Nicholson House Inn Avis

Ensemble
3,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    3,9
  • Services3,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,0
  • Propreté4,1
  • Repas3,7

Notation basée sur
14 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Decent, nothing exceptional.

3,4 sur janvier 10, 2014

I will say that Nicholson house is in a great location, a quick walk from the Mendocino headlands, and next to a couple of cute restaurants. The room itself was warm and cozy, but the bathroom was musty and damp. Breakfast was nice. The innkeeper was helpful, but very curt in our interactions; it could just be a difference in personalities, but the few times I asked him for suggestions about places to go or things to do, I had the distinct impression that he couldn't wait to be done talking to me. If I go to Mendocino again, I'll probably look at a different place.


comfortable, reasonably priced

3,0 sur mai 05, 2013

Within easy walking distance of everything you want to see and a very comfortable bed. There's a wonderful surprise when you turn out the lights at night, but I won't give it away.


Great place to stay. Great location in town.

4,8 sur mars 15, 2013

Great place. Would definitely stay there again. Innkeeper was fantastic!


Great place!

4,2 sur novembre 09, 2012

Clean room, lovely breakfast and all the amenities of home. the only thing missing from the presbyterian suite was a kitchen knife. Glad I brought my pocket knife!!! Overall a great experience. Thanks!


Wonderful Stay

4,0 sur novembre 11, 2011

We loved it here. Very comfortable, great service, awesome bed, and wonderful location.


Charming B&B

4,0 sur octobre 06, 2011

Very satisified with Nicholson House. Will stay there again in the future.


Cleanliness gone amuck

2,0 sur juillet 27, 2011

Great location, very clean, but our experience was ruined by the overpowering smell of fabric softener in our sheets (alas, it was a beautiful bed!) which kept us from sleeping and left us with headaches. No amount of airing out with open windows and doors helped. We almost went to sleep in our car. In the morning I told the manager. I wish I had felt that our complaint had been taken seriously, but no apology or acknowledgement was given. We will not come back nor recommend the Nicholson Inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
We do several loads of laundry each day. The vent for laundry exhausts to the adjacent sidewalk so you get a whiff of the laundry. With 7 rooms to clean in 4 hours it is often difficult to keep up. Your room was our largest and there was a guest with a dog in the room the night before so we had to pay special attention to cleaning the room. It takes about 2 hours to clean the room and was just finished just before you arrived. When we walked in there was a strong smell but it was the air freshener, not the fabric softener. We spray each room to help freshen the air. The windows should have been open to neutralize the room but the housekeepers had not opened the windows yet. It sounds like you are sensitive to fabric softener. We use 1/2 to 1 lid of fabric softener in each load of laundry, which is not excessive. We are responsive to people with sensitivity or allergies to certain chemicals or feathers. We do special washing and remove the feather products when requested. I recall you came to breakfast and mentioned this. 2 of the housekeepers were cleaning the kitchen. I also had other guests waiting for my attention in the office and I wanted the housekeepers to hear your issues directly so I let you explain it to them. Sometimes when I tell them things it doesn't sink in but I figured hearing directly from the guest would be beneficial. I was waiting in the office for you to check out so I could apologize but when your husband came in he just grumbled, thew the keys on the table and left. I never had a chance to speak to him. A few minutes later the housekeepers came to me and told me how much the place smelled. Apparently you had cooked some fish the night before and the place reeked of it. That's OK, you have a kitchen and that is what it was for. But that is exactly why we have to freshen the place up as we had other guests arriving just a few hours later. I apologize for the problems and hopefully your trip was good otherwise.


Great stay at Nichelson House

4,0 sur juillet 24, 2011

Not a single thing to complain about. The host is very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast is very good. The rooms are clean and spacious. The location is great. The value is the best in the village. We would stay there again.


Charming B & B

4,4 sur juillet 19, 2011

The Nicholson House Inn was in a great location in town. The room was charming.


Great weekend

5 sur février 27, 2011

We had a wonderfull time in Mendocino. We took a quick getaway from Sacramento and the Nicholson House Inn was FANTASTIC. Excellent value, great atmosphere and clean comfortable room made our weekend great. Will definitely stay again. It was located within walking distance of great restaurants and a small market as well as several great coffe shops. Great ocean views and walkng trails less than a couple blocks away. Thanks.............


OK place, not extraordinary.

2,6 sur janvier 21, 2011

Stayed here for the discount we recieved. Would not pay full price. The room was great, but the atmosphere was lacking hospitality and hominess. Disapointed in breakfast. Great location however.


A wonderful stay

5 sur novembre 03, 2010

Nicholson House offers a terrific combination of great location, lovely ammenities, warm hospitality and a price point that works in today's economic environment. We'll definitely be back :)


Four Day Retreat

4,0 sur octobre 15, 2010

A great place to stay. Very clean, very quiet and a full continental breakfast. A great value.


Good, Basic Value

3,6 sur juillet 10, 2010

The Nicholson House Inn suited our needs for the long 4th of July weekend. Compared to other B&B's and hotels in the area, it was an extremely good value. We stayed for two nights for a little more than most places cost for just one. The room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, and the location can't be beat - right in the heart of Mendocino and walkable to everywhere in town. Finding parking on the street was very easy. The breakfast wasn't anything fancy, but there was lots of fresh fruit, a variety of breads and other baked goods, cereal, and some hard boiled eggs, cheese and meat. It was plenty to get a good start in the morning. The only complaint we had was that the shower was one of the absolute worst ever. Zero water pressure. It could have been because everyone was using their shower at the same time in the morning - not sure. Overall, if location is important and you will be happy with basic accommodations at a good price, I would recommend Nicholson House Inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your input. I was informed about the low water pressure. It seems that in the mornings, with many people taking showers at the same time, the upstairs units expirence lower water pressure. I checked with our plumber and saw that the pressure was set to about 40 psi, which is the low end of normal residential water pressure. We've since increased this to about 60 psi and it seems all is working well now.


Nicholson House Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $99 - $239
  • Avis (14) 3,9
  • Chambres 7
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7079370934
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8779370934

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut