Crater Rim Cabin Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,3

Notation basée sur
99 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Met all my expectations!

4,6 sur octobre 14, 2014

Cabin was wonderful. Close to Kilauea! Barry and Jim were great hosts. If you're going Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, this "home away from home" is not to be missed.


Truly a gem

4,6 sur octobre 08, 2014

The location of the cabin is perfect. It is only a 10-minute drive to the Volcano National Park and Volcano town. The cabin is clean and well stocked with linens. The kitchen is well equipped and stocked with eggs, bread, coffee, cereal, milk, etc. Barry is a fantastic host and made our stay truly memorable. We will be back again!


We love this cabin!

4,6 sur septembre 15, 2014

This was our second stay at Crater Rim Cabin. We were there in 2008 for 2 or 3 nights and this time stayed 7 nights! The owners are fantastic and it is truly paradise. We like staying off the beaten path and this fits the bill beautifully. The cabin is beautifully appointed and they have thought of everything to make your stay perfect. The kitchen was full of wonderful coffee, small cereals, eggs, butter, jam, and excellent bread. It was great to start the day whenever we wanted because we didn't have to go find a restaurant. The surroundings are unbelievable and so close to Volcano National Park where we spent as much of our time as possible. We will be back again! Thank you for making both trips incredibly memorable!


Perfect quiet and peaceful

4,2 sur août 13, 2014

Aloha from Canada perfect for the family and well situated for the volcano park.We would go back anytime.


The best place fir visiting the volcano np

4,4 sur août 10, 2014

Outstanding cleaness. Our hosts were fonderfull and very helpful. We warmly revommand this place for anyone respectfull of the nature. no dinig was provided so i rated "medium". Nevertheless the kitchen is really clean and we coyld prepare our breakfast and dinner easyly. Fo your dinner you better bring your food for the general store is really poor.


Fantastic little cable with superb hosts!

4,4 sur juillet 22, 2014

Two nights wasn't enough! We booked this secluded little place simply because it was close to the Volcano Park where we were going to spend a couple of days exploring and didn't have any expectations above it being a functional base for doing so. However, the rustic yet comfortable and immaculately clean Crater Rim Cabin was far above our expectations, it is set in well kept and very pretty gardens and is a nice relaxing place to spend time without venturing near the Park! If you're looking for a modern, minimalist hotel type suite with all mod-cons then this is not the place for you! If you're looking for a peaceful retro-style hunting cabin then this fits the bill precisely. Barry was a perfect host, very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We had a great couple of days and could have easily spent a whole week there!


unique setting dont miss it one of a kind

5 sur juillet 08, 2014

Quite remarkable, like home environment, quiet, clear, close to the vocano park, delightful owners no downside golf if you like, we hiked 15 miles a day x 3


Perfect mountain retreat

4,6 sur juillet 08, 2014

Wonderful cabin in the forest. Cozy and inviting, with all amenities. Breakfast supplied was basic- sweetened cereals, oatmeal, bread, eggs, jam, milk, cream and coffee. Chocolates were a nice welcome. Barry was so nice and helpful. The cabin was very clean and well stocked. Comfortable bed- electric blanket and gas heater were welcome- it gets very cold at night ( bring slippers). The location was excellent for visiting the townsite and Volcano's Park. Not a lot of dining options in town, but a few good choices.


Great place to stay

5 sur juillet 07, 2014

We stayed for couple of nights at the end of june.It is definitely a good place to stay if you want to be closer to the volcanic park.


Warmth and Comfort in Rain Forest Setting

4,4 sur mai 12, 2014

Just a few miles from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Crater Rim Cabin offers comfort, convenience, and surprising amenities amidst a tranquil, garden-like setting. The owners are nearby but unobtrusive, ready to provide any advise and assistance you may request. Basic breakfast items, including coffee, are provided and the kitchen is well appointed and functional. Thankfully, there is no TV to tempt you, but internet connection is available if for some reason you've inadvertently packed a computer.


THE Best place to stay for visiting Volcanoes National Park

4,8 sur mai 02, 2014

Wonderful cabin in a lovely fern forest and beautiful garden, spotlessly clean (I'd give it 6 stars if I could), and with everything you need for breakfast supplied by the warm and friendly hosts who are helpful while never being intrusive. Less than a mile from the park which was ideal for great hiking and volcano viewing. It was an idyllic three days.


A Perfect Stay!

4,8 sur avril 17, 2014

Given that Volcano, HI is not a resort, finding a top-notch place to stay was a bit of a challenge. But find it we did. Crater Rim Cabin was perfect. Not only was it located close to the Volcano National Park entrance, as well as the small commercial strip that is the town of Volcano, it was located in a beautiful area across the road from the golf course. The grounds themselves were beautifully landscaped, but it was the cabin itself that was the best. It was a very clean, very comfortable home away from home, outfitted with everything we could want. The proprietors even provided all the basics in the complete kitchen, including fresh roasted coffee, milk, bread, spices, fruit such that we had everything we needed to start the day off right. The proprietors were always available to answer questions and/or help as needed -and they are just delightful people to know (without being nosy or bothersome -they were nowhere around the cabin unless we needed them, in which case you just use the phone's intercom system to hail them. I can't recommend this cabin highly enough -book here and you won't be disappointed.


Delightful retreat!

5 sur janvier 30, 2014

Truly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this beautiful cabin with its historic character and amazing garden surrounding. Everything we needed was there and it was a terrific location for hikes at Volcano National Park --just a skip down the road (by car) to see the glowing crater at night! We also enjoyed spending a day in Hilo and surrounds and returning to a peaceful idyllic retreat. Barry made us feel very welcome and gave us great suggestions for dinner in the Volcano area.


My wife's favorite vacation spot.

5 sur janvier 25, 2014

I can't think of anything tht wasn't perfect. Mike


Everything we could wish for and more

5 sur janvier 07, 2014

From the warm welcome on our arrival, to the incredibly generous provision of endless clean linen and breakfast goodies, we could not have been happier with our stay at Crater Rim cabin. A little piece of heaven, and we wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back, for sure. Thanks again, Jim and Barry, for your hospitality.


Beautiful and serene

4,6 sur décembre 30, 2013

Beautiful and serene. Exactly as described and hoped for. As a suggestion, the opportunity to see the Thurston Lava Tube at night (the park is open 24 hours) is a special, uncrowded treat since you are staying at the front gate and have easy access from Crater Rim Cabin.


Delightful two-night stay

5 sur décembre 04, 2013

The moment we arrived to find a sign saying "Aloha Rob and Mary Beth," we knew we would enjoy our time at Crater Rim Cabin. Our hosts Barry and Jim made sure that we had everything we needed and offered tips and suggestions for our visit to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The cabin is less than 5 minutes from the park entrance and so it was easy to make multiple trips into the park. The cabin itself was immaculate and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to make our own breakfasts including the BEST honey we've ever had! The grounds are lovely and you can tell that Barry is an avid and inspired gardener. Be sure to inquire about their line of gifts from "Tutu Nene" and take some home for yourself, family and friends. Guests receive a 15% discount on items purchased. We left wishing that Barry and Jim were our neighbors back home and would highly recommend a stay at their cabin . There is a convenient intercom system in additional to the phone that reaches them at their home next door should you have any questions or needs. Tip: The right turn off Pi'imauna Road onto Golf Course Drive comes up fairly quickly. Turn just before the Golf Club itself where you see all the golf carts. It looks like a parking lot but is actually the road. Road is bumpy so take your time! The privacy the property affords is worth the half mile drive on this road! Mahalo guys!


Our stay at Volcano.

4,4 sur décembre 02, 2013

We spent three days visiting Volcano National Park and stayed at the Crater Rim Cabin. The cabin is a cozy, older building that is extremely well cared for and clean. Homey decor. Furniture and bed were comfortable. Complete kitchen. There is a gas fireplace that, believe it or not, felt very good in the mornings. The cabin is at an elevation of 4000 feet, and it can feel cool there, even if it is in Hawaii. The park-like setting is beautiful. Hawaiian honeycreeper birds (Apapanes) were in the trees by the cabin. We had lots of privacy. Breakfast was not a scheduled event; instead the kitchen was stocked with plenty of tasty breakfast items (fruit, bread, eggs, bakery, etc.) for our stay. We could eat when we wanted and go out into the park as early or late as we chose. We and did not have to operate on someone else's clock. The owner, Barry, was extremely kind and helpful, and he was always just a phone call away, if needed. The owners' house is on the same property as the cabin. The cabin is not connected to network TV, but there is a CD/DVD player. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cabin to other visitors to the area. Note: BedandBreakfast.com gift certificates are not presently accepted; (we had one along but could not use it.) Not a big deal.


paradise on the Big Island

4,4 sur novembre 25, 2013

This was a wonderful to non-traditional place to stay. It was an awesome experience. Can"t wait to return some day.


Too short a stay

5 sur novembre 21, 2013

Crater Rim Cabin is everything and more. Jim & Barry are the consummate hosts, and the location couldn't be better.


Great home away from home

5 sur novembre 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Crater Rim Cabin. The cabin was immaculate, plenty of linens, and even stocked with food items. The owners have thought of everything! There is a styrofoam cooler, umbrellas, flashlights, brochures, even gloves to use when exploring the lava. There are several very good restaurants nearby or you can buy fresh produce from the various farmers markets. The cabin is very close to the entrance of Volcanoes National Park, we explored the Thurston Lava tube after dark (the flashlights came in handy!) and we viewed the glow of Kilauea from Jaggar Museum. During the day we drove down the Chain of Craters Road and had a picnic before getting out and exploring the lava flows. Every night we fell asleep exhausted and woke up refreshed to the sound of birds! Mahalo Jim and Barry for opening your cabin home to us!


Barry and Jim are the best!

5 sur octobre 15, 2013

The cabin was great and Barry and Jim were two of the nicest people I've ever met! I'm so happy we chose Crater Rim Cabin for our honeymoon! We really appreciated all the great advice Barry gave us about where to go and what to see and do on the Big Island while the national park was shut down.


Loved the Cabin!

5 sur octobre 04, 2013

By Far the best place to stay in Volcano, HI. We only stayed two nights, but the accomodations were fantastic. My family of four would definately stay here again!!


Great location for visiting the volcano.

5 sur septembre 17, 2013

Nice quiet cabin in a beautiful setting. Great variety of food provided for breakfast, though not prepared for you. Eggs, butter, cream, milk, juice, dry cereals, fresh fruit, coffee. More choices than at home. Jim and Barry were very friendly and helpful with advice about the volcano and dining choices. We should have stayed at least three nights as they suggested.


Volcano Trip - August 2013

4,8 sur septembre 10, 2013

My family spent two nights at the Crater Rim Cabin as part of our vacation on the Big Island. Barry and Jim were very accommodating for our family of 5 (2 adults, 2 young boys and a baby). The cabin is very well maintained, a good size and nicely decorated. The information on local attractions and restaurants was very useful. Having a well-stocked fridge for breakfast set us up well to explore the national park. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much


Beautiful cabin very close to Volcano National Park

4,8 sur septembre 08, 2013

My family of 4 had a lovely 2 night stay in this cabin, 2 minutes drive from Volcano National Park. It was so comfortable with everything we needed and the hosts could not have been more helpful. Everything was provided, from luxurious towels, shampoo etc to breakfast in the fridge. I changed our itinerary to stay here and was not disappointed !


A Wonderful Stay

4,8 sur août 28, 2013

We had a great time at the Crater Rim Cabin. Jim and Barry were very kind, gracious hosts, who have thought of everything to make the Cabin comfortable. The Cabin itself is impeccably maintained. The kitchen and fridge were well-stocked, and we enjoyed eating breakfast and lunch "at home" while going out for dinner in town. The location of the Cabin is ideal for exploring the HVNP; the surrounding town of Volcano is also very charming. We highly recommend it. Lucy & Dan, Chicago, IL. Stayed Aug. 18-21, 2013.


Homey cabin

4,2 sur août 27, 2013

Great cabin, very clean and homey. Dining choices in the area are limited.


Great location, Fantastic cabin, and Incredible hosts!

5 sur juillet 26, 2013

My partner and I have nothing but great things to say about our two nights at Crater Rim Cabin. The property is so beautiful and Barry and Jim made us feel so welcome. The hosts gave us a tour of the amazing property and both dining recommendations (Thai Thai and Kilauea Lodge) were super. Listening to the rain at night while falling asleep in this cozy cabin was just what we needed. So peaceful and relaxing! Highly recommend this retreat to anyone who is touring Volcanoes National Park. This little slice of heaven is just two miles from the park's entrance. A big THANK YOU to the hosts. We'll be back!


Cabin on top of the world

3,8 sur juillet 19, 2013

This is a special place for a special stay! If you want plasma telly and sky tv go somewhere else! Jim and Barry go to enormous lengths to make you feel welcome and that all your needs are met!! Volcano on your doorstep and scenery to die for everywhere you turn! Worth the effort got once in a lifetime experience ! John and Louise


Volcano Stay

5 sur juin 27, 2013

We planned a trip for our anniversary which included staying in Maui and then going to Hilo for the Volcano and finishing with relaxation in Kona after hiking around the mountain. Not ever being to Hawaii before, we based all our plans on various reviews and prices online. When it came to finding a place near the National Park there wasn't much to choose from which met our desires. In the end, this cabin was one the highlights of our trip. We enjoyed many aspects... the small touches made it homey. We enjoyed the homemade jam, fruit on the counter, electric blanket on the bed, and other small touches. Berry was friendly and nice as he showed us around and gave us hiking ideas and then let us have our space. It was nice to be close to hiking and be able to come back and have snacks available. It was refreshing after staying in Maui to be able to feel at home away from home. After being at a resort where you were charged for everything, the cabin was wonderful. Berry had flashlights and umbrellas available for use. We arrived at 3pm and then went off hiking. We returned to the cabin around 8ish tired and hungry and decided to stay in for the night, relax, and eat from the plentiful food available. The next morning we went off hiking near the Lava Cave and then drove to meet up with the Cultural Tours at the end of Hwy 130 to hike to the lava flows. We got back late that night and enjoyed sleeping in the next morning and taking our time with breakfast before heading to Kona.


The place to stay in Volcano

5 sur juin 21, 2013

We will absolutely recommend this place to our friends. A beautiful property so well appointed and maintained. Everything was so well done from the ready supply of breakfast makings (I especially enjoyed the raspberry jam) to the darling gas-fired fireplace that warmed the cabin at night. It is a cabin, but in no way is it rustic. They have thought of everything and have done it so well.


Great base for exploring the Volcano NP

5 sur juin 05, 2013

The 3 nights spent at this charming cabin with the lovely garden were the highlight of our week on the Big Island.


Perfect lodging near Volcano NP

5 sur juin 05, 2013

We wanted to have quick access to Volcano NP so we could go back and forth. (Hilo is 45 minutes away and we didn't want to drive back and forth.) Crater Rim is the perfect spot. Barry and Jim are charming hosts and the cabin is adorable. It has a fully euipped kitchen and breakfast supplies are provided - fabulous whole grain bread, fruit, eggs, butter, homemade jam, coffees, etc. A gas fireplace and cozy electric blanket are there for cool nights. We ate breakfasts on the porch overlooking the beautiful gardens and relaxed in the living room. Crater Rim is a jewel!


Le meilleur endroit de notre séjour à Hawaii.

5 sur mai 19, 2013

Accueil chaleureux avec fruits, fleurs et chocolats. Hébergement douillet, magnifique, propre, dans un site naturel et tranquille. À 5 minutes en auto du parc des volcans. À recommander grandement.


Wonderful stay

5 sur avril 06, 2013

Only but wonderful memories, wish I could go back there once or twice a year... It is a very special place, where you will feel at home. Highly recommended for couples !


Loved it!

5 sur avril 05, 2013

This was an absolute little gem of a place. Jim and Barry are great people, and it shows in the attention to little details provided in the cabin for your use - including make up removal pads, go cups for your coffee, and breakfast items (eggs, bread, milk, cereal, honey, coffee) to get you going for the day. Remember, this is a cottage, not the Hilton, but it is IMPECABLEY clean and EXTREMELY comfortable. The setting with the trees surrounding the house is beautiful. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who likes staying away from the hotel scene. Dining score in this case refers to the kitchen in the cabin - it had everything we needed including stove, oven, coffee maker, toaster, all the pans, dishes and utensils, plus the food the guys added for us. OH, they also gave us a box of chocolates (macadamia nuts covered in chocolate) and they were great!


A Delightful Cabin on the Edge of Volcanoes Park

4,4 sur mars 26, 2013

We arrived at Volcanoes National Park on a chilly, dreary, rainy afternoon, but my mood turned around when we checked in at Crater Rim Cabin. It is a charming place with a lot of character, full of many nice touches from the gracious hosts. We appreciated the privacy and feeling 'off the beaten path.'


Crater Rim Cabin

5 sur mars 12, 2013

Great place. My husband and I had an amazing experience at Crater Rim Cabin. Great location to explore Volcano National Park. Hope to return in the future.


Excellent B&B

5 sur février 19, 2013

We stayed at the Crater Rim Cabin Feb 2-5/2013 and loved it. The note on their website that recommended a minimum 3night stay was right on target....2 nights would definitely have been too short. Our hosts were very warm & welcoming and quite helpful (including an early morning assist with a dead car battery). The cabin was spotless which is important when you are travelling with a little one. The fridge had tons of options for breakfast which was really great, especially when you arrive late at night and don't want to figure out your next day's activities until you have had a great breakfast. I have no hesitations in recommending the Crater Rim Cabin...every little detail of our stay had been thoughtfully planned out for us.


Wonderful location, incredible hosts

5 sur février 12, 2013

We could not have been treated more specially by our hosts. Great location, quaint accomodations.


Cute Cabin!

4,4 sur janvier 30, 2013

Great accommodation, minutes from the national park entrance. Cabin is very welcoming and cozy.


Everything a B&B should be

4,6 sur janvier 30, 2013

My wife and I could not have been happier with our stay at Crater Rim Cabin. From the moment we walked in, we could see how clean and inviting the place was. The proprieters were extremely helpful with tips about what to do in surrounding Volcano. Our only complaint was that our stay was too short!


Cozy Crater Rim Cabin

4,6 sur janvier 27, 2013

We stayed at Crater Rim Cabin for a week, commencing on January 5th. Our hosts Jim and Barry made our stay on the Big Island very relaxing. Barry was there when we arrived with a welcoming sign made up just for us. The cabin was immaculate! Super clean, and stocked with breakfast goodies to get us going in the morning at our own pace. If we ever needed ANYTHING, Jim or Barry was just a call away, as they live next door. The back yard has a lush tropical appeal, and serves as a place to relax if you so desire. If you plan to visit the Park, Jim and Barry are great sources of information and for any other place of interest on the Island. When we return to the Big Island, Crater Rim Cabin is at the top of our list. Barbara & Barry Skillman, NJ


Great stay

5 sur décembre 13, 2012

This is a perfect base for exploring the volcano park. It was nice to meet Barry and he gave us some great advice about the park. The cabin was spotless and very comfortable.


Great location.

3,6 sur novembre 30, 2012

We stayed at Crater Rim while visiting the Volcano. The location is perfect and the cabin is nice and private. The hosts were gracious and offered great tips and advice. The cabin was cold at night but the bed was outfitted with an electric blanket. Great home bases for exploring the area. Lots of nice touches in the cabin.


Charming B & B a really restful location a home away from home.

5 sur novembre 03, 2012

This cabin meet our needs completely. Very private, cozy, gas fireplace, new up to date facilities, friendly owners who have time for you when you want to learn things about the area. Barry and Jim are real experts in the field of volcanology. Easy entry into the park and the village of Volcano, HI is also a big plus. Prices are reasonable for who you get staying at Crater Rim Cabin. Some very interesting items can be purchased right next door that will make the folks back home NOT feel neglected when you return home. Highly recommend a stay for 4 or 5 nights so that you can fully take advantage of the area. Certainly one of the finest places that we stay at during our 2 week vacation to the Big Island.


Perfect launch pad

4,0 sur octobre 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the cabin while exploring the National Park. We are so glad we opted to be nearby rather than trekking over from Kailua. Barry and Jim were wonderful hosts. Barry gave us a great overview of the park and nearby Volcano. Breakfast out back in the lush surroundings was a great start to each day.. Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling with 2-4 people.


Absolutely delightful!

5 sur octobre 02, 2012

Our 2 night visit was the highlight of 2 weeks in Hawaii! The location, value, charm and hospitality shown by Barry and Jim made it a memorable and wonderful visit. We hope to return or at least to be able to recommend Crater Rim Cabin to friends. We will re-live being there through them! Julia and Peter


Great B&B

5 sur août 17, 2012

Great location to the volcanoes and to Volcano Village. Cabin in woods was perfect for us. Didn't mind fixing our own breakfast daily. Jim and Barry were awesome! Thoughtful and very welcoming. Provided multiple brochures and maps which we brought with us for many hikes. Had great list of restaurants to dine at. They bought a brand new pack n play to accommodate our 19 mo old. We really enjoyed our experience and the tranquility the cabin provided for us. Would definitely recommend to others even those with little ones!


Awesome Cabin Minutes from Volcano National Park - Almost walking distance

5 sur août 12, 2012

Crater rim Cabin exceeded all the outstanding reviews! It is a wonderful cabin, well stocked and well furnished in a fantastic location with far more extras than I ever expected. The hosts are generous in stocking the kitchen, cleanliness, helpful hints and loads of wonderful guides and other reading material. Just the absolute BEST!!!!!


wonderful cabin really close to volcano np

5 sur août 11, 2012

perfect location wonderful cabin exceptionally clean extremely friendly hosts numerous breakfast items available thumbs up in all regards!


They have thought of everything

5 sur août 05, 2012

The Crater Rim Cabin is totally charming inside and out. Barry and Jim, the proprietors, have provisioned it well with a stocked fridge for breakfast, guide books, videos regarding the area, fresh flowers, and even a welcoming box of chocolates. We felt very at home. Barry greeted us warmly and provided a wealth of information about things to do and places to eat in the area. We stayed only two days, but were sorry to have to leave. Before leaving we were able to purchase some handmade Hawaiian crafts from Barry and Jim, which will provide a nice reminder of the cabin. It was spacious for our party of 3 and well appointed thoughout. We would highly recommend the Crater Rim Cabin for anyone planning to visit the Volcano area.


Post-wedding Respite

4,8 sur août 01, 2012

The cabin was exceptionally clean and guests were well provided for. The grounds were beautiful; exploration was fun. Be careful of the cliff. You can tell that everything is well cared for by the owners. Very restful!


Crater Rim Rocks

5 sur juillet 12, 2012

Barry and Jim were great, friendly guys. They keep an immaculate villa for guests and stock it with all the necessary staples and then some. The cabin was very close to the state park and they are very helpful with questions and advice. I will stay there again when/if I get to the Big Island. I highly recommend it.


Outstanding way to enjoy the volcano area

5 sur juin 29, 2012

A secluded cabin minutes away from the National Park, this B&B allows all of the comforts of home in the middle of a beautiful rain forest. Every detail of your stay has been well thought out, beginning with the personalized welcome sign upon entry. There are maps and guidebooks, umbrellas and flashlights to use during your stay. There are games, puzzles, books, music, videos and wi-fi along with comfortable , attractive furnishings to provide every member of the family the chance to be entertained or just relax after a busy day. There is a variety of foods provided for breakfast and pots and pans, silverware and plates if you want to just stay in. The gracious hosts can also advise you about places to eat and things to do in the area. This place is a gem.


Amazing oasis within the Volcano National Park on the Big Island!

4,8 sur juin 13, 2012

We started out our vacation staying at the Crater Rim Cabin, and we couldn't have been happier. Greeted immediately with a sign welcoming us as we pulled in (nice touch!) to also immediately being greeted by Barry one of the co-owners. Warm, genuine, funny, and down to earth, describes Barry. He showed us all around our cabin, and gave us helpful tips about the area and what to see. The attention to detail in keeping the Cabin humidity free (something we didn't realize until we were in our hotel in Kona for the remainder of our trip) was amazing. Never seemed stuffy or hot. Just cool and inviting. The Cabin, you just want to curl up and reeeelaaaax. Stay at least 3 nights so you can do and see everything in the area, and definitely go to Kailula Kitchen, great food! Aloha and mahalo nui loa! Nicole


Wonderful Cabin

4,8 sur juin 04, 2012

When we arrived we are warmly welcomed by one of the owners of the cabin. He gave us a number of really helpful recommendations for our stay regarding dining opportunities, places to visit and hikes. The cabin was really beautiful, very nicely decorated and very clean and cozy. If we ever come back to Big Island we will stay here again.


A great value by itself!

5 sur mai 28, 2012

Crater Rim cabin is a delight unto itself. Beautiful setting, great customer service and advice on the park, food and other questions. Good job!


Cozy

4,8 sur mai 20, 2012

What a lovely place in a mystical area. Jim and Berry were the perfect hosts and we loved that cozy place up in the mountain. It was easy to find without GPS and we enjoyed the warmth and comfort of the cabin. In the kitchen we found everything we needed and thank you very much for the delicious coffee. The page provider asks for the dining review but there is no dining up in the cabin. The items provided for breakfast were fabulous.The cabin is very, very clean but also very cozy, what a nice mixture. The bed is extremely comfortable and the shower is a real treat after a days hike. We will remember the Crater Rim Cabin as a absolutely beautiful place to stay. THANK YOU


Beautiful cabin in the forest

4,6 sur mai 05, 2012

Very pleasant cabin from which to see the volcano. Extremely clean and well appointed. There are not a great deal of dining options given where the cabin is situated. We cooked at the cabin. Beautiful gardens and setting. Looking around in the town of Volcano, this was the best spot. Barry and Jim were helpful and provided excellent advise on activities in the park.


great stay with kids!!!

4,8 sur mai 01, 2012

We had a wonderful stay on 3/28 and 3/29. The accommodations were awesome. Our girls, age 4 and 5 loved staying at the cabin ( much nicer than a cabin, more like a little house). Highly recommend Crater Rim for families. Very close to the national park entrance. Thanks


Overall great experience

4,4 sur avril 30, 2012

The stars are a bit misleading, in that I knew beforehand what the breakfast option was - so it merely met expectations. I would book again here without hesitation.


Hidden Gem

5 sur avril 09, 2012

This is a hidden gem in Hawaii. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. Garden is charming, and the hosts know just what to put in the fridge for breakfast. They are as available or invisible as you want, and somehow seem to know what you want. When we return to the big island, it's only if we can stay here. As for dining, Thai Thai in Volcano Village is superb.


Comfortable, peaceful, incredible place - and extremely clean

5 sur mars 26, 2012

My husband and I and our 8-year-old daughter recently stayed at Crater Rim Cabin for two nights in March. The place was immaculate, light and bright with lots of windows looking out over a lovely garden/yard, and very spacious and pretty inside. They thought of everything when it came to food - eggs, milk, fruits, olive oil, butter, healthy bread, cereals (including several non-wheat kids cereals for our daughter who can't eat gluten) and even juice boxes for her. Barry gave us a detailed tour of the cabin and yard - showing us how to use the gas fireplace, lights, open the very cool window in the bathroom that is actually the large mirror over the sink, and he made up the very cozy extra bed for our daughter. He also gave us some wonderful tips on places to eat. We really enjoyed our relaxing time at Crater Rim Cabin.


Rural bliss

4,8 sur mars 06, 2012

If the idea of a peaceful, comfortable, quaint cabin in the woods appeals to you, Crater Rim Cabin would be hard to beat. With living room, bedroom, bathroom and kitchen, all well equipped, it's more of a self-contained apartment than a conventional B&B - but an apartment with such charm and cosiness. The ample breakfast provisions fed us for three days with more meals than just breakfast! The owners, Jim & Barry, are the perfect hosts - helpful and friendly - they live just a few yards away, their house barely visible through the woods, and are always on call (even got an intercom in the cabin so that you can contact them). There's a DVD player but no TV service; there's a gas fire in the living room which is very cosy, though the bedroom can be a little cool when it's cold outside. It's a lovely place to stay.


Delightful stay at Crater Rim Cabin

4,0 sur mars 04, 2012

We stayed at Crater Rim Cabin in February of 2012. It was a beautiful cabin in a beautifully landscaped setting and the service provided was outstanding. Barry had cleaned the place to within an inch of its life and everything was shining. The refrigerator was stocked with everything needed for a great breakfast. When my husband realized that he needed a warmer jacket for evening volcano viewing, Jim lent him one. Really, we could not have had a nicer time.


Three nights on a Volcano

4,2 sur février 13, 2012

We spent three nights at Crater Rim Cabin while exploring an hiking all over Hawaii Volacanos National Park. This is at 4500 ft altitude and technically in a rain forest. Beautiful grounds, spacious cabin, great hosts and more food and coffee furnished than they promised and we expected. Lots of information about the area. The owner is OCD about cleanliness. A great experience.


Best place to stay in Volcano!

4,8 sur février 06, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at Crater Rim Cabin. This was our second visit - we loved it so much the first time we absolutely had to come back. Our hosts, Barry and Jim, go above and beyond to think of everything a visitor could possibly need while visiting this part of the Big Island. They can't read your mind, but they come pretty darn close! And if there does happen to be something you need that isn't already there, Barry and Jim have provided an intercom in the Cabin so that you can contact them. (We have never had to use this - there has never been anything we could dream up that wasn't already provided.) There are plenty of other reviews that will tell you about the various amenities and treats that Barry and Jim so thoughtfully provide. What keeps us coming back is the spirit of aloha that embraces you as soon as you arrive. I challenge anyone to find another place to stay that even comes close to making their guests feel this welcome and appreciated. We're already looking forward to our next visit!


Great place to stay!

5 sur janvier 24, 2012

During our first time on Big Island in June 2010 we stayed in Waikoloa and drove many miles almost every day to see everything there is to see on the island. So this time (January 2012), we decided to split our time on the island: 3 nights in Waikoloa and 4 nights in/near Volcano. We chose Crater Rim Cabin because of the many excellent reviews we saw on the internet and we found they are all true! It's ideally located, only minutes away from the National Park. It has everything you need and more. The cabin was very clean (Thank you, Barry! You did a great job!). It's a very comfortable place to stay and a good starting point for trips to the National Park, Kalapana area and Hilo area. Besides, it has a beautiful garden! Even though it is possible to make your own dinner in the cabin, we went out every night. There are many good restaurants in Volcano (or Hilo, a bit farther away). We hope to return to the Big Island in the near future and will definitely stay here again! Thank you, Jim and Barry!


A Great Hideaway Cabin

4,6 sur janvier 15, 2012

CRC is a true gem in the B&B category.!! We arrived to find Barry finishing preparations for our stay. He was both friendly and helpful showing us how everything worked. The views from each window were breathtakingly beautiful. The plantings around the property were each more beautiful than the last. The cabin was cozy, but not small. The kitchen was small but very convenient and well appointed with everything one would need to fix a small or large meal. The bedroom had a wonderful walkout and small porch, and a view to ponder for a very long time. Barry shared with us some of his recommended eateries, to check out the crater at night and other activities in the area. This is a place we would return to again and again. A great honeymoon cabin, anniversary cabin or special occasion location. It has privacy, convenience, beauty, atmosphere, and relaxation all in one location. P & L Strong


Spotlessly Clean

4,2 sur janvier 08, 2012

If you are staying in Volcano, don't even think about staying anywhere else. It is a bit more than the other places there, but it includes breakfast and is very clean, safe and friendly. The owners take enormous pride in maintenance of their cabin so keep it in top condition. They also left freshly ground local coffee, chocolates, bread, fruit, juice, milk and eggs for us, so it was nice not to have to go out for another meal. It's very close to the volcano national park. We enjoyed visiting the park but there is nothing else in the town. If you want to see everything at the park plan for 2 days there, 1 for the hike around Crater Rim which is a dried up lava lake crater, and 2 for the 6 hour round trip hike to the ocean where you may see flowing lava. Volcano is also cold, so the cabin has a working fireplace which they turn on before you arrive and in the evenings. It was a nice respite from the expensive resorts on the Kohala coast - we only wish they'd open another cabin on the beach!


Beautiful

4,0 sur décembre 30, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the cabin. We were going from island to island since we only had a short amount of time to see as much of all the Hawaiian islands as possible. Since it rained both days we were there we did not go out and enjoy the grounds really at all. But the veiws from the windows were beautiful and relaxing. If we had more time we would have stayed longer!


Delightful Accomodations

5 sur décembre 27, 2011

Our family thoroughly enjoyed staying at this cozy cabin. Barry was very welcoming and we appreciated the hospitality shown to us during our stay. We were especially grateful for the empathy and kindness he demonstrated towards our oldest son who has autism. I would definitely recommend the Crater Rim Cabin to friends. Brett B. Portland, OR


Cozy at Crater Rim Cabin

4,2 sur décembre 05, 2011

Crater Rim Cabin is the perfect place to stay while exploring Volcano National Park! It is a cute, cozy cabin in the woods, spotlessly clean with everything you need for your stay. Barry and Jim are very helpful with suggestions for what to see in the park and where to dine. Highly recommended!


The best experience in Volcano

4,6 sur novembre 28, 2011

Living in Hawai’i, we've stayed at other places while visiting Volcanoes National Park, and this is by far the best experience! The rave reviews are true. The setting is beautiful, Jim and Barry are wonderful and interesting hosts, and Barry likes to keep the place clean -- he put 2 pillow protectors on under the pillowcase! Everything is provided for a fantastic visit, from abundant information, to the gas fireplace and electric blanket to ward off the chilly nights, to almost instant hot water, fresh flowers and lots of towels, to DVDs of Hawaii's birds and eruptions, to wireless internet, to a fleece throw blanket I wrapped myself in while watching glowing orange clouds rising from Halemau'umau'u crater on a windy night in the misty rain … while Jupiter blazed bright and the moon created a giant moonbow that plunged into the crater below us. The only things I missed were a better selection of breakfast cereal, and peanut butter for the toast with the delicious jam. We will be back, next time with peanut butter.


Wonderful!

4,2 sur novembre 23, 2011

We stayed at Crater Rim Cabin from Nov. 5- 7, 2011 & found it to be a very warm & cozy cabin filled with a delightful ambience. The hospitality of the innkeepers was much appreciated...they thought of everything you could need & stocked it in the cabin. It is located 5 minutes from Volcanoes National Park which made it so convenient to visit the Park. The recently installed new shower is fabulous. We would definitely go back there & would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the area.


What an incredible place!

5 sur novembre 17, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment we drove onto the property we felt we were in a tropical forest all our own. Barry welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The cabin was wonderful -- cozy and simply immaculate, with all sorts of charming furniture and accessories. The bed was super comfortable and having the electric blanket was perfect for chilly evenings. The kitchen was well-stocked and there was lots of fresh fruit. Fresh flowers, quiet music and candles awaited us. Our hosts provided all kinds of brochures and told us of places to go, where to eat, what not to miss. We simply hated to leave and are looking forward to another visit. It was obvious from the care given to the cabin and grounds that this isn’t “just a rental” to the owners. A truly special place.


The MOST comfortable I have ever felt away from home!

4,8 sur octobre 20, 2011

Staying at Crater Rim Cabin is like staying as a guest in the home of a friend who has a really cool house in a really cool place. Nestled in a tropical rain forest you feel as if you are one with nature. It gets chilly at night at 4,000 feet on the Big Island but no worries here because Barry and Jim will have an electric blanket toasty warm and a fire going. The kitchen is well stocked and every detail is attended to. Hotel rooms across Hawaii are not known for cleanliness -- Crater Rim Cabin is the exception. The cabin is immaculately cleaned and in great condition. If your travels take you to the Big Island, don't bother to stay anywhere else.


Well worth a visit!

4,8 sur septembre 19, 2011

Our family of five, including three boys ages 13, 10, and 7 stayed here in May 2011. It was one of the highlights of the trip...the boys STILL talk about "the cabin" and it has become a standard of comparison. Everything was top notch...Barry was an excellent host and a wealth of information and suggestions for how best use our time in the area, the food was wonderful, the cabin was spotless and comfortable. We especially appreciated Jim's detailed maps and instructions for arriving in the dark as well...nothing was left for chance. I highly recommend Crater Rim Cabin for anyone visiting Hawaii.


Perfect spot; perfect hosts

5 sur août 20, 2011

My husband, 12 year-old daughter and I stayed at Crater Rim in December 2010. We loved everything about the accommodations. Firm, comfortable beds. fully-equipped kitchen with many basics provided (coffee, bread, butter, eggs, cereal, local fruit, and more). Many guide books and other reading materials on Hawaii, the volcanos, local eateries, etc. And a box of macadamia nut chocolates to welcome us. Our host Jim took such good care of us, even provided umbrellas for the evening rain. His dining recommendations were perfect for us. The cabin is a separate structure, so there's lots of privacy, but it's only a few minutes drive from Volcano National Park and Volcano Village. Crater Rim Cabin is a lovely place to stay and a great value. My only regret is that it's taken me so long to write this review!


Great place to stay, quiet and comfortable

4,2 sur août 12, 2011

The Crater Rim Cabin is a very comfortable place to stay, and is immaculately clean. Very quiet, and Jim and Barry are great hosts. The entrance to Volcanoes Nat'l Park is only about a mile away. No hesitation recommending the Crater Rim Cabin.


Crater Rim Cabin was perfect!

5 sur août 08, 2011

I can't say enough fantastic things about our stay at Crater Rim. Barry and Jim were the ultimate hosts. Their property is beautiful, the food is delicious, and everything was delightful!


Wow!

5 sur août 03, 2011

This was a highlight of a very eventful trip to the Big Island. The cabin is quaint and cozy. It was everything we expected and more. If you like the unique experience, this is for you and your family. Do not forget to ask about Tutu Nene, the owners handcrafted goods made right there.


Crater Rim Cabin

4,4 sur juillet 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here, the innkeeper was very helpful with suggestions of things to do in the area and places to eat. The cabin was spotlessly clean and the breakfast supplies were very good. The area round Volcano does get cold at night but the cabin has a good heater and an electric blanket on the comfortable bed. Be aware that the curtains do not cover all the windows completely but as the cabin is isolated this was not a problem. We would definitely return if in the area again


A very special place

5 sur juillet 15, 2011

One of the best vacation accommodations we've ever had. Unprecedented hospitality.


They thought of everything!

4,8 sur juillet 05, 2011

Such a wonderful cozy cabin! We were given such a warm welcome - the cabin was extremely comfortable and very clean. It had everything we needed and lovely touches like fresh flowers and heated blankets for the chilly nights. It is in an excellent location for visiting the volcanos and there was lots of information in the cabin about what to see, local restaurants etc. We really couldn't have asked for more!


Better than we hoped for

5 sur juillet 04, 2011

Crater Rim Cabin is a beautifully maintained cabin in a lush, secluded, tropical setting. We were treated royally, and can't wait to return.


A really wonderful place!

5 sur juin 12, 2011

We stayed here during part of our tour of the Big Island. It was so much more than we imagined, even after reading such great reviews. Our welcome by Barry was wonderful and informative. The small touches were so special and made us feel at home. All of your needs are met, and then some. The cabin is so lovely and cozy and very clean. The grounds are beyond beautiful. Our only sadness was when we moved on to other parts of the island and found subsequent rentals woefully lacking compared to Crater Rim Cabin. We hope to be fortunate enough to visit the Island again and if so, we must stay here.


Great place to stay!

4,8 sur mai 19, 2011

This is one great place to stay. We only booked 2 nights could easily be more. The host is perfect, friendly and nice! The rooms are spotless and ver very well furnished! Even the fridge is filled for U with eggs, milk and cereals too! For no extra costs. Very nice garden (really at the rim of the crater!) and very close to the national park (5 minute drive!). So don't hesitate if you have to make a booking, this place wille exceed your expactations.


Volcano National Park garden paradise hideaway

4,8 sur mai 10, 2011

The Crater Rim Cabin is a lovely craftsman cottage with carefully executed details of design and function. The garden is a serene paradise. The owners suggest staying for more than 2 nights and when we return we will take them up on that recommendation. They were incredibly friendly, helpful, but unobtrusive. Their home is situated in such a way that there is good privacy for both cabin and home.


I could live here!

4,6 sur avril 17, 2011

Well equipped cabin with everything you could ask for. Charming Craftsman style decor with art and accent pieces chosen with taste and care. The cabin is spotlessly clean. Books, maps and information available to plan your stay. Gracious and attentive hosts!


Rain Forest Hideaway

4,2 sur avril 02, 2011

Wonderful cabin tucked away in a rain forest. Barry and Jim are excellent hosts. The cabin was very well equiped, exceptionally clean and in a perfect location to explore Volcano Village and the National Park. Our hosts did all sorts of little things to make us feel welcome and special like turning on the electric blanket at night, lighting candles and having the fireplace going when we returned wet and cold from the volcano viewing area. Their suggestions for activities made our stay extra special. We cannot wait to go back.


crater rim cabin-recommended.

4,0 sur mars 18, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in March 2011, 3 nights would have been good given the things in the near vicinity to see and do. The cabin is located on a gravel road next to the golf course and is easily accessible by conventional 2 wheel drive car. The location was quiet with virtually no traffic noise. A drive of less than 5 minutes gets you to the main entrance of Volcanoes National Park. The cabin was nicely fitted out with a small but excellent kitchen which was well stocked with everything I could require for breakfast. The living room, bathroom and bedroom were good with plenty of space and tastefully furnished and decorated. On site car parking was available and convenient to the cabin. My hosts were welcoming, friendly and had a good deal of local knowledge regarding things to see and do in the area and were also the source of good advice as to dinner options etc in the area. The accommodation exceeded my expectations on most counts and I would have no hesitation recommending it to friends or relatives visiting the area. Kevin Dowie (Australia)


Wonderful, wonderful spot

4,6 sur mars 06, 2011

We had a completely great stay at the Crater Rim Cabin. The owners were incredibly pleasant and helpful, and the cabin was so amazingly clean and well organized, it totally exceeded our expectations. The guest book is filled with praises which we could only reprise. Like virtually all guestbook comments, our only regret was that we could not stay longer. That said we will return.


Great Family Retreat

4,8 sur mars 04, 2011

Barry and Jim were excellent hosts we will recommend to friends and stay again when in the area next. Barry very knowledgeable about Volcano and Geology of area - enriched our stay!


Best Crater Rim Cabin ever

5 sur février 13, 2011

Jim and Barry are wonderful hosts. The cabin offered a ton and lacked nothing. We felt like someone handed us the keys to their well stocked home. We couldn't find a thing out of place or a single thing that could be improved upon. The only possible drawback is that you might not want to leave the cabin to go enjoy the island. But if you do, you'll have a great place to come home to. We were also very pleasantly surprised by the great restaurants nearby.


Wonderful cabin, exceptional hospitality.

4,8 sur octobre 20, 2010

This is a good-sized Hawaiian "rustic" cabin with all the amenities, from eggs bread and milk in the fridge to shampoo and soap, to a gas stove to warm the cool nights. The location is ideal, off the main road and only a mile or so to the main entrance to Volcano Park, and the town of Volcano. Barry and Jim are exceptional hosts, and the cabin is loaded with books, maps, and interesting Hawaii books and references. You cannot go wrong with this cabin!


Absolutely stay at The Crater Rim Cabin, a perfect dream hideaway located ON the Kilauea Caldera rim!

4,8 sur février 19, 2010

Our stay at The Crater Rim Cabin was one of the most memorable accommodations either of us had ever experienced. A stay in the cabin is worth rearranging your schedule for – it’s the best bargain on the island. When we arrived at the cabin, our host was putting finishing touches to the place. He personally took us thru the rooms, pointing out all amenities including fresh water, coffee and food waiting for us in the kitchen, an electric blanket warming the bed in the bedroom, floor-to-ceiling windows in the bath (with an endless supply of fluffy towels), a library of information about the volcano and the local area – and a backdoor to the crater in the backyard. The entire cabin was spotless and perfectly appointed – we felt like we were in a magazine spread. Our hosts were quick to respond to all our questions; we could not have asked for more. Its central location is breathtaking and the hosts unbeatable.


Crater Rim Cabin

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $179 - $179
  • Avis (99) 4,7
  • Chambres 1

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8089858861
  • Fax 1-8089857106

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut