Avis récents dans La Fortuna, Costa Rica

One of the BEST retreats in Costa Rica à Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat (San Carlos de La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le avril 15, 2014

I have been to Leaves and Lizards dozen times and THEY are the best !

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


The Majestic Lodge à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le avril 11, 2013

Recently my two daughters, sons in law and 2 grandsons stayed at the Majestic near Castillo, Costa Rica. The Lodge is situated in the shadow of the Volcano and has a breath taking view of the Lake. The rooms were outstanding in every respect and the service was incredible! Each meal was cooked to perfection. It really was a vacation in a vacation. Nancy and her staff were the most gracious hosts and they really knew the area, the people and the activities and did not hesitate to go above and beyond the call of duty to help us coordinate hiking, boating, fishing, horseback riding and even ziplining activities. One of our party fell ill and needed some medication and Nancy had it to us in a matter of minutes. I can't say enough about the Majestic, will recommend it to all of my friends and can't wait to go back!!!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Nancy and The Majestic were outstanding à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le mars 31, 2013

Nancy and the crew of the Majestic were super. The grounds were beautiful and excursions were fabulous. Nancy had connections with all sorts of fab activities. Juan and Magdalini (prob spelled that wrong) were great. The resident dog "Sayso" was a huge hit with our younger son. The stories that will be told about the trip to the La Fortuna area will be something my children will talk about for years. Thank you...Renee P and family

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Exceptional à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le mars 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The staff is excellent. Very conscientious and friendly they couldn't do enough for our comfort. Very clean and excellent food. Will visit again soon. Thank you for a memorable experience. Will recommend to all our family and friends.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Highly Recommended à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

4,8 Dernier avis le janvier 03, 2013

Perfect combination of luxury and local charm - usually we have found one at the expense of the other, so we were thrilled to have both here. The place is simply beautiful, with great views of the volcano and Arenal lake. The craftsmanship of the lodge lends to the overall sense of luxury springing from the site - domestic wood species used throughout with beautiful details lend warmth and enhance the overall sense of comfort. Take the horseback ride to the falls - truly an "off the beaten path" experience that lets you see panoramic views of the lake and volcano as well as the jungle flora and fauna. The zip line and other more common attractions are close, while you can still enjoy the serenity at the lodge. This place is exactly as billed; no reason to stay anywhere else.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Breathtaking and Private à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le décembre 17, 2012

My parents and I stayed at the Majestic Lodge last week and we were nothing but thrilled with our decision. From the moment we arrived, Nancy treated us like old friends. She works tirelessly to ensure her guests satisfaction - she booked our outings, gave us advice on the best tours, and shared her own Costa Rican experiences with us. If that wasn't enough, we were thoroughly impressed by the beauty and solitude of the location. Every window of the house has an incredible view of Lake Arenal, Arenal Volcano, or the surrounding mountains. The staff keeps the place ridiculously clean and tidy. Highly recommend staying here. Secluded, stunning, and well-managed. 5 stars; 2 thumbs up; whatever it takes - stay here!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Our Vacation à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le décembre 01, 2012

What a great place to stay. We happened upon this place and were blown away. The facilities and decor were magnificent. And the weekend we were there they opened Howlers, a small Bar & Grille next door. What a party! The place was packed, and had live music and dancing. Although the menu was very limited the food was great. Best fries I ever had, and a cheeseburger that would have made Jimmy Buffet proud. This place is owned and operated by americans who have all been there over 5 years. And the real value of that was when my girlfriend had a disk problem with her back. Nan, the concierge, with a couple of phone calls was able to get her prescription refilled within minutes. It totally saved our trip as she was bedridden due to the pain. I gave they place 5 stars, and they totally deserve it.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Simply Amazing à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 28, 2012

Our 7 day stay at the Majestic Lodge was simply amazing! The moment we arrived we were welcomed by a friendly staff who made us feel very much at home. The name "Majestic" truly captures the feeling of the B&B. From the attention to detail and quality of the architecture and decor, cleanliness, amazing views of the lake, volcano and rain forest, and the private setting that gives you the sense of "getting away from it all"...it truly lives up to its name. The convenient location near La Fortuna was perfect for adventures of white water rafting, hiking, zip lining, and horse back riding. The staff even arranged for the horses to pick us up at the house for a beautiful ride through the forest to swim at the waterfall. We also enjoyed relaxing evenings on the deck watching beautiful sunsets while listening to the monkeys settle-in for the night, and leisurely strolls along the shore of Lake Arenal. We chose to have our meals with the locals in El Castillo and La Fortuna to get a taste of Tico culture and, therefore, cannot rate the dining experience at the Lodge. However, our local dining experience was outstanding! We can't wait to visit again!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Best Stay Ever à Birdsong Villa Arenal (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

4,8 Dernier avis le novembre 15, 2012

This was the best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at. The view was amazing, breathtaking, and beautiful. It was comfortable and quiet. I loved the shower!! It is in a key location right near zip-lining, hot springs, hiking trails and shopping areas. Allan was an amazing host and provided information about everything we asked. There is nothing better than waking up and seeing the clouds over the volcano...marvelous!!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Paradise à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 02, 2012

I stayed at the Majestic Lodge last year and I am already planning my return trip. When I first visited La Fortuna, I knew that I would have five days of hiking, zip lining, horseback riding and visiting the hot springs but what came as my greatest surprise was the Majestic. It is a beautiful inn that has an amazing view of Arenal and simply allows you to feel like you are on vacation. The staff is incredibly kind and accommodating and it is conveniently located so that it is easy travel to local destinations. Even though there I loved all of the activities that La Fortuna had to offer, my favorite memory from my trip was enjoying the hot tub and pool at The Majestic.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Welcome to Paradise! à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 29, 2012

We arrived at Majestic Lodge and found the view of the Lake and Arenal Volcano breathtaking. We settled into our rooms and could not help but notice all the attention to detail and a decor that was so unique and warm. Nothing here was ordinary. The staff were polite, helpful and able to provide us with amazing, fresh tica (local) food that left us wanting to just move in and stay! There was more to do in the area than we could fit into our week and much of it close to the Lodge. The deck where we enjoyed our meals afforded a panoramic view of the Volcano and the hot tub was a great place to relax after a busy day of zip lining, hiking, horseback riding, and sightseeing. We would definitely return to Majestic. We feel like we made some special friends there and highly recommend it!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A place I will go Back to soon à Cabina Arsol (Alajuela, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 28, 2012

We were amased at what a bargan we got for the 2 of us. All are meals were included, The room had a great bed, The place was right in town, and the owners were great. Thanks

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Maravilloso! à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 26, 2012

Es un lugar espectacular, las vistas y paz que reflejan ese lugar son sencillamente maravillosos. Es como estar en mi casa de retiro, aun cuando no la tengo. Maravilloso

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Spectacular views with perfect accommodations à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 25, 2012

My friend told me about the Majestic Lodge tucked away in the city of El Castillo near the Arenal volcano, Arenal lake and national forest. Holding true to it's name the Majestic is more than I could ever began to imagine, the staff was always very attentive,pleasant making sure our stay was perfect and Nan made our stay even more enjoyable arranging tours with the zip-line, horseback riding,and nature walks. If you have the opportunity to visit Costa Rica you should definitely make your plans to stay at the majestic you will not be disappointed. I have decided to make a return trip after the New Year with both my son's and their families so they can experience the beautiful accommodations of the Majestic lodge and all the fun and exciting things to do in the surrounding city of El Castillo. I Sincerely thank Nan and her staff by giving them the 5 star rating they earned and deserve!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


The truly Majestic Lodge à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 25, 2012

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place! This house is beautifully appointed with personal touches and fine craftsmanship throughout. We practically lived outside on the huge "porch" with the pool and lounge area during the entire vacation. The photos don't do justice to how beautiful the home and setting are; quite magnificent! The view of the volcano and lake are breathtaking. We visited with our two college-age sons and enjoyed hiking through the rainforest and zip-lining nearby. We made trips to town to the hot springs on a few days, then back to the house for massages, which were wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helped us with any requests we had, including delicious breakfasts. This was a vacation lacking in the typical commercialism, but rather filled with the local flavor of the people and landscape, and one of our most memorable vacations ever.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


What a place!!! à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 21, 2012

Had the good fortune to stay at the Majestic on the recommendation of some expats in April ('12). We're a late-20s couple that has traveled extensively and the the Majestic might be our favorite getaway. We planned three days but ended up skipping the beach to stay longer. This lodge is just off the beaten path - away from the tour buses of Fortuna but still convenient to hiking, zip lines, great restaurants, and the hot springs. Photos don't do it justice. Easily the best views of Arenal we came across. We spent hours relaxing the outdoor pool/hot tub and then on the deck admiring the view. Great place to sit for breakfast or for a drink at the outdoor bar. The woodwork and stonework at the lodge is impressive to say the least. Someone spent a lot of time perfecting every detail. We had many of our meals at the lodge. Food is great and the staff is friendly helpful. They helped us arrange a horseback tour through the backcountry to secluded waterfalls - didn't see another tourist for the full 6 hours (and the pice was right!!!). What else can I say?

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A great find right in town à Cabina Arsol (Alajuela, Costa Rica)

4,8 Dernier avis le octobre 19, 2012

I'm a vegetarian so when I travel, finding the right food can be an issue. I found this place online run by a local family living in town. So when I went to Costa Rica which has always been on my list of go to places, I gave it a try and am glad I did. The owners Barry and Sylvia made sure I never felt like a tourist. I got a nice, clean room which actually had a view of a volcano off the balcony. They have a little vegetarian cafe right there on the property and prepared plenty of food along with fresh juices and smoothies. I didn't need to worry about a thing. Costa Rica is really beautiful and there are tours for everything. Barry made arrangements for me he is really knowledgable and am sure he saved me some money. Thanks to both my hosts I had a great time. Alanna K

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


We got a lot More then Breakfast at this place à Cabina Arsol (Alajuela, Costa Rica)

4,8 Dernier avis le octobre 12, 2012

Very eclectic place, with murals on the walls and cat themes around the hotel. our room have a direct view of the Volano Arenal. We were able to walk to the ack in La Foruna, just a few blocks away. The owners were very nice and helped us get so great tours at a good price. The Food was superb and the juice and coffee drinks were the best. Had a great stay there. Highly recomend it.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Elegance and Tranquility in the tropical rainforest!! à The Majestic Lodge (La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 01, 2012

After staying in this beautiful Villa, my husband and I knew that we had just found paradise! This gorgeous place had all of the comforts of home and the caretakers were exceptional! We stayed here for one week several years ago and vowed that we would someday move to El Castillo. There was so much to do and it was all right there. We ziplined, white water rafted, went to the waterfall on horseback and had many nice meals in this small little village. We met friends that we knew we have a lifetime! It wasn't so long after this encounter, that we moved to El Castillo and built our own home. We now live happily ever after in what we call Paradise!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


An easy place to relax, enjoy good food and get to know some local people à Cabina Arsol (Alajuela, Costa Rica)

4,6 Dernier avis le septembre 30, 2012

We've traveled quite a bit in the past and when we get the time now we like to get off the beaten path and enjoy some time with local people. We stayed right in the town of La Fortuna at a little B&B called los tres gatos with the volcano a few blocks away. Our hosts Barry and Sylvia were fun to be with and made us feel right at home. They prepared plenty of food in their own cafe which was suprisingly good. There's plenty to do, and for us the natural springs were a hilight. Our room was a bit smaller than expected but clean and tasteful. A place that could maybe use an upgrade here or there but not enough to take away from the experience. All in all a great stay

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


great food, great location in town à Cabina Arsol (Alajuela, Costa Rica)

4,6 Dernier avis le septembre 29, 2012

The three cats had a unique flavor, with a cat theme, and a cool coffee bar right there, where we got to know the owners who gave us great advice on where to go for tours. Are room was not real ancy, but it did the trick for us for a good nights sleep. The food and drinks were excellent, we hated to leave. Thanks, Bob and Cindy

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


what a unique place, would go back for sure.... à Cabina Arsol (Alajuela, Costa Rica)

4,4 Dernier avis le septembre 20, 2012

My wife and I had the greatest time eating Vegetarian food, and exploring the town of La Fortuna, where the Tres Gatos was located. right in the center of Town. Besides from the great location, The room had a Volcano View from the balcony in front of our room, and you could Bird watch from the back balcony, that was cool. The room also hade original art work by the owner Silvia. Her and Barry showed us around, and took us to a Hot springs in the afternoon. I can not wait to get back, The food was very good, all you wanted, and fresh juices too. We got a real value, because we did not have to go any where to eat, that saved a lot of time and money. Thanks. we loved it

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


The real deal à Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat (San Carlos de La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

4,8 Dernier avis le septembre 14, 2009

Staying at Leaves and Lizards was a great experience for my family. Steve, Debbie and their staff treated us like family and made our stay so carefree and enjoyable. The Monkey cabin was clean and had a great view of the volcano. Unwinding on the balcony at the end of each day was fantastic. The sounds of countess birds, the howling of monkeys and the breathtaking sunsets where incredible. The horseback ride through the forest and to the waterfall was like a mini expidition. My kids loved the swim in the waterfall and our guides Enrique and Chito where very knowledgable and friendly. Dinner with Steve and Debbie and the other guests was like being at a family get together. The food and conversation was great. The zip line and tico farm tours where a blast and an unforgetable experience for my family. The kids got a chance to milk the cow and also played with Miss Piggy's baby pigglets. I couldnt have asked for better vacation with my family. Learning about the environment, wildlife, and the Costa Rican culture was unlike any other vacation experience myself and my family have had in the past. I know my kids will never forget our trip to Costa Rica and all the great experiences we shared together. Thanks Steve and Debbie!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Didn't want to leave à Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat (San Carlos de La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 12, 2009

My husband and I were overwhelmed by the scenery. Birds, flowers and so much wildlife. We loved rafting down the river and the view of the sunset and the volcano from our cabin was the best.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A week in paradise à Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat (San Carlos de La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 10, 2009

I have stayed at Leaves & Lizards twice and plan to return in a few months. Stayed in a cabin once and Heliconia House once. Will stay in Heliconia House again when I return. This place is incredible! The hosts treat you like family. They are dedicated to eco tourism, and returning the land to nature. Both Deb and Steve are very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna, and are dedicated birders as well. They will arrange activities for you that suit your needs, abilities and interests (kids included). All their guides are superb. They are all trained in eco tourism and provide a wealth of knowledge about Costa Rica. Mireya, the chef, provides wonderful meals. If you want to be pampered and coddled this isn't the place for you. But if you want to experience Costa Rica and nature at its best, and learn a great deal in the process, try Leaves and Lizards. If you're not adventurous you can just sit on the covered porches and admire the incredible view of an active volcano while watching for toucans, parrots, and other exotics. It's addictive. You can't just go once.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


great experience à Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat (San Carlos de La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

4,4 Dernier avis le septembre 10, 2009

This bed and breakfast offers authentic Costa Rican food and culture. The views of the volcano are second to none. Steve, Debbie and their staff provide their guests with outstanding personal service. I highly recommend Leaves and Lizards.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A Week In Paradise à Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat (San Carlos de La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 10, 2009

Staying at Leaves and Lizards on our first visit to Costa Rica was like escaping to paradise. Debbie and Steve have created a wonderful haven where you can get away from your hectic routine and either just relax on your porch that offers a fantastic view of Volcan Arenal or experience adventures that range from horseback rides to a private waterfall/swimming area to an all-day pontoon boat birding trip on the Rio Frio in the Cano Negro preserve. Leaves and Lizards is a great destination for people of all ages and ranges of physical ability. For those interested in birds, one need go no further than the patio of the main house. From there we saw everything from Chestnut Mandibled Toucans to Passerini's Tanagers, to Yellow-crowned Euphonia. From our front porch, we saw Crested Guan, Crimson-collared Tanager, and Montezuma Oropendola. Debbie and Steve are gracious hosts who want each visitor to have the best experience possible. Their staff is friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. And Enrique, our guide while we were there, is not only extremely knowledgable about the flora and fauna of Costa Rica but also easy-going, funny, and a great person to spend time with. We enjoyed our time at Leaves and Lizards so much that we can't wait to go back for a longer visit!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Beauty by Arenal Volcano à Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat (San Carlos de La Fortuna, Costa Rica)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 09, 2009

I stayed in the monkey cabin with my husband and 2 children ages 8 and 11. We loved the view of the volcano, it was out for most of the time we were there! Nothing can beat the sunset from the porch... hanging from the hammock swings and enjoying the sound of the hummingbirds! My kids had a lot of fun playing with their dogs, Sam and Clyde. We also all learned to horseback ride and went on our first adventure which was a horseback ride to a private waterfall!! We swam and cooled off in the refreshing water and we even got to go behind the waterfall! A trip to Costa Rica is not complete without staying at Leaves and Lizards!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Haut
}