Volcano Rainforest Retreat Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,1
  • Propreté4,4
  • Repas sur place3,8

Notation basée sur
12 Avis

Ecrire un avis

I felt like a wood nymph

3,6 sur mai 19, 2015

We stayed in the Sanctuary and the Forest House and both were cozy and reclusive. The outdoor shower and Japanese bath is a unique and romantic experience with the Sanctuary and the Forest House was just that little bit more comfortable, yet a bit louder as the rains fell above our head on the skylight. What you see in the photos are exactly what you get and being surrounded by giant ferns, palms and flowers we never saw another guest.


Seven Stars!

5 sur mai 17, 2015

If I could give 7 stars, I would. This place is the most romantic place ever. We stayed in the Sanctuary. Private ofuro and outdoor shower - enchanting. Sleeping surrounded by windows to the rainforest - magical. Fresh papaya every morning - delightful! My husband and I believe the best things come in small packages, and we pack light. Word to the wise - if you measure luxury in square footage and can't do without a mammoth suitcase, you will absolutely have to choose one of the larger cottages. Also, the name "rainforest retreat" is literal - this is in a rainforest, which means it will be raining, almost all the time. Love, love, loved it!!


A perfect experience!

4,0 sur mai 07, 2015

So beautiful, peaceful and comfortable -we hardly wanted to leave to see the sights! Great local info, cosy fireplace, delicious tea and breakfasts, comfy bed, everything you could possibly need! Look no further, book VRR!!


Beautiful setting, overall letdown

2,8 sur mars 29, 2015

We had looked forward to this portion of our stay on the big island, but within moments of landing in what should have been peaceful paradise, it became apparent the location is among residential property. I took mostly pictures, in videos you could hear dogs barking behind the property every moment we were at the retreat. Unfortunately, we had to leave the property to find any quiet. We spent our time in the Volcano park hiking and sightseeing. All night, without break two dogs barked back and forth to each other, which provided very little sleep. The cabin and grounds were breath taking, but certainly not peaceful.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are sorry for your strong disappointment knowing that you were looking forward to a peaceful stay in paradise. We, as the owners, and the whole staff, regret that you were so disturbed by certain dogs, which live with neighbors on land near our residence. We certainly want you and other guests to experience moments of the peace, quiet and serenity in the Hawaiian rain forest. We can understand your desire for peace and rest. We have also had concerns about the dogs, especially when people are needing rest and a good night's sleep. We have been attempting to work with the neighbors to find ways to meet the dogs' needs and respect the nearby neighbors and B & B guests. Unfortunately, this family has been under stress recently due to the illness and death of the father. The barking was particularly disturbing at the time of your visit and has thankfully been less of an issue recently. The owner will be around to spend time with her disabled adult daughter and attend to the dogs barking next week. We look forward to the quality of rest and quiet we usually enjoy. Please know that the Volcano Rainforest Retreat is in a rural area, adjacent to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the closest residential area to the park. The Volcano community has a number of locally-run bed and breakfasts and inns, all in residential areas. The local residents in Volcano truly enjoy hosting travelers in their homes and vacation rentals. The Volcano area is a gateway community to the National Park. healing quality of nature. Again we are sorry for your level of distress and if you would want a refund, let us know and we will arrange that for you. Thank you for acknowledging the breathing beauty of the cottage and grounds.


Perfection

5 sur février 26, 2015

The only disappointing thing about The Volcano Rainforest Retreat was that we couldn't stay longer. We stayed in the Guest Cottage and it was absolutely perfect for us. Being surrounded by the rainforest and seeing it through every window was beyond amazing. Cannot say enough about this place. We loved it! I


A Slice of Paradise

5 sur avril 13, 2013

A Slice of Paradise, We spent part of our spring break at the bamboo guest house. It was a wonderful experience! The guest house was unique and comfortable. Our hosts were gracious. We loved the setting in the rainforest (and yes, it did rain a little, but it made the atmosphere only more enchanting). We were enthralled by the natural beauty of the resort and the art and sculptures (by local artists) that adorned it. A place to come back to.


Sanctuary!

5 sur octobre 11, 2011

Kathleen and Peter have created a warm and beautiful sanctuary to our very busy and cold NYC life. It was truly wonderful to be surrounded by a naturally lush environment hosted by people who share very similar peaceful views. It was very convenient to have our food left in our kitchen so we can eat at any time, the privacy was A+, the cottage decor made us feel at home, the bed was cush and warm, the hot tub was very relaxing, and we were so excited to see Samadhi cushions and yoga mats! And after Kathleen's wonderful Reiki sessions, my husband and I left relaxed and with a renewed awareness. The Goldens should expect to us again soon!!


Amazing

4,6 sur octobre 22, 2010

I booked this place for my mother and I for just 2 nights. By the time it was time to go, we didn't want to leave! The house is gorgeous, decorated with fresh cut orchids, ferns and antherium and various items that the owners had collected through the years. The location is ideal; you think you are miles away from anything or anyone, secluded in the rain forrest; however you are less than 100 feet from the next house and office and only a few minutes from Volcano and Volcanoes National Park. It is so very quiet here, during the day the only sound you can hear is your own breathing and heart beat, at night there is a soft chorus of indigenous frogs (NOT the coquee, yay!). In the morning you have an assortment of fresh local fruits, eggs and baked items that Kathleen and Peter leave the day before to prepare breakfast; what a great start to the day! My favorite part was waking up with the sun, sitting on the front lanai in the chill air, drink my Kona coffee (provided) and use the free WiFi to check/update stuff online. Definitely worth the price; I will most certainly stay here again! Thank you Peter and Kathleen!!


Natural Peaceful Delight

5 sur octobre 19, 2010

Spent three peaceful nights at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Slept soundly each night being serenaded by frogs after a calming magical soak in the outdoor hot tub. Lovely basket of muffins, bagels, fresh local fruit and hard boiled eggs left in our room each day made for a delightful breakfast. The grounds were beautiful and Kathleen and Peter have only improved upon this wonderful natural setting. During the cold winter months in Boston we will cherish the memories of the "peace" of this place.


For a Sense of Peace,Tranquility & Spirituality

4,2 sur octobre 19, 2010

We truly appreciated the therapeutic benefits of a Japanese ofuro, the perfect overall design of the bamboo cottage, every minute detail which paid homage to the rain forest and respect for its guests.


Relaxing retreat in paradise

4,6 sur octobre 10, 2010

The innkeepers have paid every attention to detail here. Beautifully designed and decorated, the Bamboo Guest House was spacious, yet cozy and private. Works of local art adorn every nook, and I could spend days exploring the interesting books and CDs provided. A wonderful feature is the private Japanese-style soaking tub, which is secluded by the lush tropical vegetation surrounding the guesthouse, and deliciously hot! The privacy of this cottage makes it worth the additional cost. We felt utterly relaxed during our stay, and were sorry to leave!


Met My Expectations

3,0 sur septembre 28, 2010

This is a beautiful spot, with a very friendly owner/host who has put a lot of thought into the place. Very cozy and well thought-out space. That said, it met my expectations for the cost, and the service exceeded my expectations. Host helped provide good tips on navigating volcano village and national park. The breakfast food could be a little fresher. It's probably difficult to figure out how to get fresh food to people without bugging them in the morning though! However, it'd sure be nice to have fresher baked goods. All in all, I'd recommend this place, although I think I'll probably camp in the national park next time.


Volcano Rainforest Retreat

Détails

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8089858696
  • Fax 1-8089858696
  • Portable 1-8083453477
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8005508696

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut