Jabberwock B&B Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
128 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Whimsy, Beauty and Relationships Abound

4,8 sur novembre 30, 2014

The Jabberwock provided us with a whimsical and delightful place to stay while we enjoyed the beauty of the Monterey peninsula. Our room, though small, was cozy and comfortable with fantastic views of the bay. Breakfasts were fabulous. But the inn excels in creating an environment for enjoying relationships with other guests and the staff. We will be returning.


Cozy B&B

4,4 sur juillet 24, 2014

This was a very nice place to stay at. Loved the garden areas.


Outstanding hosting and don't miss it in Monterey

5 sur mai 13, 2014

Dawn and John is very hospital and their house is a lovely kindom. Monterey is my favourite city in my whole trip and Jabberwock is my favourite hotel as well. The room($169/night) is a little bit small but has perfect view, when we wake up in the morning, cool winds came, bird sang, perfect morning. my husband and I love the stay experience here. The bad is able to adjust softness by left half and right half, the bath room has everything as my home, and I found thin bathrobe. Oh, the luxury breakfast, fruit juice home-made, fresh fruit and cake. Dawn and John not only run hotel business, they also take care your feeling as the family welcome.


Nice place to stay in Monterrey

4,2 sur mars 28, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Jabberwock B&B. The other rooms were very nice but our room, which did not have an attached bath, was a bit small for the price, $169/night. The breakfast was good and the owners were very hospitable and accommodating. My only issue was the price for a small room without an attached bath. So if you want to spend a little more ($200-309/night) you can get a room with the bathroom included, making the stay more comfortable.


Outstanding hosting

4,8 sur février 03, 2014

If you are staying in Monterey don't miss this wonderful Inn.


Friendly Inkeepers in a Lovely Setting

4,4 sur janvier 06, 2014

The Jabberwock is a beautiful B & B in Monterrey, California. The innkeepers are extremely kind and go all out to accommodate their guests. The rooms are lovely, clean and many of them have excellent views. My only suggestion is for the innkeepers to consider the potential dietary habits of their guests. Every meal had pork in (either ham or sausage). This could be easily solved by using chicken or turkey sausage. Also, some of the breakfasts tasted strangely like desert: high on carbs and low on protein. There seemed to be an abundance of potatoes and rice...along with the pork. The grounds are lovely and the evening wine is quite nice. The sherry strategically placed in the rooms is delightful.


Great 45 Aniversary

5 sur décembre 23, 2013

My wife and I booked last minute to celebrate our anniversary mainly after reading reviews for the Jabberwock Inn and were not disappointed with our stay. The inn is charming and was nicely decorated for the Christmas season. Dawn and John were great hosts and offered suggestions for area dining and interesting history on the area and facility. The included hors d' oeuvres and breakfast were very good and we enjoyed the casual atmosphere and conversation with other guests. We will return in the future for more than just one night's stay.


Terrific!!!

5 sur juillet 27, 2013

We made a long trip through many hotels... This was the best!


Through the Looking Glass

4,4 sur juillet 15, 2013

The Jabberwock is a lovely B and B in a peaceful and serene setting. The proprietors were very accommodating. Dawn, especially, was the most solicitous B & B owner we've ever encountered, constantly offering us more food and drink refills. The evening wine and appetizers were a very welcome touch. The place was filled with Alice in Wonderland reminders everywhere. It was like staying in a storybook land.


No ordinary B&B!

4,8 sur avril 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Easter break and it exceeded all our expectations - we didn't want to leave! John & Dawn are the most charming and gracious of hosts, who have literally thought of everything. The house is beautiful and the best thing about it, is the homely and welcoming atmosphere that they create every day. Their 'social hour' was something to look forward to every evening, as it let us meet interesting people and very often, we were dragging ourselves away to dinner! We will return without a doubt!


Have gone back twice, and will go again

5 sur juillet 30, 2012

We have stayed twice now in the Mimsy room at the top of the stairs of the Jabberwock Inn in Monterey. As the name implies, the house and beautiful gardens carry a definite Alice in Wonderland theme which makes it fun. Because this lovely old house sits on a hill, the top floor room feels very high up with a great view out over the bay. We love this vantage point. (There is a fire escape right outside the door if you are an anxious type of person who looks out for these things.....) While this room is small (the second floor has much larger rooms and suites) everything is efficiently and comfortably arranged with a shower in the room, very comfy bed, and window seat where we sat and read and talked. We love the little touches like a tiny carafe of brandy and jelly beans in the room, fresh cookies, milk, tea, coffee and even port downstairs.. We couldn't have been happier with our stay, both times. John and Dawn make hospitality happen from the moment you walk through the door with their warm and friendly welcome and tour. They have made sure that no detail is left unattended but never in a fussy way, always in a relaxed comfortable manner, from food to knowing everyone's names. They set up an environment where people can get to know each other down in the beautiful old rooms with comfortable chairs and big windows. While visiting we have enjoyed getting to know people from all over the United States and beyond. For new visitors to the area, John and Dawn were very helpful with suggestions and advice. We had such a good time in April that we returned in July, and we know we will be back again. David and C'Anna


Fantastic

4,8 sur juillet 21, 2012

Terrific experience all around- accomodations, beautiful gardens, friendliness, service, and food! Sherisse, John and Dawn were exceedingly gracious and helpful hosts from providing 5pm appetizers, to making dining suggestions and reservations, toserving a memorable breakfast. We highly recommend staying here.


When I get home I shall write a book about this place..... If I ever do get home.

4,6 sur mai 31, 2012

Not to write a full book, but this B&B is definitely one you should stay at. I booked one of the last remaining rooms as I was 15 min away, luckily they had one room. Dawn and John were gracious enough to allow us to stay with our 2 year old son, who absolutely loved playing with Dawn and enjoyed her chocolate chip pancake for breakfast in the morning! As you pull down the driveway, you will notice the lush grounds and how well maintained they are. Upon arriving John gave a wonderful tour of their home and what would soon feel just like ours. There are books to read, board games to fill a quiet afternoon and cookies and milk to cap the night! Returning to the room for the evening, you will find clean linen and a comfortable bed. After a restful night sleep, it is downstairs for a freshly prepared breakfast and fresh juice to get you started for an adventurous day in Monterey! Would we stay again?? Without a doubt in my mind, YES!


Great place to stay.

5 sur mai 28, 2012

The hosts were warm and friendly. Their suggestions for restaurants were perfect. But the best part of the stay was the inn itself. The room, common areas and landscaping were all outstanding.


One of a Kind place!

5 sur avril 25, 2012

We have stayed at a number of B&Bs but never experienced the family welcome as we did at Jabberwock Inn. John and Dawn make this B&B so very special--from the Jabberjuice at breakfast to dinner reservations and recommendations to the white board with names and cities of guests to the wine and appetizer evenings to the over-the-top gourmet breakfasts. We have never been made to feel so "at home" in a B&B as we did at this place. Also, never before have I really visited with the other guests and heard their stories and travels--all orchestrated very subtly by John as he sits on the couch with a glass of wine. The building and grounds are incredible, the view awesome. We were a bit stymied by the hill, but anyone who can manage the hill has no real need for a car--this place is so well located. We highly recommend this inn to anyone staying in Monterey! Barbara & Harris


A great Inn with a fun lighthearted theme. Lots of extras and a great location.

4,6 sur avril 11, 2012

John and Dawn were gracious hosts who were happy to provide answers to a travelers inquiries about sites in the areas and dining options. The Inn is lovely with many extra amenities included. John's sweet tooth matched mine! We hated to leave.


Great choice!

4,4 sur mars 27, 2012

We were happy with our choice. Very central location and cute house. Owners were very welcoming and cooked great food. The room (brillig) was the perfect size and we enjoyed the quirky details that made the house interesting but not cheesy in any way. Our sleep number bed was broken and the shower was not great but we didn't mind too much. I liked that they offered snacks around the house almost all the time. Cookies, candy and apps in the evening were the best part. I really liked the jabber juice in the am!


Best Vacation

5 sur mars 24, 2012

I can not recommend the Jabberwock Inn enough, I wish I had stayed longer. The room we stayed in was the Toves which was absolutely beautiful, the Inn Keepers we great, very friendly and accommodating. It's close enough to Cannery Row that you can walk to everything but not so close that you can hear it. It's up on a hill so you can see over all buildings and get a great view of the bay. I definitely plan on staying here again in the future.


Excellent Monterey Getaway

4,4 sur février 12, 2012

The food was fantastic. Just crazy fantastic. Their berry crepes are the best. Dawn and John were excellent hosts! The inn is fascinating with every nook and cranny has something interesting going on. Also, the sherry was the perfect addition. The Inn is a short walk from Cannery Row, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, beaches, whale watching and food We had a fantastic time and have recommended it to our friends.


Wow! Everything we could have hoped for - and more...

4,8 sur février 03, 2012

The Jabberwock is an absolutely beautiful, warm, welcoming place to stay. The old style architecture is awesome. There are 7 rooms that are priced according to size and the amenities in each room. This was a last minute reservation for my husband and so we had one of the smaller rooms, the Wabe, but it turned out to be perfect for us, it was very nice and quaint. There is also brandy in your room, for a night cap if you like, which we did :-) There are so many details I could go on and on...John and Dawn personally welcome you and give you a tour of the place, and are always available to answer any question, give advice on what to do in the area, or just entertain you with their conversation. They have a nightly happy hour with amazing appetizers and fun meeting other guests. They also will make your dining reservations for you, which was nice and turned out to be a savings, as the restaurant we went to waived our $25 corkage fee since they have a great relationship with Dawn & John. Breakfast was delicious as well with fun, fanciful names. And you will not go away hungry as the food is so good you just want to eat more! All of the Jabberwocky/Alice in Wonderland accents were fun details to search out and discover. The garden is also fabulous, complete with a Bocce Ball court, which we had a chance to play on with another couple staying there. It's only a few blocks from Cannery Row, so you can definitely walk to dinner and not worry about having to drive or park your car. We absolutely loved everything about the Jabberwock, and John & Dawn. I would recommend staying here if you have the chance and are looking for a wonderful experience. We've told everyone we know about it and plan on coming back soon!


GREAT B&B!!

5 sur janvier 24, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a three-week vacation and with all the places we stayed at, the Jabberwork Inn was the BEST!!! John and Dawn are amazing innkeepers - we really enjoyed visiting with them and the other guests. We really feel like we made lifelong friends at the Inn. John and Dawn are welcoming, generous and courteous!! Breakfast with Jabber juice is one that we will not soon forget. They added some special touches to our B&B experience that we cannot wait to get back there!!


Anniversary stay at Jabberwock Inn

4,8 sur janvier 08, 2012

My husband and I received as a gift for our anniversary a two-night stay at Jabberwock Inn, so I can not really review the value of this Bed and Breakfast, but I can tell you we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. John and Dawn were excellent hosts and made sure that our stay was perfect. The breakfasts we had were incredible, as were the appetizers and wine that were available in the evenings. Our room was large and comfortable, and the Jacuzzi tub was a great way to relax after a day of golf. We would definitely return if we stay in Monterey again!


Getaway Trip

4,0 sur janvier 04, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Jabberwock Inn. Neither of us had stayed at a B&B before so we weren't sure what to expect. Dawn and John were great hosts. I had requested a gluten free option for breakfast which was no problem at all. The Mimsy had a lovely view and was just the right size for a couple nights. The inn is within walking distance of Cannery Row and the aquarium so we never even had to move the car once we parked it in front of the inn. Appetizers and wine in the evening was a relaxing way to meet some of the others staying at the inn which made breakfast conversation much easier. (Small talk in the morning with strangers doesn't come easy for me). I would recommend The Jabberwock Inn to anyone heading to Monterey.


honeymoon

5 sur décembre 26, 2011

we decided to splurge on our honeymoon and stayed 2 nights here and loved every moment! the decorations are charming, the owners make you feel part of the family, the food was delouses (you have to try the JabberJuice!), and the room was exquisite with a ocean view and oh so comfortable bed. we plan to come back for many anniversaries :)


Finding Zen through the looking glass

5 sur décembre 15, 2011

It should be enough just to say that this was our eighth stay at the Jabberwock! But to give a little more detail, my wife and I honeymooned here and we return every year to "exhale" and reflect on our year together. Monterey is very special to us in itself but the one year we didn't stay "here" for "our retreat" it just wasn't the same. We have come to love our time spent with John and Dawn in their home and they have truly become like family to us. We look forward to seeing them again next year! Sincerly, Rickey-Lee & Erin Rogers


One of the most enchanting experiences

5 sur novembre 08, 2011

I am currently serving in Afghanistan and chose to stay with Dawn and Jon at the Jabberwock Inn for the last few days of my R&R in Monterey. I had this place booked since February and did not go on leave until September! It just looked so lovely. They had to deal with me making changes to my reservations more than once and were understanding and willing to work with me each time. This was only my experience with them through e-mails and once over the phone. I was already in love with their kindness. You can never fully experience what they have to offer unless you actually accept the offer to stay in their "home" and become a member of their family. That is truly the way you are treated when you stay at the Inn. It was truly magical, an experience that could never be duplicated. We were the youngest couple and, like I said, it was our first experience at a Bed & Breakfast. Our first experience of getting to mingle with everyone was during hors d'oeuvres. Which were absolutely delicious by the way! Made with lots of love and as much wine as you would like before stepping out for dinner in the lovely Monterey. They are extremely knowledgeable of the area and are so willing to offer their favorite places to eat or know exactly where to recommend, depending on your mood. The breakfast in the morning is amazing! I've never had anything so delicious and filling! I don't even think you need to eat lunch with the endless Jabberjuice, sweet or savory (they switch every other day), fresh fruit, and coffee to start your day. What wonderful aromas to wake up to:) We stayed in The Toves Room which is a wonderful room and is the only one on the first floor.


Jabbertastic!

4,8 sur octobre 21, 2011

My husband and I, along with our best friends, stayed at the Jabberwock Inn last weekend and we had an amazing time. Even the power outage in Monterey was fun - thank goodness we had cash for dinner. The food at the Jabberworkc was outstanding and the bocce ball court was big fun! The weather in Monterey could not have been better and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Dawn and John are outstanding hosts and we will look forward to going back! Thank you!


P&G

5 sur octobre 14, 2011

Great place, close to everything and fantastic hosts. Would recommend this to a best friend!


Great location, but would consider other options

2,6 sur octobre 11, 2011

Visited the Jabberwock for a 2 night stay. Really liked the location, but that was about it. Have visited other B&B's in the past, and the food on this one was not the best. First day was a bread pudding which we didn't like, second day was a vegetarian dish. Their 'Jabberjuice' was good, though. They do have some cookies out all the time, and some nice hors d'oeuvres (wine included) every afternoon at 5. Innkeepers were nice, but the place is nothing out of the ordinary. 'Great view of the bay' is somewhat questionable from the upper floor rooms. I'm sure that's something subjective. Pictures in the site did not reflect the room 100%, so I would suggest they use some better pictures to better set expectations. For the price, I would definitely consider alternatives. Would not stay a second time, and would not recommend it as my first choice.


5 stars plus!

5 sur octobre 01, 2011

John and Dawn truly go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. Happy hour is phenomenal! The Jabberwock is within walking distance to great restaurants and the Aquarium. Simply a wonderful place to stay!!!!


An Enjoyable Stay!

4,6 sur septembre 24, 2011

It was very easy to find and it is located within walking distance of Cannery Row. From the moment we rang the doorbell, John and Dawn were excellent hosts. The 5:00 social is an excellent way to make new friends from around the globe. The breakfasts were excellent, always something different and very tasty!


We loved it!!

4,2 sur septembre 04, 2011

Dawn and John were exceedingly hospitable. The evening hors d'euvres and wine were both delicious and generous, as was breakfast. The atmosphere is relaxing and beautiful, with multiple activities and plenty of reading material. We appreciated the absence of TV and constant sound.


Loved it!

5 sur septembre 01, 2011

We recently stayed at the Jabberwock Inn and not only were the owners very friendly, but allowed us to use their gorgeous garden area for our wedding and were incredibly helpful with the entire process. We will be going back again and again.


Monterey CA. Jabberwock Inn

4,6 sur août 22, 2011

Great location. Walking distance to the shops, dining and fun in Monterey. The hosts are the best, and you absolutely cannot beat the breakfast and the evening hors d'oeuvres. We have stayed here twice and both times it has been excellent.


Can't wait to go back!

5 sur août 17, 2011

We stayed in the Toves room. The architectural details of the room were wonderful and it was clear that when the house was remodeled and renovated as a B&B that the attention to detail was incredible. The bed was a king sized sleep number bed, which was great so we could adjust the softness to what we preferred. When we arrived, one of the owners, John, gave us a tour of the house and showed us our room and how to operate the fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The owners keep homemade cookies and tea fixings out at all times, and put out hors d'oeuvres at 5 pm on the sunporch so all the guests can meet and socialize and try their hand at the many puzzles on the porch. It was really wonderful to meet so many of the other guests and hear about their trips. John and Dawn also keep a basket of menus for local restaurants and were very helpful in making suggestions about places to try, and they helped make and cancel dinner reservations as needed, as well. Breakfast was delicious both days we were there and we walked away feeling well-fortified for the day. Overall we felt totally welcomed, totally spoiled, and had a fantastic time in a gorgeous house!


above average

4,4 sur août 11, 2011

All aspects of the Jabberwock Inn were excellent. My wife and I both recommend the Inn as an outstanding place to stay when in the Monterey area. Dawn and John were two of the best hosts we have met during our many travels.


Visited from Florida

5 sur août 01, 2011

What a pleasant surprise. You will be happy with your stay. The breakfast was amazing. They make you feel like you are at home. The landscaping is beautiful.( Great place to read a book). Nothing was overlooked. The attention to detail made our stay special. Plus it is close to everything. It is a terrific Inn. Rae and Carolyn Wood


What an inn!

5 sur juillet 28, 2011

Our two day stay at the Jabberwock Inn was simply superb. Ron and Dawn, the owners, made everyone feel welcome almost to the point of being family. The food and service was also to die for. We will be back!


Revisiting the Jabborwock

4,0 sur juillet 25, 2011

My wife and I had stayed at the Jabborwock several times in the past, as far back as 25 years ago. We had not re-visited since the inn was taken over by new owners. It's a good deal less unusual under the new owners. The original owners hit very heavily on the Lewis Carroll theme, while the new owners treat it much more lightly. The rooms and some other things still use Carroll names and terminology, and some of the decoration still carries the theme, but there's generally less of it. Further, the new owners have a less whimsical sense of their jobs than the original owners. That could be a negative or a positive, depending on how you felt about the original ambiance of the inn. We preferred it the old way, but could easily understand that others might enjoy a more conventional experience. The rooms are still well appointed and comfortable. (The bathrooms have improved, in some ways.) The food is still excellent. The new owners are attentive and helpful. The location is still good, and the grounds still very attractive.


Overall Ok

3,4 sur juillet 25, 2011

Very well appointed property and the owners were extremely nice and pleasant. Our room was on the top floor but it was small with minimum closet space. The shower was built into the bedroom and the toilet area had a sliding door that that was barely functional. The toilet area was tiny as well as the sink area next to the shower. This was an attic room with a wonderful bed but no room to move around and no TV. Better price would have been about $125/night not $200.00 Good location with a reasonable walk down to the pier or the aquarium. Very classic victorian home, neat, clean, with comfortable sitting areas.


The best short-vacation ever had!

4,8 sur juillet 24, 2011

When you enter this beautiful place, it's like a hidden paradies! After a really warm welcome you dicover like Alice a wonderful world. Every spot of the Jabberwock Inn is filled with love, books and really magical things ... and your room ... 100% cosy, filled with antiques and an incredible seaview! Not to talk about the nice socializing hour in the afternoon with delicious treats and ... We enjoyed every single second at this lovely place and can't wait to return!!!


Excellent

4,6 sur juillet 22, 2011

Great accomm and really friendly couple. Fantastic breakfast and superb wine and hors d ouerves. 5 to 7 pm a great time to drink, eat and chat with Dawn and John and the other guests. Great advice about local restaurants and places of interest. Would highly recommend. Steve


We loved all the little extra touches very warm,personal people to welcom us!

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2011

Our stay was most memorable,a lovely home,great personal service,amazing food, and we hope to return one day when back in the states! Susan Heppel


Best B&B Anywhere!

5 sur juillet 14, 2011

We spent one night here for my partner's 40th birthday, and it blew us both away! From the two-person jacuzzi, to the in-room fireplace, to the complimentary brandy in the room, to the private garden, to the incredibly comfortable king bed, everything was perfect. The property itself is very well-kept, and full of wonderful eclectic furnishings. The hosts are extremely outgoing and helpful, and the food is fabulous. They go out of their way to make sure you're comfortable, that you feel welcomed, and that you're part of the house, along with the rest of the guests. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.


Thank you isn't enough

5 sur juin 28, 2011

Our stay at the Jabberwock Inn was much more than a vacation. It felt more like a visit with good friends. John and Dawn are the most gracious hosts who make you feel as though you are home. The wonderful breakfast, yummy cookies and the delightful 5:00 treats make you want to move in. Thank you John and Dawn for the wonderful friendship and constant spoiling.


Great stay in a house of character

4,6 sur juin 27, 2011

Friendly helpful but not overwhelming host, nice house and garden full of character and playfulness, great location, this is close to the ideal B&B experience. Thanks for this great stay!


Visitor from England

3,8 sur juin 24, 2011

Such an enjoyable 3 nights as part of our circular tour of Northern California centred on San Francisco. John and Dawn created just the atmosphere to allow you to integrate with other guests and share holiday experiences. Andrew and Veronica England


Adorable and fun stay on the Monterey coast

4,8 sur juin 19, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Jabberwock Inn and would recommend it to anyone staying in the Monterey/Carmel area. A short walk from the aquarium, the hosts, John and Dawn, made us feel welcome and provided us with ample advice and ideas of what to occupy our time... we would have been just as happy to hang out on their cozy porch and read but the surrounding town is a gorgeous area to explore. We can't wait to return!


Lovely B&B - amazing hosts!

5 sur juin 14, 2011

We stayed 3 evenings at the Jabberwock and had a wonderful experience - primarily due to the warm hospitality extended by hosts Dawn and John and their great care to introduce all guests to one another and encourage guest interaction. Breakfast around the antique dining table, china, crystal and real linen - delicious gourmet food, jabberjuice, enjoyable conversation with the other guests. John gave great restaurant and attraction advice. Afternoon appetizers, wine were just fantastic - sitting on the glassed-in sun porch (couches, easy chairs) chatting with guests/hosts. Help yourself to as much as you want of 3 great homemade appetizers, plus wine. Some evenings we walked down to the cannery row area and had a bowl of clam chowder as a late dinner, but most times the breakfast, then a 2-3:00 pm lunch, plus the appetizers and wine was all we needed for the day. Not to mention the always-filled (homemade) cookie jar plus the cold milk that appeared at 8:00 each evening. During our stay, we visited with folks from London, Singapore, Arkansas, plus some from nearby california addresses who were just having a get-away. One delightful young couple was there on their honeymoon, and another was having a get-away before the birth of their first baby. As far as the rooms are concerned, we loved our room (the Borogrove - most expensive) but also loved the Mome Rath, Toves and Brillig. The least espensive rooms were much smaller and didn't really have any sitting area, but that would have been okay because of all the wonderful common areas where one could go to read and relax. This was truly just like visiting in the home of friends. We weren't crazy about the sleep-number bed, but I understand lots of people love it, and it definitely didn't keep us from sleeping well. Would definitely recommend this to anyone we love and will certainly come back if we do this same trip again. Ron & Linda, Duncanville, Texas


The BEST B&B EVER !!!!

4,8 sur mai 31, 2011

This was our 4th stay at the Jabberwock Inn. We came across it about 4 years ago and we keep coming back whenever we venture to Monterey. John and Dawn are the most delightful hosts.... And the breakfasts are divine!! Not to mention the Jabberjuice, which is Heaven in a glass!! We have stayed in 3 different rooms and each of the beds are very comfortable. The Jabberwock is the most charming, comfortable, pleasant and relaxing B&B !!!!


May 2011

5 sur mai 30, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a fantastic night at the Jabberwock. I liked the look of this B&B when I first looked at the website but I have to say our stay far outweighed our expectations. Nothing was too much trouble, there was a friendly atmosphere created by John and Dawn which meant that complete strangers felt at ease with each other. There were plenty of suggestions for things to see and places to eat and Dawn even telephoned the restaurant we had decided to eat at to make sure we got a great seat overlooking the sea. Breakfast next morning was a feast and we were sad to leave. If we ever get back to Monterey again we will make a bee-line for the Jabberwock. Margaret & Dave Parton - England


Excellent stay

3,4 sur mai 28, 2011

Great Inkeepers! Friendly, knowledgable about the area and so anxious to please. Location proximity to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Warf is excellent for walkers. Rooms and food were all we expected. Recommend it highly for a unique getaway.


outstanding stay

5 sur mai 12, 2011

great welcome; good company with great service and advice - especially on route closures.


So friendly and warm! A great place to stay!

4,8 sur mai 04, 2011

The Jabberwock Inn is amazing. First, the owners are friendly, helpful, generous, and down-to-earth. For example, my husband and father ran in the Big Sur Marathon. One of the owners offered to make a brown bag breakfast for my husband who had to leave at 3:30 am to run the marathon. The owner made brown bag breakfasts for all of the runners who were staying at the house. You wouldn't get this kind of service any place else. Additionally, the owner made a brown bag breakfast for my father WHO WASN'T EVEN STAYING at the Jabberwock. The room my husband and I stayed in was the Wabe. It doesn't have ocean views (and we knew this when reserving) but the room is quaint and clean. It was very snuggly. There was a relaxing CD in the CD player/alarm clock and there was alcohol for a nightcap on the dresser---all provided by the owners. The gardens surrounding the Jabberwock are lovely and well-kept. The owners provided excellent dinner and lunch suggestions. I would stay again and would recommend the Jabberwock Inn.


A winner in every way!

4,6 sur avril 24, 2011

There are usually highlights to any bed and breakfast stay, but our two night stay at the Jabberwock Inn was filled with so many extra special touches that it would be impossbile to mention them all! We will definitely go back!


Monterey Must

4,0 sur avril 05, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Jabberwock Inn. The Hosts are most gracious. There are always treats available (cookies, cake, tea, sodas, etc); evening wine served with appetizers; and yummy sherry. The home has great water views and is a short walk to the aquarium and several restaurants. And then there is the BREAKFAST- hot specialty dishes, fresh fruit and rolls with a wonderful juice smoothy.


Wonderful Stay!

4,6 sur mars 30, 2011

Beautiful grounds with fabulous hosts! Excellent location within walking distance to many fine restaurants.


yummy choc coater strawberries well done thank you

4,4 sur mars 29, 2011

Loved, loved, loved the whole stay, there were eight guests there that night, all met for the welcome drinks, this to was special as four were return guests who were now close friends of the hosts, they were all going out to dinner to a local eatery, four of us were left to enjoy their beautiful home, I took loads of photos, as I am an x B & B operator myself and I must say I did not quite do as well as my wonderful hosts did, right down to our names on the welcome board, our stay was wonderful, our room a delight, the spa excellent, the breakfast different but great just the same, thank you both so very much Ray & Lorraine all the way from Australia


Anniversary Surprise!

5 sur mars 27, 2011

What a grand surprise to spend our anniversary weekend at the Jabberwock Inn. The room was romantic, and elegant. We were met by gracious hosts, John and Dawn and even met Mom. It was a stay I will always remember. I recommend this Inn for a retreat from the hectic life we lead, unplug and recharge.


Adventure in Wonderland

5 sur mars 24, 2011

Incredible value. Absolutely incredible hot breakfasts. Incredible hospitality. Incredible experience. Simply incredible bed & breakfast. A hauntingly charming, upscale, memorable event you will cherish. Our anniversary was incredible, made incredible by the hosts, John and Dawn. Do yourself a favor and stay here!! Joe Bruno, Modesto, CA.


Outstanding Accomodations and Ambience

5 sur mars 22, 2011

We stayed at the Jabberwock for a long weekend for my husband's birthday. This was our first bed and breakfast experience, and I'm sure there will be many more to come. John was a wonderful host and helped us so much with attractions, food, and pleasant conversation. We highly recommend the Jabberwock to others planning to visit Monterey.


Wonderful stay

4,4 sur mars 22, 2011

I really enjoyed spending my birthday in Monterey at the Jabberwock. Dawn and John were wonderful hosts, and we felt very welcome there. We loved appetizer hour, and breakfast was delicious. Our room was gorgeous, loved the fireplace and jacuzzi!


B-day at the Jabberwock

4,0 sur mars 18, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Jabberwock Inn!!! Our gracious hosts, John and Dawn, were so friendly and helpful. They had great recommendations for our two dinners, insights for our visit to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and general info on how to get around the area. The breakfasts were delicious, as were the hors d'oeuvres and cookies!!! We were stuffed all weekend!!! Our room, the Brillig, was very comfy with a nice view of the Bay. We opened the windows to breathe in the salty air and feel the cool ocean breezes while we took an afternoon nap on the most comfy bed!!! Overall, a great way to celebrate a birthday, or just to spend time in beautiful Monterey!!! We'll be back!!!


Great Stay

4,2 sur mars 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Toves room and it was great. Its had a lot of character and was a great getaway trip. Its an old structure so it has lots of interesting elements and some very fun rooms. The service was great and the whole experience is one we will do again.


Borogrove room 3/6/11

4,8 sur mars 09, 2011

I can't say enough about The Jabberwock Inn. This place is spectacular and the food is even better! John and Dawn are great friendly people who are extremely knowledgeable about local events and places to dine. We will be definitely be staying there again.


good location for Monterey visit

2,6 sur mars 07, 2011

The Jabberwock Inn is a huge house with lovely grounds within walking distance of the Monterey Bay Aquarium as well as good restaurants and shopping. The room was large and comfortable, but quite noisy. The house itself is old, so it's easy to hear people in adjoining rooms and traffic outside. Breakfast is tasty, although lots of sugar and fat. The owners have lived in Monterey only a few years, so they don't have much depth of knowledge about the area. They also have a large male dog (standard poodle), which they should state in their description. He seems to be a bit of a handful and can go on a barking spree. Overall, the Jabberwock Inn was okay, but like much of Monterey, overpriced.


Loved Jabberwock!!

4,4 sur mars 03, 2011

We had a great time! The location was great, the food was gourmet, and the hospitality outstanding! We will definitely be back soon. Many thanks to the Innkeepers, Dawn and John, they made our stay so enjoyable and comfortable. I would definitely recommend Jabberwock to my friends.


Lovely Stay

4,4 sur février 26, 2011

We had a great stay at The Jabberwock. The food was delicious and the rooms were quaint and well-kept.


Furlough Getaway

4,4 sur février 20, 2011

After a long drive to Monterey through the rain, it was nice to retreat to our room at Jabberwock Inn and warm up by the fireplace. Our hosts were very friendly and let us have the run of the place. Just four blocks away is Cannery Row that is full of restaurants, shops and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The breakfast was large and delicious. we would definitely go there again.


A unique treat

4,8 sur février 14, 2011

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Jabberwock Inn and found the place stubbornly charming. The steps creak, some ceilings are low and doorknobs are touchy, but the house itself has a warm personality only surpassed by our hosts'. The beds were great, and the food was inventive and decidedly gourmet. Cookies and milk, treats and spirits are abundant through out the semi-private living room and sun porch, while the gardens provide a quiet place to picnic or ponder. Given the luxury and close proximity to Cannery Row (without the noise), we will be hard pressed to stay anywhere else when we visit the Monterey area.


Romantic Birthday Getaway

4,6 sur février 09, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at the Jabberwock Inn and had a great time. We especially enjoyed the magnificent breakfast food and the warm discussions with the innkeepers and other guests around the communal table. We would definitely stay there again.


Great little getaway

5 sur février 09, 2011

If you want a nice little weekend away this is the place. Very friendly and not to mention overly helpful in making your stay a good one. The house is adorable and the grounds are breathtaking.


OUR STAY AT JABBERWOCK INN

3,0 sur février 03, 2011

IT WAS VERY COMFORTABLE AND HOMEY. PERHAPS THE BROCHURES MADE IT SEEM TO EXPECT MORE BUT OVERALL, IT WAS OK. BED WAS COMFORTABLE. MAYBE I FORGOT TO CHECK BUT DIDNT HAVE ANY TV/VIDEO IN THE ROOM.


Wonderful getaway

4,4 sur janvier 26, 2011

We have been coming to Jabberwock for about 25 years, but this was our first visit since John Hickey and Dawn Perez purchased the Inn. They are doing a wonderful job with the place. Many of the amenities have remained in place, but there are also some new touches. We really enjoyed visiting with John and Dawn - their personal touch is what really makes the place special.


lovely place lovely hosts

4,0 sur janvier 21, 2011

Stayed two nights. Struck by the generosity and helpfulness of the hosts - in terms of suggestions for places to eat and see in Monterey. Wonderful breakfasts, serious afternoon nibbles - altogether a lovely time. I will go back


Wonderful Stay at Jabberwock

4,6 sur janvier 13, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the phenomenal hospitality of the innkeepers. Very helpful in selecting a restaurant & making our stay enjoyable. We were upgraded to a better room at no extra charge and the room was fantastic with a nice view of the bay. Appetizers & breakfast were excellent. We would/will highly recommend Jabberwock to anyone interested in staying at a B&B in Monterrey.


Wonderful Whimsy

4,6 sur janvier 06, 2011

My husband and I had two marvelous nights at the Jabberwock Inn, beginning with the most delightful innkeepers, John and Dawn (and Dude the dog), who make their guests truely welcomed. The food is outstanding, with the best afternoon appetizers we've ever had at a B&B, and the breakfast was gourmet and substantial. Our room was magical, decorated in soft seafoam hues with a beautifully tiled fireplace and Jacuzzi. We looked out to our own private brick patio etched with moss and decorated with "wonderland" characters. Great company, attention to details and outstanding service will definitely bring us back to the haven that is the Jabberwock Inn.


A Great Time

5 sur janvier 02, 2011

Dawn and John were the perfect host and hostess. An excellent and memorable time was had. Looking forward to our next visit.


Perfect Except for Sound Insulation

4,0 sur janvier 02, 2011

Sound insulation on third floor made for a less than perfect stay. Service, John and Donna's welcoming tour and time spent with us over a glass of wine was exceptional. The home and gardens immaculately decorated and tended set a peaceful and engaging atmosphere. Chess, backgammon, checkers or board games over wine added to the evening conversation. Donna's flexibility around food allergies and preferences far exceeded any stay I have ever experienced. is very accommodating An exceptional stay if you avoid the third floor rooms.


A MAGICAL WEEKEND

5 sur décembre 29, 2010

We can't say enough about our absolutely perfect stay at this beautiful treasure! The Jabberwock Inn is owned and run by two of the most wonderful people we've ever met. Dawn and John will always be thought of as friends. We were married at The Jabberwock December 2010. Both John and Dawn made us feel like they were honored to have us as guests, yet we felt like family. They made sure we felt completely at home (and spoiled!). The inn itself is beautiful, warm, and inviting. During this time of year it's tastefully decorated for Christmas. There's so much to see...It's like walking into a Christmas wonderland. Our wedding took place in their lovely living room in front of their beautiful Christmas tree. Dawn and John both made sure everything ran smoothly and that we had everything we needed. Throughout the weekend, Dawn was like a friend/wedding coordinator. She even ordered my bouquet, Dana's boutonniere, our wedding cake from her favorite bakery, and coordinating balloons...and she picked everything up herself! She took care of me like I was her daughter getting married. She did all of this even though she was feeling a little under the weather. I can't thank her enough. We stayed in the honeymoon suite named "The Borogove". It's an absolutely beautiful and spacious room with a spectacular view of the bay. Everything was meticulously clean and we loved the special little touches. We even had our own Christmas tree. It was hard to climb out of the super comfortable king bed in the morning, but we forced ourselves so we could be ready for our gourmet breakfast that was personally delivered to our room by John and Dawn. Each morning the breakfast was incredible. Dana and I talk about our magical weekend at The Jabberwock everyday, and we already miss Dawn and John. It was hard to say goodbye to them. We will be returning to celebrate our anniversaries. Dana and Cindy McCune


Honeymoon at The Jabberwock

4,6 sur décembre 19, 2010

Carley and I had an incredible time at the Jabberwock. The rooms are decorated so wonderfully and the breakfasts were delicious. But it's the hosts, John and Dawn, that make the stay magical. They are great inn keepers and can answer all questions about where to eat and where to go for fun. They were amazing. I couldn't stay anywhere else in Monterey. In fact, I want to return just to visit with them.


A wonderful getaway!

5 sur décembre 15, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Jabberwock Inn and it was one of the most wonderful experiences we have had. When we arrived we were greeted by one of the Inn Keepers. His name is John. He is WONDERFUL and so helpful. He has so much knoledge about the town! He knows all of the good resturants! John and Dawn definately made our experience so special. They had Champaign and Strawberries waiting for us! It was so awesome! It was not an ordinary stay at a bed and breakfast because all of the guests would hang out together and it was just really fun! It was so fun that we already booked our next stay for February! The food is delicious! The Inn Keepers are THE BEST! To be honest I never met an Inn Keeper but this place is so much like home it felt like we were with family! I recomend the Jabberwock Inn to anyone and EVERYONE!


Wonderful hosts

3,8 sur novembre 30, 2010

John and Dawn do a great job of taking care of their guests. The price for our room was very reasonable, the breakfast was good, and they accommodate differing dietary needs. It's a beautiful home and a great location.


Ideal starting-point for Monterey exploration

3,6 sur novembre 23, 2010

Very good welcome; extremely helpful with restaurant choices, directions. This was our fourth visit, so "met our expectations" is based on the very good experiences we have always had at Jabberwock.


Best Bed & Breakfast

5 sur novembre 16, 2010

The stay exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail, decor, and hospitality are nothing short of 5 star treatment. John and Dawn take pleasure and pride in what they do...which is offer a most unique setting in what we felt like was a warm, loving home away from home get-away. My wife and I will most definetly return. We had the opportunity to stay in both the Mome Rath and Borogrove rooms. Could not have asked for better time! Thank you John and Dawn. Cannot wait to see you two and visit again!


Excellent

4,2 sur novembre 12, 2010

Had a great time. The breakfast was amazing. quriky, but a beautiful place to stay, and the views of the bay are amazing. Very close to shops and restaurants. Would highly recommend it.


Well Worth It!

4,0 sur novembre 09, 2010

We visited the Jabberwock Inn and cannot wait to return to California to visit again! The Inn was warm, cozy and extremely comfortable. The Innkeepers made us feel so welcome and they were very hospitable to all the guest. It was in a short walking distance to all the main attractions. We look very forward ro returning to Monterey, if not for anthing else but the Inn. The Browns,- Hendersonville, Tennessee


Wonderfull Innkeepers

4,8 sur octobre 21, 2010

John and Dawne are wonderful Innkeepers; attentative and really helpful making resturant and sightseeing arrangements. Their dining suggestings are spot on. Breakfasts are really special, they make a wild/wonderful breakfast juice drink. We had a great stay. A & K, Mooresville, NC


Best B&B stay EVER!

5 sur octobre 09, 2010

John and Dawn are the most charming hosts, spoiling us rotten with afternoon appetizers and wine, an everpresent cookie jar, a brandy snifter in our room, and an incredibly tasty breakfast. The Inn's location, architecture and interior design are all fabulous -- we can't say enough good things about our stay, and highly recommend it to anyone.


Perfect location

3,6 sur octobre 07, 2010

Dawn & John were excellent hosts. The appetizers served at 5 PM were more than expected. The unadvertised amenities were many. The help to us and the other guests demonstrated their desire to be great hosts. The location (within blocks of the Aquarium and Cannery Row) is excellent.


Five Star Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 02, 2010

Stayed in Sept. with my husband. The inn is magical,cozy,warm & elegant at the same time.Loved the social aspect of meeting wonderful people with the helpfulness & graciousness of the hosts Dawn & John. Great & convenient location, excellent views,lovely rooms & gardens. Breakfasts & evening hors d'ouvres were excellent as well. Can' t wait to go back to celebrate my birthday!


central coast vacation

4,0 sur août 31, 2010

great place will definitely come back, only issue we had was there were signs of mold in upper portion of wall above shower, shower door did not close all the way, glass overlap and mold around windows next to bed


Jabberwock Inn

4,2 sur août 16, 2010

Very nice rooms, and excellent service.


Cute and Cozy

3,8 sur août 16, 2010

This place was great. Bocce ball was fun, and the gardens surrounding the place were well done. Breakfast was awesome and I definately recommend the "Jabber Juice".


'Twas indeed brillig

4,4 sur août 12, 2010

This was a phenomenal place to stay -- Dawn and John are wonderful B&B managers! They were both friendly and outgoing, and always willing to go the extra mile to make our stay that much better. When we decided to have a sunset picnic by the sea, they gave us everything we needed short of the food (including a basket, a towel, and wine glasses!). The guests were all friendly, and we had a couple good conversations with couples over afternoon hors d'oeuvres and over the breakfasts. By the way, their "Jabber Juice" (essentially a breakfast smoothie of various fruits) is incredible! The rooms were gorgeous, and even though ours was one of the smallest, it seemed just perfectly sized for the two of us. We had a gorgeous view of the Bay, and I loved waking up and being able to look out over the town and see the fog rolling out. Beautifully tiled bathroom (will have to try a room with the jacuzzi tub next time) with vintage brass fixtures. No problems whatsoever with water pressure or heat in the shower. The grounds are very large and very private, with tall hedges surrounding it on all sides. Beautifully appointed, has a bit of an old English grounds feel to it, in keeping with the Lewis Carroll theme. Will have to try the Bocce court next time, too. I'll bet when the flowers are in bloom, it's even more gorgeous. Try it around September/October or April/May for the better Monterey weather. The attention to detail and the friendly atmosphere among guests (carefully cultivated by Dawn & John) make this a B&B NOT to be missed.


Stay at the Jabberwock -- you will not regret it!

5 sur août 09, 2010

If you're visiting Monterey or Pacific Grove, stay at the Jabberwock Inn. You will not likely find a better B & B. As in most things in life, it's all about the details. John and Dawn are masters of hospitality; they are two of the most generous and warm innkeepers I've ever met. Rooms: We stayed in Tulgey Wood, the smallest room in the building. It has a separate, detached bathroom. The bathroom is private, and we had a key to lock it so we could store our toiletries inside. Our room was lovely -- views of the Monterey bay, sleep number bed, a carafe of brandy and a bowl of jelly beans on the vanity, and beautiful victorian flourishes throughout. Food: The breakfast is amazing -- it will certainly fill you up and get your day started off right. John and Dawn make something different each day, but we had a bread pudding, bacon, fresh fruit, coffee, Jabby juice (see other reviews), and a cheese souffle over the course of two mornings. They also do a wonderful happy hour with generous portions of hors d'oeuvres and wine. Not to mention the cookies that are always available, and a fridge of complimentary water, juice, and sodas. Ambiance: We loved the garden, the victorian-era wallpaper, antique furniture, sun porch, and Alice in Wonderland theme. The Jabberwock is a whimsical place with it's backwards clocks and little surprises everywhere you look. John and Dawn basically provide all-you-can-eat-and-drink. They make you feel like you're right at home from the second you walk in (John does a quick tour of the amenities), while you're there (one couple received a Happy Anniversary note in their menus while dining out; John gave me a brief history lesson on the building), and as you leave (they gave us hugs, cookies for the road, and directions out of town). It is these personal touches that truly set the Jabberwock apart.


One of the best vacations with my wife... ever!

5 sur mai 02, 2010

This was the first time that my wife and I had stayed at a B&B and it was amazing! The owners, John and Dawn, were so nice and hospitable. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The whole in and the gardens looked amazing! Wonderful breakfasts and we especially loved the time with wine and hors d'oeuvres. It was so nice to get to sit down and meet new people. Also, we were fortunate to have dinner one evening with the owners. They made our stay wonderful. When we left it was almost sad in that it felt like that we were leaving family. We will definitely go back again!


A lovely B&B

4,6 sur avril 14, 2010

My daughter and I visited the Jabberwock Inn on our annual getaway. Dawn and John were wonderful and very gracious about my daughter's aversion to all fruit. We stayed in the Mome Rath room, and even though we saw just about all the other rooms while we were there, it was our favorite! Very clean, comfy bed, the common areas are inviting and our hosts encourage guests to chit chat and get to know each other. The grounds are beautiful. Great location for visiting the aquarium.


Wow -- a fabulous experience ... Can't wait to go back!

4,8 sur avril 05, 2010

I got taken to the Jabberwock for my birthday celebration. It was truly a terrific experience. It's been awhile since I stayed at a B-and-B, but the Jabberwock brought back the very best of memories and added some new ones that made it a perfect get away. The inn itself is lovely -- comfortable, elegant public spaces and beautifully decorated, superb rooms. We stayed in a large room with its own jacuzzi tub/double shower (yum) and a view of the bay. The bed was one of the dual-adjust models -- so it was super comfortable for both of us. Sheets and towels were soft and luscious. The B-and-B experience, for me, goes from good to memorable through the innkeepers. And John and Dawn were terrific. They showed us around, gave us instructions on the various electronic and plumbing bits and then sat with us to share a glass of wine and fabulous appetizers. The appetizers were delicious ... smoked salmon, meatballs, various veggie options. In addition, the infused lemon concoction (italian style) was a delicious adult beverage option! OK, that leaves breakfast ... And don't leave without eating it. Warm baked goodies, freshly made "Jabber" juice (orange, bananas and more) and a hearty "entree" that varies every day. How much did I love the Jabberwock? Enough so we're planning on having our wedding there next year!


Jabberwock

4,0 sur février 03, 2010

LOVE the Alice In Wonderland theme, we stayed in Toves room and it was cozy, cute and comfy. Excellent food and service, close walking distance to just about everything. Sleep number beds were amazing, first time using one! Highly recommend this one :)


Lovely time at the Jabberwock!

5 sur janvier 09, 2010

We had a lovely time at the Jabberwock Inn. We were received like old friends; all the little nuances of the room, the Inn were explained to us upon arrival,so we didn't have to ask. Every effort was made to assist us in having a great time on our getaway - reservations made for whale watching, suggestions and directions for dinners out. The breakfasts were yummy and unique - and uniquely titled. We enjoyed the appetizer time with the hosts and all the guests of the Inn - seemed like "family" right away! We'd definitely want to return!


Cozy and quaint B&B

4,8 sur janvier 01, 2010

We had a great stay at The Jabberwock Inn! We found the staff to be incredibly friendly, helpful and full of useful information. The place itself is really well put together, and has a very cozy atmosphere with great touches like lemoncello and cookies before bed! The location is great, and a very short walk from Cannery Row and the Aquarium. I would definitely stay again.


Thank you

4,4 sur décembre 27, 2009

Our stay was excellent. John and Dawn are excellent hosts and all the extras are nice. Breakfast was excellent as well. I hope to stay there again in the future.


Jaberwock....a true gem

4,6 sur décembre 04, 2009

Nestled in the heart of Monterey, the Jabberwock Inn still feels like a hidden gem...it's hard not to feel as if you've stumbled upon something special when you arrive at this warm bed-and-breakfast. As we drove up to the location, minutes away from Cannery Row, we were greeted by twinkling lights, a cozy home, and the two wonderful proprietors, John and Dawn. We were given a quick tour of the premises, shown the many goodies laid out for guests (milk and cookies, candy, tea, wine, great games) and then invited to unpack and join the cocktail hour that began at 5 pm. The atmosphere was casual, friendly, and most of all, hospitable. Christmas decor was laid throughout the home and the large decorated Christmas tree and warm-burning fire simply added to the atmosphere. Our room, the Toves [named for an Alice in Wonderland reference], was no different. A Sleep Comfort bed,electric fireplace, and state-of-the-art jacuzzi tub completed the package. Brandy, bottled water and jelly beans were among the snacks available in our room. And as we played the night away with dominoes and Mancala, we then slept peacefully to the morning. The Alice in Wonderland theme that others allude to permeates the home in subtle and cute ways, adding to the carefree and comforting nature of the home. Little quotes from the novel or hot tea served in an Alice in Wonderland tea cup were small signs we noticed. Another highlight of the Jaberwock is the breakfast. Freshly made potato fritters or raspberry crepes are among the tasty delicacies and all are served with the fabulous Jabberwock juice (which I'd guess is a concoction of coconut, orange, and pineapple juice). Breakfast is served on either the lovely antique furniture or along the sunny and bright indoor patio with clear views of the lovely horizon and ocean sea. All in all, it's quite perfect.


Magical Stay

5 sur novembre 24, 2009

Our stay at the Jabberwock was like coming home to visit cherished friends. We enjoyed the best service we've ever had in an environment that was lovely, but most notably warm and friendly. A lavish breakfast every morning at a beautifully set Victorian style table with the other guests was like eating with family (all the laughs, but none of the squabbles!) A light-filled sun porch overlooks the bay, a lovely garden filled with box hedge rooms are perfect places to meet a cheshire cat or march hare, and the sleep number beds are so comfortable you won't want to leave them. Our hostess and host made our stay a delight - a place to come home and dream after walks to cannery row and the aquarium. If you want to get away from it all but still feel at home and cared for, this is the place!


A Charming and Wonderful Stay

4,2 sur août 02, 2009

We stayed at the Jabberwock Inn as a part of our honeymoon in June 2009. My wife and I are both in our early 20s, so this was our first time at a B&B. We did not have too many expectations going in to our stay, but what expectations we had were completely exceeded! We absolutely loved our stay at the Jabberwock Inn. Here were some of our highlights: 1. Breakfast was served every morning by a professional chef. Our meals were delicious and expertly prepared. We also loved their signature Jabba Juice punch (it was some of the best fruit juice we’ve ever had)! 2. Every evening at 5:00 PM, there is a Sherry and hors d'oeuvres get together with all of the guests of the Inn. Wine, cheese, crackers, cookies, and other appetizers are served at this time. 3. Every evening after 7:00 PM, milk and cookies are left out for guests to enjoy at their leisure. The atmosphere is friendly, warm, welcoming, and profusely charming. Dawn and John, the owners, not only care about their B&B, but they go out of their way to make sure that all guests have a marvelous time at their home. As they say, let our home be your home!


Amazing place with amazing hosts!

4,8 sur juillet 31, 2009

I stayed here in March 09 with my parents, who were completely new to B&Bs. We all completely loved the experience. The breakfasts and afternoon hors d'oeuvres were absolutely delicious. During breakfast, I mentioned liking hot chocolate, and they made a batch on the spot. There are cookies, tea and coffee out at all times on the sun porch. The living room was a relaxing place to read. The owners were so incredibly sweet and helpful, giving my parents suggestions for dinner based on their preferences and price range. They were also simply so much fun to chat with in the evenings, along with the other guests. I highly recommend this B&B!


Wonderful Visit

4,4 sur juillet 01, 2009

We loved our stay at the Jabberwock Inn! Dawn and John, the owners, were welcoming hosts and graciously served an incredible crepe breakfast. Our room with a view was memorable. We loved how guests were introduced to each other, and breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oevres were conversational and friendly. We also loved the assistance selecting restaurants and local activities. What a well-located and excellent B and B experience!


Outstanding on all counts

5 sur juin 17, 2009

The Jabberwock is an all around great experience. The innkeepers, John and Dawn make you feel right at home and provide a number of great "extras" to make your stay memorable. From the wine and treats on the sun porch at happy hour, to the phenominal breakfast dishes, to the spot on recommendations for area restraunts, they really make sure that their guests are well taken care of. We had a great time and would definitely recommend the Jabberwock to other travellers!


probably the best B&B in California

5 sur mai 21, 2009

Dawn and John are the nicest Innkeepers I have ever met. They go far out of any expectations to make their customers feel at home and provide any thing they might need. It's nice to have menus from local restaurants to choose from. The breakfast is a gourmet meal. The staff is so friendly, that includes Pat when she comes around to help. This is a "don't miss" B&B. The best I've ever had the pleasure to stay. We will surely be back and have spread the word to everyone we meet.


Wow

5 sur mai 13, 2009

We spent only part of our vacation in California at the Jabberwalk Inn, but wish I had spent the entire stay there. The Inn Keepers, the breakfast and hors d'oeuvres and facility are outstanding! We can't wait to return.


Fantastic Spot!

5 sur mai 03, 2009

Really great place. Excellent stay - very welcoming and helpful - and a nifty home!


A total joy

5 sur avril 19, 2009

We were there for our 20th anniversary. John and Dawn could not have been any better. I am a fussy eater, and while the other guests had breakfasts they were raving about, Dawn made something just for me that I liked. They made reservations for us at the Chart House and got us the best table. Our menu mentioned our anniversary dinner and Dawn even took care of our dessert! The whole experience was absolutely wonderful. After three nights, it was really hard to leave. We hope to come back. Mike & Sherry


relaxing getaway!!

4,8 sur avril 01, 2009

Dawn and John are the ultimate innkeepers, making you feel extremely comfortable and at home immediately upon arrival. The house is BEAUTIFUL, with a wonderful garden, outdoor area and views of the bay. John taught us how to play Bocci outside in his amazing, lush backyard. The history of this house is very cool to hear and being off the main highway was a plus! LOVED IT!!! What a deal! The food they served was outstanding and even came home to "copy" the recipes for my family! Clean, prompt service, warm hospitality, friendly people, ample parking, short walk to Cannery Row, what more can we say!


Jabberwock reminds me of San Ysidro Ranch

5 sur mars 26, 2009

My wife and I have stayed in great hotels all over Europe, Canada, United States, China, and the South Pacific which qualifies me in saying that Jabberwock Inn is one of the best in the world. The hospitality, cleanliness, food, charm and the love of Jabberwock makes it so memorable. The quality of Jabberwock is equal to San Ysidro Ranch in Santa Barbara, but the love put forth by John and Dawn makes it home away from home.


Fantastic & cozy!

5 sur février 28, 2009

Once you pass the garden gate, a world of serenity awaits. Tucked away up the street from a touristy part of Monterey you'll find the Jabberwock: A cozy gem of a home, open with warm welcome by easy-going, yet attentive hosts: Dawn & John. Mark and I had chosen this B&B to spend our first weekend together after over 11 years and Dawn made this potentially awkward reunion a comfortable and easy get together. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone seeking a pampering home away from home with gracious hosts. Truly an amazing place for respite. -Kirsten Hamilton


Wonderful experience for a single traveler

4,8 sur octobre 29, 2008

As a single woman travelling around the central CA coast, I was looking for a safe and welcoming overnight location, which I certainly found at the Jabberwock. Both nights were a relaxing and laughter-filled experience with both the owners and other guests. They are centrally located to many Monterey tourist attractions, but they're also located slightly off the beaten path so it feels more like you're staying with local friends. I recommend staying at the Jabberwock as a single traveler or a couple, it added some very special memories to my trip.


Cozy & Quirky

4,8 sur juillet 14, 2008

The staff was super friendly. The food and drinks were fun and delicious. Shopping, dining, and entertainment were a short walk. Decor and antiques fit the historical place well. We had a great time!


Nice Stay

4,6 sur juillet 07, 2008

Quiet place. We stayed in the Borogrove room - great view. The food was great. The owners were beyond friendly.


A Perfect Home Away From Home

5 sur juin 06, 2008

After reading all the wonderful reviews, I decided to check it out myself and I was not disappointed! I was greeted by wonder staff who made me feel right at home. My room was the Wabe and it was perfect. The home was beautiful and inviting. The owners are amazing and they made all of us feel right at home. As if that wasn't enough, the breakfast was wonderful! This was one of the best places I've ever stayed and I will definately return on my next visit to the area.


Honeymoon heaven

5 sur mai 29, 2008

This was our first stay at a B&B, and the Jabberwock has set the bar awfully high for future experiences. Innkeepers John & Dawn were excellent hosts, the breakfasts were beautiful and delicious, and the room (we stayed in the Mome Rath) was heavenly. Location is perfect for strolling around Cannery Row, and it's only a short drive to other parts of the peninsula. We came for our honeymoon, and we're already planning to return for our anniversary!


We'll Be Back!

5 sur mai 29, 2008

I've stayed at many B&Bs over the years and the Jabberwock Inn is definitely one of the best. Owners/Innkeepers John and Dawn go out of their way to ensure that guests are more than satisfied. I know this to be true because to rectify a minor booking error, they gave us the best room in the house for just a few dollars more than one of the lowest priced rooms. What a treat that was for us! Our entire experience at Jabberwock was wonderful from the moment we walked in the door. We arrived at 5pm just in time for happy hour. The appetizers were tasty! We also enjoyed talking to the other guests. Based on what we wanted for dinner, John and Dawn directed us to a very good restaurant. They've eaten at every restaurant in town, so their recommendations are based on personal experience. After dinner, we came back to Jabberwock for homemade cookies and tea, as the other guests had done. We sat around and talked, read magazines, while others played board games. The next morning, breakfast was delicious. I don't know what the dish was called, but I wish I can have some now. My husband and I will definitely be staying at the Jabberwock Inn the next time we're in Monterey/Carmel.


Excellant Stay

5 sur janvier 31, 2008

WE JUST RETURNED TODAY (1/31/08) FROM A 2 NIGHT STAY. THEY HAVE A GREAT PLACE & THE THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS. THEY REALLY HAVE NICE LINENS ON THE BEDS & IN THE BATHS. THERE ARE SNACKS & DRINKS AVAILABLE ALL DAY, EVEN BRANDY IN THE ROOM. THE HOSTS, DAWN & JOHN, ARE REALLY FRIENDLY & ANXIOUS TO HELP WITH ANY TRIPS, SHOPPING FRESTARAUNTS, ETC. WAS A GREAT STAY!!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for posting your review...We really appreciate it and are glad you had such a nice time. Please come back and see us whenever time permits.


Amazing!

5 sur janvier 24, 2008

This was our 1st ever bed & breakfast inn. The previous owner Joan was really into the whole Alice in Wonderland theme. It was great! She made our 1st bnb experience memorable. We have been there 1 more time, and plan on going again soon.


magical stay

5 sur septembre 28, 2007

Beginning with the beautiful gardens and finishing with the welcoming personal innkeepers, my stay at the Jabberwock Inn was the perfect retreat. I was well cared for and enjoyed the upscale yet comfortable environment. The Jabberwock Inn is my place to escape to in the Monterey area!!


A Total Delight

5 sur septembre 25, 2007

We have done a lot of traveling and stayed in some outstanding hotels and B&B's -- but I have to say The Jabberwork is on the very top of my list! Not only are the location and the weather idyllic, but the rooms could not be cozier or more charming, and the staff could not be more accomodating! They inquire in advance as to special needs (allergies, disabilities) and follow through to the letter on all of them. The food is without exception outstanding and the staff appears to have only one goal -- to make your stay memorable. I would reccomend this B&B without reservation to anyone I know!!


Wonderful experience

5 sur septembre 24, 2007

My Granddaughter and I stayed at the Inn for 2 nights in August. It was a wonderful experience. The Inn is located within walking distance to the aquarium and town. The breakfast we ate for the 2 mornings we were there was very tasty. The afternoon sherry hour with munchies was very good, getting to talk to the owners and the other guests was interesting. We were able to walk to dinner. The bed was very comfortable, even the towels were very soft and fluffy. The room was very nice, including the gas fireplace and 2 chairs to sit by the fire. The living room of the Inn has wonderful old books to look at, in fact, the whole place has great treasures to look at. We even saw a mother deer and her 2 fawns come in the yard for a snack of roses. The parking was very accommodating, in the lot beside the side or in the street. I found out the Inn does there own laundry so they always have the same quality of linens for their guests. All in all it was a wonderful experience and my granddaughter & I look forward to our next trip to Monterey and will most definitely stay at the Jabberwock Inn. Susan & Georgia


Everything Wonderful

5 sur juin 19, 2007

Our stays at the Jabberwock Inn are always wonderful. Everyone is like family including other guests. The rooms are wonderful and relaxing. The breakfast is always something to amaze you.


Jabberwock B&B

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $169 - $359
  • Avis (128) 4,6
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8313724777
  • Fax 1-8316552946

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut