Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix4,5
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,0

Notation basée sur
94 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Very enjoyable stay in a comfy room.

4,6 sur décembre 09, 2013

Nice stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
I appreciate your review! Winter is a beautiful time of year to enjoy our B&B and cottages. Thanks for staying with us!


My stay at Alaska Garden Gate BnB

5 sur octobre 23, 2013

I wished that I had found this last year when I had a relative staying at Mat-Su Medical Center. Very clean and the breakfasts were very good and nutritional. They were quiet and private. Karen

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you, Karen, for writing a review. We seek to have a restful and comfortable place for travelers to relax, whether that's after a full day of outdoor recreation or like you, visiting family in the hospital, which is just a mile from us.


Perfect for me and my dog

4,8 sur octobre 20, 2013

Love staying at Garden gate! Karen takes great care of us. Very private quiet cottages. Very nice beds and linens. She thinks of everything

Réponse du propriétaire
We enjoy hosting pets and their people! Thank you for leaving a review. We appreciate it!


Great B&B, not far from Anchorage, Talkeetna and Matanuska Glacier

5 sur septembre 10, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Alaska Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast. It was great. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The property is well maintained. It was a little over an hour drive to Talkeetna where we did some sightseeing tours. It is also a little over an hour’s drive to the Matanuska Glacier. Anchorage is not a far drive either. So, the B&B is located in an area where you can easily travel to sites on very scenic roads. The host, Karen, could not have been more accommodating. She has plenty of suggestions for things to do while you’re there. Breakfast, which was prepared fresh at the B&B, was left in the refrigerator in the room each afternoon so that you had it for the following morning. This way you are able to heat and eat whenever you’d like! Some days omelets and muffins, some days quiche and banana bread. All were delicious! The room had a coffee maker too and fresh ground coffee and filters all ready to go. I felt like I was at home, with none of the work! Stay at this place, you will not be disappointed!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you kindly for taking the time to describe your time at Alaska Garden Gate! Undoubtedly this will give future guests a better idea of what we offer. It was nice to meet you and host your stay!


proper

3,8 sur août 27, 2013

Nos alojamos en el edificio de la recepción. muy limpio aunque algo ruidoso. Se escuchan los pasos del piso de arriba. No tiene cortinas con lo que hay mucha luz en la habitación. desayuno escaso. Cocina completamente equipada. Si tuviera que volver a alojarme lo haría sin duda


Great place to stay in Palmer, AK

4,6 sur août 22, 2013

I've been to the Garden Gate B&B twice now and very much enjoyed my stay each time. It is an especially good location (at a good price) if you are interest in sightseeing places North of Anchorage in the Mutsu area.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! We are centrally located to the many activities to do around Palmer and Wasilla, in our area called the Mat-Su. We're happy to share info about how to get to hiking, rafting, flightseeing, ATVing, dog-sledding, birding, museums, restaurants...There's plenty to do to keep visitors going for a week or more!


Charming

3,6 sur août 22, 2013

The room was large and had lots of country charm. The bed was comfy and relaxing after a long day of traveling. Could not use the fireplace as it was too warm. While there, Palmer was having a heat wave! A continental breakfast was in the refrigerator (Quiche) to be heated the following morning. We didn't care for it, as it had spinach in it, but we ate the bread, banana, and drank the orange juice. Karen, the innkeeper, was very nice and helpful. She also suggested a great place to eat and have dinner. It's called The Noisy Goose I believe. A lot of the locals go there and the food is delicious. DH had the Halibut fish & chips, and thought it the best he had in a long time.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for your review! It was nice to have you here.


Nice place in Palmer, AK

3,2 sur août 21, 2013

They are conveniently located near major roads. We were worried about noise at first but it did not turn out to be a problem at all. Our room was in the lower level of the main house and was well appointed with everything you might need. The wifi worked. We used the oven to heat up the quiche we were provided for breakfast. It does not have a sit down breakfast spread but the provided quiche, bread, yogurt, banana and juice was fine for us. We would stay again if we were near Palmer.

Réponse du propriétaire
So nice to have you here! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. --Karen


Extremely good value, spacious cabin, good breakfast.

3,6 sur août 16, 2013

We can HIGHLY recommend, The Alaska Garden Gate B & B and cottages, which are a short drive from Palmer, in a very pleasent garden setting, with a great view of the Chugach mountains, we had the Evergreen Retreat, and could not have been more pleased or comfortable, - two bedrooms, and a lounge which has a couch, TV, and 2 big windows for natural light, The bathroom is well set up, and has spare towels, a substantial breakfast is supplied in your cottage, and unlike some hotels, the parking and WiFi are FREE. Thanks Karen and Camille, our stay at your property, made our 17th anniversary, and our first visit to Alaska a very special and memorable one. R and M - Australia.


Wonderful, private B & B

4,8 sur août 16, 2013

Great stay at Garden Gate. Loved the breakfast in our cottage concept. Eat on your schedule worked great as we are NOT early risers. The food was very good. The bed, which we believe is most important was very comfortable...liked the location to Wasilla as we were in town to visit a dear friend. We found Anchorage to be a short 40 min drive . Thanks to Karen you are a great host and exceeded our expectations in every way at the Garden Gate.


Alaska's best innkeeper

5 sur août 14, 2013

The cottage was beautiful and spacious, the breakfast was homemade and first rate, and the innkeeper was especially kind and attentive to all the details.


Wonderful, quiet place to stay

4,6 sur août 14, 2013

This was a very nice duplex cottage, quiet, full kitchen, comfortable beds, nice shower and bathroom, view of Knik Glacier from our window. We recommend this place highly if you are staying in the Palmer area.


Three day cherry on top of seven day cruise!

4,6 sur août 09, 2013

We booked Garden Gate B&B for its location. It proved to be everything we would want in a B&B and more. Karen was very friendly and helpful in guiding my wife and I to restaurants, sights and activities. The accomodations exceeded my expectations and in many aspects were outstanding.It was a great 3 day ending following our Alaskan cruise. Easy drive to Talkeetna and our flight around Mt. McKinley. Highly Recommend!

Réponse du propriétaire
We're so glad you enjoyed your time here! It was very nice to meet you -- Karen


Beautiful Cottage

5 sur août 08, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe cottage for 1 night on our way to Denali. We loved everything - the location, the nice touches in the cottage (ceiling fan in the bedroom, sound machine in the bedroom, etc). Our only regret was that we were only here for 1 night.


Quaint cottages near Palmer

3,8 sur juillet 30, 2013

Cottages are small and close together but a nice place to stay for the night. Some cottages don't have room darkening shades which might bother some. Breakfast was good & it was convenient not to have to leave the cottage to enjoy it. Karen, the owner, was familiar with the area and recommended good dining choices. Make sure to follow directions given in your confirmation note rather than depend on GPS .... GPS leads you to the wrong place.

Réponse du propriétaire
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! You're right, it is not good to depend on GPS. It can save new visitors a lot of time to use our directions or at least find us on Google, where our "pin" on the map is correct. I am able to hand-correct that on Google, but cannot change where your GPS tells you that I live. In our cottages, the windows have wood-slat blinds which do a good job of darkening except for a tiny sliver of light that can come in along the edge. Thanks for your comments! --Karen


Stay at Alaska Garden Gate B&B

4,6 sur juillet 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The cottage was great and was exactly what we were looking for.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks! Nice to have you here!


The View Was Outstanding

4,6 sur juillet 11, 2013

Our visit at Alaska Garden Gate B & B was outstanding. Our cottage was clean and comfortable, located not far from where my husband grew up between Wasilla and Palmer. He was delighted with the view of Pioneer Peak and the glacier out our window. The rates were reasonable, too. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for putting a review online. We hope you'll come back again. --Karen


Wonderful Experience

4,0 sur juillet 04, 2013

We recently stayed three nights in one of the cottages at the Alaska Garden Gate B & B. We were extremely impressed with the accommodations and the friendliness of Karen, the owner. We didn't know exactly what to expect but upon our arrival but were extremely impressed. Wonderful experience and would recommend this B & B to anyone. We were a little disappointed in the pictures advertised versus reality but marketing is marketing, no complaints and we did reserve one of the smaller cottages. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. Thanks Karen for a wonderful, relaxing experience.


June 2013 stay

4,0 sur juin 25, 2013

Nice place with a beautiful view of the mountains.

Réponse du propriétaire
I appreciate your comments. Thank you!


Would be nice for 2, but not for 4

3,4 sur juin 25, 2013

The cottage was very nice with great little touches; however, even though advertised as sleeping up to 4, the sofa bed (3 & 4 persons) was terrible. The bed made out took up all of the room in the kitchen/living area and had about 6 inches space on one side with the metal rails unprotected and sharp. The mattress was a typical "sofa bed" and extremely uncomfortable. The people and surroundings were warm and beautiful.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for leaving a review! For the people who I talk with on the phone or by e-mail, if they're wondering what will fit their family configuration best, I do let them know that the sofa bed is just a normal one (albeit with the upgraded "extra thick" mattress), and that I only recommend it for children or light-weight, petite adults. For a family with teens or other adults traveling together, I definitely recommend our guest apartments not only for the additional "real" beds that sleep much better for adults, but also for the additional square footage. On my website, each cotttage or apartment description lists the square footage, to help you make informed decisions as to the best fit for your tastes and needs. If in doubt, don't hesitate to call me! We want everyone's stay to be the best it can be.


Visit to Palmer

4,4 sur juin 20, 2013

This place is really nice. The only problem is that it sits above a busy road, which made for a lot of traffic noise. And because it was warm out I had to keep the widows open and the traffic sound was really annoying.


Our first Aaska trip

3,6 sur juin 17, 2013

Karen (the manager) was accommodating through email before we were able to book publicly (rooms were not yet "available" to book on the internet). When we arrived she was very nice and met us at the door. The property is immaculate and very cute. Each little cottage has either a porch or a small deck and a parking spot right next to it. The cottages were very clean and upgraded. Nice decor. They provide daily breakfast right to your refrigerator. The kitchens are fully equipped. For the price it was well worth our stay. Quiet and private. You aren't bothered by staff at all. We will definitely stay again!

Réponse du propriétaire
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much.


Excellent location, great space

4,6 sur juin 12, 2013

We had a great 5-day stay at the Alaska Garden Gate. It's centrally located for Talkeetna, Palmer, Matanuska Glacier, Eklutna, and Anchorage attractions (too far for a Denali Park day trip). There's a lot to see within a 2 hour drive in any direction. Our room was very spacious and was a great value for the price. Karen was a terrific host, even doing our laundry and loaning us the big Alaska milepost guidebook for our explorations. It sits above a sparsely traveled main road, which is convenient, and with the door shut we couldn't hear any traffic noise. Having breakfast foods provided the day before is a great idea; it means you don't meet other travelers as in a regular B&B, but you can set your own schedule and snack whenever you like. Convenient to restaurants in Palmer and Wasilla. We highly recommend it.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review! We enjoyed having you here. When we had just a couple B&B bedrooms in our main house, we used to serve breakfast in our dining room. With the addition of our cottages 3 years ago, we can no longer fit all guests into our dining room, so we changed to the breakfast baskets. We miss talking with travelers from all over the world, too!


Great place to stay

5 sur juin 11, 2013

This was a great room. Bed was amazing. Four adults stay and we had two single beds for my sister-in-laws to sleep in. The Internet worked great and TV was good. View was great. Wonderful place to stay. Would recommend.


Cozy romantic getaway

4,4 sur juin 05, 2013

I recently stayed at the Garden Gate B and B with my spouse from out of state for a romantic getaway. The cottage was great. It had everything you needed for a short or long stay. The views were breathtaking from every window and the service was great. Our stay there was beyond our expectations and we will be making reservations again in the future!


Cottages

4,2 sur avril 24, 2013

I stayed in two different cottages for a brief retreat. The furnishings were deluxe, everything you would expect in a luxury hotel. The room was very quiet and peaceful. the view is magnificent with walking trails nearby. I was very pleased with the quality of the rooms and the comfort as well. I will definitely be back.


Nice place with great view

4,0 sur mars 26, 2013

This was a nice little place run by very friendly, helpful people. The view was great, the rooms were tidy, and continental breakfast, left in fridge and microwave-ready, was quite good. Rooms feel a little on the small side for some reason (owner actually said they wished they'd built them bigger), but this was a comfortable, quiet place to stay. To use TV in bedroom, you must reach around and point remote toward kitchen. Overall, I enjoyed the privacy of the cottage, and the stay was quite nice.


Agility trial weekend

4,8 sur février 21, 2013

Very pet friendly and I will stay there again when there are dog trials in the area.


Winter 2013

5 sur février 06, 2013

Thoroughly loved the cottage I stayed in. Delicious breakfast and quiet comfort!! The rate was very fair and appreciated the breakfast being placed in my cottage in the evenings so I could eat at my convenience. Beautiful view from bedroom of surrounding snow capped mountains. Looking forward to my business travels taking me back to Wasilla, Alaska because I know a great place now to stay!!


Best Place to Stay

5 sur novembre 14, 2012

This was a great B&B, great Food, I really enjoyed it. I recomended to all my friends who have dogs that run agility. I probably should not have done this, as now there will be no room for me when I come back down for my next competition.


Great B&B

5 sur octobre 21, 2012

We spent two separate nights at beginning and end of trip. One in a cottage and one in an apartment. Both were very clean and comfortable. The apartment is larger with more room to spread out. Loved the whirlpool tubs. Breakfast was delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.


Labor Day Weekend 2012!

3,6 sur octobre 01, 2012

Some clients may not care for quiche for breakfast, but I thought it was yummy. Their was hair and lint behind the toilet seat and also on the lip of the bathtub tile. The caulking was separating and was at eye level when you sat in the tub. The night we slept there was a lot of wind, however the sound machine was available and was helpful in drowning out the wind and was very peaceful! It wss reassuring that I was able to bring my dog and appreciative that I could... thank you

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm surprised to hear that the bathroom was not as clean as you would have liked. I take pride in my cleaning, so I apologize that it was not up to my standards or yours! Each morning, the breakfast basket has a different entree to warm up in your microwave, such as quiche, breakfast burritos or omlettes. If the egg entree is not your dish, there are a variety of other items such as fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins or pastry, and juice. We invite our guests to pick whichever parts they will enjoy, any or all!


Great place to stay.

4,8 sur septembre 19, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay. This is a great place to stay and we wish we could of stayed for more nights. There are things to do and see in this area and our all time favorite Alaska trip was to the Knik Glacier Day Tour in Palmer.


BEST B&B IN ALASKA

5 sur septembre 17, 2012

Nice place, clean and pleasant hospitality. The jacozzi is the top.


Garden Gate B&B

3,6 sur septembre 14, 2012

Loved the cabin. Very nice and clean. The jacuzzi tub is awesome. The breakfast is not so great but I would recommend these cabins.


Enjoyed Our Stay

3,4 sur septembre 06, 2012

We were on a cruise/tour to Alaska and wanted to stay over for their State Fair. The Garden Gate suited our needs to a T. As I had caught a cold/flu a day before I wasn't feeling very well when we got there. It gave me a nice place to rest and recuperate with the needed privacy and quiet I needed. Our host dropped off our breakfast for the next morning, took the trash with minimal interruption. We would stay there again. Norm & Nancy


Charming B&B

4,6 sur août 29, 2012

Had a short but wonderful stay. The cottage was so quaint and comfortable. Our hostess was extremely nice. The views were amazing. I would stay there again with no hesitation. Thank you!


A great first night on our trip to Alaska.

4,2 sur août 16, 2012

Woke up to a beautiful view and well kept surroundings. Great cottage atmosphere. Everything we needed to start out day was at our fingertips.


Recommended casual stay with private buildings

4,0 sur août 12, 2012

Met my expectations for a rural location with great service. WiFi coverage in the rooms and a scenic overlook.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to share your thoughts in your reviews this summer season! As we move towards fall, we encourage future guests to come experience our fabulous views, dressed in fall colors and then blanketed in fluffy white snow! We look forward to a great fall and winter season with guests!


Great B&B

4,2 sur août 12, 2012

Very clean, new and nicely decorated. Modern kitchen. Located in a quiet, easy to find area. Good breakfast.


Fantastic stay at a very peaceful & relaxing BnB.

5 sur août 09, 2012

Our hosts met us at the door when we arrived and made us very welcome. The gardens are beautiful, the accommodations very comfortable & breakfast was delicious and filling. We would highly recommend this Bed n Breakfast to everyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful stay. It was like going home to mom's house and being pampered.


Wonderful place to rest

4,0 sur août 08, 2012

We stayed only one night but wish it could've been longer. Lovely rooms, very clean, supremely comfortable beds!!! We stayed in the Midnight Sun room and it was VERY large with a beautiful shared patio. Our traveling companions stayed in a cottage, and it was smaller but very nice with lovely views...you could see a glacier off in the distance. Very convenient location - easy driving distance to Mat-Su Valley's attractions. Would definitely stay here again.


Idyllic setting with beautiful glacier view from our window

4,6 sur août 07, 2012

Charming, picturesque B&B with gorgeous nearby hikes and served as a great launching point for day trips to Denali, quirky town of Talkeetna, Matanuska glacier trek and beautiful Hatcher Pass


Wonderful Stay

4,6 sur juillet 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Cottage #1, which was perfect for us. The bed was comfy, the whirlpool tub cozy, and the wi-fi fast. The view was breathtaking as well. Baskets of food were left in the fridge overnight and you prepared them yourself in the morning. This isn't exactly what I expected based on past B&B experiences but it still worked. :)


Glacier views included

4,0 sur juillet 30, 2012

We were thrilled to discover we could see the Matanuska glacier glowing in the twilight from our cottage window. Beds were VERY comfortable! The breakfast was good (premade omelet to heat in micro, mini bagels, bananas, juice), but was hoping for some homemade breads/muffins. Would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful B&B!

5 sur juillet 26, 2012

We loved the Garden Gate! Such beautiful little cottages, clean and all the essentials are provided. The staff was kind and welcoming, and the location was perfect for our itinerary. Overall, we could not have asked for a better place.


Great Cabins in Palmer, AK

4,4 sur juillet 24, 2012

The cabins are great, beautiful views, very comfortable. We loved it!


Welcome Getaway

5 sur juillet 18, 2012

We had recently stayed with our son in his rugged cabin that we had to hike in to in Homer. (No plumming, outhouse... do I need to say more.) It sure was nice to be in a private cottage that was nice and clean and fit our needs. Thank you!


Loved our stay!

5 sur juillet 18, 2012

We had an extended stay at the Garden Gate B&B. I made reservations in Feb. for a June stay. Karen was a gracious host. Very clean & comfortable accommodations. Karen even helped us line up salmon fishing trip. Breakfast was always good. The views from all the cabins were spectacular. Easy access to Anchorage, Palmer and many exciting things to see. Would highly recommend this to anyone! Mike & Donna, from Iowa


Excellant Stay

5 sur juillet 11, 2012

Karen provides home cooked breakfasts in your unit every day. The cabins have ample space, Flat Screnn TV's and are comfortable.


Great Stay

4,2 sur juillet 10, 2012

Very pleasant rooms and attention to details - homely feeling.


Wow!

5 sur juin 30, 2012

When we arrived our room was still being used by someone wanting to stay longer so we were upgraded to a room with an awesome view and wonderful upgrades. Will stay here again if we have the opportunity.


Fab Cabins

5 sur juin 28, 2012

the garden gate cottages were awesome! I'm a neat-freak - my husband spilled some water on the floor right in front of the refrigerator and underneath shortly after we arrived. When he reached for a paper towel and wiped the water up, he paused for a moment and then showed me the towel....completely CLEAN. No dirt or hair or anything!! That was all I needed to make my stay there perfect. Karen was very nice and professional - I would stay there again and again and would highly recommend to ANYONE - bypass Anchorage if you're heading north, or stop short of Anchorage if you're heading south - STAY IN WASILLA AT THE GARDEN GATE!


Great Location along the way

3,0 sur juin 18, 2012

The room was clean and felt more like home than a hotel. The bedroom, bath and living room were spacious and well laid out. The property is in a great location just off the Parks Highway at Palmer. It was quiet and the views of the mountains were terrific. I liked parking at the front door of my cottage. The only negative was the so called breakfast - a muffin, an apple and a bottle of juice both mornings. That was not important to me but if you are expecting a full breakfast, make alternate plans. I would stay there again.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the review of our B&B and Cottages! Each day's breakfast basket has an entree such as quiche, egg burritos, or for example, the 2-egg omlettes with sausage, potatoes and mushrooms that I'm making today for guests' breakfast tomorrow. It sounds like there wasn't enough for these guests, I don't put apples in as a breakfast fruit but all the same, I apologize that it might not have seemed like enough choices for their tastes. I appreciate the feedback as we tweak our new breakfast baskets. Besides the entree item for guests to warm up whenever they'd like to eat breakfast, the baskets tomorrow offer my banana bread, oranges, yogurts and juices. We'll continue to monitor comments to make sure there's a little of something for everyone. We vary the offerings each day, so in case you're not someone who would enjoy our quiche made with our own smoked salmon, or you're someone who can't have gluten, etc., then there are still other items that will suit your tastes or needs.


Will come back to this place again.

5 sur juin 11, 2012

We went to visit Alaska for the first time and we love staying at this place.


One night stand

3,0 sur juin 11, 2012

Room accommodations were good, breakfast minimal. Don't expect moose or walk trails, this is an urban setting.

Réponse du propriétaire
We appreciate the time each guest takes to review our B&B because it shows us their perspective and where we can do better. I can't for the life of me imagine why, though, our setting struck them as urban. We have farm fields on two sides, and a neighbor with chickens and a cow in their yard on the other side...And, we look out over a whole broad valley of trees and lakes, with a ring of mountains and the Knik Glacier rising up from the valley floor. We have a variety of trails, through the forest, into unused land behind our place, as well as a new, paved bike/walking trail along the road, so usually one of those options fits for what our guests would like to do to stretch their legs or get in a run. The mama moose who has lived in our area was just laying on our front lawn two days before these guests stayed...She come and goes as she pleases. I'm sorry that breakfast seemed minimal but we will take that into consideration. Our breakfast baskets provided in guests' own kitchens is a new feature in 2012. So far feedback has been that it's plentiful, and we often see guests taking the muffins or yogurts along on a hike or having them as afternoon snack because they're saying they had plenty to eat at breakfast, as well as some for later. Our goal is to provide enough choices that there is enough for anyone's taste! In the breakfast baskets are options like homemade omlettes or quiche, muffins or breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and juice. We vary it by day because we have so many guests who stay a week or longer, so there are new things to discover in the breakfast baskets each day.


A bit disappointed

3,0 sur octobre 01, 2011

We booked our stay online and received a prompt and helpful response. Our cottage was lovely although there was not a lot of room for our suitcases which we had to put in the kitchenette area. One of our main reasons for booking into a B&B was to have to opportunity to meet with some local people but that didn't happen here. We may as well have chosen a motel or hotel. We had to book a time for breakfast which was earlier than we would have liked but, as it was late afternoon when we arrived, the more popular times were already filled. Breakfast was a simple meal which was on the table when we arrived. We began to talk to fellow travellers but then had to leave in time for the breakfast room to be prepared for the next booking. A simple buffet with guests able to come when it suited them would have been more relaxing. If you want clean, quiet accommodation in pleasant surroundings near Anchorage, this place is great. However if you want to also meet with some local people then I suggest trying somewhere else. Trish and Alistair NZ

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for the review. I have some important news for prospective and returning guests who read this. To better fit guests' needs for breakfast, we are now providing a generous continental breakfast in your own kitchen for you to enjoy at whatever time you like! No longer will you need to choose a breakfast time or worry about being late. Quite a few people were uncomfortable taking off their shoes, as we requested when they came into our home for breakfast these past ten years. Since you won't need to come into our home now, you can leave your shoes on in your cottage or guest apartment. If you don't eat gluten, eggs, dairy or meats, now you won't have to sit at the breakfast table with others and wonder what to do. If you don't like what we provide in your breakfast baskets, no hard feelings! Not talkative in the morning? No problem! Because I just love to bake, the breakfast baskets will still include my recipes that guests love: quiches such as smoked salmon or Lorraine, or breakfast burritos, prepared items like a Jimmy Dean sausage and egg croissant (for those who like to know what exactly it is!), fresh fruits, individual yogurts, juices and my favorites, homemade baked items like my honey wheat bread for toasting or sweet breads/muffins like blueberry or banana nut. My favorite part of having our B&B is getting to know our guests from all over the world. I love to talk with anyone who would like to know what to do and see in our area, needs a good place for dinner, or just to chat! We try to incorporate your feedback to make your experience here one of the best you have on your trip to Alaska, so please keep letting us know how you liked your stay. Thanks for choosing Alaska Garden Gate!


Alaska Garden

3,4 sur septembre 16, 2011

This is a delightful, well-maintained, friendly property: a great stop en route to Denali from Anchorage.


Breathtaking views at Alaska Garden B&B

4,8 sur septembre 14, 2011

Our stay at Alaska B&B was great. We had all the privacy we wanted in the evening, yet made several new acquaintances at the breakfast table. The views from every direction were fabulous despite fog and mist. Maybe even better because of it! We'll go again.


Great Experience

3,8 sur septembre 13, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our four night stay at Garden Gate. The location was wonderful with many things to do in the area. The cottages were nice and appeared well kept. Karren provided an upgrade to a cottage free of charge and gives discounts for extended stays. She was a wonderful innkeeper that had plenty of knowledge of the area. The onnly recommendations would be to have an out door grill available to guest and a fire pit. I did not see these services on site and it would have fit with an Alaskan vacation. I would definately stay again. Thanks- Julie Miller, La Crosse, WI


August in Alaska

5 sur septembre 10, 2011

The cottages were so cute and the host was very kind and friendly. Definitely recommend staying here.


Home away from home

4,2 sur septembre 09, 2011

I especially enjoyed the privacy, quiet, and the beautiful view of the mountains. Karen provided us with an excellent breakfast. I look forward to staying there again on my next visit to Alaska. Liz Chase


Great find!

4,0 sur septembre 08, 2011

This is a great little B&B well located in Palmer, just a few minutes from the Park's highway. The room was great, clean, and the owner very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was family style, and the food was good. I would definitely stay here again.


A Mat-Su Treasure!

5 sur septembre 08, 2011

This Palmer B&B totally surpassed our expectations. It's a delightful combination of the best of B&B hospitality with a cozy cottage experience. Seven quaint, but modern, cottages on the property surround the main house where guests are served a hot hearty home-cooked breakfast each morning. Karen, your hostess, is a delightful woman who goes out of her way to assure you are taken care of. The location is perfect for local exploration and day trips to other great sights. Don't hesitate to spend some time at this gem!


A very nice place.

4,8 sur septembre 08, 2011

Owner attends to every detail. Nothing out of place. Breakfast outstanding. Very scenic View. I would suggest moving sign directing new guest to office. It seemed to be a little confusing.


Wonderful Place to Stay!

5 sur septembre 06, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night in the Birch Apartment while visiting the Alaska State Fair last week. This is a wonderful B&B - very clean, spacious and lots of amenities including free wifi. The view of the mountains from the property is spectacular. Breakfast - WOW!! Quiche, fruit, rhubarb crisp, etc. Karen is a wonderful cook and hostess. I would definitely stay here again!


Nice Retreat in Alaska

5 sur septembre 05, 2011

Our stay at the Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages was very relaxing and comfortable. The rooms were very clean and the atmosphere was very cozy. The staff provided amazing service, gave great suggestions of places to see and food was very well done. I would definitely stay again.


Beautiful new cottages

4,2 sur septembre 01, 2011

We were impressed with the cleanliness, decor and functionality of the cottage at this B&B. The bed was very comfortable. Views from the property are awesome and Karens' breakfast was yummy. We will stay here again and recommend to our friends.


This is a great place to stay in the Palmer/Wasilla area

4,6 sur août 21, 2011

The luxury cottage we stayed in was very clean and beautifully decorated. The view from the cottage was beautiful. Karen is great to talk to and very helpful with information on things go do. We plan on staying here on our next visit.


Great Value, Great Hospitality

4,2 sur août 20, 2011

Kudos to Karen for a fine establishment. The cottage at which we stayed 8/18/11 was quiet, extremely neat, and the morning breakfast was first class, as was the conversation. We would gladly stay there again


Needs To Try Harder

2,6 sur août 18, 2011

Innkeeper does a reasonable effort to maintain a great B&B. But, flaws in service indicate a need to try a bit harder to fulfill guest expectations.

Réponse du propriétaire
I apologize to these guests for what they rated as terrible dining and service. All of our staff pulled together on no notice when my dad died unexpectedly last week and we had to leave immediately. I'm sorry that these guests didn't bring what must have been serious concerns to the attention of my staff or call me directly. I still answered the business line while away and talked with almost all of the guests, some of whom needed directions, needed help with their cable TV, etc. We tried very hard under sad circumstances to still fulfill the expectations of the guests who had reservations with us those days. Again, I apologize.


Thank you

5 sur août 13, 2011

I just have came back to Boston after a long trip to Alaska through the Northern Canada. I enjoyed very much staying your B&B and thank to Karen for serving us a warm breakfast. I also pray Little Girl's having good health.


Alaska Garden Gate B&B

5 sur août 09, 2011

We had a fantastic time. Karen and Alaska Garden Gate B&B as always a very warm and welcoming place. We are looking forward to our next opportunity to stay there.


Alaska Garden Gate B&B

4,0 sur août 04, 2011

Lovely setting. The room we reserved was not ready when we arrived so we were given one of the cottages which was a very nice upgrade. Karen, our innkeeper, was very helpful in recommending a great restaurant for dinner. We were sorry that we could only stay one night - we would have enjoyed spending more time there. We would definitely return for a longer stay on a future trip to Palmer.


A wonderful place to stay

5 sur août 03, 2011

Immaculate rooms. Wonderful breakfast each morning. Felt like home. We did have a little trouble finding it due to recent road construction (I think it may have been completed a day or two before we got there) which was obviously not yet on our GPS. May be worth calling to get directions- It is not hard to find at all, if you know where you are going.


Fredericksons stay in Alaska

5 sur août 01, 2011

We had a great experience. The cottage we stayed in was great and clean. The breakfasts were excellent. When we needed something we asked and it was no problem to get it.


My stay at Garden Gate B&B

3,8 sur juillet 30, 2011

Such a beautiful location and Karen was an excellent host.


What a wonderful surprise

4,4 sur juillet 23, 2011

Wonderful views from the cottage situated in a quiet but very accessible location. Cottage facilities and cleanliness were outstanding. Host was wonderful and a very good cook.


Nicest B&B during our AK stay

4,8 sur juillet 22, 2011

Karen works really hard to make her B&B perfect and it shows. The room was wonderful - even a white noise machine! She was very accommodating with my gluten intolerance and prepared a special breakfast for me. Also, she was helpful finding attractions and restaurants. We were sorry we could only stay one night.


Our stay at the Garden Gate B&B, June 2011

5 sur juillet 17, 2011

We would recommend the Alaska Garden Gate B&B to anyone! The cottages were wonderful and very comfortable. Karen, the hostess/owner, was very hospitable -- and her breakfasts were outstanding!


Friendly host, clean room, useful suggestions

4,8 sur juillet 17, 2011

We stayed at the main house. The room was clean and the bathroom was totally equipped. The price was reasonable. We arrived at noon. Karen gave us several suggestions for this day. We visited Matanuska-Glacier that is reachable at a reasonable driving distance. Karen made a very good breakfast and did a very good conversation. We would recommend this B&B, for friends, too. Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple Urs and Doris, Switzerland


Heaven

4,4 sur juillet 06, 2011

We were surprised that a Bed and Breakfast place could look so nice . we had one of the cabins and it was pleasantly decorated. It was quiet and we appreciated that after a long drive and visit from the Denali National Park. It provided us with a very good night of rest. Bedding was comfortable too. They had a quiet time after 10pm and we appreciated that. Breakfast was pancakes , bacon, yogurt , tea, coffee and juice. It was sufficient and tasty. They have 3 times you could choose from to have breakfast, we chose the 7.30am as we wanted to take an early drive out to Seward. Overall, this was a very pleasant experience for us. Definitely recommned it to anyone. Believe me, you will not regret it !


Can't beat the views

4,0 sur juillet 06, 2011

Amazing views, minus some road construction. Property could use a common outdoor area & better housekeeping for longer stays. Food was amazing; very friendly and outgoing staff.

Réponse du propriétaire
We really enjoy our guests who choose this as their Alaska "base camp" and stay a few days or longer with us! We let guests know that we usually change out towels and trash every other day and then sheets with total-cottage or room cleaning every 4th day. However, we are very open to providing whatever level of cleaning a guest is most comfortable with! Our apologies to this guest if we didn't let them know that clearly enough. I'm here all day every day, along with some super cleaning helpers, so we're happy to provide housekeeping, fix things, or refill amenities upon request!


Best Choice B&B in Palmer Alaska

4,6 sur juin 12, 2011

Thanks to Trip Advisor I was able to find Alaska Garden Gate B&B and booked because of the 'honest' reviews of the people who stayed here. PALMER---ALASKA GARDEN GATE B&B See Photos fab king size bed in downstairs large room w/sauna tub, separate shower/bathroom, kitchenette, lots of space w/great view of trees and mat su valley/excellent breakfast, eggs, bacon, homemade waffles, fresh fruit, juices, lovely host Karen


Thanks for a most pleasant stay in Palmer/Alaska

5 sur juin 11, 2011

This is the place to be when staying in Palmer and surroundings. Mrs. Karen is a very friendly and helpful hostess, very interested too. The guesthouse came along with an adorable bedroom, a very clean bathroom and a very cozy kitchen/sitting room. Quietly located (just what we needed). The full hot breakfast was more than excellent. A nice husky congregated while we were eating our bacon... It get's a ten, that's for sure! Marlène and Guido from Gent, Belgium


Best B&B ever!

5 sur mars 30, 2011

Cottage was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and filling. Location is EXCELLENT. More than all that was the owner who couldn't do enough to make us comfortable- she was born to run a B&B! Will be back.


Great B&B!

5 sur décembre 08, 2010

The Garden Gate B&B is a fantastic resting spot during a busy stay in Alaska. The innkeeper was very friendly and hospitable. A home cooked breakfast started each day off right. The cozy room provided a wonderful location to unwind at the end of each day. Amenities like the sound machine and designated quiet times ensured quality sleep within a house full of people. Thank you for a great stay!


Garden Gate

5 sur novembre 11, 2010

This was the perfect place for my husband and I to celebrate our 1yr anniversary. The service, food, and rooms were amazing. Many things to do around the area.


very restful!

5 sur septembre 23, 2009

This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast outing. We liked the location, and felt comfortable with our hostess. We were concerned that the road work going on would be a minus. It wasn't. We would stay here again in a heart beat. Thanks, Karen... Joe and Linda Wallace


Good eats

4,6 sur août 20, 2009

Delicious breakfast -- we appreciate all of the hospitality.


Delightful B&B & Owner

4,0 sur juillet 11, 2009

We spent four days at Karen's B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was wonderful. We met other nice people, broadening our horizons. Also, Karen was a lovely hostess, visiting with us all a bit after she served four different delicious breakfasts. If we head for this part of Alaska again, we'll surely stay here!


Great value but ......

3,8 sur avril 04, 2009

we stayed there summer 2006; great breakfast and very clean but - 1. innkeeper enforce quit and "go to sleep" rules at 22:00; 2. paper walls; you can hear everything from other rooms

Réponse du propriétaire
It can be so hard to sleep here in the summer because of our "Midnight Sun!" Besides that, many of our arriving guests have come from time zones that are 3, 4 or 9 hours different than here. We do have quiet hours from 10 pm until 7 am to give everyone a fair chance at sleep. So many guests come to us, overtired and exhausted because it's so easy to go-go-go in the long summer hours. The light tricks our bodies into being wide awake or thinking it's "dinner time" when in fact it's perhaps 9 or 10 or 11 pm. We foster the best environment we can for rest so guests have the energy to take in the amazing scenery of mountains, glaciers and wildlife all around us!


Lovely B&B

4,6 sur septembre 18, 2008

This is a lovely bed and breakfast near the Wasilla-Palmer Hwy. There is a view of the MatSu glacier. The owner is friendly, helpful and serves a wonderful homemade breakfast.


Wonderful B&B

5 sur juillet 04, 2008

I stayed at the Alaska Garden Gate B&B for 2 days in late June 2008; I paid around $80 for my room (the cheapest room there), and was amazed at how nice the B&B was! Karen - the owner - greeted me as I entered, and showed me around the B&B. The living room is huge and has an amazing view of the mountains and glacier, and features a computer with internet connection (if you're travelling without a laptop - there is free wireless internet if you have one), TV, and a couple of sofas. My room was big, spacious and clean. As I was in the cheapest room, I had to share the downstairs bathroom with another occupant, but this wasn't an issue at all, and the bathroom was clean and really nice. Other rooms have en-suite facilities and looked fantastic from what I could see when a door was left open! There are two dogs who live on the property; they were really friendly, and didn't get in the way at all. In fact, they really added to the "family" atmosphere of the place. Karen was a wonderful host, and as I told her, she runs an amazing, clean and friendly B&B. The prices are fantastic for Alaska, too! The only downside is that you're not allowed in the B&B between 11am and 4pm for host privacy and cleaning, which is perfectly understandable (it's Karen's house, after all!) and besides - if you're on holiday in Alaska, you really shouldn't be inside during those hours anyway :-) I stayed in the Hilton in Anchorage for five days prior to my stay here, and I can honestly say I enjoyed myself in this B&B far more. It's lovely, quiet, and safe.


Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $119 - $229
  • Avis (94) 4,4
  • Chambres 16

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9077462333

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut