Authors Guest House / Authors of Key West Avis

Ensemble
4,1

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,2
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix4,1
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas sur place3,2

Notation basée sur
111 Avis

Ecrire un avis

I will stay there again and again

5 sur avril 28, 2016

I have already been staying at the Authors Guest House for 3 times and I will continue to go back! The rooms are so lovely and the staff just amazing and very kind and helpful!


Extended our stay shortly after we arrived

4,2 sur avril 24, 2016

Wonderful place to stay. Spacious room, great outdoor seating , great service from staff.


Perfect place for a stay in Key West

5 sur avril 18, 2016

We found a beautiful room, very clean and comfortable, friendly people at reception, great breakfast. Everything perfect!! Carlo from Italy


Extended our stay shortly after we arrived

4,6 sur avril 13, 2016

Author's is a magical retreat to visit. We enjoyed a spacious ,clean lovely room in a picturesque setting. The bed was comfortable and there were great outdoor spaces to relax in .A very small pool in a garden oasis gave you a wonderful place to relax. About a 20 minute walk to Duval through lovely residential areas.Staff were extremely friendly .


Nice B&B

3,4 sur avril 05, 2016

Our room actually looked better in person than in the pictures online. The lady who checked us in was very helpful & informative. We liked the location...far enough away from busy Duval so it was quiet at night. We rented bikes through Authors to get around during the day. Breakfast is pretty basic...bagels, yogurt & fruit. It would have been nice to have some additional choices...maybe some cereal? Overall, its a nice place to stay. We would stay there again.


6th year in a row!!

4,6 sur avril 04, 2016

We ride down in our motorcycle every year for our anniversary. It's perfect. Staff is super pleasant. Room are quaint. Close to Duval but far enough from the craziness. We will continue going there every year!


Kid friendly

4,2 sur mars 18, 2016

Great place to stay, with kids. Very clean and beds were very comfy. Staff is very helpful. We would stay again.


Great Time!

4,0 sur mars 15, 2016

I stayed here by myself for a few days after a trip with some friends. My room (McCullers) was perfect for me- space for a bed, an armoire, a mini fridge and a small corner tv. I didn't need any extravagancies as I was only in the room to go to bed at night. I do wish there had been a small microwave (and there are some in other rooms) but that is certainly not a deal breaker. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean and ready when I arrived. Check in was easy and I was provided with a map of key west to help me get around. I had limited interaction with the staff at the guest house but those who I did get a chance to speak to were very nice and always willing to help with any questions. The property is beautiful and the pool is the perfect size to take a quick dip in; I'd definitely stay here again.


Web photos do not do justice to this lovely place.

4,0 sur mars 13, 2016

Excellent attention to detail, superbly attentive and welcoming staff. Thank you, Author's Guest House!


Relaxing Get Away

3,6 sur mars 08, 2016

We recently spent a week at the Authors Guest House. It was very peaceful and relaxing and they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.


Wonderful

4,6 sur février 29, 2016

Another great stay at Authors Guest House..our 3rd stay and everything was just as we had remembered. Just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street, yet not so far that you cannot walk to see the sights. Our hosts were very accommodating and spot on with recommendations. This B&B is by most our favorite place to stay when visiting Key West....Thank you for another wonderful stay!


Tranquility

4,6 sur février 22, 2016

We have been coming to Key West for over 15 years. We started coming with our best friends to celebrate Febuary birthdays. Now our grow children and their spouses also join us at the Authors House. We all need to escape our busy lives and the cold weather every winter. We have never been disappointed with our cathartic getaway. We return refreshed and ready to face the real world again. They make us feel like we're their old friends returning for a visit. That's because we are. I would recommend this place to everyone , and I do every chance I get!


Audubon Room

4,6 sur février 11, 2016

Great place. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Extremely helpful staff

4,4 sur février 02, 2016

Stayed for two nights with two young kids. All communications and queries were answered promptly and were very helpful. On checkin front office staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. They provided helpful suggestions and recommendations in particular booked rental bicycles for us through a company which proved very competitive and also helpful. Highly recommend. Personally found all accommodation prices very high in Florida compared with Sydney, which is why I only gave it four stars for value.


Stayed in January 2016 with two kids

4,0 sur janvier 30, 2016

From my initial enquiries I found staff extremely prompt and helpful in all replies. Stayed with my two kids 12 & 10 yrs old. Room was clean and as advertised. Breakfast was more than adequate to start the day. Personally I found all accommodation in Florida expensive, especially staying in KeyWest compared with Sydney Australia which is why I only gave it three stars for value. All communications with reception staff was extremely helpful and extremely friendly. They arranged for rental bikes to be dropped off for the three of us from this great company which charged a lot less than their competitors. They also suggested one of the trolley tours, which again provided me with a $2 discount compared with the competitor. I highly recommend this location, it's quaint, clean, good beds, good breakfast and most of all wonderful staff. I would love the opportunity to return again.


Happy Experience at Authors Guest House

4,2 sur janvier 26, 2016

We had a very pleasant stay at Authors Guest House. The room was as we expected and was comfortable. DeVonna shared restaurant recommendations with us which was very helpful. Parking worked out well and we were conveniently located in Old Town Key West. We hope to return in the future.


Quiet Neighborhood B&B

2,6 sur janvier 22, 2016

Author's location is good for those who want to be able to walk to Duval, but stay away from the noise and craziness. Room was clean, but small, with a very low ceiling. Air conditioner was noisy and marginal at best and the room could have benefited from a ceiling fan. Breakfast was disappointing. Coffee, juice, bananas, bagels in cellophane wrap and yogurt. Expected from from a B&B.


A good guesthouse to stay

3,6 sur décembre 30, 2015

This room is clean and nice. The service is also very good.


Lovely one night stay at Authors Guest House

4,0 sur décembre 21, 2015

We are local south Florida residents wanting to treat our out of town guest to a one night stay in Key West. We were impressed with how clean our accommodations were and how efficient and friendly the staff was.


Great value and quaint lodgings in Key West

4,2 sur décembre 21, 2015

Love everything about this place except the location. It is off the beating path and makes walking to Duval and other areas of interest a long walk! Love the Hybrid Hot Tub/Pool and rooms are always clean and cheerful as is the staff.


Great and Economical Quaint hotel in Key West

3,4 sur décembre 10, 2015

2nd year in a row we have stayed here. Great hybrid pool---half hot tub, half wading pool :). Very nice people, rooms are clean and nicely decorated and they are a good value---also don't insist on 2 night stay on weekends.


Thank you your suggesting this Guest house

3,2 sur décembre 09, 2015

Carol and DeVonna who work at the establishment are very helpful. Any issues we had were taken care of immediately to our satisfaction. The rooms were very comfortable.The continental breakfast was excellent food wise and fun to meet the other hotel guests. DeVonna made us a map of suggested eateries and sites as per our questions, we went to almost all of them, lol.. It was a fun vacation...thank you very much to these two people assisting making it such a great time...


Beautiful hotel

3,6 sur décembre 03, 2015

This hotel is beautiful, my family and I love to stay here. It is cozy, makes you feel like home. The service and people are great.


Peaceful

5 sur novembre 25, 2015

I enjoyed staying at Authors Guests House. It was just perfect, the location, breakfast, staff, clean, and nice and quiet.


Great place

3,8 sur novembre 16, 2015

Love my two days spent in this hotel


Peaceful, relaxing, and enchanting

5 sur novembre 15, 2015

We enjoyed the Authors Guesthouse. We found it to be enchanting, peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast delish!


Short Stay that gave Long Memories

3,8 sur octobre 29, 2015

Our first time as guests at Authors Guest House we were wondering if selecting this property would work out and satisfy our needs. So happy to share that it far exceeded our expectations. The room was very large with careful attention to detail that made it feel like home. It's features were terrific and most useful - air conditioner, mini-refrig, mico-wave and cable TV. We arrived earlier than check in time and were treated respectfully and very friendly by the Hostess/ Manager of the property Cathy. She shared many local activities for us to fill our day and night. Her genuine care of us really feel at ease the moment we stepped through the office doors. The proximity of Author's to all that Key West offers is outstanding. A long walk is a terrific approach to explore the neighborhood or using an inexpensive cab takes you directly into downtown in 5 minutes. As a local Floridian living in Naples, we'll be sure to back in the next few months. The VALUE in provides is really outstanding. John Petti


Great spot - exceeded expectations.

3,8 sur octobre 07, 2015

Great location, very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms were very clean and presented. We were comfortable, we enjoyed the facilities and the breakfast.


Beautiful Place to stay

4,8 sur octobre 02, 2015

A great place to stay. The hostess was very nice and gave us many informations. Very helpful. Thank you very much!


Simply outstanding

4,6 sur septembre 16, 2015

I first stayed here several years ago, after trying several other places around Key West. Now, I stay here every time I visit Key West, and I visit once per year. I love it! (The Onsite Dining is just breakfast, which is great, but it's not a restaurant.)


Sunshine

5 sur septembre 09, 2015

Quite and friendly neighborhood. Bus stop right outside.Long walk to Duval St. and Oldtown.


nice stay and great hospitality

4,6 sur août 26, 2015

nice stay and great hospitality


Quaint and private guest house

4,4 sur août 25, 2015

My friend and I drove into Key West and stayed one night at Authors Guesthouse. We had the Truman room which was perfect for us. It had a cute little deck which we really didn't get to use because our stay was so short! The property has a cute pool which is great for a late night swim. Very private and quiet. Cathie at the front desk was Stellar. She calmed our nerves when she found an alternative sight seeing cruise when the one we thought we were going on was booked! Thanks Cathie! Jessica and Tina


Just what we needed

4,0 sur août 10, 2015

Awesome for our two nights in Key West. Great location- we walked almost everywhere. Reasonable price. Super nice hostess who let us use their towels for the Dry Tortugas Trip and had recommendations for other things. Great breakfast and cute eating area. Would definitely stay here again if/when I come back.


Good experience

3,4 sur juillet 17, 2015

I only missed milk for breakfast! The room did exceed my expectation as it was larger than it appeared on the photos! I stayed just one night so i cant talk much on other aspects. Not used any onsite dining but this survey does not allow me to leave it unchecked.


We love this place!

4,6 sur juin 10, 2015

My husband and I stay at The Author's Inn & Guest House often. It's located close to Fausto's Supermarket, lots of great restaurants and just a short bike ride to Duval. Yes, the rooms are small but that is par for the course in Key West where space is a premium. Rooms and grounds are always clean and the staff is polite and never overbearing. Continental breakfast is just that but always fresh and delicious. One of the best buys you'll find in Key West! We've never had any issues and will continue to stay there.


Enjoyable bed and breakfast.

4,0 sur mai 25, 2015

Our room was very clean and was exactly what we expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was better than some larger hotels. We would recommend this b&b and would stay here again.


Quaint and cozy

4,2 sur mai 18, 2015

Had a lovely stay, would absolutely go back here again. Great value for a beautiful place.


My stay at Arthurs guesthouse

4,0 sur mai 12, 2015

We stayed first time fir three day. Staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. Great deal too! We stayed a second time and plan on returning


Great Place To Spend the Night

4,0 sur avril 29, 2015

Clean; Great Service; People were super nice; The breakfast was really limited (only bagels, orange juice, milk, butter, fruit and some jam); Close to bike rentals; Expensive for one night but cheap when compared to the rest of key west accommodations.


Wonderful place to stay!

4,0 sur avril 21, 2015

We enjoyed our stay for the second time! It's secluded enough from the downtown area but close enough to walk everywhere. Love this place! Thanks for another lovely time!


Beautiful stay

5 sur avril 16, 2015

The price was really reasonable, not expensive like other hotel or B&B. The rooms were in the best condition, all was recently painted. The cleaning was excellent. The receptionists were so kind! The breakfast was complete and healthy. The jacuzzi was a relaxing place for ideal for the night. If I would back to key west definitely I would stay here again. I enjoyed so much my stay!


will return

3,6 sur avril 15, 2015

Enjoyed our stay very much. Will return for sure!


2 nights stay

3,4 sur avril 10, 2015

It was a nice place with special character but our room was pretty small.


typical

3,0 sur avril 09, 2015

different from a standard hotel, very charming and Key West local standard. Unfortunately, very noisy as White street was under the windows of our room.


Would recommend

4,6 sur avril 02, 2015

Very enjoyable, friendly, clean, just as advertised.


We found the best B&B in Key West

4,0 sur mars 31, 2015

We did enjoy our stay in Authors Guest House. Nice environment, pretty, quiet and close to the attractions. The room and service were perfect.


Perfect Key West B&B

4,6 sur mars 30, 2015

We stayed in the Hemingway and Williams cottages. The location is perfect, downtown, but away from all the noise. The service was great. Housekeeping moved all our stuff from one cottage to the other because we couldn't get the same one for both nights. There are two resident cats which we absolutely loved and completed the experience. We would definitely stay here again.


Good place to stay in Key West

3,6 sur mars 30, 2015

More cheaper than other hotels in Key West. Convinient location. Unfortunatly, breakfast is only available after 8Am and we have to miss it.


Vacationing in Key West

3,6 sur mars 29, 2015

A very nice place to stay while visiting Key West. Very comfortable room.


Great B&B!

3,8 sur mars 28, 2015

This place is adorable, clean and quiet. About 10 - 15 minute walk to Duval street which is perfect. Get a little exercise after all the eating. Great shaded garden for breakfast or after dinner.


Delightful

4,2 sur mars 27, 2015

Was very wonderful. The staff was very helpful and the place was cute. Everything was great I will definitely stay there again. The only downside was the breakfast in the morning didn't have many options.


Love staying here,cute and quaint.

3,6 sur mars 26, 2015

This is 2nd year we have stayed here for 1 night. We really love the vibe here, very comfortable and laid back atmosphere. Enjoy meeting the other guests in the evening by the small pool. We plan to return next year for a 2-3 night stay. Must mention the kitty cats that reside here, always happy to have their ears rubbed.


Great stay and accommodatroins

4,0 sur mars 25, 2015

Last minute stay and was very well accommodated during peak time. Thank you!


Deffinately will be returning!

4,2 sur mars 23, 2015

The whole atmosphere was relaxing. The staff were so friendly and polite. Breakfast was an unexpected bonus. We have only stayed at big chain hotels previously this was a very nice change. I will stay here again!


Gorgeous room on beautiful grounds

4,0 sur mars 22, 2015

Our room (library) was beautiful, clean, and full of light (although on the bottom floor so it's possible for other guests to see in if you're bothered by that sort of thing, although closing the shutters takes care of any would be peepers.) The half barrier wall and lush plantings take care of any noise from the busy(ish) street outside. As far as the service, we were in key west to catch the boat to dry tortugas, so we weren't really in need of any advice on how to enjoy the city, we just wanted to be checked in and tucked away promptly and courteously, which we were. If you're the type who goes to bed and breakfasts for the food, I would suggest another spot, as this one was very basic. My partner and I are not, so we found this to be quite a lovely little place, I would recommend to any of my friends.


4 years in a row for our Anniversary!!!!!

4,2 sur mars 18, 2015

My husband and I go down there every year on our motorcycle. We enjoy this B&B so much! It's quaint, unique and close to Duval....wouldn't recommend it for young children. It's more of an adult atmosphere.


Wonderful Place to stay!

4,6 sur mars 18, 2015

We found this Guest house in a guidebook, and were very pleased with our choice. It is in a quiet neighborhood, within walking distance of most points of interest - we are hardy walkers though. The concierge (Sandy) was exceptionally helpful, and the staff more than accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a shared deck. We had a microwave and refrigerator in our room so we were able to keep some snacks and leftovers. The hot tub was really lovely. Yes, we would go there again and recommend it!


Bike ride

4,4 sur mars 15, 2015

I loved the place, was a great location. I felt the breakfast was below standard.


Tolle Atmosphäre für einen guten Preis

4,4 sur mars 15, 2015

Waren dort für 2 Nächte. Süßes Zimmer mit schöner Dusche. Sehr angenehm waren die Sitzmöglichkeiten vor dem Zimmer, so konnte man das schöne Wetter genießen. Das frühstück war einfach aber völlig in Ordnung . Ich komme auf jeden Fall wieder


Excellent

4,8 sur mars 15, 2015

We loved our stay at the Author's Guesthouse. It was our first time there for my wife and myself, and we were in the Library. Both the room and the premises looked nicer in real life than the pictures. The staff is friendly and neighborhood is quieter than some others in KW. Parking is also easily available. Recommended!


Loved Authors Guesthouse!

4,6 sur mars 13, 2015

This B&B was fantastic! My dad and I did a road trip to the Keys and stayed in the Kirkwood room with one queen bed and one twin. Both beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was as expected - bagels and fruit. Overall, I loved my stay!


Excellent Value!

4,2 sur mars 10, 2015

The small pool/large hot tub was wonderful after a long day of walking around Duval Street! Rooms were very nice..exceptionally clean! We stayed in the Artist Room and the Library. Both were excellent. Will stay there again. It was a great value compared to other places to stay on the island.


Decent stay, especially for the cost

3,2 sur mars 08, 2015

The room was good for the value. The twin bed was pretty hard, but could be fixed easily with the addition of an egg crate. The only real disappointment we had was that the "pool" was a hot tub--must have been 100 degree plus water. I would have liked to cool off after my morning run or sit there for a morning with the option of a swim. Also, breakfast was yogurt, individually packaged bagels and fruit. Fine--but not what we were expecting. Overall good stay, super friendly staff, great location.


Loved the Garden!

4,2 sur mars 08, 2015

Having breakfast in the lovely garden was so peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast was coffee, juice, fruit and wrapped bagels with your choice of butter, jelly, cream cheese or peanut butter. It was casual but so much nicer than I expected. The room was small but comfortable. The location is a little out of the way of the sights and even though the neighborhood is quiet, the mopeds are a bit loud through the night. We stayed at Authors because we booked late and could not get Friday night at their sister property The Blue Parrot, but I would stay at Authors again.


A great overnight in Key West!

3,8 sur février 27, 2015

We found this place at the last minute and were very pleasantly surprised....we will definitely stay there again! And we were delighted to find 'toomuchfunkeywest.com'!


Nice place to stay in Key West

3,4 sur février 24, 2015

We rented a small cottage with my wife and baby. The welcoming service was perfect. The hot tub is nice. The cottage was clean but the day light is missing. Furniture are very basic, the mattress not firm. Breakfast is good enough but made of packed bagels cream cheese, yogurt and fruits. More varied items would be appreciated after the 2nd day. Location is fine, easy to access by car and close to the city center by walk (10-15mn) . I would recommend this place, it worth your money in key west.


Nice place to stay

3,8 sur février 24, 2015

it was a nice stay in authors guesthouse, the room was clean and it was very cozy. Staff was really kind and breakfast was nice. I would recommend to a friend.


Meet our needs

3,0 sur février 21, 2015

Quaint, picturesque b&b, but room didn't blow us away. Pool is heated to about 95 degrees which is nice. Breakfast was individually wrapped bagels, generic-tasting OJ or OJ-flavored drink, fruit, yogurt, coffee. Lots of street parking was available which was great. We could have walked to Duval but chose to drive whenever we went instead and never had a problem finding a space upon returning. Good value compared to other b&bs.


Authors-Key West

3,6 sur février 17, 2015

I was in Key West for 4 days and this was an excellent location. Not to far from the main area, however just far enough. I stayed in the library, which had a very relaxing, pleasant and private sitting area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to book here again for a return visit.


nice B&B

3,2 sur février 14, 2015

chambre petite mais propre, au calme, confortable et bien située, avec une mini-piscine jaccuzzi très appréciable en fin de journée. Accueil agréable. Seule petite faiblesse: le petit déjeuner, manquant de produits naturels.


Great place reasonable

3,8 sur février 09, 2015

This was one of the cheapest places we found and had a great experience.


Quaint and Quiet

3,2 sur janvier 02, 2015

Great clean rooms with a great little pool. it is a bit out of the way from the beaten path and a far walk from Duval


Authors

4,0 sur décembre 29, 2014

Loved this place. Just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Duval street. Nice and quiet. The staff were very friendly and accomadating.


Author's guest house

2,6 sur décembre 12, 2014

Nice room, great location. Staff were very nice and helpful. Only problem was with a plugged toilet (and that is enough of a problem...).


Beautiful hideaway!

4,6 sur novembre 14, 2014

Authors Guest House is a beautiful hideaway tucked just 1 mile away from the crazy fun of Duval Street! Far enought to be secluded but close enough to walk! Beautiful rooms and a nice continental breakfast every morning!


def going back...

4,4 sur octobre 20, 2014

this property is definately a value for the price... we had the artists room and was surprised at the size and cleanliness of the room. the breakfast was the standard fare but a bit upgraded with yogurts, peanut butter, and decent coffee. (throw in some hard bopiled eggs and this wouldve been perfect) staff was very helpful and friendly. will definately stay again!


Great stay

5 sur août 31, 2014

It was a great stay , we enjoied the time in Key West , Thamk you for your kindness.


Very Nice Key West Feel

5 sur août 30, 2014

First time in a bed and breakfast and it was a very good experience. Nice fully working kitchen, living room and master bedroom at a very good price. Staff was very nice and breakfast was out in the courtyard which gave you that island feel. We are going back for sure.


B&B

3,6 sur août 18, 2014

My husband and I loved this place. In my opinion the price was perfect it was clean and best of all had air conditioner. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing I would say about the hotel is the breakfast was a bit poor but I'd much rather eat at a local restaurant.


Nice place

4,0 sur août 07, 2014

Nice place we friendly staff. A walking distance to Duval street, but far enough to be a calm place. A good hotel to chill out and rest.


July 39 - 31 2014

3,4 sur août 05, 2014

Quiet B & B far enough off the main drag where you can get some R & R. Plenty of shade to escape the heat. Recommend bicycles to get around town. Most parking will be on side street curb.


Authors

4,4 sur juillet 23, 2014

Great value, peaceful, and good breakfast.


Great Stay!

4,2 sur juillet 20, 2014

Our room was very loud, due to traffic on White Street.


First B&B experience

4,6 sur juin 28, 2014

The place was very nice and very quiet so good for us. We got to enjoy the pool and Jacuzzi before bed and as said before the breakfast is very light. The only downside is that it is quite far from most of the places so we had to drive. if you want to walk up and down the main street it's far and it's about a mile to a 2 miles away. All in all good price for the location and have a pleasant stay


Good value and very clean!

4,4 sur juin 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed there during June 2014. This was reasonalby priced compared to other accomodations in Key West. So we decided to give it a try and boy were we pleased! All the rooms and the facility were very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Short distance from many attractions, but yet quiet and private. We would definitely stay here again.


"Exceeded our expectations"

3,8 sur juin 10, 2014

Everything was pretty good. They could improve the breakfast which was the same the two days we were there and was just packaged food primarily.


Loved the jacuzzi!! :D

3,6 sur mai 29, 2014

Very neat. Loved the jacuzzi. Breakfast was okay. Pleasant stay.


perfect getaway!

4,8 sur mai 20, 2014

Perfect! Quiet retreat!


Fantastic hotel in Key West

5 sur mai 11, 2014

We loved our stay in the "Poets" room at Author's Guesthouse. Friendly staff, lovely bright spacious room, excellent continental breakfast served outside in a lovely tropical surrounding. Hotel was close to grocery store and bike rental where we rented bicycles and rode around Key West or the entire day. Author's Guesthouse certainly made our stay very enjoyable.


Always paradise -

4,8 sur mai 04, 2014

My sister and I have continued to return to this B & B for several reasons. 1. Tippi at the front desk graciously welcomes us and can answer any question or find what we need. 2. It's CLEAN. 3. It's quiet. 4. It's close to the seaport, just a short walk. 4. It has the best rates. 5. It's cozy and safe..


Great place and clean!

4,2 sur avril 04, 2014

Stayed in the Artist Room Had a private bathroom and a very comfy bed. Housekeepers left us instructions and keys to the room outside since we arrived afterhours. There is a pool. Small but it's heated which felt great on a tired body The whole room was clean which made it easy to sleep Breakfast was a typical continental but hey still works (they should use fresh Florida orange juice - tasted like tropicana - yuck) Other than that, would DEFINITELY book again.


Key West mini vacation.

4,2 sur décembre 25, 2013

We took the Key West Express to visit and the Guest House was with walking distance of the pier. Very helpful recommendations about getting around town and places to eat. The breakfast was a little sparse so we walked a couple of blocks to a great local color hot spot, Sandy's cafe, where we had great French toast made from Cuban bread. Locals also very colorful. Wireless didn't work in our room nor the TV but we weren't there to sit in the comfortable room. We would come back,though.


Great place to stay. Will return.

3,8 sur juillet 30, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. The room was very nice. Johnna was an excellent host. Everything was clean and it was about a 10-15 minute walk from all the action. We will stay here next time we are in Key West.


One of the Cutest. coziest Bed and Breakfast in Key West

4,4 sur décembre 15, 2012

One of the coziest little cottages in Key West. we stayed in the room called the Library which was stocked with books , novels and magazines!! The plantation shutters surrounded the room which made it feel like a far a wy cottage. the staff was very friendly let us check in an hour early. They were eager to become photographer at a moments notice. We reaaly loved the very friendly resident cat which liked to follow us around too!!. All in all a great place to stay at a fantastic price especially bargin hunters!!! We can't wait to return already!!!! Margie and Rick


very nice!

3,4 sur août 20, 2012

Bon rapport qualité/prix. tres calme. Accueil sympathique. A recommander


Amazing!

4,4 sur juillet 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Boynton Beach visiting his parents and decided to sneak in a couple days in Key West. We stayed in the Poets room and we could not have been happier. What a beautiful, well maintained, and CLEAN room. My only regret is not staying longer.


Last minute booking, first rate stay

4,8 sur mars 24, 2012

We were very pleased from the moment we arrived. We'd heard about the lack of parking in Key West, but in this largely residential area we had no problem getting on-street parking and no worries about the car. We found the staff we dealt with incredibly helpful regarding places to eat, where to park when driving the couple of times we did so, where we could walk, etc. The location made walking to most places we were interested in very easy. We were surprised but pleased to find a fridge & microwave when we got to our room--dinner leftovers became lunch. The hot tub/pool was very relaxing & the breakfast area was quite appealing. Although this trip was last minute during high season, the rates were not bad at all. When we return we'll certainly be looking for availability here!


tHE POETS ROOM

4,8 sur novembre 20, 2011

What a beautiful room. We were told it used to be used by the owner and we could see why. It really was more an effiientcy apartment. Clean, bright, roomy and equipped with a full kitchen which allowed for savings in restautant costs. The staff were all so cheerful and friendly and made the breakfast hour warm and friendly. peaceful and quiet at night but not too far from the excitement of Duval. We hope to go back next year and get the same room!!!


My stay at key west

5 sur août 27, 2011

My stay In key west at the Author house was amazing the service was amazing the people were very nice and warm. I can't wait until I can return.


Trent and Jennifer

5 sur août 23, 2011

This was our "Kid free" weekend and it couldn't of been more awesome! It was the first trip for me to Key West so I really didn't know what to expect. From the minute we stepped into the office, we were treated like VIP's. The room was perfect and the privacy was fantastic-we felt like the only ones there! I highly recommend this place!


not much of a bed and breakfast

2,8 sur juillet 16, 2011

Pros: Clean place for the most part, friendly staff, good location in quiet Key West Cons: Breakfast isn't until 8:30, which means no coffee until then either. Breakfast is on par with a cheap motel (bagels, coffee, OJ...really, that's it). Also, if you have any morning activities, you'll probably miss breakfast anyways because it opens so late. The Wilder room is for up to three people, but only has two chairs to sit in--one reading chair, one wooden desk chair; the carpet has lumps in it (needs to be stretched); the beds are okay, but don't expect much; the bathroom reminds me of Europe (small with a tiny shower) and the towel rack in the bathroom was rusted. Parking is available but it's on the street. Also, as others said, the pool is really nothing more than an oversized hot tub. Overview: If I walked into a holiday inn express and the room looked like this, I would have went to another hotel, but I prepaid for this and wasn't in the room much anyways, so I stayed. For the price you pay, the breakfast sucks and in reality, I wish I had paid for a holiday inn instead. Save yourself some money and stay in a cheaper hotel or look for a bed and breakfast that lives up to the idea.


Great Place to stay in Key West

4,6 sur juillet 04, 2011

I would highly recommend Authors of Key West, it has the keys feeling, It is close to Duvall st. Very glad we did not stay at a chain hotel, it made our trip to Key West


Cozy and inviting.

4,8 sur mai 14, 2011

Our rooms were clean and cozy. It felt like we were in a cabin enclosed by trees. The breakfast was good and we took advantage of the outdoor tables to enjoy it. I would tell anyone that this is where they should stay to enjoy being together.


Price was right

3,0 sur mars 28, 2011

For Key West the price was fair. The bed was comfy, the room was clean and the atmosphere was pleasant. The breakfast was non-existant, but held you over until you could get ready to go out for the day and grab something then. Both mornings a table was set with bagels, english muffins, coffee and juice.


Solid B and B

3,4 sur janvier 24, 2011

Beautiful room, cordial service but breakfast bare bones. Conveniently located in Key West.


Nice stay

3,4 sur septembre 12, 2010

We spent a night in the Lillian Herman room and were very pleased. The room was very clean and relaxing, the queen size bed comfy, the a/c worked smoothly and also comes with a refrigerator. The "pool" is an oversized jacuzzi with less jets but also very clean. Don't count on the breakfast since there's not to much to choose from but you can stil sip your weak coffee in a lively tropical backyard.


Clean, comfortable, cute room in Key West

3,4 sur août 13, 2010

The room was on the small side but had everything we needed. It opened up to the pool, which made for a pretty view but also meant that it was quite noisy when people were swimming late at night. (We turned up the A/C to cover the noise and that worked well.) The breakfast was nothing special - coffee, juice, bagels, and canned fruit. But we'll be coming back again because it was charming, a good value, and walkable to Duval without being too near the noisy party scene.


Very Very Pleasant Time

4,8 sur juin 20, 2010

Very clean, Friendly staff, quiet location, perfect for Key West.


Would rebook for future stay

4,0 sur mai 28, 2010

This B&B is about 1 mile from Duval, but it was a perfect location for us because it was clean, quite and very friendly staff.


Perfect for a night or two...

2,6 sur janvier 19, 2010

Upon check-in we learned that someone lost our reservation so we were upgraded to the only available room which was larger than the one we originally booked. We lucked out on that one. There were ants crawling on the walls and the bathroom shower was extremely small. I live in Florida so these things don't really bother me. If you are planning on staying a night or two, not spending a lot of time in your room, then stay here. If you want lavish accomodations and plan on staying in your room a lot, stay somewhere else.


Authors Guest House / Authors of Key West

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $100 - $295
  • Avis (111) 4,1
  • Chambres 9
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-3052947381

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut