Bears' Place Guest House Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas3,8

Notation basée sur
87 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Serene and so clean!

5 sur juillet 20, 2014

Bear's Place was outstanding! We spent one week in Hilo before coming to the Kona side and we really appreciated the cleanliness upon arrival. Also, it was so quiet and so comfortable that we quickly realized how much better it was to have stayed away from the tourist area, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I come back in the future. We stayed in the Plumeria room and although there was no 'kitchen', the other cooking essentials were perfect! They really have thought of everything to make your trip easy and convenient. Thank you so much Ann! Namaste my friend!


Orchid Suite Recommended

4,4 sur avril 18, 2014

We had a good stay in the Orchid Suite. It was clean, very well furnished and had a fully equipped modern kitchen. The view from the lanai is fabulous and we loved listening to the birds. The road to the property is steep. We appreciated the welcome basket as well as the daily "goodies" that Nanette and Anne left for us. Nanette provided helpful information regarding where to find free parking, scenic roads, sights to see, etc. The laundry facility, available for a small fee, also came in very handy.


Comfortable, easy affordable!

4,0 sur mars 31, 2014

We have stayed at Bears Place before, and will continue to come back. The rooms are spacious, right up the hill from the airport and Kona making it easy to get to wherever you are going. Anne and Nanette are around frequently to make sure we have everything we need. And it's affordable!


Nice place easy acces

2,8 sur mars 24, 2014

Their was not realy a possibility to cook dinner at the appartment as their is no cook top. We would go back but we would rent the appartment with a full kitchen.

Réponse du propriétaire
We now have portable stove tops in all studios that have kitchenettes. There is also an electric skillet, rice cooker/vegetable steamer, full size microwave, medium size refrigerator/freezer, toaster, coffeemaker, hot water kettle, cooking pot and utensils, salad bowls, plates, cups and silverware.


Nice place away from downtown activities.

3,6 sur février 19, 2014

Nice place to stay. I would recommend it to those who would like a nice place to stay away from the downtown activity. The guest house is surrounded by locals, so you do get barking dogs and crowing roosters. The garden is beautiful and made it a little oasis. The owners were very helpful and accommodating to requests.


Excellent choice in Kailua-Kona area

5 sur janvier 18, 2014

We stayed in the Hibiscus room for 5 days and were pleasantly surprised. Nanette and Anne went above and beyond to ensure our comfort with a "welcome breakfast" in the fridge the night we arrived, providing lots of tourist info for us (including many recommendations), and friendly hospitality. The room itself has a wonderful environment giving one the feeling of being in a jungle house while in a neighborhood that is only minutes from downtown Kailua-Kona, the airport, and the Hawaiian Belt Highway. This was extremely convenient as we were able to minimize time stuck in traffic and maximize time at the sites themselves. We toured all of the north, west and south of the island while staying at Bears' Place without having to spend a lot time driving. I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing, stay in the Kailua-Kona area. You will not be disappointed. To note, I had to enter a "dining score" but this guest house does not serve meals (aside from the "welcome package" of fruit, butter, jam, etc that is left in the fridge for your first morning, and the little bowls of nuts, chocolates, etc that they left each day. They do, however, provide everything you'll need to cook your meals. A quick trip to the grocery store, and you are all set to eat.


A place to be

4,6 sur décembre 21, 2013

If I had known that Bears' Place was so beautiful, I would spend there all my week in Big Island!! Anne and Nanette are very nice and willing to give a lot of info and advices. Hibyscus room was great, big and very very clean. We had breakfast in our private lanai, surrounded by tropical flowers, palms and singing birds. The room is equipped with everything you need to make coffee, tea and cook. There are fridge, microwave, electric pan etc. We could cook even pancakes! If you need you can use washing and drying machines. If one day I'll be back in Big Island I'll stay here again, no doubt. Marco


Good value for money with personal touch

4,6 sur décembre 18, 2013

We stayed 3 weeks in the orchid suite and felt very much like home. The kitchen is well equipped. The living/bedroom is spacious, the lanai has a wonderful view. We enjoyed very much sitting there having meals. It is always a few degrees cooler at this spot than at the coast. We found this very refreshing. Our hosts nanette and anne were looking every day at the house, very carring and helpfull for every question.


Nice place far from the action

4,2 sur décembre 12, 2013

We stayed in the Hibiscus room on the first floor. The view from the balcony is on a tropical garden with tall banana trees. The breakfast for the first morning is in the fridge . The room is equipped with everything you need for quick lunches but you can hardly cook a dinner since there is no stove and if you want to go to the restaurant you will have to drive down the road for about 8 miles. The B&B is a bit far from the beaches but it is a very nice place and Nanette the owner will give you good advices.


great place to stay

4,6 sur octobre 27, 2013

Bonus to have extra ammenities available for beach use and a washer and dryer!! thanks ever so much. Would stay again and recommend it to others.


A perfekt place!

3,4 sur octobre 25, 2013

I really enjoyed the stay! It is a great place! Nice and cool in the evening! They were also very frindly! Thanks you very much!


Idyllic stay at Bear's Place

4,8 sur octobre 22, 2013

The large studio apartment was a delight for us. The kitchen was large and outstandingly well-equipped. The views of the surrounding garden and the coast (1600ft below) were refreshing. Nannete's support and care were excellent.


High in the hills

4,8 sur septembre 11, 2013

We reserved the Hibiscus room for two nights and the Orchid Suite for three. Anne has stocked her guest house with everything a traveler could need and she made sure we were enjoying ourselves. We were very impressed! A word of warning....the lower unit had a slight musty smell; probably due to the less cross ventilation. The upper suite had none. This guest house is up the side of a mountain [we're from Florida] out in the country with a superb view of the Pacific from the units upstairs. It's about a ten minute drive to town. Expect some dog barking and rooster crowing.


hawaiian paradise

4,6 sur septembre 10, 2013

one of the nicest places ever. anne and Nanette make you feel so welcome and truly show the spirit of aloha.a first class establishment in every way.


Short stay (5 days) at Bears' Place Guest House

2,8 sur septembre 03, 2013

The guest nice was in a nice location but no view of the ocean. It has been fitted out fairly cheaply and the curtains do not close so privacy is not guaranteed. It is hard to have a sleep in as there is a local rooster who crows every morning at 5am. The owners sometimes wonder in and around at various times which means that privacy is not always guaranteed and if you don't want something touched, leave a note so they know it. I think the place would be good if you like to chatter but if you value your privacy, think of somewhere else to go. The place is not suitable for a family as the fridge is the size of one that you get in a hotel room not allowing for much food (the ability to cook your own food is one of the reasons people often stay in a B&B or guest lodge). There are minimal cooking facilities but if you are just heating stuff up, then it is adequate. Its close to the airport and only 15 minutes from Kona so location is good.


Kona vacation

3,8 sur août 19, 2013

Everything was excellent except I never received one breakfast during my stay. I received some fruit the first day and then some candy and nuts the other days. That was a big disappointment


All dogs go to heaven

4,6 sur août 07, 2013

Grreat room


Second visit at Bear's

4,2 sur juin 13, 2013

We stayed in the Orchid Suite on our second visit and had another fantastic time! The full kitchen was nice to help save cost on meals by having breakfast in the room daily and the occasional lunch or dinner during the week. Bear's is always SO CLEAN that I wish I could get Nanette and Anne to come home with us. We enjoy the company and local history and tips these great ladies share with us! Having access to the washer/dryer is a plus since we had been in the islands for 2 weeks...less clothing packed means more room for goodies going home. They do charge now, but at $4.50 for wash/dry, detergent and softener it's a deal! The area around Bear's is quiet and not touristy, yet it's close to all you need. We love this place and will stay there again if we get back to the big island.


Beautiful place!!!

4,4 sur avril 05, 2013

We had a great vacation at the Bears Place, friendly hosts. It`s a beautiful place to relax. Thanks for the welcome basket!!!! We`ll come back again. Manuela and Michael


Stayed at Bears Place Mid February 2013

4,4 sur avril 03, 2013

Bears Place was an extremely clean and comfortable suite with all the amenities necessary in a Guest house. The little treat left each day was a very nice surprise! Annette was very accommodating with where to find good beaches, good food and sights to see. We really enjoyed our stay at Kailua Kona a lot!


excellent value for money

4,8 sur avril 01, 2013

I was very satisfied with my stay at the studio apartment of this guest house. It offers great comfort and ample space and provisions compared to some other places in this price range. In addition, it was very clean, the seaside balcony is amazing. You can tell that the ladies who run the business are very involved in what they're doing, it was a pleasure meeting them.


Bear's Place is Great!

5 sur mars 27, 2013

One of my favorite places in Hawaii! Highly recommended.


Horizons

4,6 sur mars 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in the Orchid suite . We enjoyed watching sunsets from lanai,even got to watch full moon set from our bed(which was very comfortable).The kitchen is well equiped ,it accommendates many peoples tastes for cooking needs if you think you need it look in the cupboard its there!Nanette & Anne were eager to help with information of the area to meet our specific interests.These warm and inviting ladies make this a place we highly recommend & will return to in our future visits.David & Lisa


Excellent accommodations

4,0 sur mars 14, 2013

Wonderful facility and enjoyable stay


Best B&B we ever had

4,2 sur mars 09, 2013

great place, great view, we would go again, no breakfast on this Guest House


well equipped big room

4,8 sur mars 04, 2013

The "Hibiscus-Room" is a very big, bright, modern and well equipped room. Everything is there to make a good breakfast or a small dinner. We loved to sit on the big balcony, even without the ocean view. The owner are very friendly and helpful


great location

4,4 sur février 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Anne and Nanette surprised us by leaving our first day's breakfast in the refrigerator and a little snack for us each night. The room was very comfortable. Nanette and Anne thought of everything to make our stay just perfect.


Absolutely loved Bears Place

5 sur février 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in February and had booked the Orchid suite. It is exactly as the photos show it to be on the website. The suite was large, had a fully equipped kitchen, 2 sofas, a very comfortable bed, TV, large fully furnished lanai and the property had high quality furnishings. This suite has everything you need for self catering, hob, oven, dishwasher, lots of crockery, pots, pans, kettle, tea, coffee, spices, condiments and much more. Everywhere is spotless and very well maintained. There are beach chairs, beach towels and boogies boards available for us to use. You can see the ocean from the lanai and the surrounding area is very peaceful - it's outside of the main town of Kona down a very quiet side road. The owners do not live on the property but only live a few doors down the road so are easily accessible should you need them - contact phone numbers are left for you just in case you need them. Both Anne and Nanette are very welcoming and friendly, they have heaps of information on the local area and provide some really good tips on things to do and beaches to visit for specific activities. The free wifi was very reliable and fast. There is also a car parking space available for each of the 4 rooms. A guest laundry is also available and costs $4.50 to wash and dry, detergent is provided. We cannot fault Bears Place, everything was perfect and it was the best accommodation we stayed at during our 15 night trip to the Big Island the only thing we are sad about is that we didn't stay here for longer. We would highly recommend Bears Place and will definitely stay again when we return.


Great place to stay in Kona

4,6 sur février 10, 2013

We stayed at Bears place for 3 nights in the Pineapple suite. The operators were friendly and helpful. The suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. Even though we did not have a full kitchen there were enough supplies to prepare basic light meals and a place to do dishes outside of the room. We would definitely stay here again.


Charming Guest House

4,4 sur février 03, 2013

My wife and I recently spent one week at the Bears Place Guest House in the Hibiscus Suite. It was very clean, comfortable and well equipped for preparing simple meals. The owner was extremely friendly and very helpfull with information about our interests in exploring the island which made us feel welcome. The guest house is surrounded by many tropical plants ,trees and flowers. We were truly surrounded by nature. We would certainly recommend this property for those who enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of a rural setting and community. Herman and Olive


great hosts

4,6 sur janvier 26, 2013

everything was great!


Beautiful place!

4,6 sur décembre 04, 2012

We enjoyed four days here in the cool tropical gardens. The hosts were very helpful and knowledgeable.


Bears's Place

5 sur novembre 07, 2012

This guesthouse is a wonderful place on this tropical island. The furnishing is very tasteful. Whatever you plan or decide to you you get competent assistance. Andrea and Daniel Schallmo, Germany


THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP!!

5 sur septembre 17, 2012

We had a fabulous time on the Island, thanks to our amazing host! She made sure we had everything we needed, being extremely helpful, kind and attentionate!! We're looking forward to visit again, our great experience made this Island our favorite! Her jam tastes incredible - a great way to start every morning! We highly recommend it!!! - Corina & Andre


Wonderful week in paradise

5 sur septembre 06, 2012

Ann and Nanette are wonderful hosts, sharing their knowledge and love of the island with guests. They provided great recommendations for beaches, parking in town, restaurants and anything else we had questions about. The studio was large and clean, the kitchen had everything we needed and the lanai was a comfortable and relaxing place to enjoy morning coffee or to watch the sunset.


Great place to stay!

4,4 sur août 22, 2012

Very cozy and close to Kona (10 min drive). A relaxing atmosphere in a local neighborhood and secluded enough to get away from the touristy scene. Make sure to take bug spray as there are mosquitos out and about, but nothing out of the usual for the up country. Enjoy!


Wonderful hospitality!

4,2 sur août 19, 2012

What a lovely place! So peaceful. Anne was so nice and helpful, she gave us so many tips and showed us great places to visit on a map, we had a fantastic time at Bears Place and the Big Island. Thanks, Nina and Jurgen


Three nights in the Bears P(a)lace

3,8 sur juillet 25, 2012

Nice, large & quite rooms. Anne is very friendly! There is no dining, therefore the low dining-rating


Perfect!

4,6 sur juillet 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and there was everything that we needed/expected. Everything was very clean, the host Anne was super nice and helpful. We had a great time there!


What a great place!

4,6 sur juillet 07, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our first vacation to the Big Island. Nanette was very helpful and offered lots of suggestions for attractions and great snorkeling spots. The house is up the hill above Kona in a residential area, so it is not within walking distance of dining or entertainment. However, we found that a car rental is essential on the island anyway since the main attractions are all some distance from each other. It is about a 15 minute drive to the Kona waterfront. We really enjoyed having a place where we could prepare food and avoid dining out for every meal. The view from the lanai is fabulous and was a great place for breakfast and morning coffee before each day's adventure began. I would definitely recommend Bear's Place to anyone heading to Kona. JM - Durham, NC


Very nice

5 sur juillet 03, 2012

We've been at Bears Place for about 1week. The owners Anne & Nanette are very friendly and helpful people. The first day a small Breakfast was already waiting for us in the refridgerator which was very nice cos we arrived late in the evening. Our Studio "Orchid" was really big and nicely arranged. From the balkony u have a nice view on the sunset. Beach chairs, bodyboards and a cooling box can be used by the inhabitants such as a washing Maschine and a dryer in a separate room. To Konas beach side its just 10-15min by car. The price for that Studio was was quite well because we got discount for booking more than 5 days. Altogether we had a very good time here and therefore we can absolutely recommend it. Felix


Relaxing and Enjoyable!

5 sur juin 27, 2012

We stayed two weeks in the Pineapple Suite and really enjoyed it. The suite was spacious, well appointed and very clean. We especially enjoyed the view from the front room of the lush banana trees which were very pretty against the white railing. The surrounding gardens were full of tropical flowers and little red headed birds would come to sit on the railing. Everything we needed was provided with a smile and every day there was a little treat to look forward to. Bears' Place even provided us with beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards and water noodles for our fun trips to the many beaches. We felt the suite was an excellent value and the hospitality was outstanding. We would recommend Bears' Place to anyone who wanted to feel relaxed and comfortable on their vacation. Karen & Rory California


Our best vacation in Hawaii and all other islands

5 sur juin 14, 2012

This guest house has great appartments with enough space for our vacation. They are mostly new and very clean. The house is close to the airport and to Kailua Kona. Because it's located at the mountain there we heared absolultly no noise - either from the airport nor the highway. As you can see in the photos the house is surrounding from a wonderful tropical garden. Each Appartement has it's own large balcony where we looked to the nature. Very Beautiful!! We could use their washer and dryer. Anne and her daugther Nanette are very wonderful ladies which gave us a very warm welcome. They talked in german to us. We had very nice conversations and they gave us valuable hints. We recommend Bear's Place Guest House to all guys. If we ever return to Hawaii we will stay here for vacation. Tanja and Roland from Germany


Great Find

4,6 sur juin 04, 2012

Turned out to be super location for business. Close to the airport, close to County offices, and close to downtown Kona. Also close to great locations on the Kohala Coast. The room is spacious and clean, the view is nice, the gardens are beautiful, and the snacks in the fridge were delicious. Anne and Nanette are lovely hosts.


Very impressed

5 sur juin 04, 2012

Note that the "Dining" score above is irrelevant because this property provides no food service. We are very glad we picked this place for our first trip to Hawaii. Our room was big, clean and comfortable. It provided everything we needed and more, including laundry facilities with detergent provided. Nannette's hospitality exceeded expectations. She even let us borrow a cooler for a two-day trip to the other side of the island (after we checked out of her place)! The guest house is not within walking distance to anything but one can't really enjoy the Big Island without a rental car, anyway. The drive to Kailua-Kona town was short and convenient. We would recommend this place to anyone. - Jay and Peggy


A very pleasant stay at Bears

4,4 sur mars 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bears for 17 night (from 02/16/2012 to 03/04/2012). We read reviews before we made our reservation. What we like to say is on top of what other had said. Ann & Nanette have the experience and ability to choose good and quiet guests so every party there will have a enjoyable stay. We met both Ann & Nanette and they have got extensive knowledge of the Big island. It was a great stay for us and we will stay there when we go back to Big island next time. Tomoko and George Tokyo, Japan 03/13/2012


great place to stay

4,2 sur février 27, 2012

We had a great stay here. Nanette is an inspiration to me and so easy to talk to, it's obvious she takes pride in her guest house, she does such a fine job with this place. I felt welcomed and valued. Everyone should get a try of her passion fruit jam it is fantastic, plus her little surprises are always nice. location is close to airport and I would recommend car hire but car hire is needed if you want to be able to see all of the big island anyway.


A Pleasant Stay away from the crowd

4,0 sur février 17, 2012

A very nice place to stay. Breakfast awaits you your first day. Every night we came home to a snack waiting for us in our room which was a nice surprise. So nice to have beach chairs, beach towels, etc provided. We would stay there again but would rent the upsatirs suite where you have a better view from the Lanai.


Bears' Place Guest House

5 sur février 17, 2012

We had a really wonderful stay at Bear's Place Guest House! Nanette and Anne made us feel so welcome . We loved the lanai , and the little treats that appeared every day- eg. cookies/ nuts/ chocolate. It was also great to have free access to beach chairs, umbrellas, and boogie boards . This is one place we will recommend to everyone we know!


A place in the coffee zone

4,0 sur février 16, 2012

Nanette runs a wonderful guest house. The views are great, and being 1000' above sea level, it gets nice and cool in the evening. We stayed 4 days in the Plumeria suite. The walls between suites were a bit thin, and so the other occupants could be easily heard. Late arrivals or early departures were the most noticeable. Nanette was very responsive to any requests, and provided surprise treats (cookies, nuts, chocolate truffles) in the evenings. The breakfast treats for the first morning were especially appreciated.


A Nice Place To Stay

5 sur février 08, 2012

We stayed 10 nights at Bears place and loved it. Nanette is a great host, friendly, nice and knowledgeable about the area. We were in the Pulmeria Suite, very large and comfortable. Nanette left treats daily, a nice surprise when we got back. The next time we will try for the Orchid Suite as it has a full kitchen. Mahalo Nanette. Harry & Lorree ,Camano Island, WA


Excellent guest house around Kailua Kona

5 sur janvier 28, 2012

Summary: Great place to stay! Details: About 10 min. drive from airport and from the center of Kailua Kona, in a very quiet residential area. The hosts, Anne and Nanette, are very friendly and helpful. Choose one of the upstairs rooms because the view is outstanding. The kitchen is better equipped than any kitchen I have seen during my travels in Hawaii. The price is fair. The room I stayed at is huge. The bed is great and that's very rare. It couldn't have been cleaner (I will never understand why hotels and guest houses have carpets; but this one looked very clean). If you want to stay in the middle of a town, this is not for you. If you want to sleep on a quiet place - go for it! It's a shame (but also a chance) that it seems often not to be fully booked...


Homestyle Comfort in Paradise

4,4 sur janvier 20, 2012

Bears' Place was everything their reviews said it would be. Clean rooms that looked exactly like the pictures, friendly and helpful hosts, and a peaceful setting within easy driving distance of beaches, dining, hiking and more. It's a knockout value, and I can't wait to sit on the lanai and watch the geckos play while drinking coffee on my next visit.


Great place for a stay in Kona area

5 sur décembre 24, 2011

The place is very nice and clean. Each room has a large lanai with a beautiful view of the garden. The host was very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding attractions. The thing that I liked the most about this place is that every small thing shows that the host cares about making your stay as pleasant as possible. For example, even though they do not officially serve breakfast, they put one into our refrigerator the first day we arrived, so that we didn’t have to run around looking for food early next day. Each morning they leave at your door some fresh fruit from the garden. You can also gather whatever fruits they have by yourself if you like. Beach towels, boogey boards, beach chairs and cooler were available for free right in the room when we needed them. In case you want to cook your own food, they also provide you with a small electrical skillet on the lanai, very useful in the morning if you don’t feel like going out for breakfast. Washer and dryer are also free including the detergent. Overall, we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay there the next time I visit Hawaii.


Perfectly met our needs!

4,6 sur novembre 28, 2011

This was a great home base for a friend and I who stayed in the Hibiscus room at Bear's Place. We had all that we needed and the location was great for us. Having access to washer dryer were wonderful, as well as loaning us beach towels and chairs. The owners/hostesses were friendly, accomodating and responsive. We would highly recommend the place and would definately stay if returning.


Very nice view !

4,8 sur novembre 03, 2011

The Plumeria Suite is very quiet, and beautiful ocean view. Thank you Anne and Nanette for everything ... their warm welcome and their very good advices for visiting the Island ! I come from France, I live in Saskatchewan in Canada, and for sure I will say to everyone, how the bear's Place Guest Home is a very good place to stay. I hope I come back again soon.


great place to stay

4,0 sur octobre 18, 2011

a very nice place to stay with a wonderfull garden. the view at the pinepeal suite is through the banana trees but it is so quite....


Nice stay in Bears' Place

4,0 sur octobre 05, 2011

The guest house is very nice - The rooms were as showen in the pictures and kept very clean. The owners are open and friendly. We were able to "check in" late in the night and met them on the following morning! Based on being a guest house - we were very surprised and happy about a first breakfast being in our refridgerator (it is a guest house without breakfast!). Although we got some sweet surprisings daily! Thanks also for the good advices concerning our stay on Hawaii!! - Dinner met expectations, because there was no dinner available -


Nice Guest House!

3,6 sur septembre 12, 2011

Nice place to stay, near Kailua and the beatiful beaches of North Kona/South Kohala. Rooms are perfect, big and clean, with a nice lanai and stuff to cook on the room. Our hostess were nice and friendly, and they gave us nice tips about where to go for bodyboarding and snorkel. If we ever go back to Hawaii we will stay back with them. Thanks!


lovely place to stay

5 sur septembre 07, 2011

The room was much bigger than expected. Wonderfully decorated & very clean. It really was lovely to stay here - it was just a shame there was so much to see in Hawaii otherwise we would have enjoyed spending more time here! Self contained & everything you need for a nice relaxing break & in a nice quiet area. Laundry room too so really everything you'd need. Some nice touches from the owners - welcome fruit & bagels in the fridge on arrival and little treats when we returned each day. It is a few miles out of town so a car is essential. Owners able to advise on best beaches for swimming and places to visit. Would definately recommend it as a place to stay.


wonderland!!!

5 sur août 29, 2011

we had a wonderful time on big island!!!! b&b was great and highly recommended!!!!! thanks a lot to nanette and anne!!!!!! hugs and kisses isa, günther, gabriel schermann


Paradise Found!

4,6 sur juin 07, 2011

We spent a week in Bears' Place Guest House and truly found paradise! Anne and her granddaughter greeted us with open arms, showing us around the place and highlighting some great beaches for us. She also provided some very helpful hints about parking and shopping. The Plumeria Suite was delightful with a wonderful breeze always and a view of the Kona coast. We loved the tranquility of the guest house listening to the birds every morning sipping Kona coffee on the lanai. It was great being away from the touristy area, yet so close to do all we wanted. We felt like o'hana as Anne checked in on us daily, but wasn't obtrusive at all. We plan to return to Bears' Place Guest House as soon as possible! Laura and Eric Ebersohl


Huge place with great hosts

4,6 sur mai 31, 2011

The hosts were very friendly and offered us everything we needed for an enjoyable stay near Kona. Although, the place is at about 15 minutes from downtown, it's still worth driving there (you already spend a lot of time driving on Big Island to discover different parts so it doesn't change much). The room/condo was very clean and provided us with everything my girlfriend and I needed in the kitchen but also to go to the beach. We highly recommend the place and we'll make sure to go back there if we ever go back on Big Island.


Bears' Place Guest House Great Place to Stay

4,0 sur mai 17, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. Arrived late the first night. A little tricky to find in the dark but once there it was great. Although not a B&B, Anne provided our breakfast the first day and daily afternoon treats. Very clean and well equipped with very friendly, helpful owner. We really enjoyed the lanai and garden. I would love to return.


Like having good friends... Who happen to live in Kona

4,2 sur mai 12, 2011

I stayed in the Orchid Suit, because I wanted to have the full kitchen,which was much better supplied than most vacation condos - good selection of pots and pans,dishes,blender and mixer,amongst other things. Anne and Nannette left breakfast on the first day, and little treats the other days. Nannette's tips for places to go and things to do made meter like a local. The house is above town, so a place to get peace and quiet, not the place to walk to restaurants and bars. About a 15 minute drive from the center of town. The environment is nice, starting from the outside, good convenient parking area, pretty, swell-kept garden, inside the units are good carpeting, furniture, and fixtures.


Ruhiges und sauberes Zuhause unterwegs

5 sur mai 12, 2011

Wir haben die 3 Nächte im Bears' Place sehr geschätzt. Wir haben insgesamt 5 B&B's genutzt während unserer Zeit in Hawaii: wir haben nur gute Erfahrungen gehabt, aber Bears' Place war das beste. Der Raum war grosszügig, praktisch eingerichtet und sehr sauber. Zum Kochen eines einfachen Nachtessens und zum Frühstücken hat es alles, was es braucht und für an den Strand kann man gut erhaltene und saubere Kühlboxen, Buggyboards, Tücher etc ausleihen. Ebenfalls besonders geschätzt haben wir die super instand gehaltene und saubere Waschmaschine und den Tumbler. Aufs Meer sah man von der unteren Wohnung aus nicht, aber dank den Bananenstauden, dem schönen Garten und der Ruhe fühlt man sich wie in einer grünen Oase. Wir danken Anne und ihrer Familie für die herzliche Gastfreundschaft und wünschen ihnen alles Gute! We stayed for 3 nights at Bears' Place and enjoyed it very much. From all 5 great B&Bs we had during our holidays in Hawaii, Bears' Place was our favorite. The room was spacious, convenient and quiet. To cook an easy dinner and for breakfast it had everything one needs and for the beach, Eskys, towels, boogy boards etc were available (and in very good condition compared to other B&Bs). Thanks to Anne and her Family for their warm hospitality. Moni & Otto


Bears' Place

4,6 sur mai 04, 2011

We normally don't write reviews and read them with caution; however, this one is worth noting. Staying at Bears' Place far exceeded our expectations and, indeed, made our trip to Hawaii "special." From sitting out on the deck and watching the sunset to exploring the garden and picking tropical fruit... The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hospitality spectacular with "treats" provided as noted by many of the comments written on their web page. We also appreciated being able to borrow beach towels, chairs/mats, and boogie boards and their local advice on where to go snorkeling/exploring on the Island. We would definitely recommend Bears' Place!


green oasis

2,8 sur avril 14, 2011

nice ocean view, cool breezes, lots of birds in the garden, lovely hosts


A delightful week

4,2 sur avril 09, 2011

We were staying in the Plumeria Suite for 1 week (03/26-04/02/2011). On the first floor of this 4-Suites house. The location is very convenient : about 10 minutes from the Airport (no noise) or to Kailua. The Suite is perfectly organized, and the design artistic. We appreciate the surrounding balcony, the sun and the oceanview. We enjoyed the discrete presence of Anne and Nanette, and their useful help. It was a pitty to have to leave this charming and delightful House. Monique and Luc, a couple of french speaking Belgians.


Nice place to stay

3,0 sur mars 31, 2011

We stayed at Bear's place for a week. We were staying in pineapple room. It was a nice and quite big room to stay with complete mini kitchen set and nice free laundry room. The owner is also so nice and advised us several places to go. It's just too bad that we didn't get breakfast and if any other person in other rooms, we could hear when they're moving. It's quite annoying though if it happened in the night or in the early morning when we were resting. But over all, it's nice place to stay.


Excellent and Comfortable

5 sur mars 16, 2011

Very hospitable hosts; very nice location, away from the hustle and bustle of town while only minutes away from great beaches and restaurants. Well kept and apportioned rooms with a panoramic view of the coastline. We loved it! Mike and Valerie A. - Woodburn, Oregon


Place to stay in Kona!

4,2 sur mars 16, 2011

If you're visiting Kona for more than 3 days this is the place to stay. 15 minutes from downtown in a quiet, secluded area. Large suites, treats and washer/ dryer make stay even better. I would definitely recommend this B&B.


Really nice

4,4 sur mars 14, 2011

We, a young European couple, stayed at Bear's Place for 5 nights. It was really nice, we had a lot of space in our apartment. We heard the people on the first floor, but it was not annoying. We liked it a lot and will surely return when we visit Big Island again. Nanette came by, and explained us where to go and where not to go. She was very friendly and helpful.


Bears place guest house

3,4 sur mars 05, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. Everything was clean and attractive. Upstairs guests could be heard moving around at night. sounding quite loud. Internet was spotty. Hostess was helpful.


A Restful Stay with a Pleasant View

4,8 sur février 20, 2011

Here is a guest house I would recommend to anybody. Situated in the comfortable air high up the side of Hualalai, Bear's Place presides over a small neighborhood, so there are the occasional sounds of domesticity around you, a dog, a distant rooster here and there, but I also heard a cow! Never saw it. The house is composed of a set of mini-suites, each one opening onto its own wide lanai, part of a balcony running the entire periphery. For one week, I enjoyed staying in the 'Plumeria', a large one bedroom unit with vaulted ceilings. The suite contained basic kitchen appliances for when I chose to eat in and flat screen TV in case I really got bored, which I never did. Nanette and Anne were fantastic hosts, stocking the fridge on arrival with breakfast items, and every day or so I would find a little gift of cookies, nuts or sweets, and sometimes a note asking me how my stay was. They both stopped by a few times to chat or offer area suggestions. I always felt as if I were staying with someone, not merely staying someplace, and that it the true measure of a B&B or guest house. Most of the time however, it was serenity. Cool breezes, golden sunsets (I watched whales breach off shore from the airport below) and passing five minute showers that could be heard approaching for a mile. If you are still fidgety and uptight after spending a few nights at Bear's Place, may I suggest a physician-induced coma. Five Stars.


Home away from home!

4,2 sur février 19, 2011

We were very pleased with our accomodations at the Bears Place. It was clean and roomy and had everything we needed. Our innkeepers were very pleasant and offered help with restaurants, beaches, shopping, directions, etc. We would definately stay with them again!


Everything fine

5 sur février 09, 2011

Very nice place to stay. Wonderfull views, much of space and very friendly hosts. Mahalo.


Thanks for a memorable event

4,6 sur janvier 31, 2011

Large, clean, spacious room; very nice inn-keepers; lots of amenities; beautiful lanai; very convenient to everything. The only negative is that we were cold mornings & night; need a small heater and/or blankets. Really enjoyed everything!


Kona - side getaway

4,0 sur janvier 12, 2011

Diligent searching for a weekend getaway with Mainland visitor led me to Bear's Place, and I'm so glad we found you! Your home was just right for us to establish as a home base while we toured the Kona area. High enough that traffic, smaze, and noise were nonexistent, and close enough that we didn't feel isolated or out of touch. Our hosts were more than accommodating and helpful, and the family atmosphere made us feel right at home. We especially appreciated the wonderful books on local lore and stories. We now own two of the favorites cuz they were so worthwhile having our own copies! As vacation rental owners ourselves, we found all to our satisfaction re: cleanliness, amenities, and quality furnishing. I have posted Bear's Place information in our Kapoho home so you know that we liked it enough to recommend it to our renters. Mahalo for a pleasant stay and we will definitely return next we want to come to Kona.


outstanding service and very cozy room

4,4 sur janvier 07, 2011

Room and service are outstanding, but the water pressure is a little low and hot water is run out especially with other guests in other rooms in the shower.

Réponse du propriétaire
If this guest had let us know, we would quickly have adjusted the electric back-up on our solar system to ensure plenty of hot water. Our water pressure is set at the recommended level, and we have not had a complaint on either issue in the two and a half years we've been in business.


Bears' Place

4,6 sur décembre 13, 2010

We thought that this was a really nice place to stay. We enjoyed going outside and having breakfast every morning. It was nice going back to the room knowing that it was cleaned.


Happy in The Big Island of Hawaii

5 sur novembre 17, 2010

Bear’s Place Guest House Nov. 2010 - Bear’s Place Guest House in Kailua-Kona, HI was an exceptional experience and exceeded our expectations. While researching I was already impressed by the 5 star reviews and comments it had! This was a no brainer. Reserving was a breeze. Nanette is a natural organizer and very helpful. We liked the convenient location 7 miles from Kona, close proximity to beaches, quiet neighborhood in a tropical serene setting; spacious suites are clean and comfortably casual. Nannette and Anne’s high standards prevailed. Bear’s Place also had all the amenities and more like, free parking, use of laundry facilities, WIFI, complimentary use of boogey boards +++. We think Bear’s Place is the Best place and the Best value on The Big Island. Check it out.


Nice, quiet, clean and friendly

4,0 sur novembre 06, 2010

Nice, clean and friendly accommodation, very well for family with small kids. Due to high elevation pleasant temperature at night time.


Wonderful stay

5 sur décembre 17, 2009

This was my first trip to Hawaii and I was travelling with my wife. I could not have make a better choice to stay. This place was excellent in every aspect. Rooms were big, nice and clean, bathroom was also very big but best part was lanai, it was very quiet, very relaxing with garden view. I really appreciated hopitality from Anne and Nanette. They allowed us to even pick the passion fruits from the garden, can't get any better than this and their homemade Passion fruit jelly really hit the spot. This Place is about 15-20 mins drive from nearest beach but Anne told me a beach which was not in the map and that beach turned out to be the best beach for me in 12 days at Hawaii including Maui beaches. Overall very quiet, very relaxing and excellent place to stay.


Great house / Great host!

4,8 sur octobre 26, 2009

Stayed here during Iron Man with the family. Nanette was a wonderful host who went beyond expectations! Short drive to town and beaches, but because we were going different direction every day location worked out perfect. Kids loved the fresh fruit, parents loved the lani to sit and watch the sunsets. New and clean house. Looking forward to the next time we can visit. Randy (San Diego)


Kona Treasure

5 sur août 27, 2009

We stayed here three days on our last visit and were extremely pleased. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel like valued guests. The combination of privacy and comfort was great! Hosts have lived on the island a long time and give great tips on where to go to the beach, for lunch, etc. The room was clean, spacious and attractive. We especially loved sitting out on the lanai (deck). We'll definitely go back again.


GREAT PLACE !!!

4,2 sur juillet 07, 2009

It was a really nice experience in a very peacefull and quiet environnement. The room was big, nice, confortable and very clean. For the price, it was definitely the best we got !! Owners are very friendly and everything is in a range of a 15-20 minutes drive.


Bears' Place Guest House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $135
  • Avis (87) 4,4
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8089901383

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut