Mileybright Farmhouse Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,0

Notation basée sur
28 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Welcoming and Friendly

4,0 sur mai 27, 2014

Wow!~ We were impressed by Diana and Joe warmth & friendly welcome to their cozy & beautiful home. Their helpful information & tips made our trip less stressful since we did not the area very well. Hope to visit again soon!

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Atlanta, even if just 'passing through.' Your review is greatly appreciated. Thank you.


We'll be back - thank you!

5 sur novembre 26, 2013

My daughter and I shared Carrie's bedroom on the second floor for two nights in early November. The room was lovely and spacious, and walking across the hall to the private bathroom was fine. The continental breakfast was different each day and came with fresh fruit, and quiche one day and lox and bagels the next day - and a great cup of coffee made with beans from a local coffee shop. Our host was charming and shared tips on local places to visit including the astonishing Decatur Farmers Market. I'm looking forward to another visit in the spring when the azaleas are blooming.


A Beautiful and very Comfortable Setting! Lots of Fun!

4,4 sur octobre 16, 2013

There is no Dining at this B&B. There are some breakfast type items that you are required to prepare for yourself and there is not a very nearby store to buy anything so the rations are limited.. No pizza delivery when we needed it so we had to call ahead and pick up the pizza which was the only available food. It was good, though. Note: we were offered eggs and bacon, but we had to cook it ourselves. I guess this is standard since I have never stayed in an American B&B, but in Europe, breakfast is in the dining room and fully prepared for you so this was unexpected. Took some adjusting on our part. There are no inside locks or latches of any kind on the doors to the rooms nor the bathrooms so anyone can enter while you are inside the room even when you are sleeping. One bedroom has two cutouts at the top of the wall so there is no privacy in that room.

Réponse du propriétaire
I appreciate each review. Our guest reviewer stayed in the two bedroom apartment. The apartment has a living room and full kitchen. As is stated on our websites, the kitchen is stocked with breakfast items for self-serve. The refrigerator has quiche and fresh cut fruit from the farmers market, as well as milk, cream, Greek yogurt, baked goods and juice. Eggs & bacon if guest prefers. Pantry has cereal selection. Groceries are available, within one mile, at the farmers market, Kroger or WalMart. Ask us, happy to give directions and recommendations for dining and shopping. Guests in the other two guest rooms are served a Continental breakfast (7-10am) in our large kitchen. We do not cook breakfast. Note: 113 yr. old house has antique door hardware. Room locks have 'skeleton' keys. I've tagged the keys and will have them available. (I host guests, from around the globe, in my home daily. In 7 years of hosting, I've yet to have a guest walk into my bathroom or bedroom.)


A great place to stay

3,8 sur avril 27, 2013

We stayed in the apartment and had both bedrooms. The apartment was beautifully furnished and presented and the kitchen was stocked with a selection of pastries or breads, fresh fruit salad, yogurts and/or quiche to eat, all of which were delicious. Diana and Joe were great hosts and we would highly recommend it. Be aware that one of the bedrooms, although separate, is partially open (see the two openings on the virtual tour on the website) close to the ceiling and is therefore not soundproofed from the living area - this was not an issue for us, but might be for some guests. The other bedroom does not have the openings. Everything was just as it appeared in the virtual tour on the website. A great place to stay.


Cute Farmhouse B&B

3,2 sur mars 22, 2013

The farmhouse was so cute and had so much history. Unfortunately we stayed there to try and get away from our loud apartment and it wasn't much quieter there. If you are looking for a quiet nights rest stay in the upstairs room otherwise you will be listening to the guests' upstairs footsteps the whole time. That was a major let down. The hosts of the home were nice and friendly. I wasn't really expecting them to be "around" the whole time (sitting with us at breakfast and watching tv literally right outside our room). I guess it's just really casual that way. Overall I would really recommend staying here if you plan to stay upstairs, explore decatur during the day and for dinner, and don't mind company at breakfast!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. There are squeaky floors in a 113 yr. old house. I have plans to update the upstairs guest room and will install larger area rugs (hope that will eliminate some squeaks). It is noted on this website, and our own site, that this is a "Private Home Bed and Breakfast." As owners, we live onsite. Our private living room is across the hall from the Candler guest room. There is a privacy door and our TV cannot be heard in the guest rooms. I agree that the upstairs guest room is more private. Both of these guest rooms have private bath in hall, not en suite. Future guests, please view our virtual tour on our website: http://www.mileybright.com/photo-gallery/ Also mentioned on this website, "a continental breakfast is served in the hosts' kitchen." Joe and I love our mornings spent with our worldly guests hearing of travel adventures and sharing favorite things to do in the Atlanta area. If guests prefer more privacy, I am happy to prepare a tray of breakfast items to take to their room or to enjoy on the veranda. I also prepare "go" cups of coffee and snacks to send off with early departing guests. To be totally cloistered for privacy, the two bedroom apartment can be rented as a one bedroom (contact host). The apartment has a full kitchen that is stocked with a self-served breakfast. We are flexible and accommodating to guest requests. Just let us know what you need!


A lovely stay

4,8 sur juillet 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Florie's Bedroom. It was very nicely appointed and spacious. The king size bed and linens were lovely. Connie the cat reminded us of home and Joe and Diana sent us on our way to our friends' cookout with tomatoes from their beautiful garden. We were very happy we didn't pay more for a sterile Holiday Inn.


Great Temporary Home

5 sur avril 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the apartment for over 3 weeks while our house was being used for a Clint Eastwood movie. This was way better than an extended stay hotel. It was great to have a kitchen and laundry available for such an extended period as well as the relaxing grounds. Diana and Joe were great hosts and made sure everything was right during our stay. They even let us borrow the cats for company. We highly recommend Mileybright!


Mileybright is a gem

4,6 sur décembre 09, 2011

Joe and Diane are great folks. Mileybright does not feel like a hotel; one feels like a guest in a friend's home. We had a birthday celebration in downtown Decatur which is minutes away, so the location was perfect. This home was boarded up and condemned in 1997 when Joe and Diane bought it. They have done an absolutely fabulous job of restoring it We would highly recommend Mileybright if you have occasion to be in or near Decatur, GA.


Bed and Breakfast Divine

5 sur août 27, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Mileybright while vacationing at nearby Stone Mtn. Joe and Diana were exceptional hosts. The house is gorgeous and kept clean. Diana went out of her way to find tasty pastries to go with the fresh fruit and yogurt. Some of the fruit was fresh from the garden. Both Joe and Diana helped us with directions to various locations, places to eat, etc. Overall outstanding visit!


Loved Decatur and this Farmhouse

4,8 sur août 23, 2011

My husband and I spent a night in the upstairs bedroom. The room was just beautiful- large with high ceiling, and furnished with interesting decor. A ceiling fan helps keep the room nice and cool. Very comfy bed. The bathroom was good, and it didn't really bother us that it was out in the hall rather than en-suite. You are the only guests that will be using it. We never heard any noise from other guestrooms or plumbing, perhaps since we were on the top floor. This home is 100 years old so the floors and doors squeak a bit as you would expect. I am a light sleeper so I did notice some street noise since this room is at the front of the house. Hosts were very laid back. Breakfast was super-casual, and we were allowed to eat whenever we were ready instead of a set time which was much appreciated. We LOVED LOVED LOVED downtown Decatur! It's a very short drive from the B&B, and loaded with quaint brick-and-mortar shops and restaurants. You can park your car and walk everywhere. Very pleasant, friendly and safe. A GREAT option if you're spending time in the Atlanta area. You can't beat the price, too!


Great place and great hospitality

4,0 sur mai 21, 2011

We stayed in the bedroom with the other members of the family in the adjoining apartment. It was a great for us. The refrigerator was well stocked for us to cook a good breakfast and we especially enjoyed the nice bowl of fruit. The hospitality of Diana and Joe was outstanding and very much appreciated. The Simpson Family


Spring in Decatur

4,8 sur avril 14, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for 5 days to attend a wedding in Decatur. I can say that Diane made our stay perfect. Even down to the fresh fruit salad in the kitchen. The B&B is just great. Steve in NC


Great value and peaceful surroundings near Atlanta

4,2 sur avril 05, 2011

My husband and I needed a place to stay after attending a party in Atlanta. Not wanting to spend the money for a midtown or downtown hotel, Mileybright fit the bill. Located just minutes from downtown Decatur, this bed and breakfast offered clean, wonderfully restored rooms and gorgeous grounds. Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable with especially soft sheets. The innkeepers were available if we needed them but not overbearing or intrusive. Affordable, comfortable and clean, I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Very nice stay

3,6 sur octobre 29, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Mileybright Farmhouse. It was very clean and peaceful.


Warm & Wonderful

4,6 sur août 16, 2010

What a great decision! We needed a short-term place to live and picked the Mileybright and, WOW we were happy. The innkeepers are warm, welcoming, attentive, and flexible; The Apartment was everything we needed and more with a kitchen and 2 bedrooms; and the location was, well, ideal. It’s great for early morning walks and close to restaurants and transportation. Dee & Joe are nice and so helpful. I want to thank them for the fresh fruit and vegetables. The bowl of unique cherry tomatoes… they were so sweet and juicy. The house is a grand old 'girl' that the innkeepers brought back with their own hands. Look at the 'in process' pics and you will appreciate the hard work it took to make the house look so nice. Thanks Joe and Dee, your inn is on our list of 'Must stay' when in the Atlanta metro!!! Jerry & Rodney


Nice place but hard to find

3,0 sur juillet 23, 2010

Although we had directions, it was hard to find the B&B because it is hidden behind tall trees by the street and there is no marker to prepare you to find it. After several tries, we finally found the little street. Then, after coming back from a function at night, it took us forever to find the home again because everything is so dark in that block.


My first stay in the apt.

4,8 sur mai 22, 2010

I have stayed at Mileybright several times--always delightful. This time, a colleague from work & I stayed in the 2-bedroom apt and it was very special. Very comfortable to have a living room space in which to relax, a porch for an afternoon glass of wine and enjoy the spring weather. Look forward to more visits.


A charming and wonderful place to wind down

5 sur janvier 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Mileybright Farmhouse while visiting our daughter at Agnes Scott. Our room was spacious and lovely, with a gas fireplace and a very comfy bed. The furnishings are lovely and the inn is immaculate. We enjoyed talking with the owners, who are friendly, interesting and able to give us tips on places we might enjoy. The breakfasts were delicious, homemade and healthy. In the summer, we would enjoy something from their garden. It is lovely to sit on the front porch to read a book, with views of an expansive lawn and a lovely garden. We would highly recommend Mileybright!


Above and beyond my expectations

4,6 sur novembre 30, 2009

I had a wonderful time at Mileybright Farmhouse. Joe was so helpful and the perfect host. The house is ABSOLUTELY beautiful and every imaginable luxury was provided. The photos and description provided simply don't do this B&B justice. You have to experience it for yourself.


great B&B

4,8 sur juillet 20, 2009

Convenient location, great hosts. recommend highly.


Excellent place for a week's stay

5 sur février 23, 2009

I had a wonderful week at Mileybright. I had to work in the area for a week and had never stayed in a B&B in the US. I'm going back again in March and April.


Home away fron home in Decatur.

5 sur octobre 21, 2008

I spent three nights at Joe's and Diana's B& B in Decatur when on a conference to Agnes Scott College and I have to say that this was by far my best B& B expoerience. Dinner was not part of the package but UI ended up having dinner with them pm two occasions. They are wonderful people and they have a wonderful establishment.


Farmhouse Gem!!

4,8 sur juin 19, 2008

What a combination - an artfully recreated farm house and warm, friendly hospitality - beautiful and comfortable!!


Relaxing retreat...

4,6 sur mai 30, 2008

We have stayed at Mileybright twice with Joe and Diana and plan to return soon. We've stayed in two parts of the house--the king bedroom and, with family, in the two bedroom apartment--and have enjoyed both stays immensely. The house was beautifully decorated in December and cheery and bright in early Spring! We love the setting and proximity to downtown Decatur and enjoy spending the days in Atlanta. Joe and Diana are very knowledgeable about the area and are wonderful hosts. We enjoy coming home at night to Mileybright!


Charming Farmhouse

3,4 sur mai 30, 2008

Colorful Mexican motif decorates this charming farmhouse from the 1920s. Tasteful hor d'ourves surprised us each evening. Comfortable. Secluded yet close to shopping. Would definitely recommend.


Great Couples Getaway

4,6 sur janvier 16, 2008

Mileybright is a great in town getaway. My wife and I live in Decatur, GA, a few miles from Mileybright. We stayed overnight in one of the bedrooms as a treat for our anniversary and we were very pleased. Joe and Diana are excellent hosts. The house is gorgeously restored and decorated. We loved the atmosphere, the silence and ambience. I will recommend this to all my friends and we will definitely be back.


What a nice 40th anniv. getaway!

5 sur juillet 26, 2007

The hosts (Joe and Diana) were amazing, my husband and I immediately felt like we were more than guests in their beautiful home. We actually felt more like family. The home is absolutely amazing, the pictures can not capture the true essence and beauty of the restoration of this stately home. We stayed in the suite- which is actually more like a two bedroom home with two gorgeous fireplaces- very romantic! Diana even made us a special homemade anniversary cake which was such a nice treat!! I couldn't help myself and even took the rest of this treat home with me after our stay. My husband and I plan on returning when ever we can and will highly recommend this B&B to our friends and family.


When can we move in!?

5 sur juillet 24, 2007

This place is AMAZING! Joe & Diana are perfect hosts & they have restored this farm house to better-than-before condition! It feels like home the minute you walk in & the apt is HUGE -- with working gas fireplace! They obviously lovingly decorated their home and THEN decided to rent rooms -- no cheap "rental" ANYTHING here! You won't believe the before & after pictures! We enjoyed several luxurious moments out on the "veranda" with the ceiling fans lazily circulating the air, watching the birds, cats &/or the rain from the comfort of a cozy couch & chairs. My 7 year old son proclaimed, "This is the most beautiful house I've ever seen!" ;) Enjoy!!


Mileybright Farmhouse

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $118 - $236
  • Avis (28) 4,5
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4045086060
  • Portable 1-4043121209

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut