Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
155 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great Breakfast!

4,2 sur octobre 02, 2014

Matt was very helpful in planning our stay by giving advice on what to see & directions around Island. Would recommend as place to stay


The best B&B I've ever stayed at!

5 sur octobre 01, 2014

I would definitely recommend this over the hotels. Owner(s) are genuinely thoughtful, helpful, and accommodating. Breakfast is amazing - WAY worth it over any of the hotels in town and better than any other B&B I've stayed at.


Best B & B Ever

5 sur septembre 06, 2014

Matthew and Danny have over the years thoughtfully decorated and cared for this lovely plantation style home. The house is artfully decorated and very comfortable. The relaxed atmosphere they have created makes you feel as if you are in your own home. Not only was the breakfast delightful but, full acces to the kitchen meant we were also able to prepare other meals of the day for ourselves which added greatly to the experience. An additional caretaker/hostess Carolina was also a delight to be around and was very knowledgeable of the island. Meeting people from all over the world who came to visit Hawaii was a huge plus. Having been to quite a few B and B's, this is hands down the best one ever!


Cozy little get away

4,2 sur août 06, 2014

Very cozy home. Easy access to the town center. Gracious hosts, delicious breakfast! Would stay here again.


we had a great stay

4,8 sur juillet 16, 2014

we had a great stay. It's close to the main area of Hilo--walkable.


Charming B&B, great host

4,6 sur juillet 07, 2014

This is a charming B&B just a couple of blocks from the center of Hilo. The room was quite comfortable (no air conditioning, but good ceiling fan). In the morning we were met by our great host, Mathew. He was very friendly and had prepared a great tropical breakfast. Would certainly stay here again when in Hilo.


Very kind owner!

4,6 sur juin 30, 2014

We stayed three days here. While staying, we requested many things. Owner readity compilede with our requests every time. You should stay here instead of hotel when you go to Hilo. You must have a great time!


May 2014

4,2 sur mai 27, 2014

The B&B was very well kept and Matthew was an excellent host. Would definitely recommend the accommodations to anybody who wants to explore the Hilo side of the island.


Wonderful Stay

5 sur mai 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of two nights in the Michener Rm. Wonderfully restored and beautifully decorated home. Delicious breakfast! Within a few blocks of bay, museums, downtown area. Definitely would stay again and recommend to others. Thanks, Matthew, for your great hospitality!


Fantastic Breakfasts, Disappointing Room Accommodations

3,6 sur mai 21, 2014

We were in the Lava Room with entry from side yard and stairs to kitchen. The breakfasts were so delicious and plentiful that we overlooked the poor room amenities. Entry to room was down two steps from doorway. There was no wall light switch to turn on lights before going down those steps. Bed and pillows were okay, not great. Bathroom was three steps up from room. Bathroom door was an ill-fitting wooden screen that slid across opening, not really providing privacy. Sink (a round bowl of lava) did not drain well, and faucet was loose. Not enough towel racks, just one short one. Shower floor made of very uncomfortable pebbles, and shower curtain did not contain water sufficiently. Shower had only one wall, so there was nothing to hold onto. No evidence of housekeeping, no clean towels. Floor creaky. Inadequate parking. On the bright side, the hosts and hostess were super friendly, and the breakfasts were fantastic!


Great base for exploring the west side of Hawii big island

4,0 sur mai 11, 2014

Locsted just 2 minutes walk from downtown Hilo we found Hilo bay hale to be just right for exploring Hilo and the Volcaoes area. The rooms a great and the breakfast fantastic to set you up for the day.


Charming stay in Hilo

4,0 sur avril 30, 2014

Our one night stay in Hilo was short but very appreciated. Our hosts at Hilo Bay Hale were welcoming and cared to our needs. The place was lovely and very well located. And on top of it all, we had a delicious breakfast before packing and continuing our island tour. Would recommend.


Con duende

4,2 sur avril 25, 2014

Lugar muy tranquilo, habitaciones espaciosas muy bien cuidadas y limpias. Personal muy amable, un sitio totalmente recomendable


Lovely accommodations

5 sur avril 22, 2014

Beautiful room in an older house with lots of character. Enjoyed sleeping with open windows to the sound of rain. Breakfast was wonderful on the lanai overlooking a lush backyard. (The eggs and most of the produce came from owner's nearby farm.). Would definitely stay here again. Enjoyed visiting with owner and the other guests.


The Jungle House was perfect for us!!

4,4 sur mars 12, 2014

We stayed not at the Hilo Bay Hale B&B, but rather it's private cousin to the south in Pahoa. Lovely! Danny was such a dear and brought us fresh eggs, bananas and avocados from our backyard. Having chickens at home ourselves, we felt so at ease with all the animals that also included goats and ducks. We were looking for a quiet getaway and our stay at the Jungle House offered us just the rest and relaxation we needed. A short drive to Volcano National Park, beautiful ocean views, Hilo and the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, the Jungle House was a terrific hub for sight seeing as well. If you are looking for a quiet retreat or a great place to come home to after a day of sight seeing, the Jungle House would meet your needs. Nearby restaurants offered a variety of good eats and the Jungle House was also well stocked for cooking.


Always a pleasure to stay at the HBH

5 sur mars 07, 2014

This was our fourth time staying at the Hilo Bay Hale, and it never fails to live up to our expectations. The breakfasts alone are worth a visit!


Great stay in Hilo

4,6 sur février 16, 2014

Walkable to the farmers market and has a great local feel.


Hilo Bay Hale - the Jungle House

5 sur février 02, 2014

Matthew & Danny were wonderful hosts. And the Jungle House is AMAZING. We stayed with two friends and the guys made us all feel right at home. If you'll be staying near Hilo and prefer an exquisitely furnished, 3-bedroom Hawaiian home to some resort hotel (that's just like every other resort hotel), check out Hilo Bay Hale!


HIlo Haven

4,0 sur janvier 19, 2014

We spent 8 very enjoyable days at the B&B. The Michener and Lava Rooms were inspired, along with the whole restored plantation-style house full of Hawaiian and 50's collectibles. The house is surrounded by an urban garden of bamboo trees and and a pond stocked with koi. The hosts were very congenial and there were lively conversations while they made breakfast. Matthew's insight and interest in the history and character of life in HIlo was fascinating. We also went out to visit the Jungle Farmhouse, and found it to be a very interesting working farm where original fruit and coffee trees have been coaxed back into production.


Nice Owners by Noisy Location

3,0 sur décembre 27, 2013

This was our first visit to Hilo. We stayed one night at Hilo Bay Hale. The owners were very welcoming and they had a good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and eggs and pastires. They were also helpful about telling us what to do in the area. The issue was the noise levels. There is no A/C in this house so we wanted to leave the windows open to get some air at night. We didn't mind the noise the frogs make outside. The issue was the next door neighbor's dog was outside barking all night everytime a car or a person went by keeping us awake. You could also hear the cars go by since it was near a main road. There is hardly any water view from this house from any room though I thought it advertiesed there was one. The bed was small too and there wasn't any shampoo (I forgot mine at the previous hotel) in the bathroom (though I didn't ask to borrow any). The bathroom door couldn't even be closed (or without much effort) and the bathroom was very cramped. There was almost no place to put your bathroom stuff since the sink was so tiny. There was also no place to hang a towel hardly either. The room also didn't have enough empty outlets to charge all of our various electronic devices without unplugging something. The parking was tough too. There was only room for 1 car in the driveway and it was a really hard angle to get into that spot from the busy road. The place was adequate and clean and conveniently located to the main part of town and the cost was OK but I have stayed in much nicer B & B's before!


Excellent breakfast!

4,4 sur décembre 25, 2013

The breakfast was excellent. One should know that there is limited off-street parking but the area appears to be safe. Also, Hilo is known for a lot of noisy frogs. Bring earplugs. I think all the B&B's in Hilo will have the same noise issue. The room was very clean. The owners were very polite, friendly, and flexible. The breakfast chef was excellent; she made a terrific quiche and homemade muffins. Everything about the breakfast was awesome!


Only way to celebrate the holidays

4,8 sur décembre 24, 2013

Everyone was excellent about our food restrictions (nut & gluten allergies). Loved the fact we could make a meal there had plenty of entertainment ( TV, books, games). Meet so lovely people that were staying there as well. Great for couples or families. Thank You!


Lovely room and food and Dan was helpful and delightful.

4,6 sur novembre 30, 2013

Rich and Judy


Too bad we could only stay one night!

5 sur novembre 11, 2013

A beautiful room in a beautifully renovated house. Loved the interior (lots of vintage furniture and details) and the friendly service from Matthew. The breakfast was soooo tasty and kept us full until dinner. Very close to Hilo downtow restaurants and shops.


Great place to stay

3,6 sur octobre 19, 2013

The Lava room at Hilo Bay Hale was great. The ability to do laundry after a week stay in Hawaii was a great bonus. The house is in a great location, close to everything and the hosts and the accommodations were perfect. The garden outside our room was a pleasant respite to enjoy a quiet moment with cocktails. We left too early in the morning to enjoy breakfast but expect that would have been great too. Only two challenges to our stay her;, the bathroom has a unique set up of stairs so without a night light it is a challenge to negotiate in the night time darkness and the Lava room was not air conditioned which was fine if you left the windows and sliding door open but the Coqui frogs are quite loud at night. That's just "nature" and no negative reflection on the house or hosts. Overall a great place to stay.


Amazing!

5 sur octobre 15, 2013

The breakfast was one of the best I've had, restaurant or otherwise - all made right there in front of us. The house was beautiful, you can tell that care was put into every detail - we stayed in the Lava Room and loved it. The owners were friendly and helpful, I very much enjoyed conversation with them. The location was central to everything in Hilo. I typically don't write reviews, but this place deserved it. I'd recommend it to anyone!


great choice for hilo

3,8 sur octobre 07, 2013

food great; great location. service great


Exactly as advertized

3,8 sur septembre 04, 2013

This well preserved house served our purpose perfectly. We were not staying long, but would have if we needed to. We stayed in the Michener Room. It has a private lanai and a large and unique bathroom. Good location; close to everything in Hilo. Breakfast was outstanding. If you enjoy nature sounds to lull you to sleep, the grounds support a large group of critters that chirp and croak until the wee hours. I would stay again.


Feels like home

5 sur août 24, 2013

The lava room on the first floor is big enough for a family of two adults and two children. The james Michener room on the second floor has a nice patio. The owner of the b&b is friendly and the breakfast is wonderful.


A Welcomed Treat

5 sur août 12, 2013

My partner and I were so happy with our stay at the Hilo Bay Hale. We stayed in the James Michener room. Overall we were very impressed with the attention to detail in restoring this property, as well as to the decorating. We were inspired to make changes in our own home. Breakfast was superior and we never left hungry. The lanai off our room was lovely. It was nice to sit out and look at the koi pond or sit and listen to the frogs at night. We will be recommending this to friends and keeping it on our short list of places to stay on the Big Island.


Loved the Hilo Bay Hale!

4,2 sur juillet 31, 2013

We really enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and the koi pond right below our lanai. It was great to be able to use the kitchen and laundry facilities. Just like a home away from home!


Needs some work

3,0 sur juillet 28, 2013

We stayed in the Lava room which was in the walkout basement. There were many steps that were dangerous. The bathroom was very inconvient, the room was very damp and musty smelling. We had a very pleasant breakfast with an enjoyable conversation with the current host.


Honeymoon Stay

5 sur juillet 13, 2013

My Wife and I could not have been happier on our Honeymoon stay in the Bay Hale room. The room was in fantastic order, and we had a pleasant evening of sleep. Carolina (I think that was her name) cooked us breakfast in the morning, and we had a wonderful time talking with her and the other guests. We had an enormous spread of breakfast food, including fresh strawberry papaya, eggs, bacon, bread pudding, egg pudding, bread, coffee, juice, and milk. The owners were wonderful, and I met Mathew a few days later when I realized I had left my Blazer in the closet and needed to return to pick it up. If ever we return to the Island, we will not hesitate to stay again with such wonderful people. You truly made our honeymoon one of the best memories of our lives.


great place to stay in Hilo

4,8 sur juillet 06, 2013

We stayed here our first jet lagged night in Hilo. The room was a joy. The bathroom sink was of stone on a tree trunk. The room opened onto a porch and a bamboo bordered garden. It felt like we were in the rain forest. The next morning the food was great and Danny gave us great tips on places to eat and things to see.


Good town centre B&B

4,6 sur juin 28, 2013

We stayed in the Lava room, which is on the ground floor. It is outstandingly elegantly decorated and furnished in a Japanese style. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The slight reservation in rating the room concerns the bathroom. In order to fit it in, it is up two steps; the shower has a pebble floor, which is hard on the feet, and the wash-basin has no provision for a plug. There was also a slight feeling of dampness, but this is probably to be expected in Hilo. The breakfast was excellent. The welcome was genial and helpful (they even sorted out an adaptor we left behind). The B&B is only four minutes walk from the Cafe Pesto, which is a first-class restaurant (the dining rating reflects both this and the breakfast).


Great lanai for reading, napping, writing, internet

4,2 sur juin 22, 2013

Super clean, lots of attention to detail (Hawaiin touches, fun knick-knacks). Great lanai and living room. Outstanding breakfast and our hostess was personable and fun to chat with. Central location so you can walk to downtown, the KTA, to Liliuokalani Gardens, and the Lyman Museum and Mission House. A bit of road noise during the day (in the front of the house) but the town shuts down early so it is very quiet in the evenings.


B&B Perfection

5 sur juin 04, 2013

I spent 7 nights at this delightful B&B. The rooms are lovely (I loved the decor and furniture) and the breakfasts were great, including loads of fresh fruit grown on the owners' farm. Everyone was super friendly and very helpful, even when I had to call them one night because I was too dopey to figure out how to turn on the gas for the grill on the back deck. With two great outdoor tables on the verandahs at the front and back of the property, this was an excellent base of operations for exploring Hilo and surrounds. They even very kindly volunteered to get breakfast early for me on my last day so I could eat before heading to the airport.


Relaxing rainforest getaway

4,2 sur mai 24, 2013

Can't say enough good about the owners Danny and Matthew--they were spot on with recommendations and making sure we were comfortable! We stayed at the Jungle House in Pahoa, rather than the house in Hilo. This was a great place to get an "old-Hawaiian" vacation, not a sterile mega resort tourist stop. The house was quite comfortable for myself, my partner and a friend of ours--well situated for all activities in the area, close to Hilo, Kilauea, and the laid-back Puna district. The house itself could use some updating and minor repairs, but in many ways this just added to its charm for us. The best sleep we've had in months. We'll definitely seek it out again next time we're in the area!


Great place

4,4 sur mai 24, 2013

We stayed here one night in April of 2013. It was a great room, host Mathew was very helpful, and the breakfast was awesome. I would recommend it, and we would definetely stay here again. Thank you!


Deligtful

5 sur mai 23, 2013

We loved our one night stay in Hilo at this adorable spot right in town. We wish we could have stayed longer or gone to visit their farmhouse location. Very inviting and well appointed. We will make a point to stay here again on our return visit to the island. Thanks Matthew and team. We love your little piece of paradise and your knowledge of the area was very helpful.


Charming B&B in Hilo

4,4 sur mai 16, 2013

Best. Pineapple. Ever. We honeymooned in Hawaii and had the opportunity to stay at a 4-star property on Maui, a 5-star resort near Kona, and Hilo Bay Hale. The first bite of the pineapple served at Hilo Bay Hale's breakfast lead us to say "Ah, THIS is what pineapple is supposed to taste like!" Neither hotel's pineapple came close to being as wonderful as the pineapple they have here, which happens to be grown on their farm. Fresh and wonderful, we could have each had an entire pineapple for breakfast and been satisfied. But we won't complain about having been served amazing egg dishes (seasoned with herbs from their herb garden), other fresh fruit, and great coffee besides. The entire breakfast far surpassed the buffet at the Maui hotel. The B&B had lots of charm and a great local feel. We stayed in the James Michener room and would recommend it to anyone looking for a room with character. Amazing record collection as part of the decor - my husband spent part of our last morning adding some titles to his Spotify list. :-) We also had our own private lanai, overlooking a koi pond. I was surprised at how updated the bathroom was, as I expected a B&B in Hilo to be a little more rustic. And the bath products were really nice, too. Coconut lime bath soap and Coco Mango shampoo. I had to take them home with me. Laura and Matthew both provided genuinely friendly conversation, information, and a personal touch. We stayed in Hilo because Volcanoes National Park was on our itinerary so we only spent 2 nights here.... If we're lucky enough to come back to Hawaii, we will spend more time in Hilo to explore the town a little more, and definitely stay at Hilo Bay Hale again. We were really impressed with the B&B and the service they provided. Thanks for an awesome stay!


Beautiful home, fabulous breakfast

5 sur mai 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay. The home is beautiful, the room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was fabulous. Would highly recommend this B&B.


Hilo overnight

3,4 sur mai 07, 2013

Our recent visit to th Big Island included an overnight in Hilo and Hilo Bay Hale B&B. The house was charming and filled with antiques and collectibles that we collect ourselves. Our host was very friendly and offered an excellent breakfast before we left for the day. Our room, (Lava Room) was large and comfortable and had a private entrance and garden area. We did find the multi level bathroom a bit awkward, use caution in/out of the shower/bath area. Thank you Matthew and staff, we enjoyed our stay !!


Hilo Hale

5 sur avril 20, 2013

Awesome B&B. The rooms are gorgeous. We stayed in the Lava Room and it was very comfortable. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is beautiful. There is a patio outside the room also. Matthew goes out of his way to see that you have everything you need and his breakfast is outstanding. A highlight of the visit. A beautiful home in a great location. Highly recommend it.


Lovely little hideaway right in Hilo

4,6 sur avril 17, 2013

My husband and I recently had the most excellent accommodations of the Hilo Bay B&B. We really enjoyed the Michener room, it was beautiful, and lovely to have our own balcony, and the bed was very comfortable indeed, and that grand bathroom, divine. And finally, the breakfasts were amazing, perfect! We didn't even mind the frogs, they serenaded us to sleep. 8-) Matthew was the most perfect host, friendly, informative and welcoming. We would definitely return again, to spend more time on the island.


My favorite B&B in Hilo!

4,6 sur avril 10, 2013

We love statying at Hilo Bay Hale! We¿ve been there 3 years in a row. Always our first choice. It is charming, welcoming, and very clean. Rooms are very comfortable as well as the public areas. Mathew is the sweetest host, and quite a cook!


Beautifull and restfull place

5 sur avril 08, 2013

Rooms are beaufully decorated, the place quiet, the only noise being the song of birds and frogs ... Very warm welcome and nice place


Beautiful room in great location

4,6 sur avril 07, 2013

We stayed in the beautiful Lava room, a great experience. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful, the location is prime, so our stay was memorable.


Great breakfast and service

4,4 sur avril 06, 2013

The only downside we had is the moisture room smell, but I guess that's more or less understandable due to the location. Otherwise everything was fantastic.


Hilo Bay Hale B&B - Bay and Lava Rooms

5 sur avril 06, 2013

We stayed in the on March 30th in Bay room and March 31st in Lava room. Liked the LAVA room the best.


A great place to stay.

4,6 sur avril 03, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Jungle House for a week. We used the house as our home base and visited all around the big island of Hawaii. We were given fresh eggs when we arrived. The kitchen is well stocked with spices, etc. The lanai is really comfortable, but leaks when it rains. I would definitely recommend this house highly.


Overnight in Hilo

4,8 sur avril 03, 2013

The best part of any B&B is a warm welcome and engagement by the host and meeting other fellow travelers. Hilo Bay Hale is such a place..


Our new favorite place to stay!

5 sur avril 01, 2013

We just returned from a stay at the Hilo Bay Hale B&B and we feel so lucky to have found this little gem. Everything about it was perfect. The house is beautiful and was absolutely spotless. Matthew was very accommodating and had our room ready early in the day so we could drop our stuff off, as we had an afternoon tour. Breakfast was delicious and Matthew is incredibly charming and very knowledgeable on Hilo. We can't wait to go back!


Great place to stay in Hilo

4,4 sur mars 29, 2013

close to downtown, market; Owner very helpful, loaned us towels for the beachy, equipment, picnic bag. We stayed in the Michener room and loved it.


Hilo Bay Hale

4,4 sur mars 28, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this relaxing B & B. The staff were friendly and helpful in suggesting local sights. The beds were comfortable and the surroundings were nice. The food was good and generous - but it would be nice if they could have something different (stagger a menu). Overall we enjoyed our stay.


Stay at Hilo Bed Hale

4,8 sur mars 25, 2013

The Hilo Bed Hale is a beautiful and unique place. The breakfast is great and you will certainly enjoy your stay there.


Most enjoyable stay at the Jungle Farmhouse

4,6 sur mars 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights recently at the Pahoa Farmhouse managed by the Hilo Bay Hale B&B. It was an excellent base for visiting the east side of the Big Island for a few days. It is slightly out of the way, but is located within lush and private grounds with excellent restaurants nearby. We enjoyed eggs and avacados from the farm itself that were delicious. The house was an excellent value for our stay with two couples. We would definitely like to stay there again with another couple of with more family members.


Special place, Special people

5 sur mars 01, 2013

We loved our stay. Great location, great rooms (we stayed in two), but especially great hosts. Thanks for making our stay in Hilo special.


Fabulous stay in Hilo!

4,6 sur février 03, 2013

Stayed 2 nites in different rooms, the James Michener room is very special. Walking distance to ocean, lots of restaurants, local museum, farmer's market and great Yoga Centred studio. Perfect location to drive to Rainbow and Akaka Falls. Joe was a wonderful host and makes a beautiful breakfast with fresh fruit and more! Great retro decor and photos of old Hawaii. Would definately recommend and revisit!


A Tropical Oasis in Hilo

4,0 sur janvier 13, 2013

Best breakfast on the island. Lovely koi pond.


Very pleasant stay. Would like to stay there again

5 sur janvier 07, 2013

Excellent breakfast and talking with Matthew you get to learn a lot more about the culture and people of Hawaii. Would like to visit again.


Amazing Stay!

5 sur décembre 22, 2012

The host was very nice, kind and helpful. I would for sure go back and stay again. The breakfast spread was huge and delicious! Worth staying for a few nights. I stayed paid a little extra for the lava room and it was well worth it!


Great home base for Hilo

4,2 sur décembre 03, 2012

We stayed a few nights and really enjoyed the Lava Room. It is very private and spacious. The hosts are very gracious and informative, the breakfasts are very tasty and the location is convenient. We would definitely stay again. The restoration is beautiful and the rooms are all very quiet. There is also a quiet private yard for the Lava Room.


A Great Place to Stay In Hilo!

4,8 sur décembre 01, 2012

We spent only one night at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast, but it was a great choice in terms of value for your money. The place is nice, next to the Downtown Hilo, and it has everything for a comfortable stay. We got pretty dirty and dusty after the hike to Green Sand Beach, and it was very nice that they have a washer and a dryer that we could use. Matthew was such a wonderful host. It was very easy to communicate with him. He always replied to our e-mails and returned our calls. He fixed us a delicious breakfast, and his breakfast was one of highlights of our trip. It was a perfectly balanced and nicely served. What could be better than to start your day with fresh tropical fruits and yogurt , tasty omelet, yummy bread and good Kona coffee?! If we go back to Big Island again, we would not hesitate to stay at Hilo Bay Hale many a time.


Very best B&B

4,8 sur novembre 05, 2012

We enjoyed Only one Night at the Hilo Bay Hale and we were overwhelmed by the friendliness of Matthew and his fellows at the B&B.


Hilo Bay Hale - only place to stay in Hilo

4,2 sur octobre 24, 2012

We stayed at Hilo Bay Hale for one night in October and it was really great. Our room was spacious, very clean, and we got a good night's sleep. This place had amazing service. We were on our honeymoon and one of the owners even left us a box of Hawaiian choclates by our door, which was a very nice, personal touch. Since we were there over the weekend, he also made us breakfast in the morning, including eggs, fruit, coffee, bagels, muffins, cheese and jam. I would definitley stay here again and recommend this place to anyone passing by Hilo!


Gorgeous Place to stay in Hilo

4,8 sur octobre 20, 2012

We enjoyed 4 Nights at the Hilo Bay Hale and we were overwhelmed by the friendliness of Matthew and his fellows at the B&B. They made our stay in Hilo great - by just being there for us whenever we had something that we needed. They make you feel like you're a friend staying at their place. Whenever I'm back in Hilo, that's the place to stay!


A gem in Hilo Town!

5 sur octobre 08, 2012

Hilo Bay Hale was an oasis in the heart of Hilo town. We stayed in the spacious Lava Room and loved the tranquility and outside patio. The house itself was gorgeously restored and we particularly loved the decor and antiques. The service was outstanding and the proprietors went out of their way to provide us with guide books, cooler for day trips, flashlights for our lava hike, ...you name it! The breakfast was terrific too and very filling! I will return to this B&B every trip I take to Hilo. It felt like home away from home.


Wonderful stay at Hilo Bay Hale

4,2 sur octobre 02, 2012

We arrived early in the morning around 9am ish and were greeted by Joe. Our room was already available and we were able to put our luggage in & get settled straight away. Joe was friendly & extremely helpful regarding the things to see and do in the area. It wasn't until the next day that we met Mathew and we were greeted with the most amazing breakfast. Mathew was also so friendly and helpful, a home away from home (but nicer!).


Great value stay in Hilo

3,8 sur septembre 13, 2012

This was a great find. Conveniently located with a warm welcome and excellent breakfast!


Fantastic! hospitality, room, location, and breakfast

5 sur septembre 08, 2012

I highly recommend Hilo Bay Hale B & B for vacation and business travelers: great welcome & local tips; continuously available beautiful fresh fruit from their farm in nearby Puna and as part of the wholesome breakfasts; decor that is tasteful, homey, and shows a deep respect for & celebration of local history; very comfortable & clean room & bed; and easy access to downtown and the sights...all make this a wonderful place to stay in Hilo.


Honeymoon at the Jungle House

3,8 sur août 09, 2012

Went to the Jungle House and paid something like $119 a day for a 3 bedroom house. Matthew was EXTREMELY nice and accommodating. He had fresh eggs from the chickens that were behind the guest house and provided fresh fruit from the trees surrounding the premises. We were able to talk with him during our stay. He's one of the nicest people you'll meet and knowledgeable about the area, so you know places to go, eat, and fun things to do. In the house, I wasn't very impressed with the coffee maker. Worked fine but I guess I'm being picky about that. The couch in the living room was stiff and definitely not something I'd want to lounge in, but that's done outside anyways. Mosquitoes were a problem around the car port. We were tore up pretty bad. And be prepared for the heat because there's no AC. If you leave the windows and doors open its not really that bad, but it could be an issue. In the end, after 4 days at a resort, a house tucked away in the tropics was exactly what we were looking for to relax and continue our vacation. We would definitely recommend this place and come here again.


Perfect location in Hilo

4,6 sur août 02, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights visiting from Oahu. We were charmed by the Hilo Bay Hilo. Very comfortable accommodations and the hosts were wonderful in making us feel right at home. Would highly recommend. Dorine and Chuck Losasso


Hawaiian hospitality at its best

5 sur juillet 23, 2012

We recently spent one night at the Hilo Bay Hale B&B and could not have been more pleased. Our room was lovely, with a tremendously comfortable bed, a view onto the garden, and a wonderful large private bathroom. The B&B was designed with relaxtion and graciousness in mind, with many private sitting areas throughout. Personal decorating touches were outstanding, with a number of private collections displayed throughout the house for guests enjoyment. Breakfast was more than we could have ever dreamed of, with egg casserole, freshly baked bread, yogurt, fresh fruit, and the most delicious coffee ever. We spent the morning reading on the side porch, enjoying the breezes and coolish temperatures, and hated to leave this little haven. Our host Matt could not have been more gracious or accommodating. Staying at the Hilo Bay Hale was an experience to remember!!


Comfortable and Great Breakfast

4,8 sur juillet 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast in early July in the James Michener room. The room is clean and comfortable and there is a delightful koi pond off a pleasant, private lanai. Even though the B&B is located in town within walking distance to the downtown area, the lush bamboo vegetation and landscaping give a secluded tropical feel to the immediate surroundings. The breakfast was great and Matthew is a gracious and helpful host.


Great place

5 sur juillet 10, 2012

Beautiful house, gracious hosts, central location, great value. We had a wonderful time and will be back!


great experience

5 sur juillet 05, 2012

I love staying at Hilo Bay Hale. Very convenient location to everything downtown. I never have an issue with parking.


Jungle House: Real Hawaiian Home Gem in Pahoa near Hilo

4,8 sur juillet 01, 2012

The 3 bedroom Jungle House is a true Hawaiian home, decorated beautifully in traditional style. It's surrounded by a lush tropical jungle farm. The owners are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, with the fresh farm eggs! Full kitchen, screened in lanais, and even an outdoor shower! Very comfortable for 6 people, with 3 bedrooms. Use of washer dryer was convenient. If you're looking for a relaxing, authentic Hawaiian retreat in the rainy, tropical jungle with frogs croaking at night, this is it! Would love to return for a week!


Hilo Bay Hale

4,0 sur juin 20, 2012

Very clean and the hosts are extremely friendly and accomodating.


Great Time but horrible parking

4,2 sur juin 11, 2012

We had a lovely time at Hilo Bay Hale - breakfast was delicious, rooms were perfect and staff/owners were really helpful and friendly. My only complaint is that parking can be a bit difficult especially with more than 2 cars. I would suggest they stripe the driveway to facilitate parking 3 cars as it's not clear to the guests.


Très bon b&b

4,0 sur mai 27, 2012

Nous avons passé trois jours à Hilo du 8 au 11 mai dans la chambre lava : très belle déco, très originale, très propre avec un beau jardinet juste devant. le petit déj était super bien : des fruits frais, très varié..notre hote était très bien, pas trop pressant juste ce qu'il fallait un seul petit bémol mais pas grave : le peu de place pour se garer devant la maison : seulement deux places à l'intérieur...


Peaceful, Clean, Welcoming!

5 sur mai 17, 2012

We went on our first trip to Hawaii in late April and were able to stay a time in Hilo. This B&B was a perfect base to discover this town. We were able to enjoy their Farmers Market, go to Richardson Beach and snorkel and took opportunities to go on some tours to the Volcanoes and Waterfalls. Every morning we woke up to a delicious breakfast and they put on some wonderful music for us to enjoy while eating. The even allowed us to use their washing machine and full use of kitchen any time. Very private. The hosts were very helpful and very welcoming. We are already planning another trip there and bringing family.


Great little find

5 sur mai 11, 2012

We had a couple of nights here on our honeymoon last month. Welcome was very warm, even had room ready so we could check in early. Everywhere really clean and well presented. Joe helped with recommendations for places to visit and eat. There was lots to chose from for breakfast, including amazing eggs fresh eggs. There are mozzies in the summer though so if you are prone to being eaten as I was take repelant.


Will stay here again!

5 sur avril 24, 2012

LOVED this place! Everything from the book selection to the decor, to the breakfast was so thoughtful and put together. I really appreciated all the time an thought that the hosts put into the home's renovation and their care for guests. Breakfast was ample and delicious, the whole house is adorable and makes you feel like you're on vacation in a wonderful island home. I would certainly recommend this place, totally worth the price!


When in Hilo

4,4 sur avril 15, 2012

I selected Hilo Bay Hale for its convenient location. Although exceeding my expectations is difficult, the property and Matt's hospitality did so in every way. The room was comfortable and charmingly furnished. Breakfasts were outstanding. I hope I can return.


Wonderful experience

5 sur avril 02, 2012

Stayed in Lava room and highly recommend it, and the other rooms too. Great experience as well as a good value. Matthew provided an excellent fresh breakfast and is a perfect host. Would absolutely stay again!


Delicious papaya!

5 sur mars 28, 2012

The hosts were so welcoming and accommadating. Our stay was wonderful. My 12 year old daughter felt right at home there and loved our room. Hilo is a great town to visit.


Perfect place to stay in Hilo

4,0 sur mars 07, 2012

My husband and I only stayed one night at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast but it was a very enjoyable night. I wish we had planned a longer stay. The house is beautifully renovated and each room is different and beautiful. Matthew is a warm and gracious host and makes a great breakfast! I highly recommend Hilo Bay, you won't be disappointed.


A little pricey compared to hotels, but worth it

4,8 sur mars 06, 2012

Had a fantastic 4-night stay here, staying in both the Bay Room and Tsunami Room. The Tsunami Room is gorgeous and amazing -- its own private lanai and a koi pond! But the Bay Room's pretty cool too, smaller but still plenty spacious, with the same sized bed and a private door to the front porch if you want. This place is quiet (except for the coquis! But I liked their cute little songs), neat, and homey. The food's amazing: every morning fresh local fruit, eggs from the owners' farm, delicious baked things like banana and bread pudding. This B&B is one of the rare ones that allows single-night stays, so I met different travelers every day: a couple with a small child, retirees, a woman from Japan. The on-site manager Matthew is friendly, funny, and helpful. Definitely highly recommended. The only negatives I can think of are things that are just part of Hilo: it's crazy humid and there's mosquitoes everywhere. But hey, it's Hawaii. And the Hale has lots of bug repellent handy if you need it!


Very pleasant stay at Hilo Bay

4,0 sur février 27, 2012

My husband and I have a condo on the West side of the island, but decided to stay one night in Hilo so we could explore Hilo. We could walk to the Farmer's Market, the shops, and the restaurants from the BandB. Danny cooked the best breakfast on Saturday, and we heard from the other guests that the breakfast on the preceeding days were just as good. The French Toast was the best. We stayed in the Lava Room. It was very unique and romantic. I would highly recommend staying here, and would have liked to stay longer. Hopefully there will be a next time!


Lovely Stay at Hilo Bay Hale B&B

4,8 sur février 26, 2012

This place is a wonderful place to stay while in Hilo. The rooms are very comfortable. I stayed in the Bay Room which had a really comfy bed and nice decor. The rest of the house was fun and full of style with unique touches. I especially enjoyed sitting out on the front porch eating the yummy breakfast that was prepared for the guests. It is conveniently located within a few minutes walk to downtown for some fun exploring. A delightful place to stay and I would definitely stay here again.


Second Stay There & Still Loved It!

4,4 sur février 17, 2012

We stayed a week in the James Mitchener room, and couldn't be more pleased. Great service was provided by Matthew and Danny, and the breakfasts provided can't be beat! The B&B is nice and quiet, and you will have no problems slipping into vacation mode while you are there. A big mahalo to Matthew and Danny!


An experienced B&B traveller

3,2 sur janvier 29, 2012

The breakfast was outstanding. The only couple of negatives weren't serious, but bear mentioning. The first was that non-gay people were staying there also. In fact, I and my partner were the only gay people there. I don't believe that we should exercise "reverse discrimination" by not allowing straight people to come to our establishments, but it would have been nice simply to know this was a possibility ahead of time. The second thing was that our bed wasn't made and the room wasn't cleaned up. Again, no big deal. It simply would have been nice to know this ahead of time (and perhaps it is mentioned in your blurb, because I know that I skipped over some other important information which I should have read about before our arrival). In spite of these two minor things, I would definitely come again because of the friendly and homey atmosphere.


Wonderful place to stay

4,6 sur janvier 23, 2012

Recently spent 2 nights at the Hilo Bay Hale.....clean room, very nice bed, excellent breakfasts and wonderful innkeepers. The kitchen reminded me of my grandma's kitchen, which was comforting. If I ever return to Hilo, I will stay here again. Even the frogs at night were fun to listen to.


Hilo Bay Hale

5 sur janvier 10, 2012

Hilo Bay Hale is fantastic B+B right downtown. The Lava Room is spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the tropical deluge showerhead in the shower. The breakfasts were amazing! We'll definitely stay again.


AWESOME RETREAT

4,8 sur janvier 04, 2012

Is there a better word than Awesome??? Not ones who usually stay in B&B's so wasn't sure what to excpect. The room was very private and relaxing with it's own private lanai that overlooked the Koi pond. Decorated with lots of island history and antiques. Location to downtown... just 3 blocks with lots of restaurants. Now for the breakfast...it was worth the price of the room itself! Matthew is fun and has lots of info re: Hilo and all kinds of places to visit on your way to and from. Only regret is that we did not stay another night and explore more of Hilo.


Terrific B&B in Hilo

4,6 sur décembre 29, 2011

My husband and I spent our first night here before heading out to discover the rest of the island. It was a terrific choice. The room was comfortable, nicely decorated with a pleasant private lanai. The house is charmingly restored with nice attention to details. Even though we arrived late in the evening everything was perfectly set up for our arrival, and in the morning we met our host, Matthew. The breakfast was delicious, beautiful and substantial. Matthew was welcoming and willing to answer any request. He even offered to drive us to the rental car place when we were not able to get a cab. That's service!


Excellent Stay

4,4 sur décembre 24, 2011

Wonderful breakfastenjoyed on the lanai: eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and rolls, juice, cereal, coffee(decaf when requested), delicious bread pudding, yogurt. Congenial, helpful and accommodating hosts. Lava room was large and had a comfortable bed with a walkout to the yard and lanai. We needed a second chair in the room and it was no problem to bring one from the kitchen. The bath was clean and once we figured out how to pull the shower curtain so water didn't spill onto the floor it worked well. Beautiful pond with colourful fish. The croaking frogs didn't bother us. An enjoyable 3 night stay.


outstanding in all ways!

5 sur décembre 22, 2011

Outstanding bed and breakfast in Hilo! The hosts were very friendly and welcoming, a very good example of the Aloha spirit. The house and rooms were clean, cozy, and spacious. The Bay Room was well furnished and very nicely decorated with a full size private bathroom and good lighting. Breakfast served every morning was made fresh and was 'ono (delicious)! There was plenty of food for all guests. The fresh fruit was my favorite, served along with eggs, french toast, and/or other breakfast foods. Well-located too with ample parking, and a short 3 minute walk to downtown. Easy 30 minute drive to Volcanoes National Park. 45 minutes to Mauna Kea visitor information center. Thank you Hilo Bay Hale, for a great vacation!


Great stay for your island getaway

4,4 sur décembre 19, 2011

Hilo Bay Hale is a great place to center your touring of Hawai'i. The rooms in this renovated house were super clean and comfortable, but innkeeper Matt goes the extra mile to make your stay an excellent one. From touring advice to the 5 star breakfasts, you'll be prepped and ready to go for a full day, whether that's hiking to the nearby waterfalls, parks, and lava tubes; or relaxing in this comfy little town. You can get to much of the island with a short drive from Hilo, so you may want to make this your home base for your explorations, especially on the Eastern side of the island.


Dec 2011

4,2 sur décembre 12, 2011

We only spent one night at this wonderful B&B. Our hosts were great and Matthew's breakfast in the morning was delicious! Freshly baked cinnamon bread, omelette, bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants, english muffins, cereal, coffee and tea.... . The room was really nice and clean. The lanai is great for relaxing or having your breakfast there in the morning. Lots of info on sights around Hilo available too. There is a little library with lots of books about Hawai'i. Overall a great stay, just too short. Mahalo to Matthew and Danny


Yummy breakfast with fresh fruit, a hot egg dish, yogurt, toast and more

4,2 sur décembre 11, 2011

Matthew and Danny made us feel welcome!I liked the farmer's market in Hilo, but we did not have good weather the 3 days we were there.


Great Bed and Breakfast in Hilo

5 sur décembre 05, 2011

Mathew and Danny are great hosts and have a beautiful Bed & Breakfast. Mathew is an exceptional cook and we loved his magnificent breakfast spread each morning. We have already referred the Hilo Bay Hale bed & breakfast to our friends as we were referred by our friends who had stayed the previous year. Big hugs from Tinda and Julian in Toronto, Canada (no snow yet since our return)


I will stay there every time I go to Hilo

4,6 sur novembre 27, 2011

1. There are not too many great choices for places to stay in Hilo. 2. The hosts were great to deal with in person, on the telephone, and online. 3. Love it that I could make the reservation online. 4. The bed and breakfast was clean and a pleasant place to stay. 5. We stayed in the Michener room, and it was very nice. 6. Loved the balcony off of our room. That was where we at our breakfast. 7. Very nice bathroom. 8. The breakfast was great. I give it two thumbs up!


The James Michener Room is Awesome

5 sur novembre 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed only one night, but it was awesome. This is the 3rd stay at the Hilo Bay Hale. We've stayed at the Lava Room the previous 2 stays and loved it. This is the first time in the James Michener room and it was beautiful. There is a koi fish pond just outside the balcony which made it even better. There is a whirlpool tub, that unfortunately isn't working, but it was still awesome to soak in it anyway. The breakfast is amazing. So much food, but healthy and delicious. beautiful presentations and recipes and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We forgot a pair of jeans and they immediately called us to let us know. We were still in town, so we were able to pick it up. For newcomers to Hilo: one suggestion is to bring Ear Plugs due to the Coqui Frogs. They don't stop singing till 7 am, so be prepared. We were so we slept soundly. It's all over Hilo, so it's normal, but you might not be used to it. We travel to Hilo every year and we will always stay at the Hilo Bay Hale B&B.


Great facilities and friendly hosts

4,4 sur novembre 22, 2011

Hilo bay hale was An easy walk to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hilo and importantly only 45 min to Volcano. Owners were available and responsive. Facilities were great with use of laundry and stocked kitchen and BBQ.


First visit to Hawaii

4,2 sur octobre 26, 2011

Matthew and Misty are very welcoming and very helpful. I felt completely comfortable and well cared for. I actually enjoyed the frogs(!) and slept very well. Easy walk to downtown.


Wonderful B&B!

4,2 sur octobre 24, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in this wonderful B&B, a historic building which was rebuilt by the owners. The room was great with a great lanai in front. Best of all was the breakfast made by Misty and Danny, the owner. Fresh fruit, wafles etc. The location of the B&B is very good, just ten minutes walking distance to the centre of Hilo. We highly recommend this B&B! Jeroen & Susanne, Holland.


Really cosy rooms and good location in Hilo!

4,6 sur octobre 18, 2011

The rooms are clean and cosy and the location is nearly perfect. Matthew and Misty did everything to make our stay great. Thank you and we hope to see you soon again...


Mahalo!

5 sur octobre 14, 2011

I don't have a car but I can walk around and enjoy the historic Hilo downtown. Wonderful hospitality, and charming rooms. Like a "chanbre dot en France".


Great Stay at Hilo Bay

4,2 sur octobre 10, 2011

Our stay at the Hilo Bay Hale was terrific. Danny and Misty were fantastic hosts and terrific breakfast chefs. They were quick to offer advice on our travels and provide headlamps for our visit to Volcanoes Nat'l Park. The house is cozy, clean and comfortable and the location is terrific - just blocks from the bay and "downtown" area. A great setting for our two days in Hilo.


Highly Recommend!!!

4,8 sur septembre 18, 2011

Wonderful stay, good value, superb food provided by Danny.


Great gem!

4,6 sur septembre 07, 2011

This plantation home was lovingly restored and decorated. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were fabulous! All you can eat: delicious home baked breads (and bread pudding!), egg dishes, thick bacon, wonderful island fruit, fresh squeezed juice, great coffee and more...Matthew was a most gracious host with answers to all our questions. Located within walking distance from the heart of old Hilo.


Heavenly Hilo Bay Hale

5 sur septembre 01, 2011

Matthew and Danny made it very easy to prebook and prepay for my room. Upon arrival, Matthew was extremely welcoming, and gave me some great ideas on places that would be great for me to check out in Hilo (he very quickly established what I was wanting to see), and I wasn't disappointed - there are some great second hand and book stores, and he is a wealth of dining options in Hilo and surrounds. The next day I wad booked to do a cycle tour of the volcano, and the inclement weather made this unfeasible, Matthew had made some suggestions at breakfast - so very grateful he did - I had the most delightful day seeing turtles and amazing scenery that I would have missed just doing the bike ride. The Michener Room was comfortable, immaculately clean, and breakfast was just superb. I am looking forward to being able to stay with them when I next go to the Big Island.


Warm room & great breakfast.

3,2 sur septembre 01, 2011

We stayed in the Lava Room in the basement. Every thing was very clean. The shower was great but the laminate floors made a noise as we walked across them. There's no air conditioning & the room gets pretty warm. There's a fan that can circulate air. If you open the windows the frogs are very noisy. There's a brand new washing machine & dryer you can use. The breakfast of fruit, french toast, cereal, yogurt etc was delicious. Matthew is a great host (although only there at brekfast time). Overall we enjoyed our stay.


A wonderful stay

4,6 sur août 24, 2011

I was traveling with my three daughters, and we all enjoyed our stay at Hilo Bay Hale. We stayed a total of two nights. Our first night we had two rooms available to us, and the second night, we needed to share one room (due to my waiting too long to book). The second night our room was accommodated with two futons (the room already had a queen bed). The bed and breakfast is conveniently located, clean, reasonably priced and the customer service is top notch. I would highly recommend staying at Hilo Bay Hale and booking early. You don't want to wait too long, and be forced to stay at one of the local hotels in Hilo. My sister-in-law stayed at one of the better hotels in Hilo, and it was scary! Cannot say enough good things about our choice to stay here.


A Haven in Hilo

4,4 sur août 19, 2011

Our group of two couples reserved both the Bay Room and the Michener room. We had a great stay for 2 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The hostess, Misty, was very friendly and accommodating. The internet connection did not work. The jacuzzi tub was inoperable. The shower water temperature dial was very difficult to control. We shared these issues with Misty. They are the reason we could not rate the room/service as outstanding. The Coqui frogs provide a beautiful song to sleep by.


Beautiful room, great breakfast!

5 sur juillet 13, 2011

B and I came here as part of our honeymoon. The James Michener room was beautiful. The bathroom and rain shower-tub were spacious and comfortable. The lanai (porch) was generous, beautiful, and a pleasant to have dinner &/or a drink. We were surrounded on all sides by lush green plants and a pond. Misty, Matthew, and Danny were exceptionally nice. They all made it very clear how welcome we were and shared their facilities graciously. We were able to store beer and sandwich makings in the fridge and use the kitchen. They also told us we could use the laundry for free, watch DVD's on Hawaii directed by Mathew, and use their condiments and spices. We didn't take them up on everything, but they thought to offer both in person and in a welcome letter. The breakfast was fabulous and served on the back porch off the kitchen. Misty served wonderful, fresh fruits, which I think were from the Hilo farmers market four blocks away. We were so pleased with our morning meal, and after the fruit, Misty announced that 'breakfast was ready.' She served absolutely fabulous bread pudding and an egg bake, and croissants with passion fruit, coconut, and mango butters. The fruit and baked goods were all excellent. The garden areas are beautiful, and there is now a nice seating area outside for guests to enjoy the garden. We mostly stayed on our lanai off of the the Michener room. We had drinks there in the evening and one night got take-out sushi from Sushi Bar Hime a few blocks away. This made for a romantic and inexpensive dinner with a lot of atmosphere. (Sushi Bar Hime is delicious and inexpensive, but lacks atmosphere, which was coming out of our ears back on our lanai.) I do not think there is air conditioning. This was fine for us because all of the windows and the lanai door had screens. Plus the fan circulates air well, and everything cools down at night especially when it rains. Overall, this is a great bed and breakfast and we had a wonderful time.


Excellent, friendly B&B

4,4 sur juillet 09, 2011

We had a really enjoyable 4 day stay here. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly and happy to share their knowledge of the local area. The breakfast was also amazing! It is well located within Hilo and an excellent spot for exploring the Island. I would highly recommend it.


Honeymoon in Hilo

3,2 sur juillet 09, 2011

Bed was small but OK for two people. Frogs outside kept us up a bit the first night before we got used to them. Breakfast was excellent and hosts were friendly.


Nice resting place in Hilo

3,6 sur juillet 02, 2011

This was a nice place to stay a few blocks from the downtown and typical hotels. Breakfast was hardy and delicious. The Lava room was very pleasant. Just wish we could of sat outside without the bombardment of mosquitoes.


Fantastic

4,2 sur juin 06, 2011

we loooooved Hilo Bay Hale. matthew was a wonderful host, the room was charming, bathroom spacious, and very very clean. location was excellent. the only thing was that there were some mosquitos which bit us at night, but other than that, it was truly the perfect stay. the breakfast was fantastic!


Review of the "Jungle House"

5 sur juin 01, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the beautifully-appointed Jungle House. It was well worth the drive from Hilo.


I love Hilo Bay Hale!

4,6 sur juin 01, 2011

My family stayed here for several nights in May. A lot of B&Bs are not kid-friendly but Hilo Bay Hale made my 3 year old feel like a very welcome part of the family. Matthew, Danny and Misti went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Misti even let my son help her feed the koi one day. We will always remember our stay and will gladly recommend this beautiful home to others.


Gorgeous room, delicious breakfast!

5 sur mai 28, 2011

I stayed in the Mitchener Room- the room was cute and clean, the bathroom is ginormous with a big jacuzzi tub, and you have a private little lanai. Matthew is super friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is delicious! An easy walk to downtown Hilo.


Wonderful stay at Hilo Bay Hale!

4,6 sur mai 10, 2011

We truly loved staying at Hilo Bay Hale. Misty was such a sweet and welcoming host, and treated us like family. We stayed in the James Michener Room, and were impressed with the private lanai, the large jacuzzi tub and shower and the beautiful sink. Our bed was soft and comfortable, and we liked listening to the froggies sing us to sleep at night. Breakfast was delicious!!! We loved everything about our stay and would highly recommend this B&B for its outstanding value and service. Location was also great, allowed us to walk to restaurants. Having laundry machines available was an added bonus, much needed after all our adventures on Big Island.


Perfect last day in Hawaii!!!

5 sur avril 12, 2011

We were traveling from Switzerland and Germany and spent our last night in Hawaii in the James Michener Room at Hilo Bay Hale B&B. Misty and Matthew were both wonderful hosts with lots of suggestions for dining out and sightseeing in the area. The room was beautiful and everything was spotless. We enjoyed having our own private lenai. Matthew made a fantastic breakfast consisting of his own grown fresh fruit, omelette, banana bread, bagels and the best French toast I've ever had. I cannot think of one negative thing to say about our stay. Thanks for being such marvelous hosts Matthew & Misty!


More involvement by the host needed.

3,0 sur avril 12, 2011

We pulled into Hilo Bay at 4PM after a full day of flying in from Oahu, and spending the day touring Volcano National Park. We were greeted by an envelope taped to the door. No one was there. We were hungry, the restaurants we had picked were closed (it was a Monday), and we had no one to give us a clue as to where to go or what to do. In that respect, it was like checking in to a Motel 6. I was hoping for better. The room was nice, the breakfast was good, but there was little of that 'extra' touch one comes to expect from a B&B.


March 2011

4,6 sur avril 04, 2011

First time here and I'll be back! Great location, accomodation and friendly staff! Breakfast is also a nice selection...


Great place and amazing hosts

4,6 sur avril 04, 2011

Stayed 4 nights at Hilo Bay Hale and had a wonderful experience. It's super close to downtown Hilo and a great place to make camp if your interests are the Volcano's National Park. I was there for the Big Island Internation Marathon and it was perfect for that. The breakfast's were so yummy and I'm missing my morning pineapple now that I'm back on the mainland. I can easily recommend this B&B and will stay there again when I find myself on the Big Island.


Hilo Bay Hale

4,0 sur mars 28, 2011

The hosts were warm and friendly and had great insight into the culture of the Hawaiian islands and the local area. The property was neat and clean and our guest room (the Michener room) had extra space with its own private lanai. The property is close to the center of Hilo town, making walks to the farmers market, bay front shops and the downtown grocery store convenient. We met other friendly guests at breakfast in the morning! Breakfast was healthy and fresh and included good coffee, a hot entree along with fresh fruit, yogurt and granola or cereal. It was a bonus to have access to the house kitchen where we cooked dinner a couple of nights.


Perfect spot

5 sur mars 21, 2011

We couldn't have been happier with the ammenities, the friendliness of the hosts and the breakfasts. A lovely place to stay.


Hilo Baye Hale

3,8 sur mars 12, 2011

Lovely stay. Breakfast was wonderful and frogs chirped us to sleep each night. Everything very clean. Only problem was not enough parking.


enjoyed our stay

4,2 sur mars 03, 2011

We recently stayed two nights and enjoyed our stay. Misty is an absolute gem and can really cook, the breakfasts were delicious. The bamboo and landscaping screen out the fact that you are in an urban setting. We were in the Michener room which had a nice small deck with a view of a koi pond. The frogs take some getting used to though! It is a good location near the market and downtown. We would stay there again.


We loved Hilo Bay Hale

4,8 sur février 15, 2011

You will not need to make breakfast reservations anywhere else. Matthew is an excellent cook and host. Our room, the James Michener, was clean and fun. The bathroom is lovely and the balcony is large. A great value!


Beautiful place

4,6 sur février 14, 2011

We really enjoyed Hilo Bay Hale. The James Michener room was clean and quiet. The bathroom was great. Old town was only a few blocks away with everything we needed. Both Misty and Matthew were very accommodating and cooked great breakfasts! It was very sweet to sit out on the back deck in the morning sun, drinking coffee! I wish we were there still!


By far our best and most friendly accomodation on the island - mahalo!

5 sur février 13, 2011

Wonderful hosts, outstanding atmoshpere and exciting breakfast - by far the very best part of our stay on the island. Mahalo to Misty, Matthew and Danny!


Charming stay in old Hawaii

4,8 sur février 12, 2011

We spent just two nights at Hilo Bay Hale but were so pleased with the Michener room, the entire property, and the service. Misty, the assistant manager was so pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts she prepared were excellent and huge. We liked being located so close to all the goings on in downtown Hilo. We would definitely stay here again.


A wonderful stay in Hilo

4,8 sur décembre 27, 2010

We stayed at the Hilo Bay Hale just one night, and wish we were there for longer. We were in the Lava room which was incredibly comfortable and spacious and provided a beautiful and peaceful environment. Our hosts were incredibly helpful and kind. I strongly recommend the Hilo Bay Hale!


Perfect B&B in a great location

4,8 sur décembre 24, 2010

Simply outstanding. Very welcoming and extremely helpful. Service with a smile and true Aloha spirit. The property is very tastefully decorated and immaculate. Couldnt ask for more and I highly recommend staying there. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and hope to be back next year.


fantastic!!!!

5 sur octobre 29, 2010

Only one word: Marvelous ( Mathew and Maty, the house too!!)


Best B&B I've ever visited!

5 sur octobre 27, 2010

I cannot say enough about our stay here. Everyone was so friendly, and I have to say the James Michener Room was fantastic. We will certainly stay there again on our next visit. And be prepared for a FANTASTIC breakfast!!


At Home In Hilo

4,6 sur septembre 11, 2010

I am a business travler. I live and work here in the Hawaiian islands. I cannot tell you how absolutely pleased I was with my stay at the Hilo Bay Hale. Misty and her 2 four legged companyons were the absolute perfect hosts during my stay. (do not fret, if you are not an animal lover these two are kept in their room at all times and never made a peep) The Room: I stayed in the Lava Room. My room was clean, spacious, and included all the aminities I needed. There was only one accessory I would have liked that was missing. A table or desk that was comfortable to work at. This is something that I use quite often and did not have in room. Service: Exceptional...I could not have asked for anything more! Value: I would have had to pay more elsewhere and would have not recieved any of the little extras that come with staying at a B&B. There were several things that really struck me about staying at the Hilo Bay Hale that I feel were the primary "value added" items that enhanced my stay in Hilo. 1. The atmosphere. The hale feels like home. At night there are lit tiki tourchs, soft music, and dim lights. Making this a truly relaxing and soothing place to stay. 2. The welcome and service. Never once did I feel like a room number in a computer system that needed to be dealt with so the employee could take a break. I was, in all aspects, a guest. I was given individual attention and continuiously made to feel at home. I strongly recommend staying at the Hilo Bay Hale and experiencing it for yourself! Alooooha!!


Hilo Bay Hale is Awesome

4,4 sur août 12, 2010

Stayed for 1 night and it was awesome. Hosts were super great and the rooms were clean and nice. The shower in the Michener room was great as it sounds you are showering under rainfall in the wilderness. The shower in the Lava room is great too except the foot towel on the ground will get soaked after the shower since the curtains don't go all the way down.


Exellant breakfast, artsy design and utensils. The shower in Lava room needs improvement.

4,2 sur août 06, 2010

Everything is good except the shower in the Lava room. It is very pretty but not practical. The floor is flat so when you shower the water drips down the stair steps and soaks the mat. The mat becomes soggy all night and remains wet next morning.


Great Location in Hilo

4,0 sur avril 10, 2010

We found Matthew and Danny to be kind and most generous hosts. They made us feel like their house was ours to use and enjoy. As another reviewer mentioned, you might want your earplugs in the front room. The coqui frogs have invaded even Hilo.


Heavenly in Hilo

4,4 sur août 01, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hilo Bay B&B. The home is charming, tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable and in a great location - we walked to the farmers market and dinner daily. When in Hilo we will always choose the Hilo Bay B&B.


loved our month stay

4,6 sur juin 26, 2009

We have been here for 3 weeks now (we have about 3 more to go) and we just adore this house...we wished we could have stayed longer. The bedrooms are well designed, the back yard is gorgeous, and it has this "Ah, good we're home" feel at the end of the day, not to mention the location couldn't be more perfect. My boyfriend really enjoys the plants and trees surrounding the house and there is a porch outside to eat meals at. For now, The Bay Room is rented out for "long term", and is a great deal for singles/couples staying for a month or more! The other reviews are spot on; everything was beautiful and well cared for.


Plantation Charm

4,8 sur mars 24, 2009

This is a fantastic B & B with an amazing view of downtown Hilo and Hilo Bay! The house has all the modern amenities in a 1912 plantation home. I stayed in the Tsunami Room and found it to be delightfully decorated and CLEAN! I loved having my coffee on my private lanai overlooking the reflecting pond and feeding the numerous koi (huge gold fish). Perfect light breakfast with fresh fruit! As a visiting researcher at UH Hilo, I LOVED having in house wireless access! This place is perfect! Dr. Janet Six


A nice spot and a great value!

4,2 sur mars 12, 2009

My husband and I recently spent a single night at the Hilo B&B. We would have stayed two nights but this property was full so we stayed at Hale O Luna one night. Hale O Luna is also owned and operated by Danny Miller but is on a different part of the island. We enjoyed both properties very much. They were exceptionally clean and comfortable and very reasonable for Hawaii. At each of these B&B's, Danny (at Hale O Luna) and Victor (at Hilo Bay) gave us great tips for sightseeing and insight into Hawaiian culture. This may sound like hyperbole but Hawaiian culture is quite different from what we experience on the mainland and our conversations with the two of them really enhanced our enjoyment/understanding of the island and the Hawaiian people.


Valentine's weekend stay was great

4,0 sur mars 10, 2009

Nice, clean, GREAT location. Love the fully stocked kitchen! Danny was most gracious/timely with returning calls, assisting with internet access, directions, etc. "Vic" was great too. Would definitely recommend staying here!


Central Location, Warm Welcome & Real Value

4,4 sur mars 10, 2009

Everything about Hilo Bay B&B was genuine and of high value: from our informative host Danny Miller's pleasure in welcoming and helping us; to his assistant Victor's yummy breakfasts; to the furnishing and decor of this gracious downtown home. Hilo Bay B&B gave us a real sense of place, down details like the locally produced soap, east Hawaiian coffee and lilkoi jelly from the local farmer's market. At a far more reasonable price than the local "luxury" B&B's and far more luxurious and evocative of Hilo life than the "bargain" rooms available elsewhere, we found real value here. The lush gardens and general tropical greenery belied our downtown location. Complimentary bicycles made exploring tropical Hilo Bay's urban features and local beaches a car-free breeze. We have traveled much of Europe, South Asia and South Africa using Trip Advisor as well as other Internet resources and Hilo Bay B & B is a real find that I don't hesitate to share with fellow travelers.


Good location, nice rooms

3,2 sur mars 09, 2009

This is a really nice B&B. The only issue we had with Hilo Bay B&B is that for the amount that we paid ($130), I felt as though we should have had a better breakfast. We had some fresh fruit, coffee, and pastry, but the pastry was highly processed and the fruit serving small. And our juice was partially fresh-squeezed and partially processed. With the wonderful Hilo Farmers' Market offering such fantastic produce, it was a disappointment to have a meager breakfast. But Danny is great, the rooms are all spacious, clean, and lovely, the backyard garden is lovely (chairs to admire the garden would be terrific), and the location is ideal.


Beautiful and Relaxing Hilo Bay B&B

5 sur janvier 09, 2009

I just returned from one of many trips to the big island of Hawai'i. I was lucky enough to stay at the newly opened Hilo Bay B&B while I was there. This home is incredible, it is a sanctuary that is full of the aloha spirit and history of the town of Hilo. When I first arrived I was charmed by the appeal of the house from the outside, a huge wrap around porch, with an antique asian inspired lantern gently lighting up the porch with dappled light, and once inside I was amazed not only at the antique furnishings but the beautifully restored floors, eclectic art collection, and the wonderful gardens complete with koi ponds and waterfalls! Even the sink in my bathroom was inspired by the koi ponds! The breakfast buffet each morning was so nice, locally grown papayas, pineapples, starfruit, and fresh passion fruit, along with huge avocados all from local trees. Our host and Innkeeper Danny was so friendly and helpful with pointing us in the direction of many new places that I haven't seen, and I've been coming to this island for years. I would highly recommend staying here for that big island experience that you cannot get at a hotel. I will be back to stay here each time I return to the island.


This place is wonderful!

5 sur septembre 13, 2008

I highly recommend this lovely restored home located centrally in downtown Hilo. The house is beautiful inside with bamboo ceilings and wonderful furnishings.


Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $99 - $159
  • Avis (155) 4,5
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 800-7455049
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 800-7455049

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut