Beechwood Inn - Bed Breakfast and Wine Cellar Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas sur place4,8

Notation basée sur
148 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Beechwood Inn is the Best!

5 sur août 03, 2016

We enjoyed another wonderful weekend at Beechwood Inn. Whenever we travel to the North Georgia Mountains, this is always our first choice. Be sure to reserve a table for the Saturday night dinner. David and Gayle Darugh are artists in the kitchen. With only a few tables in the dining room, you will feel that you are enjoying a private dinner prepared just for you by world-class chefs; because you are!


Excellent!

5 sur juillet 30, 2016

Everything you would expect at a fine b&b but the food and wine were just outstanding. David & Gayle were fine hosts and care about your experience. Lovely.


Wonderful Weekend!

5 sur juillet 18, 2016

Our family had a wonderful weekend at Beechwood Inn. Wonderful setting, food, and hospitality!


Fantastic Trip!

4,4 sur juillet 06, 2016

Our family enjoyed the Beechwood Inn. The setting was beautiful as were the grounds. The wines and meals we beyond our expectations. We have recommended the Inn to several of our friends.


Relaxing atmosphere, wonderful food, gracious hosts

4,8 sur avril 14, 2016

In town for a short stay. The inn was very comfortable and quiet. Very lovely setting. We only had breakfast, but it was absolutely delicious. John and Dave were Great hosts, we didn't meet Gayle but look forward to that on our next visit. This is a great place to unwind and rest.


Our favorite place in North Georgia!

5 sur avril 10, 2016

One year ago I proposed to my wife on valentine's day, and we fell in love with the place, the people, and the food! Now we go there once a year to celebrate our anniversary, and we love it every time like the first time!


Quick Weekend Away

4,2 sur mars 10, 2016

Found the Inn and Staff to be very accommodating. Food was EXCELLENT and the Saturday night dinner (extra) was wonderful!


Feb 27th Lura's Suite Visit

4,8 sur mars 04, 2016

This was our second stay at The Beechwood Inn and fist time in Lura's Suite. It's a fantastic room! VERY COMFORTABLE king bed.My wife and I loved the screened porch were we enjoyed our morning coffee. David, Gayle and their staff are wonderful hosts. We'll be back for sure..


Charming B&B

4,6 sur février 10, 2016

The Saturday night farm to table dinner and wine pairing is amazing - highly recommended. Hosts Dave and Gayle are very knowledgable of local providers and wine, and the food was excellent.


New Years Eve to remember

4,8 sur janvier 05, 2016

Spent three nights at the Beechwood Inn over New Year. The food was exquisite, far exceeded our expectations. The whole experience was amazing, this is a place you have to visit. David and Gayle were fantastic hosts, attention was given to every detail to insure the guests comfort.


Love the Beechwood Inn!!!

5 sur décembre 14, 2015

This was our second trip to Beechwood Inn, and we love it! This time was for our 30th wedding anniversary....December 7th...practically had the Inn to ourselves. We stayed in the Blueberry Cabin...very private . Perfect !


Very enjoyable

4,4 sur novembre 30, 2015

Food was outstanding, innkeepers are real pros, beds are super comfortable and it's very peaceful. My only complaints are that the rooms have no tv or bathtubs.


Beautiful mountain getaway

5 sur novembre 30, 2015

The Beechwood Inn provided a wonderful place to stay for a day trip to visit family in Atlanta. Clayton is a charming little town in the heart of a farm-to-table food district. We loved our room at the Beechwood and enjoyed the gourmet breakfast and wine tasting. We plan to return soon.


Georgiagail

5 sur novembre 27, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Beechwood Inn celebrating our anniversary. Dave, Gayle and John are great inn keepers and chefs. They made us feel special and took good care of us for 3 days. Thanks again.


Romantic Getaway

5 sur novembre 27, 2015

Blueberry Cabin was great - private and quiet. Thoroughly enjoyed the private culinary experience with Dave and John. Wonderful teachers, very patient, and a great menu. Will definitely return to Beechwood Inn. Jonathan and Caroline Sangster


Beautiful mountain getaway

5 sur novembre 22, 2015

The Beechwood Inn is located in a beautiful setting high in the mountains of North Georgia, only a short drive from Greenville and Atlanta. The owners have taken great care in restoring this beautiful old inn and providing the highest level of guest services, including both evening wine tasting and hearty country/gourmet breakfast. Can't wait to return.


A lovely place to spend our anniversary.

4,6 sur novembre 10, 2015

Beechwood Inn is charming. We stayed in the Garden Cabin because the guest rooms were full. It was clean and very comfortable, and nicely decorated without being too cute. David and Linda are eager to please and obviously work hard to keep their guests happy. On Saturday, we wore ourselves out hiking at Tallulah Gorge and Black Rock State Park, which are both very close to Clayton. On Sunday, we drove north to North Carolina and drove the Blue Ridge Parkway to Asheville, which was beautiful in late October. The best part of staying in a small inn was hanging out on the porch at Wine Thirty and chatting with the other guests. One piece of advice – if you want to eat at one of the two or three better restaurants in Clayton on the weekend, be sure to make a reservation in advance.


An Incredible Weekend!

5 sur novembre 06, 2015

David, Gayle and John are extremely kind and personable. The atmosphere was like becoming part of an extended family for the weekend that we were there. The meals were a work of art! Spices and herbs were selected to give balance and depth of flavor to each meal and the pairing with the perfect wine was fabulous. The chefs answered questions regarding preparation (if one was interested) without restraint. The accommodations were warm, inviting and very comfortable. The view from the front porch was extraordinary as it gave a clear view of Black Rock Mountain State Park. The Fall colors were at their peak and the nicely arranged sitting areas invited the guests to enjoy the view. The Inn is centrally located to attractions of the area - hiking, horseback riding, antique stores, vineyards and markets with fresh produce grown locally. etc. The owners went out of their way to meet the needs of their guests. I highly recommend the Beechwood Inn and look forward to another stay!


Excellent Stay!

5 sur novembre 06, 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Beechwood Inn the last weekend of October. We loved the "wine-thirty" with David and Gayle. We also loved the town of Clayton - excellent restaurants there! Breakfast at the inn was wonderful both mornings and we look forward to returning for one of their Saturday night dinners in the near future.


Nice

5 sur novembre 04, 2015

Great people to visit with. Room and bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great. We enjoyed the wine-thirty.


Beechwood Inn

4,4 sur novembre 01, 2015

This B&B is worth a visit and return visits. Pleasant porch, friendly owners/hosts, a variety of rooms available, and a great proximity to Clayton downtown and area activities for many to enjoy. Chefs provided Vegan options for breakfast; we didn't experience Sat. dinner but hope to in the future. Very comfortable getaway!


Nice Two Night Getaway for Our Anniversary

4,2 sur octobre 29, 2015

This was our first experience with the Beechwood Inn. We wanted a nice anniversary getaway without having to go to far from ou home in Atlanta. The inn is located not too far off the main highway in Clayton but still has a nice secluded feel to it. We very much enjoyed the view of Black Rock Mountain from the front porch, especially during the "wine thirty" wine sampling that happens every afternoon. When the onsite manager John found out is was our anniversary, he gave us an extra special outstanding degree of personal service. We can not really speak to the onsite dining, as that only takes place during certain times which did not coincide with our visit. But overall we would enthusiastically recommend the Beechwood Inn for anyone looking for a stay in Clayton.


A special weekend!

4,4 sur octobre 29, 2015

Delightful owners, friendly staff - outstanding fresh and local ingredients for breakfast and warmed mugs for your coffee!! We stayed for the weekend and signed up for the Chef's Dinner which was outstanding! David is a wine expert and his knowledge and explanation of the wines we enjoyed with our dinner just added to the "pampered" feeling of the evening. The dinner was perfect from the appetizer served with "wine thirty" thru the dessert.


Great gem of a B&B

4,8 sur octobre 27, 2015

We come every year to Beechwood Inn and every year have an excellent stay. The rooms are cozy and the food is amazing.


Clayton Georgia

5 sur octobre 25, 2015

Nice clean well kept place and the host was great. Breakfast and the wine-thirty was great.


A nice relaxing couple of days.

4,6 sur septembre 05, 2015

I did not do the Saturday night dinner but the breakfast food and snacks with Wine Thirty were outstanding. Enjoyed talking with Dave and his and John's suggestions for meals were spot on - they even made reservations. The porch is wonderful although on weekdays you can hear traffic from the main highway.


Beautiful weekend get away.

5 sur septembre 01, 2015

Most relaxing spot for a weekend get away. You leave your stress at the door. The rooms are so large and comfortable you don't feel confined. Staff is warm and friendly and very helpful in finding activities to fit your day. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Very welcoming and great wine!

Réponse du propriétaire
Yes, we first ply guests with wine shortly after arrival with our daily "wine-thirty." That usually relieves traveling stress. Glad you enjoyed our large comfy rooms, most are double suites. We are always pleased to offer assistance to plan out great activities in our beautiful North Georgia Mountains..


Much needed get away

5 sur août 20, 2015

The Beechwood Inn was the perfect get away for my wife and I. The facility was beautifully located overlooking the N Ga Mtns. We were made to feel right at home by the proprietors and their staff. We were treated very well and presented with three amazing breakfast meals. On our next trip we plan to be there for their renowned farm to table Saturday evening meal and get together.

Réponse du propriétaire
Yes, Beechwood Inn has a spectacular view of Blackrock Mountain, the highest State Park In Georgia. Glad our staff made you fell welcome, and thanks for commenting favorably on our fresh and local foods.


In town for a wedding

3,8 sur mai 31, 2015

Wish we had longer to enjoy the Inn. We were in and out for one night and mostly spent at a wedding and reception near town. Beautiful place. Would go back if we visit the area again.

Réponse du propriétaire
We agree, an over-nigh stay is insufficient to experience all of our wonderful hospitality.Come back and visit again.


A great weekend in Clayton!

5 sur avril 20, 2015

This was our second stay at the Beechwood Inn & we had a very nice time! The owners/assistant were very welcoming and helpful! We visited the Foxfire Museum and enjoyed downtown. The inn serves an excellent breakfast each morning!!


Beechwood Inn - A Gem in the North Georgia Mountains

4,8 sur avril 14, 2015

We arrived witn another couple on Saturday. The Beechwood Inn served has our headquarters while experiencing the Georgia Wine Trail. The hosts were welcoming and gracious. Wine:30, beginning at 5:30 featured a delightful white and red selection. This social time gave us a chance to visit with the other guests and get to know our hosts. The farm to table dinner (dinner is only served on Saturdays) was wonderful and unique in every way. Local and regional specialties were featured. Both mornings the breakfast was similarly outstanding. The room was both spacious and cozy. The decor provides an ambiance that is both comforting and interesting. Perhaps the best part of this experience was the professionalism, kindness and experience of both the innkeepers and staff. We look forward to our next visit!

Réponse du propriétaire
Beechwood Inn is conveniently situated to tour the Georgia Wine Trail. In fact, since we make out own wines and offer them during our daily "wine-Thirty" we are part of the Georgia Wine Trail. We are pleased you found our Saturday "Farm to Table" dinner "wonderful and unique in every way." We put a lot of effort into these dinners and are glad it shows. And thanks for the kind words about the "professionalism kindness and experience of the innkeepers and staff." Words like that help keep us motivated. Thanks again.


Lovely Break

4,8 sur mars 26, 2015

We recently stayed at the Beechwood Inn, a days drive from our home, to take a break. The Inn, the service, the food and the hospitality were all outstanding. We also found the location perfect allowing us to explore the area's local restaurants, shops and parks.


Wonderful last-minute trip

4,2 sur mars 25, 2015

Beechwood Inn turned out to be a great last minute getaway for my husband and I. It is wonderfully located close to several wineries in the area so we were able to stop at one on our way up and then continue on for our 4 pm check-in. The check-in service was prompt and attentive, with David walking us to our room and showing us around the Inn. We were lucky to chose a very large room with recently renovated bathroom, which was done very well. The room maintained its historic charm with original structure and furnishings that complimented the Inn's history. Our room included modern technology for use with our cell phone to listen to music via bluetooth, but if you are a couch potato, this was not the room for you as there is no TV. Since we weren't there to catch up on prime time, that was no problem at all. Wine-thirty, a reception hosted by the owners, gave us the opportunity to have a glass of their wine (they have their own label of wines!) while meeting some of the other guests, who were all lovely people. Dinner consisted of a amazing beer cheese soup with a wine pairing I would not normally choose myself for sipping, but tasted fantastic with the soup! The next course was a dainty salad - fresh and yummy, followed by the main course with another great wine pairing (they know their wines!). Each course was expertly explained by David, along with where each wine came from. Dessert followed, too bad I was absolutely stuffed but the few bites I did have were very good too. The bed was moderately comfortable for me but my husband woke up with a sore back - but too each his own in that regard. Breakfast was a french toast with berries and the yummiest sausage I have ever had - so good I went in pursuit of finding something similar to have at home. Check-out was again, simple and fast. As I said, this was a great getaway and I am so glad we went. No regrets!


Anniversary at the Inn

5 sur février 13, 2015

We decided to stay at Beechwood Inn for our anniversary even though it is mid-winter and the "off season" for the area. We were treated as though we were royalty. The breakfasts were beyond delicious. Conversation with the innkeepers and attendant were great fun and interesting. The cottage was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary - including the heart-shaped cake that arrived on our kitchen table one evening!


Another wonderful stay!

5 sur janvier 23, 2015

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Inn, we bought out the entire Inn which was fun. David and Gayle put together two wonderful meals, one of which was matched with older bottles of wine from David's cellar. We look forward to our next visit!


Very Relaxing Getaway

4,0 sur janvier 05, 2015

David & Gayle were excellent hosts. We truly enjoyed the 'wine-thirty' & appetizers and getting to know them & the other guests. Breakfast was delicious and a nice variety each morning. The Inn was very clean, has a lot of character and was a great location to downtown Clayton with a view of the mountain.


Getaway over holidays

4,6 sur janvier 02, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our brief stay. Loved the wine thirty in particular. Breakfast was very good as well

Réponse du propriétaire
Glad you had a nice "Holiday Getaway" and enjoyed our complimentary wine-thirty with local wine and appetizers. We are also pleased you enjoyed our bountiful breakfast using fresh and local products.


Wonderful treat

5 sur décembre 31, 2014

We stayed at the Inn after Christmas to get a break from the hectic holiday season but we had no idea what a treat we were in for. Everything was exceptional! The room was so nice and the bed was wonderful to curl up in and sleep. We appreciated all the attention to detail. We loved 'wine thirty' and David's food was the best! We will be back to try their Saturday Night dinner which I am sure will not disappoint. Make sure to try the house Chardonnay, delicious!

Réponse du propriétaire
As innkeepers for a Select Registry Inn we pay attention to the important things like providing comfortable beds, great breakfasts using fresh and local products and award winning hospitality. But we also know that the details matter in providing a memorable and rewarding guest experience. Glad our efforts show. We look forward to your next visit.


Awesome stay

5 sur décembre 24, 2014

We had an amazing stay at the Beechwood Inn! It was the best part of our honeymoon!

Réponse du propriétaire
We are glad Beechwood Inn helped make your special occasion wonderful.


Fantastic food to table Inn

4,6 sur décembre 03, 2014

Great inn in a quaint town. Dinner is exceptional!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the compliment. Clayton is a wonderful small town. Glad you enjoyed our Saturday "Farm to Table" dining experience.


Excellent getaway in Georgia's wine country!

5 sur novembre 28, 2014

My adult daughter and I were able to getaway for a couple of days before Thanksgiving, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Gayle and David at the Beechwood Inn. The accommodations, breakfast, and hospitality were all outstanding. We plan to return soon!

Réponse du propriétaire
We are glad you had a great Gal-Pal Get-Away. We enjoyed talking with you as well and learning about your crafting together. You are both very talented. We look forward to your return trip to Beechwood Inn.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

4,6 sur novembre 24, 2014

Wonderful spot! I would highly recommend for a weekend getaway, especially for something like an anniversary. Food was incredible and if you want to eat in town, try Fortify.

Réponse du propriétaire
Yes, Beechwood Inn offers romance packages featuring fresh flowers, chocolate truffles, sparkling wine and more. We will make your special occasion a great memory. Fortify Kitchen and Bar offers delicious dining craftsmanship by Chef Jamie Allred, "Best Chefs America 2013/14."


Total Relaxation

3,2 sur novembre 23, 2014

I do wish coffee would have been made available earlier than 7 a.m. Gift shop was disappointing. Did thoroughly enjoy the wine and special treats before dinner. We learned so much about wine and brought 3 bottles home to enjoy with the family

Réponse du propriétaire
During check-in we say coffee will be ready by 7:00am, but I am always in the kitchen by 6:00am, and I need coffee, so it is always available earlier. As to the “disappointing gift shop,” we don’t have a gift shop. We have a couple gift cupboards stocked with logo coffee mugs, wine, wine glasses, our great 600 thread count sheets, some local books, etc. What we have chosen to focus on is hospitality, personal service, great food, great wine, and comfortable accommodations. We are glad you enjoyed our local wines and special treats.


luxury Retreat

4,6 sur novembre 03, 2014

The cottage was adorable...the bed super comfy and king-size. The bathroom was huge and the jacuzzi was divine!! View from back deck was of Back Rock mt. and was lovely.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Blueberry Cabin. When we remodeled the cabin we doubled the bathroom’s size to accommodate the jet tub and the extra large tile shower. And you are correct, the private deck offers stunning sunset views of Black Rock Mountain.


Spacious rooms

4,2 sur octobre 31, 2014

David and Gayle we're very gracious hosts. The breakfasts were varied and tasty. I was impressed by the size of our room (Savannah Suite).

Réponse du propriétaire
We try hard to make every guest welcome and comfortable, so thanks very much for the compliment about our hospitality. Yes, most of our rooms offer plenty of territory to spread out your personal items and yet retain free space to move around. Glad you enjoyed the Savannah Suite.


Fall Weekend and Tuscan Wine Dinner

4,2 sur octobre 22, 2014

We had a great weekend at the Beechwood Inn with hiking at Black Rock Mountain State Park. Going back next weekend for the Tallulah release. Looking for to another fine wine dinner and superb hospitality!

Réponse du propriétaire
Yes, the water releases in Tallulah Gorge offer great excitement for the boaters and the spectators. Glad you are returning so soon.


10/17 - 10/19

4,2 sur octobre 22, 2014

Weekend of wine tasting, hiking, and fine dining to celebrate my 3 year breast cancer free anniversary! What a beautiful and relaxing weekend! We arrived on Friday evening, 10 min after wine-thirty had ended but were welcomed by a glass of wine by John. He quickly checked us in, gave us some recommendations for dinner that evening and wineries to visit for Saturday. Our room was lovely with fire place and the small details of the bathroom were noticed. Wine tasting and lunch at the Red Barn was breath-taking! Georgia Wines are impressive! Gourmet meal prepared by David and Gayle Saturday evening was delicious, worth the additional cost of the meal. Enjoyed local foods prepared in the most exquisite fashion, each course paired with delicious wines. Each morning was started with coffee on the porch and a luscious fall view of the mountains. We will be back for sure!

Réponse du propriétaire
Congratulations on three years cancer free. I just passed 5 years myself. Glad you liked Tiger Mountain Vineyard’s Red Barn Café. Our local wineries offer wonderful vineyard view venues for dining and sipping. We are also pleased you enjoyed our Saturday Farm to Table Dinner at Beechwood inn. We look forward to your next visit.


Great weekend away

4,8 sur octobre 15, 2014

Great weekend away! The location was convenient to hiking, Lake Burton, Lake Rabun, several wineries and downtown Clayton. The rooms are very large and exceptionally clean. The front porch was a great place to hang out for a glass of wine. Breakfast was included and delicious both mornings. Would definitely stay at the Beeachwood Inn again.

Réponse du propriétaire
I will pass your compliment on to our housekeepers that your room was “exceptionally clean.” We have a rigorous protocol to make sure Beechwood Inn is not just clean – but sanitary. But we are also careful to use environmentally friendly cleaning products. Thanks for including Beechwood Inn on your repeat list and we look forward to your next visit.


An Excellent Four Days at Beechwood Inn

4,8 sur octobre 12, 2014

We went to Beechwood Inn for rest and relaxation, and did exactly that. The inn and innkeepers are excellent, as are the breakfasts and the Saturday dinner at the inn. The inn is quiet and relaxing, and there is enough to do in and around Clayton, Georgia (Tallulah Gorge, wineries, hiking in state parks, etc.) so you won't get bored once you have had enough relaxing!

Réponse du propriétaire
Our goal is to make sure you relax, feel welcome, pampered and comfortable. Thank you for the compliment to the innkeepers. We are also pleased you enjoyed our wonderful local foods. Respect and care for the ingredients play as important a role as the preparation of them.


Book it

5 sur octobre 01, 2014

The Beechwood is the prefect place to stay in the area. Great hosts, close to town but isolated. It has the old structure charm and the meals were fantastic. This is on our "stay again" list. Put it on yours.

Réponse du propriétaire
We agree, Beechwood Inn offers a great place to stay while enjoying the exciting North Georgia Mountains. Our chefs are serious about sourcing the best of our local foods. We are glad their efforts show. We look forward to your next visit. David and Gayle Darugh, Innkeepers


Great place BUT--------------------------

3,8 sur septembre 27, 2014

We called ahead to announce our early arrival. The proprietors seemed genuinely annoyed. We have stayed at many B&B establishments but at the Beechwood, we were more than a bit dissappointed in the owner's attitude. No warm welcome, no "Hello, where are you from?" or anything of that sort. To put it mildly, we did not really feel welcome. In fact, that was the only time we saw the proprietors. The breakfast service was outstanding. Food excellent, well prepared. The lady serving us was not one of the two we saw the day before. A change in attitude would not only be welcome but beneficial.

Réponse du propriétaire
Your early arrival was not unwelcome but it was unanticipated so I know we did not appear very well prepared, and for that we apologize. Check-in starts at 4:00pm and our employee was scheduled to arrive at 3:30pm in order to inspect your room, turn on air-conditioning and lights, make the inn welcoming and to greet you. When you called my cell phone late in the morning to tell us of your early arrival, Gayle and I were heading out of town. You indicated that if we did not check you in early, about 1pm, your schedule would not permit you to arrive back at the inn until 9 – 10pm. Our employee’s plan was to leave the inn at 6:30pm and, as I said, Gayle and I planned to be out of town that evening. In order to accommodate your early arrival Gayle and I headed back to the inn to find you already on the front porch at 12:30pm. So, yes it did take us a few minutes to open the inn, inspect your room, turn on lights and be prepared to greet you. Had we known of your planned early arrival in advance I am confident that everything would have been more welcoming. We are in the hospitality business so our objective is always to provide gracious service. We apologize for letting you down, but glad you enjoyed our wonderful local foods at breakfast. David and Gayle Darugh


Quick getaway

5 sur septembre 23, 2014

I have a home in Clayton which is under renovations and this inn was highly recommended!! I was truly overwhelmed by the dining experience on Saturday evening, a "fresh Herb-rich" farm to table delight for my palate!! Gayle and David our hosts/chefs are so charming and make the whole experience a real delight!

Réponse du propriétaire
Our chefs (that's us!) are thrilled you enjoyed our Saturday Night "Farm to Table Dinner." We appreciate your compliment about our hospitality. We try hard to make sure every guest has a great visit. David and Gayle Darugh, Innkeepers


Excellent gettaway!

4,6 sur août 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Beechwood B&B. The food was excellent~ guests were repeat visitors~ room was clean and exactly like the picture. Very relaxing and beautiful scenery. The staff was knowledgeable and very efficient. I highly recommend the Beechwood Inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
So glad you had a wonderful time and very relaxing visit. Yes, we are fortunate to have many repeat guests for both dining and lodging.


We stayed at Beechwood Inn for July 31- Aug. 3, for our anniversary.

3,0 sur août 21, 2014

The Inn was a quaint and interesting accommodation, but our expectations were rather high as we viewed a program on GPB about the Inn. Rather than in a more secluded spot, it was pretty close to the main highway, so was somewhat noisy. The landscaping was very professional and lovely, however,as we sat on the porch for their nice winethirty. Some negatives included the fact that our room was right over the main entrance, so when folks arrived to prepare breakfast, the door made a good deal of noise and woke us up pretty early. The room was nicely decorated and very clean, with nice amenities provided. Breakfasts were wonderful, but the Saturday night meal did not meet our expectations. For such an expensive meal, we expected more unique and flavorful food. Ice cream for dessert, while home made, was disappointing. For the cost of the meal, dessert should have been special. Servers were very friendly and helpful, but it took a long time to be presented with the main course. Organic and farm to table foods are very nice.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the nice compliments about Beechwood Inn in your review. Gayle and I operate Beechwood Inn because we love people and we enjoy providing charming hospitality. But we also operate the inn as a business; it is our livelihood. We know that reviews influence potential guests. Our expectation of guests is that they respect our property and provide us honest feedback. Because it was your anniversary I made a special point at check-out to ask if everything was to your satisfaction. You said you had a wonderful time. Had you told us the dinner did not meet your expectations we would have offered you some accommodation. You may have still written a review indicating the dinner did not meet your expectations, but then you could have added that when you told the owners they comped your dinner. I will also tell our morning crew (that’s Gayle and me) to enter the inn a little more stealthily. Sorry for the early wake-up. David and Gayle Darugh Innkeepers


Worth every penny and minute spent there

5 sur août 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here just for a night, what a place. The food is above perfection. The views from the porch were amazing, and the hospitality was unmatched. We never felt like we were being checked up on. Very laid back atmosphere. The house is beautiful as well. Gorgeous in fact. We cannot wait to go back.

Réponse du propriétaire
We appreciate your kind words about Beechwood Inn. We try to offer wonderful hospitality but also understand that guests need private time away from the pressures of family, work and especially commuting. We look forward to your next visit.


Great Getaway

5 sur juillet 30, 2014

The Saturday night dinner was a great treat. Very weel presented.

Réponse du propriétaire
At the Beechwood Inn most of our dinner recipes have a number of flavor components; layers of tastes that work nicely together. But our recipes also factor in how foods and garnishes look together. As chefs we take pleasure in food and ‘working the plate’ is a part of that pleasure.


My favorite Inn!

5 sur juillet 02, 2014

I look forward to my stay at the Beechwood Inn every year. David and Gayle and their staff are wonderful, accommodating, interesting, and they take excellent care of their guests. Their food is local and delicious, the rooms are clean and smell so good, the porch and garden are relaxing and beautiful - it is all around a wonderful place for a vacation and to stay for business.

Réponse du propriétaire
We really enjoy our repeat guests and the friendships we form. We try our best to be not only great hosts but also to improve our friendship with each visit. We look forward to your next stay.


Lura's Suite

4,6 sur juin 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights and arrived after the wine thirty. David, the owner, was very gracious and could tell we were exhausted so offered us a glass of wine to take up to our room. He showed us around the inn and told us a bit of itshistory, then brought us to our room and showed us how to work various electronics. We spent a lot of time in the evening relaxing on the huge front porch with a glass of wine and watched the sun set. The grounds were beautiful, the view was fabulous and the weather was cool and pleasant (in late June). The wine we had was from their own winery and was an amazingly smooth cabernet. Wine thirty on the front porch was a fun time. We met some very nice couples with common interests so the conversation stayed lively. The room we stayed in was very nice. I chose it because it had a screened porch. However, I love bright rooms and waking up to the sunrise and this room was pretty dark in the mornings so next time I hope to be able to get a room on the front of the inn. There are a couple of them that have a wonderful view of the mountains. Oh, the breakfast was delicious. The owner is a top chef and everything is organic and farm to table. If you have any dietary restrictions, make sure to let him know because he is very accomodating and wants his guests to have the best experience possible.

Réponse du propriétaire
Yes, I could see you were exhausted and road weary, so I was happy to offer you both a glass of wine. Glad it hit the spot. And thanks for the compliment about our own Georgia made Cabernet. We also appreciate your recognition that our foods are very special - mostly from local, organic, sustainable farms - including many products from Beechwood Inn's own gardens. And yes, we are happy to accommodate most dietary restrictions, especially with a little advance notice.


4th year and will be there again!

5 sur juin 16, 2014

I've stayed at the Beechwood Inn 4 years running for a business meeting I have annually in Clayton. They are the best! I'll be back next year! Troy

Réponse du propriétaire
We always look forward to the Janus Forum and all the returning attendees that stay at Beechwood Inn. Thanks for including Gayle and I in your evening activities and thanks especially for our special award "Friends of the Janus Forum." See you in 2015!


Perfect Anniversary Spot

5 sur mai 30, 2014

My husband found this Inn for a short notice anniversary get-away. We stayed in Lura's Suite. It was perfect for us - we spent a lot of relaxing time on the small screened porch overlooking a lovely flower bed with a water feature. The bed was A+++! Two great night's sleep! We were greeted by John when we arrived - he is a charming guy! Both evenings we went to Wine-Thirty and enjoyed visiting with other guests and the owners, David and Gayle. Prior to our visit the owners helped my husband find a massage location for our arrival day. The breakfast each morning was top-notch! Held us until supper! The Beechwood Inn was a delightful stay and I expect we will return. We typically rent a cabin for get-always because we enjoy the privacy. Of course then we don't have someone making our breakfast! This was a welcome change! Thank you, David, Gayle and John!

Réponse du propriétaire
We like to think of ourselves as hospitality experts; thanks for the confirmation through your wonderful compliments. I will pass on to John your kind words for him too. Yes, a "Bed and Breakfast" should have great beds, a delicious breakfast and great coffee too; glad we scored an A+++. We look forward to your next visit.


Quaint meets modern bed and breakfast

3,8 sur mai 15, 2014

David provided us with a very entertaining and informative wine tasting class which my significant other and I thoroughly enjoyed. Our room, the blueberry cabin, was secluded and romantic and we really enjoyed our stay!

Réponse du propriétaire
I enjoy offering the wine classes and am pleased you found it both information and entertaining. We offer many types of wine classes at Beechwood Inn this one featured our own Beechwood Inn wines. Yes, the Blueberry cabin offers a relaxing and romantic place to unwind.


Relax

4,6 sur mai 04, 2014

Excellent gourmet dining experience. David and Gayle are excellent hosts and we had an unbelievably relaxing time.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are glad you enjoyed our Farm to Table Dining experience. We know that starting with the best products from our local producers yields dividends on the dinner itself.


Fantastic B&B in Georgia Wine Country

4,8 sur avril 10, 2014

The Beechwood Inn is in a fantastic location for touring the area wineries. The rooms are nice with great amenities (high thread count sheets, wifi, iPod player, fireplace). This is a green B&B, complete with recycling, low water usage plumbing, and an electric car charging station.Dave and Gayle are fantastic hosts - attentive without being intrusive. "Wine Thirty" each day was a great chance to enjoy a glass of Dave's wine and catch up with the other guests. The highlight of the weekend was the five course farm to table dinner with great wine pairings. Dave spent a few minutes before each course explaining both the food and the wine...it was fantastic and worth every penny. I have already recommended the Beechwood Inn to several colleagues and can't wait to go back!

Réponse du propriétaire
We are glad you enjoyed our local wineries; they are making some wonderful wines. Thanks for noticing our efforts to reduce Beechwood Inn's carbon footprint. We trust it will make a difference in the long run. And we are always pleased with word-of-mouth recommendations to friends and family. We look forward to your next visit.


Highly Recommended

4,6 sur février 24, 2014

David & Gayle are simply Pros. They pay attention to the little details that made our stay a wonderful experience. Make plans to visit them at the Beechwood Inn in Clayton, GA. You will not regret it.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks, and glad you had a wonderful experience at Beechwood Inn. We try our best to make every guest feel special.


Excellent Thanksgiving

4,2 sur décembre 17, 2013

Gayle and David were excellent hosts, providing fabulous meals, especially for Thanksgiving. Room was warm and very comfortable.


First class all the way!

5 sur octobre 18, 2013

Gorgeous Inn, perfect weather, wonderful people. We stayed in the Vineyard Room which was stunning. Newly remodeled bathroom & incredibly comfortable bed! The food is fantastic there, and its heaven for wine lovers too.


Beechwood Inn Honeymoon Stay

5 sur octobre 11, 2013

My wife and I got married Saturday October 5th, and did not have a ton of time to be away from work. We found this gem online, and could not have been happier. I was always hesitant to stay at a bed and breakfast, but the folks at Beechwood Inn changed my mind!!!! We will definitely be back. We enjoyed our visit so much that every time we drink from our coffee mugs from Beechwood Inn, we keep reminiscing. Wonderful people, wonderfu food, grand experience! Truly a Gem of the North Georgia Mountains!


Gourmet all the way

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

This was our second visit to the Beechwood Inn and it was as outstanding as our first visit! From the wine-thirty on the porch in the evening, the comfortable bed with sheets I must have :) and the breakfast in the morning that is the best anywhere we added the Saturday evening gourmet meal this year and I'm still telling everyone about it - all the fresh ingredients, the education of the different wines, and one of the best meals I've had anywhere! Hats off David and Gayle - we will definitely be back to stay again.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are always pleased to greet returning guests. We are thrilled that you enjoy our foods. We believe that making shopping decisions that favor sustainable and local food sources, especially organic sources, benefits health, improves the local economy and is ecologically sound. We thank you for your appreciation and understanding of our efforts to educate our diners. We look forward to your next visit.


Blueberry Cabin at Beechwood Inn

5 sur août 20, 2013

We got married at Lake Rabun and spent the first night of our honeymoon in the Blueberry Cabin at Beechwood Inn. I highly recommend it and will be returning in the future. The food was great and so were the accommodations.

Réponse du propriétaire
Glad you enjoyed the Blueberry cabin - we consider it our our honeymoon retreat. We look forward to your next visit, perhaps for your anniversary.


Outstanding Getaway

3,8 sur juillet 17, 2013

Beechwood Inn is even better than advertised. My expectations are high and "met my expectations" is a very good "grade." Our room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. Everything was very clean and in its proper place. I felt that the price was reasonable especially considering the quality and quantity of the food. David and Gayle, owners and hosts, are trained and experienced chefs and wine experts. Their passion for sourcing and serving their guests only the finest and freshest local ingredients and wine is ingrained in the personality of the Beechwood Inn. Breakfast is a morning feast. "Wine-thirty" every afternoon with wine tasting and David's commentary is delightful and educational. If one opts for the special Saturday Dinner, it will be a most memorable experience of food paired with just the right wine expertly prepared by Chef Darugh. The location is very good for many activities or just reading a good book on the front porch. David and Gayle have effectively blended the best of laid back mountain relaxation with wonderful food and a touch of sophistication with no stuffiness. Kudos!

Réponse du propriétaire
We are pleased that you enjoyed our effort to source and serve the best of fresh and local foods for our meals. We know sourcing from local producers helps our farmers, improves our local economy and provides our guests fresher and healthier foods. And thanks for noticing the inn's cleanliness, I will tell our house-keeper Nancy. We are also pleased you found great value. We have taken much effort into providing wonderful amenities, such as our complimentary wine-thirty and bountiful breakfast.


Very nice place to enjoy and relax

3,2 sur juillet 16, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a very nice and relaxing couple of days at the Beechwood Inn. We have no complains, we liked everything.


View from Beechwood Inn!

3,8 sur juillet 13, 2013

Beechwood Inn is tucked away in the north GA mountains. A beautiful spot to relax on the broad porch overlooking the distant mountains with music playing in the background. The hosts are welcoming, the food wonderful and the ambiance is beautiful.


Blueberry Suite

4,8 sur juillet 07, 2013

Spend the extra money for the Blueberry Suite. It is a private cottage with a covered porch! Beautiful views!


Wonderful experience!

5 sur juin 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay at Beechwood Inn. Couldn't have asked for better hospitality. My room was most charming and extremely comfortable. I stayed for the gourmet meal Saturday night and had one of the best experiences ever! I was so impressed with everything from the food and wine to the accommodations - I can't say enough wonderful things about this experience. I highly recommend the Beechwood Inn and will definitely will return myself.


Outstanding B&B

5 sur juin 16, 2013

A very wonderful and enjoyable experience.


Anniversary getaway

4,8 sur juin 12, 2013

Great inn, food outstanding! Owners are gracious and extremely friendly.


First time at a bed and breakfast

4,2 sur mai 30, 2013

We were attending a wedding at nearby Chota Falls Estate and didn't want to have to make the 2 hour drive back to Atlanta. I chose Beechwood Inn because I was afraid of the quality with the other hotel chains in the area. Although a bit pricey, we were not in any way disappointed by our stay. The room was lovely, the bed was super comfortable and the breakfast was awesome. I would agree with all the good reviews I read. I would have no problem recommending this place to a close friend.


Great B & B in beautiful area

4,6 sur mai 30, 2013

Stayed in Blueberry Cottage for 3 nights. Live Bluegrass Music and gourmet dinner with wine pairings on Saturday evening was superb! Delicious breakfasts each morning! Tasty hors d'oeuvres with wine each evening.


Come for the Relaxation, Stay for the Food!

4,2 sur mai 23, 2013

Husband and wife Chefs David and Gayle really know how to dazzle guests with their culinary arts and their pledge of staying 'farm to table' on their cuisine choices. A charming place in a quaint part of Georgia to stay.


nice historic inn, great view

4,6 sur mai 02, 2013

We had just one night to get away and had just gotten our Southern Living magazine with an article about Clayton, GA and suggested places to go to, etc. It was a Saturday night and the owners were away, but they had a couple there that goes all over the South and provide B & B "sitting services". They were great. They take over for B & B owners whenever the owners want to get away. I always wondered how owners were able to take vacations themselves. Anyway, it was just as if the owners were there, except they didn't have their normal Saturday night special wine pairing meal. We did have free wine and cheese at 5:30 pm. We had a room with a large sitting room, flat screen and gas pot belly stove in the sitting room. The beds were very plush and comfortable. Breakfast was great. The "subs" knew what they were doing in this respect also - cheese and egg puff, bananas foster. This Inn was built as a home around 1922 and had all types of memorabilia laying around, old magazines, household items. It had a big wrap around porch that overlooks the mountains - great for sitting and reading, listening to the birds, etc. Just far enough off the main road so that you don't get too much noise. For hiking go to Black Rock Mtn State Park - highest state park in Georgia - great views, buy the Daily pass and you can also get into Tallulah Falls State Park - largest gorge east of the Mississippi; also go to Tiger Vineyards just south of Clayton - really nice cafe and wine tastings/pairings


Beechwood B&B Review

4,8 sur mars 26, 2013

Our stay at the Beechwood Inn was exceptional from the minute we arrived and throughout our stay. We very much enjoyed the excellent wines at wine-thirty and Gayle and David, the proprietors, were gracious, interesting hosts. Our room was filled with lovely antique furnishings and plush bedding. Our stay was topped off with a delicious breakfast prepared and served by our host - what a treat! We look forward to visiting the Inn again.


New Year's Eve

4,8 sur janvier 10, 2013

A wonderful way to spend New Year's Eve - Entertainment, Dinner and a toast at midnight - did not have to drive anywhere, just went back to a very comfortable room.


Great Georgia Mountain Inn

4,8 sur décembre 05, 2012

The Inn is very lovely. Breakfast was very enjoyable and started your day right! The evening wine time was fun - a good way to meet other guests. We also did the Saturday night dinner and it was outstanding - each course better then the other. Pleasant place in a great setting.


The Best in the Mountains

5 sur novembre 14, 2012

We stayed for our second time this year, and we were able to stay for the weekend. Saturdays dinner was one of the best dinners I have had anywhere, Dave does a excellent job with the breakfast also. Great place to spend a few days, Ask Dave or Gayle for things to do or see and they will set you on a journey and have memories that you will rember for lifetime.


Saturday night in the North Georgia Mountains

4,4 sur octobre 03, 2012

The stay at the Beechwood was great - the couple that runs the place were very friendly and made delicious food! I would visit again in an instant.


Excellent B&B in Clayton

5 sur septembre 16, 2012

Excellent B&B, we stayed in the Savannah Suite in late summer which has a great view of Black Rock Mountain. My wife and I enjoyed the company of the other guests during wine 30 on the front porch. An excellent breakfast was prepared with quiche, fruit, muffins and eggs (they all had fancy names which I can't remember now). Very much recommended.


Lovely B&B with Gourmet Meals

4,0 sur septembre 11, 2012

Beautiful B&B to stay in the mountains. The setting was serene and the Inn was immaculate. The Saturday night dinner with amazing. We stayed in the Blueberry Cabin, very roomy and nicely appointed. We did have to walk down a long flight of outside steps, down hill to get there with our luggage. It was a very pleasant stay and Ashley was wonderful in showing us around the Inn when we got there. She also made great cookies and muffins!


Excellent

5 sur août 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights in August and it was wonderful, the Inn was beautiful, Gayle and Dave attentive, accomodating and knowwledgable about the area. Breakfast was such a treat and the wine was fabulous! Wine thirty ought to be a requirement of life! The porch was so relaxing and the music set the stage for watching the birds, reading a great book and viewing the mountain, flowers and fireflies. We are looking forward to returning and planning on a weekend verses a mid week stay. Thanks so much, Bret and Michelle Hollenbeck


Wonderful Mountain Getaway

3,6 sur août 21, 2012

The beechwood Inn was the perfect mountain getaway from the heat of Atlanta in July. When we arrived a cool breeze was blowing across the "outdoor living room". A perfect evening for enjoying wine and appetizers out doors.


Anniversary getaway.

5 sur août 17, 2012

Could not of asked for a better weekend getaway. Completely stressfree. Sending my parents in two weeks. David and Gayle are wonderful hosts.


Very interesting B&B

3,8 sur août 16, 2012

Just an overnight getaway. Trying to stay in at least two Select B&B's a month.


Country Get Away

5 sur août 05, 2012

This is the perfect spot ot unwind and enjoy the beauty of the mountains. Sit on the porch, read, walk, enjoy the local beauty and all within easy driving distance from Ashville or Atlanta.


A quick trip to the mountains in north georgia

3,4 sur juillet 26, 2012

Lovely inn. enjoyed the wine thirty. very peaceful and quite. room was lovely. breakfast was wonderful: fresh and so flavorful.


Great get away

4,4 sur juillet 13, 2012

This is a fantastic place for a quick get away. The owners are incredibly helpful (and make some very fine wine.) It is not too far off the beaten path (you can hear what little traffic there is in Clayton), but it is convenient to all of the shops and restaurants in town.


Surprise Anniversary Getaway

4,4 sur juillet 12, 2012

I whisked my husband away from work on a Friday afternoon to surprise him with a weekend getaway to north Georgia for our wedding anniversary. Several weeks prior to this I had researched online for accommodations near a few of the North Georgia wineries. I had never heard of Beechwood Inn, but after reading the reviews I decided to book it. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely girl named Ashley who graciously gave us the grand tour before showing us to our room. Not only was the Inn quaint and cozy, the rooms were roomy, clean, and very comfortable! We enjoyed the company of the guests during 'wine-thirty' on the porch each evening, and at breakfast in the morning. The Chef's Table Dinner on Saturday night was a magnificent 5-course culinary experience, prepared and presented by the owners! We learned so much about sustainable organic farming practices and award-winning wineries right here in our local region. All-in-all our weekend far exceeded our expectations, and we plan to go back again sometime! We highly recommend Beechwood Inn for your next romantic getaway!


A must stop!

5 sur juillet 09, 2012

Anyone in the Clayton, GA area should take advantage of a stay at the Beechwood Inn. A peaceful setting hosted by gracious owners dedicated to making your stay a delightful experience. The breakfast was memorable and we enjoyed siting on the porch in the evening being served a wonderful wine made by our hosts with grapes from a local vineyard. The Inn is filled with history dating back to 1922 and our room was comfortable and lovely. Thanks for a great stay. Dan and Lynda


Our Mountain Experience...

5 sur juillet 07, 2012

We had an absolutely delightful stay at the Beechwood Inn. Gayle and David were gracious hosts. The breakfast was wonderful. If you stay there, be sure and try their wine. It is excellent! We stayed in the Blueberry Cottage and despite a heavy thunderstorm(s) we had a most restful night and awoke refreshed.... Ann and Dick


memorable stay

4,0 sur juillet 02, 2012

stayed 2 nights and the grounds were beautiful, food outstanding and we took a cooking class with chef David and that was a very memorable event. Would highly recommend and would return for another stay.


Lovely Bed and Breakfast.

5 sur juin 25, 2012

We had a lovely weekend stay at Beechwood Inn. This will be out place upon our next return to the north Georgia mountains.


Review of Beechwood Inn, Clayton, GA

4,2 sur juin 19, 2012

Wonderful secluded inn with dense vegetation surrounding grounds, wildflowers, and a beautiful view of the mountain tops nearby. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and each one is very unique. The food is fantastic as the owner is also a chef. Evenings on the porch with wine and cheese are a delight. Have stayed there 4+ times this past spring and everything is very consistent-good food, clean, comfortable rooms. and great hospitality. Could use a few more toiletries in the baths and a fix-up of the driveway leading in. Otherwise, a wonderful stay in the Rabun County area. Diane Hishta, Marietta, GA


Beautiful and wonderful mountain experience

5 sur mai 30, 2012

If there was a B&B I would recommend without blinking an eye it would be the Beechwood Inn. Talk about a wonderful experience from the beginning. A very hospitable staff greeted us with a tour around the property and made us feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed in the Nanthahala Suite and talk about a beautiful room with a cozy 4 post bed, comfortable living area and enjoyable claw tub for soaking. Our evening started off with a relaxing band relaxing us with the cool mountain evening air accompanied with tasty glasses of wine to enjoy the music and some tasty appetizers. Might I add that the B&B makes a conscious effort to keep only the freshest, local, organic meats and vegetables as they prepare delicious and tasty meals. So after the music and wine, we headed to our delicious and wonderful dinner. I can't tell you how delicious our meal was. Everything from the wild shrimp and smoked tomatoes to the breakfast quiche and sausage, it was all delicious. Would I stay here again? I wish I lived here year around. Special thanks again to the professional and friendly staff. Just a glimpse of something small, but to show you the thoughtfulness of the staff; so me and my new bride were sitting, enjoying the wonderful mountain morning sun on one of the confortable patio chairs and in the busy-ness of whatever David was doing, he stopped and asked if we'd like the ceiling fan to be turned on to adjust our comfort. I know it may seem small and insignificant, but in my line of work, it's definitely the little things that stand out and that definitely stood out in my mind. Again, thanks so much Beechwood Inn. I hope and trust that we will return to this property again in the near future.


Wonderful property; Very friendly hosts.

4,4 sur mai 28, 2012

We stayed a night at the Beechwood Inn at the end of May because we were going to be in the area for a wine dinner at Tiger Mountain Vineyards. The property is beautiful. I wish we had more time to just relax out on the porch. I don't know how they keep it so beautiful. The owners are amazingly friendly. When we first arrived, he took us around the property and up to our room. He was actually much more friendly than any of the innkeepers we encountered when staying in Ireland last fall. We enjoyed talking to them during "wine thirty" (where you can sit out and share a glass of wine and hors d'oeuvres with the owners and other guests at 5:30 in the evening). Breakfast was wonderful. Everything was handmade from locally grown ingredients. The Beechwood inn is a very charming property. I look forward to staying there again if we're staying in the area. We will recommend it to all our friends.


Warm and Quaint Getaway

5 sur mai 22, 2012

Our weekend at Beechwood was absolutely delightful. We enjed coffee and hot tea on the porch overlooking the mountains, reading in front of the fire and the absolutely scrumptious food that was made for breakfast and wine-thirty. If yo uare looking for time away to reconnect with your spouse and to leave any stress behind, this is the place for you! We did a cooking class that I highly recommend too! The food was divine and it was great to get to know the sweet staff as well!


Anniversary Stay in the Stekoa Suite

4,6 sur mai 21, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a Saturday night at the Beechwood Inn celebrating our anniversary after spending the afternoon hiking at nearby Tallulah Gorge. We found Dave and Gayle very friendly, and we loved the old-time decor of our suite and the other parts of the inn, including some of the unoccupied suites, which were open for viewing. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and diners at Wine-Thirty, but then had dinner on our own in town. Our suite was very relaxed (i.e., no TV), so we put a movie on our laptop and settled in to play some of the Inn's outstanding collection of card and board games that are available for guests to use (the directions were missing from one or two, so we looked them up on line, using the Inn's excellent WI-FI connection). There weren't many overnight guests, so it was very quiet and we had an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast was oustanding, and there were no surprises on the bill. Therefore, thanks, Dave and Gayle! We're already looking forward to our next stay with you!


Perfect gettaway

5 sur mai 15, 2012

My husband and I wanted to turn a bussiness trip into a romantic weekend to escape from the busy and demanding city life. We stayed at the beechwood inn and Galye and Dave were excellent hosts! The food was fantastic, the rooms were romantic and our weekend turned out to be the perfect gettway from our big city!


Wonderful weekend getaway!

5 sur mai 11, 2012

Beechwood Inn was a little slice of heaven. We were in town for a wedding at Lake Rabun when we stumbled across the Inn. The location was perfect, the hosts were gracious, and the breakfast was divine. We'll definitely be back!


Beechwood Inn October 2011

4,0 sur octobre 18, 2011

Stayed at the inn for two nights - saturday and sunday nights. We had breakfast twice and enjoyed the afternoon wine and snack session. Room was big with a bedroom and a living room. We were not crazy about the copper bath, made it hard to take a shower. The bathroom heat and gas logs were both on timers. Owners were very nice.


Annviersary Weekend

5 sur septembre 25, 2011

Great place to stay. Service and food were great. Would definitely revisit.


A Most Wonderful Experience

5 sur juillet 02, 2011

My husband and I were extremely fortunate to visit the Beechwood Inn, where David and Gayle were so graious and welcoming. The inn is lovely and the views from the front porch are beautiful. Top that off with a weekend of cooking classes taught by renowned chef and cookbook author Joanne Weir. Add to the mix five of your most wonderful neighbors/friends, the ever so helpful Ashley, two fablous wine experts and we had a weekend we will treasure for a lifetime. Thank you for creating such a beautiful experience. We cannot wait to come back! Randy and Debbie


Fabulous Weekend Visits at Beechwood Inn.

4,2 sur juin 22, 2011

The Beechwood Inn was everything we were looking for and more. This surprising Bed and Breakfast Inn will meet the expectations of the most discerning traveller. The Innkeepers are gracious and knowledgeable of the area. We were lucky enough to be there on a weekend that they servicing one of their famous Wine Tasting Dinners. This is not to be missed! The food was heavenly and the wine perfectly paired with each dish. David and Gayle, the Innkeepers, are responsible for the preparation of the outstanding fare presented to those who attended. It was an outstanding evening of great food and wine. We got a chance to make some new friends during our slow paced meal. Can't say enough good things about The Beechwood Inn. Go and stay even for just one night and you will become hooked. Ken Mason


Memorial Weekend at Beechwood

4,8 sur juin 02, 2011

If you are searching for beauty, tranquility and outstanding food and service, The Beechwood Inn is the place to go. We so enjoyed our weekend, especially on Sunday afternoon when the owners, David and Gayle, joined us on the spacious front porch for refreshment and good conversation. This is a wonderful place, tucked into a secluded spot, yet near enough to Clayton to walk. We certainly plan to go again. Beautiful place!!


Wonderful way to get away from routine

4,8 sur mai 29, 2011

We felt very welcome and we were able to preview rooms before we decided to stay. The suite was very comfortable and relaxing. A recommendation was made for dinner and was outstanding. Breakfast was wonderful, made with fresh local produce. Dave and Gayle were quite friendly and welcoming. It truly was a wonderful way to get away from our everyday routine! Shirley McLoud


Truly a perfect experience

5 sur mai 24, 2011

From the quaint furnishings to the fabulous meal to the immaculate cleanliness to the interesting and engaging hosts this was a truly perfect stay.


Perfect weekend!

4,4 sur mai 18, 2011

Charming inn and innkeepers! We stayed in the Vineyard Room and we loved it! Personable service, delicious breakfast, and wine thirty are just a few of the wonderful things that you will experience at this lovely inn. I can't wait to go back for the Warrior Dash next year! Thanks David for all of your recommendations to restaurants and wineries :)


Wonderful Stay

4,6 sur mai 18, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Beechwood Inn. We were so impressed with the service and the warm and friendly staff. The Inn itself is beautiful and we had a beautiful view from our room. We were lucky to experience breakfast at the Inn, which was fabulous! The staff and owners treat each guest like family and we were sad to leave. Can't wait to come back next year!


True Bliss

5 sur mai 10, 2011

On our latest vacation trip, my husband left the search for places to stay up to me. We planned a day's whitewater rafting trip on the Chattooga, so my search began in areas nearby. The Beechwood Inn's website reflected beautiful surroundings and tasteful decor. It was a bit more than we usually spend, but, in talking with Gayle, I couldn't resist. The only regret we have is that our stay was only two nights. It was bliss from the moment we drove up to the Inn, tucked away on a colorful, lush, quiet mountain side. We received a warm welcome from Dave (and Scuppers, man's best friend), a complimentary glass of extremely fine wine, a set of generously prepared rooms overlooking the valley, fine linens on a most comfortable bed, a fireplace for the chilly mornings and something pleasing in every nook and cranny. We woke up to the smell of delicious coffee and a lovely early breakfast especially prepared for us to take and eat on our way out to meet up with the rafting outfit and an even more delicious two-course organic breakfast (including fresh strawberries) the next morning. The entire experience was a delight to our senses -- true bliss. Diane and Mike


The Best At Beechwood!

5 sur avril 08, 2011

Beechwood Inn located in lovely Clayton Georgia is absolutely splendid! David & Gayle were so gracious during our recent spring stay. The Inn keepers really have attention to detail & were so kind to leave me a glass of wine in the refrigerator since I was unable to return to the Inn during the "wine hour". The linens were the finest I've enjoyed worldwide and the ambience of the room and Inn was as charming of anywhere I've enjoyed. Tucked away with great privacy Beechwood is a stones throw away from downtown and surrounding enjoyment. Beechwood is a favorite on our list and we will certainly enjoy it again soon with other family members! Please note that the fabulous breakfast was one not to forget!


B & B stay

4,8 sur mars 31, 2011

From the moment I walked in to register, I was welcomed and advised that I was to have a glass of wine since I arrived late! How could you know that I had spent most of the day standing while painting in a workshop? I was weary, but the hospitality was greatly appreciated. There was not any lack of conversation the next morning at breakfast with the other guests. It was a magical moment and one I will remember.


Wonderful Experience, incredible food, lovely hosts

5 sur mars 16, 2011

The Beechwood Inn is an incredible B&B. The room was comfortable and clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable with really nice linens. The breakfast each morning was fresh and fantastic. The saturday dinner was incredible and beautifully presented and paired perfectly with the best wines. My husband and I had a great time and we've already told several couples to go on there for their next retreat opportunity! Highly recommended and the hosts, David and Gayle could not have been nicer. Wonderful experience!


Wonderful place

4,6 sur février 21, 2011

We came here for Valentine's weekend and had a lovely time. The food was excellent and the people are just delightful. I highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.


A Mountain Diamond!

5 sur janvier 22, 2011

We stayed at the Beechwood Inn in early January 2011. David and Gayle greeted us warmly and lit the fire in the fireplace to enjoy with a lovely glass of wine. The Inn is wonderfully decorated, a sumptuous retreat into years gone by when life was lived a little slower, yet enjoyed to the fullest. Each of the rooms were superbly furnished, books and magazines were readily available for spending hours in quiet leisure. Breakfast was amazing; David really outdid himself with his melt apart biscuits, fresh apple juice, baked apples in brown sugar, and mushroom and cheese omelet, and wonderfully tasty hot coffee! Our only regret--that we weren't there on a Saturday night to be able to enjoy the feast they prepare for diners!!!!! We've traveled all over the world as well as the United States--the Beechwood Inn rates at the top rung of our "travel ladder"!


A Hidden Gem!

5 sur janvier 06, 2011

Beechwood Inn is a hidden gem in the North Georgia Mountains! Dave and Gayle have found a perfect balance between casual relaxation and sophisticated elegance. The Inn itself is absolutely charming - I cannot wait to return and try another room or suite. The food and wine are exceptional and are prepared and served by strangers who quickly become family. The location is a great basecamp for exploring all that this tri-state area has to offer (local vineyards, antique auctions, the Biltmore, etc.) If you have the opportunity to partake of one of the Inn's special dinner weekends, definitely do! We will be back!!


Beechwood Inn Is A Wonderful Get-A-Way

5 sur janvier 04, 2011

Beautifully nestled in the North Georgia Mountains, Beechwood Inn is a perfect place to spend a memorable few days. Staff is very friendly and truly interested in making you feel welcome and pampered. Rooms are very clean and well appointed; dinner and breakfast foods were painstakingly prepared and the music of "Mountain HooDoo" added to the fun. Highly recommend including this on your "fun things to do list"!! Vickie


Great weekend escape

4,8 sur décembre 29, 2010

Exceptionally clean, very private, superb dining experience, excellent variety of wineries nearby, and friendly inn-keepers. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay.


Late Fall Weekend

4,4 sur décembre 13, 2010

A nice cozy N. Georgia Inn. Saturday dinner was superb. You need to book it when you book your room. The historic downtown of Clayton is a must. For eating do the local grills/cafes and skip the more upscale places. Lots of scenic places to visit. Highlands and Cashiers are nearby, ask the Innkeepers for suggestions for places to see.


A pleasant escape from the big city!

3,8 sur décembre 12, 2010

This was our second visit to the Beechwood and it was just as special as the first one. I booked one night at the Beechwood for the Savannah Suite to celebrate my husband's birthday. The last time we visited it was spring so we did not use the fireplace but as it was fall, we definitely used it this time! I love the ability to instantly have a fire, it was toasty warm in our room. We did not dine at the inn (had a great meal at Mama G's in Clayton) but our breakfast the next day was delicious. Scupper, the resident pooch, slept under the table by my feet. I don't think it gets much better than that! The innkeepers go out of their way to accommodate any special requests you might have, too. Hopefully, we can return soon.


A Wonderful Weekend in the Georgia Mountains

4,4 sur décembre 05, 2010

We had a super relaxing, reinvigorating weekend at the Beechwood Inn. The friendly atmosphere was sincere, with lots of humor thrown in throughout the weekend. We were close to fun hiking venues that were just challenging enough for a relaxing stay. The breakfasts were excellent and well thought out, including great fruit selections from local farms!


Fantastic Breakfasts

5 sur décembre 01, 2010

The breakfasts were great ! We look foward to returning when we can try dinner. The wine:30 in the afternoon was a special treat. All-in-all, an outstanding experience.


Beechwood is the Best

5 sur novembre 30, 2010

Awesome staff and owners. Such a laid back quiet weekend...just what we needed.


Thanksgiving at Beechwood Inn

5 sur novembre 30, 2010

With no family in the area we wanted to find a special place to spend Thanksgiving. We found the Beechwood Inn in Clayton, GA on line and decided to take a chance. We booked a room and made reservations for their Thanksgiving meal. Both turned out to be "outstanding." Gayle and David are special people and their Inn is a special place. We are looking forward to our next trip to Beechwood. We plan to do one of their Saturday night dinners on our next visit. This way we can pair their great food with more of their wonderful wines.


Enjoyed the stay....lovely time.

4,6 sur novembre 17, 2010

There was only one disappointment, which was not exceedingly important. We could not access your wireless service, even though you generously provided a password. We will return though, it was oh so well done.


Charming inn with gourmet food

4,8 sur novembre 17, 2010

A delightful experience with charming accommodations and exquisite meals. We were on a "getaway weekend" and found exactly what we needed and more. An unexpected gem at great value. Highly recommended!


Memorable weekend experience!

5 sur novembre 10, 2010

Outstanding accommodations, including special luxurious touches in rooms! Wonderful hospitality! JUnbelievably great food and wine! A truly memorable weekend we didn't want to end. Can't wait to go back!


Great people, great inn, great food, great times.

4,0 sur octobre 18, 2010

We are big time foodies and love bed-and-breakfast accommodations. Never had we had worlds rocked in both directions simultaneously. Gayle and David are top chefs who served up some of the best victuals we've had in a long while, and also created a cozy, tasteful, period-appropriate, atmosphere in their B&B. Intrinsic quality seems to be one of their foci. Every detail was noticed and handled with care. We stayed on a Saturday evening, and made reservations to dine with them for their prix fixe menu paired with wine. They use local, organic, sustainable ingredients for every item possible; and what they do with those ingredients in the kitchen can only be described as magic. The nuances of flavor, texture, and color were ethereal. Their prodigious wine expertise was put to good use choosing the perfect wine for each course as well as for producing their own wine, which we had the great fortune to enjoy during our stay. I’d put their steel fermented Chardonnay and their Viognier up against any wine from any region anywhere in the world. It was that good. How they did that in GA, I don’t know. More magic. And nicer people you’ll never meet. With great taste. They have lovingly attended to every detail in the inn: doors, hardware, paint, floors, rugs, furniture, upholstery, bedspread, decoration—all period appropriate. They have made the space lovely while making it also feel cozy. Their own warmth and friendliness simply complete the picture. Great people, great inn, great food, great times. Katharine and Howard Pike


Lovely

4,0 sur septembre 29, 2010

We came up for a night to escape the city. The wine was lovely and the room was very nice with small porch, furnished with antiques. It felt very comfortable. Did not get to eat dinner as they were booked but the tasting was nice and we managed to find a place in town. I would go back and stay longer next time


Thank You!

4,8 sur septembre 22, 2010

Michelle and I had a phenomenal time and look forward to our next visit. We've already recommended it to several friends in the hopes of making a return trip soon.


Wild Food Weekend at Beechwood Inn

4,6 sur septembre 16, 2010

This was the second Wild Food Weekend I have attended at the Beechwood Inn. The Innkeepers David and Gayle could not have been more gracious. The food was creative and delicious and the wine an excellent compliment. These days it is rare to find a place to step out of one's hectic routine into a relaxing environment full of opportunities to pamper the senses and lull the spirit.


Perfect home away from home

5 sur septembre 15, 2010

Gorgeous property, AMAZING food, luxurious beds/linens, intimate porch settings, and most importantly: passionate hosts/owners. It was the most perfect quick weekend get-away. Felt like we were hundreds of miles away. Loved the atmosphere and all the opportunities to explore the earth in the area. We can't wait to book our next stay:)


Not to be missed!

4,8 sur septembre 15, 2010

What an experience! We were so pleased with our room. It was one of the most comfortable overnights away from home I have ever experienced. The food must be tasted to be believed! We were in awe of the cooking! We will be back!


The Best In America

5 sur septembre 09, 2010

One of the most relaxing places you could ever want to visit - beautiful weather, wonderful accommadations, great food and the best inn keepers around - truly a great experience


Well worth the trip

3,4 sur septembre 01, 2010

The inn's decor is beautiful and unique, with great attention to detail. Our room was very comfortable. Heavenly wrap-around porch with rockers and a view of a beautifully landscaped garden and mountains beyond. The inn was not as scenic or secluded as I expected, but they make great use of the space they have. We attended one of the Saturday night dinners and loved the convivial atmosphere and friendly, intelligent service. Food was thoughtful and imaginiative but uneven in quality (on our night, an exquisite appetizer followed by a bland entree). Breakfast was delicious. We'd do it all again.


Lovely and restful getaway

4,2 sur août 26, 2010

We found the Inn to be just delightful. The hosts make you feel special from the moment you arrive. The setting is beautiful and town charming. The food was amazing. We look forward to another visit soon. John and Susan W.


We loved Scuppernong and the Inn Keepers

4,4 sur août 25, 2010

We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed another. It was so relaxing and we certainly felt welcomed. The Inn is beautiful and has such a rich history. The Vineyard Room had the most wonderful bed and linens. The wines were outstanding as was the Wine Tasting on the front porch. The only suggestion would be to adjust the price of the dinner when serving a chicken dish - a little overpriced for that menu. We will certainly return for another visit in the Fall.


My stay at the Beechwood Inn

4,4 sur août 19, 2010

Loved how it is nicely tucked away and the views are great. The food they prepare is outstanding and look forward to returning.


Warm Southern Hospitality

4,2 sur juillet 23, 2010

Very gracious hosts. Innkeepers took the time to get to know their guests. Wine-thirty (their afternoon wine hour) was very relaxed and accommodating. Innkeepers made excellent dining suggestions. Food was superb and all natural.


Wonderfully relaxing

5 sur juin 15, 2010

We stayed 4 days in this wonderful place for a reunion. The rooms are all unique. We stayed at this Inn 6 years ago in a different room and it was just as enjoyable now as then. It is such a relaxing and comfortable place. Gayle and David are the ultimate hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed the food,wine and hospitality. Sitting on the porch and listening to the birds and enjoying the beautiful scenery took me back to a different time, but I also enjoyed the modern touches such as wifi, radio/CD player.


the best inn inthe world

5 sur juin 14, 2010

Excellent views, atmosphere and hospitality. I enjoyed my stay at this slice of heaven on earth. What a great escape from the hussle and bussle of everyday.


The perfect place

5 sur avril 03, 2008

My fiance took me here as a surprise and we had a great time. We stayed in the Nantahala Suite, which has a private back porch as well as access to a very romantic garden. I couldn't have asked for a better weekend. David & Gayle were very friendly and informative. Breakfast was full of local flavor, which made the visit to Clayton even more memorable. The room was so nice we didn't want to leave. If you're looking for a place to take your partner, this is it.


Beechwood Inn - Bed Breakfast and Wine Cellar

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $179 - $299
  • Avis (148) 4,6
  • Chambres 9
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Réservez

  • Téléphone (706) 782-5485

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut