Captain Josiah Cowles Place Avis

Ensemble
4,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,9
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas5

Notation basée sur
18 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A Great Small Inn

5 sur août 13, 2014

Our stay at the Captain Josiah Cowles Place was splendid. Dave and Mary were very gracious and helpful. They greeted us warmly and made us feel right at home. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. They were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended a great local restaurant for our dinner. The breakfast was served right on time as requested and the Dave's homemade pancakes and syrup were delicious. We would recommend this quiet spot to anyone seeking a restful stay.


Lovely Place with Comfortable Beds and Gracious Service

5 sur octobre 27, 2013

This is the second time we’ve stayed at this lovely B&B, and it was just as warm and inviting an experience as the first time. Dave and Mary are very gracious, welcoming hosts. They are very sincere and accommodating. They made our stay one of the most pleasant aspects of our visit. We’ve stayed in both main bedrooms now, and they are equally charming and comfortable and include all the amenities you could need. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the pillows were the best we’ve encountered in a great deal of traveling. All made for a great night’s sleep. Breakfast each day was wonderful and substantial. Both Dave and Mary are good cooks. We will likely visit this area of CT again because we have relatives in the area. And when we do, we will definitely stay at this wonderful place. We would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.


We felt like family!

5 sur juin 17, 2013

Mary and Dave are consummate hosts! We appreciate not only their beautiful inn and grounds, but most of all, their hospitality. They really made us feel like family. I must, of course, mention the breakfasts, especially the pancakes with Dave's own maple syrup. My husband and I stayed at Captain Josiah Cowles Place last year and hope to visit again before the year's end.


Love this place!

5 sur mars 05, 2013

We were headed to Waterbury to see a play and were looking for a place to spend the night. Snow was expected and Mary called the day before we were to arrive to tell us we could check in early and hang out. How thoughtful! We both slept so well and woke to blueberry pancakes and two kinds of coffee (I like mine strong, but my husband doesn't). We lingered over breakfast, chatting with Mary and Dave. All around, a great place to stay!


I wish I could have stayed longer

5 sur novembre 18, 2012

I was in Connecticut working in Cheshire, and Dave and Mary's Inn was just a few miles from where I was assigned to be,, so it seemed like a better option than one of the national chain hotels. I love being right! I absolutley loved being there, for the entire three weeks.. I felt so at home, I volunteered to stay another three weeks, since I was already there, and having such a pleasant stay. Hurricane Sandy nixed that idea, but I truly was so content there, that I just was not feeling any great urge to head home. I had no complaints whatsoever, but to be fair to someone else considering these accomodations here you go: If you have any sort of disability that would make it difficult to climb the stairs to your room, call ahead, they may be able to put put you in the spare room downstairs, but otherwise, your room will be upstairs. If you are a television aficionado, you would probably be disapointed with the TV I had in my room, though the TV in the living room is available as well, so you'll probably survive. TV is low on my personal list of priorities, so I had no problem with it. The wireless signal in my room was on the weak side, but I was able to complete all my personal and work related tasks, so again, no complaint here, but if you're a bandwidth hog,, bring a hotspot connection! I can really only come up with two regrets about my stay. I was out so early every weekday, that I missed breakfast, and since I did get breakfast from the hosts on the weekends, I knew what I was missing; a truly outstanding breakfast!! I didn't get a chance to bake a second cheesecake. I was thrilled to be allowed the use of the kitchen to bake one for the Inn, and wanted to make a second one, and just blew it timing wise, and didn't get it done. Thanks again Dave and Mary, for letting me do the one I did, it really just added to the feeling of being at home!


Very nice

4,8 sur octobre 01, 2012

Dave and Mary are exceptional hosts. Food, snacks and the accommodations were wonderful. The one area of disappointment was the bed. While there was a memory foam topping, the mattress still sagged uncomfortably in the center.


Friendly, Snacks, Fine Lodging, Great Food

5 sur août 30, 2012

The proprietors are among the most friendly and helpful that my wife and I have met. We arrived from I-84, which is close by, to find snacks, including chocolate cake! The room was fine and historic, but the amenities are first class and modern (nice shower, flat screen TV, etc.). The breakfast was just what my wife loves, and included home-made maple syrup! Special consideration is given to repeat customers.


If you haven't eaten a fresh-from-farm egg, you've missed a taste of heaven.

4,8 sur août 14, 2012

Staying here was absolutely fabulous! David and Maryare truly welcoming hosts. They really want to insure that their guests are happy. Our room was large and lovely. The B&B could not have been more convenient, just off I-84, west of Hartford. David cooked separate breakfasts for the two of us, accommodating my diabetic dietary needs. The minute I tasted the omelette, I knew that it was made with really FRESH eggs. I have had them at just one other b&b, and there is nothing like them. We'll stay there again, for sure!


Wonderful Stay

5 sur juin 13, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Captain Josiah Cowles Place. It was a wonderful experience. The accommmodations were everything that we had hoped for. David and Mary were such warm and friendly hosts that we felt at home immediatly. Having chocolate cake or cookies left every night was a special treat. Breakfast was delicious and different every morning. Even had maple syrup from Dave's trees. We hope to stay here again on a return visit to Connecticut.


Three perfect days

5 sur juin 09, 2012

We arrived after a 10-hour car trip -- late. Our 11pm arrival ruffled no routines: David and Mary had left a written welcome, keys, and simple directions to the room and routine and we collapsed into the comfortable bed within seconds of arriving. The inn is just wonderful. No complaints at all; decent high-speed wireless internet connectivity was simple and most welcome. The inn keepers are inconspicuous but always nearby to assist in getting around the area, for restaurant recommendations, and just for a friendly, relaxed chat. This B&B will be a return destination for us, without doubt.


Lovely Home, Great Stop off I84, Splendid Hosts

5 sur juin 07, 2012

What a wonderful stay! This beautiful old historic home is filled with charm and the hosts couldn't have been more accommodating. I'm so pleased I chose it for a stay. Easy access to I84 and just a few miles short of Hartford. Quiet smalltown atmosphere with amazingly good restaurants within short driving distance. Just can't say enough about how warmly we were received and how well we were taken care of. Breakfast was fantastic with maple syrup from David's own trees. What's not to love? Not a thing!!


great place for Yale visit

4,6 sur mai 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Capt Josiah Cowles Place during Yale graduation weekend. It's half an hour away from campus, but the peace and quiet feels much more distant from the rat race of New Haven during an event weekend. The room was huge and the bed was unbelievable comfortable thanks to the mattress topper. There are two guest rooms, each with a private bath. We never heard the other guests. The hosts were friendly and helpful without being intrusive and the breakfasts and afternoon snacks provided were outstanding. We would definitely stay again.


December 2010 Stay

5 sur janvier 17, 2011

We spent two nights with Mary and David at the end of December and our stay was amazing! The house is beautiful, the rooms are so spacious, comfortable, clean and well appointed, and the breakfasts were fantastic! Mary and David are such warm and lovely hosts, we really felt like we were home, and after five weeks on the road this was very welcome! The proximity to Mt Southington ski area is perfect too. We highly recommend staying with Mary and David, and if we return to the area one day we will definitely be enquiring if they have availability!


Quaint new england getaway, convenient, friendly

4,4 sur octobre 05, 2010

Mary and Dave were a delight in this little BnB in central Connecticut. The accommodations were just right, comfortable and clean. The morning hot breakfast was tasty, pancakes served with homemade maple syrup from the maples in the yard. I'd recommend this place to any couple passing through, or a business traveler looking for a comfortable and friendly place to stop in.


Connecticut's best kept secert! Los Angeles, CA.

5 sur août 23, 2010

Have to share our time here 3 nights stay was amazing and helpful. Long flight ( flying to CT directly from Los Angeles) , having to give time to continue to work, and incorporate family visits...all avenues were meet 100 percent. Time difference and Jet lag Captain Josiah Cowles Inn was able to rest deeply, and peacefully. Rooms, bedding everything is fresh and clean. Having private (updated ) bathrooms was a great relief too. Internet connection and room set up allowed for continued work . Being a short stay, just the simple fact that Captain Josiah Cowles Inn is an attraction itself. Original ceiling beams , floors and doors, and it is all natural. Gave us the feeling we were site seeing Old Historical New England past times but without making added trip. Breakfast, pies, chocolate cake, the Innkeepers its amazing. Telling everyone we know in L.A. to make their way at this INN. Thank YOU ...and we will be back again.


Great Stay

5 sur août 05, 2010

Food, rooms and hospitality were great. We had a wonderful time.


A wonderful surprise

5 sur juillet 11, 2010

When my fiance and I booked a stay here we were just hoping for a clean and comfortable room near to the location of his upcoming triathlon race. The hospitality, genuine warm-hearted company and delicious breakfast were above and beyond what we expected. The accommodations themselves were plenty roomy and the bed was so comfortable we purchased the same foam topper for our mattress at home! Highly recommended on all accounts!


Sweeet 16

5 sur avril 02, 2010

Southington Ct..Who knew.. Our stay was absolutely wonderful, We were in town from upstate N.Y.for my neices Sweet 16 and I lived in Ct for 20years and never stayed at Captain Josiah Cowles. Our stay was Clean, Quiet & Unobtrusive, Our hosts breakfast goes unmatched, They make their own maple syrup, Unbelievable over PaPa's pancakes..LOL. The muffins were to die for, We even got a couple for the road..!.I recommend anyone to stay here, and we will definetely be back. Thank You Chef Rich


Captain Josiah Cowles Place

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $117 - $123
  • Avis (18) 4,9
  • Chambres 2
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8602760227
Haut