At the Craters Edge Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix4,5
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
17 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Lovely B&B

5 sur juillet 27, 2014

Very lovely B&B and beautiful room. Enjoyed the hot tub too!


A stay so wonderful, it made the rain go away!

4,4 sur juin 21, 2014

We stayed "At The Craters Edge" as the first part of our wedding trip. The room, the service and grounds were just wonderful. The welcome banana bread, the stocked (and free) snacks and fruits were unexpected and delicious. Our hosts were totally unobtrusive, but there if we had questions! Even though we had misty rain for our two days, between the lodging and the volcanos, we didn't notice! We unreservedly recommend "At The Craters Edge"!


Bed and ???

3,2 sur octobre 17, 2013

Great room but no breakfast.


This was the best place we stayed in and value and comfort, far superior to other places of which we paid a lot more. Loved the rain on the roof; best sleep in three weeks. My niece who will be visiting in a few months already has our recommendation. Loved the cats.

5 sur octobre 14, 2013

Only complaint, I travel with a fan so I did not need one and probably most people don't but if you are a freak like me, need one. Also, hot tub a little hot. But loved it so much!!!!


Lovely, Peacful,and Private!

4,4 sur octobre 07, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while touring Volcano National Park. The location is excellent - less than a 10 minute drive to the park entrance. The room was lovely - it had basically two walls of windows overlooking the trees on one side and the heavily forested front of the property on the other side. It felt like we were practically outside. The 4 poster bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful - I wish I had had enough time to soak in the huge tub. The neighborhood is very quiet, as it's one of the last streets in Volcano. So although our room was in the front of the house and the front wall faced the street through quite a few trees, it really wasn't an issue for me (they have a similar room in the back if that bothers you, though). Folks should be aware that the caretakers (who were very nice and provided great advice on what to see when you checked in) don't serve you breakfast. But they leave some very yummy banana bread in the room, along with coffee, tea. milk, a variety of cereals, and a number of drinks. There's even some breakfast bars, chips, and some "emergency" ramen bowls. As there is a fridge if you want something else you should get it at the small local store. So although you aren't served breakfast, you get lots of privacy, and you can eat on your own schedule. There's also a hot tub out back, robes to wear to and from, and extra towels for the hot tub. All in all, it was wonderful from my perspective. Folks wanting more of a "front desk" presence at all times and a hot breakfast served may want to look elsewhere.


A Romantic stay at Crater's Edge

4,6 sur juillet 01, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Crater's Edge 6/19/13 - 6/21/13 in the Haiku Garden Room. The room itself was outstanding. The design made you feel like you were perched in the tree's. The huge windows and doors facing the garden was unbelievable. The bed was ultra comfortable and the bathroom had a very comfortable tub and a very interesting sink. Jay was very friendly and welcoming, and had treats of freshly baked bread and chocolates, along with milk, juice, tea, coffee waiting for us. The room was very clean and we appreciated the big bowl of local fruit and ate almost all of it. Out of all the locations I stayed this by far was my favorite. I would like to return to explore more of the area. Directions very easy to follow and location easy to find. I loved the beauty of the room especially the ceiling. Thanks for a great stay will recommend to my friends and hope to return soon. Enjoyed spending our 45TH Anniversary there. Went to Hilo for most of our meals, local places are not open late. Barb Pashup Chicago, Il


Wonderful rainforest experience

3,8 sur août 16, 2012

When I did the booking for the "Craters Edge" over 7 months ago, I was a bit sceptical about what the place would actually be, but it fully met our expectations! A wonderful room in a very special place, amidst a small rainforest. A lovely place. But as the location is in a rainforest, be prepared for rain at least once per day. It took a bit to get used to the quite noisy rain-drops music on the tin-roof, especially at night when you want to sleep. But you get used to the sounds of nature quickly. The lodging is simply fabulous, the parking lot is not, unfortunately. Simply too small. But this is only a minor flaw. The houskeepers are very friendly and helpful. The owner, Melanie, was aslo very helpful in booking a wonderful heli flight. The close vicinity to the Kilauea volcano makes the "Craters Edge" a perfect location for holidays in the area. You'll love it, if you love nature and a fine living room. But be prepared to make your bed yourself, and cater for yourself. This is a self-service B&B, with allmost all ingredients provided, but you need to prepare all yourself. We spent 3 days of our 29th wedding anniversary Hawaii tour here. I would come back again and I am happy to recommend the lodging.


Volcano Oasis

4,8 sur avril 18, 2012

Beautiful room, surrounded by gorgeous vegetation. Meticulously thought out details. Heated bath floor, stocked rooms of snacks, drinks, breakfast, nice shampoos/conditioners. Lovely warm fireplace. Beautiful comfy bed. Very nice hot tub & sauna. Very good restaurants very close to B&B. Fabulous, would recommend to others.

Réponse du propriétaire
Mahalo for posting your experience and thanks for choosing Craters Edge.


A perfect ending to our honeymoon!

5 sur janvier 25, 2011

When I found this B&B's website, I knew this is where I wanted to stay for the last few nights of our honeymoon. It is a beautiful location in a quiet residential neighborhood. The room was perfect for us and beautifully appointed. I loved the rainforest setting (though my husband wasn't happy that it was raining that much...in Hawaii. LOL) Luxurious and comfortable. We were prepared for the continental breakfast provided to us after reading about Hawaii's regulations for B&Bs. And the innkeeper was not intrusive, and I don't remember a dog being on the premises, as noted by another review. We haven't figured out when we'll go back to Hawaii yet, but when we do, we'll stay here again!


Wonderful retreat!

5 sur octobre 19, 2010

This B&B was so sweet and quiet and restful. We slept so well! Beautiful and even better than the photos! The forest is so gorgeous and you get to see it all out the big windows. Loved our stay here! Would stay here again in a heartbeat!


Just okay

2,6 sur octobre 08, 2010

A beautiful setting and generally quiet and peaceful. Very close to Volcano's National park and excellent restaurants. A bit on the "to quiet" for us. Innkeeper's dog walks the property alot and is noisy on the deck even awakening us several times. Without being allowed a glass of wine in the hot tub we chose not to use it as we like to unwind on our vacations with a glass of wine.


35th Anniversary At The Crater's Edge

5 sur octobre 06, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Crater's Edge for our 35 anniversary in the Haiku 'cottage'. How do you describe the quiet and beauty of this fablous place in the middle of a tropical paradise? Beautifully furnished room with windows covering two full sides overlooking wild orchids, bromelaids, birds of paradise, and other exotic flowers and vegetation. King Size canopy bed draped with white netting, fully stocked refigerator, fresh fruit bowl with papaya, oranges, local bananas, apples and grapes, coffee maker with kona coffe, microwave, fresh baked banana bread, fire place. My wife absolutely loved this romatic spot. She enjoyed just laying in the canopy bed and looking at the beautiful flowers and vegetation surrounding the 'cottage'. Bathroom is beautiful with glass shower and a seperate spa tub. The proxmity to the volcano national park was about 5 minutes away and Hilo about 35 minutes. Great location for romantic getaway. We want to go back.


Superlative

5 sur novembre 13, 2009

Melanie's attention to every detail provides a memorable experience in a paradise-like setting!


Luxury in an ancient rainforest. A MUST STAY!

5 sur juin 13, 2009

We stayed "At The Crater's Edge" in order to be close to the Volcano's National Park which is just a few miles away. We were delighted to find, upon arrival at this property, absolute luxury at every turn. The accommodations are elegant, quite a nice surprise in such a remote rainforest location. Nothing was overlooked. From the hot tub spa to the ancient forest and beautiful gardens to the comfortable beds and quality bedding, the owners fully intended to spoil their guests, and they succeeded very well indeed. And the town of Volcano is very quaint! There are several good places to eat including a great Thai restaurant. Make sure you make it to Ira Ono's "Volcano Garden Arts" (a cool gallery) and the Sunday Farmer's Market!


A Wonderful Place

4,8 sur février 04, 2009

A perfect base to explore the Volcano National Park. After an active day, a sauna and jacuzzi work out the kinks before driving across the road to the Volcano restaurants (nothing spectacular...but you have to eat). This is a Honeymoon (for us, 2nd Honeymoon) Place - with all the creature comforts and yet total seclusion in the woods. It is just a great design with lots of extra touches - highly recommended by a very experienced traveler. After one month in Hawaii in three different islands, we returned home and my wife commented how she missed the moonlight on the ferns - a great memory.


Wonderful Stay

5 sur août 11, 2008

We totally enjoyed our stay at Crater's Edge B&B. It was a lovely and comfortable place to retreat to at the end of the day, and so convenient to Volcano National Park. I would highly recommend it.


Oh My Gosh! This place was the best ever!!!

4,8 sur mai 09, 2008

I have done a fair amount of traveling for both business and pleasure. My stay at the Crater's Edge was, by far, the best vacation I have ever had...and the most luxurious accomodations I have ever had...no matter what the price. We stayed in the Nahelelelani room and the pictures don't do it justice. The room, the bed, the bath were all luxurious but the most wonderful aspect was the delightful mountain air and light coming through those incredible windows. I slept profoundly and woke up each morning to the beautiful light of the rain forest. I asked the innkeeper, Melanie, how it was that the inn was both so new and so much a part of the rain forest. It turns out that she had special cranes brought in so that the building materials could be hoisted over the tops of the trees....less of a footprint for the inn, much less damage to the forest and an end result of giving her guests the experience of being both safely ensconced in a very comfortable bed while also being in the midst of the flora and fauna. As you can tell, I can't say enough good thngs about this trip. Melanie was a gracious but not intrusive host (I hate it when a B & B innkeeper hovers). The welcoming touches of fruit, chocolate (award winning) and wine all spoke to her attention to detail and thoughtfulness. I will most definitely be back A travelor from New Mexico


At the Craters Edge

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $225 - $275
  • Avis (17) 4,6
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone (808) 557-5358

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut