Oak Bay Guest House Avis

Ensemble
4,2

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    3,8
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,2
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
52 Avis

Ecrire un avis

First time at a B&B

5 sur avril 05, 2014

Clean rooms, very comfortable beds, warm and inviting staff. Delicious breakfasts. I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this 100 year old heritage house and will definitely be going back.


Guest House Delight

5 sur février 03, 2014

Beautifully maintained historic building. So many photos and decorative pieces to study and stimulate the imagination concerning bygone days. The sun room upstairs is a delightful surprise with coffee, tea, hot chocolate always available. The tin of cookies was a temptation!! Breakfast was amazing, prepared and cooked to order. We received a muffin "for the road" as we left the dining room. Will definitely stay again.


Beautiful and Coxy Bed and Breakfast

4,8 sur octobre 31, 2013

Nicole and Mario are doing an incredible job at the beautiful B&B. Nicole's breakfast is the best and with the everyday changing menu, you will never get the same food twice. She is extremely talented. The house is very comfortable, clean and very quite. A must place to be. Keep it up. Mike


great b and b

5 sur octobre 05, 2011

we so enjoyed our three days with oak bay guest house...we particularly loved the staff that served breakfast in the diningroom every morning! we've stayed in many b and bs but this stay was extraordinary because of the people...it's always about people...and the ones at oak bay were great!


Great location

4,8 sur septembre 25, 2011

Really enjoyed Oak Bay. Derrick was very hospitable and very good cook. Only drawbacks: bed a little hard and bathroom a little small, but after all the place was built in 1912 and the common areas (sunroom and living room) are very comfortable and it was nice and quiet.


Cute and comfortable

3,6 sur septembre 04, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this quaint little B & B. Breakfast was delicious and it felt wonderful to be served with fancy china. The beds were extremely comfortable and the hosts have added wonderful personal touches throughout the house to make it inviting and charming.


PRMINWAX

4,0 sur août 23, 2011

The breakfast servers were new and got some of it wrong. However what we got was excellent, healthy tasty food. It is a very nice quaint place, handy for the bus so you can leave your car. Only a $12 taxi ride from downtown. We had sparkling wine in our room, excellent. We rented an MG sportscar for 2 hours so for a pair of 60 plus we had a lot of fun in Victoria. Taa.


Wonderful little hotel!

4,4 sur août 19, 2011

This was a nice place to stay, great breakfasts and snacks (given to you at breakfast to take with you), and a really nice quiet location.


The best B&B I've ever stayed in!

5 sur août 18, 2011

We loved the Victorian ambiance and the comfortable room. The location was perfect with easy access both to Oak Bay Village and Victoria and the breakfasts were remarkable. I would highly recommend the Oak Bay Guest House to anyone who desires a comfortable, quiet, friendly, and convenient B&B in the Victoria area.


Oak Bay Guesthouse is outstanding

4,6 sur août 16, 2011

We are traveling through Canada for four weeks visiting 11 hotels and B & B's on our way. The Oak Bay Guesthouse is by far the best value B&B we visited. The room was clean and agreable and the breakfasts scrumptious. They even give you a self-baked muffin for take-away as a snack. Our children were charmed! The Oak Bay Guesthouse is some 4 km from the city centre of Victoria so you need a car but you are assured a nice and quiet night's rest. The restaurant in the Oak Bay Marina at just a 5 minutes walk is a definte plus for this destination


Quiet, roomy, private, and excellent breakfast

5 sur août 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Oak Bay Guest House in Victoria in August of 2011. The house itself is quite large and the grounds it was built on are large as well. The house was originally built in 1912 and expanded to be an inn in 1922. Of course it has been updated with modern amenities yet it retains the original charm. Our suite was very nice with a sitting room, bedroom, and bathroom. The garden area is quite large and has tables and chairs so that people can enjoy the nice cool Victoria weather. The owners live on the bottom floor with private entrances. No bumping into them in the hallways, it's very private. The breakfast we had was excellent starting with the fresh fruit yogurt parfait and fresh cut fruit. Then my wife had the scrambled eggs with fresh caught salmon on a multi-grain bagel and I had the blueberry pancakes topped with fresh sliced strawberries. This was truly a great breakfast. I wish we didn't have to leave so early our first morning for a fishing trip because the breakfast at this place was definitely a key feature. I would recommend Oak Bay Guest House to the most discerning traveler.


Great location and hospitality

4,4 sur août 14, 2011

We stayed two nights in early August 2011 and enjoyed walking the area and partaking of nearby restaurants. The hostess was kind and attentive and the breakfasts were wonderful.


A grateful guest writes;

4,8 sur août 02, 2011

One of the finest B&Bs I have ever visited. A choice of breakfasts and the gracious hospitality of the hosts left me feeling at home. Most welcome was the second floor sunroom with TV very comfortable seating and available coffee, tea and cookies at all hours. Oak Bay village is a few blocks away and downtown Victoria a short bus ride. Quiet at night,,what more could you ask. Louis D'Agostino


Lovely stay, just too short!

3,2 sur août 01, 2011

Wonderful hosts, lovely breakfasts, out of the ordinary and a homely experience. We did have the Club Room though which we feel needs some TLC to be fair but the place won our hearts. Thank you both.


Great place to stay

3,6 sur juillet 26, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel warmly welcome. The level of help in terms of finding our way around Victoria was also exemplary, and our breakfast was also a very pleasant surprise, with meticulous service. All in all, a very pleasant stay in beautiful surroundings.


Great B & B

4,0 sur juillet 25, 2011

Exceeded our expectations. Outstanding breakfast and personal service.


Victoria feeling

4,2 sur juillet 18, 2011

A very nice place to feel at home in Victoria. Woud definitely choose again. Many thanks!


A lovely bed & breakfast and a great value

4,2 sur juillet 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Oak Bay Guest House. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfasts were complete with more than we could eat and the little extra touches were appreciated.


Would come back

4,6 sur juillet 08, 2011

Shirley is awesome! Made us feel very welcome. Beautiful, well maintained, turn of the century home. Complimentary (free) phone service to anywhere in North America a welcome surprise. Delicious muffins packed to go another much appreciated service.


Oak Bay Guest house is unique!

3,8 sur juillet 07, 2011

This is a wonderfull, very old wooden building packed with original features and character, set in a lovely garden and only a couple of 100m from the scenic coastal marine drive. We sat there and watched otters fishing just yards away from us. It is a quiet residential area. All the rooms we saw into were different and the entrance hall and dining room were packed with early 20th century features. The shared comfortable sun lounge upstairs was well provided with hot drinks, a microwave and a fridge for use by guests which was most welcome. Altogether a very pleasant stay in a unique building.


Great Location, wonderful hosts

5 sur juillet 05, 2011

This was our second stay at Oak Bay Guest House and it won't be our last. The rooms are unique and beautifully decorated. The sunroom is very comfortable for an afternoon of reading or just sitting and has tea, coffee and cookies always available. The breakfasts can't be beat and each day you have choices....amazing. Then to top it off you receive a delicious homemade muffin each to take with you!!!! A lovely touch. Egle and Derrick besides being friendly are very helpful and go out of their way to make your stay special. A must stay in Victoria.


Oak Bay Guest House, Victoria BC

3,0 sur juin 30, 2011

My companion had a disability (broken foot bone, occurring after the reservation was made) which made stair climbing painful and difficult. This was partially alleviated by the on site manager moving us from the second floor to the first, which provided less comfortsble accomodations and required moving from one room to another on our two night stay. This inconvenience was offset by ample and tasty home cooked breakfasts with flexible serving hours. We also found that wireless email was not readily accessible as promised and needed to consult another employee to actually get on line


2nd Visit

3,4 sur juin 27, 2011

A great old building in an excellent location with friendly staff and good value for one's money. The Oak Bay Guest House is a very pleasant stay when we come down Island to the Victoria area. (Former B&B owners)


Great B&B!

4,4 sur juin 13, 2011

The Oak Bay Guest house is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy good hospitality in a warm friendly atmosphere. The old time flavor of the house with it's period furniture and decor takes you back to earlier days of a slower pace of life. The food is awesome and the staff make you feel completely at home. I highly recommend Oak Bay Guest House and would stay again when visiting Victoria.


A wonderful stay in Victoria/Oak Bay

4,2 sur juin 06, 2011

I spent beautiful 5 days on Victoria with my husband and my parents. Big part of the positive experience was our stay at the Oak Bay Guest House! The hosts were super nice and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are pretty, each in its individual style with nice furniture and decor, and the beds were very comfortable. We also enjoyed our before bed tea and reading sessions in the sun room, and we soaked in the sun in the beautiful garden. The breakfasts were delicious and different every morning; my husband's gluten intolerance got accommodated, too. I will sure recommend this place to every one traveling to Victoria!


Lovely place to stay!

4,0 sur mai 30, 2011

I really enjoyed our stay and will probably return, but would not recommend the Cottage Room. It is small and located directly off the lobby, so noise was an issue. People were arriving late in the evening and talking in the lobby and we could hear every word! So I wondered if they could hear us as clearly! The breakfasts were fabulous! The building itself is in great repair, beautifully decorated and the two lounges provide great spaces to relax and read and visit. The grounds were lovely, especially with the rhodos in bloom. A short, pleasant walk to Beach Drive for leisurely strolls along the seaside, and a manageable stroll to picturesque Oak Bay Village, always a favorite during our visits to Victoria. We LOVE the Penny Farthing Pub, especially their 2 for 1 Monday night halibut and chips.


May Long Weekend

5 sur mai 29, 2011

This is the first time we had stayed in a B&B in Victoria and with our son who is 8 years old. Jack loved the chocolates left bedside and enjoyed the tea and muffins. Our beds were so comfortable and we had a great rest each night. My husband really enjoyed the eggs benny on Sunday morning.


Beautiful setting! Old and quaint.

3,6 sur mai 23, 2011

Accommodated the needs of someone running a half-marathon! Still able to shower. Provided a take-away lunch bag in lieu of breakfast. Thanks!


Excellent Customer Service!!

5 sur mai 19, 2011

My wife and I spent four nights at the Oak Bay Guest House. The staff bent over backwards to accomadate my wife's dietary needs. Service was excellent and the rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. We are looking forward to our next visit. Phil & Susan


enjoy

4,8 sur mars 25, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day visit. Staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Food was fabulous -would recommend for sure.


Delightful, clean, quiet with gracious hosts!

4,2 sur mars 23, 2011

Oak Bay Guest House is a delightful heritage property in a quiet area within reasonable walking distance of the marina and Oak Bay village. Egle's welcome was warm and genuine; she went out of her way to ensure I had what I needed. The Sunday 'benny' breakfast was delicious. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!


A weekend to remember.

4,8 sur mars 18, 2011

We had a 2-night stay at Oak Bay Guest House and we would absolutely stay again. We stayed in the Raphael Room, which was a bit smaller than anticipated, but still lovely. The location of the Guest House was in a quiet area. There was a sitting room where we could go to watch some TV or have an evening tea with cookies. The breakfast both mornings was superb, scrambled eggs on bagels, with or without salmon and bacon, fruit cup or yogurt, choice of juices. Eggs benedict, with or without sauce, with ham or spinach or both, fruit cup or yogurt, choice of juices. The finishing touch was that our hostess each day, gave us two homemade muffins to take on our day's journeys. The rooms were clean and cozy. There were daily newspapers made available and the hosts were absolutely wonderful!


wilson

4,4 sur mars 08, 2011

Very quiet, clean and the owners were very helpful. Breakfast was outstanding. We appreciated the little extras like the mints in the room and the scones to take with us for lunch.


Great choice for an Oak Bay stay

3,0 sur février 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Oak Bay Guest House. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the full breakfasts were delicious. It was nice to be so close to the marina. There were a few other guests but it was still fairly quiet. We would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone needing to stay in Oak Bay.


Oak Bay Guest House

3,0 sur janvier 24, 2011

Pleasant accomodations. Comfortable beds. Innkeepers very cordial and helpful. Very nice breakfast.


Just what we needed

3,8 sur janvier 22, 2011

The staff here are friendly and aim to please. The decor is in keeping with the building's early 1900's history. I was able to get gluten-free bread for my breakfast and my husband really enjoyed the yogurt parfait that was served before the entree. We would stay here again.


A good place to stay

4,0 sur janvier 10, 2011

Another pleasurable visit. Great location in Oak Bay. Wonderful home. Pleasant, friendly and respectful hosts. And the breakfasts are fabulous. We look forward to our next visit.


Great location, great place and awesome hosts

4,0 sur novembre 29, 2010

We were given a free upgrade on our room to a much bigger room. Egle and Shirley were great hosts and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Breakfast served during the 2 nights we were there was delicious. the place is very close to victoria downtown and in a nice solitude location. Highly recommended!!


Home away from home

4,2 sur novembre 17, 2010

Shirley and her staff were outstanding in hosting my family and for the extra seats she made available at Sunday's brunch. She really made us feel like family and we will return every time we are in Victoria.


Dani's Review

4,4 sur octobre 25, 2010

Everyone was exceedingly nice and accommodating. We had arranged for our children to join us for breakfast and they were late. The kitchen staff stayed and made sure our kids were able to join us. I especially like the little touches like tea and cookie availability, movies in the lounge, etc. I would definitely go there again.


Outstanding bed and breakfast

5 sur octobre 22, 2010

Stayed two nights in mid-October. Derek and Egle were most gracious, making us feel like we were at home. Our room was very clean and was adjacent to a sitting room, which had a TV, coffee, cookies, etc. Wireless Internet access was excellent. The breakfasts were very good and Egle gave us a take-out bag as we left for the day with homemade muffins. We would highly recommend the Oak Bay Guest House - and will stay here if we visit Victoria in the future. We are on an around-the-US road trip and have stayed at many B&Bs - and this one ranks at or near the top.


Oak Bay B&B

4,6 sur octobre 21, 2010

Lovely B&B. Very friendly staff. Great Breakfasts. Very homey and comfortable.


Superior experience at the Oak Bay Guest House

4,6 sur octobre 15, 2010

We arrived very late, but the inn keeper had given us excellent directions and we found our room easily. Facilities were exceptional - lovelyperiod fixtures and fittings. My only quibble was the Victorian decor in our room, but that is a minor thing. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast is truly delightful - well prepared delicious food with a muffin for the road. Exceptional value for money, well located with polished, friendly and professional staff. A superior stay.


our stay

3,0 sur octobre 06, 2010

A lovely place in a quiet area with friendly staff. The room was spacious and clean. I can only think of two areas that could use some attention: the bathtub/shower - needs up-dating; and the English stlyle breakfast that needs to be expanded to incorporate other tastes.


Great location, value for money

3,6 sur octobre 04, 2010

Classic bed and breakfast. Slept and ate well. Two Okay remarks were that it looks like its the same breakfast every day which could get old, and the sheet in our room were needing to be replaced. Other then that we would stay there again


Memorable stay in Oak Bay Guest House

3,6 sur septembre 23, 2010

It was just one night stay, but the service, the friendliness and the help werer outstanding. The breakfast was great, nicely served and plenty of it. (The dining rating, above, does not apply, as there was none) Everything was pleasant and very good.


The "only" place to stay in Oak Bay

4,0 sur septembre 18, 2010

We have stayed at the Oak Bay Guest House several times and enjoy the low key atmosphere, lovely garden and comfortable accomodations. It's location in Oak Bay is just a block off Beach Drive whiich makes for great walking.


Homey & Welcoming

3,6 sur septembre 17, 2010

Such a warm, beautiful, quiet place to spend some time, both inside & out. Staff were exceptionally helpful & friendly. Breakfasts were very tasty & generous & then they sent me along with a treat for later, which was much appreciated. The guests were very interesting people too. I enjoyed the proximity to the ocean, & walking in the very beautifully landscaped residential neibourhood, just a few blocks from shops & tea rooms. A comfortable place to relax & recharge.


Great but small

3,0 sur septembre 09, 2010

Over all the B&B was beautiful, we stayed in the Regency suite. It had a private bath, however it was difficult to get past the tub. If you were hadicapped ie. needed crutches or were a large person it would not do. The room was very small and there was not a chair for you to sit and put your shoes on, I had to use the toilet. The room was nice, however, there weren't any room darkening curtains to block out the light if you wanted to sleep in. The staff was very nice and fun to talk to. Breakfast was great, the fruit was fresh and full of flavor, and my cup of coffee never ran dry.


What a happy stay!

4,8 sur septembre 02, 2010

The service was friendly, capable, assured, and put us completely at our ease. The food was superlative and served in a wonderful atmosphere.


Awesome place to stay!

4,4 sur août 26, 2010

We stayed for three nights, and it was fantastic! The ladies are VERY friendly, the house is immaculate and well taken care of. Breakfasts were to die for! I would definitely come back again.


The best hospitality of our 2 week trip to BC!

5 sur septembre 02, 2009

Our three night stay in the Oriental Suite was great. It well accomodated three adults. The food and hospitality were wonderful as well! Our requests were met with seemingly little effort. We would definitely stay with the Vairs again!


Oak Bay Guest House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit CAD 89 - CAD 169
  • Avis (52) 4,2
  • Chambres 11
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2505983812
  • Fax 1-2505980369
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8005753812

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut