Change your search

The Saragossa Inn B&B

34 Saragossa St. , Saint Augustine, FL 32084 USA (Show map)
4.6
63 Reviews
$109 - $249
per night

Check Dates

About

The Saragossa Inn is off the beaten path in a quiet residential neighborhood just a few steps from everything you want to do and see in Saint Augustine's Historic District. The Inn has plenty of off-street parking, so once you arrive you won't need to move your car for your entire visit. The Saragossa began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is charming and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. Rest in a room that will pamper you and your spirit. Awake to a three-course breakfast served with the gracious hospitality you expect when choosing a Bed and Breakfast such as the Saragossa Inn.

Rooms & Rates

SOUTHWIND

The king-sized canopy bed enveloped in golden sheers sets the tone for this romantic room. The high ceilings and hardwood floors, along with the wet bar in the entry room, creates an atmosphere for unwinding and relaxing. If there is a third person in your party, SOUTHWIND can accommodate them with a cozy daybed in the entry room. Feel the south wind at your back, guiding you toward contentment.

  • Maximum Capacity: 3

HOMEWOOD

The elegant, hand-carved mahogany queen-sized Tester bed sets the tone for high drama and deep romance in this spacious room that includes a wet bar. HOMEWOOD is a two room suite. The second room holds a full-sized East Lake bed. This suite can accommodate up to five guests. The stunning ceiling and oversized tear drop chandelier adds to the ambience that makes you feel at home.

  • Maximum Capacity: 4

PALMBREEZE

PALMBREEZE is light and airy with a queen-sized four poster bed that adds romance to the room with it's dark, intricate carvings. The dark wood beams on the ceiling, the hardwood floors and the artwork of Florida water birds will take you back to a warm sunny Florida that existed only in days gone by. Feel the breeze that makes the palms sway.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2

HONEYSUCKLE

The queen-sized sleigh bed and the antique armoire set the tone for the country feel of this comfortable room. Nestled around the bed and antique desk, greenery abounds. The cozy bathroom allows just enough room for a relaxing shower. The room seems peaceful and still, and .......there on the evening breeze is that faint sweet smell of honeysuckle.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2

TIDEWATER

Remember on summer weekends when you stole off to your grandma's beach cottage? Grandma didn't have a beach cottage, well......pretend. The heavily carved king-sized four poster bed, the twin-door antique armoire, the claw-foot tub and the vintage "kitchenette" will take you to that romantic weekend at the beach. And just before you fall asleep......you'll swear you can hear the quiet sound of the surf.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2

GARDENMIST

GARDENMIST is stately and a bit formal. The king-sized bed and the surrounding room are washed in the sheer color of a morning mist lying across a romantic English garden. The room is spacious with an entry hall wet bar, bath with shower and lots of muted morning light. The garden mist is beginning to clear and will reveal a wonderful day.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2

Check Dates Visit Website

Reviews

Overall
4.6

Write A Review

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
63 Reviews

Write A Review

My first stay at a B & B and I loved it.

4.6 on October 13, 2014

The beds were so comfortable. The location was perfect, walking distance to almost every place we wanted to go. The food was fantastic and Gibb and his staff were great. I highly recommend the Saragossa. I plan to go back and stay again.


B&B 2014

5 on September 04, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Saragossa. The rooms are exactly as pictured and very comfortable. This was a birthday trip from my husband and the staff went out of their way to accomodate his request to have roses and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for me. Gibbs you are a great cook, we never had the need for lunch because of your fabulous brunch. We will definitely stay here the next time we come to town. Thanks Gibbs and Chelsea for a wonderful time. Debbie & Mark.


A disappointment.

2.2 on September 03, 2014

This B&B is in an excellent location for exploring St Augustine and the onsite parking is a big advantage. However, were were disappointed with the room which wasn't particularly clean, many of the power outlets didn't work, and the furnishing and decoration of the room, while quaint, were not functional. The whole place seemed to be in need of professional repair and renovation. The innkeeper indicated that this was being done gradually as the place had been in very poor condition when he took it over. The other disappointment was that breakfast was not served until 9.30-10am. This was too late for us as we wanted to get out and about earlier. So we only had one breakfast in a four night stay. One further problem is that the Innkeeper and/or staff are not often on site so you have to make a phone call if you want something done. We asked in the morning for our trash to be collected and for fresh soap and toilet paper. This was not done until 6.30 pm. All in all a disappointment.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments about our home. The maintenance, restoration and improvement of our nearly 100 year old Sears Craftsman home is a daily labor of love. Our goal has been to maintain the historic integrity of the house to create the atmosphere of a romantic by-gone era that one might expect from a B&B located in St Augustine, our nation’s oldest city. In fact, just one month before your visit we restored the bathroom in this room to reflect its original early 20th century style. We are extremely proud of the unique, romantic and homey ambiance that we have created as an alternative to contemporary hotels that all have the same generic look and feel. We apologize if you did not feel the cleanliness of your room met our high standards. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us, to which our previous reviews attest. We have inspected your room for any missed housekeeping details. GFI outlets are a safety measure and we would have been happy to reset these for you, had you notified us of the issue while you were at the B&B, if you let us know of an issue AFTER you leave we are unable to help. This guest room holds a king-sized canopied bed, a dresser, nightstands with drawers, a writing desk and an overstuffed chair. The entry hall to this room has a wet bar with small refrigerator, microwave and coffee service, a day bed and entry hall table. Our brunch times of 9:30 & 10:30 have been carefully chosen based on our guests’ requests for a leisurely morning, you are on vacation after all. The times for our three-course gourmet-style brunch are clearly stated on our web site. Gibbs, Chuck & Chelsea spend the mornings with our guests in the dining room for our three-course gourmet-style brunch. We are working around the B&B for most of the day, although we are sometimes hard to find and we do on occasion need to leave the B&B. But we can always be reached by phone. In fact on the day you had housekeeping requests, we did inform you that this would possibly be later in the day and you said this would be “no problem.” Although we do our best to service all of our guests and rooms in a timely manner, a good part of the experience you have will be affected by the attitude you bring with you. WE want you to enjoy your stay with us. And we want you to feel like you’re like family. For different perspectives of guests who stayed with us at the very same time, please see recent reviews titled “We Love It” & “B&B 2014.”


We Love It

5 on September 03, 2014

This Inn will be at the top of our fav list forever. Gibbs and staff delivered on every aspect of our stay, it just doesn't get any better than this. The room was as described, the amenities were as described and the FOOD surpassed all our expectations. An extremely accommodating destination, can't wait to return. Don't forget to ask him for dining and sight-seeing recommendations, he's got them and they are excellent. Well done, SIR!


Historic St Augustine

4.8 on August 25, 2014

I was very pleased with the accommodations, especially since I received a complimentary upgrade. Gibbs is very personable; and he is an exceptionally chef. The Inn is just a couple blocks from the historic center which was perfect for me. It is on a quiet street and I enjoyed my walks through the historic streets and across the bridge.


Great stay!

4.4 on August 23, 2014

We booked the Tradewinds room b/c of the option to put a 3rd person (our teenage daughter who is not quite comfortable yet in a room by herself) on the daybed in the entry. It worked out very well. The room was comfortable and the three-course breakfast was outstanding! (One minor issue was that there was no one around when we checked in in the late afternoon; it was not a big deal for us and our few questions were very minor but I could imagine someone needing help and not knowing what to do.)


Better than being at home!!

5 on August 14, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here many times. It is always clean, comfortable and the hosts are always very pleasant. The breakfast in the morning is exceptional!!! I have and will continue to recommend The Saragossa and will be back.


OK, But Nothing TO Write Home About!

3.2 on August 11, 2014

We have stayed at a number of B&B's in St Augustine. This was not our best stay. From the reviews, I was expecting a fabulous "brunch". The frittata had to be sent back to be heated; as it was refrigerator cold in the center. The hot water for tea was tepid. I would not have mentioned these things, except other guest had the same problem. The room and grounds were lovely. The maintenance problem was repaired quickly. We will try a different B&B next time.

Innkeeper Response
If you answer your cell phone and “chat” for 25 minutes while others dined on our chef prepared three course brunch, your meal is likely to go cold. We did offer to RE-heat both the main course and tea for YOU as everyone else was finishing their brunch. The Saragossa B&B has been rated excellent by hundreds of travelers from the world-over, earning us our high rating here on BedandBreakfast.com. For a different perspective of brunch at the Saragossa, please see recent reviews titled “Better than being at home!!” “Wonderful getaway for an anniversary,” “The best thing about St. Augustine,” “Our two day stay,” and “This is a wonderful B&B.”


Disappointing Experience

2.8 on August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Southwind room and we were talking about how disappointing this B&B experience has been. We stayed there for two nights and while the staff has been helpful it cannot make up for the $200+ price tag per night. The room has been plagued with mosquito's and this is coming from a central Florida resident that is used to them. Kill one and four more appear so they are obviously getting in somehow. So other than getting eaten alive at night the rooms are dirty. The floors are dirty, the furniture is dusty and the tub doesn't drain - well hardly at all. To finish our last night off we are lying in bed and we can smell coming through the vents (also in the bathroom) the smell of marijuana. I wish I would have spent a little more and stayed at one of the other B&B's in the area. Don't make the same mistake we did.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments about our home. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are saddened that you chose to notify us of your concerns via this BedandBreakfast.com posting instead of speaking to us directly. As you stated in your posting, our family is helpful. We would have addressed all your concerns to the best of our ability, had you given us the opportunity. We spend the mornings with our guests at brunch, are working around the house the rest of the day and are always available by phone 24 hours a day. Each guest is given contact information at check in and this same information is posted in each room. We have thoroughly examined your room and did not find evidence of mosquito activity. We do recall that you left the outside door to your room open quite often during your stay with us. In fact you moved a heavy pedestal from the bedroom to the entry hall to prop open your door. Might this be how the mosquitoes got into your room? We apologize if you did not feel the cleanliness of your room met our high standards. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us, to which our previous reviews attest. We have inspected your room for any missed housekeeping details. As for the tub not draining, the Southwind bathroom was completely renovated including new plumbing in June of 2014. The tub in your room didn’t drain because you somehow managed to break a new tub stopper that was installed less than 30 days prior to your stay with us and had to be replaced after your visit. Our B&B is completely NON-SMOKING! Smoking, of any kind, is NOT TOLERATED and our policy is strictly enforced. Had we been aware of the situation we would have dealt with it swiftly. We apologize if the actions of others affected your stay. The best time to notify us of any issue is while you are at the B&B, so we may do what is within our power to correct the problem. If you wait until after you leave, it’s too late for us to help. We are always just a phone call away. We WANT you to enjoy your stay with us. The Saragossa B&B has been rated excellent by hundreds of travelers from the world-over, earning us our high rating here on BedandBreakfast.com. For a different perspective of the very same room, please see recent reviews titled “This is a wonderful B&B,” “amazing,” and “Great first time bed and breakfast experience!”


My stay at Saragossa

4.0 on July 29, 2014

The staff were very obliging, Breakfast was excellent although bathrooms were very small.


View More Reviews

Location

Location Type

Historic Flagler Model Land Tract, Close to Flagler College, Downtown

Airport

Jacksonville, FL (JAX) 35 miles

Directions to property:

From North: From I-95, exit onto SR 16 and go East approximately 7 miles to US 1. Turn right onto US 1 South and go 2 1/2 miles to Saragossa St. Turn left and go past 1 stop sign, then we are halfway down the block on the left. From South: From I-95, exit onto SR 207 and go East approximately 7 miles to US 1. Turn left onto US 1 North and go past the first traffic light (King St.) to Saragossa St. Turn right and go past 1 stop sign, then we are halfway down the block on the left.

Area Attractions

Antique Shopping, Art Galleries, Beach, Gourmet/Fine Dining, Historical interests, Live Music, Movie Theater, Museum, National/State parks, Nature area, Ocean, Ghost Tours, Carriage rides, Ripley's Believe It Or Not, Castillo de San Marcos, Bridge of Lions, Flagler College, Outlet Stores, Performing Theater, Picnic area, Ruins, Winery

Inn Details

Establishment type

Bed and Breakfast, Historic Inn

On-site amenities

Amenities Basket, Copier, Fax Machine, Telephone , Private Entrance with an adjoining porch, Flashlight

Room amenities

Air conditioning, Alarm clock, CD player, Ceiling fans, Coffee/Tea facilities, Desk, Fridge, Hairdryer, Internet Service, Ironing Board, Microwave, Private entrance, Radio, Satellite/Cable TV, TV, Wet bar, Wi-Fi

Check Dates Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: 3PM
  • Check Out:: 11AM
  • Open All Year Round: Yes
  • Smoking Allowed: Outside only Smoking allowed outside only.
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Alcohol Provided Yes
  • Suitable For Children: Yes Well behaved children of all ages welcome.
  • Childcare Provided: No
  • Guest Pets Allowed: Prior approval required One time per visit, non-refundable pet fee required.
  • Disabled Access No

Terms and Conditions

  • Minimum Stay: Two nights on weekends, three on special events and holidays
  • Accepted payments S, y, s, t, e, m, ., C, o, l, l, e, c, t, i, o, n, s, ., G, e, n, e, r, i, c, ., L, i, s, t, `, 1, [, S, y, s, t, e, m, ., S, t, r, i, n, g, ]
  • Deposit Amount Required: $50.00 non-refundable deposit.
  • Cancellations: Seven days for refund less $50.00 non-refundable deposit. Fourteen days for holidays and special events. No allowance for late arrival or early departure.

Innkeepers

Name(s)

Gibbs Moore & Chuck Dunster

Languages spoken

English

Resident Pets

Cats , Dogs , 1 Bird

Check Dates Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Full

  • Time Served: 9:30 am
  • Serving Location: Dining Room

Special meal options

Low fat , Restrictive , Vegetarian


Details

BedandBreakfast.com Diamond Collection

34 Saragossa St. , Saint Augustine, FL 32084 USA (Show map)

Property highlights


Free $100 gift card with a $350+ gift card purchase
Top