Free $50 gift card with a $250+ gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Folly Beach, South Carolina

A Pleasant Surprise at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2014

Although online info said the place was full, we called and found 2 rooms available. This was our first experience at a beach community and our first time at a B&B. It couldn't have been better. Our room was bright, comfortable, and had a good sized screened in porch. Check in was actually fun (happy hour starts at check-in time and Gena's punch was delicious.) Breakfasts were ample and diverse. The whole staff was very gracious in offering suggestions on where to dine and what to see and how to get around. We walked most of the time, the beach was just a few blocks away. Same with restaurants. We would return.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic house, clean and well maintained, richly furnished. Your basically sleeping in history. Nice staff. at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2014

Fantastic house within walking distance of all of Downtown Charleston. We cannot speak more highly of this...STAY THERE IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A SUPERB B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


We love Charleston at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 08, 2014

Beautiful home, great location. Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Property Needs Some TLC at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

2.8 reviewed on March 18, 2014

The Governor's House is a beautiful property, but attention to detail is missing. Although I like historic charm, I do not want to experience dust from the 19th century. Our room had thick dust on the wooden blinds (some of which were broken), on the molding and behind furniture. Some of the wallpaper was peeling or damaged in our bedroom and bathrooms. The internet did not reach the bedrooms and barely was usable on the outdoor porch. The afternoon snack and breakfast food was excellent. We enjoyed chatting with other guests around the large dining table as this was the highlight of our stay. Unfortunately the value for money was poor due to the condition of the rooms, but it can easily be remedied.

View more reviews for this inn


March Trip at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on March 09, 2014

The room was very nice and extra clean. Had no problems there. But you could hear everything that went on in the bathroom that backed up to our room, including the 4 times the man next door got in the night. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. Danishes and breads were stale. And the breakfast casserole was tuff and unless you like Mexican you would not like it.

View more reviews for this inn


Review for Feb 2014 visit at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on March 06, 2014

Outstanding facility and accomodations. I will probably be a return guest. I will also gladly recommend this property to my family and friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, historic place! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on January 17, 2014

This was our first trip to Charleston and the staff helped make our experience great. Once we got there they showed us around the house and told us about the history of it. They also gave us some recommendations of things to see and do while there. It was a very welcoming and relaxing experience and we would certainly go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved if at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2013

This place was great. Slept like babies every night. Staff was very accommodating. Complimentary breakfasts were delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Location on Broad at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on November 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston and we were pleased to find the Governor's House Inn located within easy walking distance for most venues of interest for us. We also appreciated the generous parking area behind the house as parking space is at a premium in downtown Charleston. The house interior is very nice, clean, and well kept. We stayed in the Wagener Room on the main floor and the room is very nice & the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is quite small though and the location of the Wagener Room is just off the main dining area which is quite loud in the mornings and is also beneath the main staircase which sees a lot of traffic. I would recommend a room on the second floor due to all the noise around this particular room. The exterior of the house is a little run down & could use some repair work & I would describe the breakfast as average at best.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly recommended. at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 21, 2013

The Governor's House Inn is definitely the place to stay in Charleston if you're looking for romance, history, and prime location. My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid-October and it met all of our expectations and beyond. Mid-afternoon tea/wine/cheese on the porch was a great way to relax before getting ready for a night out on the town and the location made it convenient to go in and out as we leisurely perused the sites. Worth the stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Charm at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Governor's House Inn, in Charleston, S. Carolina. The location and accommodations were perfect. Staff was attentive, helpful, and very pleasant. The breakfasts were good, but portions might have been a bit larger. Although we didn't ask for seconds, and maybe we could have! Would return in the future, no qualms.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on July 19, 2013

My wife and I loved this bed abd breakfast. the staff were great, accomodations fabulous and the personal piazza was very romantic and charming. The food was not as good as we have experienced at other bed and breakfasts but the accommodations made up for that. I highly recommend this place for anyone wanting a charming, relaxed stay in Charleston

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Experience!! at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2013

This was the best beach vacation my wife and I have ever taken. The Hemingway is a beautiful room. The entire staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Whether coming back in from a day at the beach or coming back at night after a great meal and amazing live music, we felt like we were coming home. The Water's Edge Inn offers so many personal touches that it's hard to list them all. This will be our "place to stay" anytime we take a beach vacation. Try it...you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Last minute find that defined my trip. at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on May 21, 2013

Waters Edge Inn was the perfect find on Folly Beach. The staff was friendly and helpful, afternoon cocktails brought guests together, and I could get away to my gorgeous room for some privacy. Anytime I make a trip to Charleston, SC I will be staying at Waters Edge. As a well traveled individual this is the kind of place that makes you feel at home and that is a rare thing to find at a resort destination.

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on January 17, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Water's Edge Inn for our Honeymoon. Our trip to Jamicia was canceled due to weather. I am sooo glad we decieded to stay her for 4 days. It was the BEST experience! The staff was personable and made us feel like royalty and the breakfast each morning was nice to savor in the quaint dinning area. We were able to savor all of the island as the restaurants were just a stones throw. We didn't have todrive anywhere. We will be back next year to celebrate our anniversay!

View more reviews for this inn


best b&b in town at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on December 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Governor's House Inn and during our next stay in Charleston we will return!!!! The service was "top of the line"!

View more reviews for this inn


Charleston Anniversary Weekend at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2012

We cannont rave enough about the Governor's House. The staff is outstanding in that they are friendly and helpful in every way. We arrived late on Thursday night and wanted to get something light. Robert pointed us to "Fast and French", a block or so east and across the street and it was the perfect end to a hectic day. One of our favorite memories from the trip. Very friendly and informative crowd. The room was everything we had hoped for and although it would have been nice to have had some warmer weather. We had a delightful time and will definitely be back. We still have a lot to see.

View more reviews for this inn


charming old world B&B at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on September 24, 2012

Wonderful service, lovely accommodations in the heart of Charleston, close to great restaurants and the market. Helpful staff and 'tea time' complete with wine. It was woorth the visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Ambience, Average Incidentals at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

3.2 reviewed on August 02, 2012

A grand piano, gorgeous paintings, and a fantastic dining room thrill and amaze the guest. However, the breakfasts are small and strange. Quite incongruous with the lush surroundings. A basket of pastries and good coffee would have been much better than this sub par cooking. Overall, the staff seemed to be challenged with doing beyond their training. I hope that in the future they could simplify their scope and thereby improve the quality and availability of beverage/ food. This building is truly stunning within and without.The overall effect is that one has somehow wrangled a night at the Smithsonian- a most satisfying thought. A+++ on building, grounds, location.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't wait to go back at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on July 30, 2012

The history, service and amenities were outstanding. Bathroom in our room was very small and that was a minor downside. We booked a return stay at the Governor's House Inn before leaving back in the same room.

View more reviews for this inn


This HAS GOT to be the best!!!!! at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2012

Although there are other rooms that are connected to the main house, we stayed in the back carriage house. And this is truly a house! If you are looking at these pictures thinking this is too good to be true.....you're thinking right! After traveling all over America in recent years, this may be the best place we've EVER stayed in! It has it all......in fact, it is so perfect and so well kept, you are almost afraid to touch or dirty anything! Julie...the hostess.....is outstanding and will do ANYTHING for you. I'm not saying anymore because the more people that find out about this place......the more the chance that when I want to stay there again.....the house will have been taken! :)

View more reviews for this inn


New Chapter Getaway at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on May 09, 2012

We stayed at Water's Edge in April 2012. Our stay was unbelievable. The service was outstanding and the young ladies at the front desk were absolutely precious and very welcoming. Our room was very nice and view was peaceful. Enjoyed the hot tub and the close walks to all the restaurants and bars. We would definitely go back and would stay at Water's Edge again as promised.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't Say Enough-Wonderful! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on April 13, 2012

My husband and I, as well as brother and his wife, spent 3 nights at the Governor's House Inn in March 2012. We have stayed at many nice B&B's over the years and this one rates with only 2 others at the very top of the list. The property itself and guest accomodations were beautiful and had the historic charm we were looking for. It is very clean and had a very attentive, yet unintrusive, staff. The location istelf was also great. Within walking distance of some key tourist areas while still being apart and residential. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to enhance their overall Charleston experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Stay! at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on April 10, 2012

We loved Waters Edge Inn. We were welcomed warmly. Our room was beautiful and we had a lovely view. Loved the hot tub and enjoyed a quiet night's sleep. We would definitely go back and stay longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Our anniversary weekend at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 28, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Wonderful hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Hospitality at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on January 29, 2012

The Governor's Inn is our first stay in a B&B. I may never stay in a hotel again. This is by far the most enjoyable weekend we have spent in years. The staff was very helpful in making diner reservations for us. We really enjoyed the afternoon tea while sitting on the Veranda.. I truly felt like we were special guest at the Governor's Inn. I highly recommend making reservations for an outstanding stay in Charleston.

View more reviews for this inn


Best in Charleston at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on December 05, 2011

The very best "inn" Charleston! Wonderful facilities, location, service, accommodation, staff. Would highly recommend to anyone. Exceptional service & ambiance. Loved it.

View more reviews for this inn


A truly memorable experience at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on November 19, 2011

The only mistake we made was not staying longer. The Governor's House Inn is a wonderful place to stay, very comfortable, very friendly and welcoming staff, close to the Market area and restaurants, if there is a nicer place to stay in Charleston it must be extraordinary. We cannot praise the Inn more highly.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bed nad Breakfast Anywhere! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2011

My husband myself and my son stayed at the Governors House while looking at the Citidel College Oct 21-24 2011 for a college tour. It does not get any better than this, that is for sure! The Governors House is run like a well oiled ship, and I have stayed in alot of Bed and Breakfast in the US. Close to King street and Meeting street for shoping , you can just walk. I will be back, I do miss the afternoon tea,I am spoiled!

View more reviews for this inn


Great find! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on October 30, 2011

Excellent service, beautiful historic and romantic inn. Extremely clean and inviting. Individual room AC so important during an extremely hot month. We loved our stay & will go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}