Halana Hale Vacation Rental Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,2
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
51 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Our Second Stay in this Paradise

4,6 sur février 22, 2014

This is the second year we have stayed here on our annual visit to the Big Island. This year we brought our mothers who are in their 80's. I mention this because they found this special place to be as inviting and comfortable as my wife and I. Mahi is a first rate host and is very informative about the local area, attractions and events. The house is spacious and comfortable, the sleeping rooms as well. We enjoy the quiet 'country' feel of the property and the surroundings, yet it is close by to many of the things we enjoy doing on this part of the Big Island. Next year we are going to extend our stay to several rather than a couple of nights and make the easy drives to points north and south from here, as well as the National Park. We highly recommend this as a quality place to stay, you wont be disappointed!


A perfect retreat to the country!

4,8 sur février 11, 2014

Our next visit to the big island will include a week here. It's such an inviting house with spacious rooms and ample common area to relax inside, or out on the big deck. We like the solitude, yet it's so close to Volcano National Park, Hilo and southern beaches. The small village of Volcano has many great places to eat. The hospitality here is top notch and the wealth of local knowledge makes guiding guests to a great vacation experience a certainty! This was our second stay here, it won't be our last, highly, highly recommend!


Met people from opposite ends of the world!

3,2 sur janvier 10, 2014

The great thing about staying here is meeting people from all over the world! This time we met people from Sweden and Singapore. We traded Christmas traditions and shared places to explore and visit in the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. January happened to be "Volcanoes Awareness Month" with special events at the Visitor Center.


A quiet gem

4,4 sur août 01, 2013

We visited from the UK in December 2012 (it takes me a long time to get around to reviewing). After an initial misunderstanding over our arrival date, our host couldn't have been more welcoming. The lodge is very peaceful and was a couple of miles out of the National Park. Accommodation was very comfortable, and facilities excellent. An added bonus was the local knowledge and recommendations (dispensed over breakfast) of what places we shouldn't miss on Big Island during our stay: star-gazing from Mauna Kea with experts from the observatories was amazing, and not in our guide books.


Great place

4,4 sur mars 14, 2013

We had a great stay at the Halana Lodge. It is very peaceful and Mahi was eager to share her knowledge of local attractions. Concerns were addressed immediately. We certainly won't hesitate to stay here again.


A Pleasant Stay

3,8 sur mars 10, 2013

Location is peaceful and quiet, and convenient to Hawaii Volcanoes Nat'l Park. Stayed in the Emperor's Master Suite, which has a large bedroom and bath that were very nice. There is a large tub (and separate shower) in the bath, and a wood burning stove in the bedroom. We were so busy site seeing in the area, I wish we had an evening just to enjoy the room. The elevation make this a cool area at night. A bath robe would be nice to have, and bringing a few fire logs from the store would make starting a fire in the wood stove quick and easy. The continental breakfast included tropical fruit, cereal, cinnamon rolls, and juice. I would stay here again.


A fabulous place in the rain forest

4,6 sur février 09, 2013

My niece from Switzerland and I loved the place. It was exactly what we were looking for, a cozy place in the rain forest away from urban areas and conveniently located near the volcano. It's great for hiking in Volcano National Park and for traveling by car around Big Island and the owner is the best travel guide. Trust her and follow her advice and you'll get to experience Big Island like nobody else. Franz J


Great place to relax, write, or do research

4,6 sur janvier 19, 2013

I really love coming to Halana Lodge. I come every chance I get. I recently hosted a weekend seminar here and we had the whole house for a weekend. Everyone enjoyed their stay and said that they would like to come back next year. We had a couple cater the meals which were excellent. So we had lots of time to interact in the seminar. The evenings were relaxing around the fireplaces and the hot tub.


Fun Family Reunion!

4,2 sur janvier 07, 2013

We had 5 families and friends of our family join us at Hale Halana the week after Christmas till the day after New Year's. The Christmas decorations were still up which added to the festive atmosphere that was enjoyed by all. The hot tub was especially appreciated after long hikes in the Kilauea Iki crater and around the Volcanoes National Park. January 3rd was the 30th anniversary of the Pu'u O'o eruption! It's amazing that the lava has been flowing that long and we all enjoyed seeing the glow in the Halemaumau crater at night. We were glad we all had warm clothes, as the temperatures got down to the 50's! The grandchildren really love this place! We will definitely come again.


Perfect Location, Great Room, Would Stay Again

4,6 sur novembre 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights. The room was perfect. It was clean with plenty of room and a comfortable bed including a heated blanket. Bathroom was sufficient, could have used a paint job, otherwise, it functioned properly. The service was excellent. Mahi answered all of our questions and gave us some great ideas for sightseeing. She also provided us with some tips for food nearby. It is a small village, so this was very helpful. Breakfast consisted of a fruit, roll/bread/cinnamon roll, and eggs. The hot tub was clean well maintained. Volcano National Park is obviously close. Hilo is about a 30 minute drive. We spent one day driving to Kona and back while stopping at several secenic views along the north coast. Great experience. Great location. I would definately do it again.


Stay in Volcano.

5 sur octobre 22, 2012

This was the best stay we had on the big island. Breakfast was outstanding!


Halana lodge

5 sur octobre 21, 2012

Very nice place, feels like home but away. Mahi gave us good advice about the area. She knows all the good restaurants(so listen to her :) ) and the mustsee-places. The lodge is not far from the village, easy to find with good roads. It's a really nice big house in an oasis of a tropical garden. I would love to come back here, so nice!


Absolutely coming back here!

5 sur octobre 21, 2012

We planned on staying just 2 nights and got the place for ourself. Due to a private reason we felt like staying longer which went without problems! Mahi is hostmanship herself, makes an excellent breakfast, gave us useful tips and when needed called a doctor and pointed us out to the nearest hospital. The house is great with a hot tub, a stove(which we used cause it was so cosy!), a shared livingroom and tv-room. Our room(blue hawaii) is a spacious room with lots of light and its own bathroom. This B&B is just a 3 minute drive from volcano village, so you have some peace and quiet while being able to enjoy the area as well! Would recommend Halana Lodge to everyone and I really would like to come back! /Juliette Smulders


Very nice B&B with friendly and helpful hostess

4,4 sur septembre 04, 2012

Our stay at Halana lodge have been really nice. The room was very clean. The owner has been very nice and helpful, providing us with many suggestions on what to do in the area. One minor drawback: the lodge is a bit far away from the town center.


Hidden Gem Halana Lodge A+++++

5 sur juillet 24, 2012

We arrived at Halana Lodge and instantly knew we chose the right place to stay at Volcano. The caretaker Mahi was fantastic and so gracious. We stayed in the Empress suite, the property was very secluded and very romantic. The facilities were clean and very well maintained. In the morning, Mahi made us fresh cooked breakfast and guided us on our day. Absolutly an awesome place to stay.


Close to Volcano National Park

3,4 sur juillet 04, 2012

We arrived at Halana Lodge to find we had the place to ourselves, a wonderful suprise for my family. Mahi greeted us warmly and gave us an abundance of information on the park, restaurants and scenic drives for our drive back to Kona. The beds were very comfortable and we were provided heated blankets to stave off the cold nights. We were disappointed to find the hot tub that was listed as an amenity ( we were looking forward to a steep in the tub after a day of hiking) needed repair and would not be able to be used. Breakfast was a bit disappointing after reading previous reviews. The first morning we were given fresh papaya ( very good) and Pillsbury cinnamon rolls along with coffee and juice. The second morning was papaya and Pillsbury biscuits and jam. The breakfast was the most disappointing but not a deal breaker for staying. The kitchen was well equipped if we wanted to cook, there was wi-fi and cable television. Overall, a good experience.

Réponse du propriétaire
Our Hot tub has been in good use and is usually available, however the repairman had ordered the new heater and it had not arrived yet so for the time being it is "out of order" beyond my control... We offer a "hot" continental breakfast that is sometimes supplemented with an egg dish, we vary the breakfasts every day, so those with a longer stay get a variety.


Excellent Rooms, Beautiful Grounds, Very Helpful Hostess

4,4 sur juin 30, 2012

I brought a university graduate class to Halana Lodge and was delighted with the rooms, the service, and the attitudes. Halana gave us ample room for a home cooked meal and space for the class meetings. We received excellent advice about Volcano Village. The flexiblity of Halana in working with my large group was outstanding. I will stay at Halana Lodge again.


Charming, quiet and perfect place to stay

4,2 sur mai 07, 2012

We came across Halana Lodge last minute while driving into Volcano. We were unexpected visitors and greeted with warmth and enthusiasm. A large home tucked back into a lovely area. We slept in and woke with the sounds of the birds. Service and hospitality was remarkable! Wonderful breakfast, music, and a peaceful experience. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet affordable B&B.


Very unique property

4,0 sur janvier 18, 2012

It was nice to have large rooms to spread out in. Having a hot tub with the temps being cool (5000 feet elevation) was a plus.


Wonderful Place to Stay

4,6 sur octobre 13, 2011

This was our first trip to the Hilo side - on our honeymoon and we truly lucked out with this beautiful hide-away. It wasn't just because we were the only guests but because Mahi, the innkeeper, made us feel so welcome. She was a true fount of knowledge - giving us enough information to have a few days of relaxation along with plenty of adventure. The house has everything you would want - including a hot tub on the back lanai and even a small hiking trail through the rain forest in the back of the property. This place is great for families and couples. It's located in the back country in the VERY small town of Hilo but it makes for a beautiful retreat at the end of a busy day either in Hilo or at the Volcano National Park. We hope to make it back here again some time soon.


Halana Lodge, retreat on the outskirts

3,4 sur août 26, 2011

We discovered the Halana Lodge online and were so relieved to arrive after a long day's drive. We'd driven from Kona and spent the day hiking. Luckily we found the surprisingly remote lodge before nightfall. Our hosts, Larry and Sarah, were very helpful in suggesting activities and restaurants in the area. They really made the visit memorable by suggesting that we drive up to the park after dinner at the Kilauea Lodge to view the red glow of the caldera. It's a spacious home and there were guests in only one room during our stay, so it almost felt like we had a private lodge. The internet WiFi was a treat and there were several public rooms for the family to relax in. The breakfasts were generous and delicious but nothing extraordinary. We didn't leave hungry and returned after another long day exploring the Kilauea lava lake to soak and relax before leaving for home. I'd recommend the lodge for those wanting quiet, who don't mind being on the outskirts of commerce (the lodge is about 5 - 7 minutes from the Volcano Village stores and restaurants) and enjoy having plenty of space to spread out in. Happy trails, Elaine Masters


Halana Lodge

4,0 sur juillet 03, 2011

With the innkeepers living in a neighboring cottage we really felt comfortable "having the run of the place." Laundry facilities were very welcome. The breakfasts were wonderful and not the same menu every day. Beautiful grounds and a comfortable homelike setting.


Great place

3,8 sur juin 26, 2011

My family and I stayed here for one night. The place is about 5 miles from the national park. The place is clean, the owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, a fruit cup, souffle, juice, coffee, etc. More food than I could eat. My only compaint is a runny toilet in the bathroom with our room. But that was only a minor issue. I would definitely go back.


Halana Lodge

4,0 sur mai 20, 2011

Great place near the Volcano on the Big Island in Hawaii. Our room included Queen size bed and single bed with full bath. Breakfast included fresh fruit, egg dish and danish. We enjoyed visiting with other B&Bers!


great little getaway

3,8 sur mai 12, 2011

Perfect location near Volcano National Park. Good hospitality from Larry and Sarah. Quiet relaxed atmosphere. Good restaurants nearby. It is near everything while being in the middle of nowhere. Great place!!!


Halana Lodge

4,8 sur mars 26, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in room 5, Blue Hawaiian, in March 2011. Beautiful house in gorgeous location. Sarah and Larry are very knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast is outstanding and varies daily. Excellent value. Would stay again.


Great stay and location!

5 sur mars 01, 2011

Great B&B...hearty breakfast...great hosts...wonderful room...fantastic common area. Highly recommend!


Very comfortable!

5 sur février 19, 2011

Larry and Sarah were delightful and attentive inn keepers. We loved our room, the common areas were well appointed and very comfortable and breakfast was super. Great hot tub, too! We would stay with them again in a heartbeat!


nice room, clean and friendly inn keeper

4,0 sur février 08, 2011

good , clean an nice inn keepers. But location is a bit far. Well equipped, with everything amenites.


Awesome stay

5 sur février 06, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Halana Lodge. Larry and Sarah made the stay very special from their awesome breakfasts to the advice that they gave on local attractions to see. The Halana Lodge is very clean and comfortable and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. I would definitely recommend this as the place to stay when you are visiting Volcano, HI.


Great "Home" Feeling!

4,4 sur février 02, 2011

We stayed for a week in May, 2010 and overlooked submitting a review then. We just recommended Halana Lodge to a friend whose son was looking for a great honeymoon getaway. We feel confident in recommending this B&B. The innkeepers, Larry & Sarah are so welcoming, the breakfasts were yummy and we have never felt so relaxed on a vacation. We truly felt at home there. Less than 10 minutes to the entrance of Volcano National Park. There's so much to see. ENJOY!


Really nice place

4,0 sur janvier 21, 2011

Halana Lodge is areally nice place to stay.Everyone is friendly and they give you good advise what to do and where to go.We stayed in Room nr. 5 which is a great room tht only thing is that you can hear the hottub all night.But everything else is good.


A little bit out of town but FANTASTIC Place

4,4 sur décembre 03, 2010

This place is beautiful, the rooms are very large and the breakfast the best anywhere. As far as the location goes, there are a number of BnBs that are in town or closer to it, but if you're traveling by car the extra 5 minutes really don't matter. We highly recommend this place!


Halana Lodge stay

4,0 sur novembre 29, 2010

We stayed one night when we visited the Volcano area. The lodge was easy to get to, and the room with one queen and two twins and a private bath was perfect for our family of four. Everyone was very friendly and breakfast was lovely.


A pleasant stay

3,0 sur novembre 21, 2010

A pleasant stay in Nov 2010. Place not easy to find. Excellent breakfeast.


Lovely B&B in Volcano with excellent innkeepers

4,6 sur novembre 11, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Halana Lodge. It is in a beautiful quiet location near the Volcano Park. Larry and Sara, the innkeepers, were terrific hosts with lots of informaiton about the area and tips on what to see. Breakfast was terrific and plentiful. Our room the Blue Hawaii was comfortable and the common areas are spacious and attractive. The internet worked flawlessly. We had use of the washer and dryer, as well. It is important to remember to bring some warm clothes for this area as it is cool in the morning and evenings.


Very enjoyable stay

4,8 sur octobre 11, 2010

Very peaceful location a few minutes outside of Volcano Park. lots of activities close by. Very charming innkeepers.


Nice but could be a little cleaner

3,4 sur septembre 26, 2010

I stayed at the Halana Lodge in Volcano HI. The rooms were very nice and clean. The Inn keepers are super friendly. The outside of the building is covered with spider web and is a little dirtier than I would have liked. Overall we were satisfied but would probably not return.

Réponse du propriétaire
One can focus on the natural beauty of Hawaii, the wonders of the Volcano and the hospitality of the Lodge, or one can focus on the cobwebs of life.


Great One Night Stay! Excellent way to see the Volcano

4,6 sur septembre 25, 2010

Larry and Sarah were very nice. They were very informative about what to see while in Volcano. Secluded location and very quite. Breakfast was great.


Great Stay!

4,2 sur mars 09, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Halana Lodge. Sarah and Larry are very friendly and gave us great advice to explore the island. Their house is highly comfortable, the breakfasts delicious and we really felt at home. MAHALO for this great place!


A wonderful place to stay - we be back for sure.

4,4 sur mars 07, 2010

Halana Lodge was a wonderful surprise. We live on Oahu and have stayed in Hilo hotels before, but this was our first B&B stay on the Big Island. The lodge is less than a 15 minute drive from the Volcanos National Park entrance, but it is far enough away that the rest of the world slides into your rear view mirror. The house is large with comfortable open lounges and a pleasant kitchen. The bedrooms are a good place to drop your things and sleep in peace, but the long lanai (porch) on the back of the house, the hot tub, the large yard, the fireplaces in the living and TV rooms, and Larry and Sarah make this a place you look forward to getting back to. We eagerly dug into the wonderful breakfasts that they whipped up, and found it difficult at times to leave the lodge to get back to sightseeing. Larry and Sarah are personable and easy-going, and they make it obvious that your comfort is their business. There are other B&Bs in Volcanos and on the Big Island, but I don't think we'll search them out the next time we visit. We'll give Larry and Sarah a call and see what's available... and then look forward to our next arrival. (yes, I DID like the place this much :-)


Hawaiian Vacation

5 sur février 01, 2010

Lex & I had a wonderful stay at Halana Lodge - it is so quiet & peaceful.


Very nice place to stay.

4,8 sur janvier 26, 2010

Fill lilke home.


A Pleasant Stay

5 sur janvier 08, 2010

We came here for vacation and we liked this B&B. The location is perfect (near the volcano park), the room is nice, large and clean. The breakfast is nice and the managers are friendly and helpful. We will definitely come again!


Home at Volcano

5 sur janvier 08, 2010

Halana Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The Innkeepers made it feel like we were family, and were a wealth of information about the volcano and local points of interest. Highest recommendation.


Halana Lodge

4,2 sur octobre 27, 2009

Great place to stay. Hosts are terrific & knowledgeable


Quiet and Secluded

4,0 sur octobre 26, 2009

Halana Lodge is a little off the beaten track; in a beautiful setting. The room was a nice size and there is plenty of public space to share. The breakfast was simple but very good. Innkeepers were pleasant and shared local information.


Nice secluded spot away from the crowds

2,4 sur septembre 23, 2009

In a great spot surrounded by rainforest. Exterior in need of a make-over. Very hospitable and friendly managers Sarah & Larry.

Réponse du propriétaire
We recognize that it is probably impossible to please all of our guests all of the time, but we do try hard to make their stay a wonderful experience. We are mystified by this review, since our guests' comments to us have all been positive. (One guest said her tub drained slowly, which we immediately fixed.) We will redouble our efforts to earn the outstanding ratings we previously received.


Peaceful and Relaxing

5 sur août 13, 2009

Breakfast was delicious! Very relaxing atmosphere. Only minor negative is the shower in room 4 did not drain well, but it was fixed. Loved the hot tub!


Halana Lodge

4,8 sur mai 19, 2009

House was wonderful, hosts were very nice, and breakfast was great.


A relaxing stay

5 sur mai 11, 2009

We enjoyed our stay and thank Hal and Lana for their hospitality. Great rooms, beautiful view! Mahalo!


Halana Hale Vacation Rental

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $130 - $195
  • Avis (51) 4,4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8088547654

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut