The Gables Inn - Sausalito Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,0
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
55 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Sausalito

3,2 sur décembre 09, 2014

Service was great. Rooms were ok based on cost.


Thoroughly enjoyable

4,2 sur décembre 02, 2014

Location lovely; accommodation first class; and staff could not have been been more friendly or more helpful. Highly recommended.


Simple the best

4,6 sur novembre 21, 2014

We returned to the gables inn after 5 years,it's still the best. Michael and his team cannot be faulted. I wish they had a establishment in the Uk. Keith & Janice (uk)


Great Two Days at the Gables Inn

4,6 sur novembre 17, 2014

We found this little gem via a bit of roaming on the inter-web. Easy walk to main street. And, the room looked just like the online pics, and had a great view of San Fran. We will definitely be back.


Perfect location

4,0 sur novembre 17, 2014

The inn is set in the perfect location for not only exploring the town, but also the surrounding area. Friendly staff made our stay most pleasant.


Perfect getaway spot!

5 sur novembre 12, 2014

This place was located within walking distance to everywhere we needed to get. The employees were extremely helpful, cluing us in to things only locals would know. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to escape for a little bit!


Outstanding - great place to stay!

4,6 sur novembre 02, 2014

We totally enjoyed our two night stay at the Gables and only wish we had planned to stay there longer on this trip! Great location, great rooms and probably the best "common" areas of any B&B we've stayed in. The fine point on an outstanding stay was Missy, the host on duty during our stay. The Innkeeper could not ask for a better representative - she treated every guest as if they were personal friend staying in her own inn. She made a perfect Inn even better!


Great Stay!

5 sur novembre 01, 2014

Everything was exceptional, Jennifer our contact at the Inn was very helpful and treated us with the utmost professionalism. Thank you for the opportunity to stay at this very classy B & B.


Wifi was very weak

4,6 sur octobre 27, 2014

Everything was great but the wifi was absolutely terrible. The first night it seemed to conk out at 11 pm. The last morning I tried multiple places in the building with the same bad luck. I was there for work, not tourism, so if you do not cater to business class then you should say that. If you do, then your wifi needs a serious upgrade.


Schoene Tage in San Francisco

4,2 sur octobre 20, 2014

Wir verbrachten 3 Naechte im Gables Inn. Die Zimmer waren grosszuegig und schoen eingerichtet. Die Lage des Hotels ist sehr guenstig, man erreicht auf kurzem Weg die Faehren und den Bus nach San Francisco. Das Fruehstueck fanden wir sehr gut, eines der besten auf unserer 3 wöchigen Reise.


One day in Sausalito

4,2 sur octobre 19, 2014

I would have given this room experience a 5 star as well, but it was just too warm while we were there. We were provided a room fan, but a ceiling fan would have worked miracles, with the tall ceilings.. Lovely place though and great location.


Nice Stay In the Willow Room

3,8 sur octobre 11, 2014

We did a short trip to Sausalito and stayed in the Willow Room at The Gables Inn. The room was very roomy and charming. We could see the San Francisco skyline from our balcony. Not a totally unobstructed view but, it was quiet and peaceful. The bed was comfortable and they offer free wifi and direct TV with multiple HBO channels. Despite some stains on the carpet and the chaise lounge, the room felt clean. The shower handle in the tub really needs to be replaced. It took some effort to put it in shower mode. The sink area is a little bit on the small size and we had to use a piece of plastic to keep the drain plug up. However, none of these things kept us from enjoying our stay. The room included a Keurig coffee machine with a selection of coffees and teas along with a "honor" bar with bottles of wine and snacks. There is no fridge but, there is an ice machine downstairs. The lobby offers coffee, tea, and fruit at all times. The complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon was very nice while the continental breakfast was more than satisfying. The parking lot is small but, as long you don't bring your SUV, you'll be fine. Parking is $20 a night but, that is low compared to anyplace you stay in SF. The staff at the Inn were very friendly and helpful, particularly if you need advice on places to visit. We are fine just walking around Sausalito which is about a 30 second walk to the main drag. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.


Relaxing and Scenic Getaway

4,4 sur septembre 25, 2014

We stayed in Room 201 and it was beautiful! Aside from being a little stuffy, the room was great. Sissy was very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was delicious and the wine & cheese hour was quite the spread. It was a nice time to mingle with other guests and trade stories. For us the best part about the Inn was its proximity to downtown! I would recommend paying the little extra for a room with an ocean view.


Great location for weekend getaway

4,2 sur septembre 25, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Wonderful location.


Classy Place for a Value

4,0 sur septembre 19, 2014

The Gables Inn was much nicer than I expected. A similarly priced hotel I stayed at in the city was not nearly as nice as The Gables Inn. If I ever visit the area again I will definitely be staying here and I will be recommending it for friends and family who visit the area.


Outstanding view

4,0 sur septembre 16, 2014

Celebrated a birthday at The Gables Inn so reserved one of the larger suites. Absolutely beautiful view of San Francisco Bay. We watched the fog roll in and the moon rise over Angel Island. The inn is right in the heart of Sausalito so we could easily walk to restaurants and shopping, or just strolling along the waterfront. Only issue was all the stairs leading up to the top floor, with no elevator. Not a problem for us as we travel light, and the desk clerk offered to help. But could be a problem for people who travel with a lot of luggage - another reason to pack light! I wouldn't have missed the view for anything. Parking lot is tight, but at least they have one, but you do pay extra. Evening wine and cheese reception in lobby was very nice.


Wonderful Labor Day

4,0 sur septembre 06, 2014

Lovely to place to stay while in Sausalito. Right downtown, so very convenient. Great breakfast and lovely afternoon wine and cheese spread. HUGE bath towels. Couldn't ask for more.


Gables Review

4,0 sur août 31, 2014

Everything was fine except the view from basement window was another building about two feet away.


Relaxation in Sausalito

4,0 sur août 29, 2014

The Gables is located in downtown Sausalito close to the bay, restaurants and shops. It is a lovely Inn with lots of flowers climbing and winding around the various levels of the establishment. For being in the heart of town it was surprisingly quiet and peaceful. The breakfast offered everything I like and the fresh fruit was varied and delicious! I enjoyed walking around Sausalito and discovered an outdoor concert by the bay that was so enjoyable. My purpose for the visit was a high school reunion. I didn't have time to book a salon appointment prior to my visit. Staff from the Gables were able to get an appointment, on very short notice, for a haircut, mani & pedi for me. The salon staff were so attentive and I left feeling pampered and relaxed for my reunion. The only drawback on this stay was outside my room is a water feature at a merchant and the noise from the water feature was sometimes relaxing, but also woke me at night. I'm sure many people wouldn't notice it at all, but it did bother me some of the time. The downstairs rooms do not have views and next time I'd like to stay in a view room. Unfortunately they were already reserved when I made my reservation. I had a lovely stay at The Gables!


Great view!

4,8 sur août 18, 2014

Loved having a balcony with a view! Very quiet yet so close to all the shops and restaurants, etc. We had a great time!


Great B&B Stay

4,8 sur août 15, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights at the Gables. Wonderful B&B. Comfortable, large, clean room with a huge bathroom. Quiet. Nightly wine and cheese and breakfast with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, rolls, etc.. Friendly, informative, efficient staff. Conveniently located for all the attractions and restaurants in Sausalito. Parking is a little tight and tricky, but workable. We really enjoyed our stay.


Great Stay!!!

4,2 sur août 14, 2014

My wife and I married a few days before our stay. Upon arrival, we were shown to our room and presented with a bottle of champagne on ice! The location was fantastic. We were able to walk to restaurants, parks, and a ferry that would take us to San Francisco. Views of the city and bay were good, but a little obstructed by the buildings in the vicinity. Bed - great...clean sheets comfortable mattress and pillows. Bathroom - nice and big, however, the fixtures on the tub/shower need a little TLC, I am nit picking of course. Overall, this was a great stay for a pretty good price. We will definitely be back!


Wonderful Getaway

4,0 sur août 12, 2014

The Gables Inn is unique in it's location and charm. A short walk from the main road in Sausalito, it offers a wonderful respite from the weekend crowds. It will be my first choice upon returning to Sausalito. The staff is warm and welcoming... and the room was cozy and quiet. I am already looking forward to my next visit.


We loved this place

4,6 sur août 06, 2014

Just like home, only much nicer. The Willow Room has a balcony with a partial view of San Francisco. We spent two nights which was not enough. The complimentary afternoon wine/cheese/fruit was elaborate, very good quality cheeses. The breakfast selection was perfect - not some extensive buffet, just enough good quality items. The location is ideal - a half-block up the hill from Bridgeway (but not on Bridgeway). Can't wait to return and stay longer.


Nice, Homey, & Quiet w/ Great Breakfast

4,8 sur juillet 25, 2014

Everybody who worked the front desk was extremely helpful - pointed us in the right direction for whatever bizarre requests we had (cigar shop, organic grocery store, cheap sourdough sandwiches, etc.). I would recommend this B&B to anyone. And the complimentary breakfast was FANTASTIC - very generous amount & variety every day. Plus there is a "wine & cheese" happy hour. We had a very high quality of life during our stay that weekend!


July visit

4,2 sur juillet 19, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the Inn. The lower priced room fit into our budget best so we were in the Maple Room. The room was lovely. The entire inn is beautifully decorated. So warm. Sissy was on the desk the nights we stayed. She was so friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was outstanding with a beautiful presentation of fruits, cereals, pastrys, hard boiled eggs and more. We especially enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evening. We liked the Gables Inn so much that we booked it for our next visit to Sausalito, canceling a reservation we had made at another hotel.


Simply Amazing!!

5 sur juillet 11, 2014

Though it was only an over nighter, the stay was wonderful. I traveled with my wife and two daughters. Our room was ready when we arrived and we enjoyed some evening wine, cheese, and treats prior to visiting Sausalito. Breakfast was the best!! Our service was first class all the way. We'd return in a heart beat!!


Best B&B in CA!!!

5 sur juillet 02, 2014

The entire stay was beyond great! The rooms were superb& breakfast each day was healthy and fresh! The staff was so friendly and most helpful! We will be booking again in 2015!


Short Stay: worth a second trip

4,0 sur juin 30, 2014

We stayed only one night -- 12 hours, actually, due to late check-in -- but would come again. Lilac Room was very comfortable, spacious, clean, and had an East-facing balcony with a partial view of the Bay; perfect for breakfast in the morning sun. "Continental breakast" was much better than the usual; excellent fresh fruit, juices and a nice selection of fresh pastries and muffins. Short walk to the waterfront and main street in Sausalito. Good base for heading north to wine country, along the coast or to Muir Woods.


Excellent experience!

5 sur juin 27, 2014

We stayed in the Bay View room and were not disappointed. The building is old, but the proprietors have done a great job making the place a very comfortable facility.


easy place to stay in Sausalito

3,2 sur juin 27, 2014

Nice place to stay. Very close to everything in Sausalito. We stayed in the room with the street view - I wouldn't recommend it for anyone that wants to sleep in. Lots of street noise. The window basically backs up to the sidewalk and you can hear people talking as they walk outside your room. The clawfoot tub was cute but seems dangerous. Very difficult to shower in. Overall a pleasant place with great customer service.


Ireland 18a Holywood

4,6 sur juin 26, 2014

Fantastic hotel and real friendly people, they could not have been more helpful and friendly. Plenty of info and help for anything you wish to do. Lovely ambience and superb breakfast and wine and cheese. Very good location to lovely Sausalito and ferry to San. Fran. Would highly recommend.


Perfect!

5 sur juin 05, 2014

I absolutely loved staying here. The wine & cheese in the evening was a great touch, and the continental breakfast was delicious. The room we stayed in was very charming and the staff were incredibly friendly. I did not want to leave! I would definitely like to come back.


Like staying with friends.

4,4 sur juin 03, 2014

Our hosts were genuinely caring and helpful. The continental breakfast was as good as we would serve ourselves at home. The wine and cheese served before we would go out for dinner was just the finest of Bay Area hospitality and very much appreciated.


Cypress Room at Gables Inn

4,6 sur mai 23, 2014

Our 2 nights here were WONDERFUL! Our room and patio were lovely. The staff was very, very cheerful and helpful. Breakfasts were amazing. My only "complaint" is that I wish the afternoon wine & cheese started earlier, i.e. 4:30pm since we like to eat dinner early, around 5:30-6:30pm. I gave the room a 4 instead of 5, only because the smell of candles' scent that were burning in the lobby wafted into our room and at night it was a bit too strong. But we hope to be back and will recommend this inn to others.


Very Pleasant

3,6 sur mai 22, 2014

Stayed in the Bay Room which offers a stunning view of the San Francisco Bay, Alcatraz and the SF skyline. You cannot see the GG Bridge from here and there are some power lines in the sight-lines that can be a minor distraction, but having your own private view is quite enjoyable. There is no A/C but this should not present an issue on most days, but if your traveling here when the forecast is warm you may want to think about somewhere else. Room made it to 75 degrees--open the windows and turn on supplied fans in the evening and it should cool off quickly. No elevators, so you should also be prepared to walk up two flight of stairs. In walking distance to most every major attraction in Salusalito. Room was very clean and staff was friendly. The wine tasting in the early evening was very nice and the continental breakfast was as expected with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, bread & bagels, and other products--not a hot breakfast though so do not expect that. Bed was very comfortable and room is spacious. Overall our stay was very enjoyable, you are paying for the view (and location) and we enjoyed the view very much both in the morning with breakfast and the evening watching the city light up. Perhaps a bit of a high price for what you get but still quite pleased.


Gorgeous room, spectacular view, attentive & incredibly helpful staff!

5 sur mai 20, 2014

Booked this room as a last minute getaway. I called the office a couple of times with questions prior to booking; the staff were genuinely pleasant and really helpful. The room was very clean, the whole building smelled wonderful! Not overwhelming, and not a spray can of scent. We are sensitive to perfumes and sprays and incense, but this was a perfect balance of clean air, fresh flowers, and maybe a nice scented candle here and there. Not overwhelming at all. We arrived for checkin just after their wine and cheese "happy hour" ended, but were still very graciously invited to come downstairs for wine and cheese. The front office staff were not only pleasant but incredibly accommodating, and saw to it that every one of our needs were met. They exceeded our expectations by a mile. Next time we will book for the whole weekend instead of just one night!


Luxury in Sausalito

5 sur avril 27, 2014

our room had a beautiful view and was very very comfortable and the wine and cheese offered was wonderful and relaxing and we enjoyed our stay at The Gables Inn and highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Sausalito!!


truly charming

4,6 sur avril 22, 2014

We've stayed here several times and love it every time. The front desk staff is helpful, personable, and knowledgeable and our all time favorite is Sissy! The romantic rooms, the views, the cheese/wine in the evening, all of it is just right. A short stroll to restaurants, shops, and of course the Bay. Our room had a view of Alcatraz, San Francisco, and the Bay bridge. Fabulous! We love it.


Gables Inn

3,2 sur avril 19, 2014

My concierge was very welcoming! I really appreciated the spacious room and beautiful view of the bay! The parking was very tight though, I guess that can't be helped, but I found it difficult to go in-and-out of the tiny lot.


Gables Review

3,2 sur avril 15, 2014

Room was large and had many nice features. Shower was difficult to use. Room needed new carpet


nice stay at gables inn

3,4 sur avril 10, 2014

we had a nice second stay there, though i think they should just add the parking charge on the room rate, it is a little deceiving.


Wonderful stay

4,2 sur février 05, 2014

We rolled in tired and cold. We were immediatly charmed by the location and building and taken care of by the staff. Our room was beautiful, with a stunning view of San Francisco and Angel Island, what a sunrise! We would reccommend the Gables Inn to any one.


Great Stay

5 sur juillet 29, 2013

Super value for the money! Lovely atmosphere. Clean as a whistle.


A Gem!

4,6 sur juillet 05, 2013

This is a wonderful Inn and a perfect location we will come back again! The free wine and cheese in the evening should not be missed it was fantastic and the breakfast was also nice. Free wifi and parking is only $20, they do not nickle and dime you at all. Bear claw tubs a bit of a shower challenge, we could only laugh!


We loved it here!

4,4 sur juin 05, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the inn and the location. It is very close to the main street in Sausalito but is very quiet. The room we had was the Redwood and it was spacious and the bathroom layout was great. I love when the sink is outside of the toilet/bathtub room, but it was still in a separate room from the bedroom. The morning breakfast, while "continental" was extensive with plenty of food to choose from including lots of fresh fruit. Staff was friendly and helpful. I'm so glad we stayed here in Sausalito rather than the hectic city of San Francisco. It was peaceful and so pleasant. We highly recommend staying here!


excellent in every respect

5 sur mars 22, 2012

Nils and Monika


great bay area location

4,6 sur janvier 10, 2012

Beautiful, clean, well appointed room in great location. Near the fun shops in Sausalito and just a few steps away from the ferry to San Francisco. Breakfast includes many choices and the evening wine and cheese is delightful. We will definitely return.


One night stay

4,2 sur mai 01, 2011

Had a wonderful time. I lost my watch and you returned it. Thank you!


FIRST CLASS, FROM ARRIVAL TO DEPARTURE!

5 sur février 07, 2011

My wife and I recently celebrated our 30th Anniversary while staying at The Gables Inn. We wanted it to be a special time where we could enjoy the beauty of the Bay area (we live in NC) without being swallowed up by the noisiness of a big city. Sausalito ended up being just what the doctor ordered, and The Gables Inn was absolutely perfect in almost every way possible (it was our first stay there). #1, the service was superb, from the caring and conscientious owners (who were involved on a daily basis), to each of the staff responsible for food service, room service, front desk, or the concierge function. We were made to feel like royalty with every interaction. #2, the value of what we paid for and what we received in terms of comfort, ambiance, convenience and enjoyment was easily a 5 star experience - far beyond our expectations. The wine and cheese hour each night was especially wonderful - a chance to have casual yet meaningful conversation with staff and guests. #3, the location of the Inn was ideal, a 45 second walk down to the quaint shops of Sausalito, which included numerous quality restaurants overlooking the Bay Bridge/SF skyline/Golden Gate Bridge, and a 3 minute walk to the dock to catch the ferry ride over to San Francisco (which we had seen on the internet as being voted the 2nd most beautiful ferry ride in the world, second only to one in Hong Kong). Plus it is such easy access to the wine country. #4, our room was spacious (the Redwood), the fireplace in the room (and in the lobby) was a welcome warmth in the mornings and evenings, and the balcony leading from the lobby to our room was lined with flowering bushes and potted plants in bloom (in January!). It was romantic and inspiring. So THANK YOU, DANIEL AND MICHELLE and STAFF, for helping make our 30th Anniversary getaway so unforgettably memorable!!


A wonderful getaway in Sausalito

4,4 sur mai 02, 2010

What a lovely getaway. I was visiting several family members in the bay area and just needed some time to myself. The inn is beautiful and the staff very helpful. I sat at the patio and had wine and cheese in the evening and breakfast in the morning overlooking the bay. I highly recommend.


Sausalito travel

4,2 sur mars 13, 2010

very nice and clean place; liked the place; parking fee of $15 is unusual for a Bed and Breakfast and is not stated while booking; get a room on 1st level or at least not beneath the breakfast area, otherwise you might awake early; otherwise great place to stay; would come again


The very best

4,6 sur décembre 10, 2008

"The room with a view"-outstanding, spacious, comfortable while not pretentious. Best value of all Inns/B&B in the area.


View of the bay from the room

3,8 sur septembre 23, 2008

Went to sleep looking at the bay - what a view! The beds were outstanding - firm and comfortable! The bathtub was relaxing and calming. Only thing I truly disliked was climbing all those stairs - have bad knees. Would recommend a small refrigerator in the room and an ice machine on the second level. Thank you for such a delicious wine and cheese evening and breakfast!


Best place to stay in Sausalito!

5 sur juin 12, 2007

My 27-year-old daughter and I spent a night at The Gables Inn and loved everything about it. The hospitality is warm and friendly, the rooms are beautifully appointed, excellent views of San Francisco can be seen from rooms in the inn, the amenities are impressive, and the location is perfect. It is the only inn in Sausalito that offers on-site parking at no additonal cost. I recommend The Gables Inn Sausalito for the most discerning traveler.


The Gables Inn - Sausalito

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $135 - $445
  • Avis (55) 4,4
  • Chambres 15
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4152891100
  • Fax 1-4153390536
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8009661554

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut