Captain's Inn at Moss Landing Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,9

Notation basée sur
48 Avis

Ecrire un avis

The perfect getaway !

5 sur août 26, 2012

After searching online for B&BS My wife and I came across the Captains Inn at Moss landing..Immediately booked the High Seas room because of its uniqueness(visit online) We appreciated all the nautical nuances (decor) within the room, which helped explain some of the history of this area! The service was top notch, very clean and maintained room, the value well worth the perfect getaway! The best part of the day was the morning breakfast with Melanie (just perfect ). The team of Melanie and Yohn offered ideas for your planning of your day based on your interest. Moss landing offered the diamond in the rough for your dining experiences,just unbelievable food fare second to none ( the biggest surprise of all) Would highly recommend a visit at the Captains Inn and the great surroundings at moss landing , much to do and see and enjoy! sincerely Arlene and John Rogan


The Perfect Place for a Perfect Rest

5 sur juillet 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night! The room was great, the service was outstanding! So much history in this house and town! It’s a place that you have to visit and stay a couple of nights! My room was great; the view from the tub was so good! Would love to visit every year! The area is so calm and peaceful! Moss Landing is a little town with so much charm and character! The walk in town and the beach after sunset was incredible! Thanks for everything!


Best of the Best of Moss Landing B&B

5 sur juin 11, 2012

6/8/12 - 6/10/12 First time here and it was wonderful. We realized everything was within walking distance, that was great. If you want they even rent bikes. So walk, ride or whatever your pleasure it's all here for you. As for the innkeepers, Melanie & Yohn, there is no words to say how welcoming they were. And so down to earth. Try it and you won't regret it...


The Place To Stay On The Bay

5 sur mai 08, 2012

We made The Captain's Inn our week's headquarters for exploring the Monterey Bay area. Most coastal attractions are within a half hour drive and Moss Landing itself has great restaurants, shops, and a convenient harbor from which Elkhorn Slough nature excursions and whale watching boats debark. You can also ride horses on the beach or rent a kayak. Nature photographers and birders owe themselves a stay here as the area is rich in wildlife. Best of all Melanie and Yohn run an exceptional B+B away from the hustle and bustle of the Peninsula and they make you feel right at home.


A little hidden Gem

5 sur avril 18, 2012

We stayed at Captains Inn in April of 2012. Melanie is a great hostess. The room we stayed in in the Boat House was immaculate. The decorations were really fantastic and the garden tub a fantastic touch. I had not taken a bath in twenty years but it was great. Melanie is an amazing cook, our breakfast each morning we talked about the rest of the day. Melanie took the time to tell us about lots of places in the area to go see and we took day trips to Pacific Grove, only twenty minutes away and then up to Capitola Beach, only 15 minutes away. Its nice to get out of the fast lane and feel like you went back in time to a slower paced world. I loved the view from our room and sat and looked out for hours. Three cheers to Melanie for a top notch experience.


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 sur février 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Captain's Inn many times and have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Melanie always makes us feel welcomed and special. Breakfasts are delicious and we like visiting with the other guests. We really enjoy staying in the Boathouse rooms. We can't wait to return.


Friendly Warm Peaceful Place to Relax and Enjoy Nature!

5 sur février 13, 2012

Melanie and Captain make you feel welcome the moment you enter the Inn. Breakfast is warm and wonderful. From many of the rooms you can see wild life in action including a fluffed out Blue Heron, Snowy Egrets as they fly in and out of the slough and playful otters. Melanie has great recommendations for local activities and restaurants. I definitely enjoy staying at the Captain's Inn and recommend it to my colleagues and friends.


Love this nature lovers' inn

5 sur novembre 07, 2011

Tranquility and friendly birds & wildlife galore -- just a happy, beautiful place. Meals are amazing, take Elkhorns bush tour -- Perfect weekend.


a serendipitous and happy find

5 sur octobre 18, 2011

We have stayed in B&Bs all over the country. The Captain's Inn immediately became one of our favorites with its amazing location, lovely, comfortable rooms, warm hospitality and attention to detail...we will return.


Top Notch

5 sur octobre 02, 2011

Next to being home this is the best place in the world. We're so comfortable, relaxed, very well-fed, and happy at the Captain's Inn -- this is our 7th year. People we've recommended the inn to also return happy and feeling at home and welcome.


Clean & friendly

4,2 sur octobre 02, 2011

The inn was clean. People were very nice. Great breakfast, I would definitely stay here again!


Captain's Inn

5 sur octobre 02, 2011

Great place to stay, excellent service. Good eats.


What a wonderful place!

5 sur juillet 30, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at over 50 B7Bs over the last 20 years and this rates as one of the best. The rooms are unique and comfortable. Melanies hospitality is outstanding, her breakfasts are wonderful and the afternoon cookies are beyond compare. She knows the area extremely well and will readily make dinner reservations for you. This Inn is truly a wonderful find. Its close enought to do a daytrip to Monterey and then come back and relax and look at the wonderful group of shore birds in the water infront of the boathouse. Thanks Larry and Marcia Hubbard Maryland


Best B&B we ever stayed at!

4,8 sur juin 07, 2011

We finished a 2 week trip to California at this great place in May, 2011, spending 2 nights in Serenity during Memorial Day weekend. The room was super comfortable, had great views using the B&B supplied binoculars, we were able to view a wonderful view of the wildlife. we also enjoyed the made to order, delicious breakfasts. Melanie was extremely helpful, welcoming, and accomodating!


I Will Come Back

4,0 sur novembre 22, 2010

Although I live in California and know the coast very well, I had never been to Moss Landing. November in California sits between sun and rain and my husband and I almost cancel our stay because of a storm warning. I'm glad we didn't. It seems like time has stoppedn in its tracks when you stay at Captain's Inn. Nestled between busy Santa Cruz and Monterey, Moss Landing is one of the last small California towns where you won't find a Starbucks and a McDonald. The Inn is located in the heart of the tiny historic downtown. We had booked two rooms in the boat house that overlooks the slough. Our two teenagers joined us and although bed and breakfast aren't recommended for young people, they immediately loved their room. Who wouldn't in fact like beds made out of old boats, silky sheets and thick towels, bathrobes and fresh cookies? Both rooms opened on unobstructed views but were slightly different in their decor. The ocean is present through the small details: shells in the tiles, in the picture frames, mirrors and even napkins for breakfast. The rooms delighted me and my family. Each time we returned to them after long walks on the beach or in the village, we felt welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was yummy. As most French natives I don't eat much when I wake up but the smell of lemony scones and custard pancakes is hard to resist.


Life in the Slow Lane

4,6 sur septembre 25, 2010

Leaving Hwy.1 to explore Moss Landing and staying at Captain's Inn is a very unique experience. The simple beauty, peace and tranquility this area and the inn offers is a treat for anyone in today's world. The hospitality offered there is genuine, the rooms lovely, and the breakfasts are thoughtfully and deliciously prepared, one of the best we've ever experienced. Take advantage of an opportunity to enjoy this inn and the natural surroundings as they were meant to be, and you won't be disappointed! Tim and Carol


Simply the best

5 sur août 10, 2010

There are several reasons that outstanding applies to our stay at Captain's Inn. Our 27th wedding anniversary and a recommendation from friends brought us into the hands of Melanie and our two days, two nights were wonderful. Everything there is about detail and service without being over the top or pushy. Information is made available for activities and yet it was never suggested or we were never asked as to what our plans were and would we like to do this or that. They allowed us to be ourselves and plan our schedule that best suited us without referrals or suggestions to direct our choices. The breakfasts were elegant and delicious and the room was decorated with high detail and taste, and very, very clean. With the view of the lagoon out our windows it was a vacation for the eyes, quiet for the ears, and romantic for our anniversary. It took Melanie and Yohn over seven years to pull this place together and it shows the tremendous work and detail they put into it. We had a wonderful 27th. D&T San Jose, Ca


Memorable and relaxing getaway

5 sur juillet 21, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Captain’s Inn at Moss Landing, and we can’t say enough good things about our experience! Melanie, the Inn keeper, is fabulous and extremely helpful. She is available and willing to ensure that all her guests enjoy a memorable and relaxing vacation during their stay. We stayed both nights in the “Sail Away” room on the second floor, which was amazing! Our room was very spacious and had a remarkable view of the water and sand dunes. Clean towels and maid service was provided each day, and fresh homemade cookies were brought to our room each evening. Additionally, the kitchen in the Inn’s main building was always stocked with hot coffee and tea, as well as cold water, soda and ice for guests to enjoy during their stay. Breakfast was amazing! Melanie prepares home cooked meals each morning, and breakfast is served between 8:30 and 9:30 (which is so nice for guests who wish to catch a few additional minutes of sleep in the comfortable beds). Breakfast is served in a charming dining room with large windows overlooking the Inn’s beautifully maintained gardens. The food is delicious! The Captain’s Inn is also approximately a 20 minute drive from Monterey, which is nice for guests who wish to take a trip to the Monterey Bay Aquarium or Cannery Row for a little site seeing. One of the biggest highlights of our trip was the horseback riding excursion we took during our second day at the Inn. Melanie graciously made all the arrangements for us, so all we had to do was show up at the correct time and place for our ride. My husband and I loved our ride, which was right on the beach! We can’t wait to go again! We would definitely stay at the Captain’s Inn again. Overall, the experience was delightful! We certainly owe many thanks to Melanie for making our trip so memorable and enjoyable! We will definitely return to the Captain’s Inn during our next trip!


Has become a "must-return to" spot

4,6 sur juin 29, 2010

This is our second visit. After our first, the Captain's Inn became our must-return-to spot whenever we need some time away to recharge. Melanie is a super hostess, and her breakfasts are superb. The Captain's Inn also is within easy walking distance of 5 or 6 really nice restaurants for lunch and dinner. The view from the Boathouse rooms is great--we spent much of the first two days plopped in front of the floor-to-ceiling windows with binoculars and a book.


The best

5 sur avril 09, 2010

We just returned from Moss Landing and a stay for three nights in the Captain's Inn. I cannot say enough good things about our experience. We have stayed in hotels and B and Bs all over the world and this is the most relaxing place we have experienced. I especially enjoyed a bath in the giant tub overlooking the river and ocean with a nice glass of wine! We went primarily for the birding but the food in the local restaurants was outstanding and the boat ride on the slough with the Captain was a highlight of the trip. We will be back! I should also comment that I never write reviews (this is a first) but felt compelled to spread the word after such a tremendous experience.


Love Love Love The Captain's Inn

5 sur mars 21, 2010

We just completed our 4th visit in a year and a half and it gets better every time. Melanie is an amazing host. Her breakfasts are tasty and very filling. The rooms are quiet, very clean with extra touches of personal toiletries and warm cookies. You can sit in your room and watch amazing wildlife. We will continue to come back. Don't forget the Elkhorn Slough Safari trip and have dinner at the Moss Landing Cafe!!


Just try this place!!

3,8 sur février 27, 2010

What a great place to stay when visiting Monterey or Carmel. We have been to this area numerous times over the decades, and never thought of staying in Moss Landing. Fabulous breakfast, great cookies, neat rooms overlooking the estuary and animals, and the inn keepers are so personable. But be SURE to take the safari trip in the Elkhorn Slough, as we saw 89 sea otters, over 200 harbor seals, almost 300 sea lions, blue herons, etc. etc. All in 2 hours. And hit Phil's eatery for ciopinno, or several other restaurants in the town are good as well. You will always remember this adventure place. It looks like a town with very little to offer other than 2 large smoke stacks from a power plant, be it is a hidden jewel for sure!! A can't miss place!! JLP


Multiple Wonderful Visits

5 sur novembre 30, 2009

We have stayed here 3 times and just love it-rooms are clean and quiet with amazing views. Food is outstanding. Wildlife is everywhere-we will continue to visit again and again


For birders it's terrific

4,0 sur août 28, 2009

We just returned from the Captain's inn after spending 3 nights during the busiest weekend in the Carmel Monterey area, the Tour d'elegance of Pebble Beach. Each night we returned to this quiet oasis overlooking the water, settled into our routine of a hot bath in an enormous tub, and cozied into our comfy bed....no noise, just the sound of the birds. Each morning we woke up to white pelicans just below our picture windows. The breakfasts were wonderful,and Melanie is able to make special adjustments for you! The slough ride with Captain Jon is a must must do...We saw around 20 species of birds and over 50 sea otters, not to mention all the other animals. A great place for a relaxing time, ask for the water view rooms, especially upstairs!!! JAM


Cool find... Romantic, Clean, Friendly!

5 sur août 11, 2009

After having stayed two times, now, I have to say that the Captain's Inn is a consistently great place to stay. The rooms are clean and neat and the beds have been comfortable. The focus is the view, and the rooms in the back of the property look out on the estuary at Moss Landing. There are lots of ocean animals to see out the windows and there was a pair of binoculars and reference material in our room, to make viewing more interesting. Our hostess, Melanie, was friendly and helpful and made a tasty breakfast for us. We look forward to our next visit!


Captain's Inn

5 sur juin 18, 2009

Sat in front of the window and watched the wildlife and just listened to the 'sea' sounds. Peaceful! I needed this!


Our first year anniversary

5 sur juin 08, 2009

We were so excited and glad to stay here again since we spent our honeymoon here one year ago. We enjoy our stay here, and love it and have made this our every year spot to stay. So Moss Landing, we'll be back next year!


Another Great Stay

5 sur novembre 09, 2008

Stayed again at Captain's inn - great as always. Love the nature right out side the window. Amazing place to go and be pampered!!


Captains Inn

5 sur octobre 10, 2008

We were only meant to stay here for 1 night, but we loved it so much that we stayed another night. The room we had for the two nights had a bed made from a boat and a sunken bath, this room was totally awesome. Melanie is an awesome host and a fantastic cook, the breakfasts were awesome and sooo big!!! Moss Landing is a great place to explore, we intend to visit again and stay at The Captains Inn. The views from the lindows in our room were breathtaking. I cannot stress how good this Inn is!!! Melanie, thank you so much for a wonderful stay!! Trevor and Monika


Relaxing . . .

5 sur juillet 24, 2008

Relaxing, cozy, great innkeepers and wonderful breakfast.


Captain's Inn

5 sur juillet 17, 2008

Great comfort Great Innkeeper & Awesome cook


Prepare to be pampered

5 sur juillet 09, 2008

Recently my husband and I stayed at Captain's Inn. Arriving exhausted after several strenuous weeks, we left refreshed in body and spirit--having been wonderfully pampered. Our creatively decorated room with its three "picture" windows and comfortable chairs invited us to unwind, watch the wildlife, enjoy the flickering fireplace. Our requested evening snack which Melanie provides on certain days was yummy: cheese, strawberries, nuts, artichokes. We needed a bit of extra table space; she produced a small table. Need extra light to read at night? Ask. Melanie will have it. Nothing a guest would desire has been forgotten at Captain's Inn.


The Best B&B in CC!

4,8 sur juillet 08, 2008

This is, no holds barred, the best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at in Central California. Natural surroundings, peace & quiet, and Monterey just 15 minutes away!


Great View

4,6 sur juin 04, 2008

Great views of seals and birds. Great sunset. Very clean room. Enjoyed food. Will stay again.


Great B&B Experience

4,8 sur février 15, 2008

The Captain's Inn at Moss Landing is an outstanding B&B experience. You have your choice of tastefully done traditional rooms in the main house or refreshingly original rooms in the boat house. The hostess, Melanie, is great fun and very knowledgable about the area having been raised locally. She is an outstanding cook. The breakfasts are heavenly. An added bonus is Yohn, Melanie's husband and 'The Captain', not only of the Inn but also of the Elkhorn Slough Safari Nature Tours (highly recommended). Moss Landing offers a surprising set of dining options with many tasty adventures awaiting the guests of the Captain's Inn. Treat yourself and go!


midweek getaway

4,8 sur janvier 07, 2008

My husband and I are not able to get away much as we own and business and have three young children. We'd never been to a bed and breakfast before, and were somewhat hesitant. The Captains Inn far exceeded our expectations. We were able to forget about our hectic life at home and enjoy eachother as though we were newlyweds again! Thank you Captions Inn.


Explore Central Cost from the Captain's Inn

5 sur décembre 27, 2007

Since our first stay at the Captain’s Inn a few years ago, visiting the Inn has become an annual event for us. I have stayed in much more expensive B&B and hotels that were not as well maintained or as comfortable as the Captain’s Inn. We have visited the Inn during the off season (near Christmas) and busy season when find a room in the boat house required some date juggling on our part. Captain Yohn and Melanie and the rest of there staff make you feel right at home (or better yet home-away-from home). The breakfast that Melanie prepares each morning during your stay is worth a visit to the Inn IF you plan a visit to the Central cost I highly recommend a visit to the Captain’s Inn at Moss Landing


birthday stay with melanie and staff

5 sur novembre 22, 2007

My wife Julie and I stayed at the captain's inn the weekend prior to Thanksgiving. It was awonderful experience and we will certainly be returning there. We visited Carmel, Monterey, and Pacific Grove and we found Moss Landing to be superior to all of those. It was quiet wirth little traffic, the beach is close and very beautiful and there are several good restaurants in waliking distance. The Thai place is particularly good. The kayak trip in the Elkhorn Slough was great. The food at the inn was excellent. Melanies' sweet potato pancakes are the best pancakes I have ever had. We highly recommend anybodies stay at the Captains Inn at Moss Landing. I hesitated to post a good review because I don't want Moss Landing to get to popular, but I decided that was not fair to Melanie and Yohn.


Pleasant & Wonderful

4,4 sur octobre 27, 2007

Lucky to find this hidden gem - Room was cozy, Melanie was awesome, and breakfast was ample and unique!


great place to relax

4,4 sur septembre 03, 2007

had a wonderful stay at Captain's Inn. Room was great, food wonderful. Great jumping off point for montery or a nice place to just veg-out. Melanie was great. Will be coming back.


Wonderful walks

4,6 sur août 28, 2007

Melanie made an impression immediately when she suggested that we modify our dinner plans to take advantage of Frank's on Monday.She immediately made dinner reservations for us at another place. Breakfasts were wonderful. Best of all were our morning walks along the Slough - otters, herons, seals, rabbits, egrets. Book a tour with the captain; we wanted to be flexible, but sad to say, we were unable to get a reservation.


Peaceful and serene

5 sur août 28, 2007

I took my fiancee to this wonderful inn for our first Valentine's Day weekend. The nautically themed room was unique and fun. The in-room spa was just what the doctor ordered as we gazed out the bay window at the wildlife. The Captain and Melanie are the most gracious hosts (and breakfast was simply amazing!). The plethora of antique shops and fresh seafood in this fishing village gave us more than enough to do during our weekend away from the city. We can't wait to go back real soon!


Wildlife out your window

5 sur août 21, 2007

Ever want to see wildlife cavorting outside your window while luxuriating with a glass of wine? This is the place. We saw tons of pelicans, otters, birds and seals. It was wonderful!! The River Front room was filled with carefully themed detail. The grounds are well cared for, and include an outside deck for watching wildlife or enjoying a picnic. We also stayed in the historic house, and loved every moment. In both buildings, we stayed on the first floors, because I am mobility challenged. I had no problems in either building. Also took the Elkhorn Slough tour, and saw 72 otters and over 150 harbor seals, in addition to many birds, some quite rare. The Monterey Sanctuary is right down the road, and offers tours (check first), and ocean viewing. Melanie recommended the location for viewing whales.


A MUST in Monterey

5 sur août 10, 2007

We ended our vacation here. What a treat after the sad overcommercialization in Carmel and Monterey. Moss Landing is a quaint, relaxing village adjacent to the Bay (its central point)and the Elkhorn Slough [estuary] Nature Reserve (good hiking). The Captain's Inn is within five minutes walking distance of the beach, the marina, exquisitely delicious dining and the unforgettable Elkhorn Slough Safari. On "safari" we counted 73 otters (within 100 feet!) 170 seals, and hundreds of wetland birds for the Marine Laboratory from the calm of our pontoon boat. Even the 7 children aboard were provided with age-appropriate tasks. Captain was none other than Yohn Gideon of the Captain's Inn. (We also purchased the BEST otter shirts in Monterey County.) Melanie provides lovely, filling breakfasts, and restaurants offer yummy sandwiches to take down to the beach or on a whale watching expedition. The Gideons have gone to great lengths to restore the historic building where we stayed. A newer building has picture window views of the wetlands, and continues the nautical theme. The historic building is homey and cozy, with fireplaces in each room to fend off the morning and evening chill. Modern touches (internet, forced-air heat, Dish tv, etc. are present, but unobtrusive). Hosts offered a AAA discount as well as a discount on the Sanctuary Whale Watching Expeditions. Spend time like the good ol' days before traffic, parking and crowds took the sweet relaxation out of vacationing. Feel good about supporting this beautiful community where your hosts know everyone, and where fisherfolk's families serve fresh catch at the charming local restaurants.


Wonderful surprise

5 sur août 03, 2007

I found the Inn to be one of the best values and experiences of my month-long road trip. I love the quiet of this little town and the ability to walk to both restaurants and the sea. Melanie is both a gifted chef and host. Breakfast is a 'foodie's' dream!


Quiet get away

4,6 sur juillet 05, 2007

We had one of the boat house rooms that overlook the marsh and I would only recommend these rooms. The view and serenity of these rooms made the entire stay. This is a place to go to if you want to get away from everything. There is very little to do in Moss Landing and it is a drive to get to a bigger area. The inn keepers are very friendly and cook up a wonderful and large breakfast. Compared with some of the other B&Bs I stayed in on our trip, I felt the room was slightly overpriced but I would stay there again in the same room.


Loved our room in Boat House!

5 sur juin 11, 2007

My daughter (27-years-old)and I spent a wonderful night in Captain's Inn's Boat House addition and loved it! Not only was the sunset beautiful, but it was such fun to be able to watch the sea lions from our window. The creative attention-to-detail, especially in the Boathouse rooms, are impressive--and fun! The hospitality at this inn is exceptional, everything is clean and there, the views are magnificent, and there is a large array of amenities. Breakfast was a real treat, as well as evening appetizers. We recommend this inn highly!


The sunset is just as advertised!!

5 sur février 24, 2007

The photos on the website sold us on the Inn–sunset viewed from the High Seas room in The Boathouse was just as advertised! There is a large, deep soaking tub furnished with a toy boat, bath crystals, sea lettuce shampoo, plush robes, and (unlike many places we have stayed) plenty of hot water! The windows in the room are designed to maximize the view. There are two wicker chairs in the window bay–complete with two pairs of binoculars, a bird book, and flash cards of the local wildlife. The view is over a harbor (no vessels in this part of the harbor–only critters) separated from the ocean by a sand dune. The innkeeper, Melanie, was great, very intelligent, down-to-earth, and clearly loves what she is doing. She is a Moss Landing native and obviously cares about the area: the history and future. She arranged our tours, and recommended some great restaurants. Everything is within walking distance. Other amenities: gas fireplace, cookies left on your bed in the evening, web access, small TV, delicious breakfast served in the dining room of the main house, there is a refrigerator in the dining room of the main house for guest use (no refrigerator in the room) Things to know: there is no “traditional” shower–there is a handheld showerhead in the tub, the TV is very small (but who wants to watch TV while staying here…) The perfect itinerary-even if you just have a day to “get away” Check-in is between 4 pm and 6 pm 1. Be sure you arrive with a cold bottle of wine in plenty of time to watch the sunset from the wicker chairs sipping your wine 2. Dinner at The Whole Enchilda (fabulous coastal Mexican cuisine) Next Day: 3. Wake up and watch the critters in the harbor 4. Go for a walk on the beach 5. Have a delicious breakfast prepared by Melanie 6. Go on The Elkhorn Slough Safari tour (this is an absolute must!!!) 7. If you’re lucky enough to have a second night repeat step one, have dinner at Phil’s, and go on the Sanctuary Cruises whale watch


Captain's Inn at Moss Landing

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $149 - $280
  • Avis (48) 4,8
  • Chambres 10
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8316335550

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut