Blue Heron Inn Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
185 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Relaxing in Paradise!

5 sur avril 16, 2014

We were greeted by Sassy (a loveable doggie) and wine & brownies. We were so comfortable and made to feel it was "our house" Jan & Bill saw to every need and more!The scenary is breathtaking and a must for nature lovers. Breakfast was 5 star +++We will certainly return to stay on our next getaway to the Darian area and I have already recommended the Blue Heron Inn to friends . Love it Love it Love it!!!!


Hidden Jewel

5 sur mars 22, 2014

Tucked away on the Georgia coast is this jewel of a B&B. Jan and Bill are so warm and inviting, as is their home. The view of the endless marsh from the ground floor porch and second and third story patios is spectacular. The breakfasts are simply delicious. Our room, The Blue Heron, was enormous, yet warm and cozy. We urge travelers to experience The Blue Heron Inn.


Must Stay ~ Off the Beaten Path!

5 sur mars 16, 2014

Bill and Jan were lovely hosts, the Blue Heron is beautiful, cozy and has everything you need! Tucked away off the beaten path, a must stay B & B if you are traveling the coast! We were here for only one night (wish it could have been more) our room opened onto the balcony for a stunning sunset and sunrise over the marsh! Lots of special touches throughout room and inn. Breakfast is not to be missed!! The perfect send off to start our day!! Thanks so much for your hospitality, we are already looking forward to staying again! ¿


Romantic Getaway

5 sur février 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at the Blue Heron Inn--our first getaway together...The room was beautiful; the breakfast's divine and the atmosphere to die for...Jan and Bill were excellent host and had great knowledge of the area to recommend sites to see and places to eat.


Blue Heron Inn

5 sur janvier 21, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Heron Inn in the middle of January. It was during the cold snap. Although it was cold outside, it was warm inside. We enjoyed the fireplace even more. The location is beautiful and serene. The hosts were interesting and real. We would especially recommend touring Sapelo Island and the Hofwyl-Broadfield planation and Fort King George. If you enjoy eating, there are many good seafood restaurants nearby. John and Sharon


A Piece of Heaven

5 sur novembre 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Blue Heron Inn and can't wait to return. Jan and Bill are so welcoming and are genuinely glad to see you. Jan makes divine breakfasts. We loved seeing all the birds, especially the red-winged blackbirds. All the rooms face the marsh and share a patio the length of the house. There are four small docks where you can sit, or swing in one case, and just breathe the fresh air. This is a quiet respite from our busy lives and is how God intended things to be. Emily and David


Great stay!

4,2 sur octobre 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Blue Heron Inn and were made to feel at home by Jan and Bill. They arranged a private tour on Sapelo Island which was great and offered other suggestions for things to do and places to eat in the area. The view of the marsh from our porch was fantastic. The breakfasts were tasty and filling, especially the sweet potato pancakes. We would definitely stay here again.


Amazing Weekend

5 sur septembre 30, 2013

What an amazing place. Great people, great food. The show from Girls on Trapeze over at the Marsh Studio was just so awesome. The Blue Heron Room was beyond our expectations. With the soft and luxurious King size bed. Jetted tube to wash away any stresses that you brought with you. Breathe taking views over the marsh. Do you remember the days when you were a kid and you could actually see the stars in the dark night, well at the Blue Heron Inn that’s what you get standing on the deck at night and all you see is the stars. Breakfast of champions cooked by Bill in the morning. Wonderful, beautiful, amazing yard to walk around and see the plants and trees or just watch the birds and look for the little crabs all around. Sit out on the dock and enjoy the evening. Tree swing to float in the air watching the wind blow across the marsh. If you look close enough you can see boats going to and from Sapelo Island. Just minutes from fresh Georgia caught shrimp and crabs at many of the nearby restaurants. A must visit and stay for a while Bed and Breakfast


Excellent Experience!

5 sur septembre 03, 2013

We stopped in very short notice & were very welcomed. The inn was wonderfully secluded & we felt very comfortable. Bill had a fire going in the fire pit outside & was serving beer & wine. Although we could only stay 1 night, the stay completely made us NEVER want to stay in a hotel again. Breakfast was great. We are planning on returning as soon as our schedules permit. :) Thanks Lisa & Christian


Great Getawy

5 sur juillet 22, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and felt "at home" during our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfasts were wonderful. We will stay again in the future. The view from the balcony of the deck of the marsh leads toward Sapelo Island. The host and hostess gave us plenty of space, but always made themselves available for questions (and knew the answers) about the area restaurants and things to do and see.


quietly fantastic

5 sur juin 09, 2013

during a tour of the coast stayed at this wonderful place great hospitality and the views accross the marshlands were wonderful seeing the tide change the area was spectacular will be back again when passing that area


First trip to Ga coast

5 sur mai 14, 2013

Have tried to get my husband to go to the coast for many years. Learned of the Blue Heron Inn from friends, and set up a weekend to go. Arrived late, the host called us on our way in, to see if we were ok and not lost. Arrived and shown around and to our room. Next day the view from the balcony deck was beautiful. We had a bonfire on Saturday night with the other guests and neighbors. Birds, fireflys, the marsh, the night sky. AWESOME. A very fullfilling breakfast each morning AWESOME. We will be back to site see the area. Bill and Jan were excellent hosts, making us fill at home. Mike and Martha Athens, Ga


Weekend stay at the Blue Heron Inn Bed and Breakfast

5 sur mai 09, 2013

Hosts were great. The breakfast was very tasty and filling. We stayed on the second floor. Our baloney over looked the wetlands. I saw many different birds. While on the baloney, I heard a bull alligator calling for a sweetheart. Grounds and Inn were very clean and neat. Quite airy. If the area again, I would stay here. Hosts were knowledge about places to dine. Ate at a seafood restaurant on the river. Quite tasty.


Home away from home...

5 sur février 26, 2013

My husband and I took a much-needed weekend away at this truly special marsh side retreat. We have traveled extensively all over the US and Canada, and our experience at the Blue Heron matched or exceeded the best of our inn experiences. The house is a lovely, secluded Mediterranean style home on the edge of the gorgeous (and teeming with wildlife and birds) along the estuaries and salt marshes of Doboy Sound, near Sapelo Island and Darien GA, putting us midway between Savannah, Brunswick, Cumberland and Jekyll Island (all easy day trips away). My husband, a birder, was in paradise. The grounds are well appointed and landscaped with local flora, and there is a jaw-dropping organic garden that is a wonder to walk through! It was great fun to stretch our legs each day by exploring the docks and points around the marsh. (rest of review can be read on Fodor's)


A Wonderful Respite

4,8 sur février 15, 2013

We were looking for a Bed and Breakfast with a bit of character and southern hospitality where we could truly relax and we found it at the Blue Heron. Jan and Bill helped us find our way on our first trip to beautiful coastal Georgia. The Seafarer room was perfect for the 'naturalist' in my husband and I. Wood Storks, Black Vultures, Tufted Titmice and more were visible from our perch on the 3rd floor. The kayaks gave us great access to the salt marsh where we even encountered a dolphin. Suggestions for birding hot spots, guided tours and local seafood restaurants left us very satisfied. The evening happy hour was delightful. We have frequented B and B's all over the U.S. and this experience equalled any. This is an Inn where you come as a guest and leave as a friend. We will return!


Paradise on the Georgia Coast

5 sur décembre 15, 2012

We have traveled to many places both in the US and abroad, but what a joy to know paradise is within an hour's drive! Good service, wonderful food, fantastic room, gracious hosts and the peace we so desire for our get-away! Beth and Gene Roach, Jesup, GA


Best B&B experience I have had yet!

5 sur novembre 09, 2012

The B&B is beautiful, homey, inviting and wonderful owners! I will be back as soon as possible. Ellen Aull


Nice Place To Stay

4,4 sur septembre 06, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this Inn. Bill and Jan are great host and made us feel very welcomed and relaxed. Jan made us wonderful breakfasts and Bill is very knowledgeable about the area. We will for sure come back.


First Stay, Not Our Last!!

5 sur septembre 04, 2012

Our weekend at Blue Heron Inn was a gift and one that will last a lot longer than just the weekend. My husband and I loved the Inn, the food, the surroundings, and of course, Bill and Jan. We are cat lovers and their cats love people so it was like a little bit of home. We hope to try a different room next time we visit.


Great getaway!

4,8 sur août 29, 2012

We only were able to stay for a night but we'd love to go back and stay for much longer! What a beautiful place!


A fantastic weekend

5 sur août 23, 2012

Thsi was a great visit for my wife and I. And I say visit because it was like going back home for me. Bill and Jan were like family from the time we arrived until departure. The view from the rooms and balcomy is fantastic with plenytty of entertainment from the various birds. It could not be more relaxing and a short trip to Darien and Skippers topped off the stay. Bill will tell you about Skippers and the Bucaneer restaurants. Thanks Bill, Jan for a great time. Give Sassy and Wildman a pat for me.


a stay in a birder's paradise

5 sur août 19, 2012

In addition to the wonderful service and outstanding breakfasts (be sure to check out Bill's sweet potato pancakes!), we saw an abundance of birds, including several painted buntings and of course numerous egrets, ibises, etc. A place to return to, for sure!


A wonderful place to relax!

5 sur août 16, 2012

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast, and frankly we weren't sure what quite to expect. On arrival, we were greeted by Bill, who gave us a wonderful welcome to the inn, and let us get settled in. Both the room and the rest of the grounds were beautiful, Once we were settled, Bill helped us decide what we might like to see on our stay. We frequent Savannah regularly, and did on this visit as well, but wanted to expand our experiences in the area and not stay downtown the entire trip. Bill suggested that we might like Jekyll and St. Simons Islands, and we had a great time at both. He had also suggested the nearby rice plantation, which was a very educational experience. One of the things we like to do is dine out, and Bill had suggested a few places nearby. The food in the area is wonderful, so be sure to try some of the local places that Bill recommends. Of course, the breakfast that was served to us at the inn was so delicious and plentiful that it was good that we were able to get some walking in before it was time to eat again! We plan to visit again soon and highly recommend the Blue Heron Inn.


Beautiful seclusion

5 sur août 05, 2012

This was a wonderful pace to stay. Jan and Bill are wonderful innkeepers and hosts. The room, the view and the weekend were perfect. If you want big city this is not your place. If you want beautiful seclusion this is it.


Wonderful Honeymoon!

5 sur juillet 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed for about a week. Bill and Jan make you feel at home. The breakfasts were amazing! The view is incredible! The location is close enough to do day trips to Jekyll Island and Savannah. We had a great time and hope to return.


Wonderful retreat

5 sur juillet 05, 2012

This was our second stay with Jan and Bill, and it was as wonderful as before. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and the breakfasts are incredible. We are birders and their property is full of birds of all types. We will be back!


Fantastic Quiet Family Vacation

5 sur juin 06, 2012

This was a wonderful surprise even though we were advised of the location of the bird sanctuary. The view and quiet, natural environment were amazing. I never do reviews and couldn't wait to do this one. Our hosts were very attentive and never invasive. The rooms are about 3 times the size of most hotels now and were more than clean for the white glove and visual test. I am very particular and disgusted by the lack of regard for cleanliness in hotels now, and could find nothing wrong with this place. They offer huge book selections for all genres, as well as puzzles and I only had about 10 minutes for the latter, as we were visiting family also. I truly regretted when time to depart arrived, as this human sanctuary was very much in need for all of my family.


Relaxing informative stay

5 sur mai 07, 2012

A relaxing informative stay in a super friendly Inn. Large room with huge bath, complete with spa and large shower. The room had 3 ceiling fans, TV, books a great bed and access to a huge balcony overlooking the tidal marsh. Jan and Bill are super friendly in a non intrusive way. Great hosts with excelant sugestions on places of interest and dinning locations.


Cotton Fields Farmhouse

4,8 sur avril 28, 2012

While I loved the visit to the Blue Heron Inn proper, my husband and I and our friend really treasured the uniqueness and seclusion we enjoyed at Cotton Fields. The main house has a captivating story and it clearly came together as a work of love - those who love a rustic vibe without inconveniences will get a thrill out of this place! We particularly enjoyed dining out on the screened porch overlooking the marsh, seconded only by fresh eggs from the local hens (our dining score is based on our own kitchen witchery and the amenities provided). Having access to canoes to explore a little further was a real advantage also. We are already making plans to return.


wonderful hosts, wonderful stay

5 sur avril 22, 2012

The room was comfortable, the breakfasts were great! Afternoon wine and conversation plus birds of all kinds!


What a place!

5 sur avril 16, 2012

Our stay at the Blue Heron was both relaxing and busy. There are lots of things to see and do in the Darien area; Jan and Bill helped us with reservations for tours, dining, as well as giving us suggestions for the best nature walks. They are a wonderful couple who make you feel right at home.


We love The Blue Heron Inn

5 sur avril 03, 2012

We enjoyed our second visit to the Blue Heron Inn even more than the first - probably because we stayed for two nights instead of one. Jan and Bill are great hosts in every way; the site on the edge of the Georgia marshes is perfect. The highlight of this visit was paddling the tidal creeks. Next time we'll stay longer. Veronica and Jon


Birthday trip for my wife

5 sur mars 25, 2012

My wife and I found the Blue Heron Inn last year and talked of plans to stay there and visit Sapelo Island. I made reservations for her birthday this year. It was fantastic! The friendliness of our hosts and the willingness to treat us like good friends went beyond the host-customer relationship. They recommended places to eat, arranged for your guides at the last minute so we could go to Sapelo and even left a large slice of chocolate cake in our room on my wife's birthday. We will go back again and again.


Off theBeaten Path

4,2 sur mars 24, 2012

This B&B is in an awsome location. It is perfect for the bird watcher and the nature lover. We wish we could have stayed longer. Bill and Jan are wonderful innkeepers and contribute to the laid back feeling that fills the air.


Just Like Home

4,6 sur mars 13, 2012

Jan & Bill go out of their way to make you feel comfortable, welcomed and like an extension of their family....Inn is quiet and a nature lover's paradise.... Recommendations for dinner were perfect and I look forward to coming back to the Inn next time in the and trying a different room....Views are priceless, abundant birds of all shapes and sizes.....If you want to reconnect to nature and wind down from the hustle and bustle - this is your spot.... Breakfast was unbelievable.... Keep up the great work....see you soon


Our home away from home

4,0 sur mars 06, 2012

What a wonderful place! My husband, children and I loved every minute we were there! The views are amazing, the food is incredible and the rooms are so inviting! It is definitely where we will stay everytime we come to georgia!


It's as good as it looks

4,2 sur février 25, 2012

For us British the Blue Heron is what American B&Bs are all about - excellent breakfast to set you up for the day, more than comfortable accommodation with beautiful scenery. Jan and Bill are wonderful hosts and made us so welcome. Don't go an stay in one of those interstate motels - go and experience real hospitality that will make your holiday special. Ann and John Rooke, Northumberland, England.


A great respite off I95!

4,0 sur février 13, 2012

We were looking for an overnight stop on I95 and just happened on Blue Heron Inn in a guide book. It was like a mini overnight vacation. Bill and Jan were fabulous hosts and made us feel very welcomed. This is a peaceful, quiet, secluded spot. The breakfast was superb!!


the nicest people

4,4 sur janvier 05, 2012

had just a wonderful weekend at the blue heron inn. Bill and Jan were charming hosts and made us feel like we were visiting old friends. the room was very comfortable and the view of the marsh and night sky from the porch/deck was spectacular. delicious breakfast each morning, a beautiful area to ride bikes and super convenient if you plan to go to sapelo island.


On the Marsh

4,6 sur décembre 21, 2011

Found this to be very relaxing. Enjoyed the evening of wine, cheese, and wonderful conversation. Rooms were welcoming, turned down bed service and candy were a welcomed site after a long day touring. Views of the marsh were outstanding--very peaceful there. The innkeeper upgraded us to a bigger room for the same price, because it had become available. Inn was located back a long lane in the country, a plus for us, but may not be for some. The shower was a bit small and was only a little warmer than lukewarm water, but we did not care. The large room, satelite TV, and balcony more than made up for those things.

Réponse du propriétaire
So sorry you experienced a problem with the hot water. We noticed on Dec. 21 that the shower handle in the Shell Seeker was not turning all the way to allow for adequate hot water. Fixed! Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite the shower.


Most peaceful getaway yet!

5 sur décembre 20, 2011

Every year, my Grandmother, Mother and I take a trip around Christmas to a B & B somewhere quaint. This was our 7th year, but my 89 year old Grandmother doesn't like the cold and stairs are getting more difficult (we're taking her on a trip in the summer instead!), so it was just my Mom and I. Everything was wonderful and it was the most peaceful and relaxing trip we've had. Loved the shops in Darien (Shops at 107 Broad and Olive Affairs) - and the food (Skipper's and The Purple Pickle). The rooms at Blue Heron were beautiful and the breakfast was superb. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. All in all, a very warm, comfortable atmosphere. Will definately visit again!


Incredible escape to GA's wonderful natural beauty.

5 sur novembre 04, 2011

This B&B is tucked away in the woods of Georgia's shoreline. We absolutely enjoyed the Inn, the Innkeepers and their hospitality, as well as the locale. There are some great restaurants locally. The environment is clean, quiet and breath-taking. We loved our stay.


Return to Blue Heron

5 sur octobre 23, 2011

A third trip to the Blue Heron exceeded even our already high expectations. The setting is still authentic low country----wild, watery, and washed with ethereal sunsets and dawns. Accommodations are not only comfortable and relaxing as always but also charmingly decorated with subtly themed rooms like Savannah and Seafarer, featuring porches and balconies overlooking unspoiled marsh. Selecting a room was difficult because of all positive choices, but this time we picked Shell Seeker, which includes its own separate sitting room. Breakfast this time starred perfect sweet potato pancakes with Georgia pecan garnish, as good as Bill's Shrimp and Grits and other breakfast menus we've enjoyed on previous visits. Most important, Innkeepers Bill and Jan haven't changed---still hospitable, gracious, generous with time and advice, and, yes, entertaining. Will we return? Definitely! For us, Blue Heron has again overwhelmingly fulfilled every requirement for a successful B&B visit:superior location, accommodation, food, and hospitality. And add a bonus----consistency!


Unique and wonderful

4,0 sur août 17, 2011

Set in a spectacular and beautiful sea of grass with winding saltwater creeks, the inn is a quiet, rural, and well run spot that is respectful of land and sea. The owners, Jan and Bill, are welcoming, attentive to detail, thoughtful hosts. Good restaurants nearby. Fabulous birding.


Unwind here

5 sur juillet 14, 2011

This is a wonderful place and we will definitely be back. The inn is very unique, beautiful, and comfortable. The hosts are friendly and down to earth. The trip to Sappolo island is very worthwhile. My wife and I and our teenager all loved it. A completely non-stuffy B&B, in a gorgeous marsh front setting.


Marvelous Innkeepers with a Charming & Unique Inn

4,0 sur juin 24, 2011

This is a destination for relaxation and good company. Bill and Jan are extraordinary people who truly enjoy their work and enjoy their guests. The Blue Heron is set on a magnificent piece of property with nature taking center stage. Their recommendations for activities and restaurants during our stay were excellent. We had one of the most memorable B & B experiences of our lives.


Another wonderful stay!

4,6 sur juin 11, 2011

Once again we enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron. It was totally relaxing in a beautiful place. We'll be back!


One of my best birthdays ever

5 sur mai 29, 2011

Another decade birthday had arrived and I wanted to do something special. Wow is what we got at the Blue Heron Inn. The rooms have everthing we wanted including a fabulous view over the mashes. Jan and Bill were great host. We arrived thinking how nice a glass of wine would be after our long drive. Well there it was. Wine and cheese on the back porch watching the birds and butterflies. Thery were a good source of information and recommendations for dinner and day trips.


Blue Heron B&B review

4,0 sur mai 07, 2011

We loved it! Beautiful location by the marsh. Very close to Sapelo Ferry Dock for less rushing in the morning. Lovely lime French toast with fresh fruit for breakfast. Interesting, friendly hosts--loved Bill's restaurant recommendation (Skipper's Fish Camp). Enjoyed our turndown service, complete with soft music and chocolates. Very large, comfortable rooms. Enjoyed having our drinks on the large porch/balcony overlooking the marsh. Very quiet and peaceful. Would love to return one day.


Special Place, Special People

5 sur avril 22, 2011

This visit far exeeding our expectations. We were on a short trip to Savannah and decided to spend a night at Blue Heron - We wish we had scheduled a longer stay. We had the Seafarer room - getting to the room on the third floor was a little ackward but the room was great and the deck was one of the most pleasant places to spend a relaxing afternoon that we have experienced. Jan and Bill made us feel at home - the social hour with the other guests was special - After we returned from dinner, we were able to meet some of their neighbors at a campfire at waters edge. Breakfast the next morning was excellent - eggs bacon and sweet potato pancakes. We don't often use 5 stars across the board but that is how we felt after the visit. Nina and Jim


Loved It!

5 sur avril 21, 2011

We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts and this was by far the best ever. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and like we were visiting old friends in their lovely home. Bill and Jan made arrangements for us to go to Sapelo Island and shared their vast knowledge of the area with us throughout our short stay. Our room was luxurious, spacious, clean and, oh, that gorgious view over the marshes! We definitely plan to return to spend more time birding and renewing our new friendships. A highlight of our trip to SC. Thank you, Jan and Bill!


A Georgia Oasis

5 sur avril 20, 2011

We had an absolutely lovely time. Bill and Jan went out of their way to accommodate our dietary needs, and they also gave us great ideas for places to go and things to see. And on the night of the Super Moon in March, they set ablaze a delightful bonfire, brought out along with wine and beer, and we all sat outside marveling at it. The whole atmosphere was very inviting, the bed very comfortable, and the food delicious.


3rd visit

5 sur avril 12, 2011

We always make this our first stop on the way home from Florida. This time we decided to stay two nights. Lots of wonderful history, beautiful views and great hosts


Fantastic Place

4,8 sur avril 05, 2011

This was our first experience and first trip to the area. We booked with friends, not knowing what to expect,,, Bill and Jan (owners ) made this a great experience. They gave us the impression they truly enjoyed having friends (they made sure we felt like friends, not just people renting a room )they went out of their way to help us, to insure we received treatment you would only expect in some of the best 5 star resorts. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay.. If you are expecting a place where everything is in it's place and neatly arranged, this will not be that,, but if you are looking for a first rate, very very comfortable and up to date place to relax, enjoy good conversation, GREAT food and receive treatment above and beyond,, this is the place, Thanks you Bill and Jan, we shall see you in Oct. if not before... Ron and Donna Frye Canton, GA.


Just what we were hoping for!

4,0 sur avril 04, 2011

We only needed to stay for one night and Jan was so very accomodating! We were greeted at the door with a warm smile and welcome. We needed to leave soon after arrival, for dinner, and when we came back to our room, it was very romantic with music and lighting. We enjoyed conversation with Jan, Bill, other guests, and mellowed out with the well chosen wine. Breakfast was outstanding! Janet and Rick, High Springs, FL


The Blue Heron Inn will be our Home Away form Home when ever we visit the Coast.

5 sur mars 30, 2011

We will never stay at any other place along the Golden Coast. If you enjoy a tranquil setting surrounded by fantastic views in each direction that is away from traffic, this is the place. Jan and Bill are outstanding hostess and because she is a nurse I knew she could handle my special diet needs.


Where home and travel meet

5 sur mars 27, 2011

Not for the first time, and certainly not for the last time, the Blue Heron Inn was our home away from home. To sit on the balcony and watch the full moon on the marsh at full tide, to witness the rise and fall of the tide like the breathing of earth, to gaze out on the ferry bound for Sapelo Island -- I yearn to return already. Bill and Jan are gracious and, frankly, like family. Whether discussing the weather, politics, Altie, fishing -- you name it --, conversation with Bill and Jan is a pleasure. And, for a precious time, at the Blue Heron you can slow down to enjoy the simpler things of life. Breakfast is exquisite, then there's wine and cheese in the evening, a wonderful library, friendly guests. What more could you want but to return?


Wonderful place in the world

5 sur mars 14, 2011

We only had one night, but it was wonderful. We of course had a wonderful time. We loved Bill and Jan, and the service and special touches and breakfast and animals were everything we love. We do plan to go back because we wanted more time in the area and on Sapelo. Just a wonderful place in the world. Linda and Ralph and Brad Best


Lovely hideaway

4,4 sur février 25, 2011

We loved the Great Heron room at the Blue Heron Inn. The whirlpool tub was a fabulous way to relax after spending the afternoon on the walking tour of Darien and the king sized bed was supremely comfy. Jan, I am still thinking about your french toast...it was scrumptious! Thank you for a lovely, relaxing stay. We hope to come back by some day!


great place with a great view.

5 sur janvier 26, 2011

Beautiful view in every spacious room.Hosts are incredibly pleasant.Actual breakfast in the morning.


A wonderful B & B

4,0 sur décembre 17, 2010

We made a last minute reservation for Dec.2 at the Blue Heron Inn . We arrived earlier than expected and Jan welcomed us with open arms and we settled into the Shell Seeker room. We enjoyed a glass of wine with Jan and Bill in the comfort of a roaring fire. We sat and talked about the area, our New England backrounds and how much we were enjoying their B& B. Dinner recommendations sent us to the Darien River House and we enjoyed the 4 course special of the evening. The sunrise was beautiful over the marsh and tidal creek. Breakfast was a real treat with sweet potato pancakes, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, juice and of course as much coffee as we could drink. We hoe to return to Blue Heron again to see more of the area. Thank you Jan & Bill for a wonderful stay. Jim & Kaija


Knew the surroundings so well

4,8 sur novembre 26, 2010

Bill and jan have a low-key environment making you feel one of the family and they know everyone and everthing around the area - they fixed us up with a gret morning's kayaking with very little notice and we felt like old friends by the time we left. The marsh is beautiful - especially for sunset and sunrise. Plus it's a quick run into Darien to eat or sit around.


Visitors from Alabama

4,4 sur novembre 12, 2010

Jan and Bill are wonderful hosts. The breakfast was exceptional. We probably needed another day in the Darien area. The Sapelo island trip was unique and enjoyable. Skips Seafood was a 10.


Wonderful B&B Near Sapelo

5 sur novembre 09, 2010

I highly recommend this B&B, close to the Sapelo ferry. I would not book through bedandbreakfast.com though, as they had not sent my reservation to The Blue Heron, even though booked 4 months earlier. Luckily The Blue Heron had one room left. Go to http://www.blueheroninngacoast.com/ instead.


A Home Away From Home

5 sur octobre 16, 2010

This was our first stay at a B&B and what a wonderful experience it was! Jan and Bill (and Sassy) made us feel so comfortable in their lovely home. Our room was beautiful with a deck overlooking the marshes and the food was delicious. Thank you Jan and Bill. We look forward to returning to the Blue Heron Inn soon.


October 2010 "A Gem in the Raw"

4,0 sur octobre 12, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary in this beautiful, quaint inn. Bill and Jan made our stay wonderful. Just like the inn, our room was cozy and the view from the balcony was breathtaking. We made it a point to set the alarm so we could see the sunrise and enjoy the peace and beauty of the marsh. You don't want to miss this B&B if you are looking for a step back in time. It is the TOTAL package. The hosts make a jam up breakfast and the sweet potato pancakes are a "10". We are still reminiscing about our visit to the Blue Heron Inn and plan to go again.


Inspiring

5 sur octobre 10, 2010

Staying at the Blue Heron Inn was just what my husband and I needed. It was quiet and restful, the view from the deck gorgeous, the food delicious, the room we stayed in was spacious. I couldn't think of a more perfect way to celebrate our anniversary.


Lovely B & B

5 sur octobre 06, 2010

This B & B is special! The rooms are all different, and very cute. We stayed on the top floor with a huge deck overlooking a marsh. Bill is a gardener, so the grounds are lovely. Birdhouses afford the opportunity to spot painted buntings and other birds. The breakfasts were all fabulous, and the service is superb. Every day at 5pm there are wine and snacks on the main porch. Jan and Bill are very personable hosts. We highly recommend this facility! Margaret and Julie


A Most Beautiful B&B Quiet Comfortable and Great Host

5 sur octobre 05, 2010

This B&B is everything the reviews say about it and more. It is not too far from Savannah GA ,about an hour, and 8 miles from Darien GA. If you want quiet and off the beaten path but still close enough to do sightseeing, this is it. It is very accessible from I-95 and Rt 17 but still out in the amazing countryside of Coastal Georgia. It sits on a beautiful quiet private marsh that goes on forever. From the time we arrived until we left we felt welcome in Bill and Jan's home. They are very helpful in helping you choose places to eat and places to visit for sightseeing. Theres menus to numerous restaurants and a map that shows you where the places are.There is a outlet mall just right off of I-95. We stayed in the Seafarer Room on the 3rd floor. It has a private patio that looks out over the marsh. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom for this room is on the 2nd floor and has 2 rooms. One room is the sink and vanity. The other has the toilet with a shower and tub. The room has a small refrigerator with a freezer and an ice maker, coffee maker, microwave and a tv with movies. We couldnt get internet service on the 3rd floor and we didnt try on the other floors. It was totally quiet in the morning with the sunrise except for some birds in the distant. You cannot hear any traffic. Breakfast started with canteloupe and then Lime Frenchtoast with Bacon. There was a multitude of fruit on top on the frenchtoast. Very delicious! In the evenings they have cheese, crackers, and wine. There also is a small refrigerator on the landing of the second floor that has pop and water to access at anytime. There are 2 very friendly cats and a dog who we got the pleasure of meeting. We were greeted by a very friendly, easy going, sweet dog when we arrived back from town. She didnt bark at us she just came up to greeted us like she had known us forever. Very sweet, loving, gentle soul! You will not be disappointed at all if you stay here! We cant wait to come back!


Wonderful place

4,6 sur octobre 01, 2010

My husband & I enjoyed a special weekend at the Blue Heron celebrating our anniversary and my birthday. As everyone said, Bill & Jan are wonderful hosts. We enjoyed the wine and conversations as well as their dining recomendations. Don't miss eating at Sapelo Station Crossing -what a treat that was! The breakfasts at the inn were great as well. Only small downside to our stay was the small bathroom/shower -might be worth paying more for one of the bigger rooms but at least it's a private bath. The tour of Sapelo Isle. was nice but not all that I expected. I think I might try a different tour option if I did it again(we did the $10 Govt. run one).


M.y returns to Blue Heron

5 sur septembre 17, 2010

I have stayed at the Blue Heron Inn a few times, and from the very first time, I have been delighted with everything they have to offer. Jan and Bill are the perfect hosts and they have welcomed me and my schnauzer each time. My rooms, their service, cleanliness and the other guests I've met there have been all outstanding. I will be returning in October. Thank you!!! Florence and Chloe.


Reunion

4,2 sur septembre 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed with Bill & Jan while attending a reunion with some of my buddies. It was very enjoyable. Jan and Bill were great host. The food was wonderful. If in the area I would not hesitate to stay there again.


Well worth the drive!

4,2 sur septembre 09, 2010

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. The views were breathtaking and the food was wonderful. Bill and Jan had great suggestions for things to do and places to eat (you're missing out if you don't go to Skipper's!). Don't hesitate to stay here!


PERFECT ESCAPE FROM EVERYDAY LIFE!

5 sur septembre 08, 2010

We just returned from a delightful long weekend at the Blue Heron. What a wonderful place to go to escape life and enjoy some great hospitality, terrific food and wonderful accomodations. I can't say enough about Bill and Jan as the perfect B&B hosts. They exceeded all expectations of what to expect at a B&B and were OUTSTANDING hosts in every way. From the moment we arrived with their smiles and help in getting us to our rooms, to the moment we left, we felt like we were staying with life long friends. The food was OH so good! Each morning we were there was another culinary delight. From the first cup of coffee/tea that is waiting for you as you come downstairs to the last cup as you sit and ponder what you are doing for the day, each course was better than the last. And, Bill and Jan are both very knowledgable to the area and will help you make your decisions on where to go for the day. Then, at the end of the day, they are waiting with wine and snacks to relax with before heading out to dinner or upstairs to bed. We had an opportunity to meet our daughter and son in law for a long weekend get away and chose the Blue Heron as it was half way for each of us to meet. They had a great situation for us with the two bedroom suite in the Seafarer Room/Blue Room. The accomodations were above and beyond what I imagined and it was perfect for our needs. And, an added bonus.....each night we would come in from a long day to find our beds turned down with chocolates and a cute 'word for the day' on our pillows. What a nice touch to end the day. Make plans to stay here the next time you are coming into the Darien/Golden Isles area. You won't be disappointed! We WILL be back!


Wonderful Surprise

4,6 sur août 26, 2010

Unique, quiet, educational and relaxing. Great breakfasts and absolutely the best hospitality I've found in B&Bs. Jan and Bill are excellent innkeepers. The tradition of wine and conversation with hosts and guests on the porch in the early evening, along with the wildlife and view was a true pleasure. Friends pop in and everyone becomes a "local".


perfect for relaxation

4,8 sur août 18, 2010

Although our stay was very short, we enjoied a great weekend of outdoor activities, great food, relax, and ...wild life. Lovely place and lovely people. I raccomend the Blue Heron Inn to everybody.


Beautiful view

4,4 sur août 11, 2010

Our stay was very brief, but view from this lovely and unique property was outstanding. Jan and Bill are knowledgable about the area and recommended a great place to buy fresh shrimp to bring home with us. Jan would have recommended a great resturant, but we went with a Southern Living suggestion to visit Pelican Point and we were hughly disappointed.


Gorgeous Retreat

4,0 sur août 11, 2010

A wonderful place to relax.


A Jewel on the Marsh

4,8 sur août 02, 2010

Excellent in every way. View fantastic. Owners terrific people. Info re local places excellent. They are good people and fine inn keepers.


A Quiet, Beautiful Refuge from the Craziness of Life

4,6 sur juillet 31, 2010

What a great place to celebrate 15 years of awesome marriage to my beautiful wife. Bill and Jan were warm and gracious hosts and exceeded our expectations. God used them to bless us in a much needed way. The views of the marsh were like nourishment to our souls and our room a refuge from the storm that life had brought our way prior to our stay. Thank you Bill and Jan! If you're passing through or your desired destination is in this area, you NEED to plan a stay at The Blue Heron Inn with Bill and Jan. P. and C. from Savannah, GA.


Really 5 Star?

5 sur juillet 26, 2010

I found Blue Heron Inn on the internet with all these 5 start ratings....Hmmmm..Really? Well after my wife and I stayed there for 4 days and nights, yep...I'm gonna give them 5 stars also !! On our last morning there, I told Jan, "after that sunrise and that breakfast, at least for a few hours I knew how R J Reynolds (see Sapelo Island) lived !!" Great stay !


Affordable peace and beauty with a GREAT marsh view

5 sur juillet 07, 2010

We made a last minute reservation looking for a place to get out of town for the weekend and graciously assisted. When we arrived, we got a friendly greeting, were shown to our very comfortable room, and proceeded to just hang out on the deck enjoying the quiet and the wonderful view (if you haven't seen how pretty a salt marsh can be, you should definitely check it out). Breakfasts were friendly and delicious. Highly recommended.


A hidden gem

5 sur juin 21, 2010

A magical place! You are surrounded by the beautiful, silent marsh. The rooms are so comfortable and Jan and Bill are delightful hosts. The breakfast is amazing. And you are close to restaurants serving the best seafood we've ever had (and we've lived in New England and Seattle.) Not to be missed.


"Outstanding"

5 sur juin 21, 2010

Wonderful is hardly enough to describe this special place. We stayed here 2 nights on our trip north from Florida and will definitely stay there again on our way south in the fall


Wonderful Experience

5 sur juin 17, 2010

My partner and I spend three wonderful days at Blue Heron Inn and found it an outstanding experience. We have stayed at bed and breakfasts all over the country and this ranks as one of our favorites. Went to Sapelo for a great tour, ate at some FANTASTIC restaurants recommended by Jan and Bill and had some of the best breakfasts to be found, thanks again to Jan and Bill. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We definitely plan to return! Kaye and Jeanne


Plesant and Relaxing Stay

5 sur juin 15, 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Blue Heron in late May. Jan and Bill are great hosts and made our time in Georgia particularly enjoyable. Jan set up a suggested itinerary for us prior to our arrival. We did a day trip over to Sapelo Island (arranged by Jan) where Caesar and Nancy Banks were our hosts and guides. Sapelo is an amazing place and well worth the trip. There's a lot to see and do around Darien. Our room was the "Shellseaker". The view of the tidal marsh from the deck outside our room was breathtaking. If you are interested in wildlife and/or photography, a visit to the Harris Neck National Widlife Preserve in Eulonia (less than half an hour from the Blue Heron) is a must! If you like Cajun food you'll also have to visit the Sapelo Station Crossing Restaurant in Eulonia. We'll be returning to the Blue Heron.


will come back a third time asap

5 sur juin 08, 2010

There is nowhere that comes close to the Blue Heron, in our experience, at any season. First trip was early November, 2nd trip just completed in early June. The rooms are perfect, especially with the new porch, we had the incredible marsh world at our fingertips. Breakfast and late afternoons are such a treat, and Bill and Jan are the best. If you love adventure, comfort, and beauty, go! C and J


Absolutely gorgeous!

5 sur juin 07, 2010

Beautiful inn in a beautiful setting. Outstanding service and communication. Will definitely be back!


Our 1st Bed and Breakfast

5 sur juin 06, 2010

Didn't realize what we have been missing, Bill and Jan's Blue Heron Inn was a great experience, quite and peaceful, birds and views, room was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent, wish we could have stayed longer, would visit again.


Secluded and peaceful

4,4 sur mai 29, 2010

The Blue Heron Inn is the perfect place to relax and get back to nature. The room was impeccably clean and, to quote my husbanc, the breakfast was "superb". Jan and Bill are the perfect hosts. They made us feel like family. My husband and I only spend one night, but it was enough to make us want to come back.


We will be back!

5 sur mai 19, 2010

This B&B is hidden in one of the most pristine and beautiful locations we have ever visited. Bill and Jan assure each guest comfort, information, and hospitality. We have found a true jewel and will look forward to returning often.


A hidden gem

5 sur mai 17, 2010

After hours of online searching for a quiet, hidden getaway for my husband and I, I stumbled upon the Blue Heron Inn. The reviews were overwhelmingly positive and we could not wait to check it out. We were not disappointed - well, we were, because our stay was so short ! Bill and Jan were very hospitable despite our very late arrival, and had a delicious breakfast ready for us in the morning. The inn is an oasis of peace and quiet in the middle of nature. We were in the Sea Farer room and felt on top of the world, listening to the frogs and crickets at night from the deck and watching the firefly show. We recommend this inn to anyone who wants to get away from everything and enjoy quiet and nature. You won't regret it.


Our first experience on the Ga. coast

4,4 sur mai 16, 2010

We had a restful stay at Bill and Jan's. We look forward to returning someday with our kayaks to explore Sapelo island and the surrounding area. Coni and Mick 5/10/10


Amazing!

5 sur mai 14, 2010

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast...and we absolutely loved it! Jan and Bill are the kindest people and truly made us feel at home. The rooms were spacious, the balcony was fabulous, and the birdwatching was amazing! And there are not enough adjectives to describe our gourmet breakfasts!!! The location was great for our trip to visit several parks and wildlife areas. The Chamberlain's also knew all the fabulous places in town for dinner. Their hospitality went above and beyond. We look forward to a return visit. George and Sherry Kimberly


Serene

5 sur mai 05, 2010

This was our second stay at Blue Heron Inn. We felt like Jan and Bill were family welcoming us back. The serenity of their home, including the marsh views, the beauty of the gardens and the warmth of their home creates a retreat that we look forward to visiting again. ~Sally and Dell ~


Peace and Quiet on the Beautiful Salt Marsh

5 sur avril 21, 2010

This was a perfect retreat for my husband and I. We were very interested in visiting Sapelo Island and Bill and Jan set up a tour host for us. We had planned to stay two nights, then move on, but the quiet and peace of the salt marsh, the warm and gracious hospitality of Bill and Jan, and the beauty of the general locale all beckoned us to stay, so we stayed two more nights...that was as long as we could stay. Since we live on the West Coast in the San Francisco Bay area, we're not sure when we can get back, but would go back in a heartbeat. We have stayed in a number of B&B's in Northern California; on the coast, in wine country, and in the San Francisco area, where expectations for quality are very high. The Blue Heron in Darien, GA is as good as it gets.


Charming, Friendly and Relaxing

4,6 sur avril 21, 2010

This is a lovely b&b in a beautiful, secluded setting. I would have loved to stay longer. Bill and Jan are gracious and welcoming, full of knowledge about the area. I enjoyed the birdlife (though I'm disappointed I didn't get to see a painted bunting), while my partner just relaxed; at night, we both enjoyed the stars.


A Home away from Home!

5 sur avril 19, 2010

From the moment we made our reservation, we knew The Blue Heron was going to be a trip we would never forget. We received a personal e-mail back from Bill and Jan letting us know they looked forward to our arrival. They sent tons of website links to local restaurants and activities. We arrived late on Friday night and Bill was waiting for us. We had such wonderful cheeses and a glorious Cabernet wine on the screened in back porch. The iron words "RELAX" on top of the antique bathtub bar made me do JUST THAT! We spent many moments out on their dock in the bright red adderondack chairs overlooking the marsh. All that can be heard was the sound of the marsh grass in the salt air and lovely birds chirping. Breakfasts were amazing (Lime French Toast one morning and a wonderful Egg Casserole in a Hashbrown crust the next). Coffee was great. Fresh fruit and a flower or herb from their garden begins each meal. A very thoughtful note on our folded down bed with delicious chocolates! All around the Inn are beautiful pictures, paintings and BOOKS GALORE! They even have a basket that says you can borrow or leave a book! Not only was the place comfortable without being pretentious, but it felt like we were visiting family. Bill was so attentive and we enjoyed hearing wonderful stories about interesting guests that have stayed at the Blue Heron. They had delicious snack mix available for each guest in a beautiful basket in the hallway. There was also a mini fridge in the hallway with sodas and water carafes for each room. I loved that extra touch right there! When it was time to leave, I wanted to cry. I was going to miss our room, the Inn and especially the wonderful Innkeepers, Bill and Jan. It was the most incredible weekend and I recommend it to anyone (couples or families)! Ashley Fordonski Atlanta, Georgia!


Spring on the Georgia Coast

4,4 sur avril 17, 2010

The Blue Heron Inn is A#1. Everything about it is what you would hope for in a private home. We look forward to a return visit to the beautiful marshes and exceptional hospitality of Jan and Bill.


Superduper!

5 sur avril 01, 2010

What a magical place! We arrived very late~found a very welcoming note from Bill and Jan~the view from our room was spectacular, as was everything about the Blue Heron Inn~looking forward to returning and spending more time just hanging out there rather than dashing about seeing all that there is to see in the area.


Honeymoon

5 sur mars 28, 2010

Bill and Jan made our honeymoon wonderful. The food is amazing! The hospitality is second to none. I am so going back when i get the chance!


Quiet, beautiful views, and the closest you can get to the ferry to Sapelo Island

5 sur mars 21, 2010

Since there are only 4 rooms, and Bill & Jan are such gracious hosts, we felt like we were being received by friends rather than staying at a B & B. These friends also happened to hve some very interesting other guests and we enjoyed wine and cheese with them in the afternoon as well as breakfast together at the table for 6. Very quiet and restful - wish we had stayed at least another night.


5 Star for Humans & Greyhounds

5 sur mars 16, 2010

My wife and I were visiting the area for a Greyhound gathering. The Blue Heron was one of a handful of guest house that accepted pets. I picked it for the reviews and was totally impressed. Rooms, food, and beauty of the surroundings were top notch. My dog loved it too. We would stay there again in a heart beat !!!


A hidden treasure

5 sur mars 04, 2010

As we drove down the back roads of coastal Georgia, I think my husband wondered where on earth had I booked us into this time. What a delightful surprise! It was a beautiful house in a gorgeous setting with wonderful hosts. Our only regret was that we were only staying one night. I certainly hope that we can return some time and explore the area more thoroughly. Alison and Bob Winnipeg, MB, Canada


Peace and Tranquility

4,8 sur mars 02, 2010

Had the best time in this bed and breakfast. Nice weekend getaway for me and my partner. The shrimp omelet and grits are to DIE FOR!


A Return Visit

4,4 sur janvier 25, 2010

We were so impressed with our stay a year-and-a-half agoo that we returned to the Blue Heron with our daughters for a family reunion. This time we visited Sapelo Island. Take the tour, you will be impressed. As before, we enjoyed a wonderful relaxing stay!


even a short quick visit gets you royal treatment

5 sur janvier 22, 2010

Our trip was last minute and rushed. We arrived late at night and had to rush out the door the mext morning. Even with all this everyone was wonderful and more than willing to go out of their way to help us. The rooms were fantastic, the breakfast delicious and we are now planning out trip back so we can acutally sit back and enjoy the beauty of the house and area.


Wash Away Your Stresses

5 sur janvier 18, 2010

Location! Location! Location! As we drove down the Spanish Moss laced Oak Tree Lane, we could feel our daily stresses melting away. We were greeted with a very warm welcome, and shown to the beautifully appointed room on the third floor...view! View! View! It had many years since we'd had the opportunity to view the beauty of the stars which are so bright above this property retreat. Enjoying a beautiful wine and great conversation with the innkeepers was an added treat. The hors d'hourves were great, but oh so pale in comparison to the breakfast entree, Crab Cakes! We just hated to leave, but our schedule did not allow another night.


You come for the view!

4,6 sur janvier 05, 2010

We spent two nights in the seafarer room - the most secluded in the B&B - during some of the coldest weather on record. The marsh views are so beautiful! Bill and Jan couldn't have been more gracious despite that they were celebrating the holiday with their own family. Jan is a fantastic cook and breakfast alone is worth the stay. Bill is a font of local information and insight. If getting off the beaten trail is your thing (and it is ours) spend some time in this unique B&B that even your GPS won't be able to find. (Pay attention to Bill's directions!)


HEAVEN

5 sur décembre 29, 2009

The Blue Heron is an amazing, peaceful Inn. Jan and Bill were wonderful, warm hosts for the weekend. There is the most fabulous view from your balcony which makes you never want to leave your room. The bird viewing was awesome, from the small birds feeding outside our room to the wood storks and Ibis sitting in a nearby tree and marsh. The shrimp omlette and grits for breakfast were the best I have ever have and I was raised on shrimp & grits. I just can't say enough about the wonderful place. We will definitely return to this peaceful retreat.


A little slice of heaven!

5 sur décembre 20, 2009

We had a wonderful 2 nights at the Blue Heron Inn. Beautiful place, awesome room, gorgeous views and perfect hosts! Who could ask for more!! I hope we get a chance to go back!


Will do it again

4,6 sur décembre 05, 2009

My wife and I have been here twice now and will go back. Very creative breakfast. Stunning sunrise views. Quiet place to relax.


Awesome setting

5 sur décembre 03, 2009

We had the most delightful time. The Blue Heron Inn is located within an hour of home, but in an area we had never explored. Jan and Bill directed us to some great places to visit. Still, it was hard to pull ourselves in off the balcony - the view was spectacular, and we have some gorgeous sunrise photos to prove it. Jan and Bill are wonderful hosts, we felt like one of the family. AND THE FOOD...if you've never had a shrimp omlette or sweet potato pancakes...you're in for quite a treat. We'll be back.


Great Views for Artist/Photographer

4,8 sur novembre 15, 2009

This was my second stay and was like visiting old friends as Jan and Bill are so warm in welcoming and accommodating to visitors. They made us feel so comfortable even when requesting our breakfast be served a little later when we saw the light of the sunrise was just too good to miss. Rooms are comfortable (great sheets and more than enough pillows without having to ask),and cozy with fantastic views over the marsh (sunrises spectacular). This is a perfect place for plein air artists or photographers as the grounds have all sorts of photo ops and particularly the fresh water pond a short walk away. Birds galore and you are able to get close enough that they don't spook at the first site of movement. It is THE best place to stay for so many see and do things in the area. We will plan another trip back to the Georgia Coast and next time plan to stay a week at The Blue Heron Inn.


two days on temarsh

4,2 sur octobre 24, 2009

One of the best places I have ever stayed. Jan and Bill were truely the best host ever. I would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for an outstanding visit.


Found a Diamond in the Marsh!

5 sur octobre 15, 2009

What a wonderful gem of a B & B. Stay here with all the butterflies-You will not be disappointed! Bill and Jan's home encompass all jewels a B&B should offer...The vast tidal marsh views, birdwatching, great food, lovely room, helpful hospitality, and inviting home atmosphere were ALL incredible! The unique landscape, history of the area, & nearby islands; make the remote commute here well worth the drive! Debbie K. 10-12-09


a must visit

5 sur octobre 11, 2009

I went to this part of Georgia to explore Altamaha river. I stayed in Blue Heron for 2 nights. Bill and Jan are wonderful hosts. Rooms are clean and breakfast is to die for. The views are gorges and the place is great gateway from hustle and bustle of modern life. Go and visit.


Relaxing

4,8 sur septembre 22, 2009

Bill and Jan are wonderful hosts! Felt like I was in the family! Outstanding location


Wonderful Visit

5 sur juillet 26, 2009

We had a great stay at Blue Heron Inn. Our room was extremely nice with its own private terrace overlooking an endless marsh view. Wine, cheese, and conversation during cocktail hour was enjoyable. The breakfasts were outstanding. Wonderful coffee! The pound cake one evening was warm and delicious. Our hosts were extremely helpful in planning our outings. We will certainly return.


Ken and Maryann at your B and B

5 sur juillet 21, 2009

Our stay at the Blue Heron was no less than fantastic! Your place is so wonderfully secluded, yet teeming with the company of all the water fowl in the tidal marsh and is near St. Simon's and Tybee, to mention a couple of places. Your hospitality AND FOOD were the most awesome. We will be back!


Wonderful B&B

5 sur juillet 20, 2009

We just returned from a three night stay with Jan and Bill at The Blue Heron Inn. The inn is amazing. It is quiet and overlooks the marsh which is absolutely beautiful. The birds are everywhere and are so interesting to watch. The breakfasts were all delicious and were the best we have had in our many stays at a B&B. The rooms also overlook the marsh and you can see forever including the ferry going to Sapelo Island. The rooms have fine linens and are very plush. We will return as soon as possible.


What a peaceful place!

4,0 sur juillet 19, 2009

The marsh is gorgeous and peaceful. But what really sets this Inn apart from others is the care that you get from the Innkeepers, Bill and Jan. They are so kind and want your trip to be perfect, which really made us feel special. Wonderful breakfast, beautiful room, fantastic view! And touring Sapelo Island was an extra bonus that we had been wanting to do for a while. I highly recommend this B & B if you are in the need for some R & R!!


Best Bed & Breakfest

5 sur juillet 15, 2009

I just returned from one of the best places I think I have ever stayed. My mother, sister & I got together for a weekend of just girl time. I have to say that a weekend with Bill & Jan at the Blue Heron Inn was exactly what we needed. The food was phenominal and so was the service. I will never forget my stay! I am at the present time trying to talk my Husband to go with me next year. This is a place that you could come to over and over again and never tire of. The view from the rooms was absolutely beautiful. The rooms were very comfortable as well.


Simply the best

5 sur juin 30, 2009

My husband and I just came back from a three day stay with the Chamberlains and we had such a wonderful time. Highly recommended! It is a gorgeous Inn with fantastic hosts. The accommodations are plush and comfortable with close attention to detail. The breakfasts are outstanding. The area is rich with history, wildlife and seclusion. Our aim was to relax, and we did just that. Treat yourself, you won't be disappointed!


Looking forward to a return visit.

5 sur mai 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Heron Inn while on a birding trip to the Georgia coast. This was the perfect place for us to "come home to" after visiting the areas wildlife refuges. It's a great place for nature lovers but close enough to Savannah for dinner and sightseeing in the city. The rooms are lovely, all have great views, the food is great, and the hospitality was wonderful. I look forward to a return visit.


A beautiful place to say and baby-friendly

4,0 sur mai 06, 2009

We stayed at the Blue Heron Inn for a couple of nights end of April 2009 and had a wonderful time. This was also the first trip with our 4-month old son. The innkeepers even had a pack-and play bed set-up in the room for him. The B&B is very clean with beautiful rooms. Our room on the 3rd floor had an excellent view and a large balcony, but as far as we could tell all rooms have a prime view. We felt very welcome and the service was great. You have to try their breakfast. A place to kick-back, read, bird watching, walking, island touring, and great dining nearby. We will come back!


Miracle on the Marsh

4,8 sur avril 29, 2009

What an exciting find! Blue Heron Inn provides a relaxing getaway on a beautiful marsh setting, with very cordial hosts and great food. Our lime French toast was a very tasty surprise.


Our family reunion at Blue Heron Inn

4,0 sur avril 19, 2009

Our plan was to find the most remote place in order to relax and unwind. Because our family lives in both SE FL and NC, we wanted to plan our family reunion in GA. The first day we took the ferry to Sapelo Island. The unspoiled beach was ours alone. We had our picnic in the covered pavilion. At night, our view of the tidal marsh was illuminated by the full moon. In the morning, the breakfasts were superb. There were so many birds to discover, hummingbirds and painted buntings among others. Jan and Bill let us take over their Inn and barbecue grill for our big Easter Sunday family barbecue. We enjoyed the nicest reunion, relaxed, casual and undisturbed. I would particularly recommend this Inn for weddings, family reunions and for those who need to get away to paradise for some time to unwind.


Laid Back Perfection!

5 sur avril 15, 2009

My husband and I "ran away from home" and totally enjoyed our time at the Blue Heron Inn. Our room was huge (Blue Heron) with a very lux bathroon and great linens. The food was the best we have ever had at a B&B, the shrimp omelettes were better than any we have had at any restaurant anywhere.


The Ultimate B&B Experience

5 sur avril 11, 2009

Owners Bill and Jan Chamberlain are a joy to get to know, and both have culinary talents which produced a variety of muffins, waffles, eggs Mackintosh and and an incredible shrimp omelette which brightened our every morning. They were super-helpful, providing us with a suggested itinerary and making tour and dinner reservations as well as helpful information about the area. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed and all have gorgeous views of marsh, coastal waterways and a variety of birds such as herons, wood storks, egrets and hummingbirds. We can't wait to return next Spring! Of all the B&B's on the east coast we've visited(Vermont to Florida), The Blue Heron Inn in Darien GA is definitely the best.


the Blue Heron Inn rocks!

4,8 sur mars 08, 2009

It's VERY easy to like and appreciate the Blue Heron Inn in Meridian, Georgia (just 11 miles north of Darien)! Its setting on a Georgia marsh is relaxing and tranquil; the hospitality of the owners/innkeepers is terrific (thanks to Bill and Jan - very nice people!); the breakfasts are scrumptious (my girlfriend and I had sweet potato pancakes and lime French toast); and the inn is laid-back and quite comfortable. In particular, the Blue Heron Room where we stayed is noteworthy in itself - it's HUGE and an excellent value! The bedroom is extremely spacious with a king-sized bed, sofa, antique desk, and other furniture. In addition, it has a wonderful connecting outdoor patio with chairs overlooking the marsh; and the bathroom is one of the largest I've seen (two sinks with plenty of space, a separate double shower area, and a giant bath tub with jets). There are only two things I could consider that would this excellent room even better - a true closet area/closet stand and bath robes. During our two nights there, Bill made some suggestions for two local restaurants; and we ate dinner our first evening at Skipper's in the heart of "downtown" Darien (an excellent place, especially for seafood and local cuisine!). Jan and Bill provided us with directions to the only Catholic church in Darien for Sunday Mass (a nice little active parish). There is plenty of parking on the grounds of the Blue Heron Inn for visitors (though the Inn is a little off the beaten path, it's fairly easy to get to if you follow their directions - preferably during daylight hours so as to read the signs more clearly). Cell phone reception is also good at the inn as well. Great place!


First time but not the LAST!!

5 sur février 18, 2009

This was our first time at a Bread and Breakfast. Jan and Bill made us feel like regulars. The atmosphere, the other guest and most of all the breakfast (Shrimp Omelet) was wonderful. This trip makes us want to give up staying in a hotel for good. Thanks for the wonderful time, and we will be back. Also, it felt good staying somewhere in Darien that my aunt had no clue was there.


Home Away from Home

5 sur février 15, 2009

This was our first visit to the Blue Heron Inn and it was absolutely wonderful. Jan and Bill make you feel right at home, and it felt like visiting with family. Breakfast was wonderful....everything was homemade and had more than enough to eat. We stayed in the Blue Heron room and really loved it!! Hope to come again later in the summer/late fall.


Living Postcard!

5 sur février 02, 2009

What a beautiful place...a living postcard! Jan & Bill are very special innkeepers and will make your stay memorable. The wine & cheese ... delicious! Sitting by the fireplace in the afternoon...cozy, Talking with the other guests (who were great people!)... so enjoyable. Thank you again and we will be returning. Sincerely, Kathy & Norm, Wakefield RI


A quiet rest

4,8 sur janvier 05, 2009

After a hectic Christmas, this was a quiet rest. We were invited to a New Years party next door and treated like family. Although we did get rest we also kept busy with the many attractions in the area. It was an excellent stay.


Wonderful people, location, and price

4,6 sur janvier 05, 2009

I am a college student, and my wife and I were on a tight budget but we really wanted a nice getaway to celebrate our one-year anniversary. The Blue Heron Inn was a spectacular find for us. The natural location was gorgeous, the breakfast was terrific, and Bill and Jan are wonderfully attentive innkeepers. We have recommended this inn to many of our friends and relatives, and we are planning to go back as soon as possible.


wonderful time

5 sur novembre 07, 2008

The Blue Heron Inn is by far the most relaxing place to stay. Bill and Jan welcomed us into their home and took such good care of us. Their breakfasts are to die for. The beauty of the surrounding marsh land will lower your blood pressure and refresh your mind.


Not the Norm!

4,6 sur octobre 15, 2008

Really enjoyed the serenity and beauty of this inn and the surrounding wildlife. Local flavor is pretty good too, just don't go to Skippers, over priced and under fed. CJ's is good old down home cookin' with a more reasonable price tag.


Little Piece of Heaven

5 sur septembre 30, 2008

Our visit at the Blue Heron Inn was in all actual words PERFECT. We had our own little santuary on the 3rd floor that put us into a dream like state away from stresses of work and life in general. It was our own little piece of Heaven. Our 4 day 3 night stay was the paradise getaway that we needed as for I am leaving for Iraq in October and Carlos wont be able to see me for a whole year. The Blue Heron Inn is truly the place you would want to stay so you can spend time with the ones you love. If you stay on the 3rd floor make sure to read our story in the notebook that is provided and inside is a detailed description of our whole stay. I want to thank Bill and Jan for their hospitality and making us the delicious breakfast. Carlos and I truly loved our visit and when I get back from Iraq we will be visiting again. Thank you so much. Ashley & Carlos


Felt at home

5 sur septembre 30, 2008

Bill and Jan opened their door and we walked into their home. After our first breakfast, we wanted to stay and eat every meal...it was that good. I still dream about Jan's seafood omlette. The room, the view, the food, the wine in the afternoon...a perfect holiday made all the more special by the welcoming atmosphere Bill and Jan shared. I'll definitely go again.


Fantastic! Beautiful Views!

5 sur septembre 13, 2008

Terrific Breakfasts (the shrimp omelets are super!), Great help in planning local trips, great connections with area businesses, expansive scenic view from the 3rd floor balcony, wonderful & warm hospitality given by Innkeepers Bill & Jan, wine reception each evening, would definitely recommend this B & B to everyone!


Blue Heron Inn Bed and Breakfast

5 sur septembre 08, 2008

The view was fantasic. This meal was delicious. The hospitality was superb.


Bed and breakfast getaway

4,0 sur septembre 03, 2008

Jan and Bill were wonderful hosts, very considerate, thoughtful and attentive. The inn is tucked away and has magnificent views of the marsh. You can do as much or as little as you please and relax and unwind. We look forward to returning in the future!


Tranquility Base

4,0 sur septembre 01, 2008

Our stay at the Blue Heron Inn was the most peaceful weekend we have had in years! Bill and Jan are most accomodating and really know the area they live in. Breakfasts are "indescribably delicious"!! Sweet Potato Pancakes UMM UMM GOOD Spectacular sunrises! Nature's beauty abounds! A "must experience" destination. J&P Cohutta, GA


Unique experience

4,2 sur août 31, 2008

Our one night visit did not allow us to take in the unique opportunities in the area but we were able to enjoy the peacefullness of the setting and the graciousness of the hosts. An unexpected treat was seeing and photographing a dolphin swimming in the marsh. Bill and Jan were very knowledgeable of the area and peaked our interest to explore Sapelo Island and shrimping. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and look forward to a return visit, possibly a family reunion!


Charming

5 sur août 23, 2008

Joe and I enjoyed the beautiful setting and relaxing atmosphere. Bill and Jan were wonderful host. We appreciated the Southern Hospitality very much.


Delightful!

4,0 sur août 17, 2008

Stayed at the Blue Heron on the first leg of a road trip. It was everything I expected and was looking for - the highlight of my trip. Great location and great breakfasts. Bill and Jan know how to treat their guests!


An excellent place

4,2 sur août 03, 2008

The Blue Heron Inn is a wonderful respite from the world. Very relaxing. Bill & Jan are terrific hosts - go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home without intruding. And the breakfasts were the best! We had meals in Savannah during our weekend and we came home and realized the breakfasts at the Blue Heron were the best meals of our trip!


Serenity

5 sur juillet 28, 2008

My husband and I were thrilled with the Blue Heron. We spent two wonderful nights in the "Shell Seekers" room with a balcony all our own overlooking the marsh and lots of wildlife. The painted buntings (birds) were georgeous! Jan and Bill were the perfect hosts - available, accomodating, knowledgable about the area, but not intrusive at all. It was truly a serene respite for Atlanta folks like us. We never experience the "quiet" quite (pardon the pun) like that here in the suburbs of the city. It was nice to be so close to the Sapelo Island ferry, and to really good seafood restaurants. And then there were Jan and Bill's marvelous breakfasts. We will be returning, and highly recommend it for anyone looking for a truly relaxing and serene getaway. Jack and Dotty


Wonderful marsh views!

4,8 sur juillet 17, 2008

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. It's at the end of a very quiet road and looks out over seemingly endless marsh and several islands in the distance. Very peaceful. Our room was on the third floor and had a huge covered deck where we spent a lot of time just relaxing and watching the many birds who inhabit the marsh and trees surrounding the inn. Our breakfasts were delicious and served by our hosts Jan & Bill. They gave us good recommendations for nearby restaurants and we ate lots of very freh seafood. We wanted for nothing except more time!


10 miles off I-95 the Delightful Blue Heron Inn

4,8 sur juillet 08, 2008

Bill and Jan run a superb B&B. It is comfortable with great views of the Marsh and more activities available than one would imagine. At the same time it was restful, friendly and renewing. It is our second visit and we plan to visit at least annually. A great value also.


22nd anniversary

5 sur juillet 06, 2008

The room was great quiet and peaceful Bill and Jan treat you like your part of the family . the food was fantastic wine and cheese made for a perfect end to the day. the whole plce is kept extremely clean. Bill has a great flower garden and lots of wild life is to be seen if you look closely we saw a doe and her fawn on the way out just topped off the stay Ken & jeri Howell


Blue Heron Inn

5 sur juillet 03, 2008

Our stay at Blue Heron was delightful! would certainly recommend it to anyone.


Blue Heron Inn

5 sur juillet 02, 2008

Wonderful B&B, made even better because of natural setting and water & wildlife.


A Relaxing Nature-Lover's Paradise

4,4 sur juin 28, 2008

My husband and I recently spent a long week-end at the Blue Heron. I made our reservations through the inn's web site without any difficulty. I received a prompt response, along with an e-mail providing information on local activities, along with an offer from the innkeepers to assist with any necessary reservations for tours, etc. Upon arrival, the innkeepers were preparing a low-country boil for some friends, and invited all the guests to join them. What a nice surprise! Great food, great company, and lots of laughter. We stayed in the Savannah Room - the smallest room. It was pleasant and comfortable, although I'd probably choose a larger room for an extended stay. All rooms have a private bath and a balcony overlooking the tidal marsh. We had an opportunity to see all of the rooms during our stay, and I could've been happy in any of the choices. Breakfasts were delicious - Lime French Toast, Sweet Potato Pancakes and Shrimp Omelets were served during our stay. Wine is available in the evenings. The inn is spacious, with a huge screened in back porch. There are two small docks at the edge of the marsh. Kayakers could put their boats in and paddle the marsh during high tide. The owners offered to let us use their sit-on-top kayaks, but the timing of high tide coupled with afternoon thunderstorms didn't allow us to take advantage of their generosity. Jan and Bill are lovely hosts. They're friendly and welcoming; are more than ready to provide information on local activities, and will gladly assist with reservations. Don't forget to make time to relax while you're here! We would definitely return, and would recommend the Blue Heron to a friend without hesitation.


At home on the Georgia coast

5 sur juin 28, 2008

This a very special place. The Inn is fantastic; the setting on the Georgia marshlands stunning; and the hosts make you feel like family.


We were charmed!

5 sur juin 13, 2008

My husband and I went for a short stay at the Blue Heron to relax and enjoy the coast. The entire stay was wonderful and the hospitality shown by hosts Bill and Jan was so pleasant--they made everyone feel right at home. They offered to make reservations at area restaurants or local activities, to pack lunches for excursions...so helpful and friendly. They provided the best accommodations (very comfortable, very clean, and the decor of the inn perfectly fit the coastal enviroment). The views of the marshland (and the big starry sky view at night) was phenomenal. The breakfast was delicious and very generously prepared. Overall, we were completely charmed by the entire experience, it being everything that we wanted and more, and we have already made plans to come again soon.


Blue Heron Inn

5 sur juin 11, 2008

Wonderful place to relax and chill out. The views and weather couldn't be better.


take a vacation from stress

5 sur juin 06, 2008

when you need to get unstressed, the blue heron inn is the place to stay. waking up to the tantalizing smells of a home made breakfast is just the way to start each day. the peaceful sounds of the marsh will take you back to a less harried time and remind you of what is important in life


Absolute Perfection

4,0 sur mai 30, 2008

Having never experienced a B&B before, we found our stay at the Blue Heron to be truly amazing! The rooms were clean and cozy, the views of the marsh were breath-taking, the breakfasts were delicious, and the hosts treated us like family! I would highly recommended this place to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend or a home away from home. Absolute Perfection!


Wonderful times

5 sur mai 29, 2008

Jan and Bill could not have been more hospitable! We felt at home every minute and would've stayed forever if we could have. We loved sitting out on the marsh in the red adirondack chairs. Be sure to ask for the shrimp omelet and the best grits ever made!!!


Wonderful B & B

5 sur mai 29, 2008

Beautiful setting . . . Great views . . . Gracious hosts . . . Comfy bed . . . Delicious breakfast . . . What more could you ask for?


Fabulous Blue Heron

5 sur mai 28, 2008

Bill and Jan Chamberlain run a first rate B+B...very friendly and caring hosts. We stayed three nights. The rooms were very clean, well appointed, and spacious. The breakfasts were generous and of excellent quality...not to mention the complimentary afternoon wine and cheese. The humming birds and painted buntings provided our late afternoon entertainment from the spacious porch overlooking the marsh. On the challenging side, the Darien restaurants were not up to the Blue Heron standards, although the food is generally good. The only issue we had with the Blue Heron, and it was a small one, was the scent of the shower water...a bit sulfurous, but we suppose it goes with the territory. We strongly recommend this B+B, and we look forward to another visit in the near future. Next time, we will call ahead to reserve a place at George Walker's table on Sapelo. Don't forget to visit Harris Neck Wildlife Refuge. It's too close to miss. We biked it and had a great time! Thanks Bill and Jan for a wonderful weekend!


A Place You Will Go Back To

5 sur mai 27, 2008

The smell of the sea, the varied hues of the marsh, and the quiet welcome us and bring us back. My ten year old son loves the birds he sees on the marsh. If you ask him Ms. Jan's pancakes are the greatest. Bill & Jan are connected with the community. They have helped get us the best adventures in the area.


Beauty & Hospitality on Georgia's Coast

5 sur mai 27, 2008

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Chamberlain's Blue Heron Inn. The room was beautiful, the view was spectacular and the hospitality was unprecedented. We have stayed at B & B's from time to time, but this was, by far, our favorite. The Chamberlain's sent us brochures for things to do in and around Darien. They emailed us information about events that would take place during our stay. They arranged for a private tour of Sapelo Island, which was very enjoyable. They recommended restaurants and other area attractions. Our stay was perfect, just not long enough. We will go back and stay longer next time. The breakfasts that we had were delicious and relevant to the area; shrimp omelets, sweet potato pancakes, etc. They also served wine & cheese in the afternoons and the selection was great. When we left, we felt like we were leaving friends. That is how they treated us, like friends rather than paying customers. We highly recommend the Blue Heron Inn to anyone.


A Real Beauty

5 sur mai 22, 2008

We stayed at the Blue Heron this May during our yearly trip from Florida to Pennsylvania, when we usually 'race' up I-95. Accustomed to nice b&bs in Europe and in Canada, we had uncertain expectations about our first American b&b. What a find! The Savannah Room is lovely, quiet, and comfortable. The view of the marshland, the flutter of hummingbirds, and the lovingly cared for gardens are automatic de-stressers. Bill and Jan cooked wonderfully healthy and delicious breakfasts with a 'southern' theme and they had a very natural way of being attuned to our individual personal comfort and satisfaction. They truly made us feel as if we were visiting friends. As for American b&bs, this one will be hard to top. We can't praise it enough.


wonderful

4,6 sur mai 19, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Blue Heron Inn. Bill and Jan were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely love to go back sometime.


A Fantastic B&B

4,8 sur mai 15, 2008

This is the most wonderful B&B that my husband and I have ever stayed at!! If you are looking for peace and quiet, beautiful scenery, and wonderful hosts; this is the place! Bill and Jan took care of making all of our plans for us, and we had a busy schedule! They were also very helpful in sharing their opinion of restaurants for us to dine at. We will definitely coming back to stay with them soon!! My husband and I went over the weekend to celebrate our anniversary, it was a trip we will cherish forever! Thanks again Bill and Jan for your hospitality!!


Graet Get-a-way

4,6 sur mai 11, 2008

Outstanding accomidations, clean and extremely reasonably priced. So quiet and tucked away in the woods let's you get back in touch with all nature has to offer.


Delightful Stay

5 sur mai 05, 2008

We stayed at the Blue Heron during our recent trip to Savannah and the Georgia coast. We seldom stay at B&B's and our expectations were not high. What we found was more than a place to stay, not only because of the accomodations but also because of the owners, Jan and Bill Chamberlain. They made us feel like we visiting friends! We stayed in the Blue Heron Room, which was spacious, the bathroom huge, and the view from the deck overlooking the salt marshes was breathtaking. The evening wine and cheese reception provided an opporturnity to visit with Jan and Bill as well as the other guests. Jan's breakfast was outstanding and Bill's stories of local lore were equally delightful. The huge screened in proch was a wonderful place to sit, read, and talk or provide an opportunity to view birds and other wildlife. We saw our first painted bunting there! We can't say enough about this B&B and told everyone we met what a delightful stay we had at the Blue Heron.


Coastal experience

4,6 sur mai 04, 2008

All was very friendly and delightfully restful. Food was delicious and more than I could eat. Bed was super comfortable. Should have checked the tide to see if Altamaha River trip was a "GO" Darien River was the alternative.


What a find.

4,8 sur mai 04, 2008

Our room was beyond our expectations:great porch on the 3rd floor. Sunrise porch! Bill & Jan have done it right. I've never felt this welcome at a B & B. Complimentary wine & cheece - nice touch. I enjoyed the evening conversations with all.


We had a memorable time at the Blue Heron Inn

5 sur mai 02, 2008

My husband and I are from Arkansas and stayed for 5 days at the Blue Heron and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It's very quiet and relaxing, off the beaten path so you never hear any traffic. The view is wonderful and the sunrise was right outside our balcony. It was great getting up and drinking coffee in the mornings and either staying on our deck, or going down to the screened in back porch and enjoying the sounds of nature. You can take a little walk out the back door and sit on the pier and watch the little crabs and if you stay long enough, watch the tide come in the marsh. The breakfasts were delicious. We were taken such good care of and pampered we didn't want to leave! The rooms are very clean and neat and beautifully decorated - all going with the relaxed feel. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away for a few days or even a weekend retreat. I will tell all my friends about it. And when we travel to the Darien area again, we will plan on staying again. Thank you again Bill and Jan for a delightful time!


Fantastic Weekend Getaway!

4,0 sur avril 28, 2008

My husband and I were looking for some place to unplug from the rest of the world for a weekend and celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We definitely found it in the Blue Heron Inn. The Inn is very secluded overlooking the marsh. Breakfast is amazing - fresh fruit to start with juice, coffee or tea - Day 1 we had Belgian Waffles with strawberries and a side of bacon, Day 2 Praline French Toast and a side of bacon. After breakfast we spent an hour or two sitting on the dock overlooking the marsh reading and just relaxing. In the evenings, we were offered a great selection of wine, cheese and crackers and the opportunity for some great conversations with the hosts and other guests on the screened porch as the sun set. We stayed in the Savannah room. The other rooms are considerably larger so if you have the opportunity, choose one of them, but if not, we would still recommend a stay at the Inn in the Savannah Room. We hope to go back for more R&R in the future!


A birder's Paradise! A wonderful get-away!

5 sur avril 01, 2008

Just to say we had the most delightful Stay at the Blue Heron Inn in Darien Georgia. The Inn is in an idyllic tidal marsh area and provides a paradise for birders! The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and beautifully maintained. The Inn space is delightful and provides a marvelous screened porch for marsh viewing and cozy conversation. The Breakfasts are fabulous! This is all accomplished by Jan and Bill the charming hosts, who are wonderfully welcoming and able to provide information on where to eat, things to do, and places to visit, Can’t wait to return!


Sunrise over Sapelo

5 sur mars 23, 2008

We arrived just as Bill was returning from a kayak trip through the tidal marsh with his grandson. After wine and cheese on the rustic porch, Bill and Jan gave us tips for dinner in Darien. The rooms were wonderful, and in the morning the coffee was ready by 6 am. We sat on a high balcony, full of plants, and watched the sunrise over nearby Sapelo Island, as cranes and pelicans soared by. Along with other guests, we were then served shrimp omelettes, and given excellent guidance about spots for hiking and birdwatching. Next time, we shall stay longer!


A most pleasant time !

5 sur février 02, 2008

I had the opportunity to stay at Blue Heron B&B for two nights recently and was very happy with my experience. The location was easy to find and I was greeted by the friendly hosts Jan and Bill Chamberlain. We visited and shared experiences, petted their greeter puppy dogs and talked about some local issues of mutual interest before I went out for evening commitments. The common areas are nice with comfortable sofas and chairs, a warm fireplace and a screened in front porch. My accomodations were just right: a clean charming room with a nice marsh/island view and a cozy bed. The breakfast(s) were delicious - special recipe omlets and fruit were served during my visit. I would stay there again if I ever get back to Darien.


Beautiful setting; genial host

5 sur octobre 23, 2007

The Blue Heron Inn is on an attractive, relatively private property with a panoramic view across the coastal wetlands of Georgia out toward Sapelo Island. Most of the rooms, including the spacious and charming living-dining area take full advantage of this wonderful view. We spent most of our time touring the attractions in the area, but it would also be tempting simply to sit around the house, or on one’s balcony, or out in the yard or on the dock, where you really feel that you are in the heart of the marsh. Inside, the house is beautifully finished and the rooms are attractive and comfortable. The hosts are Bill and Jan Chamberlain. Jan was away on business during our three day stay, but Bill was the very soul of geniality. He is thoroughly knowledgeable about the area and seems to know most of the local residents personally. He is always ready to converse on any subject and to offer helpful advice. We especially enjoyed sitting around with Bill at the daily wine and cheese hour, which hour, like everything else at the Inn, seems adjustable to the convenience of the guests. A delicious full breakfast is served at an elegant table. We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Blue Heron and plan to return there soon.


Great Place to Stay

5 sur juin 26, 2007

The Blue Heron lived up to its description. It is a charming inn with a great view, delicious breakfasts, comfortable, pleasantly decorated rooms, and very friendly, helpful hosts. We recommend it to anyone visiting in the area.


"Our Favorite B&B

5 sur juin 08, 2007

This low country inn is exceptional among B&B's on the east coast. Although we visited nearby historic Savannah for the day (with help from Jan and Bill, our accomodating innkeepers) and enjoyed every minute, our stay at the Bue Heroon was the highlight of our southern trip. The breakfast (shrimp omlettes, lime French toast, airy Belgium waffles) were superb, the rooms delighfully comfortable and the camaraderie at the evening wine and cheese table was delightful. We even experienced a bonus - visits from several interesting bird species including the rare painted bunting. Would we visit here again? Definitely! It's now our favorite B&B choice.


Great Ambience

5 sur juin 04, 2007

The Blue Heron Inn is a great place to get away from it all and enjoy much needed rest and relaxation. Bill and Jan Chamberlain are wonderful hosts who make your stay so pleasant that you are sure to want to come back. Our room was spacious and uniquely decorated with a coastal Georgia flare. Each room looks out over the tidal marsh where egrets, wood storks, and great blue herons visit. If you enjoy nature or birding, this is the place to be. We came to see painted buntings and we were not disappointed as they were coming to the feeders just out our window. Our stay was a wonderful experience and one that I know we will repeat.


Can't wait to return

4,8 sur mai 22, 2007

Bill & Jan are wonderful hosts. You will feel like you have come to visit with old friends. The rooms have beautiful views of the marsh and the breakfast is delicious. You will not want to leave.


FEELS LIKE HOME EVEN BETTER

5 sur avril 17, 2007

The innkeepers Bill and Jan will welcome you like family the house has a cozy and charming vibe to give you total relaxation The breakfast was outstanding you can see the love this nice couple have for their B&B and their guests


A+ place to stay

5 sur avril 11, 2007

If you like beauty, elegant cuisine and feeling like you are just part of the family - this is your place. We stayed in the Blue Heron Room, and the kingsized bed and huge bathroom made me feel really special...as did looking out over the moonlit marsh from our own little balcony at night. The breakfasts were beautiful, and always started with a bowl of fresh fruit; my favorite was lime french toast. The owners were so friendly, even inviting you into their kitchen. They were a great help setting up our activities for the next day. Elegant wine and oer d'oevres in the afternoon were a nice touch.


VERY relaxing, millon dollar view!

5 sur mars 09, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were so impressed with Bill and Jan and their lovely place. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious, the waffles light and fluffy. Bill was even so proud to show off his homegrown bananas! If you desire peace, quiet and being spoiled...this is the place to go!


Blue Heron Inn Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $115 - $156
  • Avis (185) 4,8
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9124374304
  • Portable 1-9122300302
  • Portable 1-9122300310

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut