Florida House Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,1

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    3,8
  • Services4,3
  • Qualité/Prix3,9
  • Propreté4,4
  • Repas sur place4,0

Notation basée sur
60 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great place

4,6 sur avril 16, 2016

We do believe this will be our go to place for our weekend getaways. The parking was easy, the rooms and service was wonderful, the location was extremely convenient to historic downtown. Very friendly staff!


Awesome Anniversary!!

4,4 sur avril 14, 2016

Room was very nice; loved the jacuzzi! Centrallly located to great restaurants. Also, the Mermaid bar, within the house, was outstanding as well.


Disappointed

2,0 sur avril 04, 2016

I have stayed at boutique hotels, inns and B&B's in five countries on two continents and this was one of the poorest. My room was clean but the bathtub/shower area was poorly designed and presented a full hazard. It was also essentially in the room precluding privacy. The bath had zero shelf space and the live band next door played half the night. I will not be back.


Adorable historic inn

3,6 sur mars 20, 2016

The rooms are very lodge-y which was unexpected but I loved it. The patio area is very cute. The bar is not open very late at night because they only have one very nice boy who works long days. Breakfast is the same every day, but try the homemade jelly--it's to die for!


Very nice inn

4,6 sur mars 16, 2016

Wonderfully friendly staff made this a great visit in very nice accommodations.


Great Weekend At Florida House Inn

4,2 sur mars 14, 2016

Eleven of us recently spent a weekend at the Florida House Inn and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Comfortable rooms and beds, great staff, fun drinks at the bar, and the BEST breakfast. We loved being able to walk to downtown Fernandina Beach.


Love the mermaid bar

3,2 sur mars 13, 2016

we have stayed here twice and would not want to stay anywhere else


A lovely home with a wonderful staff!

4,2 sur mars 11, 2016

The Florida House Inn is situated in a perfect area in Fernandina Beach. The staff were friendly and efficient and the home is beautiful! The only critisim, I have is that the fire places are listed in several of the rooms, I think it should be notated that they do not work and are unable to per Florida State Law. The only other thing that I noticed is the garden tub had dark brown here in the jets after I finished my bath. I am blonde so I know that it wasn't my own.


Good Price for Room

3,6 sur janvier 15, 2016

On the whole, I enjoyed my brief stay very much. My only complaint about the room, which was otherwise very nice, was that it was very hot. The weather was warmer than usual down there during winter, so maybe the manager didn't have the air cranked up or whatever, but it was stifling in the room. Not a bad thing, as I spent most of my time out and about, but could have been a big problem in summer! Otherwise, I highly recommend it.


Great stay.

4,6 sur décembre 27, 2015

Everything was great.


Great Location!

3,8 sur décembre 09, 2015

We had a great time. Be sure to check out Espana restaurant right behind.


A return to an Inn that I had stayed at 25 years ago.

4,2 sur décembre 04, 2015

Nice to return to a place I had stayed at 25 years ago to find the same friendly hospitality even though it was several owners later. Nice to see that the historic integrity has stayed the same. Wonderful stay. Will be back again though sooner than 25 years.


Thanksgiving Getaway

3,4 sur décembre 03, 2015

Mike & Rhonda


A different experience

3,8 sur novembre 28, 2015

It was, for us, a different experience, as it was our first time staying at a true bed and breakfast. What made it even more unusual is that our stay was on a Sunday night, and we were the ONLY guests at the Florida House Inn. When we went to bed, there was no one at the Inn.....no staff, no guests, nobody. The good news is that there were no problems.....just the odd feeling of being alone in the Inn. It was a rather charming place. The biggest negative is that we could not regulate the temperature at all. It was 43 degrees Monday morning, so it was a bit chilly inside. Oh, we parted on a good note. Breakfast was included, of course. A chef/cook showed up promptly at breakfast time to cook breakfast for my wife and me. Only the two of us. Breakfast was made to our order and was delicious. A nice way to finish our stay.


Wonderful Stay!

5 sur novembre 26, 2015

This was our first time at The Florida House but it won't be our last. Our room was really nice - stayed in a second floor queen room. The breakfasts we had were sooo good! The chef took our orders and the food was exceptional! The Fench toast was really thick and cooked to perfevtion. Can't wait to go back and stay again.


Perfect Getaway

5 sur novembre 18, 2015

Great location wonderful staff Great location great staff and wonderful food


Decarlo stay

4,6 sur août 24, 2015

Room was fine and we expect quaint, but the bath room could use some TLC/updating. Enjoyed it as always. Thank you for providing such a nice place to escape.


Good stay

3,4 sur juin 09, 2015

This was a nice place for a get away


Wonderful atmosphere, decorated with period antiques and accessories, helpful staff - an oasis of calm. Two definite thumbs up !

4,0 sur mai 23, 2015

After a difficult past 2 1/2 years, my wife and I were sorely overdue for a restoring, extended weekend away. The Florida House Inn exceeded our expectations in nearly all ways. The inn is calm, quiet, peaceful, and centrally located. Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were rotated daily, creatively and tastefully prepared, and quite delicious; - a welcome change from chain hotel menus. Restaurant recommendations were spot on. We would definitely return for another stay, and would welcome it without reservations. Many thanks !


Loved our stay

4,8 sur mai 13, 2015

The Florida House Inn is in a perfect location, close to shops and dining. The staff was very courteous and the room was perfect.


April 2015 Review

2,6 sur avril 27, 2015

Rooms - could not view TV from bed; it was in corner above our heads. Keys did not work right in first room. Had to move. Service - No K-cup supply at complimentary coffee station for 2 days. Hallway light burned out on 2nd floor for 2 days. Location is great and the inn has the historic charm we had hoped for. Nice garden area in back. Restaurant next door has late night live music which we could hear from our room. Breakfast food was very good. The staff was very friendly but overall, the inn could use some maintenance improvements indoors and out.


Great getaway

4,6 sur avril 17, 2015

Florida House Inn was a great getaway! Awesome location, great for walking the streets of Fernandina. The room was beautiful and loved the two person tub. The staff were very friendly and helpful.


Mixed emotions

3,8 sur avril 13, 2015

The inn is pleasantly quaint. The room was small, as was the bathroom. The lock to get in the room was a real adventure-will it work or not ? The music across the way was not enjoyable. The staff was courteous and efficient .The grounds are beautiful and quiet, with plenty of sun and shade. Very accessible by foot to many restaurants , shops , etc.


Cozy and Convenient

3,6 sur mars 24, 2015

We loved our stay at the Florida House Inn. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. The jacuzzi tub was fun. It was cold(ish) when we were there, high 50s low 60s, so the location convenient to downtown was great because it wasn't beach weather. It's really close (walking distance) to all of the extremely good restaurants. The neighborhood is charming. The combination of locals and tourists is comfortable. If you want to be at the beach, then obviously this isn't your place. And you have to have a tolerance for bar noise and music coming from the locals hangout next door. But overall, it's comfortable, affordable comparatively, and relaxed.


Could use some improvement

3,8 sur mars 23, 2015

We stayed at the Florida House Inn for two nights. The first morning, there was a man with a blower outside of our door at 8:30 a.m. We complained to management and was assured that would not happen the next day. Guess what, the same thing happened the next morning, but this time at 8:45 a.m. My husband asked the man to stop and he did, but we had already been woken up. Also, my husband left his phone charger in the room and called to ask if they found it. They said they did and would mail it back, but we still have not received it. It would be nice if management paid a little more attention to detail. I thought the room itself was very nice, but being woken up both mornings of our stay was a problem. We took a vacation to get away and relax. It they need to clean up the leaves in the morning, I suggest they use a broom.


Florida House Inn-a touch of island time gone by

3,4 sur mars 19, 2015

We had a delightful stay, in a location filled with objects from another century. The attentive staff made it a memorable visit. Sitting in the sun on the front porch and lounging on the back veranda adjacent to the fountain patio gave us a relaxed feeling of being in another place at another time. With more renovations, the Florida House Inn will be an outstanding venue.


Florida's Hidden Jewel

5 sur février 26, 2015

This was our first time to Amelia Island and it definitely won't be our last. We enjoyed our stay and the Florida Inn was a big part of it. It's location is a great plus and allowed us to walk everywhere downtown. The rooms are nice and well maintained and very fun place to stay.


birthday stay on Amelia Island

4,8 sur février 18, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Florida House Inn. It is beautifully preseved and the location cannot be beat! Breakfast was delicious each morning. The room was delightful. Thank you for a wonderful stay!


Charming

3,0 sur février 11, 2015

Very nice place to stay. Everything is with in walking distance


Nice Place in a great area

4,2 sur janvier 26, 2015

We were here in the off season and the Inn only had a few guests. They took good care of us. The room was clean and the staff friendly.


Wonderfull B&B

3,6 sur novembre 25, 2014

Very,very rustic inn right in center of old town. Walking distance to everything. Great room (#10), very comftorable bed. Beautiful relaxing Balconies and court yard. Very filling breakfast. Friendly staff. Great bar next door with music. Truly a pleasant visit. If your looking to step back into time and get a true feeling of post civil war accomondations, you've found the place. Old, quaint, rustic and quite relaxing. A nice sleepy hotel for a sleepy little town. Enjoy your stay


Great stay

3,8 sur novembre 24, 2014

It was a terrific stay. Rooms were cozy and clean. The only disappointment was the fact that the fireplaces were not working. One of the reasons I chose that particular room, paying a few extra dollars, was to have a working fireplace. I feel the advertisement was deceiving online.


A family weekend

4,6 sur octobre 23, 2014

The room was ok but the bathroom facilities - especially the rocking tub in the so-so shower left a bit to be desired. No place to hangs a hand towel and no shelf or assistance bars to climb in and out of the precarious shower


Second time staying at the Florida House.

4,6 sur octobre 21, 2014

Great place to come for a low key getaway. Quaint and laid back. Walking distance to good restaurant and shops. Good place to ride bikes and look at Victorian homes.


Beautifully and tastefully decorated -angels and bikes

4,4 sur août 26, 2014

This B&B takes the prize for the most beautiful and tasteful - and delightful- decor. I was delighted when I walked in our room and saw the muslin window treatments, done with a Paris motif, and the two wall "pictures" above the beds: brass-looking angel wings were superimposed on muslin cloth with bicycle and Eiffel Tower print. What a coincidence, since my husband and I have met many "angels" on our cycling trip. I was also very impressed by the front porch, and the cleanliness of the place, except for our inner shower curtain, which had some mold on it. Breakfast on the back porch was superb. The only suggestion I have is to sound proof the rooms more -not sure this is possible in an old house, because in the middle of the night, the person above us seemed to be moving furniture; plus we could hear the noise from the outside bar and grill next door. We would have stayed an extra night if not for the noise. Next time I visit I will definitely stay again, but on the other side of the house, and in an upstairs room.


Wonderful, relaxing B&B

5 sur juillet 21, 2014

Our stay was wonderful! Such an adorable B&B. I would definitely stay there again!!


A quick stay

4,4 sur juillet 14, 2014

First time to Amelia Island, and Fernandina Beach, we were looking for some place that had a unique feel, we found it here. The staff was wonderful, when we realize we were going to much later than we thought on arriving we called and they let us know what the procedure was, everyone was very helpful in recommending places to see and eat, the Mermaid Bar is wonderful, relaxing, as is the court yard, loved reading my book with the fountain trickling in the background. The room, was very comfortable and clean, also roomy, we booked one of the king rooms, we were in the front of the Inn over looking 3rd, very easy to access the front porch, but also was very quite, as we did not here any street traffic or music from the Green Turtle Tavern next door, beds are very comfortable, and as I said the room very clean. Also, since we had appointments a Mayo Clinic, we were going to need to check out and hour or so later than normal, the staff was wonderful and it was absolutely no problem. We will definitely stay there again, maybe this September!


Perfect location!

4,6 sur juillet 09, 2014

Loved it here! So cute. Everyone was very friendly. Great service. Great location. Can't wait to go back!


Great location, cute property

2,6 sur juillet 07, 2014

My wife and I did a one night stay here and got the smallest room by choice. If you're just in town for a quick trip the small room is okay but for a longer stay upgrade to a standard room. Great location and close to all the fun in the historic area. Skip the breakfast - worst ever!


Overall wonderful experience.

5 sur juin 23, 2014

We had a wonderful experience here. The rooms were unique, clean and comfortable. We also had a drink at the bar and the service was excellent. On the morning of our departure we had lunch here and it was incredible. I recommend this place all around.


Stay at the Florida House Inn

4,6 sur juin 19, 2014

Our room was clean and very charming. The only reason I gave it four stars is because there was only a very sheer curtain covering our window, which looked out on a balcony that other guests used. The breakfast was great and the gardens were beautiful. The location was right in the middle of all the shops and restaurants in the historic district. We will be coming back!


Nice for first visit, but found better options while there

3,0 sur juin 15, 2014

We stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday. Room #14 was nice and roomy, with comfortable king bed and cold a/c. We felt that the bathroom could have used some attention: no curtain in window, paint/plaster flaking off beside the only towel bar, no hooks for robe, etc., handle on vanity pulled off when we opened drawer, lots of soap scum on shower caddy was a bit icky to find, no hot water on Sunday morning. The closet contained the mini-fridge...door would not stay closed on closet. The flat screen tv was inside a cabinet, small size...but we didn't want to watch tv anyhow, so didn't bother us. When we first arrived and walked from rear parking lot into courtyard, it was absolutely beautiful! Fountain, Tables, white lights strung from above...we imagined ourselves sitting out there every night. Unfortunately, a wedding took place there Saturday evening into late night, so we were unable to enjoy that area at all. We stayed either in our room or on the porch just outside (that looked directly over the courtyard and wedding.) We also learned that they own the next door "green turtle" bar that was very loud with music until very late. Make sure to ask for a room away from the bar if you want a somewhat peaceful evening, and then set your a/c to "constant fan" to drown out the noise! The staff was very friendly...breakfast exceptional. Tried the fried chicken one day for lunch and it was excellent! Coffee (Keurig) in their parlor at any time, but no fruit as mentioned on website. We decided that next time we would stay somewhere else, but perhaps come for their lunch in the restaurant. The rooms/property was just not private/quiet enough for us, and a bit pricey for what we had.


Wonderful place

4,4 sur juin 13, 2014

this is the third time my wife and I have stayed and enjoy it every time. the staff is helpful and considerate.


Great location, beautiful building

3,4 sur juin 01, 2014

We loved the location, so walkable to everything in Fernandina Beach. The porches and balconies were wonderful for having a coffee and reading. I thought it was great that there was a beach bar next door with live music that you could hear from the balcony (and from the rooms next to the bar); my travelling companion didn't love that so much, but the band ended at 10pm, so it's not like it kept us up.


Florida House Inn- Memorial Weekend

2,4 sur mai 31, 2014

A wedding took place at the Inn on the first day of our visit. Though I made the reservation less than a week before that date, I was not told about that wedding. Our room opened to the courtyard where the wedding occurred. A band played and celebrations occurred late into the night. The shower had very little water pressure. I later learned that we could have rented a Villa on Amelia Island Plantation for $50 less per night. Therefore, this room was way overpriced.


Perfect Stay!

5 sur mai 27, 2014

We stayed in the Bridal Suite and absolutely loved the room and access to the upstairs porches. The room was very clean and comfortable. Can't wait to go back!


Weekend at Florida House Inn

3,8 sur avril 16, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. The only surprise was the big wedding taking place Sat. night. Beautiful set up, but not expecting to have front row seats from our room for the reception from our room. Would have appreciated it being mentioned before we arrived, just as a courtesy. Breakfast each morning was excellent and the staff was very nice and helpful.


First B&B experience

5 sur mars 08, 2014

Just a wonderful weekend. Will be back soon.


Florida House

4,2 sur mars 07, 2014

My only suggestion would be to add fruit, juice etc. to the breakfast. The omelet and hash browns were great but that's all there was. Also, hot chocolate and muffins would be a nice addition.


Outstanding Stay

4,2 sur février 26, 2014

We will definitely return.


Florida House

3,6 sur février 21, 2014

We had a great stay. The room was a little small for the value but the staff was friendly and goes above and beyond for the guests. The Mermaid Bar and the provided breakfast were both excellent.


Florida House Inn

3,8 sur février 20, 2014

We stayed one night. Loved the historical aspect. Everyone was very nice and the location was great. Food was delish.


Great stay

4,2 sur octobre 14, 2013

We arrived really late (12am) on a Friday evening and they left us everything we needed to get into our room. Great size, very clean, and nice balcony. Great bed! Breakfast could have included fresher options (fruit, yogurt, etc). Very hearty american breakfast on the day we were there (eggs, sausage, pancakes, biscuit) but still very good. We loved our stay!


Florida House Inn

4,4 sur septembre 10, 2013

In the heart of Fernandia Beach historic district. Clean rooms and very friendly Inn personnel . Breakfast was very good and you can walk to everything.


Excellent ,comfortable getaway.

4,8 sur août 05, 2013

Pleasant location and stay -first visit to Amelia Is. wonderful ; quiet,quaint, no need to drive once you park -near the shops and ferry!


Amazing!

5 sur juillet 23, 2013

This charming inn was in a fantastic location, near many restaurants and cute shops. The couple that runs it were very nice and welcoming. The room and bathroom were lovely and the food was excellent. We stayed for two nights and a good time was had by all!


Great stay

5 sur avril 03, 2013

I had a great stay at the Florida inn. It is located right off centre street not to. Close to the railroad tracks. The chef Marshall prepared an excellent breakfast every morning. I liked the quiche and the thick bacon. One night they had a band in the mermaid bar and everyone had a great time. Everyone was super friendly and someone was always cleaning. Solidly built, no squeaky floors.


Wonderful place to stay!

5 sur janvier 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, three days last weekend. It was quiet, clean and I highly recommend the jacuzzi tub-it was awesome! It's right in the heart of Center St which means you're close to amazing restaurants and all the cute little shops. The staff at Florida House Inn were all very nice and the breakfast they made was delicious! I will be going back to stay here again someday!!


Annniversary Stay on Amelia Island

4,0 sur décembre 05, 2012

Florida House Inn was the least expensive by far of the eight B&B's in the historic district of Fernandina Beach. It was satisfactory in every way with convenient parking and very short walks to fine dining and casual pubs.


Unexpected Pleasure

4,0 sur novembre 04, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and the food was excellent!


Florida House Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $130 - $200
  • Avis (60) 4,1
  • Chambres 17
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9044913322
  • Fax 1-9042617251
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8002583301

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut