Recent Reviews in Folly Beach, South Carolina

Amazing stay at a Charming B&B at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 11, 2016

After staying at the Govenor's House Inn, we were exceedingly happy with our stay. The Innkeeper was very kind and waited up to ensure that we could get to our room after our plane was delayed several hours due to bad weather. Each morning, we were greeted with a lovely traditional Southern breakfast and lovely company at the communal breakfast table. We will definitely be coming back to visit Charleston and this charming Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely mansion, comfortable visit at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on April 12, 2016

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in the lovely Governor's House mansion. The location is convenient to the main streets and in easy walking distance of many restaurants. Our beautiful room was located on the first floor. The breakfasts each morning were a delicious feast. Large portions and each morning a different menu. The afternoon tea, wine and cheese event was most enjoyable with the different goodies provided and we enjoyed them on the wide veranda in the good weather. We enjoyed meeting the other guests who were from all over the US. All of the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. It was a memorable stay in one of my favorite cities.

View more reviews for this inn


The Governor's House Inn is a jewel! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on March 02, 2016

It was a lovely experience. The staff was extremely solicitous, and the accommodations were wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and beautiful at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on February 03, 2016

I chose this place for a nice getaway for me and my girlfriend based on other reviews and were very happy we did. The staff was very friendly and we loved all the nice extra perks and amenities that came with the entire mansion and room. Shawn helped me book the room and other reviews mention how great he is and I completely agree with them. The robes were awesome, the house was beautiful, and the afternoon tea was great. It's also walking distance from everything you want to see while being on the main road without it being in the thick of it. Having parking was great too. I'd definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome discovery! at Regatta Inn (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2016

We arrived after a long 12 hour drive to an amazing surprise. The Regatta Inn surpassed our every expectation. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful with all the amenities. Breakfast was wonderful the next morning. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't spend more time there. We will definitely plan a return visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on October 16, 2015

Beautiful 1760 mansion with up to date amenities. The breakfast was nice as were the other guests. The staff were friendly. My only constructive criticism would be that the staff could be a little more helpful...offer a tour of the home or the history of it and offer suggestions for the area. It would only take a few minutes and at over $500 per night I think they could afford a few.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2015

Great location, great staff, great rooms, we loved it! You could really tell the staff wanted you to have a restful stay, they went above and beyond to make sure everything was pleasant. Was also great to walk out the front door and immediately have access to all of the great culture downtown Charleston has to offer. Definitely will stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay!! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on July 04, 2015

This was a very beautiful and comfortable bed & breakfast. We enjoyed it very much!! The staff was very friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Always Top-Notch! at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on April 10, 2015

Islander room was much more spacious than expected - being on top floor. Service and food are great. Happy Hour every day is always wonderful. Second stay here since 2013 and will always return when visiting Charleston.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on March 22, 2015

Wife, daughter, and myself very much enjoied staying at the Governor's House . Excellent location and great personal touch by the hosts .

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2015

The governor's house inn greatly exceeded my expectations. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, room was lovely, and who doesn't love "tea time!" Staying here was definitely one of the highlites of my trip to Charleston, and I can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Another World at Regatta Inn (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 10, 2015

Great location, great people & service.. Will plan another trip. Thanks

View more reviews for this inn


Loved this Historical Bed and Breakfast! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2015

We wanted to go somewhere different to celebrate Valentine's Day, my boyfriends "50th" birthday, and we also had already bought tickets to the Jason Aldean concert in Charleston. We were just going to get a regular hotel room, but some of his friends had mentioned if we were going to stay for the weekend that we should stay at a Bed and Breakfast in the historical part of Charleston. So we did and we loved it. Everyone that we dealt with at The Governor's House Inn were very helpful with the surrounding historical places and were always very polite. We had a great time, but a weekend was too short to do everything that we wanted to do so we will be going back to The Governor's House Inn soon. Thanks! We had a great time. Ricky O. and Tammy L.

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem in Charleston at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on February 10, 2015

The staff was incredibly helpful and professional. They were knowledgeable about the history of the house and the city. The home is absolutely beautiful and a fabulous piece of history. Reservations for dinner and recommendations for tours were made for us. We completely enjoyed our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great location! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on December 10, 2014

The Governor's House Inn is a great place to stay in Charleston! The breakfasts are delicious, and the location is great-we walked to dinner every night! We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


A Pleasant Surprise at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2014

Although online info said the place was full, we called and found 2 rooms available. This was our first experience at a beach community and our first time at a B&B. It couldn't have been better. Our room was bright, comfortable, and had a good sized screened in porch. Check in was actually fun (happy hour starts at check-in time and Gena's punch was delicious.) Breakfasts were ample and diverse. The whole staff was very gracious in offering suggestions on where to dine and what to see and how to get around. We walked most of the time, the beach was just a few blocks away. Same with restaurants. We would return.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic house, clean and well maintained, richly furnished. Your basically sleeping in history. Nice staff. at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2014

Fantastic house within walking distance of all of Downtown Charleston. We cannot speak more highly of this...STAY THERE IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A SUPERB B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


We love Charleston at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 08, 2014

Beautiful home, great location. Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Property Needs Some TLC at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

2.8 reviewed on March 18, 2014

The Governor's House is a beautiful property, but attention to detail is missing. Although I like historic charm, I do not want to experience dust from the 19th century. Our room had thick dust on the wooden blinds (some of which were broken), on the molding and behind furniture. Some of the wallpaper was peeling or damaged in our bedroom and bathrooms. The internet did not reach the bedrooms and barely was usable on the outdoor porch. The afternoon snack and breakfast food was excellent. We enjoyed chatting with other guests around the large dining table as this was the highlight of our stay. Unfortunately the value for money was poor due to the condition of the rooms, but it can easily be remedied.

View more reviews for this inn


March Trip at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on March 09, 2014

The room was very nice and extra clean. Had no problems there. But you could hear everything that went on in the bathroom that backed up to our room, including the 4 times the man next door got in the night. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. Danishes and breads were stale. And the breakfast casserole was tuff and unless you like Mexican you would not like it.

View more reviews for this inn


Review for Feb 2014 visit at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on March 06, 2014

Outstanding facility and accomodations. I will probably be a return guest. I will also gladly recommend this property to my family and friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, historic place! at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on January 17, 2014

This was our first trip to Charleston and the staff helped make our experience great. Once we got there they showed us around the house and told us about the history of it. They also gave us some recommendations of things to see and do while there. It was a very welcoming and relaxing experience and we would certainly go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved if at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2013

This place was great. Slept like babies every night. Staff was very accommodating. Complimentary breakfasts were delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Location on Broad at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on November 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston and we were pleased to find the Governor's House Inn located within easy walking distance for most venues of interest for us. We also appreciated the generous parking area behind the house as parking space is at a premium in downtown Charleston. The house interior is very nice, clean, and well kept. We stayed in the Wagener Room on the main floor and the room is very nice & the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is quite small though and the location of the Wagener Room is just off the main dining area which is quite loud in the mornings and is also beneath the main staircase which sees a lot of traffic. I would recommend a room on the second floor due to all the noise around this particular room. The exterior of the house is a little run down & could use some repair work & I would describe the breakfast as average at best.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly recommended. at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 21, 2013

The Governor's House Inn is definitely the place to stay in Charleston if you're looking for romance, history, and prime location. My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid-October and it met all of our expectations and beyond. Mid-afternoon tea/wine/cheese on the porch was a great way to relax before getting ready for a night out on the town and the location made it convenient to go in and out as we leisurely perused the sites. Worth the stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Charm at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Governor's House Inn, in Charleston, S. Carolina. The location and accommodations were perfect. Staff was attentive, helpful, and very pleasant. The breakfasts were good, but portions might have been a bit larger. Although we didn't ask for seconds, and maybe we could have! Would return in the future, no qualms.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast at The Governor's House Inn (Charleston, South Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on July 19, 2013

My wife and I loved this bed abd breakfast. the staff were great, accomodations fabulous and the personal piazza was very romantic and charming. The food was not as good as we have experienced at other bed and breakfasts but the accommodations made up for that. I highly recommend this place for anyone wanting a charming, relaxed stay in Charleston

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Experience!! at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2013

This was the best beach vacation my wife and I have ever taken. The Hemingway is a beautiful room. The entire staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Whether coming back in from a day at the beach or coming back at night after a great meal and amazing live music, we felt like we were coming home. The Water's Edge Inn offers so many personal touches that it's hard to list them all. This will be our "place to stay" anytime we take a beach vacation. Try it...you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Last minute find that defined my trip. at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on May 21, 2013

Waters Edge Inn was the perfect find on Folly Beach. The staff was friendly and helpful, afternoon cocktails brought guests together, and I could get away to my gorgeous room for some privacy. Anytime I make a trip to Charleston, SC I will be staying at Waters Edge. As a well traveled individual this is the kind of place that makes you feel at home and that is a rare thing to find at a resort destination.

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon at Waters Edge Inn at Folly Beach (Folly Beach, South Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on January 17, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Water's Edge Inn for our Honeymoon. Our trip to Jamicia was canceled due to weather. I am sooo glad we decieded to stay her for 4 days. It was the BEST experience! The staff was personable and made us feel like royalty and the breakfast each morning was nice to savor in the quaint dinning area. We were able to savor all of the island as the restaurants were just a stones throw. We didn't have todrive anywhere. We will be back next year to celebrate our anniversay!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}