Casa Zuniga Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
64 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great location!

4,2 sur août 25, 2014

We had a lovely stay in Guanajuato. Beautiful house, spotless and very well located! We would totally stay in Casa Zúñiga again.


Fantastic Location, Views, Breakfast, and Value!

5 sur août 03, 2014

Located right next to the funicular and just below the El Pipila Monument, Casa Zuniga is a fantastic place to stay in Guanajuato. The Casa is a maze of rooms and balconies with views that cannot be beat and filled with art, much of it created by Rick himself. The Morgan room was spacious, clean, and a great value for our money. Rick and Carmen are wonderful hosts and the ladies they have working for them are some of the finest cooks we've encountered in a B&B. Do not miss breakfast! You won't be disappointed. Amenities include a lap pool that is just right after a full morning of sight-seeing. Take a five-minute ride down on the funicular or walk down the steps and you are right in the heart of town. One note for those who are sensitive to noise when trying to sleep--there are many dogs living just below the Casa that bark at night and sound travels easily, so bring earplugs if that's a problem for you. We would definitely stay here again.


Stay Here!!!!!!

4,8 sur mars 18, 2014

This is an absolutely fabulous B&B! The rooms were great and very individual. The view cannot be matched. The house is totally unique and the pool was a great way to relax in the afternoon after walking around the city all morning.. Rick and Carmen were extremely helpful throughout our trip including recommending a great driver for our trips outside GTO. Do not miss breakfast!!! The food is way too good to miss out on.


A unique place.

5 sur juillet 31, 2013

The host is both friendly and helpful. The place is full of sculptures and murals that makes you feel in a gallery. It has a view that is breathtaking and an infinity edge pool that always has the perfect temperature. Its minutes away from the most important sight of interest.


Wonderful staff, breakfast, and view

3,8 sur juillet 25, 2013

The funicular takes you down to the center of town. Don't stay out too late to take it back up or you'll probably need a taxi to reach it from the street above it.


purely fantastic!

5 sur mai 07, 2013

This hostel-like B&B is just fantastic. The brilliantly designed house with all the nice pieces of art and beautiful rustic and handcrafted furniture and some stuningly gorgeous views over the whole town of guanajuato is just amazing. We only met Rick during our 3 night stay but he was always so friendly and accomodating and helpful. Perfectly beautiful room with great views and even better breakfast. Fantastic value and a really great experience!!!!


A home away from home

5 sur avril 02, 2013

We highly recommend this B&B. There are absolutely no neative points to it. Value is great, service outstanding, rooms are fantastic. The only thing is that I do not believe is a good place for children, but that's also how they advertise themselves. We stayed in the Margarita room and found it to be a perfect honeymoon room- great view, very spacious and super confy bed.


magical view

5 sur février 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the location of Casa Zuniga. After a great breakfast, we would head down to the village and explore. It was delightful returning to the margarita room to watch the colorful village turn to magical lighting. Rick is a fine host. We appreciated the history lesson, free parking, clean room with a comfortable bed, and a pass to ride the tram if desired. We will be back next year. T & D


Absolutely first rate!

4,4 sur février 06, 2013

First of all you must go to Guanajuato! It is an amazing city. Second, if you do go you must stay at Casa Zuniga. The owners, Rick and Carmen are gracious hosts and the location of the B&B is the best in Guanajuato. It's right beside the Funicular (the tram that takes you down to the City - Rick provided a free punch card for the Funicular) and the view from our room was spectacular. Rick is very well versed in local history and provides info that would cost you $100 or more from a guide. The breakfast provided is great and all the guests sit together at a long dining table in the breakfast room. We met some very nice and interesting people. Each room has it's own bathroom with wall to wall and floor tile. Big and spacious. All in all it was a terrific experience and we will definitely go back there.


A very special place

5 sur octobre 24, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at Casa Zuniga this month for 5 nights. We had been to Caza Zuniga for 1 night when we took an overnight excursion from San Miguel to attend one of the Cerventino events in Guanajuato. This year, we wanted to spend more time attending the wonderful Cerventino events and Guanajuato and we came back to Casa Zuniga with a couple of friends. It was even better than our first visit. We thoroughly enjoyed the new lap pool and Rick volunteered to be our guide at the Boca Mina silver mine, which was one of the highlights of our entire stay. Rick is such an engaging story teller that he makes history come alive. Both Rick and Carmen are very special people. It is no ordinary experience staying with them. I also love all the murals, sculptures, and decorative metalwork around the house. And the breakfasts are delicious. The breakfasts are so big that I can eat only light meals the rest of the day. I will definitely come back and bring more friends.


It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This

5 sur octobre 05, 2012

We arrived thinking we would stay for one week. We ended up staying two weeks. Carmen and Rick are great! They have built a castle on a hill side--views everywhere, food wonderful, rooms perfect, pool lovely, everything clean, colorful, great art, nice people. Can't say enough good things about staying there.


Great place to stay in Guanajuato!

4,0 sur septembre 02, 2012

Rick is a wonderful host and is a wealth of knowledge: he will go out of his way to give you useful tips about Guanajuato, where to eat, etc. He was extremely accommodating with us and served breakfast outside normal hours as we had to hit the road early: we would definitely recommend it and would most certainly return next time we visit Guanajuato!


Location was great

4,0 sur mars 22, 2012

Rick was very accommodating. The pass to the funicular was a treat and once you found the place, it had easy access to the center of town. The noise from the constant dog barking in the evening was of out their control but did subtract from the beauty of the location.


EXCELLENT B & B

4,8 sur février 29, 2012

Excellent Stay. Fabulous Hosts. A touch of culture in every moment. Painted murals, hand crafted furniture, brightly colored fabrics, form a tapestry of memories and wonderful experiences. Dine with fellow travelers and swap stories at breakfast while listening to the hosts tell tales of Guanajuato and beyond, unraveling much of Mexico's history. Sorta like a backpackers hostel but for grown-ups who want to experience life on the unbeaten path and still enjoy cozy accommodations with a touch of elegance. The B & B along with the historical city of Guanajuato will inspire creativity and adventure! Second stay was even better than the first, as there is so much to appreciate and enjoy! Thanks Rick and Carmen!


The only place to stay in Guanajuato

5 sur novembre 29, 2011

I have been meaning to write this review for a while. Not only was Guanajuato amazing in so many ways but our experience was heightened by the spectacular hospitality and friendliness that was offered to us by both Rick and Carmen at Casa Zuniga. Casa Zuniga was so beautiful and I doubt there are better views in town. In fact, we loved our experience there so much, we will be returning with family in 2012. Rick taught us so much about the fascinating town of Guanajuato and his enthusiasm is infectious. We are from Australia, so its a long way to travel, but boy is it worth every second.


What a Find!

5 sur août 17, 2011

My husband and I found Casa Zuniga online. We didn't have time to do our usual level of travel planning before our trip to Guanajuato so I had forgotten about all of the great reviews. What a find! We stayed for a week; everyone at Casa Zuniga contributed to a perfect vacation. The simplicity and cleanliness of our room made the entire stay pleasant and comfortable. Everyone was so warm and friendly. Carmen and Rick had the perfect balance between making us feel as welcome as friends and the kind of "professionalism" that gave us confidence that if anything needed to be taken care of, it would be done well. The breakfasts were amazing--so fresh, with great combinations of fruit, eggs, juice, beans, coffee, and a different main dish each day. When bringing out fresh papaya, Carmen mentioned that some people don't like papaya--perhaps it's because Mexican papaya here in the US (at least in L.A.) tastes nothing like the fruit there, surrounded by other wonderful food! All of the breakfasts were served with warmth and friendly conversation, as well as recommendations for things to see and do. Rick's tour made history come alive, so that I came away wanting to learn more & more. We were especially fortunate to be on the tour during the re-enactment of the bringing of the statue of the Virgin of Guanajuato to town. We would not have known how special this was without Rick's explanation of the history and the context. We really appreciated the warmth, affection, and respect in the relationships at Casa Zuniga, including the staff. All of this added up to our feeling that we had a good sense of place as well as a refreshing and wonderful experience.


Excelente B&B

4,2 sur août 15, 2011

Casa Zuñiga es una excelente base para visitar Guanajuato. Centralmente ubicada, a un lado de El Pipila, con estacionamiento a unos pasos. Pasamos tres dias muy agradables. La calidez y el apoyo de Rick y Carmen Zuñiga, asi como la convivialidad de los huespedes, con quienes compartimos los excelentes desayunos, hacen a este lugar una excelente opcion. Felicidades Rick y Carmen!


Great hosts, great facility, great location!

5 sur août 09, 2011

We must recommend the spacious Casa Zuniga during our 3rd visit. The hosts, Rick & Carmen, are bilingual, and are gracious, generous and accommodating. Rick might surprise you with an enthusiastic tour of this beautiful city, so friendly toward visitors. The location of Casa Zuniga high on the steep hill above the fascinating old city affords privacy, spaciousness and a fantastic view from each room; it is adjacent to the famous Pipila monument and to a funicular which makes access to the historic and beautiful city center a snap (or you can walk down the 700 steps if you prefer). The rooms are large (ours is 12x33'! [~4x11m]), modern, clean, airy and have private bathrooms, balconies overlooking the city and modern facilities. They are entirely comfortable, pleasant and nicely furnished, but lest you should be mislead by the high ratings, not extravaganty decorated. Casa Zuniga is a little above our usual budget, but we make an exception and keep returning because of its superior qualities. You can't go wrong here!


A very memorable vacation

4,4 sur avril 10, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from our first trip to Mexico, where we stayed at the terrific Casa Zuniga. This B&B is ideally located in beautiful Guanajuato, atop one of the many hills, providing an amazing view of the city. The room was lovely, clean and private. Rick and Carmen welcomed us into their home and made our visit very memorable. Rick's enthusiastic and friendly personality was great! Rick's knowledge of the local culture and history was amazing and helpful in getting to know Guanajuato - and he's an awesome tour guide! Highly recommended - we plan to return, and not nearly soon enough!


Casa Zuniga - an outstanding retreat from which to explore Guanajuato

4,2 sur mars 22, 2011

From the moment we arrived to Rick and Carmen's warm welcome to their home, their superb Mexican breakfasts and Rick's concierge services we wished we had more time to enjoy their restorative retreat. We spent 4 nights in their care. Rick made sure our first two days included an introduction to the history and sights of the city. Day one he took us on a 3 hour walking tour of Guanjuato, replete with a reenactment on his part of the war of independence under Hidalgo. Day two was a tour of the San Valencia silver mines with Rick and included the 400 years of history embedded in the mines. The remainder of our time was spent walking, sight seeing and enjoying the many wonderful restaurants and museums in Guanajuato - with the knowledge that we were just an 8 minute funicular ride up the cliff side to the warm hospitality and panoramic views of Casa Zuniga.


Casa Zuniga, A Wonderful Place to Stay.

4,0 sur novembre 23, 2010

This place is the best value for the money. The views are fantastic and the location is very convienent. Rick and Carmen are wonderful hosts and Rick's knowledge of Guanajuato makes him a spectacular tour guide. Be prepared to eat a large and wonderful breakfast. This is where I will stay when I return.


Location location location

4,0 sur octobre 10, 2010

Guanajuato is a hilly town and that one important reason that Casa Zuniga is the place to stay. It sits right next to the Pipila Monument high above the town but the trick is it is just around the corner from the funicular that drops you right into the heart of town from where you can walk to almost everything. Two minutes from your room to the funicular which runs continuously until 9.45pm. Rick Zuniga even provides you with free tickets. Rick Zuniga is the closest thing to a human dynamo we have ever met in the B&B business. He knows everything and everybody. Want to go and see the silver mine? He takes you and gives you a better tour than any of the paid tourist guides. When we went with him a tour guide rushed up and said "Rick can you take a couple more Americans?" His breakfasts are becoming legendary. He makes something different every day and will change it to suit your needs if necessary. You can watch him and his staff prepare it in the kitchen and carry on a conversation with him at the same time. You will not need lunch. When Rick says his house is yours he really means it and has everything from a guests use PC with internet connection, to phone and TV. Getting there is easy as mentioned in other reviews and the rooms are large and comfortable with king size beds and terrific views. David Harper


Good Choice

4,8 sur septembre 29, 2010

Location is great if you want to ride the funicular all the time. The only problem with being on the hill. The funicular stops running at 9:40. Views beautiful. Very large rooms. Rick was terrific. So helpful and hospitable. Prepares a delicious breakfast. I would recommend Casa Zuniga.


Hope to return one day!

4,6 sur août 08, 2010

Although my family and I (brother, sister, and mom) were only there for one night last fall Carmen and Rick left us a wonderful memory. We did not feel like clients but family members. The room was very comfy and clean. But it was the inn keeper's warmth and enthusiasm for their city and life that was really a treat. The breakfast was memorable and even included some locally made tamales that I still think about. We are from Chicago and visit family in the neighboring state of San Luis Potosi. We have been to Guanajuato several times but this was finally the time we got perfect lodging.


The Best B&B

5 sur juillet 21, 2010

Casa Zuniga is everything you could want in a B&B: clean and comfortable accomodations in a unique setting and warm and welcoming hosts. From our first day Rick and Carmen made our stay memorable, starting with a terrific Mexican breakfast. Rick will gladly share his knowledge of the rich history of the city as well as recommend restaurants and points of interest to visit in the area. The view of Guanajuato from Rick and Carmen's house is spectacular. It is on the hillside high above the city. The B&B is adjacent to the funicular that takes you down the hillside to the city center. And, of course, Guanajuato itself is a fascinating town to explore and get to know. All in all it made for a wonderful stay. Thanks, Rick and Carmen.


Couldn't have better hosts

5 sur juillet 18, 2010

Quality of this B and B is second to none in this part of Mexico. What makes it even more special is the hospitality of the hosts and Rick Zuniga's wealth of knowledge about Guanajuato and it's history. You see immediately that he cares about his clients and how they relate to his home city. Great experience.


Great Weekend at Casa Zuniga

4,0 sur juillet 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend at Casa Zuniga and enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was great, with a wonderful view of the city. Breakfast was also outstanding. Rich Zuniga acted as our personal guide for the city. He knows a tremendous amoung about the history of this area. I would highly recommend this B&B for your visit to Guanajuato.


A FABULOUS GET-AWAY!

5 sur juillet 04, 2010

My husband and I live and work in central Mexico and needed a short holiday, especially since a dear friend had arrived for a visit. We have visited Guanajuato before and were ready to explore it some more. My husband discovered Casa Zuniga on-line and was intrigued with its location; on top of the mountain next to the Pipila Monument. Sounded perfect! And it was. We were thrilled to have secure parking for the car and be only steps away from the B&B. Within seconds of arrival, our luggage was grabbed out of the car and we were whisked into our rooms. Large, spotlessly clean, simply and tastefully decorated. But the best part was the view! Our balcony overlooked the entire city. We enjoyed our cocktails and watched the burnished light fade on the mountainside. And at night, we were rewarded with a full, fat moon that illuminated the valley below. Rick & Carmen's breakfasts are lovingly prepared and fabulous - it is impossible to push yourself from the table without groaning. We highly, highly recommend staying at Casa Zuniga ... your Guanajuato experience will be greatly enhanced!


A great deal on a very good B&B

5 sur juin 30, 2010

This is a beautiful place to stay. You will not regret it. Everything is very nice, the breakfast wonderful, and the hosts, Rick & Carmen are charming. If we are ever able to come to Guanajuato again, this is where we will stay. Extremely good value for your money.


A SURPRISE IN B & B SERVICE AND LOCATION

5 sur juin 19, 2010

I was really amazed by the Casa Zuniga reviews. How could anyplace be that good? But believe me, it is! In Mexico very few, other than first class hotels, have washcloths, large soft bath and hand towels (changed daily), liquid soap and shampoo dispensers, hot and I mean hot, soft water with pressure to blow you away. The rooms are large, airy and very well lit. A table and chairs make the room a “home”. Having stayed other places in Mexico I was pleased to have a wooden armoire for our clothes. Best was a super comfortable, king size bed, not too firm or soft. And breakfast! Four mornings of completely different breakfasts, hot and fresh. Rick personally made some unusual dishes that were original and delicious. Never in all of my travels has anything tasted so good, even on the cruise ships I captain. Like everyone else we fell in love with Rick and Carmen. Rick was born of Mexican parents in the US and met the beautiful Carmen when he was living in Guanajuato. You must ask Carmen for the story of their first meeting. Their dream of a B&B has been realized by Rick and his group of local craftsmen who built this with nothing but hand labor. Rick loves Guanajuato and has read extensively about its history. He is well versed and eager to take his guests on extensive tours ranging from the depths of a silver mine to the unusual tunnels of Guanajuato. You will learn why the tunnels exist along with information about the city that will amaze you. This is our third trip there. The first was an expensive tour but I learned more from Rick than any tour guide. I had promised myself not to be like other reviewers who went on and on about Casa Zuniga so I had better stop here. Just have to say we had the best time! Casa Zuniga is a place I will be sending my friends and I am sure to return. Captain Joseph L. Naselli U.S.C.G.


An Stay to Remember

5 sur juin 17, 2010

We are expats living in Mexico with this being our third visit to Guanajuato. Choosing Casa Zuniga on a friend’s recommendation, we could not have been more pleased. Rick and Carmen’s home, location, view, and great breakfasts deserve the raves of every past review. To keep that standard over the years speaks of their commitment to their guests, both present and future. They make this “home” not just another B&B. Rick listened to my request for no spicy food, setting aside breakfast foods for me. He is observant and caring as he saw my husband was having trouble with the steps and he casually “hung out” with him until we reached the bottom. Has anyone mentioned Rick’s sense of humor? Also Rick’s tours enriched our stay and made our independent forays into the museums come alive. He and Carmen have a desire to make your stay special and ours was. Thanks! We will be back. Suzanne Harris


Best B&B I've stayed at!

4,8 sur mai 15, 2010

Rick & Carmen were simply incredible hosts! Rick took us on a cultural historical tour of Guanajuato as part of our visit. It really provided a great context for our stay and helped us to decide what other things we wanted to do. This was our first trip to Mexico and we knew very little Spanish and Rick really helped us with insight on the best way to approach our visit. Just let him know what you want to do and he can usually get it set up for you! The location up on the hill near the Pipila Monument was incredible with wonderful views of Guanajuato and a cool breeze during our entire stay. The convenience of the funicular (incline) next door allowing us easy access to the center of down just below was an added boost. The food and conversation was delightful! Rick has built an incredible place from the ground up and is constantly improving it! I highly recommend staying here if you visit Guanajuato!


C Z is the top of the world and top of the heap!

5 sur avril 23, 2010

I am not a willing world traveler, after some notable disasters globally, so it was with some trepidation that I consented to accompany my wife on a Mexican adventure to visit our daughter, who is finishing her college years at the university in Guanajuato. Arriving in GTO late at night after a long jostling day, we were met by the dynamic "Host with the Most, Rick Zuniga, who cheerfully satisfied the late night "Starvin' Marvin" munchies, by whipping up some tortillas and carne asada, while entertaining us with his high energy, hilarious banter. We woke in a world class establishment, where Rick and his wife Carmen have cultivated the most vibrantly welcoming environment, where the guests are indeed treated like old friends. Fabulous breakfasts every day is the routine, even if you need to get up early for a bus or plane. Request a tour of the silver mine for a haunting slice of perspective on colonialism, narrated by someone who really understands the history and the dynamic of what went down, and still goes down in the unjust world of workaday Mexico. A walk around town with Rick tells you that he is a force in the neighborhood, as he gives the Guanajuato secret handshake to a big percentage of the locals, many of whom have been brought along by Rick as workers on his big dream casa. This is truly a civic minded guy, who has the cojones to be a big asset to this community. Make a big detour from anywhere to stay at Casa Zuniga.


Guanajuato B&B

4,0 sur avril 13, 2010

Casa Zuniga is well located to explore Guanajuato. Being at the top of the hill and next to the Pipila Monument and the funicular, allows for an easy access to the historic center, and provides an excellent view of town. Rick is the best tour guie in town, and makes yuo feel the histroy of the area. Great experience in a beautiful environment.


Nice place to relax

4,0 sur avril 07, 2010

I really enjoyed the four nights I stayed there, Rick and Carmen were so kind with us. The rooms are big, clean and the breakfast was great. Thanks


Two unbelievable days in Guanajuato

5 sur mars 21, 2010

This visit was our first time at Casa Zuniga which is a masterpiece in progress. Rick and Carmen made us feel like we were part of their family by their great hospitality, introducing us to one of Mexico's treasures, called Guanajuato. Rick is a most knowledgeable and amicable host that took a lot of time out of his very busy busy schedule, to teach us about the history and grandeur of Guanajuato. He spent many hours touring with us, explaining the historical importance of the area which made us appreciate and understand the history of the Mexican people. The breakfasts are scrumptious and copious under the guidance of Carmen, and their two little smiling and friendly helpers were just great.We cannot say enough of the location. Casa Zuniga is 25 feet from the funicular which brings us down into the heart of Guanajuato in 90 seconds. From there, one can explore the most significant historial points of interest within easy walking distance. The rooms are clean and spacious and overlook the city from your balcony. We want to thank Rick and Carmen Zuniga who have made this an unforgettable and memorable trip and which we highly recommend to anyone who wants to visit this area. We will certainly return.


Perfect Hideaway

5 sur mars 08, 2010

After spending two weeks in Guanajuato, the most magical of all Mexican cities, I felt like I was waking up from a fairy tale dream when I returned home to Montreal, Canada. Guanajuato really is that special, it is like stepping back in time to a world from long ago. Even better, this fairy tale world has the perfect place to stay, high up on a hill, with a breathtaking view in all directions and with the most charming hosts you will find anywhere – Rick & Carmen Zuniga. Casa Zuniga offers all the modern conveniences a traveler would want, and more…… super comfortable king size beds in every room, meticulously clean ensuite bathrooms, plenty of hot water, wireless internet, gym area, laundry facilities, common area with television, and two very attentive hosts who will take care of your every need ! Rick and Carmen take customer service to a whole new level, they make each guest feel at home and welcome, just like family. Rick is the best tour guide in town, and can talk for hours on the history and culture of his adopted city Guanajuato. Not to be missed is Rick’s personal tour of an historic silver mine. Carmen is always eager to hear about your activities in and around her picturesque hometown. Breakfasts are the highlight of the day at Casa Zuniga; an abundance of fresh, well prepared food and stimulating conversation with other guests starts the day off right. Be warned – after eating breakfast with Rick & Carmen, you will not be hungry again until at least 3PM, if not later. I am already looking forward to our next visit with Rick and Carmen – it is such a delight to escape to their charming and magical home.


Too many superlatives

5 sur février 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 3 nights. Like everyone else who writes, we feel we now have new friends in Rick and Carmen....."mi casa es su casa" is no exaggeration when talking about their hospitality. You truly feel that you have been invited into someone's extraordinary home. Not only did we dine well, sleep well, mingle well but we also benefitted from Rick and Carmen's wealth of knowledge and love of the fascinating city of Guanajuato and its environs. Rick became our own private tour guide (and we are not ones who usually opt for tours, having both lived in Europe for many years) which was well worth the price of the B&B in itself. Anyone who prefers something more than the usual impersonal hotel atmosphere will certainly love Casa Zuniga.


Just when you think it can't get any better...

5 sur février 07, 2010

Rick and Carmen add these awesome historical murals throughout the house! Ask Rcik to tell you the stories behind these expert paintings...Rick is a born storyteller.


Great, economical, beautiful place to stay.

5 sur janvier 20, 2010

I stayed at Casa Zuniga in the beginning of December and it was wonderful. I am actually a resident of Guanajuato; however, a friend of mine was visiting so we decided to stay at the Casa Zuniga rather than with a host family. I looked all over Guanajuato and this seemed to be the best place I could image to stay. You can either take the Fanicular or walk, which is honestly my preference. It is close to down town and the bedroom in which we stayed had a perfect view. I recommend asking for Rick's pizza thing as well, it is a vegetable pizza with a potato crust and a white sauce. It is outstanding. Rick also has some paintings inside the house which have histories of Guanajuato. This is great because he will show them to you, explain what happened and then show you how to get there. Also if you have any questions about the town or things to do, he will be more than willing to help. Also, Rick and his wife speak at least English and Spanish, so if you know at least one of the two, I assure that this bed and breakfast will be a great place to stay.


Simply the BEST!!!!

5 sur janvier 15, 2010

My husband, 11 year old son & I just spent 15 days at the Casa Zuniga. It was unbelievable, putting it mildly! The home is beautiful, clean & welcoming. Carmen & Rick are hospitable, fun, accomodating, & have become dear friends to us. We arrived late on Christmas eve, 2009, & stayed through the morning of Jan. 8, 2010. When we were there, I had surgery for cancer. Carmen came with me, stayed through the surgery & made sure I understood what the doctor was telling me. She & Rick also kept a close eye on my incision & were right there, ready to help with anything I needed. We weren't just in a B & B, but in a warm, welcoming home. We were treated like family members & fed the most awesome breakfasts daily. We were rarely hungry for most of the rest of the day & didn't have to spend much time in restaurants. They told us their kitchen was open any time we needed anything! It's location couldn't be better. We were able to take the steps down to Centro & back up again, or ride the Funicular, if we chose to. It's very close to the Casa Zuniga, so even an elderly couple would have no trouble getting down into the heart of Guanajuato from the Casa Zuniga. From Guanajuato, there was a myriad of possible bus trips or tours that we were able to take, as well. During our stay, my husband had a birthday. That afternoon, Carmen & Rick put on a huge spread of delicious food, made my husband's favorite dessert & even had a birthday cake with candles. We met other great friends that were housemates, and would recommend this B & B to anyone that wanted to visit Mexico & feel right at home! It's an experience everyone should have! I couldn't recommend it more strongly!!!


Nov.2009 visit

4,0 sur janvier 11, 2010

This being my first visit to Mexico, I was in awe of the views from Casa Zuniga. The room was large & clean. The only problem I had was the # of steps through out home & getting to Casa Zuniga.


Perfecto

5 sur décembre 01, 2009

Every travel review published about Casa Zuniga is a mere attempt to express how fabulous the Zunigas home truly is. We stayed for several days in October and cut short our time in another part of Mexico so we could return to Rick and Carmens place in Guanajuato. This was my first visit to Guanajuato and I could not have had a better vacation.The home is gorgeous and is located in the best spot in the entire city. The view is amazing at any time of the day or night and the funicular is just steps away. Rick and Carmen are the perfect hosts and we all felt like we were staying with friends. Our time at Casa Zuniga was fun and informative. Carmen is from the area and Rick is an expert on the history of the city. They are both very kind and generous with their time and go to the extreme to make sure their guests are happy. I love the experience of being at casa Zuniga and plan to go back as soon as I possibly can. Thank you Rick and Carmen for a perfect visit to Guanajuato.


A REAL Vacation

5 sur novembre 21, 2009

This place is the best! My husband and I have stayed at several places in Guanajuato during our travels, but all that stopped when we found out about Casa Zuniga. Everything is the best...best breakfasts, best beds, best location and of course, the best hosts in all of Mexico! Our visit to Casa Zuniga every winter is the high point of my year.


! ~ Casa Zuniga ~ Sublime Guanajuato B & B Oasis ~ !

5 sur novembre 19, 2009

What can I say about Rick & Carmen and their sublime oasis, Casa Zuniga? I could wax poetic about the stunning views, the gorgeous aesthetics of the B & B perched on a breath-taking hilltop, the phenomenal, massive, fresh, hot breakfasts with colorful exotic fruits accompanying them, the fact that I felt comfortable enough to raid the refrigerator in the middle of the night (my mother raised me better than that, but that's how comfy & relaxed of a vibe Carmen & Rick have created!). I could rave about Carmen, the lovely, kind, gentle goddess and unsung hero(ine) of Casa Zuniga. I could go on & on about Rick, her quirky-fun sidekick character of a hubby & man of the manor, who is a wealth of information and a dynamo/whirling-dervish of energy and delight! He'll pepper you with fascinating local legends & stories, offer to show you around town pro-bono, enthusiastically telling you about Guanajuato's history, museums, galleries, etc. with a gleam in his eye and passion in his voice ~ in spite of the fact he's surely shared this information with thousands before you, and will certainly be sharing with thousands of lucky, future B & B guests following in your footsteps. Let's put it this way, I was robbed at knife-point in broad daylight on the Pepila steps in Guanajuato and I s-t-i-l-l managed to have a good time during the remainder of my stay because Rick & Carmen are that amazing, supportive, kind & loving!!!! They refilled my stolen perscription, went to town to bring me American comfort food I suddenly craved, tried to retrieve what was stolen from me and rallied the neighborhood to catch the thief! If that isn't a true testament to the wonders of Rick, Carmen & Casa Zuniga, I don't know what is! Hats off to Rick & Carmen, Patron Saints of Guanajuato! ~ :) ~ Written by Felicia Morgenstern (CA & MD, United States)


Oasis in Guanajuato

4,8 sur novembre 18, 2009

Many thanks to the great owners, Rick and Carmen, and the staff of Casa Zuniga. I will definitely return. I spent 7 of 10 nights at Casa Zuniga. Some of my best meals were the daily breakfast provided by the staff. I felt like I was staying with family during my trip. Beautiful views as well. A tip would be to take the stairs once and then use the funicular or take taxis from downtown.


The Best Part of All Guanajuato

5 sur novembre 10, 2009

At the Casa Zuniga, your not a guest, your treated more like expected good friends. Clean, comfortable, perfect location next to the funicular, great views, great breakfast, and the best part of all Guanajuato, Rick and Carmen. To fully experience Guanajuato, you must stay at the Casa Zuniga.


Fabulous Place!

5 sur novembre 09, 2009

When my daughter and I decided to go to Guanajuato, I looked at many accommodations before deciding where to stay. There were some with great reviews, but after a brief phone conversation with the owner, Rick Zuniga, I decided to stay at “Casa Zuniga.” Without a doubt it was one of the highlights of the trip. Rick & Carmen’s hospitality is wonderful. From the moment you walk into their house until you leave, you feel at home with family. Rick greets you at the time of your arrival, gives you a tour of the house and then takes you on another tour to the downtown area. We were greeted by locals and Rick took us to eat delicious fresh made tamales. Safety is my highest priority when I travel and I certainly felt safe here. The walk to & from downtown is little long, but safe & pleasant, especially on a warm night. The view from the house is beautiful, overlooking the town. The rooms were in pristine condition, very clean and comfortable. When we walked into our room we were greeted with a bouquet of fresh flowers. The room had two king size beds, private bath, a seating area. The food Rick & Carmen offered was delicious. They prepared authentic Mexican cuisine themselves and tailored it to fit our preferences and desires. For breakfast we were offered fresh juice, coffee, tea and fruit, and they would prepare dishes like chicken and mole, steak, chilaquiles, tamales, and just about anything we wanted. “Casa Zuniga” is the most comfortable bed & breakfast I have ever had the pleasure to stay at, very much like staying with a friend. I look forward to staying at “Casa Zuniga” in the future. I thank Rick & Carmen for opening the door of their home and allowing us to experience the culture, food & warm hospitality of a beautiful place. aarod- concord california


As good as it gets

5 sur novembre 08, 2009

As good as it gets. A new, large house in an ideal location, kept spotlessly clean. Guest rooms are large some with amazing views of Guanajuato. Breakfasts are abundant and delectable. But what makes this bed and breakfast even more unusual are the hosts (owners) Rick and Carmen. Rick not only informs about the rich history of this unspoiled town, but willingly volunteers as the best of all tour guides. This historical, charming small ( pop. 150,000) university town comes alive under his guidance. Built with the riches coming from silver mines, it was a central point in the war that freed Mexico from Spanish control. This history, and its unique physical location and visual beauty brings throngs of Mexican tourists (still not discovered greatly by foreigners), particularly students to learn about their history. The people have a sweet, gentle quality. They enjoy tourists. The streets are completely safe at all hours. Missing Casa Zuniga and Guanajuato while traveling in Mexico would be a major lost opportunity to see an important part of this fascinating country.


I felt like a QUEEN

5 sur octobre 09, 2009

From the moment we arrived with the owner waiting for our cab to our final farewell at the same curb we lived a life of luxery.Definately worth the money two times over.


Best place in town

5 sur octobre 09, 2009

All the things people write are true about Casa Zuniga it is a great value with a really cool laid back positive vibe that really does help you get into the spirit of vacation.All the rooms really are as nice as they say large and full of light.The breakfast is big and fresh.The owners are as cute as they say they are.What a great surprise when all the hype is true.We will come back again and again.


Hidden gem

5 sur octobre 09, 2009

An incredible B&B with the most gracious hosts you'll ever meet.


Best Breakfast in the world

5 sur octobre 07, 2009

bar none.I have been all over and put the feed bag on in some great places but this takes the cake!This place has the best breakfast EVER!All fresh and prepared any way you like it,even if everyone at the table wants something different,no matter just the way you want it and more than you could want seven days a week when you wake up.Breakfast alone is worth the stay.


Best B&B in the world

5 sur septembre 18, 2009

I stayed at the Casa Zuniga while on a symposium. All my arrangements were made on the fly, at short notice, with no problems at all. The staff seemed to effortlessly adjust to my scenario and needs including my diet. The office area had everything I needed and I took advantage of the free calls to the states. The rooms are huge by Mexican hotel standards and everything is new. Every view is spectacular. All mass transit is very close and convenient


In House Gym Rocks

4,0 sur septembre 14, 2009

I suffer from middle age and occasionally [daily] need to fight the sad fight against gravity,the forces of nature and genetics.This is a mighty battle and requires at least partial attention and some response to verbal prompts like "Dude,do you want to work out?" I'm pushing ...I'm pulling ...I'm hanging upside down in a UNESCO city watching brightly colored houses float by upside down on a home made contraption that would cost thousands somewhere..but this is Guanajuato and this is Casa Zuniga where things happen.Stuff gets built. This is The Best place to stay in this city.I've stayed around and don't bother anymore.This is the best bargain and has the best view and the breakfast is 7 days a week and HUGE.


Casa Zuniga and Guanojuato is great!

4,0 sur septembre 08, 2009

This B&B not only has command of a great view of Guanojuato but is also located next to the Funicula which is a cable car going down into the central historical and cultural areas. This allows easy accesss without dealing with stairs when going or returning from town. The walking access to the town's center (300 yards of alleyways and stairs) is good excercise and we used both the Finucula and walking about half and half. The owner and his wife are always involved with breakfast and on hand for conversation, history, and suggestions for outings. The food was great as were the accomodations. Guanojuato is a charming, bustling community that caters to the tourist trade that is currently at a very low ebb because of the Swine Flu scare, general concern for safty on the Mexican border, and the economy in the U.S. There were numerous police and guards in evidence, but few soldiers. We felt as safe from the Swine Flu and as safe on our outings as we do in the States. It was a great 4 day adventure!


Simply the Best

5 sur août 21, 2009

For my one week June visit to GTO, I stayed with Rick and Carmen, and I just can't recommend their place (and them) highly enough. I loved it. They are extremely gracious, knowledgeable, fun and eager to make your GTO stay an experience to remember. Mine certainly was. It's the first B&B I have stayed in where I felt the owners were really my friends by the end of my stay. I was traveling solo, with fairly limited Spanish skills, and looking for that relaxing, laid-back vacation: a good book, a quiet patio with a stunning view, long meandering strolls, interesting cultural attractions and killer food. And of course a bargain price. I found all of that and more. As many here have said, the value is simply unbeatable. Rick and Carm built this place from the ground up, and it has the best views of this spectacular UNESCO World Heritage Site--a gorgeous, colonial Mexican town steeped in history, of which Rick has an extensive knowledge. He even took me on a historical walking tour which was great, as I am a history buff. Because of the strong university presence here, the cultural attractions are first rate. What Carm and Rick have done in building the amazing Casa Zuniga, and the labor of love that it obviously is for them, and their wonderfully hospitable spirit, is all really admirable. The great thing about GTO is that it is authentic, not over-run with English speaking tourists and ex-pats. Because of it's historical importance, you will see plenty of Mexican tourists. (If you want the high-end, ex-pat, english speaking, gingolanda experience, San Miguel de Allende is only and hour's bus ride away.) GTO is a hilly walking town also--so bring your walking shoes, your spanish-phrase book, and your good humor. Despite being fed the greatest Mexican food I have ever eaten--and Rick and Carm will feed you non-stop if you like--I still lost 5 pounds! If you're going to GTO, Casa Zuniga is where you want to be. --Professorio Donaldo de la Gordo Gato


Nice stay among friends

3,6 sur juillet 17, 2009

As soon as you arrive to Casa Zuniga you feel that you are visiting an old friend, who is waiting for you at the taxi stop to warmly pick you up, brings you home and schedules together with you your Guanajuato city tour. Thanks a lot, Rick, it was very nice to meet you and your wife and to share with you the yummy breakfast and the interesting chats. Always willing to come back ... next time with my girlfriend Elitsa ... be ready for a lot of further good talkings :-) Mariano


Casa Zuniga and Its Owners Are a Perfect Match with Beautiful Guanajuato: My Worldwide Top 5 for Value

5 sur mai 31, 2009

We recently spent three incredible nights at Casa Zuniga. It was, without doubt, the accommodation highlight of our almost two week journey through colonial Mexico. I have been very, very fortunate to have traveled to more than 55 countries in the world; and, Casa Zuniga is now in my worldwide “top 5” for best value. First the “house”: Casa Zuniga is eye-popping beautiful, and a true labor of love for its owners. The style of Casa Zuniga, less than four years old, is modern (open and full of light). There are multiple terraces and patios which are great for enjoying a sunset drink taking in the gorgeous views of magnificent Guanajuato. Second, the location: Casa Zuniga is located, steps from La Pipila, a huge monument overlooking the incredible panorama of Guanajuato. Reaching Casa Zuniga is a short, inexpensive taxi ride from the bus station (about $4 US, including tip). To visit the city below, simply use the funicular, a few steps from Casa Zuniga. It is about a three minute descent to Guanajuato, which ends just steps behind the Teatro Juarez, a central point in Guanajuato. The funicular runs about every five minutes and ends for the day around 10:15 p.m. And, your unlimited funicular fare is included with your room at Casa Zuniga Nights at Casa Zuniga are serene. Finally, Casa Zuniga’s Owners and Hosts: I could spend several pages describing how warmly wonderful and exceptionally helpful Rick and Carmen (a Guanajuato native) are. We came to their house as guests and left there days later as great friends. On arrival, Rick gives each party a 30 minute or so walking orientation of Guanajuato (very helpful). And, finally, the breakfast. It is a full, and I mean full, delicious breakfast and could not have been better. Only fresh is in served from the kitchen of Casa Zuniga, bought daily. If your travel plans include Guanajuato, Casa Zuniga is a “can’t miss” spot. There is no better value in Guanajuato, or many other parts of the world.


Gunajuato, Mexico

4,0 sur mai 03, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the B&B, Casa Zuniga, for 6 nights and 5 days. Rick and Carmen Zuniga were our hosts. Both Rick and Carmen went way out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortabe and enjoyable. Not only is their home beautiful but wonderfully located for a trip to explore Guanajuato, Mexico. Rick and Carme are also a fountain of local knowledge. I can easily recommend their B&B to anybody. Sincerly, Wayne and Anne Lenhares


A Fabulously Comfortable B & B

5 sur avril 16, 2009

This was my first trip to Central Mexico and Guanajuato in particular. We 'lucked" upon Casa Zuniga and it turned out so fabulous I want to return after learning spanish! Rick and Carmen Zuniga are super warm and personable hosts. Their home is absolutely georgeous even though it is not yet totally finished. (Rick is building it himself) The rooms are large with comfortable king sized beds and baths with lots of hot water. Rick likes to cook and makes a fabulous breakfast at whatever time you want it. Due to the airline schedules at Leon, he is often up at 3 or 4 am to send off his visitors......and with his ever present smile and good humor. The kitchen is open and available for your use as are the two living room areas and patios of the home. Casa Zuniga has a great view of the city and is a short but steep walk down the hill, or a quick 'Funicular" ride down and up. It is close to the center of the city so you can literlly walk to most anything you want to see. We originally booked for three nights before going to San Miguel de Allende, then decided to return for three more nights. I hope to return to Guanajuato in the future and stay with the Zunigas again.


More Like Family than innkeepers

5 sur février 20, 2009

My husband and I have been to Casa Zuniga 3 times now, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Guanajuato. For me, it's the wonderful service and attention we receive each time we stay here. For example: During our travels, my husband came down with a fever and virus of some sort. Within minutes of our arrival at Casa Z, Carmen had him bundled up on the couch with fruit, pillows and aspirin. We had chicken soup as part of our dinner, and Rick gave us directions to the doctor in town. When we came back from the doctor, Carmen had gone out to get my husband some gatorade. With tears in his eyes, my husband thanked her and told her that this was like coming home. We have never had this kind of service in a B&B before. This is more like family. And this is why we come back every year.


Why I come back every year

5 sur février 18, 2009

This was my third year staying at Casa Zuniga.I come back because it is so easy to get here...just tell anyone you are going to the Pippila monument...walk DOWN some stairs,this is very important in mountainous Guanajuato city,and that is it...from behind the Theater Juarez I can take the cable car funicular .I am on vacation..things should be easy..and THAT is why I come.Casa Zuniga is the easiest to get to,everything is always ready and waiting and anything I might want to see Carmen and Rick can tell me how to get to.I get a big breakfast and can do my own cooking when I like.I have stayed in a lot of Mexican hotels ...I have a lot of room there.The building is HUGE with large rooms and beds.Everything is new.I can sit in bed and work on the WiFi...It's DSL so I can use my VOIP phone.I can have a little pass so I can ride up and down from the Center of town and this can come in handy after a big meal in one of the great cafes that populate the city...and every time I ride the funicular back "home" and that is what I feel about the place anymore,it is literally a home away from home for me I see the post card view of a world famous beautiful city. I found this place and it's great... the people who own it have become my friends ..I come back because I KNOW I will have an effortlessly good time in the easiest place to get to without ANY hassles.That...is a vacation.


The Best Part of our Trip

5 sur février 17, 2009

Casa Zuniga was the best part of our trip to Guanajuato! Besides being centrally located and close to everything, Rick and Carmen at Casa Z are the perfect hosts. They have great food, lots of information and very comfortable beds. And don't forget the hot water whenenver you want. This is our third year back and we consider Casa Zuniga our "summer home" in the winter.


Casa Zuniga

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $85 - $85
  • Avis (64) 4,7
  • Chambres 8

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 52-4737328546

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut