring our dogs, which sold it initially for us. It was beyond our expectations. We will be making it a yearly trip.


during the week retreat

4,0 sur mars 04, 2012

we really enjoyed the proximity to town, which should not be discounted considering the distance of some other places. The representation was accurate. We wanted a place we could take the dogs without a bunch of hassle and rules, and could smoke a cigar outside. It was really great. We were the only ones there at the time, but definitely could see how being alone as well as having other guests around would both be equally enjoyable without feeling like you were thrown into a social situation that is uncomfortable (like having to chitchat with people I don't know over breakfast before coffee!). The place was authentic and clean.


Awesome

3,6 sur février 29, 2012

It was a lot of fun considering this was the first time in a cabin for me


Great stay at the Smith Cabin

4,0 sur février 27, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed here on what I'm pretty sure was the coldest weekend of the mild 2012 winter. We had so much fun making fires and showing that hot tub who's boss. The cabin's charm totally exceeded our expectations-- highly recommend!


Great Place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 sur février 09, 2012

Me and my six friends had a graet time here in feburary and can't wait to go back in may. It is such a peaceful and beautiful place!


Really Amazing Time

5 sur février 09, 2012

My husband and I came to the Allen's Log Cabin to stay for a relaxing, romantic, peaceful, and cozy get away! It was all that and more!! We had such a great time!! We were able to really relax and enjoy out time with each other without any interuptions or the craziness from every day life. It was wonder and we will go again!!:)


A total let down!

1,2 sur janvier 11, 2012

I must preface with saying my husband and I seek out "out of the norm" accomodations and have stayed in very avante garde locations around the world, generally with very positive results. This is simply to say we weren't expecting the Ritz Carlton and were welcoming a fun, rustic getaway for his birthday. The first-impression quaintness disappeared within 5 minutes of arriving....the woman who checked us in was FAR more concerned about her dog eating her pizza than giving any kind of reasonable customer service. When we got to our cabin my initial reaction was, "Aawww!" But once we turned on the heat and the place warmed up it reeked of animals, primarily what smelled like male cat. Maybe that's to be expected from a place that so ambitiously welcomes pets! Too bad their cleaning attempt isn't as ambitious......We sucked it up and tried to make the most of it. We brought cheese, crackers, wine, etc. but we only had a couple plastic forks and knives and the wine opener was broken. Luckily we had a multi-tool in the car and brought our own wine opener. After we went to bed on a rather uncomfortable mattress and lost sleep between the heater blowing like a jet engine to heat the place up, then it dropping 20 degrees as soon as it went off, we were fortunately awake enough to hear the rustling of mice. They used my purse to launch themselves up to the table for cheese and crackers and were enjoying a feast when my husband had to get up and dispose of them! At best he is a country boy so others may not have had as calm a reaction. With respect to the hot/cold....in order to handle to cold drafty cabin downstairs you must keep the heat on, but that makes the bathroom area upstairs absolutely UNBEARABLE!!!! We had to open the window up there just to be able to shower and go to the bathroom and even with that I still had sweat rolling down my back. It looks quaint in the pictures, but save yourself....don't be fooled!


Rustic gem

4,4 sur janvier 10, 2012

A great get away for two. Shut the door and enjoy what the cabin has to offer.


nice. quaint. warm.

3,2 sur janvier 05, 2012

that pretty much says it all. wal-mart is close by as well.


Second stay in the Smith Cabin

4,2 sur janvier 04, 2012

This is the second stay here. It is a beautiful atmosphere. We so enjoy the coziness of the cabin. Check-in is simple and the morning sunrises beautiful. We will come back again.


A place that you will always remember

4,8 sur décembre 28, 2011

These Log Cabins are filled with history, and carry a lot of character.In our cabin their was a guest book of the previos guest experiences as well as tokens of good luck placed in different locations in the cabin. We also placed in the guest book an account of our stay at this cabin. As I have stayed in many places this place will always have a special place within me.


Romantic and Rustic

3,8 sur décembre 23, 2011

This was exactly what we were hoping for--a romantic, excluded cabin with an authentic feel. We will definitely plan a return visit!


Log Cabins

4,8 sur décembre 22, 2011

Just like we remembered them from a couple years ago. It was clean, romantic, quiet--perfect for our 15th anniversary getaway!


Won't be returning

4,0 sur décembre 17, 2011

This was our sixth visit at the cabins (our stay was two weeks before Christmas) and things have sadly gone downhill. We were "welcomed" by hearing what a bad day the manager was having and how everything was going wrong. Some of the issues we experienced: the furnace in our cabin wasn't working properly and temp never got above 64 degrees (outside temp at night was only 18). We stayed two nights... fireplace wood was not replenished - had to find our own outside in a shed. Bathtub took 40 minutes to drain, bath towels, drinking glasses, coffee cups, etc. were not replenished, waste basket wasn't emptied. Only 3 of the 5 cabins were occupied so maybe others have noticed the maintenance issues. For $200 night, I expect some basic housekeeping during a two night stay. Will be looking for another place to stay - such a shame, as the cabins themselves are very charming.


Allens Log Cabins

3,6 sur novembre 21, 2011

We had a great time at the cabin, Grant, it was clean and quiet. Just what we were looking for, Tammy and the dogs greeted us, took care that we had all we needed, then gave us privacy. Perfect!


Weekend in Galena

3,2 sur novembre 21, 2011

I was very disappointed that the Jacuzzi was peeling and did not look appealing. Having more wood in the cabins for the fireplace would have been better too.


Peace, Quiet and Cows

3,6 sur novembre 09, 2011

The Grant Cabin was quite nice. Overall very comfortable with the exception of the sofa/hide-a-bed. Fireplace was wonderful and plenty of firewood was available. A good value compared to hotel rates in town with much easier access, more privacy and where else can you park your truck 10 feet from your front door. The dogs loved the cows and having the freedom to roam about and enjoy being in nature. Did I mention the fireplace? Steve, Annie, Elvis and Vinny


Nice Place if You Have a Dog

3,0 sur novembre 06, 2011

This is a nice place to stay if you're bringing your dog along on your vacation because they are dog-friendly. We stayed in the Coach House and it was rustic & cute. Nice amenities included a very comfortable bed, gas fireplace, TV, microwave, small refrigerator, and Continental breakfasts of quick breads from a local bakery and orange or apple juice. It is a little out in the country next to a farm with cows, however. I'm guessing the cows attract flies and the coach house is not airtight, so a lot of flies get inside, which gets a little annoying.


perfect getaway

4,6 sur novembre 02, 2011

A perfect getaway. The log cabin was better than a hotel room, clean-cozy, and very spacious. Located out of the way, quite area with a beautiful sunset view. The galena resturants were fantastic, one was better then the next. A must go back vacation.


Allen's Log Cabins

5 sur novembre 02, 2011

The cabin was wonderful! We were very surprised and pleased at how nice the inside was. Great place to go for a weekend!


awesome place

4,6 sur octobre 20, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon weekend getaway. We loved it. It was peaceful and private and country with a little city nearby. We will definitely stay here again.


Moooo!

3,6 sur octobre 13, 2011

Husband and I stayed in the Grant cabin and loved it! Beautiful country views and backs up to a farm where we watched the cows graze and woke up to the sound of Moooos! It takes less than 10 min to be on Main st in Galena. Loved the fact that you can bring your dog, will bring our furry kids next time. Wood burning fire place was well stocked and ready to go. Very nice soaker, jacuzzi tub too, bath salts provided. We will definitely be back tho we found the price a tad on the pricey side. We usually stay in B&B's with a full breakfast provided but for a change of pace we'll be back!


Repairs need to be made

1,8 sur octobre 06, 2011

There was a part of ceiling falling in the livingroom and there were mold stains on the ceiling above two of the beds. Two of the other cabins we saw were fine but the largest one that we stayed in should have been repaired before rented out...


Country Get-away

4,2 sur septembre 27, 2011

Great place to get-away. Quiet and cozy. Overlooks the country pasture. 5 minutes from downtown Galena. My wife and I truely loved the cabins and loved reading the reviews left by others inside the journals in the cabin. Would definately recommend staying here and we will come again to get-away.


A wonderful getaway

4,4 sur septembre 10, 2011

We come here every year - it's so beautiful and quiet at the cabins. Very close to downtown - will continue to come back year after year!


The Grant Cabin

4,8 sur septembre 08, 2011

My wife and I decided on the spur of the moment to make a trip to Galena and were fortunate enough to be able to rent the Grant cabin for the nite. The rustic atmosphere made it very relaxing. The cabin was exceptionally clean and very well furnished. Our only regret was that we could only spend one nite.


Quaint and Rustic

3,2 sur juillet 23, 2011

These cabins are very quaint and rustic. Their location to Galena are excellent. Unfortunately our stay was during 100+ temps so we could not enjoy the outdoors. But the cabin was nice an cool! They do need more up keep and general maintenance. Weeds were overgrown around the cabins. But if you want something out of the ordinary with a country feel these are perfect. Laurie and Scott were very nice and helpful. Just wish the owner would put a little money into these cabins and the area... she would then have a gold mine!!!


Disappointed

1,2 sur juillet 18, 2011

We were extremely disappointed with our stay. The first impression was frightening. The cabins were overgrown with weeds that were 4-5 feet high. The check-in office was absolutely filthy with layers of dog hair and dirt. While the bathroom area of the cabin was fairly clean, it was obvious the rugs in the unit had not been cleaned for months, if not years. Screens were leaned up against the windows, some of which did not completely close, allowing insects to enter. Some of the light fixtures did not work, making the main room very dark even with lamps on. While one expects a certain level of "rustic" in a cabin, we don't include hanging cobwebs and left-over ashes from last winter's fires a pleasant addition to rural ambiance at $180 per night. The "breakfast" consisted of only a small quickbread loaf and a small bottle of juice. Stay away from this place!


Best Weekend Stay

4,2 sur juin 10, 2011

We had a wonderful time at our log cabin guest house! The grounds were clean and relaxing, our cabin had plenty of space and was very homey, and the innkeepers were very accommodating. Loved that we could bring our dog- she had so much fun! A little snaffu with payment, but I expect it will be resolved soon. Will definitely go back if we stay in Galena again- it was a much-needed getaway from the stresses of home.


Highly recommend...

4,2 sur mai 14, 2011

My fiance and I have very, very stressful jobs. This was two nights that felt like a week. I wish we had spent more time in the room, enjoying the ambiance and truly relaxing, but Galena offers too much! I found the accommodations to be very warm, and the hosts to be hospitable and very friendly. They were very nice people, and very patient with this city slicker! The whirlpool bath - outstanding. The fireplace (we literally burned every piece of firewood they stocked!) was outstanding. The bed was firm and made me feel like I was at home. All wonderful. It's a bit pricey, but all of Galena is a bit pricey, and at the end of the weekend, I was pleased with the value. It was a great getaway, and offers more value than other comparably priced hotels in the region. If you decide to go, expect to be living close to the outdoors. Things like the smell of firewood burning, the freshness of the air, and the mooing of cows during the night are to be appreciated. This isn't a place where the bellboy carries your luggage and there is a mint on the pillow. But if you need to relax, and fall in love with your mate all over again, this is the place for you.


great time

5 sur mai 11, 2011

Loved it , the cabin reminded me of the old days I will come back every year!


GREAT stay!

3,4 sur mai 02, 2011

We stayed in the Smith cabin, and it was wonderful. Perfect for a weekend getaway -- a bit expensive, but worth it for the novelty. It was quiet and romantic. We will definitely be back.


Great Stay!!! I wish I was still There!!

5 sur avril 22, 2011

It was super clean and comfortable. The bread was from a local bakery and lasted us our entire 2 night stay and more. The owners are really nice and can answer any question you have about where to eat and what to do. They have extra supplies and will bring you whatever you need. Downtown is amazing. We especially enjoyed Galena's canning factory and the popcorn factory. We plan on going back soon and many times in the future. We recommend it to everyone that wants a good place to stay and relax.


Rustic, quiet Bed & Breakfast

3,6 sur avril 20, 2011

Quiet, clean, and rustic place to stay. Very helpful and willing to take care of any problems that may arise.


review

4,2 sur avril 15, 2011

Wonderful people, great setting, rustic with a dollop of luxury, not your average, boring B & B or motel-esque resort.


our stay at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House - Great Time

4,0 sur avril 09, 2011

We loved our stay at Allen's Log Cabin - We stayed 2 nights - first night in "The Smith".. LOVED IT! Second night in "The Coach House" - Loved the bed.. it was cozy and the service was outstanding.. we'll be back for sure... thank you for a great weekend!


Wonderful Stay

3,8 sur avril 03, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The cabin was charming, romantic and peaceful. It was clean and just a few minutes from the downtown area. We brought our dog which was also a plus. The price is a little much, but worth it for a special occasion. We hope to return!


Great Place

4,0 sur mars 29, 2011

Its was a cold weekend but we were warm with each other.


Like stepping back into the 1830s.

3,6 sur mars 01, 2011

My wife and I love history and jumped on a chance to have a romantic getaway in Galena in one of these Circa 1830's cabins. We arrived and were immediately impressed by the cabins. For some reason I had thought these cabins where going to be spaced a little further apart, the where relatively close to each other, kind of like a city neighborhood. I don't know where I got that impression, but they never advertised it that way. We stayed in the Grant cabin, it was the smallest log cabin they had and it was perfect for the two of us. It was nice and cozy. The cabin was clean and waiting for us. The owner/operator welcomed us cheerfully and explained the amenities. The cabin comes with a microwave, fridge, Jacuzzi tub, TV, fireplace and firewood. There is a couch and small table and chairs to eat at. They supply you with a cork screw, coffee pot/coffee, wine glasses and tumbler glasses. In the fridge was a delicious loaf of homemade blueberry bread and two bottles of orange juice. On the bench that served as a coffee table between the couch and the fire place there was a guest book where people put in their stories and a binder with fliers and menus for local business and restaurants. One of the neatest part was the history of the building, not just how old it was but the impact of various guests. There were pennies and corks wedged into the walls at different places, left by guests as a reminder of their visit. Keep this in mind when you show up so you don't get annoyed like I did that someone jammed a cork someplace and the owner didn't clean. After figuring it out I felt like a fool. My wife and I left our own mark. I loved the location and the feel and can't wait to go back. I will say that at $228.00 after tax a night is a little pricey, but well worth the ambiance and experience. The only suggestion I would make is to find a way to hide the modern fixtures to help with the ambiance more.


a great get-away!

3,0 sur février 27, 2011

back for the second year on valentine's day weekend. great place to get away from it all and cuddle up in front of the fire.


2/18/11 getaway

4,0 sur février 23, 2011

Our stay in the cabin is exactly what my husband and I needed. Peace and quiet and a great fire. We will definitely be back.


Liked but disappointed

1,8 sur février 16, 2011

Cabin was unique but we arrived to a temperature of 65 degrees. Firewood provided caretakers thought would last Friday night, Saturday, and Sunday morning, due to temperature it only lasted one night. Had to go to Walmart for fire logs to supplement the small additional amount provided per our request. Their website offered "gourment breakfast baskets"; NO we got two bottles of oj and two small bread loaves in the mini fridge. We asked caretakers and were informed that NO...continential breakfest was on website,nothing more. I checked upon return home and again before writing this review...cut and pasted the words from their site. Also asked for additional towels, request was not warmly received. If there had been better customer service, I would have over looked BUT for the cost I felt we did not receive the care and attention we had experienced at other B&B's. Even though we liked the unique cabin option verses a hotel room, we will not go back due to mis-representation of services provided and the lack of friendliness of caretakers.


Allen's Log Cabin Smith cabin

4,4 sur décembre 30, 2010

Cabin was exceptional. Fireplace, jacuzzi. sun room and room were great and thoroughly used. Views to the east and west spotlighted the sunrises and sunsets. Still want to be there. The wine and candies were exceptional.


Stayed in Rawlins Cabin

5 sur décembre 22, 2010

These cabins are very rustic but that's what makes them great! We stayed in the Rawlins Cabin and it was a very romantic get-a-way for us. The real wood burning fireplace added a nice touch. Remember this is not a "5 star B&B" but it's not supposed to be. Only a few minutes from Galena, IL but still feels very secluded and private. We loved it. We will be back.


Allen's Log Cabin Guest House (Rawlin's Cabin)

3,0 sur décembre 19, 2010

Had a nice stay at the cabin. Cabin was decorated nicely and was unique. Our stay was in early december, so it was cold and snowy. It was a perfect atmosphere but remember these cabins are old and not very well insulated. It made for some cold mornings. Fireplaces don't produce enough heat to make a difference. We felt like we were really roughing it, and had fun with it. Did find out on our last morning that there were space heaters available. We would definately recommend people to stay. As for ourselves, we will be back again hoping the forcast during our reservation period is warmer at night.


Winter Stay...

3,4 sur décembre 09, 2010

Both Laurie and Scott were great and very accomodating. The rooms were very rustic and you felt like you were in the 1800's. The only reason why the value rated lower than anticipated was because the initial cabin we were in, which I believe was the Rawlin's Cabin had a severe draft. We cranked the heat up to 80, but the room would never get warmer than 65 degrees. Sleeping in our swetpants the first night was a must. After we addressed this to Laurie and Scott, they immediately placed us into the Smith Cabin, which was much warmer and were very accomodating. As for dining, the restaurants we ate at were in downtown Galena. This establishment doesnt qualify for any dining experiences. Defintely would consider staying again...but maybe in the summertime.


Great room, perfect setting, really happy

3,2 sur novembre 03, 2010

The room and setting were wonderful. There were some small misses on service (soap was missing but easily found, breakfast looked on the website like it was included but didn't come, hide-a-bed was broken) but these were unimportant to our overall experience which was great


A great dog-friendly experience!

3,8 sur octobre 18, 2010

2 friends and I, and my 2 small dogs stayed in the Grant Cottage for 3 nights. We loved the rustic cabin, and it was roomy enough with the pull out sofa and our inflatable twin bed. The dogs were very enchanted with the cows, not sure the cows felt the love! We made fires each night and really relaxed. surroundings are really lovely and quiet. we got a peek at the other cabins and they are all really nice. Will definitely return, and it would become a more frequent choice if the rates were a bit lower.


Allen's Log Cabin Guest House

3,6 sur octobre 09, 2010

Love the spot and the rolling pasture land views. Bed is extremely comfortable. The only things I would like to see is more light in the cabin and screen doors on both the front and back doors. Otherwise, my husband and I love it here. So peaceful!


Awesome Getaway

5 sur octobre 01, 2010

This is our second visit. We will be back for many more. Beautiful setting and a wonderful cabin.


Peaceful Cabin

3,6 sur décembre 30, 2009

Celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Log Cabin Guest House was a perfect experience for us. The atmosphere offered a quaint, unique, peaceful and romantic getaway. This little piece from history brought us an unforgettable adventure.


Best wanna get away place in the country

4,8 sur août 21, 2009

I loved this cabin in the farm country setting. The hostess was there to gret us with her dogs after we arrived and answered my questions about activites in tow. Very private and relaxing after wards. The hot tub was wonderful and the bed so comfortable. Next time I travel through, I'll be making my reservation here.


chetlain log cabin

5 sur avril 06, 2009

This was such a lovely weekend.New owners have the place since oct 2008.We normally stay at a hotel with a pool for the kids but this time they couldnt wait to return to the cabin and it was only a whirlpool.The service was by a younger couple.They were so freindly and curtiouse.Great Time


Cozy and Relaxing

4,6 sur mars 07, 2009

My husband and I went to Galena a few weeks ago for the first time. It was a fun getaway as we had never been there before.The Allen Log Cabins were cozy (it was cold that weekend), clean and the owners were friendly and helpful. They shared with us some sights to see while we were on our visit. We give the Cabins a 5 star rating!


Allen's Log Cabin Guest House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $149 - $250
  • Avis (105) 3,9
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8157774777

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut