Bidwell House Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
222 Avis

Ecrire un avis

The Bidwell House: A Charmer in Chester

3,8 sur juillet 02, 2014

The Bidwell House is a cozy B&B with friendly staff, clean and comfy rooms with wonderful beds and decadent bathrooms. It's a great place to stay if you're enjoying recreation in the area - especially Lassen. Breakfast was served with a smile, and we loved the honor bar stocked with beer and a wine fridge. We hope to be back soon.


Fun Stay

4,6 sur juin 29, 2014

We had a wonderful 44th anniversary stay here in Chester! What a fun and peaceful place to come "home" to after hiking and biking during our days. We had wine/cheese/crackers on the gazebo, walked to town for dinner one night and thoroughly enjoyed the outstanding breakfasts with outstanding service each morning. We usually camp in our RV at the North Shores Campground close by but decided to do something different for our anniversary. It was a fun time!!


Pampered in the mountains!

4,6 sur juin 19, 2014

We had a lovely experience at the Bidwell House B & B. The room was comfortable and spacious; bath amenities were wonderful and the breakfast served in the morning was excellent! We will definitely recommend the Bidwell House to friends and would be happy to stay here again when visiting Lassen Volcanic National Park.


a wonderful stay

5 sur juin 18, 2014

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was. Everyone of the staff made us feel cared for, relaxed and pampered. I plan to recommend staying here to all our friends and family.


Very nice & peaceful

4,4 sur juin 13, 2014

Our room had 2 large windows one with beautiful views of the meadow & lake and the other of the mountains. The grounds are also nice with lots of trees for shade. The owners were absolutely wonderful. You can eat breakfast in their dining room or they will even bring it up to your room. Food was great and we really enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this as the only place to stay in Chester.


Jim & Sandra

5 sur juin 08, 2014

It was perfect in every way. I would highly recommend!


The most relaxed I have ever been.

5 sur juin 01, 2014

Bidwell House bed and breakfast could not have been more perfect. After an extremely long month without a single day off, it was just what I needed to relax and unwind; the in-room Jacuzzi was a definite plus. My girlfriend and I had chose the "touch of romance" package since it was our two year anniversary, and having a wonderful breakfast delivered to the room was worth every penny, I'd suggest the "touch of romance" package even if you're not there for romance. The atmosphere and local surroundings and restaurants made this an unforgettable vacation.


The perfect place in Chester

5 sur mai 15, 2014

Really the best option when in this area. Excellent place, service, very quiet and relaxing. Nice, hard-working couple running it. And, it is more economical than the chain hotels in the area. What is not to like? The friendliness and service really is noteworthy.


Fun in the old farm house

3,8 sur mai 13, 2014

We had a good stay


Lovely Inn

5 sur mai 12, 2014

We spend every summer at Lake Almanor in our motorhome, but this is the first time we finally visited the Bidwell House. It was truly delightful. The innkeepers are very welcoming, and the atmosphere is warm and cozy. Our room was wonderful and we enjoyed the jacuzzi spa before retiring. The morning breakfast was out of this world - a real treat - excellent food, prepared and served beautifully. We will definitely stay there again.


We have always enjoyed the Bidwell House.

4,2 sur mai 02, 2014

quiet, beautiful, and romantic. I hope you love this place as much as we do.


Great Stay

5 sur avril 29, 2014

This is our third stay at the Bidwell House. We enjoy the environment, the rooms are clean and the owners are so friendly and accommodating. Their 3 course breakfast was very good! it is a place to relax and turn off the busy world around you. We will return again, for sure.


Wonderful customer service

4,4 sur mars 12, 2014

We recently took advantage of their 3 nights for 2 winter offer and was delighted with the result. The room was a good size and nicely appointed and cleaned every day. We also ordered the romance package and received breakfast in bed for 2 of the mornings. The food exceeded our expectations too. Very creative and relatively healthy too. Overall a wonderful stay with excellent customer service. We will be back.


The Best

5 sur décembre 24, 2013

Was a great experience. Our host were the best


Bidwell House

3,6 sur novembre 17, 2013

The 2 room suite was beautiful, the beds were comfy, the bathroom was beautiful although it would have been nice to take a shower not just a bath due to no shower head or hand held shower head. The hosts were very pleasant. The food was disappointing. The omelet was good. But when away on vacation, it is always nice to be spoiled with upscale dining. A little more creativity to the breakfast menu would make the stay perfect!


A lovely place

5 sur octobre 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a night here for our 1 year anniversary. It was a lovely room, perfect for a couple to stay in. We were accommodated nicely with excellent service, and a nice home-cooked gourmet breakfast!


Exceptional facility

5 sur octobre 25, 2013

My family and I stayed in the Stover-MacKenzie Cottage for a weekend. We really enjoyed the cottage with all the extra beds, full kitchen, wood burning stove, and living room. It was a perfect fit for us as we hiked all day at Lassen Volcanic National Park and came back and relaxed in the cottage at night. The facilities at the Bidwell House are beautiful and the fall colors on the trees surround the property just added to the scenery. The Breakfasts both days were outstanding. The presentation of the menu and the presentation of the food exceeded my expectations. I hope we can return to the area some time soon and enjoy the Bidwell House again.


GREAT!

5 sur octobre 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and were very pleased with the acommodations,


Lovely bed and breakfast

3,0 sur octobre 15, 2013

Room was spacious and the breakfast was good and filling


revisit to Chester

4,0 sur octobre 14, 2013

It was a lovely stay. The hospitality and comfort were wonderful and the big hearth in the gathering room was delightful. Had a bit of view of the lake from the couch too. Nice people who left us alone but were around to help if need be. So, a good visit all around!


A very nice B&B!!!

4,4 sur octobre 13, 2013

We stayed in the 'Robin's Roost' which had a lovely view and the room was clean, well appointed, quiet, and very comfortable! Breakfast was creative and tasty and the service was friendly and personable! We were offered help with our luggage and that's unusual for a B&B and thus service rates five stars from me as we had the same level of service I normally expect from a much pricier establishment. Honestly, this B&B would run $700 a night were it located in Monterey or Carmel and I have no doubt the place would be packed every night even at that rate! This is an excellent place and we'll be coming back for more!


Very Nice Stay

4,4 sur octobre 11, 2013

Very lovely setting with great views and close to town and restaurants. We stayed in the Lassen room. The bed was on a raised floor that my wife tripped on twice. Other than that, our stay was wonderful. We would go back to this establishment.


A Gem.

5 sur septembre 30, 2013

I think this B&B in very endearing. The hosts are kind, welcoming and sensitive to guest needs such as food preferences. The food they provide is delightful and beautifully prepared and served. It feels like a little bit of Europe, and a lot of the beautiful area of Chester, Lake Almanor and Lassen. I thought this was a very sweet place to stay. I have already returned once and will be back again.


Bidwell House B&B in Chester, CA

4,0 sur septembre 30, 2013

Staying in the cabin next to the B&B was great. The room was larger and kitchen was nice to have.


Very Nice

4,0 sur septembre 22, 2013

The B&B is great. The breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are really comfortable & the staff is super. The only draw back is since there is no A/C if it is hot you need to open the window and outside can be noisy.


An unexpected surprise

4,2 sur septembre 18, 2013

Bidwell House is located at the east end of Chester, less than seven miles from Lake Almanor. The main house welcomes you with an intimate living room (free sherry for sipping at the end of the day), an adjoining sun-room with a television and large DVD selection, and of course, the dinning area next to the kitchen. The staff is very friendly, energetic and attentive. Breakfast was the highpoint and exceeded our expectations. Though the selection is limited, it is well made and presented with flair. There are rooms up stairs in the main house, with the majority of the rooms located in a two-story adjoining building tucked behind. This is a modern addition to the original house but the construction and rooms reflect the time and style. Our room was comfortable, clean and decorated to match the time period. The overall atmosphere is quiet and very relaxing. We were not expecting quite this nice of an experience and were very pleased. I don't want to oversell, but I believe you will find Bidwell House a real value tor the money and believe you will enjoy your stay as much as my wife and I did.


A really nice and welcoming B&B

4,0 sur septembre 17, 2013

When I was planning our trip to California to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, Chester seemed an ideal place to rest up ahead of our trip into the Lassen Volcanic National Park. This may be unfair to Chester but Bidwell House seems somewhat out of place; it is a beautifully maintained B&B, lovely spacious rooms and very welcoming and helpful staff in what seems a bit of a one-horse town. On arrival we were given the grand tour, shown all the amenities and told to help ourselves to coffee, tea and cookies, and to use the refrigerator to store juices etc for the next day. The receptionist tried several times to get us and another couple reservations at the local Italian restaurant, but without success as the restaurant was not answering its 'phone.. Bless her, she tried. Next morning this helpfulness was evident again when my wife splashed her white blouse with blueberry juice. Out came the damp cloths to remove the major stain followed by the bleach pen to remove what remained. Blouse restored to whiteness. As for breakfast it was great, and so filling.


Charming B&B

4,6 sur septembre 17, 2013

A delightful place to spend a couple of days, everyone was incredibly friendly and more than happy to accommodate our needs. We would be happy to return some day.


Great stay

5 sur septembre 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Bidwell House in Chester, CA. It was a wonderful oasis after a day hiking at Lassen Volcano National Park. Breakfasts were delicious and our room a beautifully inviting. Also private and quiet.


Fantastic B&B

4,6 sur septembre 08, 2013

Bidwell House is a great place to relax and to feel comfortable.


Very pleasant stay

4,4 sur septembre 07, 2013

Very nice room, although I always want a desk or table in a room to write/type on. Appreciated the honor bar, cookies and great breakfasts - I was so pleased that the portions were not excessively as many restaurants do nowadays. good variety of food well presented by very cheery, nice women!


Great place to stay.

2,6 sur septembre 05, 2013

This place deserves a high recommendation. Unfortunately the room we were in is their least expensive and it showed it. Our first night the security light from outside shown on our pillows. Also the room had no dresser, just some hanging cloth bags in the closet. Our host was prompt in adding a dresser but we had to do some finagling to block the light while keeping the window open on a very warm night. If we had booked one of the more expensive rooms I believe we would have nothing but a very positive experience. Their breakfast is the best in Chester. There is a very comfortable and homey feeling throughout the Inn. The hosts were very amiable an quick to respond. I have high expectations so I had to do a three star because their scale for three stars was "met my expectations", and it did (except as noted). In a normal five star rating I would have given them four stars.


A Beautiful Site

5 sur septembre 03, 2013

We just spent 2 wonderful nights at the Bidwell House in Chester. It was just lovely. We had a beautiful room and breakfast was fantastic. The staff is most gracious and friendly. We would certainly recommend this site to all of our friends and family wishing to visit the gorgeous area of Lassen National Park. Thank you so much for a well rested time at the Bidwell House.


A very nice experience

4,8 sur septembre 01, 2013

We have got a lot of attention from the hosts but also the silence we were looking for. Quality services and in every single aspect of our stay. Very nice location at the end of the world.


Great place close to Lassen NP

4,0 sur août 29, 2013

Great location if you want to visit Lassen NP and especially Warner Valley and Juniper Lake. Everybody is very friendly and always there to help. Breakfast is outstanding.


Lovely place to stay in Chester CA

4,6 sur août 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at the Bidwell House. The room was lovely and very comfortable and the breakfast was great! Staff and owners were very welcoming and helpful.


Lovely

3,6 sur août 25, 2013

This is a great small town Inn and from what we saw on our visit, the best place to stay if you are going to Lassen National Park and don't want to camp. We went on a July 2013 weekend and enjoyed an art festival, wine walk and live music on the porch of the B&B. Staff was helpful and guests are given the run on the house, not usual for a B&B. The grounds and gardens are a treasure. There were some bumps in our short stay but we would recommend this B&B


Truly Relaxing

4,6 sur août 24, 2013

This is a very cozy, welcoming and relaxing B&B. Close to Mt. Lassen National Park and other outdoor activities. I look forward to returning.


Great B & B We stayed in the cottage.

4,8 sur août 23, 2013

Breakfast was the best! The cottage was roomy and a nice large kitchen. ONly complaint would be that we had to go over to the main house to get internet service but we were gone most of the time so it was no biggy. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Towels were very plush.


Delightful B&B in a good location

3,0 sur août 22, 2013

We booked this B&B following a recommendation by the Travel Clinic in The Times newspaper as we needed somewhere to stay for a visit to Lassen. It met all of my expectations based on that report. It was a lovely building with the old world charm that isn't always seen in USA but what we often come to expect in the UK. The room that we had was spacious and comfortable but some aspects were a little tired - the fabric on an easy chair (not antique), the shower sealant was discoloured and there had obviously been a leak at some point by the condition of the flooring, the windows appeared to have been painted over and we were unable to open them (the weather was hot). The owners were friendly and welcoming, as were their staff. The breakfasts were tasty and varied and different to many typical offerings. The information on their website and advertising brochures talked of cookies and fruit being readily available but we only saw these on the first afternoon when we arrived. It was a relaxing place to stay and I would certainly consider staying again if I was in the area.


marathon stay

4,6 sur août 21, 2013

we loved our stay


30 miles out of the way and worth it!

4,8 sur août 21, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary with a hiking vacation. Our first hike was in Mt Lassen. The Bidwell House was recommended as a nice place to stay and it wasn't until we got there that we realized it was 30 miles in the wrong direction from the Park. But it was much nicer than any place we passed that was closer and we were glad that we went out of our way to stay there. They had the best breakfast of any place we stayed on our entire trip! Beautiful bed too!


Lovely, charming and comfortable B & B with hospitable service

4,8 sur août 19, 2013

Sat on the cool, breezy porch and looked at the flowers; after dark sat in the comfy reading chair in front room; slept well on very good mattress and charming room; sharing a bathroom was easy; superior breakfast; hosts and staff are welcoming and helpful. It was my second visit and I will go back.


Great Destination: We would do it again

4,4 sur août 19, 2013

We enjoyed the lawns and well kept gardens. The house itself offered us many amenities along with excellent breakfast service and food. The bed was very comfortable and the room pretty.


Charming house & grounds

3,8 sur août 07, 2013

The house, the grounds and the staff are charming and the location is great!


Wow! Bidwell House

5 sur août 05, 2013

The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Abundant gardens and flowering trees will be lovely in every season. Our room was comfortable and airy, furnished with antiques and quilts. Breakfast was abundant, yummy and imaginative. I especially appreciated access to the kitchen with many teas and coffee always available. Very near Lassen Volcanic. I'd love to go back.


Stay at Bidwell House in July, 2013

4,0 sur août 04, 2013

The welcome atmosphere, the rooms, public areas, the grounds....all were just excellent. Also impressed with knowledgeable, pleasant staff.


Excellent experience at the historic Bidwell House...

4,6 sur août 03, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful B&B in Chester. This was our launching point to explore Lassen and beyond. Highly recommended.


Relaxing stay at lovely B andB

4,2 sur août 02, 2013

Everything about the Bidwell House was great! I recommend it, and would gladly stay there again.


Spectacular

5 sur juillet 30, 2013

A hidden gem in Chester, CA. Superior service and an inviting space. The rooms are unique, clean and comfortable. The staff goes out of their way for guests including gourmet breakfast in bed if requested. Professional and personable


happy group

5 sur juillet 30, 2013

Two PCT thru-hikers and two parental units shared the two bedroom suite and found it perfect--lots of room to spread out (and store) stuff and share civilized time in the "parlor" area of the master bedroom. It was a bit warm one night, but better placement of fans and use of shades made it much more comfortable the second night. The breakfasts were superb and everyone on the staff was warm and helpful.


Lake Almanor B&B

3,8 sur juillet 28, 2013

Charming and Restful.


B&B in a beautiful setting

4,2 sur juillet 16, 2013

The breakfasts were delicious and filling, the staff very friendly but not hovering.


Last minute overnight

5 sur juillet 15, 2013

We had to make a last minute reservation and everyone involved were professional and efficient. Unfortunately we were unable to enjoy the breakfast, but it smelled good. We will come again and stay longer.


Wonderful experience!

5 sur juillet 14, 2013

This was a lovely bed and breakfast, very pleasant, close to Lassen National Park. The owner was very helpful, the room was very comfortable, and the food was excellent.


Will return year after year

5 sur juillet 12, 2013

Our first impression was how beautiful the house and the surrounding property was. Inside we were met by very nice, welcoming people who seemed to be long lost friends. Our room, the Mackenzie B room which was lovely. A bit smaller than expected but none the less, lovely. Coming down to breakfast was a complete joy and quite a surprise to my husband. Our three-course breakfast was excellent!! The real treat was our waiter, Joseph, who was not only polite but the very essence of graciousness. His manners were impeccable as was his willingness to serve us an unbelievable breakfast -time meal. Though our stay was for only 2 nights, we will certainly return to try one of the other rooms and we look forward to staying with the wonderful people of the Bidwell House. A million thanks to all!! Allison and Bob Riblett


Great Get-away!

4,2 sur juillet 12, 2013

Quaint accommodations, beautiful grounds, peaceful location. NIce hospitality by innkeepers and a fantastic breakfast.


Bidwell House

4,8 sur juillet 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Bidwell House for a quick getaway from Reno. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and charming. The staff was enthusiastic and friendly and the gourmet-style breakfasts were just enough to satisfy us without overwhelming us. Additionally, the grounds provided us the perfect opportunity to read and enjoy a glass of wine.


Beautiful B&B

4,6 sur juillet 10, 2013

My husband and I had such a great time staying at the Bidwell House in Chester. I was fortunate enough to get the last room available on the 4th of July weekend. Our room was a bit warm the first night due to very warm weather but when the weather cooled down it was just fine. The owners and all who worked there were wonderful. As a guest you have access to the house anytime of the day to get whatever you need. For our first visit to Chester, we definitely stayed at the right place. If you like the outdoor life, but enjoy a nice place to rest your head then the Bidwell House is perfect.


Comfort in the mountains

4,6 sur juillet 09, 2013

We have stayed here several times and have enjoyed the friendly service and very comfortable rooms. Great location!


Quite Lovely... But lacks one thing that may matter

4,2 sur juillet 05, 2013

We stayed in the Rose room. It was spacious and well appointed with a comfy bed, an in room flat screen TV and an assortment of movies. There were also plenty of windows with fully working hardware. Overall the property is very well maintained, the staff very friendly and helpful. One minor issue for us is that we are "shower people" and there is only a hand held, in (jacuzzi) tub arrangement here. It's a little awkward to adapt to. Because it was unusually hot during our visit it felt a little "unprivate" with the bathroom window open. The window opens to the walkway where guests in other rooms pass by. The main thing that is lacking, however, is air conditioning. Our visit coincided with high temperatures over 100 degrees. Although overnight it did eventually cool enough that we no longer were sweltering, we literally had to sit beneath the ceiling fan in the middle of the floor with all doors and windows open - an awkward and not terribly private strategy. The lights outside the room were over bright and can not be turned off. We'd gladly go back, but only if the daytime temperatures stay well below 90 degrees... With all the blankets, comforters, and the in-room fire place, it's clearly best experienced in cold weather. Regrettably we only stayed one of the two nights we reserved and retreated to a less wonderful place that had air-conditioning. The Bidwell House is well located for those interested in exploring Lassen National Park. Oh, and the sole coffee spot in town is excellent.


The perfect getaway!

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bidwell House on June 28-30 for our 5 year anniversary. It was exactly the break we needed. The house and surrounding grounds are beautiful, the room was very spacious and comfortable (Garden Room), the staff very accommodating, and the atmosphere relaxing. The breakfast both mornings was very good and filling but not heavy. The town (Chester, CA) has plenty to do especially with Lake Almanore right there. This was the break from the daily rush we both needed and will definitely be staying there again. R&J Beck.


Remembering Our Stay in the Garden Room in June 2013

4,4 sur juillet 02, 2013

This is undoubtedly the best place to stay in Chester, California. The food and breakfast room staff are wonderful. The rooms are beautiful. The place is family friendly. The only negative we found is the exterior room windows were spattered with bird droppings, which made it difficult to enjoy the scenery. Also, the room carpets were nicely vacuumed, but they did not appear to have been steam cleaned in a long time. There were visible stains, which appeared to have been spot cleaned. Unfortunately, the stains were so deeply embedded in the carpet they still showed. We have stayed at this B and B before -- and would stay again. We would recommend it to friends as well. We would, however, advise bringing slippers -- as you would not want to walk barefooted in the rooms.


A quiet relaxing stay.

4,8 sur juin 30, 2013

We had a very nice two night stay. Food and service was excellent, and the room was clean and beautifully decorated. Would deffinettly stay here on our time through Chester.


Highly recommended!

4,6 sur juin 27, 2013

We had a great stay at the Bidwell House (Hummingbird room). Very helpful staff, nice and clean room, wonderful breakfasts.


wonderful place to stay

5 sur juin 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Bidwell House. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing - tasty and filling. Can't say enough about how nice it was.


Cute, quaint B&B

4,8 sur juin 19, 2013

The employees are all very very nice and breakfast was delicious.


Bidwell B&B

2,8 sur juin 18, 2013

A very charming Bed and Breakfast in a wonderful location. The grounds are very well kept and the public rooms are very cozy and comfortable. Cookies and Sherry in the afternoon add a nice touch. We also appreciated the availability of a refrigerator for the guests. However, while the two breakfasts we had during our stay were tasty (I really enjoyed the apple turnovers) they were rather skimpy. And the bed in our room (Hummingbird) was downright uncomfortable.


Great Place to relax

5 sur juin 16, 2013

Staff was very helpful. House is great to hang out ...lots of room to spread out in living spaces. Inn Keepers were fabulous. Food was great.


Amazing B&B - wonderful hosts!!

5 sur juin 05, 2013

We truly loved our stay - the rooms were immaculate, well decorated and the views, birds, flowers and plants were so fun to see. It was most relaxing, and we really enjoy being able to go into the living room or sun room in the evening for some games, reading, movies or just plain relaxing, with a glass of sherry if we wish! All in all, a beautiful place and wonderful place to stay.


Business Stay

5 sur juin 05, 2013

Quiet comfort!


Wedding Anniversary

5 sur juin 03, 2013

We had another great time. It is so quiet & relaxing there.


Wonderful B&B

4,6 sur juin 03, 2013

Our stay here was just wonderful and restful! The food was just fabulous and the staff are so friendly and attentive. The B&B is also located in a most beautiful place. I recommend a stay here to everyone.


The Bidwell House

4,2 sur juin 02, 2013

Great time. Excellent service and yummy breakfast every day. DJ


A Treat

5 sur juin 02, 2013

We stayed at the Bidwell House for two nights while visiting the Lassen Volcanic Park. It is a wonderful retreat and the hosts are very thoughtful in meeting their guests' needs. The breakfasts are out of this world!


I love the Bidwell House!

5 sur mai 22, 2013

Philip and Eva run a beautiful bed and breakfast in the little town of Chester, CA. My husband and I make an annual trip up to Lake Almanor and discovered the Bidwell House last year. The house is gorgeous. The property and landscaping are beautiful. The breakfasts that Eva cooks herself are wonderful and will keep you full and powered up until at least lunch time (they are also very accommodating to any dietary preferences/needs you have). You are welcomed into this home and treated as if you live there, too. There are many spots to just sit and relax - a sun room, the living room (with fireplace and sherry in the evening), a porch, a back patio, and a gazebo. There's a guest refrigerator so you can store your own food, and you are also welcome to make coffee, tea, or hot chocolate in their kitchen. If you are planning a trip up to the Lake Almanor area, don't hesitate to stay at the Bidwell House!


Wonderful, quiet weekend getaway

4,6 sur mai 15, 2013

Comfortable, peaceful B&B with very helpful staff. Nice, spacious rooms. Enjoyed the homey touches of being invited to make my own tea in the kitchen and the use of a guest fridge. Would have been grateful for some sparkling water or other non-sugary, non-alcoholic drinks in the honor bar and a small bottle of conditioner in the shower. We had a wonderful, relaxing weekend. Thanks so much!


You'd never expect to find this quality in such a tiny town.

3,8 sur avril 24, 2013

There are more than a dozen rooms located behind the main house, each decorated in their own charming way. The main house is gorgeous and the grounds are breathtaking. Picture ready and perfect with porch swings and all. Worth the drive. The lake is everything you'd expect and more and there are views from every room.


Wish there was a hand held shower

4,8 sur avril 23, 2013

Only wish they had a handheld shower


Rest and Relaxation at the Bidwell House

5 sur mars 11, 2013

This is the perfect place to escape. My husband and I stayed here twice this winter. Our room was beautiful with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. It is such a beatiful place and gives off such a sense of romance. The service is amazing. Definately our favorite getaway.


Bidwell stay

4,2 sur février 21, 2013

The Bidwell House is a well run, friendly Bed and Breakfast. The gourmet breakfasts such as frittatas and pesto eggs over garlic toast were amazing, and The Red Onion, the restaurant owned and run by the same couple, was delicious and high class - the nicest place to eat in the whole area. Our winter stay was cozy and quiet. Great amenities such as DVD library, cocoa and tea available any time, afternoon cookies, and many others. Friendly and cheerful owners!


Birthday Get Away

4,8 sur février 21, 2013

On arrival, the overall appearance meet the expectation of what was shown on the web site. Room was clean and did not smell of smoke or any other odor. The common room was clean, with a fire going and a comfortable feel. My wife and I enjoyed our time and will most likely coming back for another stay.


A Nice Stay

3,6 sur janvier 30, 2013

Room was a nice layout. Double jacuzzi? Well, good thing my girlfriend is small. It felt a little cramped but accommodating. Bed was so comfy we didn't even get up for breakfast. A nice stay for relaxing.


A great home to enjoy!

4,8 sur janvier 08, 2013

The house is an amazing piece of history.


Cozy & Charming B&B

4,6 sur janvier 03, 2013

I went to Bidwell house for a short winter retreat in the mountains. It was an incredibly cozy & charming home. The service was wonderful and the breakfast delicious. I will definitely be back!


Great stay with good food,fishing and shopping in town.

5 sur novembre 29, 2012

Had a great stay at the Bidwell House as usual. The weather was cold enough to let you know winter was there. We had great breakfast with good conversation with other guest. Breakfast consisted of a granola yogurt,bacon,andpancakes one morning. Another morning we had a yummy omelet with toast and a dish of fruit with a pastry to followed along with coffee and choice of juice. Eva and Filip are gracious host to say the least. I myself slipped away to do some fly fishing within the boundries of Plumas county and was treated to some great trout fishing with 7 fish to show for the 2 hours of angling I fit in. My wife went along to read a book as I fished and enjoyed the beauty of the lake and the birds that were near to be watched in the peaceful setting. My son and I went to the basketball court to keep his game up a bit close by at the park near the feather river. The Town held its merchant night on Friday with lots of great deals and items available to all who shopped as well as cookies, icecream and others goodies offered to all that walked by. In the evening we ate at the Red Onion with Good seafood items,steaks and pasta dishes to please our palates. Also played a couple of games of pool with a nightcap or two in the the bar at the restaurant.The last day we cut our tree for Christmas to finalize our already great trip. Bud Chaddock


Best place to stay in Chester

4,2 sur novembre 18, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. I made a last minute reservation and arrived to find that my room had been upgraded. The room.was cute and clean. The next morning I arose to a 3 course breakfast. I enjoyed my stay so much that I stayed another night. Best place to stay in Chester!


Pre-Baby Getaway

4,4 sur novembre 15, 2012

Staff was very friendly & helpful. Room was very welcoming & warm, the heater was on for us before arrival. Loved the Touch of Romance package my husband surprised me with!! Thank you for supplying the package with sparkling cider for us, since being pregnant & unable to have champagne! Our breakfast in bed was served right at the requested time & was very delicious!!! Wish the door stop on the bathroom door didn't keep falling down to where the door was always open. We would definitely come back again for a mini getaway.


Great Fall Color

5 sur novembre 09, 2012

Had a great stay at Bidwell House you will too. Hope to be back next year for the fall colors.


A very pleasant experience

5 sur octobre 30, 2012

We stayed at the Old Glory room, which is spacious and on the second floor. This room has a jacuzzi and a separate shower.


more thian I expected

5 sur octobre 28, 2012

Our stay here was absolutely wonderful. The room was clean, welcoming and homey. The staff was very pleasant and easy to talk to. The owners were also very helpful and reallly easy to talk with. The food there was different and we really enjoyed it very tastey. Our over all stay here was more than we could have asked for and hope to do it again next year. Thank you so much for a wonderful time.


The Sweetest Place!!

5 sur octobre 26, 2012

I loved this B&B for several reasons- the decor was lovely & authentic- not overdone. Loved the antiques all around, especially the tall Victorian bed. And, there was a real wood fireplace in our room- how nice to be trusted to build a fire and then to enjoy it to stay warm! ( they do have electric heaters too!)...and the hosts were so nice- very discreet but very hospitable- you could tell that they really loved the place and had fun caring for the guests. I hope to go back there!!


Outstanding Find!

5 sur octobre 15, 2012

Chose this from the website whilst trying to find a base to visit Lassen Volcanic NP. What a find! Great location, large comfortable & clean accommodation. Friendly service with a great Breakfast. Plenty of off-street parking. Wanted to experience local american hospitality and found it here without reserve. Cannot recommend the Bidwell House highly enough.


Wonderful Place To Stay

5 sur octobre 13, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Bidwell House and enjoyed it very much. Hospitality was great, the house and the individual rooms were very clean and the Breakfast each morning was great! Thanks for a great stay at your B&B Ron and Teresa Collins


Wish I could move in

5 sur octobre 11, 2012

Bidwell House is a wonderful place to stay. My mom and I stayed for two nights in the two-room suite in early October. Our rooms were immaculate and full of the little extra touches that make a room special, like Lindt chocolates in our rooms every night. The hosts/co-owners made us feel welcome and at-home, and were ready with helpful advice about what to see and do and where to eat. Eva's breakfasts were delicious. The grounds are charming, with a little stream and water wheel, gardens, a gazebo, and rocking chairs and a swing on the porch. Our second evening was chilly, somthere was a fire in the fireplace. We met a number of repeat guests, and it is no wonder that people keep coming back - it is a wonderful house with a warm and friendly aura.


Senior Couple

3,8 sur octobre 11, 2012

A very pleasant and well-run B&B. Plenty of room to stretch out and just be yourself. Our room was large and very comforable.


A stay worth repeating

4,6 sur octobre 08, 2012

Delicious, creative breakfasts, extra touches of evening sherry and a well-stocked cookie jar, beautiful grounds with ample outdoor seating, and comfortable rooms make the Bidwell House a place worth returning to. I'd go out of my way to stay here again.


Charming Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 07, 2012

Great b&b, in a beautiful area. Eva and Filip are wonderful hosts. The room was very comfortable and clean. They have a great patio area. It was a very relaxing 2 night stay. Would love to go back again.


Bidwell House in Chester

4,4 sur octobre 01, 2012

It was the last stop on a driving vacation and was a lovely respite with very nice common areas and garden.


Perfect when traveling with another couple

5 sur octobre 01, 2012

We were traveling with friends so the Mackenzie rooms were perfect for us. The bathroom we shared was very large, and we had the entire upstairs to ourselves. The entire home was spotless, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed drinks on the porch and morning coffee in the living room. If you are a light sleeper, you may hear traffic from the front bedroom.


Lovely Inn

2,8 sur septembre 20, 2012

Felt more like an inn rather than a B & B as B&B's are usually more intimate. The owners were not very accessible though friendly when they were around.


Our visit to Chester CA

5 sur septembre 12, 2012

Came west to visit my wife's birthplace. Her parents moved east when she was 3 so she wanted to visit Chester. Bidwell was a great place to stay - close to the park and other interesting sites.


romantic

4,8 sur septembre 09, 2012

Is is a B/B with love to details. The rose room very romantic with fireplace. The bath was huge but the shower not so practical. Breakfast very fine, but should be more between sweet ans salt. the breakfast was to sweet.


Lassen National Volcanic Park stay

3,4 sur septembre 01, 2012

The Inn and the proprietors were very nice. The room was comfortable and nicely furnished. It is, unfortunatey, an older structure and so sound- proofing is sadly lacking. The noise from the nearby major highway was very noticeable (even with windows closed) and being on the bottom floor, we experienced considerable bumps, creaks, and thumps from the people staying in the room above. The breakfasts each morning were declicious and the common rooms in the main house were comfortable and inviting.


Review of Bidwell House

5 sur août 30, 2012

Loved this B&B. What a pleasant experience. The breakfast was incredible! I would return if in that area again.


We were positive surprised

4,0 sur août 28, 2012

We were travelling around Northern California by car and stayed in several hotels/motels. Bidwell house was outstanding in comparison because of the very good atmosphere regarding the building and park, the rooms where one can stay in the evening equipped with books, information material about the region, TV anf WiFi access. The very good breakfast and the very kind service made the stay very memorable.


Unforgottable Hotel that we have ever had

4,6 sur août 27, 2012

It was a outstanding hotel that gave us unforgettable memories, however, we will come back for sure next year.


Lovely B&B

4,8 sur août 20, 2012

We spent three nights in the Hummingbird Room and were more than satisfied with every aspect. I was expecting the room to be tiny due to the price and the picture on the website, but it was very roomy and the bathroom is HUGE! Everything about the place was wonderful. Only two things could be improved - the parking was tight and the TV needs to be replaced. Since we weren't there to watch TV it was not a big deal but it could easily be changed out for a flat screen with a good picture. Otherwise, a fantastic place we will definitely visit in the future!


A Nice Place to Land

3,6 sur août 20, 2012

This B&B was one of the highlights of our recent trip. It was cozy and welcoming, and judging from the appearance, it's probably your best option for lodging in the area around Lassen Volcanic Park. The staff was very helpful without being obtrusive, the breakfasts were wonderful, and the ability for us to go shop at the market and bring some picnic items back and use the dining room in the evening was a definite plus. The property is peaceful and well kept. Highly recommended!


Home from Home

5 sur août 15, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying in this charming Guest House with its friendly staff and excellant location, got to visit Lassen Volcanic Park, Redwoods and Mount Shasta, The town of Chester is such a slow paced and stress free expierence it was wonderful to be a part of it.


Enjoyed our stay.

4,4 sur août 06, 2012

Nice location near the lake, close to Lassen park, close to town and shopping. Nice relaxing garden area. We really enjoyed ourselves. Great Staff-- they made our stay.


Very clean and pleasant

3,0 sur août 02, 2012

We went here to celebrate our anniversary. The property met our expectations and was very convenient to Lassen Volcanic Nat'l Park. Our room was clean and comfortable; the breakfast was very nice; the back yard seating comfortable and relaxing; and we met some friendly people also staying here. Do consider this B&B if you are planning on coming up to Lassen Volcanic Nat'l Park or the Lake Almanor area.


A nice relaxing summer night

5 sur juillet 30, 2012

We found the Bidwell House to be warm and welcoming after a long day of traveling through Lassen National Park. Check in was friendly and quick then were escorted to our room with explanations about area dining and what time breakfast started in the morning. After a walk to dinner, we enjoyed the secluded patio in the company of the owners kitty. Breakfast was a wonderful, delightful experience. We would stay here again in a minute!


Charm in Chester

4,8 sur juillet 24, 2012

Just delightful. Relaxed, friendly country Victorian with space and style. I think the prices were lower than the bland chain lodgings nearby. Lake Almanor is lovely, and nearby Lassen National Park is wild! Foodie Alert - if you're in the area, a breakfast or lunch stop at Carol's Cafe, in tiny Prattville a few miles around the lake, won't disappoint.


Great Place in Chester, CA

4,2 sur juillet 23, 2012

We spent one night at the Bidwell House after dropping our son at Boy Scout camp. It is a great location from which to explore Lake Almanor and explore Lassen Volcanic National Park. The room was better than expected and the stram shower great after an afternoon bike riding. The weather was warm and the room didn't cool off as much as hoped. A box fan for the window would have helped (a stand-up fan was in the room but couldn't fit in the window.) The breakfast was very nice and filling. The ambiance was comfortable and pleasant. We would return to stay there again.


Superbly comfortable, pretty and hospitable B & B

4,8 sur juillet 22, 2012

Single room sharing bathroom with one other room; room was pretty and bed very comfortable; good ventilation; bathroom very large and convenient. Many lovely places in and around (big lawn, big concrete patio, big covered porch) the house to sit, relax, read, and visit with others. Breakfasts were extraordinarily good, with plenty of protein. Guest refrigerator, beverages available at all times. I will definitely return.


Nice place and very friendly staff

3,2 sur juillet 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay as the place is very cozy and staff are very friendly. Breakfast is nicely prepared and served with " appetizer" and desert. Having jacuzzi tub in the rooom definitely help soothe aching muscles from hiking. Close to Lake Almanor and about 40 miles away from Lassen.


Best in Chester

4,8 sur juillet 10, 2012

My wife and I spend our anniversary somewhere in the California "Golden State", and this year we explored Chester and the North Lake Almanor region of Plumas County. Our stay was accentuated by the pleasant surroundings and hospitality of this lovely inn. The Bidwell is part inn, part B&B as the "inn" is good size, a total of 12 rooms and a cabin as well. It is in the very heart of Chester on the main road, with a beautiful view of the countryside and the lake in the distance. What's exceptional: The inn and its history and authenticity The beds and hospitality of the innkeepers The amenities such as books, DVD's, fine local literature. The 3 course breakfasts that are cooked to order. Give it a try, I don't think Chester has anything else paralleling the Bidwell House or is it "Inn"? :)


Very charming B&B in Chester, CA

3,8 sur juillet 10, 2012

I was very happy to spend a night at the Bidwell House. It is a quite charming venue, in a somewhat out-of-the-way town. We chose it because of its location approximately midway between Yosemite and Ashland, Oregon. There is not much going on in the town itself (the one bar we found was definitely on the divey side, though the folks there were friendly), but if you are looking for a nice, quiet spot near Lake Almanor, this is definitely a great choice. The staff is very friendly, and the included breakfast (we arrived too late for dinner) was delicious (homemade blueberry pancakes). I would stay here again without hesitation.


One-Day Get-away

4,0 sur juillet 06, 2012

Beautiful room with view of garden and aspen trees. Very quiet at night, but some road traffic noise in the morning. Will return... hopefully, soon.


A Lovely Stay at Bidwell House

4,0 sur juin 29, 2012

The hosts are friendly and have lots of information about walks in the area. Having a refrigerator available is a nice touch, as are the common areas, sherry, cookies and fruit


At Home by Lassen Volcanic NP

5 sur juin 29, 2012

Love at first sight! Gracious hospitality, very large, comfortable, well-appointed room. Delightful interaction and conversation with owners Eva and Filip. Breakfasts were amazing and so well presented! Fresh cookies, sherry in the afternoon and an open kitchen! -Patti G Oviedo, FL


Great place to clebrate an anniversary

4,6 sur juin 29, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Bidwell House. We enjoyed the special treatment we received. The staff were attentive. The food was great. The champagne, chocolate, and rose created the those special moments.


A very nice place to stay when visiting Lassen Volcanic Park

4,4 sur juin 23, 2012

It is a little drive to the park, but it more than worth it! Very clean and relaxing place. We spent peasant afternoons there after taking tiresome hikes in the park in the mornings. Home baked cookies, fruits, ... in addition to excellent breakfasts. Thank you! I'd recommend this place to all my friends.


Charming B & B

4,4 sur juin 20, 2012

We recently stayed at Bidwell House for one night. The bed was comfortable and room spacious. The breakfast was outstanding, best we have had on all our travels thus far.


Bidwell House

5 sur juin 18, 2012

What a beautiful place! Friendly innkeepers and staff! Clean and comfortable rooms! Can't wait to visit again!!!!! :)


Wonderful in So Many Ways

4,8 sur juin 17, 2012

Made a last minute reservation and this place was a gem. Clean, cute and so convenient. The house has a lot of charm and is located on Main Street. Suggest staying on the non-road side of the house, but even then there is little traffic noise during the sleeping hours. Loved it.


A perfect stay

5 sur juin 03, 2012

It was the best BB in California we have ever been at. Perfect breakfast. Thanks a lot.


Enjoyable Stay at Bidwell House

4,0 sur mai 26, 2012

We spent three nights at Bidwell House and watched the 2012 annular solar eclipse, as were nearly everyone staying there that weekend. The service was excellent and informal. The meals were quite satisfactory. The hosts and staff were very accommodating and friendly. The room was pleasant and the grounds were beautiful. This is a good area if you are a bird watcher. A very pleasant place to relax.


Excellent and homely stay

4,2 sur mai 25, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and were very pleasently surprised. Our hosts and the staff were very friendly and made us feel right at home. Our room, the Meadow View, was spacious and quiet. After exploring Mt. Lassen Ntl Park and Lake Alamanor in the morning we felt free to make ourselves a pot of coffee and relax in the garden, the porch or the gazebo. Overall a very relaxing stay. We even made some new friends. We will definitely be returning.


Great Getaway

5 sur mai 25, 2012

Quiet, peaceful, relaxing. If you are looking for a place to catch up on your reading this is it.


Enjoyable Stay at Bidwell House

3,6 sur mai 24, 2012

Our two-night stay at Bidwell House was vet quiet and pleasant. When our travel plans call for a stay in the Chester/Lake Almanor area, we'll definitely stay again.


Wonderful Experience

5 sur mai 17, 2012

This inn is truly a gem, we had the most wonderful stay even for just one night! Best B&B we have ever been too!


A nice area to visit

2,8 sur mai 14, 2012

A nice place to stay. We stayed in 4 B+B on this trip We were more satisfied with the other 3


Charming B & B

4,6 sur mai 14, 2012

Bidwell house is as charming as its picture. We felt right at home. the owners were busy reopening their restaurant, The Red Onion Grill, but still took the time to be sure we were comfortable. The Mt. Lassen room was fun and beautiful. The shower a luxary treat. Hope to stay again if we every pass thru Chester again. Susan Block


The Bidwell house: great place to stay!

4,0 sur avril 30, 2012

Our family of four stayed in this lovely little bed an breakfast for only one night. I wish we could've extended our stay! From the lovely settings to the great ambiance and service everything was really, really great. It was home away from home!


2nd visit

5 sur février 10, 2012

I can't say enough positive things about the Bidwell House. Eva and Filip are wonderful hosts. They are always willing to go out of their way to get us whatever we need. The rooms are comfortable and inviting. We will definitely be back.


Very Nice Bed and Breakfast

4,6 sur janvier 25, 2012

First time at a Bed and Breakfast and it was very nice. Large room, comfortable bed, good breakfast. Double Jacuzzi tub was very nice and relaxing. Grounds were nice, covered in a few inches of snow due to a recent snowfall which was gorgeous.


Very Cozy Place

4,6 sur janvier 11, 2012

Loved the sherry by the fireplace. Eva and Filip were extremely friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay again in the future. Great breakfast in the morning too!


Charming place in an out-of-the-way location.

4,0 sur décembre 26, 2011

The room was spacious and nicely appointed. The service was friendly and helpful. And the breakfast was great - dessert after breakfast even! Overall, a very enjoyable stay.


Enjoyed our stay.

4,0 sur décembre 26, 2011

Charming location and rooms. Great food and hospitality, in a beautiful area.


A lovely place to stop and relax.

5 sur décembre 19, 2011

So nice to wander the beautiful grounds, borrow the computer to check email, read in the common area and dine on such a delicious breakfast!


Cozy place

4,0 sur novembre 29, 2011

We loved this bed & breakfast, except for the reception. There was no one when we arrived in the afternoon, around 3p.m. and the young lady who came after I phoned her (previously reading instructions left at the counter) was just OK, would be a good idea if she could be better trained for a "warmer" reception with a smile, for example. Next morning, we met Eva who was very attentive and nice as well as the lady serving the breakfast which was delicious and gourmet style. The plus detail in the room was the warm air coming from the fan just out the shower. The painting of the hummingbird and the flowers in the shower was beautiful as well. Overall, the house was beautifully decorated, very appropriatly with the Christmas tree by the fireplace.


Bidwell House Beckons

3,6 sur novembre 21, 2011

Our experience at the Bidwell House in Chester, CA was worthy of a return visit. Quiet, quaint, a friendly staff, a comfortable nicely decorated room, and delicious food made for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.


enjoyable stay

4,6 sur novembre 07, 2011

We enoyed our stay at the Bidwell House. We had a corner room with nice views out the windows. We ate dinner at the owners restaurant in Chester and it was delicious. The breakfast served at the inn was high quality as well. All the staff were friendly. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the amenities.


Very relaxing time in the splendor of Lake Almanor.

5 sur octobre 30, 2011

First off we have been staying at the Bidwell house for over 12 years both in the spring and fall months of the year. The area has many things to do such as hiking, fishing,nature walks and a changing view of nature in different seasons and fall colors in the Indian Valley area. Spring brings on the greenery of snow melt and the warmth of longer days. The rooms are very tidy and have themes that are all different yet charming. The service is also top notch with Filip and Eva as well as the staff helping in many ways. One in fact the local knowledge they have for the area around them and what is offered at differnt times of the year. We always find something engaging to do when we stay there. The value is very good in our opinion when you consider what a regular room at a regular hotel runs. Rooms are tended to daily in our case with everthing picked up when we return from our excursions of the day. Dining is very nice also. Good healthy breakfast with an egg dish, fruit, yogurt, and pastry to get you up and going in the morning.


Chester

5 sur octobre 28, 2011

Great to meet the owners of the inn. Enjoy my stay. Yes, will be back!


Charming!

5 sur octobre 26, 2011

Even though I messed up the reservation so they had to change my room mid stay, they made it seamless. The breakfast was the best I've ever gotten at a bed and breakfast. Their french toast is amazing. And every employee, to a one, was friendly, cheerful and helpful.


great stay!

3,6 sur octobre 18, 2011

Hade a lovely time at Bidwell House. We felt very well looked-after and enjoyed the quiet surroundings out in the garden. Breakfast was great, though my partner doesn't have a sweet tooth, so it would have been great to have something savoury on the menu... In general - highly recommended!


It's all in the details!

4,8 sur octobre 16, 2011

We were in the garden room, but I'm sure all the rooms are as fastidiously clean as it was. Good lighting, wifi, plenty of outlets for our computers (we work while traveling), and a warm greeting by the Innkeeper Eva. Breakfast was lovely, with plenty of good coffee. Plus, the inn is a place that seemed wonderfully out of the way to us, a very small town. I hope we can return.


Bidwell House B & B

3,8 sur octobre 14, 2011

A very friendly [family atmosphere] clean B&B very reminiscent of the true B&B's found in Europe/ UK. Made a convenient staging post to see the local area.


Bidwell B&B

5 sur octobre 13, 2011

Our room was spacious, and the king bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. The common areas of the Inn are large and well furnished. This is a great base for seeing Lassen.


First Adventure in Chester

4,0 sur octobre 10, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Oct. at Bidwell House and enjoyed it very much. The premises were clean, homey and comfortable. We found the house to be quaint and well managed. Plenty of staff on hand to provide just the right amount of customer service. The breakfast each morning was delicious, hot and timely. Very friendly service. Appreciated having access to the kitchen for coffee and tea in the late afternoon. Enjoyed the Sherry in the sitting area in the early evening.


Will definitely be back.

4,0 sur octobre 04, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at the Bidwell House B&B and we enjoyed our stay very much. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious and nutritious as well. It was nice to have access to the kitchen for coffee and tea anytime. We made use of the guest fridge outside too and that was a huge plus since we planned to "picnic" for lunch and dinner for the two days we were there. The first night we stayed, we went to the Red Onion Grill, recommended by the B&B staff. It was a pretty nice little restaurant for a small town, and the food was way better than we expected. We both had salmon which was moist and cooked nicely and the dessert was surprisingly rich and not too sweet. VERY happy with our dinners there. The only criticism I'd give to the B&B is that there was no heater in the bathroom and it's COLD in the mornings! And also we were never greeted by the innkeepers. The young girl who worked there gave us our key and sort of showed us around. That was just fine, but in the morning the owner was cooking and her husband was sitting at the desk and not speaking to anyone. I expected just a little bit more of a personal greeting and introduction. Other than that, it was a very nice place, very relaxing stay, and we will be back in the future.


Great place. I will go back.

4,6 sur octobre 02, 2011

Excellent B&B in a very small town. Close proximity to Lassen Park. The food was amazing. The grounds and common areas were great to hang out in. Our room was very comfortable. This is the place to stay if you are in the area.


outstanding service

5 sur septembre 28, 2011

The people were very friendly and helpful, especially the mother and daughter. A very pleasant stay.


The "3 Sister's"

4,0 sur septembre 28, 2011

We had a lovely time, we stayed in the Aspen room & the rest of us were in the cabin. The rooms were clean & inviting & the grounds were gorgeous! The staff was delightful and each of us would stay there again in the future.


Charming and Peaceful!

3,8 sur septembre 25, 2011

Charming find, comfortable and delightful. Staff was helpful in all respects. Stop your travels and spend a night at the Bidwell, you will be very pleased and delighted. I especially loved hearing a cow in the early morning, reminded me of my childhood, growing up on a farm.


Bidwell House B&B -- a gold nugget in God's Country

5 sur septembre 21, 2011

We have always loved the area -- but first time at this B&B. Outstanding experience!!


B&B w country charm

3,6 sur septembre 21, 2011

Stayed at Bidwell House many times. Always a good experience. Eva, Filip and staff are most gracious and helpful. Great breakfasts. Comfy beds. The only "con" would be highway noise at night. We stayed in Robins Roost. Bothered my husband a bit. I slept thru it.


No personal touch

3,2 sur septembre 17, 2011

The Bidwell House felt more like a motel than B&B. Great breakfast but weak coffee. No local feel. And don't eat at the Red Onion (recommended by staff)!


Bidwell House Review by Julian ans Sue from UK.

4,2 sur septembre 08, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights to visit Lassen N.P.. Accommodation in the Lassen room is perfect with a fantastic shower, however the bed raised on a platform could be a trip hazard, we stumbled twice. Breakfast was 3 courses and different every day and excellent with very friendly service from the staff. You get the complete run of the house with kitchen access if required and an honour bar with wines and beers. The only complaint was a swarm of small flies on the balcony, some of which did get in the room.


Surprise

5 sur septembre 04, 2011

I was hesitating to reserve a bed and breakfast, so my surprise was even bigger. Not only the rooms are clean, confortable, but they are nicer decorated than in a standard hotel. My wife liked it so much that she has chosen to relax there the whole day, instead of going with me and the two eldest daughters to visit Lassen Volcanic Park.


Wonderful!

5 sur septembre 01, 2011

We just returned from our 4 night stay at Bidwell House B&B in the charming town of Chester, CA. What can I say - a truly enchanting experience in every way. The inn itself is on the edge of town and is beautiful. Our room was quiet, large and impeccably clean, nicely decorated with antiques, comfortable king bed, and a jacuzzi tub in the bath. A large community refrigerator served us well and our food was undisturbed. The rooms are in the rear so there is absolutely no road noise, just the sounds of birds in the aspens outside our window. The grounds are large with a quiet patio, lots of trees, and a vegetable garden frequented by deer. But the highlight was the friendly service. Eva, our innkeeper, was delightful, and personally led the staff in delivering to our room our (don't miss this!!) Touch of Romance breakfast. This included bubbly, delicious fancy food, and a huge long-stem red rose. More than worth the extra $30. Chester is a very friendly town on Lake Almanor. There are lots of water sports, and Lassen Volcanic NP (our focus) is just 45 min. away. On mornings we were out too early for the yummy breakfast at Bidwell, we hit the nearby Kopper Kettle for good food and to rub elbows with some of the local town characters. We travel the West a lot, and the Bidwell House B&B is the nicest stay in recent memory. Well worth the price, beautiful, friendly service, great food, and quiet (yes, even the few children were well-behaved!) - what's not to like? Yes we will definitely be back!


Well-kept B&B

4,0 sur août 28, 2011

This B&B looks exactly as lovely and looked after as on the website pictures. Rooms are spacious and nicely furnished, with a homey bathroom. Top notch, however, is the breakfast meal: a freshly cooked 3-course menu. Definitely a place I would revisit anytime.


Bidwell House - the house Annie slept in!

4,6 sur août 23, 2011

Stayed in the George Miller room - very spacious and comfortable - even had a recliner in the room. The breakfast was outstanding and the staff were very nice.


Good value for money; excellent hospitality

3,4 sur août 21, 2011

Thanks to Eva for her hospitality and for going above and beyond to cater to our very specific vegetarian needs at breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the very well appointed rooms, relished the beautiful backyard and spent a wonderful evening in the lounge (which felt very home-like). We will definitely recommend Bidwell House to friends and family and certainly come back for a visit.


My August Stay

3,4 sur août 20, 2011

As per my previous stays with you, all went well and I have no complaints. All staff was competent and friendly. Room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Hope to be back in the future.........Thanks, Rick


What a great find!!!

4,8 sur août 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed 1 night while passing through town on our honeymoon. We stayed in the Old Glory room and it was very nice,well decorated and very,very clean. The staff was friendly and we really wish we could have stayed another night or 2 but we already had made reservations further up the road in central Oregon. The only problem with our stay was when we returned from dinner that evening there were lots of little flying bugs maybe mosquitoes that had congregated around all the outer light fixtures leading to our room.This is not a deal breaker because everything else was fabulous We were there August 1st so this may not be an issue during other months of the year. We have relatives in the area so we will definitely stay here again when we get a chance to get this way again.


Will return for sure!

4,8 sur août 10, 2011

Great Breakfast both days. Add the touch of romance package--sipping champagne and eating chocolates on the front porch our first night there really set the tone for our whole weekend.


What a lovely place to stay

4,0 sur août 09, 2011

The rooms are good, breakfast excellent and the ambience of the inn is restful and sunny A perfect base for mount lassen national park


Bidwell House B&B, Chester, CA

5 sur août 09, 2011

We arrived late to find a friendly letter with everything we needed to know, including how to make ourselves tea. The room was lovely (a great space to do yoga with the sun coming up) and breakfasts were delicious. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We loved that we could go into the kitchen and make tea whenever we wanted (and could have helped ourselves to complimentary sherry). It's very close to Lassen and many walks. We were sad to leave!


one night stay

3,4 sur août 08, 2011

large comfortable room, nicely decorated. needed a soapdish for the sink!


One night stay in the Meadow View room

5 sur août 08, 2011

The room and grounds are beautiful and inviting. After the tour and looking at our room, we immediately asked if a room was available for us to stay a second night (it was a weekend, so unfortunately, they were completely booked). We loved everything about our stay! The bed was really comfortable and the large jetted tub was very romantic.


Lovely B&B

4,8 sur août 07, 2011

stayed there 3 nights in July 2011 in the Aspen room. Lovely decoration and outstandingly yummy breakfasts!


A charming inn in a charming area

4,8 sur août 05, 2011

The Bidwell House is a charming B&B in Chester Ca. My husband and I would highly recommend a stay there if you are in the area. The staff is very courteous and goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are spacious and well appointed to help make your stay enjoyable. And the breakfasts are superb! They are 3 course meals that are delicious! We also liked the charming atmosphere of the front porch and just taking time to unwind and watch the world go by. We will definitely be back.


Nice surprise

5 sur juillet 30, 2011

We have stayed many places in Chester. Most are fairly primitive and set up for hunters and hikers. The Bidwell House adds a touch of class to the quaint town of Chester. We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and peaceful it was. The staff was great. Breakfast was excellent. Loved it!!!


July at Bidwell House

4,0 sur juillet 28, 2011

I will always love staying at the Bidwell House. The only thing that could use improvement would be the creaky stairs and maybe more available ice. Otherwise, the staff is superb and my stay is always comfortable and clean. -Brandon


Memorable Stay!

4,8 sur juillet 07, 2011

Bidwell House is a beautiful, idyllic property to have a getaway. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts each morning and romantic evenings on the front porch swing. From beginning to end, we had a relaxing, comfortable stay. Especially after long days of fun at Lake Almanor and Lassen Volcanic National Park, between which the BnB is perfectly located. We didn't want to leave.


A charming B&B in Chester

4,2 sur juillet 06, 2011

During the July 4th weekend we (Hubby and a teen daughter) stayed two nights at the Bidwell House while visiting the Lassen National Park. This is our first time ever to stay in a B&B. What a positive surprise! The Bidwell House is a unique, charming, meticulously maintained B&B. The entire staff are friendly. Filip is very helpful to orient me around the area (We had to change the plan due to the main road closure in LVNP). Our room (The Garden room) is in superb condition. The 3-course breakfast is delicious and filling. The sherry was handy for my hubby at the end of the day, and the freshly-baked cookies kept my daughter happy. The gray/black house cat kept my daughter entertained. Worth noting that the guests to the House are also very friendly and helpful. An active couple from the bay area chatted with me one night at the common room, and gave me some good suggestions on the hiking trails to explore. What a difference from the big chain hotels! Overall, Bidwell House is a wonderful homey place to relax and enjoy the Lassen area. We will definitely come back if visiting the area again.


Great place to stay close to Lassen Volcanic Nat'l Park

4,8 sur juillet 06, 2011

Bidwell House is a lovely, comfortable and very friendly B&B in Chester, next to Lake Almanor and an easy drive to two main trailheads in Lassen Volcanic National Park. My wife, son, and I just finished our 2nd stay there and had a great time.


Fantastic hospitality

4,0 sur juillet 05, 2011

The hosts were so very welcoming and kind. We had the meadow room. Unfortunately there were ants, but this is a B&B in the middle of the countryside! The two-person tub was fun, though a little small for these two people :) House cleaning forgot to clean our room one day, but the hosts were very apologetic.


Great Place to Relax

4,2 sur juin 29, 2011

This was a very nice accomadation if you want to get away for a while and slow down, the town was fun, and many shops and restaraunts were in walking distance. (a side note, the town closes at 5pm, the only thing open was the grocery store and restaurants, so be forwarned if you need to purchase anything.) A lake view through the windows of our upper story room topped it off well. Breakfast was excellent, and the room was quite large with a wonderful jacuzzi tub. Overall I would say Bidwell House was on par with anywhere I've stayed in the Napa Valley, and at half the price, a great value.


wonderful surprise!

4,4 sur juin 20, 2011

We arrived late at the Bidwell House but everything was ready for us to settle in for the night. We were invited to help ourselves to tea or hot chocolate before bed. The breakfast was amazing and the service/helpfulness of the staff outstanding. I would heartily recommend the Bidwelll House to anyone.


Better in Person

4,0 sur mai 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights for our 17th wedding anniversary. We were so pleased with the place. It is so much nicer in person, and the room was just beautiful! They had a great special which included breakfast in bed and a $40 certificate to a near by restaurant, which was very good. We never met the owners, but the helpers were extremely. We had the corner room which looked out over the yard, and even some snow flurries to watch from our bed. I highly recommend this place and would definitely go back!


Bidwell House, Chester Ca

3,2 sur mai 31, 2011

Lovely house and very comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast; I would say one of the best we had in the US but that benchmark is pretty low - this was good by international standards. Chester is a pleasant town - good birdwatching easily to hand by Almanor lake and good restaurants in town - try Burger Depot


May 2011

4,0 sur mai 30, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed ay the Bidwell House. The room was very nice and the service was good. Breakfast the next morning was very good and overall I think it is value for money.


Wanted to stay longer!

4,8 sur mai 25, 2011

Awesome place to stay. Excellent room, service, views, etc. Can't wait to come back and stay longer than one night!


Burgess/Kelley

5 sur mai 12, 2011

Eva and Filip were great hosts, warm and friendly. We will definitely plan to stay there again.


Great Find

4,8 sur avril 18, 2011

This great getaway is a reasonable drive from the SF bay area into pristine snow country. The snow-shoeing into the country-side in April was a highlight! The hospitality was warm and friendly and the inn provides all of the conveniences of modern living. Our hosts were genuine and caring and provided a wonderful three course breakfast each of the three mornings we stayed. We will be back in the summer! Thanks for a wonderful experience.


A little haven in the storm

5 sur mars 24, 2011

We came on a day when it had snowed to the rafters...a true haven in the storm. We wish we'd been there when the grounds were available to us as well. Eva's hospitality and cooking are outstanding and we found the experience most gracious and comfortable. Thank you!


It's very cozy and nice hotel.

4,4 sur mars 08, 2011

It's very cozy and nice hotel. Especially the breakfast is really good !!!!


Hummingbird in the Snow

4,6 sur mars 07, 2011

I've stayed at the Bidwell House many times over the years and have always had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. I've always taken the Humminbird Room but others I have seen look to be just as comfortable. The breakfast is always a delight and I'm already looking forward to my next trip. Linda


As my daughter used to say: this place was the bomb

4,0 sur mars 01, 2011

Bidwell house was truly excellent. Our room was excellent, clean, spoacious and had a double jacuzzi! Breakfast was on time, servers were gracious and efficient, and the meal balanced yummy and nutritious. Staff were very polite and helpful as was the owner. Forget Tahoe unless you want casinos and gazillions of people. We snowshoed our hearts out over 3 days (Lassen and local backcountry) and saw the !most!!!! awesome scenery after 5 feet of new snow. Dinner at the Bidwell's owner's restaurant (Red Onion in Chester) was very good, reasonable, and featured a 2nd night's 50% off on ANY bottle of wine..... woohoo!.... just the ticket after a full day snowshoeing. My wife and I were very happy and we will definitely be back. We had a blast


Always Memorable

4,4 sur février 27, 2011

We love the Bidwell House and look forward to staying in February each year. The staff are very attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is warm and cozy, even with lots of snow on the ground. Watching the snowfall outside the windows with a fire going is heavenly.


Will return

3,0 sur février 25, 2011

Very cold at nights. Every one made you feel like you where at home. Breakfast was great each morning. Glass of dry sherry was soothing in the early evening. Lassen National Park was a lot of fun and great snow shoe hiking. Most of the shops were closed. We will go back this summer and stay at the Bidwell House and do some hikes and mountain bike riding.


Winter lodging at Bidwell House

3,2 sur février 24, 2011

The Bidwell House is a quaint B&B in Chester, CA. I lodged in Bidwell House itself, not the addition in the back. The room was very nicely appointed, albeit a bit cramped, but it is a room in a house with a slanted roof. Noise from neighboring rooms was audible, but not disturbing, as were street traffic sounds. The bed was very comfortable. The room was warm (stayed in winter). The shared bathroom was large and well appointed. The owners of the Bidwell House make their livingroom, kitchen, and dining area open to the guests at any time. The fireplace was wonderful and stocked with lots of firewood. There is an excellent game room/sitting room with lots of board games, books, and movies. The only part of the visit that was sub-par was the food. Breakfast was predetermined by the owners (although I think you can order off the predetermined menu). The food is of mediocre quality. Based on a hunt for hot chocolate late one night, I realized that the Bidwell House neither serves nor offers organic foods, fair trade foods, or even premium ingredients. For example, a nice touch is the availability of sherry in the evenings by the fireplace. The sherry comes from a box. Another example is that coffee is limited to two or three types, none of which is organic, fair-trade, or shade grown. Plus, the coffee served was bland. If comfort is your highest priority, the Bidwell House is great. If food is your greatest pleasure, make alternative food arrangements.


Snowmobiling

3,4 sur janvier 10, 2011

Enjoyed the accommodations very much. Was a nice place to come home to.


Great Stay!

4,2 sur janvier 06, 2011

Had a great stay at the Bidwell House over the holidays! It was very cold and snowy in Chester. Perfect holiday weather and very cozy inside!


Bidwell House - Stover Cottage

4,0 sur décembre 29, 2010

This is the third year we have stayed in the Stover-McKenzie Cottage at the Bidwell House. We love the clean, cozy room, the full kitchen, and the warm woodstove. It is the ideal place for a family to get away and enjoy the snow! The breakfasts served in the main house are always amazing; lots of food, and a great variety! The staff is friendly and accommodating of all our needs. Eva and Filip have always been welcoming and personable.


Great Place to Stay. Elegant, but homey

4,8 sur décembre 26, 2010

Loved the Bidwell House. Stayed there years ago, and wasn't disappointed going back a second time. Loved the Rose room, and the wood stove heats the room like an oven! Food and people were wonderful.


Bidwell house B&B

5 sur décembre 07, 2010

Great value, the staff was excellent, our first B&B and we had a wonderful time, I highly recommend the bidwell house, breakfast was excellent and the town is extremely friendly!!


Great Bed & Breakfast!

4,0 sur novembre 15, 2010

We only stayed one night at The Bidwell House, but it was wonderful. Very relaxing. The "living room" downstairs had a great fire going and very homey and comfortable to just sit in a chair and read one of their many books or bring your own. They also have a very bright "sun" type room next to the living room where there is a tv and a small laptop computer you can use. We stayed in the MacKenzie B room and it was small but just what we wanted. There were no other people staying in the main house that night so we had the bathroom all to ourselves. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed sitting on the porch swing for a bit in the quiet of the night. Would definately recommend to anyone who wants a homey environment with pretty property around it.


recent stay

4,2 sur novembre 11, 2010

Very quiet place to stay. Enjoyed the fireplace in our room as it was cold and rainy part of the time. The breakfasts were excellent. I would recommend a stay here if you just want to get away and relax.


Relaxed and friendly

3,4 sur octobre 30, 2010

My husband and I recently spent three nights at the Bidwell House. We were entirely satisfied with all aspects of our stay. What particularly stood out to us was how happy the people who live and work there seem to be--always a sign of a healthy place, we think. Staff was attentive but not intrusive, and accommodated all our needs. Would definitely stay there again.


Simply Beautiful.

5 sur octobre 26, 2010

Drove up thru Feather River Scenic Byway and the Volcanic Legacy Scenic Byway and saw the various fall colors. The Bidwell House only added to the beauty of our trips, beautiful grounds, wonderful staff, the breakfast was spectacular, and felt right at home. Will definitely return.


Great B&B in an out of the way place

4,8 sur octobre 21, 2010

Everything was nicely done, couldn't have asked for more. We had a wonderful jetted tub in our bathroom and great king sized bed. Hosts were friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Dinner at the Red Onion was outstanding. Couldn't believe this gem was in such a tiny community.


Step back in time

4,8 sur octobre 21, 2010

We have been coming to the Bidwell House for the last few years. Our Honeymoon and Aniversarys. The town of Chester, with the looming Mt Lassen nat. park in the distance is a wonderful getaway from the hussle and bussel of the city life. The House, once owned by California Pioneer John Bidwell is quaint and the surrounding groomed property is beautiful. We will be coming back for many years to come.


Very charming!

4,0 sur octobre 18, 2010

The grounds are beautiful and the room we stayed in was large and clean, with a very comfortable bed. I would absolutely stay there again!


Our New Home Base in this area

3,4 sur octobre 16, 2010

Didn't want a routine motel room, routine environment or routine service. Bidwell was perfect! Slept well, relaxed on site well, fed well at breakfast, and the place is clean! Thanks again for your hospitality!


Very nice place to stay

4,2 sur octobre 14, 2010

I enjoyed the Bidwell House B&B. The rooms were nice, quiet, clean, and the shower was wonderful. Very good breakfast service in the morning as well. I think it is a great place to stay when in the area.


Bidwell House at Lake Almanor

4,2 sur octobre 14, 2010

Exceptionally friendly and accomodating! Lovely home; room and bath were very clean. Breakfast was fantastic! Had a great stay.


Wonderful stay at Bidwell

3,8 sur octobre 13, 2010

This was a great Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are decorated very nice and they are unique. The living area was very relaxing and enjoyable with the fireplace going in the evening. The grounds are very nice, very beautiful setting. I would like to return again.


Cute Bed and Breakfast

4,0 sur octobre 11, 2010

The three course breakfast was delicious and our room was cute. We had a great trip!


Great mini vacation

4,4 sur octobre 07, 2010

We spent three nights at the Bidwell House and found the entire staff to be very friendly. The Innkeepers Eva and Filip were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely go back.


Great B&B Experience

5 sur octobre 06, 2010

Our Bidwell B&B weekend was very relaxing, with a great friendly staff. We enjoyed the swing on the porch, reading in the gazebo, the Rose room, and a fantastic breakfast. Though good evening dining in and around Chester seemed to be very limited if you want to celebrate a special occasion.


only one night, but . . .

4,0 sur octobre 04, 2010

Beautiful spot, friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast!


Good B&B outside of Lassen Volcanic National Park

3,2 sur septembre 24, 2010

I really enjoyed the decor and the tasty treats at the front desk. The brandy by the fire was a nice touch, and the comfy sitting room with relaxing music playing was ideal to unwind after a long day of driving. I will say that the room and service met my expectations. The room, bathroom, and common areas were clean enough to walk around and not get dirty socks!! Surfaces were also clean. The kitchen was open to guests who wanted snacks or to heat up their own food or hot beverage. The one thing I was really let down by was the breakfast. Yogurt with honey bunches of oats cereal on top missed the mark. Perhaps homemade granola on yogurt would have been more appropriate, or fresh local fruit with raw honey or something. The omelet appeared to be made using exactly one medium sized egg. Very thin, and there was barely anything in it - a couple shredded spinach leaves with I think a tablespoon of sour cream on top. :( The toast was good, but no local jam, just Smuckers. The berry turnover thing was decent as far as a pastry goes, and so that really helped me get over the omelet let down. I did receive very prompt and courteous service when requesting a reservation (the same day I think) and so that exceeded my expectations. Wish the breakfast was a bit more authentic. I would stay here again, although I'd be realistic about the breakfast offerings. Many thanks for the nice stay!!


passing through the Lassen area

4,4 sur septembre 23, 2010

We decided to explore northern California on our way from the Bay Area to Oregon. A write-up about the national park in Lassen, in VIA magazine, intrigued us. We chose the Bidwell House based on the article and were not disappointed. We didn't even realize until we booked that it was a B&B, so learning that we had breakfast waiting was a bonus--and an incredible bonus. That and the very friendly staff made the stay superior. We will visit again--even when not en route to somewhere else.


NICE PLACE CLOSE TO LASSEN PARK

3,0 sur septembre 22, 2010

This is a very nice historic place, with very good facilities to make the guests stay as pleasant as possible.Some rooms back on to Highway 36 which makes them a little noisy but not too bad.I had a shared bathroom which was OK. Lassen Volcanic Park is a wonderful place to visit and from here you can drive to the Western end of the park,or to Butte Lake and Cinder Cone,or to Juniper Lake or Drakesbed. The only complaint I have is that the breakfast is fairly small, especially if you want to hike,and sometimes not that nutricious.


Stay at Bidwell House while visiting Lassen Nat. Park

3,0 sur septembre 19, 2010

We had a very pleasant time at the Bidwell House and would certainly come back again.


Pleasant surprise

3,4 sur septembre 06, 2010

Very nice common areas and grounds. Very helpful staff


Bidwell House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $50 - $150
  • Avis (222) 4,4
  • Chambres 14

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5302583338

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut