East Brother Lighthouse Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
120 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A Shangrai La

5 sur janvier 03, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit the lighthouse on more than one occassion and would highly recommend the facilities for a perfect romantic get away or just a relaxing excursion. Dina's meal are always wonderful and use the freshest of the fruits and vegetables available. A gourmet experience. Peter and Dina arew so very accomondating and make the entire stay enjoyable.


The Best B&B Experience We Have Ever Had

5 sur décembre 23, 2011

I have always wanted to stay in a light house. I had high expectations of how it would be. It exceeded my wildest expectations! Peter and Dina are fantastic hosts. Peter sat with us by the fire burning in the stove and told us all about the history of the East Brother Light Station. The ambiance of the common areas and the rooms took me back in time as if we were living in those times. There are old pictures all around that show what it was like back in the hay day of light houses. There's plenty of reading material for those that love to study light house history. Dina is young and beautiful and a fantastic cook. She along with Peter as our server made our dining experience unforgettable. The food was great and was presented artistically. We especially liked that she and Peter came out of the kitchen after they served the last course and sat at the table and chatted with us. We felt like we were family and they were welcoming us into their home. We slept in the San Francisco room which had a beautiful view of San Francisco, the San Rafael Bridge, and a distant view of the Bay Bridge. But they let us see all of the rooms and any one of them would have been a good one to stay in. To me the grand finale was when Peter demonstrated the old fog horn. It is still in good working order and he let her rip twice! Bring some extra cash (preferred) to spend in the gift shop. You won't want to leave without something to take with you as a reminder of one of the best B&B's you've ever stayed at. We bought three bags of Dina's homemade granola that she served with breakfast (yes it was that good! We bought some to give away too). She also sells her homemade orange marmalade and cranberry orange marmalade. I’d have to say that if I was only going to rate the overall experience a 9, Peter and Dina bumped it up to a 10. They are part of the experience and it wouldn’t have been the same without them.


Best place ever!!

4,8 sur décembre 19, 2011

Took my boyfriend here. It was romantic, gorgeous and not like any bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at. Worth every penny! I strongly recommend EBLS!


A dream come true!

5 sur décembre 06, 2011

We have been visiting lighthouses for 30 years. I always wanted to stay in one, so we planned this to celebrate our 25th anniversary. This was more than I could have hoped for. The lighthouse is in wonderful restored condition and very clean. The hosts were so friendly and informative. The food was amazing and beautifully presented. Some things were scheduled, such as the island tour and the history of the lighthouse talk with champagne and hors d'oeuvres. We had time to settle in and wander around taking pictures and visit with the other guests. Dinner was served in courses. In the morning my husband and I took our coffee up to the walkway around the lantern room to watch the sun rise and the ships go by. Breakfast was even more enjoyable than dinner. There is a nice gift shop.


Our One Night Stay At EBLS 09/24/11

4,0 sur septembre 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the least expensive room (one day package price of $325 before tax). Captain/Host Peter picked us up right on time at the yacht harbor and gave us a history lesson on EBLS between our arrival time and sparkling wine + hors-d'oeuvres at 5 PM, followed by a fine three-four course dinner served by our co-host, Dina, and accompanied by two very reasonable wines. We enjoyed viewing the birds and seals on West Brother Island, about 75-100 meters away, a wide variety of passing ships (sail boats, high speed ferries, barges, refined petroleum product tankers, etc.) and had great views of the Richmond-San Rafael Bridge about three miles to the south. We could also see the skyline of San Francisco and the western span of the Bay Bridge, about 11 miles away. We got up a few minutes before sunrise to take some more photos and movies of EBLS and its surroundings. Sunday morning we had a satisfying full breakfast -- eggs with herbs, ham, homemade muffins, fruit cup, yogurt, home made granola, two kinds of juice, two kinds of homemade jam, coffees and teas, both meals being served family style. Homemade chocolate chip cookies were in a big jar for anyone still hungry after dinner. After breakfast, Peter activated the original two-tone fog horn for the guests -- very impressive! -- and gave us a tour of the separate building housing the antique fog horns. We climbed to the top of the lighthouse structure itself (the light operates at night of course) several times. We had a very enjoyable stay that was well worth it for the fixed one night price we paid when everything that the charge covered was taken into account. I was a ship driver and diver as an officer the service some 40 years ago, so I got a special kick out of my stay at EBLS, but I think anyone who thinks s/he might be interested in staying at EBLS will end up having a great time.


Peace in a World of its own

4,6 sur septembre 13, 2011

I was very impressed with the over all experience of spending the night at a light house. The knowledge and history that I gathered through listing to Peter as he took me back in time with vivid descriptions of what earlier settlers would have to do to keep the lighthouse functional. I brought my wife Leana as part of her Birthday get away. Upon arrival to the island once settled into our room (Walters Quarters). Peter served us champagne (great quality). Dina served a delicious dinner I must rate with 5 stars... The timing between serving different portions was excellent. We were not under severed at all. At night it is so quite, to be able to roam the island, to travel up to the top of the lighthouse and look out in every direction was priceless, a token of memories to keep for a life time... Early mornings, Wow the fairy Boats and fishermen, as well as ships were breath taking... Watching the fog burn away and the bright sun shine through... Oooh yes I'll be going back. My wife and I enjoyed every moment. My wife said it was the best part of her birthday.


Great close to SF getaway

4,8 sur juillet 11, 2011

This is a great getaway from anywhere in the Bay Area because you don't have to get very far, but you're really away. We had the Marin room, which a great view over a neighboring island (with wildlife) and to Marin in the distance. Great good. Unique place.


East Brother Rocks!

4,4 sur juillet 05, 2011

Outstanding! There is no experience like this ... tiny little island in the middle of nowhere in the middle of everything. You are cloistered, yet in the midst of ships and views. That would be enough, even if you were camping in a tent -- but you're being served champagne and five-star dinner. And, you have a nice fluffy bed and stars and a charming hot breakfast in the morning. Only drawback: no shower if you only stay one night! Ah, who cares. It's a wonderful luxury adventure. Oh, and the semi-creepy drive through the abandoned ghost barracks/pre-Prohibition winery and the waiting at the pirate port-o-call only adds to the adventure. Just don't bring your low-slung sports car, people!


A little bit of heaven

4,6 sur mai 07, 2011

Wow. This is a true bed and breakfast away from it all. Wine, appetizers, dinner, and breakfast were all amazing. The rooms and history were a delight, but nothing can outdue the peacefule surrounding scene. The hosts, Dina and Peter, are fun-loving people and truly giving in exceeding your expectations! Don't miss this while in the San Francisco area!


Loved it!

5 sur mai 02, 2011

A group of 10 of us rented out all of the rooms for a Saturday night at East Brothers Lighthouse. I loved staying at East Brothers and learning the history of the Lighthouse from Peter. Dina is a fabulous cook! Loved the fresh meals from the garden on the grounds, and from the local farmers market. I would most certainly love to return and was disappointed I couldn't stay longer!


A cruise and an Island stay in SF Bay

4,4 sur avril 26, 2011

The B&B is wonderful for someone with a fascination for a historic lighthouse B&B or for a simply romantic stay. The rooms are exceptionally nice and very well maintained, some of the nicest in any B&B's in which we've stayed. As a reminder, the room cost includes dinner for two, as well as the bay cruise boat ride to and from the yacht club dock.


Outstanding Adventure at East Brother

4,4 sur avril 25, 2011

Peter and Dina are your most excellent hosts on this authentic, functioning light station. Peter is a knowledgeable skipper and all-around doer-of-things, while Dina is the chef par excellence. The rooms are neat and clean, the food divine. And the whole experience of staying in a light house is very unique. Most highly recommended!!


gourmet getaway

4,6 sur avril 12, 2011

In addition to being a beautiful setting with fantastic hosts, the food was some of the best I've experienced. I would go for the food alone. Don Yost


Most Relaxing Evening!!

4,8 sur mars 07, 2011

We had a wonderfully relaxing stay at East Brother Lighthouse. You are so close to the hectic cities, yet you feel as if you have stepped into another, easier-going time. The hosts are wonderful and extremely friendly, the food is most excellent, and I enjoyed feeling spoiled for a time!


Great for Lighthouse Buffs

4,2 sur février 25, 2011

It was a wonderful experience to stay in an actual working lighthouse, eat gourmet meals, have a beautiful view, comfortable rooms, wonderful hosts and interesting guests. You are encouraged to go up into the tower and the host Peter fires up the Diaphone foghorn which for a lighthouse buff is wonderful. Although expensive, this is a truly unique Bed and Breakfast!


A great adventure

4,4 sur janvier 08, 2011

I've known about East Brothers for about 25 years and finally made reservations to give it a try. Our host Peter arrived right on time and transported us to the island. The tide was low so we had to climb about 10 feet up a vertical ladder at the dock. Dina was there to meet us. I can't stress enough what a great team they are, personally and professionally. My wife and I were in the West Brother room which provided a great view of the bay and Marin County. The whole trip could not have been better. Yes, it is crisp and windy at times but dress warmly and you won't have a problem. As noted before we had champagne and a selection of cheeses and other delights in the study and got to meet the other guests. The dinner was nothing short of magnificent. Dina is truly an artiste in the kitchen. After dinner you have pretty much complete run of the island including the lighthouse on top which provides a spectacular view. Our bedroom was cozy and warm and the foghorn nearby was no problem at all. We shared a bathroom with a mother and daughter which was not a big deal at all. Breakfast was at 9:00 and, again, was filling and oh so delicious. We had trout for dinner and crepes and eggs for breakfast. Again, Dina outdid herself. She and Peter take their meals very seriously and spend a lot of time visiting markets in the area searching for new items. After breakfast there was more time to relax or explore. After a week of bad weather the skies were crisp and clear. Peter gave a tour of the old fog horn mechanicals and fired up a near century old compressor and blew the old and very loud foghorn. Then it was back on the boat and the adventure came to an end. The whole trip exceeded our expectations and we plan to return and tell everyone about it. Dina and Peter have been there only a month said they'll probably be there about two years. Great place!!


Happy New Year 2011!

4,6 sur janvier 03, 2011

What a terrific way to spend the New Year! How many people can say they brought in a New Year from ATOP a lighthouse with champagne, noisemakers, watching fireworks over San Francisco Bay and new friends!?! Peter even blasted the trumpet diaphone horn bringing in the New Year. WOW! What a wonderful experience. Pete & Dina were incredible hosts- funny, knowledgable, and catering to all our needs. In my opinion, the only drawback was that Dina & Peter couldn't also join us at the dining table and share among the wide variety of stories each of us brought to EBLS. Fortunately even with all the work they had to do to accommodate ten guests, they made time for all of us! In my humble opinion, this adventure is a "must do" for anyone looking for a unique experience at any time of the year.


New Year's Eve at East Brother Light House

4,8 sur janvier 02, 2011

Dina and Peter made this New Year's Eve one to remember. We were pampered from the first minute. The trip over in the boat was an adventure and the meals were spectacular. the champagne was flowing and we went to the top of the lighthouse to see the fireworks from all around the bay area for the New Year. Views are spectacular.


Great Stay at the East Brother Lighthouse

5 sur décembre 17, 2010

A group of nine friends stayed at the lighthouse and we had a wonderful time. It was a great adventure in a truly unique setting. The Inn Keepers, Peter and Dina were wonderful in making us comfortable and the food was outstanding. As a group, we had the whole Inn to ourselves and it was a great way to enjoy good friends in a beautiful setting--and to meet new friends like Dina and Peter. We will certainly return. Jean from San Ramon.


We loved our weekend on the Island!

5 sur novembre 05, 2010

I can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed spending the night on East Brothers Island, and would highly recommend it. What a great and fun experience and terrific people our hosts were - Ed & Ann. The dinner and breakfast was fabulous!!!! Yum!!! The Davidsons


Great getaway

4,4 sur novembre 05, 2010

I was searching for a unique birthday idea for my girlfriend and stumbled upon this. I could not be more happy with how it turned out. Ed and Anne were beyond great innkeepers. The place was kept extremely clean, the tour of the lighthouse and steam horn were extremely informational, and the food was UNBELIEVABLE. Anne is an amazing chef. While the island is not actually far from the mainland you do still get this sense of tranquility when out there. The city skyline is in the distance but you get to relax with some champagne and no worries while on this little island. I highly recommend this experience.


I would recommend this to anyone

4,8 sur novembre 05, 2010

I cannot say enough about East Brother Lighthouse. The food was wonderful, Ed and Ann are intelligent and engaging, the accomodations comfortable. We woke up to a sunrise view of West Brother Island (we stayed in the Marin Room) that appeared to be a floating island of gold. The other 360 degree views were equally spectacular. We will definitely view East Brother again and recommend it to our friends and family. Susan Harris


Best ever hosts, breathtaking views, unforgettable.

4,8 sur novembre 05, 2010

We have lived in the East Bay for 26 years and seen the island and lighthouse hundreds of times from afar. We finally booked a night in Walters quarters - of special interest to us since it is located inside the foghorn building - which is no longer used for that purpose. The building has a great deal of charm, different than the main Lighthouse. We were fascinated by the machinery and generators. The bathroom (which is not shared) is located nearby so we passed by them a few times. It is an engine lovers - and photographers dream. Ed and Ann are amazing, lovely, funny and just incredibly competent. The short boat ride in the sun to the island was fun. The rooms absolutely clean, and the tiny room we stayed in proved cozy and just perfect for us. Not long after arrival we were shown around the main house. The dining room, a parlor with games and books, and lovely guest rooms. A little store with items Ann has ordered. Hors d' oeuvres and champagne were served outside and in no time were all of us 8 guests engaged in lively conversations. Dinner was a 4 course treat, with wonderful wine and a perfect derserts (a hard choice between chocolate mousse and creme brulee. Ann has found a baker who makes baguettes without sugar or honey. The best I have had in a long time!! We were marveling how Ann and Ed were able to put together a gourmet meal like this in such a small - though efficient kitchen. Ed shared stories about life as inn - and lighthouse keeper. A fabulous evening. Breakfast again was marvelous. Excellent coffee and special bread and pastries - again made by Ann. In the little gift shop we found many things to take home. And then it was time to leave. That was the hardest part. We loved the stay, the food, the views. And we really treasured the hosts who worked tirelessly to make our experience unforgettable. Thank you Ann and Ed. We will return. B & M Nelson.


East brothers light review.

4,2 sur novembre 04, 2010

A delightful night, but I wish I was aware that the San Francisco room was the only one really exposed to the foghorn.


Best Lighthouse On Either Coast!

4,6 sur octobre 01, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our 10 year wedding anniversary, and if it wasn't that we live on the East coast, we would be back here every year. We had choices to stay on a similar B&B lighthouses elsewhere, including Canada and Ireland. This one was by far the best choice. Great hosts, fantastic food (not regular home cooked meals but truly gourmet ... dinner and breakfeast), perfect views and just a perfect experience. I little pricey, but it's worth it. Jim and Bernadette


paradise

5 sur septembre 19, 2010

james&kathie Baraona this is the best bed&Breakfast we ever stay at


A Weekend To Remember

4,6 sur septembre 14, 2010

This overnight stay was a surprise to my girlfriend who is a real lighthouse fan. She was as giddy as a school girl and could not get over how neat an experience it was. Ed and Anne were the perfect host and made our stay very memorable. Everything was perfect as was the food and friendship amongst the other guest. Thank you so very much Ed and Anne!


A Unique Experience close to San Francisco

4,4 sur septembre 12, 2010

If you want to feel as though you have truly gotten away from the rat race, stay a night at East Brother Light Station. You will be picked up at a local harbor, wisked over by boat to the island, enjoy afternoon snacks, an elegant dinner, breakfast including croissants, and a demonstration of the island foghorn. Even my husband was delighted. The light station only can accommodate 5 lucky couples per night.


Beautiful Stay

4,4 sur septembre 12, 2010

Great for a lovely, romantic getaway weekend right in the San Francisco Bay. Innkeepers Ed and Anne Witts were wonderful hosts.


A wonderful place to stay

4,2 sur septembre 12, 2010

We had a wonderful time at East Brother Light Station. The food was delicious- hors d'oeuvres, dinner, and breakfast!! We enjoyed learning the history of the lighthouse from the host and the demonstration of the foghorn. The boat ride to and from the lighthouse added to the charm. I would definately recommend it to others!


A Unique Experience in the middle of SF Bay

4,8 sur septembre 12, 2010

There is nothing like East Brother Lighthouse B & B. Be totally removed from the real world for a day in beautiful historic rooms with memorable food, a narrated history tour and great conversation with the innkeepers and the other guests. We can't wait for another opportunity to go back.


CANNOT BEAT THIS AS A GETAWAY

4,0 sur juillet 28, 2010

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ALL. Champagne, souvenir glasses & chocolates were waiting for us when we arrived. (Romance package) Followed by hor d'oeuvres and more Champagne. Then a 4 course dinner, food was excellant, more wine (selection of red & white) (thank God we didn’t have to drive anywhere…Man overboard!) then watched the sun set….NO TV, NO SHOWER and was one of the best nights I've had in a long time, I’d go back in a heartbeat if I could.


A quick day and night in Paradise!

5 sur juillet 24, 2010

The weather cooperated wonderfully and the location, beauty of the lighthouse and great hospitality of Ed and Ann made this a truly memorable experience. The food was outstanding "Yea Ann" and the service was impeccable "yea Ed (Jeff????)". Views were especially nice late nite and early morning. Ed makes a :wake em up" pot of coffee....so enjoy!


Help from TJ's

4,8 sur juin 21, 2010

The croissont rolls were so crispy on the outside and soft on the inside that we felt the innkeepers had been up very early in the morning to achieve such a perfect roll. And then they shared their secret find with us. We, too, are now enjoying these rolls at our breakfasts at home. Thanks to Trader Joe. Rich and Jean


A romantic destination

4,0 sur juin 13, 2010

We stayed one night at East Brother Light Station and really enjoyed our stay there. The views are fantastic, especially from the top of the lighthouse, the food was phenomenal, and the place has been well restored and preserved. I recommend it as a romantic getaway for a special occasion.


Adventure from another era

4,4 sur juin 03, 2010

Dramatic location! Elegant Victorian house & light tower. Charming rooms. Fabulous cuisine! We really felt part of a bygone era.


A unique and wonderful experience

4,0 sur juin 03, 2010

East brother is unusual in that you are actually staying in the lighthouse itself. Indeed our bedroom was under the light itself. The light room is open 24/7 and guests are welcome to hang out there. The house itself is just a wonderful as the pictures here suggest. Everything has been beautifully restored and furnished. Ed and Anne were wonderful hosts. They showed us around the island and gave a brief history to the place. We had a view over the bay bridge from our room. Fortunately/unfortunately the fog horn had been turned off a week before (it runs 24/7 every 20 seconds from october to april) which some might find annoying and others might find romantic/atmospheric. Dinner was served early with a good quality champagne and canapes after which followed 3 more fine courses. All the food is cooked by Ann and she just cooks what she finds in the farmer's market that day/week. It's maybe the most personal service you could hope to have! The next morning we were given a tour of the old foghorn engine room and they blasted it for us. It is so loud that you feel every bone in your body shaking. The modern fog horn is nothing like as loud it should be noted. My only complaint is that there is just not enough time both to enjoy the island and chat with the very hard working owners. All but one room are for one night's stay only since they do not have showers/baths due to water conservation on the island. You can even see the reservoir where rain water is captured. This also is filtered and treated to provide fresh drinking water. Highly recommended


A Unique Experience

4,4 sur juin 02, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a unique setting to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We are not into the big crowds, or artificially "romantic" places. We had heard about East Brother Lighthouse & B&B, and we thought this might be just the ticket. And it was! We enjoyed the fine hospitality of the lighthouse keeper and his wife, Ed and Anne, and especially enjoyed Anne's fine cooking! The setting, spending a night IN a lighthouse, is very unique and special. Now add a beautiful day, a full moon by night, and a view of the City in the distance . . . and champagne and fine chocolates in our room . . . and some very special couples who shared the weekend with us . . . WOW!


East Brother Lighthouse

4,2 sur juin 02, 2010

A lovely, overnight stay, including a welcome w/champagne and appetizers, a little history, a charming room w/a view and a delicious dinner, peaceful sleep and delightful breakfast. Very enjoyable mini vacation. The innkeepers do a fine job and work non stop.


Wonderful B&B surrounded by nature

4,0 sur juin 02, 2010

Not your usual "get-away" hotel. Surrounded by water, close to a small island inhabited with seals and pelicans with ducks and geese walking about, truly very peaceful and lovely.


Wonderful, Fabulous Stay at East Brother Light Station

4,8 sur mai 10, 2010

This was on my "list of things I really want to do" for a while now and we finally got to visit the island. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, life on the island was wonderful. We were pampered right away when we arrived with a tour and history of the island and then we were served champagne and appetizers. Dinner was delicious and consisted of many courses, all wonderfully prepared and served. Then it was outside to take in the views and the lights. Our room was great. We chose the Two Sister's Room because of the fireplace, and Anne skillfully built us a wonderful fire. The next morning we watched the baby seal pups and birds on the West Brother Island while sipping our morning coffee. Then we were served a delicious breakfast followed by a demonstration of the old foghorns. Ed and Anne were the perfect innkeepers and I will highly recommend everyone I know to visit them. Bye for now, until we visit again..........Deanna Hansen


Romantic get away

4,0 sur mai 07, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the East Brother Lighthouse. Everything was perfect. The food was very delicious. The room was nice and clean. Ed was very helpful in showing us around and answer all our questions. I would highly recommend this place for a romantic get away or an other special occasion.


Not as good as before

3,2 sur mai 06, 2010

This is our 3rd visit here and while the island is as beautiful as ever and the place is very well maintained we were disappointed by the food. It was good but by no means gourmet as were our last 2 visits (admittedly 25 years ago). It is still well worth the visit esp. if you are not a “foodie”.


A True Mini-vacation

3,6 sur mai 06, 2010

Our visit was a very exciting way to spend a short period of time without traveling far from home. The Witts are the perfect inn keepers for this B&B


Something for everyone

4,0 sur mai 06, 2010

We had a wonderful time. Anne is a fantastic chef. We ate very well. We were spoiled by being the only guests and having the run of the island, with fine spring weather and a full moon shining in our room. Walt's Quarters was a bit cozy, but the setting and isolation more than made up for that. The high point was firing up the fog horns, truly a steampunk experience (though compressed air, no steam). A very unique and relaxing experience. For lighthouse geeks most definitely a can't miss. Highly recommended. We missed the SF to Vallejo race (Hosts Ed and Anne are serious blue water sailors) but next year we hope to time it better.


Kevin & Sue

4,2 sur avril 06, 2010

Our Host Family was absolutely perfect. They were extremely attentive without being intrusive and the food was perfect. I wish we could have stayed another night. Both Sue and I look forward to staying again and bringing a few friends along.


Our Anniversery Stay

5 sur mars 31, 2010

the location is spectacular, the hosts were truly wonderful


East Brother light station

4,6 sur mars 31, 2010

Delightful spot to spend the night, excellent and attentive hosts. Anne is a wonderful cook. My wife and I had a memorable stay. The place is understandably pricey given the need for ongoing and unique maintenance.


romantic getaway on the bay

4,6 sur mars 31, 2010

Everything is perfectly planned out and the food is cooked to perfection. It's an adventure that turns out to be anything but a hardship. Great to spend quality time together in a peaceful place.


Our stay at EBLS

4,4 sur mars 31, 2010

We had a wonderful overnight stay at EBLS, it was definitely a unique experience and the weather was nice enough to have our cocktails outside. I would highly recommend it.


WOW, What an Experience!

4,4 sur mars 31, 2010

Talk about amazing right from the start. Finding the location to get on the boat was an adventure in and of itself-mysterious yet exciting. The trip to the lighthouse on the little boat was an other facet of the adventure that was also remarkable-what views. The gracious hosts, the accommodations, the food and wine (wow!) and other guest made it like going to visit friends that you truly like and hate to have to leave. I look forward to going again and staying in a different room-already have it picked out :-)


Away in the Bay

5 sur mars 29, 2010

After living in Point Richmond for 13 years, I decided to surprise my husband with a stay at the island on March 12, 2010 for an early 10 year wedding anniversary surprise. We were delighted to find out that we had the island to ourselves! We had fabulous hors d'ouevres and dinner, then retired to our lovely room looking at San Francisco. Ed & Anne were very friendly and we really loved the fabulous breakfast waiting for us in the morning! My husband enjoyed learning the history of the island and the boat ride, too! Thanks for a UNIQUE experience!


fantastic stay at the East Brother Lighthouse

4,6 sur mars 08, 2010

The innkeepers, Ed and Anne, made our stay very enjoyable. Just a half hour drive from San Francisco and it felt like we were worlds away. Great food and the other guests were friendly and interesting. A unique B&B and we will definitely return!


Light Years Ahead

5 sur mars 08, 2010

We recently stayed at the East Brother Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast. What a treat! Don't get me wrong. We are veteran B&Bers, from coast to coast. Even a bit jaded. Still we weren't prepared for such a nice stay. Despite being in San Francisco Bay, there was the feeling that we had truly escaped from our area and were away. The boat ride from the quaint funky harbor which had been a film set many years ago was like a voyage to another world. The island/lighthouse itself, gave one breathtaking views of our Bay, but from a different perspective than we usually have. Once at the lighthouse, we were greeted with warmth and courtesy. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. The food surpassed our expectations. The island itself was a quaint, but comfortable throw back to another, more gentile era. Certainly the service matched the surroundings. We learned from the inn-keepers about lighthouse history. We learned from other guests about camaraderie. All in all, the time flew. We were only sorry that we hadn't reserved a two-night stay, instead of just a single night. But that will be easily remedied . . .We are going back as soon as possible.


Island Retreat

5 sur mars 07, 2010

Arriving dockside at the San Pablo Yacht Club is reminescent of Steinbecks Cannery Row. The beginning of our adventure to the island retreat. The San Francisco bay is perhaps one of the most awe inspiring scenes in the United States. And sitting smack in the midst of this living-picture-postcard is the East Brother Lighthouse tucked neatly near the Richmond bridge. We were retreived from the docks of the S.P.Y.C., by Captain Ed Witts who ferried us to the island where we were welcomed by his equally cordial wife, Anne. Enjoying clear weather, we were warmly greeted by the other 8 guests - followed with a coupe de champagne and hors douevres. Dinner is included with each evenings' stay and our 5 course dinner was expertly prepared by Anne and meticously served by Captain Ed. The evenings clear skies - sprinkled with stars -- over-shadowed the brillance of The City in the background, interspersed with the doleful tones of the stations' fog horn. Morning was shrouded in a curtain of fog wrapped in the crisp San Francisco air as we sat down to a delectable breakfast with the other guests. Departure time came too quickly after a walk-around and informational tour of the stations' origingal mechanics. The petite gift shop is filled with goodies to help carry home the enchanting memories of time well spent. This is now one of our treasured Sabbatical retreats and we only count the days until our return. Make your own memories by reserving a spot before it is too late. Elizabeth & Vincent Westphal Lodi, California


A Perfect Getaway from the daily grind of technology and stress

4,8 sur mars 06, 2010

It was my husband's birthday and he's from the east coast and has always loved lighthouses. So when I heard that EBL was close and a lighthouse turned into a B&B which included transportation, appetizers, dinner and breakfast plus a tour. How perfect is that? I loved the innkeepers as they were the perfect balance of down to earth folks while being very professional. We also went when all five rooms were reserved and that turned out to be great as well because we had great conversation and made some new friends. The best part of the weekend was that although the intension of the weekend was for my husband's bday, it turned out to be the best getaway from the stress of work, stress, responsibilites and electronics. I completely forgot all of my stressors of my usual day. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an overnight getaway.


more than I expected!

4,8 sur février 04, 2010

The food was outstanding! I very much enjoyed my stay and meeting the other guests. The innkeepers made my stay very comfortable, I loved it!


perfect!

5 sur février 03, 2010

what a wonderful time!!! the inn keepers are a perfect fit! i have raved about our visit to everyone who will listen!


Excellent

5 sur février 03, 2010

This was our first experience at the lighthouse and truly enjoyed our stay. The food, service and great atmosphere made for a very special time. We would recommend East Brother Lighthouse to all.


unexpeced joy

5 sur janvier 13, 2010

from the boat ride to the 5 star dinner the hosts saw to our enjoyment we fell in love with the light house. Annie and Ed are a fine fit to this pose. there love of the light house and the guest confort. Thank you bolth Phil


Dec 20, 2009 sumptuous dinner

4,0 sur janvier 12, 2010

Our hosts and meals were above expectation, simply wonderful! Lively conversation with hosts and guests, with lots of interesting history. The trip over was a bit rough and cold, but the next morning was glorious. Take the time to experience it all. You'll never regret it...just be sure to do it before Ed and Ann leave.


Lighthouse

4,2 sur janvier 12, 2010

Ed & Anne are wondeful hosts, Anne's cooking is outstanding! Do not miss a night here.


A truly unique stay . . .

4,8 sur janvier 12, 2010

The proprietress is nothing short of a wonder in the kitchen. The quality of the meal, with a good wine on the table tossed in as well, made the overall value of the night's stay an exceptional deal. If you want something out of the ordinary, this is about as good as it gets!


Lovely break

5 sur décembre 11, 2009

Had a wonderful stay at this lighthouse, which was a Golden Anniversary present from our son. Hosts charming, accommodation excellent and food very good. Highly recommended. Evelyn Wells


Fabulous!

5 sur décembre 07, 2009

My husband and I and his parents celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary at EBLS, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our visit! The rooms, both our private rooms and the sitting room, game room and dining room were thoroughly charming, and the food was fabulous! Our hosts, Ed and Ann, are both knowledgeable and fun to be around. Sure wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back!


Unique experience

5 sur décembre 06, 2009

Had a great stay with very good group of people. Enjoyed the meals and our hosts. Very comfortable room.


A Wonderful Time was had by All!

5 sur décembre 04, 2009

Our experience could not have been better. Anne and Ed were amazing hosts, the lighthouse was spectacular and the company was great. Anne's cooking deserves special mention; everything was superb. We can not wait to go back...Tom and Karen


Outstanding

5 sur décembre 03, 2009

I had an amazing experience. The innkeeper and his wife were outstanding hosts, and the meals were the highlight of the experience.


A treasure in the Bay

4,6 sur décembre 03, 2009

Definitely a splurge in cost, but worth it for the overnight getaway so close to home yet so far. Romantic setting with great accommodations. Great views and unusual access to light tower. Be prepared for communal dining. Homemade gourmet meals... the best part are the desserts! Oh yes, the innkeepers Ed and Anne made the stay so easy... handling every part with calm and great effort! So grateful this place is so accessible to Bay Area residents.


A magical place

5 sur décembre 02, 2009

I surprised my husband with a night in the "San Francisco room" at the lighthouse and it completely exceeded my expectations. The proprietors (Ed and Ann) were extremely gracious and the experience was absolutely magical and fun. The dinner was delicious. The setting was second to none--you're literally on an island in the middle of the San Franscisco Bay, and we really felt as if we were worlds away when we were in our own backyard. I would HIGHLY recommend it for a romantic evening, or a place to get friends together for a fantastic experience. The price was just right for the experience as well.


Quiet place in the middle of it all

4,6 sur décembre 02, 2009

The location is unique - in the middle of the bay as a seaprate world fromwhich you calmly view the real world onthe surrouding shorelines. Accomodations superior to the facility in general and unbeatable on a clear full moon night with the bay currents churring up the waters reflecting the moonlight. The entire atmosphere is enhanced by the reserved but more than adequate presence of the keepers and the super meals prepared with imagination and care.


Two for two

4,8 sur décembre 02, 2009

Our second visit to EBLS in the month of November for our anniversary proved to have just as beautiful weather as the first visit. The Marin room was exactly as we remembered it, but the food was even better! The new hosts made us feel so welcome and everything was perfect.


Late February weekend

4,6 sur novembre 23, 2009

My wife and I spent a night here and would both strongly recommend it - if you're ok with the horn. The island is very charming with great views of the Bay, the city etc. The couple that run the inn are great. The food is outstanding and was highly anticipated once we learned that the chef - one half of the couple - was formerly a chef for the royal family of Belgium, where she's originally from. The food almost makes it worth it alone. The cost of staying supports the maintenance of the lighthouse. It's a fun and unique experience that's so close to the city we could see whether or not we left our living room lights on, with the help of binoculars of course.


A long Summer Day

4,4 sur novembre 23, 2009

We visited the light house on the longest weekend of the summer in order to have the most time available to enjoy the outdoor view. It was good planning. We enjoyed the comfortable temperatures, the views from the lighthouse and the quaintness of everything. We stayed in the small bedroom in the Fog Horn Shack. It was great. The bed was a bit soft, but the privacy and the peace was wonderful. It is a great get-away.


House Party at the Lighthouse

4,8 sur novembre 09, 2009

Do you want to pretend you are at a house party on a remote island? If so book a night at the East Brother Lightstation. Ed and Anne Witt welcomed four couples and myself to a wonderful escape from reality for one night. From the Champagne and hors d'oeuvres served on the terrace, to the four course dinner cooked by Anne, everything was superb. Dining was communal which led to very animated conversation from a very diverse group. After a night in a room with a view of San Francisco Bay, we were greeted with a hot breakfast and endless coffee. Ed and Anne put so much work into making sure that this was a special vacation for us all. They were great hosts. If you are looking for luxury, showers, and connection to your blackberry or I-phone, this is not for you. If you want to just enjoy yourself without outside distractions this is the place to stay.


A great night away!

4,8 sur novembre 09, 2009

Although the time we spent on East Brother Island was relatively short, it felt like a wonderful break from our everyday life in the Bay Area. We were lucky to have perfect weather, and we spent a lot of time just watching life in the middle of the Bay go by--boats, ships, birds, seals. From the time we arrived and were served delicious snacks and champagne on the patio, thru a delicious dinner and breakfast, everything was enjoyable. Our hosts were delightful and paid attention to every detail. Being able to look at the view from the top of the lighthouse was unique, as was hearing about and seeing the history of the light station. We highly recommend a night at this site.


Can't Wait To Go Back...

5 sur novembre 08, 2009

We enjoyed our stay so much, we plan on coming back every year. The food was incredible, the lighthouse amazing, and the rooms very cozy. The innkeepers do an amazing job.


Full of warmth and charm

4,8 sur novembre 07, 2009

The innkeepers really made us feel at home. The food was outstanding and we had some very wonderful and memorable conversations at the dining table. The views were fantastic! We will most certainly be back again!


Beautiful

5 sur novembre 07, 2009

We had a lovely time and plan to pay another visit to the East Brother Light Station again very soon. If you would like to read about our stay, visit: http://serenavalentino.livejournal.com/115402.html


Island getaway

4,6 sur novembre 06, 2009

A unique experience to stay in the lighthouse keepers' quarters on an island. Tasteful rooms, delicious meals, excellent service. Foghorn goes all night but is not at all loud or bothersome.


Heaven on the Waters

5 sur novembre 06, 2009

We spent our 25th Anniversary at East Brother's Lighthouse and it was heaven. The food, atmosphere and company including our hosts were the best ever. We can't wait to return!!!


OUR THOUGHTS

4,0 sur novembre 06, 2009

A very neat, clean and well run lighthouse. The hosts were terrific and we were fortunate to have outstanding weather on the bay the evening we stayed there. Would recommend this stay to everyone, especially the lighthouse buffs.


An experience to remember...

3,4 sur novembre 06, 2009

The place was spotless! It was quiet, serene, and exactly what I expected a small island lighthouse to be. The food was very good and the staff pleasant to deal with. It was a "gift" to myself well spent, and I am glad I enjoyed the stay!


Don't miss this jewel

4,6 sur novembre 06, 2009

Memorable, beautiful, fun! Ed is a wealth of knowledge on the history of the station and Anne; how do you make such wonderful meals! Great Innkeeper's. We have sailed past the station several times and finally got a chance to stay. We should have done it long ago, what a treat!


Fantastic getaway

4,8 sur novembre 06, 2009

This was a romantic adventure - long bumpy road to a small harbor, quick boat ride to a tiny island, cozy room with a view and fantastic gourmet food. Great time to reconnect with your loved one - no tv or other distractions. Dinner with the other couples is a relaxing culinary experience - it took over two hours - and consisted of an extraordinary meal (with wine) and lots of conversation.


DAYTRIPPER!!!

4,6 sur octobre 09, 2009

I HAD SPENT THE NIGHT IN THE FOG HORN ROOM A FEW YEARS AGO IN NOVEMBER, BUT I REALLY WANTED TO ENJOY THE LIGHT STATION ON A WARM, SUNNY DAY - MY VISIT WAS PERFECTO THIS TIME IN SEPTEMBER - THE HOSPITALITY WAS WONDERFUL AND SO WAS THE WEATHER!!! BARBI NUTTING SANTA ROSA


So This is How Lighthouse Keepers Lived!

5 sur octobre 09, 2009

Wow! What a great adventure it was to get to, and stay in a real lighthouse. I received a one night stay at East Brother as a 50th birthday gift from my family, and it was a memory I'll treasure forever. The inn keepers are a very gracious couple who really know how to cook, and are very willing to tell you all about the history of the lighthouse. Our fellow guests were fun to be with, especially at dinner when we poured the great wine everyone supplied! It was great to climb up to the "light" in the house after sunset and look out over the bay with a 360 view. We stated in the Marin Room. It has its own bathroom and was very charming and comfortable. We left the windows open all night to enjoy the ocean breezes and the quiet clanging of a buoy. We went in September and there was little fog and big views. David and Maripat


Gourmet Meal In A Lighthouse

4,6 sur octobre 09, 2009

World class chef! Dinner was amazing and the fog horn was a "hoot". Met nice people in a cozy atmosphere. Do not plan on going anywhere....it is an island.


A Light at the Inn

5 sur octobre 09, 2009

Our stay was so pleasant because of the great service provided by the Inn Keepers, Ed and Anne Witts.


Quite a treat

4,0 sur octobre 09, 2009

Was a little hesitant about spending time at a light house as it was a gift to us but we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our time on the Lighthouse. We were greated by very gracious hosts, Ed has a good back ground in boat navigation and Anne is a wonderful chef, both have plenty of good stories of sailing boats around the world. Seals and birdlife were abundant and views of the city spectacular. It is a wonderful place to read a good book and just relax.


Amazing

5 sur octobre 09, 2009

It was the Best.. We celebrated our 31st anniversary at this light house. I was surprised how attentive this couple are to their guest. the food is amazing. the place is immaculate.. the boat ride over and back is fun. great tour and history of the light house. a overall a great experience and we will return in the future. we had the San Francisco Room and the view is Beautiful. so quiet and peaceful.


On my "Bucket List"

5 sur septembre 18, 2009

We have been wanting to come here and it was on my personal "bucket list"! So we came here for my 50th birthday. We had such an enjoyable relaxing time. Ed & Anne were wonderful hosts that exceeded all our expectations. This is a must do for anyone who loves lighthouses! We love it!


great place

5 sur septembre 13, 2009

great place came back in less than 30 days


Day Trip

4,6 sur septembre 06, 2009

Our family of 5 enjoyed a spectacular day at East Brothers. We didn't stay overnight, so we can't rate the rooms or dining. We can say that spending a day at East Brothers is pure joy of the once in a lifetime kind, from Ed and Anne's friendly welcome to the phenomenal panoramic views to the lighthouse beams to the boat trip on and off the island. We'll be back--without the kids!


Perfect Night on the Bay

4,6 sur septembre 02, 2009

What a wonderful experience. I've talked about staying at East Brother's Lighthouse for years. I only wish I had gone sooner. The other guests were so much fun... sharing our experiences around the table after dinner. The rooms were clean and super comfortable. And the whole experience of staying on an island in SF Bay just capped a perfect night. Thanks again!


Happy Anniversary

4,8 sur septembre 02, 2009

We spent our 40th anniverary in Walter's room--our favorite. What could be more romantic that to sit on our little porch and watch the lights of San Francisco come on. Food was fabulous and the innkeepers are friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. It was our third visit and not the last. Greetings from Denali! Pat and Tom


East Brother Lighthouse

5 sur septembre 01, 2009

This was something that we found by way of a book in the public library and I was so glad that we did. My husband and I both love lighthouse, so a chance to spend the night in one was just too good to pass up. It was everything that we could have possibly dreamed, the innkeepers were the greatest, the place was magical and the food awesome. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and family and will return ourselves when we get out that way again. It is worth ever penny you spend and all the time that you spend. The greatest bed and breakfast experience I have ever had.


Total Escape

4,6 sur septembre 01, 2009

We planned a totally relaxing vacation. That is exactly what we got. Hors dervs, champagne, wine with dinner, a full breakfast, peace and quiet... Who could ask for more? Scenic and delightful. Ann and Ed are delightful innkeepers.


Exceptional Bed & Breakfast

5 sur août 31, 2009

Very romantic! Outstanding views and fantastic food and wine.


Wonderful tucked away place

5 sur août 31, 2009

What a wonderful time we had there. Every hour was precious and very restful. We were there with the most friendly "strangers". We had more fun than we've had in a long time. Eating dinner and breakfast with these folks added to the whole experience. I will definitely be purchasing a gift cert. for a stay there for a couple people I know! Definitely recommend to everyone!


Our wedding spot... 25 years later!

4,2 sur août 18, 2009

We were married on East Brother 25 years previously and have returned every 5 years to celebrate our anniversary. Over the years we've met a number of innkeepers. Some have been fabulous, others less so. Ed and Anne are among the best.


Get away from it all, right in SF Bay

4,0 sur août 17, 2009

This is an incredibly fascinating B&B. It is totally isolated, but only a 10 minute boat ride from where you park your car. The innkeepers are a charming couple and they will wine and dine you in an extraordinary fashion. My wife and I have made it our anniversary destination for the past couple of years, and plan to continue this tradition. After dinner, the seals on neighboring West Brother Island provided the entertainment.


Great Time!

4,2 sur août 14, 2009

We had a great time at East Brother Lighthouse. Ed & Anne make you feel very welcome - as if you are visiting them personally! The food is outstanding - can't say enough about it!


GREAT, "unusual," getaway!

4,0 sur août 07, 2009

not your average bed and breakfast. very interesting, and informative. bring binoculars. the whole experience is relaxing, the keepers are very nice, and the food is delicious. thank you for a lovely visit.


One of a Kind Experience

4,2 sur août 06, 2009

The Experience was exceptional! Truly a one of a kind facility and location. Would have loved to stay longer. The only drawback was the lack of a shower. But would go back in a heartbeat. The food, drink and the Inn Keepers only added to the experience.


Mo and Sarah's Weekend Getaway

4,6 sur août 06, 2009

What a wonderful get-a-way for the middle of winter! We arrived in the middle of a storm in February on the second weekend Ed and Anne had been hosting guests. The hosts were charming and very well informed even though they had just started their new adventure as innkeepers. We had an absolutely delightful time with the other guest and would highly recommend this 'gem' in the bay area. When I went home I descovered I had a watercolor painting my mother had done several years ago of the lighthouse hanging in my hallway. I had always been under the impression that this picture was paintined on a trip back East in Connecticut or somewhere else on the East Coast! I couln't have been more pleased to discover I had an original watercolor of the picturesque lighthouse I'd just been to! We are planning on making this a annual trip we'll take during the winter months. Thank you again Ed and Anne.


Can't beat the location

3,6 sur août 05, 2009

It's too bad the rating criteria don't include "one of a kind place to visit." You wouldn't necessarily expect very fine services here, but the hosts are warm and gracious, and the cooking marvelous. Can't be beat for the views and the romance of an exclusive getaway.


Fabulous time!

5 sur août 05, 2009

This overnight was a wedding gift from great friends... and it was superbly romantic and extremely interesting and fun. The food was excpetional, the service was beyond compare, the setting is amazing... I would recommend this as a "must do" for anyone.


Wonderful Adventure!

5 sur août 05, 2009

We had an outstanding time. The setting is breath-taking; getting there is adventuresome, and staying there is a dream. I want to spend the night in more light houses now around the globe!


A very lovely experience

4,2 sur août 04, 2009

The hosts were very charming, the room quite comfortable, and the food delicious.


A Delightful Night on EBLS!

5 sur août 04, 2009

This was our 2nd visit to EBLS and it was thouroughly enjoyed! My wife and I stayed in Walter's Quarters this time and from the moment we entered the entry room, I knew it was the right choice. Waiting for us was a table for 2 facing a view of the bay with the ordered bubbly and chocolate treats ready to go. Two other couples from New York and the Santa Cruz Area shared the boat ride over and they were delightful company for our stay. From the arrival wine & hors d'oeuvres, through dinner, breakfast, Island tour and return boat ride, the company and the hosts were engaging without being intrusive. We plan to go back again. Thank you EBLS! Sal & Barbara Crispi


met with the new innkeepers

5 sur août 04, 2009

We are regulars at the lighthouse and have been told we hold the record... who knows who cares. It is a great place to de-compress. The new innkeepers are doing a grand job. The food is excellent , the new wine pairings are great, and the changes in the lighthouse are wonderful. We are also volunteers and sad we haven't had the time to come help with the changes. We will and we are again booked with all our friends for another night very soon. A special place that no one should miss. Bob and Carol


Outstanding Experience

4,4 sur août 04, 2009

The hosts are marvelous people, with a wealth of world experience. They have sailed all over the world, held different kinds of jobs, and have great stories to tell. The food was marvelous and there were little touches that make a traveler feel welcome. We highly recommend the experience.


Our Anniversary

5 sur août 04, 2009

My husband has sailed by East Brother Lighthouse for years and has always wanted to stay there. We decided to celebrate our 22nd anniversary at the lighthouse - what a treat. Since there was only one other couple and they were staying in the foghorn "cottage", we were lucky enough to have the lighthouse all to ourselves!


Unique B&B

4,4 sur août 04, 2009

We had the entire lighthouse to ourselves (2 couples) and it was amazing - from the cocktails and hors d'oeuvre's to the dinner menu and homemade desserts - it was a wonderful get-away to celebrate our friend's 50th!


Completely Unique SF Bay Experience

5 sur août 04, 2009

You will not find a more unique B&B experience that EBLS. If you are a fan of the SF Bay Area, what could be better than a night or two on an island with only your fellow guests and Ed and Anne for company. The champagne and hor's deuvrs on arrival were a nice touch, not to mention excellent, and let me tell you, Anne can cook! Dinner and breakfast were both worthy of any restaurant in the city. Overall, a wonderful experience, not to be found anywhere else in the area.


Enchanting Stay

5 sur août 04, 2009

When first asked to submit a survey..I was a bit reluctant -I didn't want the secret to get out! This place is fablous. As soon as we boarded the boat and climbed a few steps - it was like being in another world. The hosts are great, very friendly but at the same time keep a respected distance. Champange and snacks when you arrive, then time for a 3- course dinner, with wine. Glorious! We slept very well and woke up to a scrumptous breakfast. Experinced the foghorn and then back on the boat around 11AM, (my husband and I wished we would have booked 2 nights instaed of one).


My wife's birthday gift

4,0 sur août 04, 2009

I took my wife there for her birthday in March and were treated to an unusual and interesting lodging experience. The views were outstanding. The history, very interesting, and the meals presented by Ed and Anne exceeded our expectations. That for making my wife's birthday one of the most memorable ones ever.


A Heavenly Get Away!!!

5 sur août 04, 2009

The whole experience was outstanding, peaceful, and delicious Gourmet dinner!!!...we enjoyed every minute!!! and we came all the way from Georgia!!!


We had a great mini-vacation!

4,2 sur mars 20, 2009

We had a great visit, stayed in Walter's Quarters. Views were great. The lighthouse was charming. Meals were outstanding!


East Brother Lighthouse

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $295 - $415
  • Avis (120) 4,6
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5102332385

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut