Recent Reviews in Floyd, Virginia

Unique retreat with exquisite attention to detail at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2016

I spent a weekend at Heavens Holler with my sister and we were extremely impressed by the place, the area and the lovely owners. We are both seasoned travelers and foodies and found the accommodations and the food to be top notch. The breakfasts were huge and delicious and we opted to have Linda and John make a dinner for us on the night we arrived which was also wonderful and complemented by a number of fresh-from-the-garden items. Meals are served on the gracious lodge porch or on the deck attached to the back of the tiny-and-adorable pub. The views are breathtaking, the service is understated and at every turn we were encouraged to linger. There were countless times that John offered us a drink -- and several times that we took him up on it! The effect is that we felt as if we were staying with friends and that we could fully make ourselves at home. As we were striking out on a hike on Saturday morning, Linda and John directed us to the summit of nearby Buffalo Mountain (a great recommendation) and also steered us in the direction of some great little places to check out in the town of Floyd (a charming and surprising town). Coming 'home' to Heavens Holler we spent hours exploring the trails on the property and lingering on the dock of one of the ponds. John gave us a great oral history of the property, the gorgeous space they've created there and how they came to furnish it with so many amazing pieces (including stone steps leading to the barn that date to the 14th century and that they 'rescued' and brought to the Blue Ridge Mountains from Provence). There are many places that I still want to see in the world so there aren't many destinations that I put on a return list. Heavens Holler is now on that list.

View more reviews for this inn


Heavenly at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2016

My brother had an early-summer wedding here and my family stayed in their 3 rooms. I don't think I could have imagined a more perfect wedding site and will probably never attend a more perfect wedding, and I think every guest there agrees. Pulling up to the property for the first time really takes your breath away, and just about everything about the property is picturesque and dreamy. John and Linda were fun to be around, accommodating, very warm, good energy. Breakfasts were fantastic. They really gave my brother and his wife a priceless, beautiful weekend that I think my family will be eternally grateful for. Nobody wanted to leave and I know that a lot of us will be coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


The views are mesmerizing! at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2015

The views are mesmerizing! My husband and I often stay and B&Bs and this one is definitely one of our favorites. We stayed in the Fountain Cottage which was very roomy and even has a kitchenette and a small living-room area. The bed was very comfortable, the night was dark, quiet and peaceful - perfection! We enjoyed the views while sitting out on the "knob" - at a 3,000-foot elevation, the views are beautiful - mesmerizing! There are many manicured hiking trails through out the property and while out hiking we munched on apples straight from the tree, spooked a few deer and even ran across a small family cemetery. They offer a menu of selections for breakfast and serve it up hot and tasty the next morning! What a treat! The Franklins have created a heaven in their holler and they sure know how to make people happy! Can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Blue Ridege Heaven For Sure. at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2015

My husband and I stay at Band B's, every chance we get and this one is definitely at the top of our list. The setting is as serene and gorgeous as the pictures show. We stayed in the Loft Suite which was private, comfortable and romantic. We arrived and there was a plate of local meats and cheeses and a bottle of wine waiting for us, which we enjoyed on our private balcony with magnificent views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Breakfast was perfectly prepared, featuring home grown eggs and produce and we could choose from about ten items - something for everyone. We ate on an outside porch with lovely views. Linda and John were perfect hosts. Helpful and welcoming without being intrusive and obviously loving what they do and their lives. We can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Truly an Amazing Experience at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2015

Seclusion, service, serenity… splendid! It is truly a rare occasion that I would give 5 stars in the hospitality industry these days but anything less for Heavens Holler would be unjust. This amazing B&B nestled in the mountains is appropriately named… it truly is a little slice of heaven. From the breathtaking scenic surroundings to the welcome drink in the little ‘pub’ to the manicured walking trails to the unique accommodations, to the phenomenal breakfast this place is a must-go! Wake up with a cup of coffee and watch the sunrise and the wild ponies frolicking around in the field as you intake the delectable smells of Eggs Benedict New Orleans style or an amazing omelet with fresh eggs from the chicken hatch and fresh veggies from the garden. John and Linda will give you an experience that will create memories for a lifetime. I highly recommend a stay at Heavens Holler.

View more reviews for this inn


I hesitate to tell you.... at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2013

I truly hesitate to tell you about this glorious slice of heaven. This happens whenever discover a true rare gem. It brings out the greediness in me and I find that I'm terrified that I'll find the place booked years in advance if the world learns about it. It's not just the breathtakingly beautiful location, or the gorgeous, lovingly renovated buildings filled with meaningful pieces acquired by John and Linda during their travels..... not even just the down to earth, welcoming presence of John and Linda, or the incredible cuisine coming out of their kitchen. This is one of those places where you suddenly realize there is no tension anywhere in your body or mind and you desperately wish you never had to leave. Really. But please....don't book when I want to go... that's all I ask.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience in Floyd at Heavens Holler! at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on September 04, 2013

Relaxing, beautiful, delicious, pampered. Words that come to mind when remembering our time at Heavens Holler. The accommodations are so beautifully detailed and welcoming. (FYI for persons taller than 6' 2", the bed in the lovely fountain cottage is a bit short to stretch long. But, otherwise very comfortable) John and Linda were perfect hosts! It's impossible not to consider them friends after our stay and we plan to visit them again and again! Truly perfect visit.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best B&B We've Ever Stayed In at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Loft Suite for a wedding anniversary-cum-birthday getaway over Labor Day Weekend. We were blown away by the property, the room, and the hospitality of Linda and John. We've stayed in many B&Bs but Heaven's Holler has to be the most personable, unique, relaxing, and welcoming visit we've ever had. From the breakfast menu that let us each pick from five delicious garden-grown options, to the welcome drink at the outdoor "pub", the acoustic music performed by our hosts (at our request), and the immense peacefulness and beauty of the property, we were blown away. We enjoyed how personal the service was as there are only two rooms available. We left Floyd, VA and John and Linda with a big smile on our faces and a feeling that all is well in this world as long as there are places like Heaven's Holler. We look forward to our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


5 Star Bed and Breakfast at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2013

This bed and breakfast was above and beyond our expectations. The view and grounds were spectacular and the rooms were cozy, comfortable and clean. The décor was incredible and added a lot to the stay. John and Linda were the perfect host and hostess, making us feel right at home. We had 5 different choices for breakfast to select from and the food was beyond delicious. What added to the breakfast experience was the hot fresh coffee delivered to our room before the meal and the opportunity to chose the time we wanted to eat. Everything about Heavens Holler was 5 star. If you want to get away from the daily grind. This is definitely the place to do it. You can walk down to one of the ponds, watch the wild birds, or sit on the hillside and look out over the valley. This was absolutely one of the best places we have ever stayed and we will definitely be returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Unparalleled kindness and hospitality at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 11, 2013

What an honor it was to meet John and Linda (owners). They both absolutely went out of their way to make our stay the absolute best. Their kindness and hospitality are one of a kind. We could not believe the location, and were in absolute awe of the sheer beauty of their property and home. The way the mountains rise up around the property is breathtaking....This B&B was everything we had hoped for AND MUCH MUCH MORE. I can not recommend Heavens Holler enough. Anyone looking for a relaxing, secluded, escape from time, look no further.,,,,this place really is a piece of heaven on Earth. I am anxiously awaiting the time when we can return and relive the beauty of Heavens Holler, but also to visit again with our gracious friends, John and Linda.

View more reviews for this inn


One of a kind B&B, One of a kind Hospitality! at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2012

The Franklins are not only amazing people, they are true artists. Their self made environment, and ruggedly elegance is completely unique, inviting and invigorating. There isn't better scenery this side of heaven either. Thanks Jon and Linda for providing a wonderful get away for us!

View more reviews for this inn


A secluded haven! at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2011

We loved our stay at Heave's Holler Bed and Breakfast. The Inn was outstanding in all aspects from the decor of the suites to the delicious food, we were delighted!

View more reviews for this inn


a little slice of heaven near Floyd Va at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 26, 2010

We throughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay. John and Linda were great hosts and we look forward to spending more time with them. The views from the loft suite were fabulous, walking the beautiful grounds was a lot of fun, and the breakfasts were outstanding. If you are looking for some rest and relaxation, look no further.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on November 21, 2010

There simply are no superlatives big enough for the music, the beauty, the food and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend at Heaven's Holler at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of getting away together this past weekend. Heaven's Holler was so much more than we had expected! John and Linda were wonderful hosts that we look forward to seeing again! Everything about our stay was simply amazing. From the peace and serenity of the setting to the incredible room and delicious breakfasts, Heaven's Holler is an experience you won't want to miss!

View more reviews for this inn


One of the great "non-doily" type B&B's! at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2010

My wife and I have travelled all over the world together and stayed in so many wonderful places. Heaven's Holler is now on our short list of "must do agains". It is a little off the beaten path, but well worth the short drive from the interstate. Once we arrived, we didn't want to leave - not even for dinner. And that was a delight. Linda and John prepared one of the best meals we've had. After dinner, they shared some of their music and their story with us as we chatted well into the evening. A great place to get away and enjoy a simpler pace of life.

View more reviews for this inn


Heavenly! at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2010

Heaven's Holler is in a most beautiful setting in the Blue Ridge Mountains. At dusk, the clouds appeared as lakes in the distance and crawled up the mountain to envelope us on the porch as the night grew. We felt very much at home with John and Linda. They are extraordinary persons who's inner beauty matches the beauty of the homestead they have created and the natural beauty of the surrounding mountains. And then there were the breakfasts...Beyond delicious! Even after three days, we didn't want to leave.

View more reviews for this inn


And then you realize it is not just a dream at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on August 25, 2010

………………..and we woke up realizing it was just a dream. But then again it is not. Staying at the Heavens Holler Bed and Breakfast feels just like a dream. They have the rolling mountains, which are glorious to awaken by, or even watch as the evening sets in. If you are so fortunate you may even get a night serenade by an accomplished musician while the evening sets in. This Bed and Breakfast has a spacious loft, which offers space and romance for the times you want to spend with the one you love. John and Linda helped us have a romantic evening by providing the most eloquent of provisions and a plentitude of privacy. Our experience at Heaven’s Holler was like a dream come true. It is a quiet little nook that is off the beaten path so make sure you get the room with dinner so there is no need to leave because you will not want to leave this oasis of peacefulness. I loved the walk to the pond as the sun was setting as the frogs jumped in the calm waters. Calming to the soul and mind. The breakfast was also a delight worth mentioning. Waking to the smells alone can be refreshing but when we had the Omelet and French toast…………..it was truly delectably. Peaches were in season so we were able to have fresh peaches with our breakfast but looking at the nice sized pumpkins in the garden it may be a reason to return in the fall. I know our expectations were exceeded at this beautiful B and B and we plan to return in the future. Jon and Patrice

View more reviews for this inn


A taste of heaven at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2010

Heavens Holler truly is a taste of heaven on earth in every way! I found this gem on the internet on a last minute whim to take my husband on a much needed getaway - to say I was happy with the find would be a complete understatement. We ended up doing a dinner package which was nothing short of fantastic - surf and turf on our private veranda accompanied by the most delicious veggies and fruits (heirloom tomato appetizer, unbelievable corn on the cob, a mushroom pasta that was SO good and a peach and cherry sorbet dessert) ... most of which was delivered straight out of their garden onto the plate. We like good food - and now I think we have a new standard! The room was just beautiful - I really can't do it justice with a description and would get my period architecture all mixed up, but it is truly a work of art. And the views off the veranda are stunning and so unbelievably calming. The suite and it's outdoor space were so incredibly spacious and comfortable in every possible way. I was very much looking forward to breakfast after having had such an incredible dinner, and Linda and John aced it again! Fresh fruit, french toast, eggs benedict, asparagus, roasted potatoes - thank goodness there were 50-acres waiting for us to explore and burn off all of those morning calories! Add in a little time throwing ball with the dogs and I think we would have been ready for another meal if we could have only stayed longer. If you have a chance to head out to Heavens Holler - I couldn't recommend anything more highly (just make sure you arrive hungry because you are not going to want to waste one morsel that they serve!). John and Linda are two of the sweetest souls and I will forever remember how well they took care of us.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful! Highly Recommend at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2010

Much like first arriving at Heavens Holler, I am lost for words trying to describe our time there. It was, quite simply, perfect. John and Linda have created in Heavens Holler an oasis of natural beauty, warm hospitality, and rustic coziness, which is as disarming as it is enchanting. The food is outstanding, served with the grace and generosity of a couple who clearly love pleasing their guests. The location is great too, an easy drive from Roanoke to a truly private setting. Above all, though, the beauty of Heavens Holler is the feeling it creates of privacy within proximity, of solitude within community. That is the rarest of achievements. We are already planning our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and Romantic! at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 04, 2010

We really can't put words into this wonderful B&B. We felt as if we were in an Italian Villa. You won't be disapointed in this spectacular place to stay in the beautiful mountains of Virginia.

View more reviews for this inn


Amaziing! at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on July 04, 2010

You won't be disapointed. Heavens Holler is all you could desire in a Bed and Breakfast in the beautiful mountains of Virginia.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful stay at Heavens Holler at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2010

My visit to Heavens Holler was all I expected it to be. A beautiful property situated in the beautiful Virginia mountains. John and Linda Franklin are wonderful people and great company. I recommend a stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


heavens holler at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on July 03, 2010

peace and tranquility at its best! if you love the outdoors,wonderful views,and comfortable settings,you will enjoy the company of john and linda in this wonderful old farmhouse. the design of the home is amazing, the rooms very comfortable and the entire setting lends itself to relaxation and gives one time to reflect while gazing at the blueridge mountains. ponds and springs abound on the property and you can lose yourself in a walkabout. i highly reccomend you try heavens holler while in floyd va. you will fall in love all over again

View more reviews for this inn


"The place to unwind" at Heavens Holler B&B (Indian Valley, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2010

Robyn and I had the pleasure of staying at Heavens Holler this past weekend. Located on 50 acres outside Floyd,VA, this restored home offers beautiful views of the mountians. Our hosts, John and Linda, greeted us with a bottle of wine which we shared on "the porch". "The porch" is is also where we enjoyed our breakfast every morning.The breakfasts were some of the best we have had in our years of staying at B & Bs. Our room was very clean and comfortable with another great view of the mountians from our balcony. John and Linda were great hosts who made us feel very welcome. We had some interesting conversations and they even played us music and sang for us upon our return from supper our last night. We are looking foward to a return trip this Fall. John & Robyn Miller Mechanicsville, VA

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Heavens Holler B&B (4.87)
Top
}