River Rest Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services5,0
  • Qualité/Prix4,9
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas5,0

Notation basée sur
63 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Extraordinary chef

5 sur avril 27, 2013

Richard and Ellen are wonderful host. The panoramic view of the lake from our room was amazing. It was delightful to hear the geese in the morning. The large Windows in the den made it tranquil to read a book or watch TV with the view of the lake. Richard is an extraordinary chef comparable of a 5 star breakfast. Richard and Ellen make you feel like family. The home was immaculate.


Great experience!!!

5 sur mars 12, 2013

Our stay with Richard and Ellen was outstanding. Breakfast was wonderful and the conversation was delightful. River Rest was a wonderful experience. Thank you Richard and Ellen


The Best B&B in Alabama

5 sur février 13, 2013

This was the best B&B that we have been to. Richard & Ellen are wonderful!! The food was fantastic, rooms were great, and the view was gorgeous. I would definitely recommend this B&B to my friends & family.


Delightful Stay!

4,6 sur janvier 22, 2013

Wononderful experience! The Mixons are delightful hosts and Richard ia an extraordinary chef; the breakfast was amazing!


Our Reality Escape!

5 sur janvier 06, 2013

My husband & I recently spent two nights at this WONDERFUL, B & B!! Words can't really describe it, you just have to experience it! Richard & Ellen are delightful hosts. Richard puts out 4 star breakfasts each morning and the quantity will last you ALL day! The fun part is sitting around the island watching him cook, quite a show! We were looking for a quiet, excluded B & B to totally unwind & this is it!! The weather did not cooperate, but it was still so relaxing & we left feeling totally recharged. We cannot wait to go back when we can enjoy more of the lake & grounds. They go out of their way to treat you like family, making you feel so welcome!


Out in the Country

4,4 sur octobre 11, 2012

Out where the rivers like to roam..... words from Three Dog Night. They stand alone River Rest Bed & Breakfast. Should have been on the cover of their golden biscuits album! A golden opportunity for anyone looking for golden biscuits, great people, and pictorial perfection created by heavenly light dancing on still water. If that doesn't bring you back a great nights sleep in cool country air will! Don't miss this.


B&B Paradise

5 sur septembre 05, 2012

The only negative is that I didn't stay longer. This is a quiet little piece of heaven. This was my first B&B experience and I think the bar has been set too high now.:) The accomodations were wonderful, the food was excellent and the location - heaven on earth.


Everything I hoped for and more!

5 sur août 10, 2012

I was not disappointed with any part of my decision to visit River Rest B&B. Richard and Ellen made us feel like family. The food was amazing and the surroundings were beautiful. I wish we could have stayed longer.


Wonderful Place to Stay!!!

5 sur juin 12, 2012

This place is amazing!! So peaceful and beautiful!! Extremely clean and well-maintained. The folks are very hospitable and the food was great-a true taste of southern living. We had shrimp grits and blueberry cream-topped crepes for breatkfast-fantastic! I definitely would recommend River Rest to anyone looking for some serious R&R.


Wonderful Stay at River Rest

4,8 sur mai 14, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent stay at River Rest. Richard and Ellen could not be more kind. They gladly accommodated our late night arrival and early morning departure. The food was delicious. The room was in emaculate condition. The view was beautiful.


Geat B&B get-away

4,8 sur avril 18, 2012

We recently needed a place to 'relax' after a week stay in FL, and before a 10 lap Talladega Adventure. We definitely found it here. Richard and Ellen could NOT have been better hosts / friends. They made us feel very comfortable and welcome at their B&B. Richards breakfast were VERY good, and his recommendations on things to do and where to have to dinner were good ones. We would stay their again if we are in area again.


Quiet and peaceful

4,8 sur février 27, 2012

Beautiful lakefront setting; caring and professional owners on-site; don't start your diet, until after you have one of Richard's fantastic breakfasts!!


Outstanding River Rest!!!

5 sur novembre 16, 2011

This place was simply amazing! Richard and Ellen are fantastic folks and we didn't want to leave! I have told everyone about it!


So much to be thankful for!!

5 sur septembre 05, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a "getaway/change of pace" after she took on a very stressful, but personally and professionally rewarding work opportunity. (Providentially, we were directed to this bit of paradise by Richard's mother on a recent trip to Metter, GA). As we wandered further back up country roads toward our weekend hideaway, I was reminicing on an unforgetable childhood getaway on Lake Winnipesaukee, NH. Upon arrival, and the more we experienced the view, to die for sunrise, ambiance, beach, hottub, and charisma of our host, quietness, and peacefulness of the place, our praise is beyond capacity to describe. We felt like petted royalty, and family. And that's hard to beat, at any cost!! Thank you, Richard and Ellen for an unforgetable experience!


Amazing

5 sur août 25, 2011

This was one of the most enjoyable and beautiful bed and breakfasts my husband and i have stayed in. The innkeepers are wonderful christian couples we've had the pleasure of meeting. I would recommend this stay to anyone. By the way, the breakfast...SCRUMPTIOUS!!! I'm still trying to figure out how you made that egg dish.


Great Getaway

5 sur août 24, 2011

The River Rest B&B exceeded our expectations; we wanted to have a few days away and got much more. The house was wonderful, the breakfast was way beyond and the environment was built for relaxing. We could not decide which area to sit and sip coffee or which area to lay and relax in. The lake was wonderful, a great place to be lazy. We will be back soon!


River Rest Bed & Breakfast is the BEST!

5 sur août 17, 2011

The view from the front porch is awesome. Richard and Ellen are great hosts. Richard's Shrimp & Grits and French Toast Casserole are out of this world! We enjoyed are stay and plan on coming back soon.


Wonderful Getaway

5 sur août 14, 2011

Everything was special. We especially enjoyed the conversation, food and watching the moon over the lake. We'd love to come again!


Simply Divine!!!

5 sur mai 15, 2011

This was the best B&B we have ever stayed at. Breathtaking scenery, lovely hosts, scrumptious meals, and completely tranquil surroundings made for the most restful vacation we have ever experienced. This is the quintessential Southern getaway and you simply will not be disappointed. We plan to return as soon as we can to see our now friends, the Mixons, and the beautiful Alabama mountains and water. Simply divine!!


SWEET HOME ALABAMA

5 sur mai 10, 2011

My wife, best friend from college and his wife came back to Talladega (home town for my wife and me) for a 40th college class reunion and I made arrangements for us to stay at River Rest Bed and Breakfast. The experience was outstanding in every way. The accomodations, food, and the panoramic views just blow you away. Richard and Ellen are the warmest and most gracious hosts imaginable. They do it right!


Great find in Talladega!

5 sur avril 21, 2011

Richard and Ellen are fantastic hosts with just the right balance of interaction with the guests with respect to privacy or having a great cup of coffee downstairs in the kitchen while watching Richard cook some of the most sumptuous breakfasts I have ever enjoyed. The house and grounds are even more beautiful than the pictures show on the website. Guests are encouraged to make themselves at home and enjoy all of the amenities (be sure not to skip the Jacuzzi). I could not have been more pleased with the comfort of the room including the premium bedding. Thanks Richard and Ellen we will definitely be back!


Unexpected GREAT place

5 sur avril 04, 2011

This place is awesome and pictures don't do it justice. The house is beautiful but the views are what makes this place. Richard and Ellen are great host. He can fix the most wonderful breakfast. The bed is great and you have a bathroom to yourselves. This is a great place to stay don't overlook a chance to get pampered and getting a southern hospitality. Richard can direct you places to shop, eat and sites. I know pictures can be misleading but not here. In the summer time he will even take you out on his boat no extra charge now that is hospitality and showing how much he cares about his guest. I just want to say that my wife and I really liked this place and will stay again. Richard and Ellen just opens up their home and make you feel welcome. The views and breakfast plus the hospitality makes this a place that you have to try for yourself. I give this place a ten out of ten. FANTASTIC


Riverrest bed & breakfast

4,4 sur février 16, 2011

Lovely and kind host/hostess, terrific bed, terrific breakfast (like the best ever).What more could you ask for? Oh, yeah, beautiful views of the lake, a nice walking trail that we saw bluebirds on, easy access. Very nice!


Perfect getaway

5 sur janvier 28, 2011

I was welcomed at River Rest as if I were a long time friend. The Mixon's are very special people and fun to be around. I felt like I'd known them all my life. It's a great place to stay in every way. I went in January for a rest and relaxation getaway and it proved to be the perfect place for it. The garden room had a deep jet tub and separate small shower. The bed was fantastic! I had my own entrance from outside on a deck surrounded by nature where I drank my coffee and watched the deer before breakfast. Oh my!!! The breakfast...FANTASTIC!!!! Thanks Richard and Ellen.


1st B&B

4,8 sur janvier 23, 2011

Not knowing what to expect or compare to, I was extremely comfortable. The furnishings are upper-class. The privacy was top notch. Amenities Galore! I will return!


5 star people make 5 star quality

5 sur janvier 16, 2011

My husband and I recently celebrated a milestone in our marriage at River Rest Bed and Breakfast. Brian had just completed his Master's Degree with honors and we needed sometime to ourselves but near our home. Our 14 month old little girl and 12 year old boy are precious to us but it was time for Mom and Dad to recharge. We have visited several bed and breakfast inn's through out the southeast but never had we visited one with 5 star quality like River Rest Bed and Breakfast. Richard and Ellen are good people who made us feel welcomed in their home. The breakfast served was 5 star quality and we plan to visit again soon. Brian and Michelle Clay, Alabama


Glorious Weekend

5 sur janvier 05, 2011

Everything about the River Rest was outstanding. Richard and Ellen are the perfect hosts. The food was delicious. Our stay at River Rest was above and beyond any expectation we have ever had about staying at a Bed and Breakfest. Thank you for a glorious weekend.


Five Star Rating

5 sur janvier 03, 2011

My husband and I have visited several Bed and Breakfast Inns through out the south and this place is the very best. We feel that Richard and Ellen enjoy what they do and their breakfast was amazing. Brian and Michelle Hall Clay, AL


Highly Recommended

5 sur novembre 07, 2010

We recently spent 3 nights at River Rest Bed and Breakfast. Our stay with Richard and Ellen was great. They were welcoming and ready to make our stay memorable. The location is beautiful and tranquil, the accomodations were extremely comfortable and the breakfasts were works of art. Peter and Beth


Perfect honeymoon

5 sur novembre 04, 2010

There are no words to describe how wonderful are stay at River Rest B&B was. Richard & Ellen are so kind and welcoming. We felt like we were among friends we've known for a long time. The home and surroundings are beautiful and so peaceful. It was the "perfect honeymoon." Dwight & Terri


River Rest Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 26, 2010

My husband and I visited the River Rest Bed and Breakfast. The home was beautiful, very clean and the Mixon's were so inviting and non-intrusive. We relaxed, enjoyed the beautiful scenery, amazing breakfast and left relaxed and renewed after only a few days. This is definitely a do-over for us! Thank you for your service and dedication to excellence! Hope to see you again soon - - God Bless - -Rick and Alice


Great time

5 sur octobre 25, 2010

My wife and I spent our 20th anniversary night at River Rest and it was awesome. Richard & Ellen make you feel right at home and the room was great. I highly recommend River rest Bed and Breakfast to everyone! Bo Johnson


Outstanding weekend!

5 sur octobre 04, 2010

I stayed with Richard and Ellen the weekend before last and they have created a wonderful retreat where you are made to feel like it's your home away from home with loved ones. After a bear of week, I left River Rest Bed and Breakfast feeling completely relaxed and will be returning again very soon. Everything from making my last minute reservation, to a late checkout was handled impecably. When in Talledega, this B&B is a must! Thank you both for a wonderful stay! Patti Bernstein, Chatham, NJ


Ahhh...Peace!

5 sur juillet 19, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a night for our anniversary at River Rest. The Bed and Breakfast and its surroundings are beautiful! All of the rooms were beautiful, and the food was exquisite. Mr. Richard and Mrs. Ellen truly pampered us! River Rest is truly what its name implies. Whether we were indoors or out by the lake, it was all so peaceful, a great time of romance and refreshment for me and my husband.


Our first B&B - why did we wait so long! AWESOME!

5 sur mai 09, 2010

My wife and I had always talked about doing a B&B, but I could never get passed inviting myself into someone's home. Guess what, it become "our" home as Richard and Ellen treated us as family and we had two fabulous days in their beautiful home. Thanks guys for such a fantastic experience! BG


Beyond my expectations

4,0 sur mai 02, 2010

As a former businessman, and current minister, I've traveled from Arkansas to the outer banks of North Carolina-from Tennessee to the panhandle of Florida...and this is by far the most exquisite place we've stayed in. The landscape on the outside was amazing, and the indoor garden was gorgeous. The room we stayed in was better than any I've ever been in, and I've been in many. Breakfast was superb and the hospitality can't be matched. Richard and Ellen were the greatest host, and we enjoyed the 5 days/4 nights in their home.


The best getaway in Alabama!

5 sur avril 25, 2010

My fiance and I went there for our engagement last summer and we could not have asked for a more romantic and peaceful place! Richard and Ellen were the nicest hosts and their property is absolutely beautiful. We highly recommend you to experience it for yourself!


Fantastic place to stay!

5 sur février 19, 2010

River Rest B&B is my favorite place to stay. I've stayed there many times & am always made to feel right at home. The place is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are so very comfortable & the food is amazing! After just one visit, Richard & Ellen feel like old friends. I will definitely be back! River Rest is one of those places to go again & again.


Really Special

5 sur janvier 21, 2010

I can’t say enough about how comfortable Richard and Ellen made us feel. The food, the rooms, the whole atmosphere was above my expectation.


Alleluia Alabama!

5 sur novembre 07, 2009

My husband and I flew in from Philadelphia, Pa. and received the best southern hospitality we could imagine. The entire experience, from the excellent food, to the beautiful home and scenery, to the friendships made, was absolutely wonderful! Richard and Ellen truly make you feel like one of the family. We will definitely be back for more! Thank you!!!! J&DH


The Gem of Alabama

5 sur novembre 05, 2009

Our second visit was even better than our first. There are absolutely no words to describe this bed and breakfast, you just have to experience it. Do yourself a favor and book a reservation. You will not regret it. AC


A Very Special Place

5 sur septembre 22, 2009

Had a wonderful stay. Richard & Ellen are fantastic in every way. Their warm and cozy home quickly becomes your home. I would highly reccomend and will come back again. I proposed to my beautiful wife while sitting on their dock.


You just can’t go wrong at River’s Rest!

5 sur septembre 13, 2009

You just can’t go wrong at River’s Rest. What a great destination. Wish we could spend a week. These are the friendliest Inn Keepers we have met! From the boat ride to the golf cart tour of the area, this B&B was top notch from start to finish. The food was outstanding, the ambiance was perfect, down to the calico cat on the front porch, the peacefulness of the entire area was exquisite and the hot tub soooooo relaxing. The only downside is having to leave at night to go get dinner, so we carried a picnic and ate it on the back porch. It doesn’t get any better than this!


Wonderful Anniversary get-away!!!

5 sur août 30, 2009

We considered Ross Bridge Resort in Birmingham, but opted for something more intimate. WOW! We're so glad we did! We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at River Rest and it was the perfect place for relaxation and romance. An incredible experience all the way around. Richard and Ellen were our hosts and became our friends. The breakfast they prepared for us will be shared with many through the pictures that we took, unfortunately the pictures won't portray the delicious taste of the beautifully served meal. Do yourself a favor and spend some time at the River Rest B & B. We wish we could have been there longer.


An Outpost of Heaven in Talladega?

5 sur août 08, 2009

Do Not Stay Here! Not unless you want great food, great company, great views & great times. Tough not to have all of those here. Hosts could not have been more gracious or accomodating. All guest rooms are large, inviting, comfortable and no room is adjacent to another. Very quiet, very peaceful. Breakfast is a feast - literally a feast. Multiple courses, dishes, beverages - absolutely delicious and more food than any of us could finish. Walk the trails, ride the area in a golf cart, play on the sandy beach, take a boat ride, lounge in the hot tub or just sit, relax and take in the view... maybe while eating warm, home made cookies in the evening. Definitely a place to visit at least once or you will be missing a treat. Johnny & Valoree Alabaster, AL


Is this heaven?

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2009

Out of all the Bed & Breakfasts I've stayed in, River Rest is number one on my list! The breakfasts are absolutely fabulous and the views are breathtaking. Not to mention Richard and Ellen, who are outstanding hosts! I will be returning!


A Getaway to remember!

5 sur juillet 08, 2009

River Rest was more than we expected and we usually expect alot! Our stay was an experience we will treasure. Lots of laughter, great food, relaxing atmosphere, extremely comfortable bed and our hosts Ellen and Richard made the entire stay delightful! We will definitely visit River Rest again and again.


Bed, Breakfast and Beyond

5 sur juillet 03, 2009

If you've been fortunate enough to stumble across this site, you've been blessed indeed. This B&B changed our view on lodging during trips. Normally we stay in 4 and 5 star hotels but our conceptions about travel have now changed. If this particular B&B is anything like the others, hotels may soon be a thing of the past. The accomodations here were above all expections. You can tell that the hosts hearts were put in to every detail of your stay. The home was beautiful and the meals exquisite!


One night in paradise!

5 sur juin 17, 2009

My wife and I just spent 5 nights in three different Bed and Breakfast locations and this was the best. The accomadations were excellent and the Innkeepers were super. We felt as if we were staying with good friends. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking for a beautiful location that feels like home.


This B & B can't be beat!

5 sur juin 13, 2009

Our first experience with a B&B and it was positively lovely. My wife and I needed a break from the norm and some relaxing time alone so we decided to try something new. Though just 45 minutes from our home, we felt like we were apart from everything. Ellen & Richard were completely hospitable and made us feel comfortable and right at home and they go way beyond on the food. They have an amazingly beautiful house with an awesome view of the lake from their front porch and throughout the house. We stayed in the Garden Room and highly suggest it but really would stay in any of the rooms. We definitely plan to go back again and cannot wait to do so.


Wish it was my place

5 sur juin 09, 2009

My husband and I just sold our lake front property in Nebraska and have felt a little lost these last couple of weeks with our boat but no cabin. We booked the Talledaga Race Track driving and found this wonderful spot on the internet. If you are not a lake person, you won't undestand the feeling you get at River Rest. If you like the water you'll understand... water like glass, the bird sounds early in the morning, criters sounds at night, fishing boats rushing to get their favorite secret spot on the lake, people laughing, and everyone being relaxed cause you are at the lake. River Rest was so perfect. Wonderful breakfasts, (thanks for the grits Richard), just enough interaction between us and the owners, (thanks for serving our meals outside Ellen) I like things the way I like them, and I can be pretty picky. I have to say that I was very impressed with River Rest.


4th time and still a charm.....

5 sur avril 24, 2009

My wife and I just returned from our 4th trip to Riverrest within a year and it was fabulous as usual!! Each time we find a new spot to get away and relax. This time it was the swing on the front lawn among the azeleas. Richard prepared another wonderful breakfast which is always a surprise. Beautiful, clean, great place to go and get away from the real world for a few days. Thanks again Richard and Ellen and will see you again soon!!! God Bless


River Rest is the way to go!!

5 sur octobre 28, 2008

My husband and I stay at River Rest 2 times a year and every time we go we feel like royalty. We go for a working weekend w/our church and always come home with our work done and feeling very relaxed. Richard and Ellen Mixon always go above and beyond what is expected as inn keepers! Everything is always so nice and clean...not to mention the most comfortable bedrooms. Did I mention that each bedroom has it's own thermostat, television, and private bath. The breakfast is more like a buffett of wonderful food and DELICIOUS. Richard and Ellen could easily run a restaurant! :) The whole atmosphere is amazing!! We love River Rest and HIGHLY reccomend it to anyone who is interested in visiting.


Fabulous Time

5 sur octobre 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at River Rest for the October Talladega Race and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Beautiful property, great food and lovely, warm innkeepers, Richard and Ellen. They did everything possible to make it a great stay for ourselves and the other guests. The best part of a B & B stay is you meet interesting people in a home-like atmosphere. We have already made our reservation for next year's race week-end. Thank you Richard and Ellen!


Felt so at Home...

5 sur septembre 03, 2008

Richard and Ellen made us feel so at home. We literally felt like we were at our lake home. Beds are excellent, food is an A+, and the view and the home is absolutely amazing. We were first time visitors to a B&B, and would recommend River Rest B&B. Thanks Richard and Ellen for everything, and God bless.


Heaven on Earth

5 sur juillet 13, 2008

What a joy it was to spend time with Richard and Ellen in their beautiful home. Photos don't do justice to the tranquil surroundings that are River Rest. We felt so at home with such caring people,and attention to every detail has not been overlooked. 5 STARS all the way.


hard act to follow

5 sur juin 17, 2008

this place was great!they took care of everything and i cannot imagine another pace topping it!


The Best Home Away From Home

5 sur juin 03, 2008

Richard and Ellen (& their staff) are absolutely amazing. Their attention to detail from booking our room to furnishing & cleaning it, was perfect! Breakfast? OUTSTANDING - featuring familiar delicacies, but also wonderful southern specialities. With their warm & welcoming personalities, lovely home, and the beautiful scenery of Alabama, we were extremely pleased with our visit. Next time we travel from Seattle to Talladega, we know where to stay!


River Rest was what we needed...

5 sur avril 25, 2008

my husband and I decided to try and find a B&B at the last minute somewhere near Birmingham where we were scheduled to fly home from. we thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at River Rest with it's great location, comfy bed, and wonderful front deck. Richard and Ellen are extremely gracious and generous hosts. we plan to visit again next time we're in the southeast. Make sure to ask for Richard's French Toast casserole!


Love to Rest at River Rest

5 sur avril 15, 2008

It was wonderful. The beds are so comfortable. My husband and I stay here several times a year, and I always leave feeling very rested and taken care of. Richard and Ellen are great hosts. I feel like family when I stay at River Rest.


Taking it easy in Talledega

5 sur avril 15, 2008

Wow!!! What a location. My wife and I have stayed at the River Rest B&B on multiple occasions and we are blown away every time. The rooms are immaculate and the service is out of this world. Richard and Ellen were excellent hosts and always make us feel like we are part of the family. When looking to get away for rest and relaxation we always end up here.


There's No Rest like River Rest!

5 sur avril 14, 2008

We just returned from our second stay at River Rest, and we were once again amazed at the hospitality, excellence, and attention to detail given to us. Part of me wanted to stay in the same room we had the first time because I didn't want to miss the gorgeous sunrise over the lake, but Richard suggested the room on the other end of the house, and we were definitely not disappointed! That room had a beautiful view of the lake and a spectacular sunrise as well. Richard and Ellen are such gracious hosts that we always feel more like long unseen family than guests. They have a fire pit and a jacuzzi on the front deck that are perfect for late night talks or early morning relaxation. Everything from the decor to the emaculate yards makes you feel pampered and rejuvenated. The only disappointment was having to return home. I can't wait to return and stay in a different room!


River Rest Bed and Breakfast

5 sur juillet 28, 2007

RICHARD AND ELLEN WERE VERY GRACIOUS HOSTS. THEY MADE ME FEEL LIKE FAMILY---FOOD WAS EXCELLENT, BEDS WERE GREAT AND THE PROPERTY WAS MUCH BETTER THAN THE WEBSITE SHOWED. WILL BE BACK AGAIN.


River Rest Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $145 - $250
  • Avis (63) 4,9
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2562680101
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8666707378

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut